Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Ive tried IUI once before but it was unsuccessful. That was a few months after I did my second lap.

I tried clomid a few times but it didn't affect my endo.

I changed gynae and wanted to do IVF plus I have severe endo so my dr recommended IVF too. But I had the long protocol where I have the Lucrin injections for about 6 weeks I think. And simultaneously while stimulating. Dr said with endo, IVF is better.

My previous gynae. in KKH said that too. However, strangely, while waiting for the 2nd IVF (that was back in Dec 2011), my husband suggested we just tried natural way, since we were seeing tcm by then. And maybe my mind was really relaxed, so I struck with bfp as menses never came, just brown spotting for implantation. Lost it later on at 8 weeks, due to my own negligence and carelessness, in terms of diet taboos during pregnancy while dining out.

So it is possible to get pregnant naturally even with lap. for endo.

hi everyone, i was diagnosed with endo and bilateral chocolate cysts that are small (2 of them around 2cm) and adenomyosis, been ttc with active charting with opk etc but to no avail. gynae suggested laprascopy to remove the cysts but also told me if i wanted to go ahead with iui without removal its possible. would like to seek your advise on whether i should go for surgery first to ensure the conditions are successful for iui or just go ahead without. also, any experience if so-iui would be better in this case rather than iui? does going to tcm at the same time help?

Hi coppergold,

My previous tcm in Marine Parade managed to control the growth size of my cysts (meaning they never grow at all) while I was under his care. I have heard another member in this forum said that the tcm she is seeing managed to get rid of the endo/cysts with her herbs.

If I manage to find the info, will PM (private message) you.

My previous gynae. in KKH said that too. However, strangely, while waiting for the 2nd IVF (that was back in Dec 2011), my husband suggested we just tried natural way, since we were seeing tcm by then. And maybe my mind was really relaxed, so I struck with bfp as menses never came, just brown spotting for implantation. Lost it later on at 8 weeks, due to my own negligence and carelessness, in terms of diet taboos during pregnancy while dining out.

So it is possible to get pregnant naturally even with lap. for endo.

*hugs* Don't blame yourself. It's not meant to be.
I hope you'll get a positive soon! :)

hi everyone, i was diagnosed with endo and bilateral chocolate cysts that are small (2 of them around 2cm) and adenomyosis, been ttc with active charting with opk etc but to no avail. gynae suggested laprascopy to remove the cysts but also told me if i wanted to go ahead with iui without removal its possible. would like to seek your advise on whether i should go for surgery first to ensure the conditions are successful for iui or just go ahead without. also, any experience if so-iui would be better in this case rather than iui? does going to tcm at the same time help?

Hi copppergold,

The tcm details for cysts treatment is from another SingaporeMotherhood Forum member. Details as follows:

She's Dr Wu Liping from New Century at Blk 408, Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10, #01-789, Singapore 560408. She's at AMK on Sundays and Wednesday mornings. Other days she's at her Tcm clinic in Jurong. Very crowded on Sundays and you need to go early to register. Usually see her once a week or once every 2 weeks.

I am not so sure about chocolate cysts but I feel u can consider seeing Dr Wu to see if she's confident of treating you for the chocolate cyst? For my case, she told me confidently that her medication works very well for cysts. But I don't know if she meant all cysts or water cysts. It did work for me both times.

I think the member mentioned that the herbs from this tcm dr is in powder form.

*hugs* Don't blame yourself. It's not meant to be.
I hope you'll get a positive soon! :)

Thanks, the _spinsterella,

I have got positive multiple times, just that either they do not implant properly, resulting in chemical pregnancies; or that they did not last longer than 6 to 8 weeks. So now I am seeing Prof Choolani in his private suite in Mount Elizabeth Novena. My husband and myself will be reviewing the test results with him on Sept 25 (Fri) at 11:00 a.m. Hoping from there, will be able to carry my next pregnancy to term.

It depends. I have endo and normally I have very bad cramps and nausea. Sometimes I vomitted also. I will be sensitive to smell. But that doesn't necessarily mean you have endo. Perhaps it's just a bad month?

I know ppl with such bad periods but with no endo also.

If you are scared, can always go to the gynae. You'll prolly have to do ultrasound scans and HSGs etc.

Hi spinsterella
Thank you for your info.
Do you have the pain even after your period?

Hi spinsterella
Thank you for your info.
Do you have the pain even after your period?

Hi temjin68,

Previously when I had the severe endo, I had intense lower back pain even after my period, which my family put down to my low pain threshold (actually it was the size of the cysts pressing on the ovary that caused the pain). :(

Hi temjin68,

Previously when I had the severe endo, I had intense lower back pain even after my period, which my family put down to my low pain threshold (actually it was the size of the cysts pressing on the ovary that caused the pain). :(

Hi spinsterella,
My pain is in the right lower stomach, the pain is not as intense as during the period. But it is still there bothering me.
I don't backache during the period but it came today after it ends 2 days ago.
I hope that you are right that this is a bad month.
This just hit me suddenly. Never have such problem before.

Hi spinsterella,
My pain is in the right lower stomach, the pain is not as intense as during the period. But it is still there bothering me.
I don't backache during the period but it came today after it ends 2 days ago.
I hope that you are right that this is a bad month.
This just hit me suddenly. Never have such problem before.

Hi temjin68,

If you are really worried, you may want to have it checked out by a gynae, so as to put your mind at ease.

Yes temjin68, go for check up by gynae better. Jus to share when I experience abnormal spotting in between periods I know sumtin not right. Check n discovered a 6cm cyst. N take a lap. Cos blood cyst.

Visited TCM n confirmed water cyst can be reduced but not blood cyst so decided to went for the lap.

Trying to concieve - I have obligated ovum before too. Yeah long journey for me with 2 miscarriages n finally one successful one. Same problem as you. Cannot hold pregnancy

Yes temjin68, go for check up by gynae better. Jus to share when I experience abnormal spotting in between periods I know sumtin not right. Check n discovered a 6cm cyst. N take a lap. Cos blood cyst.

Visited TCM n confirmed water cyst can be reduced but not blood cyst so decided to went for the lap.

Trying to concieve - I have obligated ovum before too. Yeah long journey for me with 2 miscarriages n finally one successful one. Same problem as you. Cannot hold pregnancy

Hi sunbelle,

Glad to know that we are kind of in the same ship. Did you go to consult Prof Mahesh (I consulted him in his private suite) to find out the exact cause? How or what did you do to have the one successful pregnancy? Boy or girl?

Hi ladies, removed my adenomyosis (a type of endo) 6 months ago and took injections to stop my menses from coming, this month is my last month of the injection... May I know what to expect when my menses come again? Will it be very very painful?

Dear trying to conceive,

nope din consult cos we decided to move on cos gynae say no point finding out the reason. yeah visited TCM n led a healthy lifestyle.

Now having menses n having menses pain too. do you have Menses pain huh?

Dear CTTC,

How do u remove adeyomosis? Is a major operation cos for me is disfuse so hard to remove. That time seek dr Fong yang advice cos he say have to rest 6 months before able to try again .

Menses after depot injection are long n not accurate in subsequent months. meaning is different from the normal menses that u have. yeah I have taken these jabs too. first two months no Mense pain, after that all come.

Sign ..hate time of the month really

trying to conceive, spinsterella, my consult with the dr was reallly brief and i wasnt told about alot of things , like the need to take hormones to stop ovulation for a while after the lap. while i know it is necessary to prevent endo from coming back, i really dont want to because i want to ttc immediately. Do you think they might administer the spray/injection to me without my consent (during op) ? anyone did lap at sgh / kkh before?

I did lap at sgh but that was 15 years ago. I had the injection to stop menses for a few mths but they ask me first. And that was administered when I was in the ward and have been fully awake from the GA.

My last lap was done at TMC in 2009 and I did not take any medication or injection after that. Dr just asked to try naturally a couple of mths after that. My endo didn't come back until last yr.

I heard that for endo, some clinics have more advance machine that can scan it. I don't want to go keyhole to just check for endo. Pls share you gynae info if they found out abt your endo without going thru surgery.
I only suspected I had endo etc. Cos of my discharge with spotting which can last for 2 weeks after mensus. And there were cramps. I went to check 2 years ago, and everything is clear by my gynae, was given some pills to regulate the mensus, but after the pills things starts again after a while. So I didn't go for any check again, thinking its just my hormones. Now I wonder is it bcos my gynae has normal ultrasound machine, so even if I had endo, it wont show.

I heard that for endo, some clinics have more advance machine that can scan it. I don't want to go keyhole to just check for endo. Pls share you gynae info if they found out abt your endo without going thru surgery.
I only suspected I had endo etc. Cos of my discharge with spotting which can last for 2 weeks after mensus. And there were cramps. I went to check 2 years ago, and everything is clear by my gynae, was given some pills to regulate the mensus, but after the pills things starts again after a while. So I didn't go for any check again, thinking its just my hormones. Now I wonder is it bcos my gynae has normal ultrasound machine, so even if I had endo, it wont show.

Hi lololy,

I don't think there are any more advanced machines. The only definite way to diagnose endo is by laparoscopy (keyhole surgery). However, ultrasounds can detect endometrial cysts but will not be able to pick up endo in other areas.

I have an endometrial cyst which was picked up by ultrasound, which means I have endo. I probably have endo implants in other areas as well but as I've not gone for a lap, I've no idea how's the extent of my endo.

I'm not TTC, so am on birth control to manage my condition.

I'm diagnosed with Endometriosis a year ago, underwent a keyhole surgery on April 2014. Was married but wasn't ready to get pregnant during that time, so my gynae asked me to consume birth control pills.

Now, I'm ready for pregnancy, stopped my pills on June, but until now still no news. Got my period today, which was very disappointing. Sobs.

Anyway, my gynae was in Malaysia because I used to reside there, but moved back to SG, don't know which gynae is good. Need some recommendations. Please advise. I might plan for an IVF, but I wonder if my endo has come back or not. Need a gynae pretty urgently! Thanks in advance!

I'm diagnosed with Endometriosis a year ago, underwent a keyhole surgery on April 2014. Was married but wasn't ready to get pregnant during that time, so my gynae asked me to consume birth control pills.

Now, I'm ready for pregnancy, stopped my pills on June, but until now still no news. Got my period today, which was very disappointing. Sobs.

Anyway, my gynae was in Malaysia because I used to reside there, but moved back to SG, don't know which gynae is good. Need some recommendations. Please advise. I might plan for an IVF, but I wonder if my endo has come back or not. Need a gynae pretty urgently! Thanks in advance!

For IUI/IVF, there are several good gynaes - Mine is Dr Sheila Loh from Raffles Hospital. There's also Prof Wong from NUH. Dr Tan HH from KKH.

Before I went for IVF, I was under Dr Geraldine Tan from TMC. She did my laparascopy in 2009. I did IUI under her too.

Unfortunately, for us endo ppl, trying to get pregnant may not be easy. :-/ But take comfort that there are many means to do it now. :)

For IUI/IVF, there are several good gynaes - Mine is Dr Sheila Loh from Raffles Hospital. There's also Prof Wong from NUH. Dr Tan HH from KKH.

Before I went for IVF, I was under Dr Geraldine Tan from TMC. She did my laparascopy in 2009. I did IUI under her too.

Unfortunately, for us endo ppl, trying to get pregnant may not be easy. :-/ But take comfort that there are many means to do it now. :)

Thanks so much for the recommendation! I actually booked an appointment with Dr. Marianne Hendricks from Thomson Medical Specialist. Have you heard of her before? Anyway, Dr. Sheila Loh sounds good. I'll consult her soon.

Hi all, can I check what Chinese herbs should we avoid for endometriosis and adenomyosis? Or what supplements or herbs soup can we take to help in trying to conceive. I did a lap to remove my adenomyo last year. And took injections for six months for menses not to come and womb to recover. And this week my first menses finally came! And hubby and I wish to start to conceive. Any tips or advice for me?

I feel better for you to visit a sinseh for the right advice. Everyone's body constitution is very different. Take care.

Hihi may I know what's the difference between IUI and IVF?

IUI - when you ovulate, sperms are collected from the husband and then 'washed'. After that the Dr will insert the sperm into your cervix via a catheter.

SO-IUI - similar to above except that you have to inject yourself to stimulate 2 or 3 follicles.

IVF - lengthier process. To summarise, basically you inject yourself to stimulate as many follicles as possible. Then once your follicles have reached the correct size, Dr will retrieve the follicles. Sperm will be collected from your husband and the eggs will be fertilized via ICSI or via natural fertilization. They will cultivate the embryo and then put back one or two embryo. The other embryos can be frozen for a different cycle.

For ppl with endo, for IVF, Dr may ask to do a long protocol which involves lucrin injections as well.

IUI - when you ovulate, sperms are collected from the husband and then 'washed'. After that the Dr will insert the sperm into your cervix via a catheter.

SO-IUI - similar to above except that you have to inject yourself to stimulate 2 or 3 follicles.

IVF - lengthier process. To summarise, basically you inject yourself to stimulate as many follicles as possible. Then once your follicles have reached the correct size, Dr will retrieve the follicles. Sperm will be collected from your husband and the eggs will be fertilized via ICSI or via natural fertilization. They will cultivate the embryo and then put back one or two embryo. The other embryos can be frozen for a different cycle.

For ppl with endo, for IVF, Dr may ask to do a long protocol which involves lucrin injections as well.
Hi! Thank you for the reply! The way I see it, IUI and normal love making has no difference? The only difference is whether a catheter or hubby's organ is inserted? Am I right?

There is a difference because with IUI, Dr will monitor your cycle and you may be given clomid etc beforehand. Dr will determine when you are going to ovulate. To maximise chance, after the IUI, you can BD. Also with IUI, the good sperms will be selected. But yes, IUI success rate is abt 20%.

Just chances upon this thread today and wanted to show my support too.. I was diagnosed with endometriosis (chocolate cyst) in May last year and the size of the cyst was about 5cmX3cm on my left ovary. I didn't even realise it all the while and thought my period pains(which were sometimes painful) was normal, until I had abnormal spotting one day and decided to have it checked out. Had my surgery done in July as I was trying to conceive and having the cyst there decreases the chances of conception. Went through laparoscopy and luckily I decided to go for the surgery because my cyst had actually burst and was leaking inside me and there were clots in the cyst as well, which doctor was initially worried that it might be cancerous. No idea why i didn't feel the pain from the burst cyst.. Maybe I have a high tolerance for pain...Thank goodness it wasn't cancerous. Doctor advised me to try to conceive by the end of 2015(in hopes that the pregnancy can renew the ovaries and stifle the possibility of the recurrence of this condition) and just as I was beginning to feel like I had no hope of conceiving easily, I conceived naturally and am now 14 weeks. I guess miracles do happen. Don't lose hope! Jiayou! :)

I have 4 fibroids and had gone through Ivf and pregnancies. During Ivf and pregnancy one of my fibroids growth till 10cm but baby not affected.
This time round when I was about to start my 2nd Ivf journey prof pic wong ask me go for a scan and my fibroids growth from 6 to 7cm big. He ask to whether to remove or not to remove the fibroids as both have pros and cons. After seek advise and discussion with gynea, I have decided not to remove.
If lucky after Ivf I pregnant successfully only consider to remove the fibroids.
Anyone have similar experience can share?
Any TCM at pasir ris can be recommended?

Congrats on the good news, Mel Lee :)

Hello everyone :)

Has any one took the GNRH jab for 3 months before huh? I m waiting for my Mense to come but dunno when. Can sumone share when Mense will come back ? Although I wish I m preggie n menses dun come haha :)

Congrats on the good news, Mel Lee :)

Hello everyone :)

Has any one took the GNRH jab for 3 months before huh? I m waiting for my Mense to come but dunno when. Can sumone share when Mense will come back ? Although I wish I m preggie n menses dun come haha :)

Hi Sunbelle & everyone! :)
(This is my first post! Google got me here!)
I just had a lap done last week for endo. It started with a very sudden sharp pain in my lower abdomen after my last period, went to see a gynae and found a big cyst. After lap, found out that it was a 5cm endo cyst that had ruptured in my right ovary. Thankfully it was found out early enough to not allow infection to set in.
I went for my post-op review today and was started on the GNRH jab today. Was told of the side effects and am a bit worried. Sunbelle, did you experience the pseudo-menopausal symptoms?
I am married for about 1 year and haven't gave much thoughts about TTC until this lap. I have PCOS as well, diagnosed 3 years ago (damn sway right to have both PCOS & endo). Now I'm actually really worried about conceiving. :(
Glad to find some support and success stories here!

Hi Sunbelle & everyone! :)
(This is my first post! Google got me here!)
I just had a lap done last week for endo. It started with a very sudden sharp pain in my lower abdomen after my last period, went to see a gynae and found a big cyst. After lap, found out that it was a 5cm endo cyst that had ruptured in my right ovary. Thankfully it was found out early enough to not allow infection to set in.
I went for my post-op review today and was started on the GNRH jab today. Was told of the side effects and am a bit worried. Sunbelle, did you experience the pseudo-menopausal symptoms?
I am married for about 1 year and haven't gave much thoughts about TTC until this lap. I have PCOS as well, diagnosed 3 years ago (damn sway right to have both PCOS & endo). Now I'm actually really worried about conceiving. :(
Glad to find some support and success stories here!
Hi dear! I'm also diagnosed with PCOS & adenomyosis(endometriosis). My advise to you is to check with Gynae on the seriousness of your endo condition. If is very serious type, after your jabs and when menses come back again, will advise you to start TTC with clomid and metformin or letrozole. And book ivf at the same time as the appointments takes a few months to book! After trying for maybe 3 months, if no news, by then ivf appt would have arrived, then can proceed to ivf. But if Gynae say yours not very serious, then no need so kiasu! As for symptoms of jab, my experience was at first behavior quite menopause. Cry at the slightest things, but after a while your body gets use to the jabs then shouldn't be that much of an issue already!

Welcome Eeeeeel

Yes same symptoms as menopause. Like putting on weight , hot flushes etc. I really needs to cut down on my food seems like I m putting on weight quite fast.

Dun gave up cos I have a gal coming to 4 yrs now. Is possible to get preggie cos my condition is stage 4 endo plus bad adeyomosis . Yeah even though I have not succeed in having second one haha