Violin lesson in the West

Oh, was looking through the thread and reading about rewards...

I keep a book for my girl to record her practices and what she practices using different coloured stamps (chops)... and she gets very excited seeing all those stamps, and sometimes, I let her chop the book herself. I date them, then at lesson time, the teacher looks at them, then gives her a sticker for every practice session she has had... so like, if she practiced 5 times that week, she gets 5 stickers.

Anyway, for the time being, her reward is really fiddling with her violin... she really enjoys that... and the novelty is still there I guess... I'll come back and let you know how things are in many months' time... haha.

I read with horror that some kids are still doing twinkle variations after a year... wow... a year... I wonder if that's what's in store for us too... *pengz*

Hmm, does any of you have a shoulder rest for a 1/16 violin? I think my girl would find it easier with a shoulder rest. I also need a violin case for her little violin... if any of you have a preloved one you don't mind letting go, I'd like to get it. Hers is really old and the handle is going to give way any moment.

Hi, i have a 1/16 Synwin violin (come with bow, case, rosin and shoulder rest) to let go. Bought 1 year ago, in good condition. Interested do let me know, i will send you a photo through email. Thanks

Little Rainbow... could not PM you... did you switch off PM? Like lately got a lot of problems with the PM like that. Some ppl PM me, I also didn't get.

Hmm, sounds tempting... how much you willing to let go? Because actually I don't need the violin or bow or rosin leh... But ask you to sell me the bits also very bad... who will buy violin without case right??? Aiyah... how?

Anyway, you let me know your best price lah... maybe I donate the extras to her teacher, see if her teacher can pass it on to anyone.

Oops, sorry, yah, please let me see actual pic of everything can? Confirm everything good condition yah? How long did your child use it for? Was it well taken care of?

hello all,

wonder if anyone interested to start your child on baby suzuki violin class with Mandeville. The teacher is Ms Yap Shu Mei.

Currently the class has 5 kids but need another one to start the class. Timing is 12noon on sunday.

Hi. just watched ArtsCentral last night on a child protege - Janell Yeo. Quite a good documentary...heard she's playing her first solo concert at Esplanade on 1 April 2008 for One night only. I'm certainly going. Just wanted to share this info to all mothers out there as it's good encouragement for your kids to see others who like themselves, have made it good and it may create interest in your kids. I'm certainly bringing my kids.

hie

if you are still looking for a tutor, u can contact me. i will get u the best tutor that cater to your personal preferences thats teaching any subjects, any location for every level from K1 up to JC2. other than academic tuition, we also have non academic ones including music (including violing & lots more), sports, computer, languages & culinary. dont worry, we're registered with MOE & established for over 15 years.

intersted/more details, call nabilah @ 81549548

I teach violin (suzuki method) at my humble abode (near Kovan MRT) with the comfort of a piano and my vast library of scores.

Rates:

Beginners : $90 for 4 half hour (once per week)
Intermediate : $150 for 4 x 45mins (once per week)
$200 for 4 x 1 hr (once per week)
Advance : $250 for 4 x 1 hr (once per week)

Anyone has any contacts to recommend for gd violin teacher or piano teacher who either stays in the north area or is willing to teach in the north area?

Could I also check what should I look out for in the qualification of a gd violin or piano teacher as I am looking for one to teach my 2 ds. Is grade 8 sufficient for a beginner or the teacher should at least have a diploma or degree?

Hi ngval,
I ve pm you for the contact. Thanks.

If you ve other contacts to share appreciate your posting as well. tks.

Hi there, my girl is now coming 6. She has started to play violin at age 4. She can play violin quite well (i think! But she always seems more keen for piano. Wondering should I make the switch to piano? 1) Considering I can't afford both money n time for both violin n piano lessons!
2) should I insist that she continues with her violin and hopefully, when she's older, she'll be grateful to me for insisting so?

Hi people, my 2 cents worth again. My 1st and 2nd children were under a violin teacher who came to our house. He's a "half pass six" teacher, but managed to get them to Gd 5 within 3 years. However, with the shaky foundation, they barely passed. I've always blamed it on my children for not doing proper practises. When the teacher offered to teach piano, and did a lousy job, not correcting fingerings, accepting lousy performance etc, I thought i had better change teacher.

Then thru recommendation, i went to MAC Music sch. I wanted Mac to take my #2(daughter) since she is more conscientious and shows more potential and interest in violin.

As mentioned, he is very packed, and recommended me to one of his fellow teachers. I understand that he is Suzuki trained certified teacher, however his teachers are not. After 5 mths with the new teacher, and his promise to advise and guide the teacher to teach my #1 & #2, i gave up as i saw no improvements.

At the same time, i came across the strict teacher by accident. immediately, i moved my #3 (5 yrs) to the strict teacher. After 1 mth, i was so impressed with his knowledge and seriousness, that i moved my daughter under him too, while my #1 gave up. i have so far learnt so much from the strict teacher on the postures, good practices and what sound to expect etc.

I won't say that my experience with him is all wonderful. After 6 mths with him, i toyed with the idea of seeking a more lenient teacher for my #3, cos i found him too harsh, and not encouraging. He was at the same time, wonderful with my #2 (11yrs- Gd5) After much thot, i gave the idea up. As a mother, it definitely pains me to see that the effort that my child put in is not recognised, however, i realised that i have put in effort at the wrong place. I'd be doing more harm to my son if i don't stretch him according to his portential.

I changed my method and style of practise with my boy (#3), he is stressed during practises with me cos i adhere strictly to what the teacher wanted (i made notes every lesson, making comments and personal observation.) , however, when he goes back for his class with the strict teacher, he is starting to get priases from the teacher. THe teacher is always saying "when u r good, i want u to be even better" translating to more hardwork and less praise from him.

I've been thru 3 different kinds of teachers mentioned above. I have given up teachers whom i think is irresponsible, incompetent and money-minded. I choose to stay with the 'BLACK HORSE' cos i want the experience at higher Grades for my children to be smooth sailing.

I know for sure, that this strict teacher has produced many top notch violinists who have won many accolades and competitions. He is one of the very rare teachers who have received a letter of recognition (i saw the letter framed up on the wall) from ABRSM, the music exam board, to inform him that 2 of his students did so well during the examination that they were chosen to perform during the ABRSM dinner (i'm not sure where it was held, but the people present at the dinner, were the top rank examiners of the examination board.)

I've also come across letters written to him, from violin performance artist, with recordings to their name. They wrote thank u letter to him from USA & europe. They sent him CDs of their production and letters updating him of their progress. I'm impressed. How many teachers in this field actually produce such crop?

I HAVE ALSO HEARD THAT THE STRICT TEACHER HAS PRODUCED MANY WONDERFUL SUZUKI TRAINED TEACHERS WHO ARE TEACHING IN CRESTAR NOW. I HAVE COME ACROSS ONE OF THEM WHO IS VERY PATIENT AND CHILDREN ORIENTED. SHE IS NOW TEACHING AT CRESTAR MARINE PARADE. SHE IS MISS SITI. My children are not under her, but i'm conficent enough that she is more than competent, cos she does performance on her own, and she also performs under the strict teacher's orchestration as well.

However i must say that there is no one-size-fit-all teacher. I belief that with every success, there is lots of sweat and tears. Maybe i'm just old fashion....

Hi, my ger is 3yrs old. Hope to introduce music to her. Thinking of either violin or piano. However, heard diff advice thus far. Some told me 3yrs old shld start violin suzuki method. Some said piano is not gd for the fingers as she is still small. Some said too small to play violin coz will have blister etc

any mummy to share advice ? I am staying at cck. I can go to anywhere within 20-25km from my home.

Can anyone recommend where I can get reasonably good priced violin and what brand of violin is recommended? Thanks!

Hi Wan Wan,

I would recommend Synwin & Gramercy.
Both are located at East area. These two shops specialise in string instruments

hi all....
my boy is 4 going 5 now learning piano..... having har time making him practise... but i'm want to put my gal who is going 2 soon when she is about 3, but now i don know whether should i put her to piano or violin... personally i perfer violin... but i din start my boy on violin coz of his chara... now with piano... i'm already having to force him to practise... but he is enjoying and able to play well now....

can some one advise the investment for violin, like how much is the cost for a violin, and whether can use how long then need to change, and also what is the school fee....

Hi wan wan,

I can only travel within east area, esp now with my little one around.

Hi Poshies,
The cost of a beginner model violin is $120

Hi I am keen for a Suzuki violin teacher for my child
1. Would prefer female teacher
2. Able to travel to travel to River Valley

Please kindly PM me if any contacts. Thanks in advance

My 4 year old daughter has been attending the Suzuki violin school in Crestar Jurong East since 3 years old. You need to register for your child at least a few months in advance. It is very popular.

You also need to be a very committed parent. At the Suzuki violin school, kids are NOT treated as hobbyist. They are being trained to the highest standards to be a "violinist" in every true sense of the word. It is career skills training.

So the parent must commit to endure and buy a 4/4 size violin (even if the parent does not know anything about the violin like me) and play the violin and practice songs taught by the teacher at home together with the child every single day for at least the next 5 years to 10 years until the child becomes a teenager.

I would "reward" my child by allowing her to play a Wii game or eat some ice-cream or some tasty snacks after she plays 10-15 times on her violin (she can choose to play any of the Suzuki songs in the Suzuki book).

Here's a video clip of my 4 year old playing "Happy Birthday" song for my wife. I wrote out the notes for her after figuring out how to play the Happy Birthday song myself. She can now read simple notes written on a score sheet and play them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9nMkZmhiv8

Hope this helps! hahaha (=

violin learning is not easy ,we have to admit ,patience and persistence is the key otherwise ,no matter how talented you are ,eventually it will be a waste ..down to earth to learn, by overcoming various difficulties will finally benefit you to become at least a responsible person ,in your near future,with independent character..of course you got some from music..that's why ,it is far more difficult to be a violinist than violin hobby player ,not so stress ,then fall to the latter ,can take on the stress ,not only you but your family ,then absolutely gain more .....

Pls do not engage Joanne Chiew as a private music tcher. She is unscrupulous and capitalise on parent's music ignorance and registers children in unaccredited and unrecognised music exam brd in Msia. She is currently a musc tcher in Sonare music sch in sengkang. It's a scam. Beware.

I strongly recommend my girl' s violin teacher Mr Alex, he is quite patient and encouraged my girl. And we only used 1.5 year passed grade 3 exam. Currently we are on the way to pass grade5 . By the way the teacher graduated from NUS YONG SIEW TOH and has more than ten years experience on vilion tuition. He also play in SSO. To be honest he is quite excellent, teacher Mr alex number is 92760560

I find that these days teachers are too strict too. I send my son to Violino maybe u would like 2 send yr children there too?

I think younger students tend to do better with younger teachers that are not "too experienced" and you may be better off with younger violin teachers? On this note, there's 2 young violin teachers I know personally that you guys can approach! (have included their email too. doesn't hurt to just enquire!)

1) Ng Ze Wei
Ze Wei graduated from Dunman High School in 2016, having completed the six-year Integrated Programme. He started violin lessons at the age of 5 & has obtained the DipABRSM (Violin Performance) at age 13 and was one of the guest performers (on the violin) with the Singapore National Youth Orchestra in 2013.

His email is [email protected]

2) Min Yee
Min attained the Associate of Trinity College London (ATCL) Diploma for Violin Performance after completing the ABRSM Grade 8 Violin Practical and ABRSM Grade 8 in Music Theory. She studied under violinist Ms Guo Lan of the Singapore Lyric Opera and is currently under the mentorship of Mr. Alexander Souptel, who was concertmaster of the Singapore Symphony Orchestra and is currently Professor of Violin at the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music at the National University Singapore (NUS).

Her email is [email protected]

You can also check out the other singapore violin teachers at https://beehivee.com/listing-category/singapore-violin-teachers/ !

Hopefully it helps!