TOA PAYOH mummies

char

Oh thanks! I'll go surf for Star Tots. Really need to find some 'outlet' for my boy before he tears the hse down!

dolphin

Hehe sorry can't help. I only have boy clothes & ugly plain hand me down ones at that

morn...

Ivy - I am in balesiter.. it's across the "lokang" from tpy. :p so actually not consider mah. hehe

so no one has any info on piano trs huh.

Jul - of cos not KS.
actually type of classes depends on ur aim. if language is a concern, i wld says kindermusik rather than gym. and of cos, maybe Julia Gab playclub or GUG type wld be even better. they focus on language. Personally after trials, i perfer JG than GUG.

ARE, my info might be outdated seeing that I don't go back often and I left Penang at the age of 14. Haha! Newmummy might be able to help, she's a Penang girl too.

Jul, what do you want to know with regards to kids learning piano? I'm a piano teacher and I teach my daughter piano (she's 7).

Jfoo - Me me... looking for piano tr. :p
oh do u still teach?

my boy is in mandeville now... but thinking of changing him to a pte tr instead.

As for the boobs, mine is definitely not back to normal, not even close! Don't think it is the pumping though...I have friends who pumped when they were at the workplace but when they're home they'd latch the baby directly. And their "assets", well let's just say, as good as before if not better?! I don't know how they did it. One of them didn't even wear a bra when she was doing her confinement and subsequently maternity leave. After going back to work she'd wear a non-wired bra and once she gets home she'll take it off. And I tell you her boobs don't sag a single bit! Mind you she did have a great set of assets to start with. Haha!

Jul,
How old is your son?? SHe in IFC abv ntuc. I think got half day play group. U go to their website and see if got info.
I went to try GUG, BJG, eh so far ok only leh. Am going to see shincida and JG & Kindermusik next.
I latch 3 mths, after that latch & pump another 4 mths, wah super damage haha.

Jfoo.... life so not fair hahhaha.. I got big boobs.. then after BF, its deflated and saggy....

MTDT, ok lah quite near lah.

gal.dplphin, i gave my whites to char. Did not give her my girl's clothes cos she is having a boy. I go see whether i still have any left, cos mine mostly white. Pink mittens ai mai? Hat also i tink got.

ivy - ooh u tried GUG too huh?

shichida dun hv trial class. :p if u wan a trial, can try Little Neuro Tree. similar. There is another centre open by 2 ex SM trs in tpy. can try too.

http://www.rightbrilliance.com

The rest - all hv trials...

Kindermusik - actually personally i found it very nice at first, but after 3-4classes, i found it boring! lucky i only joined the holiday program then, thus only 5 classes. wahahha

jfoo

Er not me. If my boy can play piano now, I can retire already muahahaha

ivy

Mine's 15 mths old. Thinking of starting him on some kind of playgroup at 18 mths. I think I'll go for Kindermusic & Gymboree/JWT trial first. GUG & JG can wait, coz I think he's not ready for "learning", more playing at this stage. Dun even need to mention Shichida, what right brain learning etc. He cries in a crowd & has ZERO attention span

How old is yours?

Life's cruel to me then. I have small, saggy boobs! argh!

MTDT

I only intend to go for Kindermusik for 1 term only, then move on to Gymboree/JWT next. Prob by then, my boy will be ready for those 2-h playgroup?

Actually I went for a trial at Kindermusik before. But my boy wasn't ready. He cried the whole time
But it seems like he loves music. He's aws watching Hi5, so I figured some music fun for a start would be good?

jul - sometimes the kid takes sometime to settle down.
yes, maybe u can get some educational DVDs for ur mom/maid to play for him. also can learn thru them. (eg leapfrog - highly recommended)

Precious - my kids also loves "mummy and me"

but i notice for my no2, 11mths now, he loves food shows more! when my mom watches her "cooking show"... wow, this boy the eyes totally dun blink and stare at the tv! wahahahah

JUL,
my girl now 11.5mths, she seems to enjoy GUG, but i find it boring haha.

MTDT,
ya for shincida, may ask me to go see the video. So i so lazy even though just at toa payoh central. I go check up right briliance, thanks. So far u went for which one and think its quite interesting? My fren say kindermusik need to buy a lot of things and if dun continue wated. Is it true?

Whats JWT? eheh i know JWT for a advertising agency.

ivy - right brain i trial at right brilliance before. for my no1, I went to BJG for 6mths, then went to SM for 1yr and LNT for 1yr. :p afterall the "changes", i still prefer SM (and BJG but distance was a problem then at bukit batoh)

other trials - i went to ALOT actually. (u can read my blog) :p it really depends on wat u r looking for at the end of the day.

Kindermusik (rythmnme/jusmusic/etc)- i only join hol program tat comes with the "pack". so i din buy anything. musik - i prefer classes that uses real instruments. Kindermusik does.. but mainly percussion. so i get bored with it! :p and it's abt the same after a few classes... thus i actually can do it at home with my kids after a while.

Gym (JWT/Mygym/littlegym/gymboree/etc)- my thinking is always "playground is free" :p unless u talking abt gymastic type.. thus so far, all my gyms are "trials/adhoc" classes :p

Playgroup style (JG/GUG/busybuddies etc) - if ur kid is already in IFC/CC... i find it abit duplicated. at tat time, my no1 was in IFC, thus i din look into tat).

thus for my no1 - I narrow it down to right brain classes for him only.
only when he turns older, then i added more classes for him

no2 - sad to say, till now is zero. hahaha

precious

Thanks for the link!

ivy

I think GUG will be boring for me too. I heard that it's artwork & flashcards & some other stuff that I can't rem..

MTDT

Wah.. u really went to a lot of enrichment classes.

I'm just looking for something to get my boy used to a group setting. Get him socialising with other kids of his age, some discipline, bonding time & fun with him... That's why I'm only going to start out on those 1 weekend day classes.

I think my boy likes music, so thought Kindermusik will be fun (but I also thin it'll be repetitive so I'm only gog to do one term at the most).

Gym : Because he's very active & strong. Hoping a weekend gym class will instill the discipline & teach him control over his muscles & strength.

After that, then I will put him into those 2h a day playgroup & slowly build up to half day or full day childcare. When he's in childcare, I don't intend to put him into any more enrichment classes. Don't want him to see mummy = study again. I already don't have a very gd relationship with him

Does Leapfrog have music & songs thru'out? It's hard to capture/retain my boy's attn unless there's music like Hi5. And if he shows the slightet inclination at wanting to move away, my MIL will ay it's useless & stop showing him the DVD & go back to cartoons!

MTDT, yes, I still teach. Just curious, why do you want to pull him out from Mandeville? Anyway you can PM me.

Jul, there's a gym in Toa Payoh Lor 7 called Prime. They take in tots at 2 (parent and child session).

jfoo

Thanks! Wow I'm so glad I joined this thread. already found a gym, playgroup & some genius-making right brain school haha

ivy - my blog, go see our dec blog lah. hv link there :p

jul - hehe ya, last time 1st time mum, with tons of time to spend over wkends. so going for trials like my hobby! wahaahha. for no2 - no more gas liao.. so no2 only goes to a few nia :p

ivy - i like trials. no committment! :p
and i can "learn" some tips on how to play with my boy. if not, sometimes really u stare at me, i stare at u! whahaaha :p

and best is after class, baby usually tired and will nap LONGER! wahahhahaa

so during trials, i dun really mind my baby can settle or not. instead i am busy trying to "learn" from the tr myself! whahahah

hey... any mummy a fan of tulip brand canned sausages? i am a huge fan and wen to buy one can juz nw to prepare for a small party tmr, and had a pleasant surprise! for cocktail sausages, UP is $6.50, now selling $3.75 only! i tot error but receipt is correct wor. their other canned meats like chopped ham, luncheon meat also huge discount, like one can $5+, now 2 cans $7+. i tot tis is processed food lah, but they taste so good! hahaha... i grew up on processed food anyways, cos mum seldom cook. hehe...

MTDT
After having #2, I'm more relaxed. He has never attended any trial class. I remembered when I had #1, I bought all kinds of utensils (fork n spoon) as according to their age/months. With #2, I just use any spoon to feed him. Same goes with toys and books. Surprisely his fine motor skills is very good. And he has longer attention span than #1, he can take simple intructions etc: I will tell him not to touch a particular item because it is dirty and he will stop. I ask him to keep toys then he will go according to the boxes to keep.

MTDT
The prime gym at TPY, I brought #1 twice. However she did not like. It is very spacious, flexible in their timetable n make up class, however the equipments are quite old. You may check it out the Children Gym at Turf City. They do hv trial.

haha, we at saggy boobs topic :p

Oh yes, definitely for mine, deflated after I pumped stopping for #1. Well, by 1 size prob.

Gal dolphin, when are u due? So xciting, u are next after Char.

Jul 04 - my #1 attended startots at b78 last time. The teachers are very nice and caring
Check it out. And my #1 at shichida on weekend.

speaking of having more than 1 kid, my aunt who is a mum of 3 grown up kids told me that it's true that we tend to be more relaxed and chin chai when there are more than 1 child. she joked that 1st child - when cleaning the eyes, we use 2 cotton pads, 1 for each eye. 2nd child, use 1 cotton pad, 1 side for each eye. 3rd child onwards, one cotton pad for each child's eyes. LOL!

me due on fri onwards. so meantime waiting and waiting.......

Char
I also realise after having #2, there are lots of things which are not necessary to have/to buy
Meanwhile spend more time with your hb and your girl before you get busier with #2. God bless!

haha.. ya lah. 1st kid we always paranoid. maybe becos we are overloaded with info in this IT Era. :p

comes to no2 - actually like tat also can, like this also no harm. as long as dun hurt the kid... anything also fine! wahahaha

Precious - thanks for the gym info. honestly i dun hv anymore time for zav. :p

Gym - Prime gym has a good team of coaches, whether for recreational purposes or competitive.

Kids - With our first child we tend to over-do certain things. It is our first time being a mum and as mentioned, we get so much info so we just do everything, kiasi. Then with the 2nd one we know what we need to do and what the extras are, so since we have less time (time needs to be divided into 2), we cut back on what is not necessary. With no 3, it's "as long as no accidents, that's fine". I have a friend with 6, and seriously, I don't know how she manages. Oh, and no helper. One can say her eldest is already 12 so can help around etc but I believe in every age, a different set of challenges appear so as a parent, one is still have to cope with all these.

Char,
hehehe kancheong leh hehehehe, anyway u have my number ya, anything just text me for help since i so nearby.

MTDT,
ya lor i find the trial class more for me to learn how to teach my girl, arbo is i look at her she look at me. But recently she very cute, will put her arms around me.

Hi SUrf,

my #1 is in Cambridge @ Mei Hwan , K2, graduationg this yr.

my #2(2007) will be joining Cambridge @ Mei Hwan , N2, next month.

Ivy,

thanks ya.. i dun mind pink hehehe..

Surf,
m due next feb.. still havent do any prep yet.. so lazy.. trying to clear my house to make more space for the little one before getting stuff..

Oh btw..

I don't know if any of your BBs are gog to this PD at Toa Payoph Central. Pls do not go. From my experience, that PD is only intersted in pushing meds & earning $$. I must have spent $700+ at that PD's & I really regret bring my boy there. Not the $$, but b/c of the suffering that PD put my boy thru
Heart pain

jfoo

Prime Gym takes in kids from 3 yrs onwards only right? Don't think they have play groups for 18 mth / 2 yr olds?

jul,
are u refering to dr heng? i used to bring my gal to see her for about 2yrs+ but lately i also feel that she seems to be pushing a lot of med and tests and ended up paying thru my nose so i've stopped going there liao. she wasn't like that last time.

ivy,

u gt pmed..

jul,
my son is attending prime gym.. they have class for 18months onwards..
basically more of play and going thru some simple obstacles course.. very simple..

u can always do a trial before signing up.. =)

Jul
What happen? Is your boy ok?
My two kids visit Dr Jeremy Tan at Faith Clinic Lor 8, so far he is good. Once I visited Dr Teo at YS Teo too, he is also good

Hi jul... wat happen to your child. My kids also seeing Dr Heng. Yes she is really pushing a lot of test and meds to my kids. Recently just spend 200 doing some unnecessary tests ....

Which PD do you see now?

Jul
The playgroup is actually conducted at this RC centre, a standalone building beside a playground. The con of such places is they do not hv proper toilets for toddlers. Also, u hv to source a proper Kindergarten later on as this is solely a playgroup. That's why am sending my gal to a CC centre now to enrol her in nursery.

Re: PD
Oh dear, was still thinking to bring #2 to see dr heng for all the vaccinations. Hmm, as compared to pds located in tmc or mt a, her consulation fee is much cheaper. E.g. i was referred to a pd by gynae when i delivered at TMC. This PD is based in Mt A. When I went bk to her for follow up on my #2's jaundice, the consultation was $100!! Plus the test, the bill was $100 plus. I recalled when #1 had jaundice and I delivered at KK, they referred us to polyclinic for the follow up, I paid like $10 for the follow up test.

So my conclusion is Dr heng's charges still cheaper if u look at PD per se. her consultationn is $40? Hmm... now I dunno if shld bring to polyclinic again. After i hv gone thru them for #1, realise the way they do vaccines, really scared the kids off. Must be in certain position and parents must hold down, etc. At dr heng, she was v fast that my gal didn't even hv time to react. But of coz, price differenc lor, btw pd and polyclinic. Now my #1 seeing GP alr.

surf,
i'm also in a dilema as to whether or not to bring my #2 to dr heng. i must agree with you that she is very quick with the injections but when it comes to baby being sick, i'm quite scared to go to her, very very ex! wait everything is bronchitis and must do inhalor puffs or nebulise. but then i duno whc doc is reliable to go to for babies when they're sick.

char, precious, janice

Thanks for the concern. My boy's not sick now.

Yes, it is THAT PD. Actually I aws went to Dr Ong at Mt A (he was at TMC & I was assigned to him when I delivered there). But his clinic is aws very crowded & the queue is really long. I went to him for all the jabs though, coz Hubs & I trust him a lot.

But because MIL's place is at Toa Payoh, & both ILs dislike the queue (& they're not happy with Dr Ong coz he seems very bo chap & they feel that the clinic is stuck up coz they're "popular'), they'd rather go to THAT PD. (And also bcoz SIL used to go to her - speaking of this, it makes me mad, but that's another loong story). So.. a couple of mths back, my boy had a blocked/running nose, cough, phlegm & fever episode. We went to THAT PD again & she said it was probably HFMD! Made me buy antibiotics & antiviral med. I wasn't sure that it really was HFMD & was reluctant to buy the $100+ antiviral. I asked her if antibiotics was also necessary & she said YES. She asked me to buy the $30+ antiviral that day & made me go back to her the following day for follow up.

The next day, she said it was CONFIRMED HFMD & made me buy the $100+ antiviral. My poor boy took 2 types of paracetamol, 2 types of antiviral, & augmentin. On hind sight, docs shd never prescribe antiviral & antibiotics together. Antibiotics is for baterial infection. If it's a virus, why augmentin? Besides, virus shd be allowed to recover by itself? But I was too panicked that my boy had HFMD to ask/think too much.

My poor boy was crying & struggling & couldn't eat for a few days. We had to pin him down to take meds. Hiding the meds in his milk or porridge didn't work coz there was so darned much (5ml of antiviral alone!) He lost appetite coz the meds were so strong (fyi my boy has a very good appetite. He eats very well even if he's sick). he also had diarrhoea after taking all those meds till he had a very very bad diaper rash. His whole butt & scrotum & testicles were red & weeping & he cried like mad every time we had to change him.

Hubs insisted we go back to Dr Ong for a 2nd opinion & he said it WASN"T HFMD! Even it it were, there's no need to take antiviral med bcoz it will run its course (analogy : chicken pox). And definitely not antibiotics! I was sooo upset that my boy went through all that trauma & suffering coz that PD wanted to make $$. Oh yeah, I went to read the labels & the $100+ antiviral was for HERPES!!!!

I went back & told MIL that I am NEVER gog back to that PD. I'd rather go to Dr Ong & camp there from opening hrs till lunchtime than subject my boy to such suffering again.

And thinking back.. My boy had another flu episode & that PD gave so many meds too. Insisted I took Zyrtec & whatever not even he had no running nose. I stupidly took it for 7 full days like she instructed.

And when my poor boy as only 2 weeks old, my MIL & SIL inisted he had phlegm & went to that PD. He was obviously too young for meds then so that PD did the suction thing. Inserted a tube into his throat & nostrils to supposedly suck out phlegm. We went back again at ard 8 weeks to do the same thing. Now I keep wondering if I had damaged my boy's nose & throat membranes by that stupid sucking of phlegm. For info, Dr Ong said my boy didn't have phlegm (just normal 'pi sai') but MIL insisted there eas phlegm coz all kids have phlegm (????)

So.. anyway.. buyers beware. I'm aware that there are many parents out there who find that PD very gd. But for me, I'd rather self-medicate than go to her ever again. The consultation may be cheap, but she earns it all back & more thru the meds. I went to Dr Ong for my boy's flu recently & even with $50 consultation & 5 meds & 1 diaper rash cream, it cost me only $80+.

surf

I think I'll start my boy with playgroup first at 18 mths. Coz dunno if he can adapt. He's the cry when go to new places type (but he is a terror at home
) haha

In fact, I'm trying to get a slot for Kidnermusik trial this weekend. Just bring hi to look c & learn some tips heehee.

maybe next weekend can go Gymboree or something (so that mummy can pick up more tips)

I'm tired of seeing my boy play aimlessly all day & gog crazy coz he's sooo bored!

The advantage of Prime Gym is that it's in Toa Payoh & my ILs can easily drop off/pick up my boy there.