Twins/Triplets/Multiples Mum to be!

juliet08

Anyone? I just found out I am carrying a pair of twins! Too overwhelming...my #1 is only 16 months now, don't know how to handle a pair of twins next year! Totally unexpected...no family history, am not on any fertility pills...nothing...total surprise. Praise the Lord!

hi loinky, how many weeks r u now?

Am in my 8th wk...can see heartbeat on both babies le..but one is abt 2mm smaller than the other...

still got 1 mth to go to pass 1st tri...

i am ard 15 weeks.. last checkup 1 is 6cm while the other is 5.1cm (somewhere around there)

didn't do oscar only NT scan.. r u taking any chinese herbs?

chinese herbs? for what? nope, althou sometimes my mom may boil some chinese herbal soup like 六味汤...

Did u hv bad MS? I've already puked 3 times this morning n want to faint liao...

My #1 time, i puke from wk 8 - 20 leh...shitz...

MS only once in a while.. similar for my #1

i find myself weaker compared to first pregnancy.. i even fainted outside while buying something..

but is your appetite gd?

my appetite is good...but mornings r really tough for me...once after lunch, i snack non-stop...then at nite from 9ish onwards i feel like dirt again...sigh...

Hi twin mummys to be!!!

I am probably the most "senior" here. I have delivered a set of fraternal twins (boy and gal) who r presently 4 months! I have an older boy who is 7 yrs old!

I am most happy to dispense advice to u all if u need them. Afterall i went thru it just quite recently so everything is really fresh in my mind, and still on me (my fats i mean, HEHE).....

I knew i was having a boy and gal at my detailed scan at 5 mths.

I enjoyed my preg lots, and i was really quite big (put on 16 kg or more) at my 33 weeks. I delivered abt then as well.

hi all...

i was just informed that I am expecting twins.. Identical twins....

my appetite quite bad and also got fainting moments... why ha?

this is my 2nd pregnancy and I have a 2 year old gal.

i am getting into my wk 13 now...still feel like shit..appetite became bad at like wk 8 when my MS started. mine is fratenal twins and my boy is now 17mths...

this pregnancy is driving me crazy! I feel sick everyday! Super breathless, always gastric pains, constantly feel like puking [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

HI,

according to my doc, i am having twins... two sacs.

Does that mean non-identical twins?

Anyway, only in my 8th week. doc said to observe to see if the smaller twin will shrink...

two sacs should be non-identical...er, your doc nv explain to you ah?

when i did my first scan at 8th wk, can see both heartbeats already. mine also 2 sacs, fratenal twins.

hi poko1

i am expecting fratenal twins, a girl and a boy. just had my detailed scan last wed. when u deliver at 33 weeks, what are thier weights. do they have to stay longer in the hospital?? normal delivery or c-section. sorry so many qns.

btw who is ur gynae, from which hospital.

thanks a lot

hi girls!

congrats to all MTBs!!

me delivered my twins in august. till now i am still not sure if they're identical or fraternal. separate sac and placenta but 30% chance of being identical.

my pregnancy was really smooth but quite tiring though.. whole day nausea in first trimester, and second trimester onwards i had very bad water retention and joint pains, backaches etc.. but glad that my boys turned out ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi seejay, so how r u coping w/ the boys now? eek, the thought of it sends shivers down. My #1 will be 22-23 mths when i pop this pair of twins. I haven't really think abt the logistics yet, v. headache leh!

Did u do c-sect or natural btw?

hi all, i'm in my 7.5week so far.. is it normal to feel hungry all the time? i wake up hungry and am constantly hungry throughout the day so i now stock my office fridge with healthy snacks..

seejay, how many weeks were you when you delivered?

juliet, i'm quite nervous too. haven't decided on the arrangements between domestic helper (need to hire), MIL and my mother.

spiffy: eat while u can! I was practically eating every 2 hrs when i was 4 - 7 wks preggie. by the time 8 wk starts (the same time i found out i'm having twins), my morning sickness came n i could hardly eat. Am trying to force feed myself now, gynae says i should eat more red meat so that the babies will put on wt...

I got a helper just before I got preggie. Life-saver. At least at this point when i feel uncomfy, i don't need to handle my elder one.

juliet, is it very necessary to have a helper? i wonder if i will go crazy coping on my own (and occasionally my mom) during maternity leave. after maternity leave i'm thinking of infant care.

thanks for the tip about eating...i got a book When You're Expecting Twins, Triplets or Quads by Dr. Barbara Luke, and it's got great advice. very different from normal/general pregnancy books.

hi alyssa,

Sorry for late reply. No prbs - feel free to ask me abt twin deliveries....no need pai say!!!!

i delivered slightly earlier at 33 weeks as my other placeta that is suppying food to the boy foetus, was not doing its job well.

As a result, after monitoring close to a month and his weight stagnant at 1.5 kg, Dr advised me to deliver them.

My son was delivered at 1.6 kg and gal at 1.9 kg. The boy was light for his "age" thus was at the KKH NICU for nealy a month. They are only willing to discharge bbs that are over 1.95kg at twin full term. And yes, it took nearly 1 mth for him to put on the 300 gms!!!!!

My gal was at KKH Special care unit for 2 weeks. After delivery, bbs weight will normally drop a bit. So she was abt 1.8kg, and took 2 weeks to reach 1.95 kg.

I had a c sec as at 30 weeks, bbs positions changed to tranverse and breech respectively. All the while, was head downs actually.

Seejay, hello there!!!!!

spiffy: i think it depends on individual and what other help u get? for a start, i am quite lazy la. my folks helped me a lot when i had #1 n took care of him in the day when i work too. but they getting old la, so when he's abt 14 mths old, got a helper coz he was getting quite a handful. just nice now i got preggie n quite badly hit w/ all the lousy symptoms, it helps to have an extra pair of hands at home when my folks r away. when tummy gets bigger i can't carry my boy too anyway.

and for next yr when the twins r out, i can only foresee chaos. damn stress when i think of it, but i try to keep an open mind la.

Poko: must have cost a bomb for the bbs to stay in NICU for so long! how do u handle the twins huh? i freak out when i think of it leh. eeks.

Hi Poko :'D how are you doing? i'm so not looking forward to going back to work leh, esp now the babies are able to play and smile back and chuckle.. really can't bear to leave them at home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

juliet, my mum is helping me A LOT with the babies now, i have a maid who helps with the housework. i had c-section at 37 wks cos totally no action from the boys..

spiffy, i delivered at 37 weeks as my doc advised against carrying on beyond 38 weeks. haha, the book sounds interesting, other than our big big tummies, what are the main differences between multiples and singleton pregnancies??

Hi SeeJay,

I am sure u are def not looking 4ward gg back to work now. I am sure yr twins now r having more and more responses and its getting fun rite?? My twins are 4 mths now, their smiles just melt my heart..

Juliet, It cost us nearly 25k for my twins stay at the nicu. Yes, its alot but what to do...born light ma!!! I tried to eat and eat and eat to beef them up, but still they didnt grow much bigger but instead me gets bigger till NOW!!!!

I do everything simultanously with the twins. Feed twin 1 first, then twin 2...Bath twin 1 , then number 2...and so on......I try my best to get feed them 2gther, so they can knock out together too..but of course sometimes things just dont go yr way!!!

wah, poko, that was costly!

ya, my gynae tell me to try eating more red meat and carbo in the hope that the babies will pick up more weight. but it's so difficult! yesterday i practically threw up everything i ate and even hyperventilate on the train while on my way home after work. feel so much like dying lor. dunno how ot pull thru' the whole pregnancy leh. my #1 was a lot easier, just the MS in the early part n PUPP towards the end of the pregnancy.

Hi alyssa,

I was a A1 class pt...then after bbs born, kkh business office staff actually approached us and said they will downgrade the baby ward status from A1 TO B1 class.

We were initially very happy as it sounded like a big gd jump (savings) but we very soon found out that B1 is a private class charges and the difference of A1 and B1 is that we now pay abt $10 to $20 lesser per day, per baby. hmmmmm......u get what i mean?

Went to social work to get further discount, but if u stay in a privte property, u will not get downgraded to B2 or C class (subsidised rate).

I paid a fair bit by medisave..

hi ladies, glad to know there is a thread for multiples mummytobe. this is my first pregnancy and i am having triplets now.

for those that engage househelp, is there a recommended agency? i predict that i will need one to come in early to help out in preparing for bbs arrival. any suggestion?

Yum yum: congrats on your triplets!!! how far along r u w/ the pregnancy? my twins are already driving me crazy at 15 wks - backache, MS and all..

what househelp are you referring to? Maid, part-time cleaner, or confinement lady?

seejay - basically the book covers a large part on diet and how to prevent preterm labour and to be aware of the signs. Also emphasizes on bedrest.

hi Spiffy,

where can i get the book. quite difficult to get books on multiple pregnancy.. i have tried borders and kinokuniya..

Am 10 weeks now and just discovered that I am also expecting twins this week. Was a real surprise to us! Actually am still in a state of 'shock'esp since they were hiding during my first scan and I thot I was expecting a singleton one mth ago!

Have a 22 mth old son. So logistics is gonna be a headache.

Argh... has anyone of u started to think of logistics yet?

Hi Alyssa, i got the book ( When You're Expecting Twins, Triplets or Quads by Dr. Barbara Luke) from Kinokuniya.

Kino has 2 shelves just on such books and i browsed though all of them. Some were quite simplistic. I thought this one was the best because it's co written by a doctor who specialises in multiple births and a women who went through it first hand. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MomMe, all the time! Hubby and I have been discussing how to cope, the sleeping configuration, who to take care etc.

congrats momme! thinking of logistics here too. my mum talks about it everyday.

thanks juliet08, looking for maid cos after reading some books on multiples, it is common to be on bedrest in 3rd trimester. it will be good to have someone to help out while dh is working.

any lobang?

alyssa, you tried nlb? i am reading a book on twins or multiples.

spiffy, you have the full title of the book you got from kino? I try to make a book recommendation when i visit nlb tomorrow. hope they can buy some for borrowing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] tia!

haha... I am conforted that I'm not the only one ....

As for me, hubby is away for 3mth so pretty much 'alone' in this for the time being. My maid took care of my first kid but doubt anyone can handle twins by themselves, so am exploring the option of putting them in infantcare.

yumyum - am looking for a new maid too coz my current one is going home. Rem to tell them your 'special' requirements so that they can look out for a more reliable one for you!

Hi Alyssa, Found the following from NLB!

you can also reserve it and get them to transfer to a library nearest to you for easier collection.

Title When you're expecting twins, triplets, or quads : proven guidelines for a healthy multiple pregnancy / Barbara Luke and Tamara Eberlein.

Author Luke, Barbara.

Publisher New York : HarperResource, c2004.

Physical Description xii, 419 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.

Other Contributors Eberlein, Tamara.

Search by Subjects Multiple pregnancy.

Multiple birth.

Twins.

Triplets.

Quadruplets.

Child development.

Where to find it

Branch Location Date Call Number Status

Bishan Public Library ____ 05-12-09 English 618.25 LUK -[FAM] On Loan

Bukit Panjang Public Library ____ 20-11-09 English 618.25 LUK -[FAM] On Loan

Choa Chu Kang Public Library ____ 13-09-09 English 618.25 LUK -[FAM] Not on Loan

Cheng San Public Library ____ 12-04-09 English 618.25 LUK -[FAM] Not on Loan

Woodlands Regional Library ____ 26-10-09 English 618.25 LUK -[FAM] Not on Loan

Yishun Public Library ____ 11-09-09 English 618.25 LUK -[FAM] Not on Loan

cheers!

i asked my gynea if my twins were identical. he said cant telll till they are born.. is it true?

I am currently bout 10 weeks. bb is bout 2.6 cm each. normal?

cos the preganancy books i have have sizes fro singleton and not for twins. the book reccommended din state sizes. how big r ur babies??

serene, my doc also couldn't tell me if my twins are identical (separate placenta, separate sac). After my cesarean, the midwives compared the babies and told me they look identical but nobody was sure also.. I went to read up on twin pregnancies and found out tat for my case, 1/3 probability of being identical and 2/3 probability of being fraternal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

You can check out babycentre website. They have a weekly progress thing which is quite interesting to read, esp in the first trimester!

Hi serene

From what I understand from my gynae, if both are in the same water bag, then they are def identical. If in different water bags, then fraternal.

When I checked at 9 weeks +... my twins abt the same size as yours [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]... if I'm not wrong I think the they growth rate should be same as singletons right? Esp at beginning

i think MomMe is right. The growth rate for twins should be the same for singletons.

and yea, if both are in same water bag, identical. Else fratenal.

same gestational sac = monozygotic or "identical" twins. gestational sac will become the chorion. chorion can contain 1 or 2 amnions. amnion is the so-called water-bag.

2 gestational sac most likely to be "fraternal" twins, though also can be "identical" twins, depending when a single egg splits into 2. Can tell for sure only when they are born based on how identical they are.

"Identical" twins almost always same sex. "Fraternal" twins can be one boy one girl or both the same.

Hey there

I am a pessimist by nature... and it sure doesnt help reading books that have an endless list of potential complications that may arise with identical twins... :eek:p

me too. i am currently worrying bout my upcoming tests next week.

wondering if my babies are growing. esp when i hardly drink any milk. and i puke my dinner nitely.

and my tummy does not seem to be very big. argh....

Hi Serene,

Wat tests are you up for? I'm due for Oscar next week.

Think first tri tummy wont be that big.

Is this your first pregnancy?

Does anyone know if Oscar is accurate if one is carrying twins? i've read that while the nuchal scan is the same, the blood test may not be accurate.

Hi MomMe,

it's my first pregnancy.

it's written on my sliop that i am doing NT+FA without doppler.

Dun think its Oscar. Doc did not highlight Oscar. He din say. He just said, go for your tests. And blur me just said, orh ok.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I dunno about Oscar but I was told by many pple that Amino tests often result in premature birth. I am hoping I will not have to do it cos twins already will be premature, if plus Amino, it will be worse..

I am goign TMC next tues 2pm for my tests. Both anxious to see my babies yet worried.. arghhhh

hi, thought i'd share my thoughts about oscar. my gynae suggested oscar, but didn't say i must go, probably because i am <35 and no down syndrome case in my family. gynae say it is not a diagnostic test, more like a probability test , so also not a pass-fail test for sure. oscar consists of a NT scan, which measures the baby nuchal fold thickness and a blood test based on your blood.

hubby and i decided not to go for it in the end. because i am not comfortable with it being only a probability test, which will bring some amount of anxiousness. and if it is bad results, to go for amnio, i feel is highly risky for twins, especially as mine are identical twins sharing one chorion. only invasive testing like amnio can tell 100% whether got DS or other problems or not. we choose to shui2 yuan2, what will be will be.

of course there are people who would want to know and be prepared should there be any problems with the babies. *touchwood* it's a choice for parents-to-be to make, unless the gynae insists for medical reasons. my gynae also say that such tests can help him know what to watch out for that may be highlighted in the results.

serene, looks like your test is not Oscar, but a NT (nuchal translucency) scan and a FA (fetal anomaly) scan. by the way, in the first trimester, the babies get their nutrients from the yolk sac (or whatever it is called), so don't worry too much about them if you are not eating well in first tri. try to catch up in 2nd tri. good luck!

spiffy, i believe oscar results from the blood test will be adjusted for twin pregnancy if the lab is aware of it. it would be a waste of $$ if the test results are not usable! :p

for twins, oscar won't be accurate. so only NT scan. my gynae wanted me to do the scan because twins and also one was a bit smaller than the other. so do a scan just to make sure things are alright. results turned out fine. by 15wks, both of them same size liao.