SingaporeMotherhood | Family Fun

July 2021

National Day 2021: NDP, fireworks, Red Lions, and more! (+ staycation giveaway!)

The National Day Parade is back at the Floating Platform this year, hooray! As you’ve probably heard, it has been postponed to 21 August 2021 because of the recent COVID-19 restrictions. On 9 August, the actual day itself, only a ceremonial parade (similar to the one at the Padang last year) will take place at the Floating Platform. But you can still celebrate National Day 2021 in style (like mum Selina and her five-year-old son Callum in the picture above, who watched the Red Lions at Jurong East last year) no matter where you are on our little red dot. Read on to find out how.

Note: Due to the constantly changing situation out there, do be very Singaporean and double check and confirm that the activities are actually happening before heading out yah.

EVERYTHING NATIONAL DAY 2021

Have an NDP Watch Party at Home 

Image: NDPeeps Facebook

This year’s NDP 2021 theme ‘Together, Our Singapore Spirit’, and you can celebrate together with the rest of the nation right from home. Garb yourselves in red and white, cook up or dabao a local food feast, and watch the parade on TV or on livestream. NDP 2021 is its first ever live-virtual performance, so look out for TV-exclusive special effects, and an innovative blend of live performances, and animated short films created by homegrown animation artists. Like last year, there will be fireworks displays at heartlands sites after the Show. Get more details here

See the state flag flypast, aerial display, & the Red Lions in the Heartlands

While the main parade continues at The Float @ Marina Bay, there will also be celebrations closer to homes to ensure public safety amidst the COVID-19 pandemic. On 7 and 8 August, the weekend before National Day, catch the Red Lions as they perform their daredevil parachute stunts in the heartlands. [CANCELLED] On August 9, look out for the State Flag as it makes it way across the heartlands with Republic of Singapore Air Force fighter jets flying in formation. 

Light Up Your Singapore Spirit at the Singapore Sports Hub

Cast your vote to decide how the National Stadium will be lit this National Day (and win $560 worth of vouchers), embark on an ultimate Singapore virtual GPS e-hunt around Kallang Wave Mall, sweat it out in the Workout Lah! Cardio Dance and Dance Saber sessions on 8 August, and take a trip down memory lane to relive Singapore’s past sporting glory at the Singapore Sports MuseumFind out more here.

Join the NDP 2021 virtual choir

The NDP Virtual Choir is back! If you haven’t heard this year’s National Day song ‘The Road Ahead’ yet, learn it here then join the virtual choir to sing your heart out for Singapore! Get a step-by-step guide from #NDP2021 mascot August on how you can lend your voice here. Want a chance to feature in the parade? Record yourself and submit your video here.

Learn the NDP Dance of the Nation (Virtual Dance)

The NDP 2021 Dance of the Nation (Virtual Dance) is a dance fitness routine to a remix of this year’s NDP 2021 theme song ‘The Road Ahead’. This fun workout produced in partnership with GetActive! Singapore (GASG) is suitable for all ages so gear the fam up and learn the #DanceOfTheNation here. It’s a great way to get your steps in as well! 

Read about NDP with the kids

Do you know that Tan Yun Xin, a student at Nanyang Polytechnic, is the designer behind the NDP 2021 logo? This special NDP 2021 issue of Kindsville Times by the Singapore Kindness Movement introduces kids to the meaning behind National Day, but we think we adults can learn quite a lot from it too. Download a copy here and learn along with your little ones. Don’t miss the fun family activities at the back; we’re trying to complete the National Day 2021 Bingo! 

Celebrate NDP 2021: Snapshots of Marina Bay!

Marina Bay is home to some of Singapore’s iconic landmarks, such as the floating platform that hosts our annual National Day Parade, the mythical Merlion, and the three towers of Marina Bay Sands. Come celebrate Singapore’s 56th birthday in these online workshops to create a colourful paper camera, complete with a sliding roll of these illustrated icons! The session will be conducted in English and all ages are welcome. A craft kit (to be collected) with every ticket purchased. $5 per person. 1 Aug (4–5pm) and 8 Aug (2–3pm)

Rentak Warisan Bersama Sri Mahligai: National Day Special

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Sri Mahligai Official (@sri.mahligai)

Tune in LIVE to the Malay Heritage Centre’s Facebook or Youtube to listen to Sri Mahligai perform their unique renditions of songs that celebrate Singapore’s transitions from colony to independent nation as part of the National Day Special of the Rentak Warisan Bersama Sri Mahligai programme! 4 Aug, 8.30–9.30pm. Visit https://facebook.com/malayheritage for more information

RUN AND GET ACTIVE

Celebrate Seniors with Get Active Singapore 2021

This special Zoom event by the ActiveSG Masters Club for the elderly in our families! Rally the grandparents and join in with them (if they’re shy) for an hour of fun. They’ll be singing the national anthem, reciting the pledge, and doing the GetActive! Singapore workout, which is suitable for all, including those who prefer to do it seated. Register here

Do the Majulah SG56 Virtual Run

Run 5.6 km or 56 km at your own convenience till 31 August, and receive a three-medal collectible set with the medals depicting Unity, Hope, and Victory. With every registration of the SG56 bundle (Finisher 3-Medal Collectable Set + Exclusive SG56 T-Shirt + e-Certificate), $6 will be donated to The Courage Fund. Sign up here

Run for Singapore Online Challenge 2021

Exercise together with the rest of Singapore to reach the distance goal of 560,000 km in this virtual challenge organised by GetActive! Singapore. Qualifying activities include running, hiking, steps, treadmill, cycling, elliptical, swimming, aerobics, yoga, and gym workouts. Sign up here

#TOGOSG56 Virtual National Day Challenge 2021 

Togoparts.com, Singapore’s largest cycling online community, is aiming to clock 560,000 kilometers by 21st August to celebrate the nation’s 56th birthday. Do your part and contribute your distance of 56 km by cycling or running or through a combination of both! Register by 17 August 2021 (it’s FREE!) at Togoparts.com and clock in your km via the Strava app. To encourage cyclists and runners to go further, there’ll be real-time cheerleading messages and notifications when new medals or rewards are unlocked. 

GET OUT & ABOUT

National Day Activities at Science Centre Singapore 

Join Science Educators and Explainers as they guide you through various edu-taining National Day-themed activities. Bring home a nostalgic token when you tell them a fact about Singapore that you’ve spotted in the galleries during an exciting gallery hunt. Discover why the crescent moon on our flag symbolises a rising young nation by learning about the different moon phases. Learn about the four colour theorem and how it applies to our island home. Make and take home your very own boom stick to clap as you sing along to National Day songs, and more! 6 to 9 Aug, 2–5pm, at the Science Centre Singapore. Get more details here.

Singapura, Our Sunny Island 

Over at the Science Centre Singapore’s KidsSTOP, parent-child (aged 5-8 years) pairs get to time travel to the 13th century to experience life as a local in a humble fishing village! Activities include making your very own essential oil lamp, playing a fishing game and concocting a fizzy milk rose drink. $65 (per parent-child pair), 7 August 2021, 2–3.30pm and 8 August 2021, 2–3.30pm at KidsSTOP, register here

Bras Basah.Bugis (BBB) precinct light-up

Take a walk around the BBB precinct and see cultural and historical landmarks bathed in red and white, the colours of our national flag. Here’s a recommended route that will take you along all six landmarks in the following order: The Cathay → National Museum of Singapore → Central Fire Station → Cathedral of the Good Shepherd → Objectifs – Centre for Photography and Film → Stamford Arts Centre → National Design Centre. 1-31 August, 7.30pm–12am

SG56 deals at Universal Studios Singapore & RWS

Image: Resorts World Sentosa

Check out Universal Studios Singapore’s (USS) Summer offerings with the National Day promotion of $56 per adult (aged 18-59 years) dated one-day ticket from now till 31 August 2021. Valid for Singapore Residents with an official Singapore Photo ID (required for entry). Do take note of USS opening hours here and the operating hours for rides here. And don’t miss the other SGD56 attraction deals at Resorts World Sentosa too!

[POSTPONED] Visit the Istana Open House (IOH)

If you have tickets for the cancelled IOH in May earlier this year, you’ll have been invited via email to the National Day IOH on 1 August 2021. Take the opportunity to enjoy a family day out while strolling the lush grounds, look for the unique ponds, and pose for pictures with the building as a backdrop. While there will be no live performances, you can still look forward to purchasing Istana souvenirs, including President’s Challenge memorabilia. All proceeds go to charities supported by the President’s Challenge. More details here

See the National Day floral display in the Flower Dome

From 29 July, see a stunning variety of orchids at a National Day edition of floral displays at Gardens by the Bay. This vibrant showpiece at the Flower Dome complements the Dale Chihuly: Glass in Bloom exhibition, and includes species such as the Aranda Pure Heart and Dendrobium Candy Stripe in shades of pink, white and purple, as well as Renanopsis Five Friendships Tanaosri and Aranda Singa Gold in vibrant hues of orange, yellow and red. From 29 July, more details here

See also: Dale Chihuly: Glass in Bloom at Gardens by the Bay)

Enjoy even more playtime on Sentosa

Playtime on the State of Fun just got better, with discounts and offers of up to 56 per cent off at Sentosa’s attractions. If you’ve been thinking about visiting the floating aqua park Hydrodash, the Trick Eye Museum, iFly Singapore, VR at Madame Tussauds Singapore, or just going on a cable car joy ride, this is the time to do so. Purchase and book these National Day treats online from 31 July 2021. Valid from 31 July to 31 October 2021. More details here

One Raffles Place Shopping Mall

Throughout August, Tower 2 of One Raffles Place (ORP) will light up in red across the city skyline to pay homage to the Republic’s birthday. Take part in three weekly challenges (from 19 July to 6 August) and snap a shot of yourself shopping here, then tag #ORPOneSG in your photos on Facebook and Instagram for a chance to win a $30 ORP e-voucher. More details here

Singapore Discovery Centre

The Singapore Discovery Centre has a smorgasbord of family-friendly celebrations over the National Day weekend, that you can join in either onsite or online. There’ll be family-friendly activities like sticker crafts, guided tours of the Permanent Exhibits Gallery, the eco-sustainability installations, as well as SAFTI Military Institute. Look forward to screenings too, of Singapore Stories films, and more. 7-9 Aug, 1–7pm. Admission is free! Availability upon walk-in is subject to safe management measures. Get more details at https://www.sdc.com.sg

HAVE A STAYCATION

It’s no secret that we have become a nation of staycationers. What to do? With travel restrictions still in place, the best way to holiday is a Singapoliday, yes? 

Slay, Stay & Play Local staycation at Hotel G

Slay, Stay & Play Local in the heart of the cultural district at Hotel G, which has collaborated with homegrown businesses in this special National Day staycation. The Slay, Stay & Play Local staycation package includes an upgrade to the hotel’s king-bedded Great Room along with exclusive items from local partners such as:

• An exclusive check-in kit from Sigi Skin
  • A complimentary box of Jewel Coffee Specialty Coffee Capsules – Bold As Love
  • Complimentary playbox from Play Nation with Hawker Wars and Kopi King
  • A meal for 2 consisting of 2 Satay Burgers & 2 Chendol Milkshakes from 25 Degrees Burger & Liquor Bar (will be served as a takeaway if the stay takes place during the Heightened Alert phase)

From $156++ per room per night, for stays from 26 July to 31 August 2021. Book directly on www.hotelgsingapore.com from 26 July using the promo code STAYLOCAL. 

:: GIVEAWAY! :: 

We have one Slay, Stay & Play Local staycation package for 2 at Hotel G to give away. Do note that the stay MUST be done in the month of August 2021. Why? Because it’s a National Day staycation, and National Day is in August, duh. Here’s what you can do for a chance to win it: 

1. Like and share this article on Facebook. Tag @singaporemotherhood.com so we know you have done it
  2. Tell us what you love most about Singapore 
  3. Sit back and relax. We’ll get in touch if you’ve won!

Terms and conditions: 

• This stay is valid at Hotel G Singapore only, and must be completed in the month of August 2021.
  • Subject to availability. Blackout dates apply, and advanced reservation is required. 
  • Prize voucher is non-replaceable, non-refundable, and not redeemable for cash.
  • After the expiry date, there will be no extension of the voucher’s validity period. 
  • The original voucher must be presented at check-in. It is valid for one-time use only. 
  • Hotel check-in time is 3pm, and checkout time is at 12 noon (Singapore local time).
  • Failure to arrive at the hotel is regarded as a no-show. No refund will be given.

Closing date: 12pm, Monday 26 July 2021

(See also: Hotel G Singapore: 8 Ways we Love this Small but Swell Staycation Spot)

Happy Birthday Singapore Staycay at Mandarin Oriental

Mark the nation’s 56th birthday with a splendid Happy Birthday Singapore staycation at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore. This includes a stay for two in the hotel’s Deluxe Room, with lunch for two, early check-in at 12pm and late check-out at 6pm (both subject to availability), a complimentary bed and lunch for the third and fourth occupants (applicable room types only). For added pampering, enhance your stay with two additional privileges when you sign up for the Fans of M.O. guest recognition programme. 

From $309++ per night (weekdays) and $369++ per night (weekends). Valid for stays from now till 31 October 2021. For reservations call 6885 3030 or book online here

Do Good with the Family at Sofitel Singapore City Centre 

Perfect for a kid-friendly getaway, Do Good with the Family is a 2D1N stay for two adults and one child in a luxury room. This includes a tent for the child, breakfast and a heart-warming gourmet dinner featuring well-loved Singaporean flavours such as Egg Fried Rice and Sweet and Sour Chicken. Kids will also get merchandise by students from The Art Faculty, a social enterprise by the Autism Resource Centre (ARC) to utilise while on staycation or to take home. A portion of the proceeds from the purchase of these products will support the ARC.

SRV-eligible, from $419 nett per night (weekdays, two adults and one child), from 19 July to 15 August 2021. Book your stay here

Otah & Friends Staycation at Pan Pacific Hotels

How about an otter-ly fun staycay with the kids? The ‘Stay, Hide and Seek with Otah & Friends’ package includes an adorable Otah the otter mascot plush toy, two limited-edition Otah & Friends cushions, and one Otah & Friends clue kit. Snacks will be provided too. Each of the four Pan Pacific Hotels has a different exclusive Otah plush: Otah dressed in Chang Shan at PARKROYAL COLLECTION Pickering, Otah dressed in Batik at PARKROYAL COLLECTION Marina Bay, Otah dressed in Baju Kurung at PARKROYAL on Beach Road, and Otah dressed in Sherwani at Pan Pacific Serviced Suites, Beach Road. Hmmm, why not stay at all four?

From $330 nett per night, valid for stays till 30 September 2021. Book here or here. 

Happy National Stay at RWS

Celebrate everything local in a Deluxe Room at Equarius Hotel or Hotel Michael with a set breakfast for two. You’ll also get $50 worth of RWS dining credits, a limited edition Singapore-themed tote bag, a 1925 Brewing Co. exclusive four-pack craft beer gift set, and a set of Hawker Wars Singaporean card game by SYNT Studio.

From $295++, with a stay period from 26 July to 31 August 2021. Book your stay here.

#STAYHOME

Families for Life (FFL) “Red & White Recipes” 

Celebrate National Day together creating our favourite things – food and desserts! These specially curated “Red and White recipes” from Families For Life are contributed by local chefs, bakers, social media influencers and FFL volunteers, and will certainly be a delicious addition to your National Day 2021 long weekend! View and download recipes at FFL’s website or create your own. You can also get Families for Life-RedMan National Day Cookie Kits, pre-packed with halal-certified ingredients, at all 19 Phoon Huat’s RedMan retail and online stores. 

Big Bad Wolf Online Book Sale

The Big Bad Wolf Online Book Sale is back and with it, some fab deals to celebrate Singapore’s 56th. On 9 August, National Day, purchase one book at $3.99 from the selection of featured book titles with a minimum nett spend of $70. There’s also free shipping with a minimum nett spend of $56 (usually $99) on this day! But the bookish goodies start even before our nation’s birthday. From now till 3 August, pre-register to get $10 voucher with a minimum spend of $80 nett, valid for purchases on 5 and 6 August. Look out for $1.99 book deals on 5 August too, and get 88% off selected titles with a minimum nett spend of $60 on 8 August. Get more details here.

Lazada 8.8 National Day Sale

Some might say shopping is Singaporeans’ national past-time, and you know what? They’re probably right. This coming National Day, #SupportLocal by shopping with homegrown stores such as TWG, Skin Inc, Hegen, SK Jewellery, Irvin’s on Lazada, and enjoy up to 88% savings on these brands. In addition, look forward to $0.88 flash deals, games, prizes to be won, and a one-day special of 56% off or $8 off with no minimum spend on selected brand stores. Giving your credit card a break? Watch the in-app livestreams, gameshows, and performances, including a National Day Concert on LazLive on 9th August at 8pm! 8 to 10 August, here.

We’ll be adding to this list as more events and activities are announced, so do bookmark this article and check back for more National Day 2021 fun for the family! 

Featured image: from the NDP2021 website, showing mum Selina with her five-year-old son Callum watching the Red Lions at Jurong East last year.

All content from this article, including images, cannot be reproduced without credits or written permission from SingaporeMotherhood.

Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Telegram for the latest article and promotion updates.

National Day 2021: NDP, fireworks, Red Lions, and more! (+ staycation giveaway!)