Teacher Mummies

kitty
Even when i'm doing my confinement now, i muz help in generating the sch timetable because i'm the overall i/c and my team is not experience enough to handle everything on their own. They even came to my place to discuss. No choice. But my colleagues were really apologetic abt disturbing me. Imagine I was expressing milk using my left hand, right hand on the mouse doing the timetable.

For my no.1, the sch also call when they need something. They try to avoid, only call when they are desperate. But that yr, at least my boss recognised all the effort and gave a good performance grade.

Do take a good rest and dun think abt work. I think your school will not call you unnecessarily.

Hi Teachers mummies
Im a newbie to this thread and thot it would b gd to join in ur discussion. With the current H1N1 situation... Im actually quite worried about preggies gg back to sch on Mon.. especially when I hv yet to recover from flu (I did not travel out of Sg).. still coughing, having phlegm and runny nose and ther's a kid in my class on LOA who's now having fever. My gynae suggested tt I shld wear a mask to sch but how to teach like tt... So in the end he was kind enuff to give me MC for the rest of next wk... but now don't know if I shld take it... Sigh.. if absent for a week.. not sure what mess there'll b when I return to work but on the other hand, don't want to put me n BB at risk too..

A question.. My edd is on 22 Oct.. but heard ppl saying tt 1st pregnancy may be due 1 - 2 weeks earlier.. Does that mean that if I take medical leave 2 weeks earlier and if BB decides to see the world earlier than edd, that means mc wasted and ML will start on the day BB is born? I m thinking of how to maximise my ML if im allowed to break leave.. or if not allowed to break leave, then will taking medical/hospitalisation leave help?

Hope to get some advice here. Thanks!

Candy white
If your baby decides to come early, your ML will start on the day your baby is born. Then your MC will stop on the day before your baby is born. Can check with your AM. They are the best person to confirm these.

As for breaking of ML, it all depends on your sch. Some sch do not allow teachers to break their leave. Muz take 4 mths straight. The 1st 2 mths (56 days) muz take continously after the birth of your baby. The next 2 mths all depends.

ARGH!! I really dun want to start sch tmr! with the H1N1 going on, I'm really scared of sch reopening. Who knows if any child would be carrying the virus. Somemore, I'm also worried some parents would be socially irresponsible and still send their child to sch despite advices against it. Some parents can be quite kiasu and think their children cannot miss out any lesson. ARGH!!

Think i'm getting paranoid. I keep thinking I am having fever. But seriously, I;m not so worried if i'm not preg. Now preg, I really would think more for baby.

So, Candy White, I really think that you shd rest at home to build up your immunity. I read somewhr that pregnant women has lower immunity as the body does not want to reject feotus. So, being that, we tend to catch virus easily. Thus, it's good to be fully recovered b4 you are exposed to the H1N1 risk in sch. Else, it would be complicated if suay suay you having a flu virus now and catch another strain in sch. Then, i think things will get worse. treat one virus at one time and really have a good rest at home. Same theory again (the very selfish theory) - your baby is more impt to you......

I shall try my luck to speak to my P abt ML thingy... P under LOA.. not sure when she cmg back too... My AM will always tell me can break leave or not depends on P and to speak to P muz catch her in gd mood... cos treatment not the same for all MTB.

Rachelle, if u worried, mayb u want to speak to ur gynae abt it n c what he says or just request for a week's leave? Think they r usually understanding towards preg ladies.. After speaking to hubby, he ordered me to stay at hm and leave work aside for the week.. cos cmg week is very crucial cos it's when the children start to mingle so monitor the situation at hm first.. But also understand that cannot hide forever la... but I just have to clear the phlegm and stop coughing... Ya.. preg women r under high risk grp n have lower immunity... so we shld think more for the little life growing in us... Getting paranoid like u..

Enidmummy, that's really tough on yr side. But i can understand as an oic, not easy to totally put down all the responsibilities. I'm trying my best not to think much nw and only gg to enjoy more rest b4 i pop.

Candy white, i oso think u should take mc and rest more at hm. Afterall, bb is more impt than work. Hope u recover soon!

We just hope for the best, everyone! Bless all of you and your babies! Be optimistic!

Finally holidays is over! Now is time to work very hard before our babies come out!

hlmilk

Sigh, My nightmare has come true.

My VP told me today that one of my student's sibling was tested H1N1 positive yest. The thing is my student was in class yest! Now the whole family is under HQO.

But I already have contact with the student yest and even mon. Now I am just crossing my fingers and hope for the best.

Since my student is not the one tested positive, we are not quarantine the whole class.

Anyone know what I shd do now? My gynae today half day. so cant ask her. I'm very lost and confused...........

Rachelle, monitor your own health status everyday.. if u r worried, go to gynae immediately and ask for rest at home. Just hope that the student is alright... and the parents of the other students will not call to bother u.. Take care! Everything will be alright.

I think the more you worry, the higher the probility of something happening. This is called the law of attraction.
Rachelle, the only you can do at this stage, since you can't control whether your student gets it from the sibling, is to keep a positive mind, and maybe take enough vitamins and fruits to keep flu away.

I'm new to this thread as well.Candy White, my EDD is the same as u..haha..
I'm intending to extend my ML as well..in fact, was thinking of going part time or flexi-adjunct...

Hi Hazel,

Welcome!! I am just curious. What makes you want to swtich to part time or flexi adjunct? I am thinking to do that after my second child but wondering whether it is the best choice.

hlmilk

Hazel: So lovely.. same edd.. Are you going to start ML early? Does your sch allow breaking leave? I have not spoken to P yet as she's always so busy..

Saw a sad story will surfing the net. So wanna share with u all... veri pai sei cos the story abit long.

Just two years after our marriage, hubby brought up the idea of asking
Mother to move from the rural hometown and spend her remaining years with
us. Hubby's father passed away while he was still very young. Mother endured
much hardship and struggled all on her own to provide for him, see him
through to a university degree. You could say that she suffered a great deal
and did everything you could expect of a woman to bring hubby to where he is
today.

I immediately agreed and started packing the spare room, which has a balcony
facing the South to let her enjoy the sunshine and plant some greenery.Hubby
stood in the bright room, and suddenly just picked me up and started
spinning round and round. As I begged him to put me down, he said:"Lets go
fetch mother." Hubby is tall and big sized and I love to rest on his chest
and enjoy the feeling that he could pick me up at any moment put the tiny me
into his pockets. Whenever we have an argument and both refuses to back
down, he would pick me up and spin me over his head continuously until I
surrender and beg for mercy. I became addicted to this kind of panic-joy
feeling.

Mother brought along her countryside habits and lifestyle with her. For
example; I am so used to buying flowers to decorate the living room, she
could not stand it and would comment: "I do not know how you young people
spend your money,why do you buy flowers for? You also can't eat the
flowers!"I smiled and said: "Mum, with flowers in the house, our mood will
also become better."Mother continues to grumble away, and hubby smiled:
Mum,this is a city-people's habit, slowly you will get use to it." Mother
stopped saying anything. But every time thereafter, whenever I came home
with flowers, she would ask me how much it costs. I told her and she would
shake her head and express displeasure. Sometimes, when I come home with
lots of shopping bags, she would ask each and every item how much they cost,
I would tell her honestly and she would get even more upset about it. Hubby
playfully pinched my nose and said: "You little fool, just don't tell her
the full price of everything would solve it." There begins the friction to
our otherwise happy lifestyle.

Mother hates it most when hubby wakes up early to prepare the breakfast. In
her view, how could the man of the house cook for the wife? At the breakfast
table, mother's facial expression is always like the dark clouds before a
thunderstorm and I would pretend not to notice. She would use her chopsticks
and make a lot of noise with it as her silent protest. As I am a dance
teacher in the Children's Palace and is exhausted from a long day of dancing
around, I do not wish to give up the luxury of that additional few minutes
in the comfort of my bed and hence I turned a deaf ear to all the protest
mother makes. From time to time, mother would help out with some housework,
but soon her help created additional work for me. For example: she would
keep all kinds of plastic bags accumulating them so that she sell them later
on, and that resulted in our house being filled with all the trash bags; she
would scrimp on dish washing detergent when helping to wash the dishes and
so as not to hurt her feelings, I would quietly wash them again.

One day, late at night, mother saw me quietly washing the dishes, and "Bam"
she slams her bedroom door and cried very loudly in her room. Hubby was
placed in a difficult position, and after that, he did not speak to me for
that entire night. I pretended to be a spoilt child, tried acting cute, but
he totally ignored me. I got mad and asked him: "What did I do wrong?" Hubby
stared at me and said: "Can't you just give in to her once? We couldn't
possibly die eating from a bowl however unclean it is, right?" After that
incident, for a long period of time, mother did not speak to me and you can
feel that there is a very awkward feeling hanging in the house.

During that period of cold war, hubby was caught in dilemma as to who to
please. In order to stop her son from having to prepare breakfast, mother
took on the "all important" task of preparing breakfast without any
prompting. At the breakfast table, mother would look at hubby happily eating
his breakfast and cast that reprimanding stare at me for having failed to
perform my duty as a wife. To avoid the embarrassing breakfast situation, I
resorted to buying my own breakfast on my way to work.

That night, while in bed, hubby was a little upset and asked me: "LD, is it
because you think that mum's cooking is not clean that's why you chose not
to eat at home?" He then turned his back on me and left me alone in tears as
feeling of unfairness overwhelmed me. After some time, hubby sighed: "LD,
just for me, can you have breakfast at home?" I am left with no choice but
to return to the breakfast table.

The next morning, I was having porridge prepared by mother and I felt a
sudden churn in my stomach and everything inside seem to be rushing up my
throat. I tried to suppress the urge to throw up but I couldn't. I threw
down the bowl and rushed into the washroom and vomited everything out. Just
as I was catching my breath, I saw mother crying and grumbling very loudlyin
her dialect, hubby was standing at the washroom doorway staring at me with
fire burning in his eyes. I opened my mouth but no words came out of it, I
really didn't mean it. We had our very first big fight that day; mother took
a look at us, then stood up and slowly made her way out of the house. Hubby
gave me a final stare in the eye and followed mother down the stairs. For
three days, hubby did not return home, not even a phone call. I was so
furious , since mother arrived; I had been trying my best and putting up
with her, what else do you want me to do? For no reason, I keep having the
feelingto throw up and I simply have not appetite for food, coupled with all
the events happening at home, I was at the low point in my life.

Finally, a colleague said: "LD, you look terrible, you should go and see a
doctor." The doctor confirmed that I am pregnant. Now it became clear to me
why I threw up that fateful morning, a sense of sadness floated through that
otherwise happy news. Why didn't hubby, and mother who had been through this
before, thought of the possibility of this being the reason that day? At the
hospital entrance, I saw my hubby standing there. It had only been three
days, but he looked haggard. I had wanted to turn and leave, but one look at
him and my heart soften, I couldn't resist and called out to him. He
followed my voice and finally found me but he pretended that he doesn't know
me; he has that disgusted look in his eyes that cut right through my heart.
I told myself not to look at him anymore, and hail a cab. At that moment, I
have such a strong urge inside me to shout to my hubby: "Darling, I am
having your baby!" and have him lift me up and spin me round in circles of
joy. What I wanted didn't happen and as I sat in the cab, my tears started
rollingdown. Why? Why our love couldn't even withstand the test of one
fight? Back home, I lay on the bed thinking about my hubby, and the
disgusted look in his eyes. I cried
and wet the corner of the blanket.

That night, sound of the drawers opening woke me up. I switched on the
lights and I saw hubby with tears rolling down his face. He was removing the
money. I stared at him in silence; he ignored me, took the bank deposit book
and some money and left the house. Maybe he really intends to leave me for
good. What a rational man, so clear-cut in love and money matters. I gave a
few dried laugh and tears starting streaming down again.

The next day, I did not go to work. I wanted to clear this out and have a
good talk with hubby. I reached his office and his secretary gave me a weird
look and said: "Mr. Tan's mother had a traffic accident and is now in the
hospital." I stood there in shock. I rushed to the hospital and by the time
I found hubby, mother had already passed away. Hubby did not look at me, his
face was expressionless. I looked at mother's pale white and thin face and I
couldn't control the tears in my eyes. My god, how could this happen?

Throughout the funeral, hubby did say a single word to me, with only the
occasional disgusted stare at me. I only managed to find out brief facts
about the accident from other people. That day, after mother left the house,
she walked in dazed toward the bus stop, apparently intending to go back to
her old house back in the countryside. As hubby ran after her, she tried to
walk faster and as she tried to cross the street, a public bus came and hit
her...

I finally understood how much hubby must hate me, if I had not thrown up
that morning, if we had not quarreled, if... In his heart, I am indirectly
the killer of his mother. Hubby moved into mother's room and came home every
night with a strong liquor smell on him. And me, I am buried under the guilt
and self pity and could hardly breathe. I wanted to explain to him, tell him
that we are going to have our baby soon, but each time, I saw the dead look
in his eyes, all the words I have at the brink of my mouth just fell back
in. I had rather he hit me real hard or give me a big and thorough scolding
though none of these events happening had been my fault at all. Many days of
suffocating silence went by and as the days went by, hubby
came home later and later. The deadlock between us continues, we were living
together like strangers who don't know each other. I am like the dead knot
in his heart.

One day, I passed by a western restaurant, looking into the glass window, I
saw hubby and a girl sitting facing each other and he very lightly brushed
her hair for her, I understood what it meant. After recovering from that
moment of shock, I entered the restaurant, stood in front of my hubby and
stared hard at him, not a tear in my eyes. I have nothing to say to him, and
there is no need to say anything. The girl looked at me, looks at hubby,
stands up and wanted to go, hubby stretched out his hand and stopped her. He
stared back at me, challenging me. I can only hear my slow heartbeat,
beating, one by one as if at the brink of death. I eventually backed down,
if I had stood that any longer, I will collapse together with the baby
inside me.

That night, he did not come home, he had chosen to use that as a way to
indicate to me: Following mother's death so did our love for each other. He
did not come home anymore after that. Sometimes, when I returned home from
work, I can tell that the cupboard had been touched - he had returned to
take some of his stuff. I no longer wish to call him; the initial desire to
explain everything to him vanished. I lived alone; I go for my medical
checkups alone, my heart breaks again and again everytime I see a guy
carefully helping his wife through the physical examination. My office
colleagues hinted to me to consider aborting the baby, I told them No, I
will not. I insisted on having to this baby, perhaps it is my way of
repaying mother for causing her death.

One day, I came home and I saw hubby sitting in the living room. The whole
house was filled with cigarette smoke. On the coffee table, there was this
piece of paper. I know what it is all about without even looking at it. In
the two months plus of living alone, I have gradually learned to find peace
within myself. I looked at him, removed my hat and said: "You wait a while,
I will sign." He looked at me, mixed feelings in his eyes, just like mine.
As I hang up my coat, I keep repeating to myself "You cannot cry, you cannot
cry..." my eyes hurt terribly, but I refused to let tear come out from
there. After I hung up my coat, hubby's eyes stared fixed at my bulging
tummy. I smiled, walked over to the coffee table and pull the paper towards
me. Without even looking at what it says, I signed my name on it and pushed
the paper to him.

"LD, you are pregnant?" Since mother's accident, this is the first time he
spoke to me. I could not control my tears any further and they fell like
raindrops. I said: "Yes, but its ok, you can leave now." He did not go, in
the dark, we sat, facing each other. Hubby slowly moved over me, his tears
wet the blanket. In my heart, everything seems so far away, so far that even
if I sprint, I could never reach them. I cannot remember how many times he
repeated "sorry" to me, I had originally thought that I would forgive him,
but by now I can't. In the western restaurant, in front of that girl, that
cold look in his eyes, I will never forget, ever. We have drawn such deep
scars in each other's heart. For me, it's unintentional; for him, totally
intentional. I had been waiting for this moment of reconciliation, but I
realized now, what had gone past is gone forever and could not repeated.
Other than the thought of the baby inside me that would bring some warmth to
my heart, I am totally cold towards him, I no longer eat anything he buys
for me, I don't take any presents from him and I stopped talking to him.
From the moment I signed on that piece of paper, marriage and love had
vanished from my heart. sometimes, hubby will try to come into the bedroom,
but when he walks in, I will walk out to the living room. He had no choice
but to sleep in mother'sroom. At night, from his room, I can hear light
sounds of groaning, I kept quiet. This used to be his trick; last time,
whenever I ignore him, he would fake illness and I will
surrender and find out what is wrong with him, he would then grab me and
laugh. He has forgotten that last time; I cared for him and am concerned
because there is love, but now, what is there between us? Hubby's groaning
came on and off continuing all the way till baby was born. Almost every day,
he would buy something for the baby, infant products, children products and
books that kids like to read. Bags and bags of it stacked inside his room
till it is full. I know he is trying to use this to reach out to me, but I
am no longer moved by his actions. He has no choice but to lock himself in
his room and I can hear his typing away on his computer keyboard, maybe he
is now addicted to web surfing, but none of that matters to me anymore.

It was sometime towards the end of spring in the following year, one late
night, I screamed because of a sudden stomach pain, hubby came rushing into
the room, its like he did not change and sleep, and had been waiting for
this moment. He carried me and ran down the stairs, stopped a car, holding
my hand very tightly and kept wiping the sweat off my brown hair, throughout
the journey to the hospital. Once we reached the hospital, he carried me and
hurried into the delivery suite. Lying on the back of his skinny but warmth
body, a thought crossed my mind: In my lifetime, who else would love me as
much as he did? He held the delivery suite door opened and watch me go in,
his warm eyes caused me to managed a smile at him despite my contraction
pain. Coming out of the delivery room, hubby looked at our son, and me, his
eyes tear with joy and he kept smiling. I reached out and touched his hand.
Hubby looked at me, smiling and then he slowly collapsed onto the floor. I
cried out for him in pain... He smiled, but without opening that tired eyes
of his... I had thought that I would never shed any tear for him, but the
truth is, I have never felt a deeper pain cutting through my body at that
moment.

Doctor said that by the time hubby discovered he had liver cancer, it was
already in terminal stage and it was a miracle that he managed to last this
long. I asked the doctor when did he first discover he had cancer? Doctor
said about 5 months ago and consoled me saying: "Prepare for his funeral." I
disregarded the nurse's objection and rushed home, I went into his room and
checked his computer, and a suffocating pain hits me. Hubby's cancer was
discovered 5 months ago, his groaning was real, and I had thought that...
The computer showed over 200 thousand words he wrote for our son: "Son, just
for you, I have persisted, to be able to take a look at you before I fall,
is my biggest wish now... I know that in your life, you will have many
happiness and maybe some setbacks, if only I can accompany you throughout
that journey, how nice would it be. But daddy now no long has that chance.
Daddy has written inside here all the possible difficulties and problems you
may encounter during your lifetime, when you meet with these problems, you
can refer to daddy's suggestion... Son, after writing these 200 thousand
words, I feel as if I have accompanied you through your life journey. To be
honest, daddy is very happy. Do love your mother, she has suffered, she is
the one who loves you most and also the one who loves me most..." From play
school to primary school, to secondary, university, to work and even in
dealing with questions of love, everything big and small was written there.
Hubby has also written a letter for me: "My dear, to marry you is my biggest
happiness, forgive me for the pain I have caused you, forgive me for not
telling you my illness, because I want to see you be in a joyful mood
waiting for the arrival of our baby... My dear,if you cried, it means that
you have forgiven me and I would smile, thank you for loving me... These
presents, I'm afraid I cannot give them to our son personally, could you
help me to give some of them to him every year, the dates on what to give
when are all written on the packaging..." Going back to the hospital, hubby
is still in coma. I brought our son over and place him beside him. I said:
"Open your eyes and smile, I want our son to remember being in the warmth of
your arms..." He struggled to open his eyes and managed a weak smile. Our
son still in his arms was happily waving his tiny hands in the air. I press
the button on the camera and the sound of the shutter ran through the air as
tears slowly rolled down my face...

wah jac, where you find such a drama story.

A lot of times, miscommunication or lack of communication leads to such 'tragedies'.

hi Candy_white and hlmilk,

haiz..the long hours in school make it very tiring and i would like to spend more time with my baby, that's y i'm considering part-time. at least the workload is lighter and can go back home earlier.

i may take my ML in early oct and am tryin to see if i can break in dec then continue with ML in Jan but chances are pretty slim..

hello! I guess all teacher mummies are busy with sch. so no time to really log on. :p

I was trying so hard not to scold children but I finally did on Tue and that night i got quite bad cramp. Lucky nothing serious. I think my baby saved the children from being scolded even further haha.

All must take care ok? With the viruses and naughty children ard, we shd really take care of our health and babies!

i took mc for 2 days last week. got very bad ligament/ nerve tear. i try to endure but in the end, i can't walk at all, so have to take a jab. my gyn said the jab can last me for 3 weeks to a month. now i realise my legs start to feel the pressure/ strain. finally the start of the last trimester! haha!

take care everyone!

Hi teacher mummies =)

I am a teacher too but not with MOE. I am very worried of catching the H1N1 flu when the summer break is over in 2 weeks' time. My students and colleagues are all avid travelers and I wonder how to teach so many classes while wearing a mask.

I am due in early Dec.

Sian ah, I just spoke to my P, and he totally refused to let me break up my leave. Kept insisting he can only do that if there is valid reason that I have to come back to work during December. Feeling quite peeved. I can't believe I'm still talking about this issue after such a long time. When I cited that other schools allow, even this year, he still refused to allow.

fitti: singapore has a lot of cases. So the possibility of catching it in singapore is quite high. i think most important is not to over react.

glass: I am really quite worried as I finally got pregnant with this baby after a few disappointments. Quitting the job is not an option at this moment. Hopefully my body will be strong and my baby will be fine till he/she is out in Dec.

I have to take my leave in one go as well because in my case, it is easier to hire just one person to substitute for an entire term as my subject is specialized.

glass: Wa, like that realli super sian man.. bo hua leh.. cos dec lugi. now just look forward to ur new arrival.
Fitti: don worry too much as regard to bb. think positive.. during my pregnancy, i also always worry cos had miscarriage before..but be more optimistic... think what u going to do when bb come out, bb name etc...bb will definitely grow well and time flies after they are born.. mine also alreadi 3 months and i am going to go back to work soon.. AHHHH... Sian Ah...

have not come in for almost a month! XD
Anyway, took 3days mc last as i was down for a cold. Still have the cold >.<

glass: totally no room for discussion ah? think they just want you to get back asap bah =\

as for H1N1, think its becoming a common flu very soon. have 2 kids in my class getting 7-10days mc -.-' win already lo, some more even if they come back earlier also cannot, have to send them home. like that don't know they going to miss how much curriculum sia. headache ah!!!

Btw, please take extra care of yourselves! There was a 24wk preggie mummy in ICU as she was down with H1N1. Think there were several suspected preggie mum cases ...

jac and gina: ya lor. He simply refused. I'll see what else I can do.

Today got 1/4 of my class absent, and most of them have fever. During temp taking, a few of them had high temperature. I hope there is no fever virus spreading around.

Mummies, please take care cos fall sick during pregnancy may be dangerous esp now. during more water too.. weather super hot...

Mummies, do drink more water to avoid water retention too!

Hmmmm.. my vp also advise MTBs to wear mask while teaching.. i was like HUH? very uncomfy leh.. woops.

But the flu and fever's getting too common... Everyone's on high alert just in case we have confirm case in school XD

Hello Mummies, how's everyone doing? Ya.. flu's getting more common.. My gynae' been telling me to wear mask but really really uncomfortable and the mask actually stinks after sometime.. Worst.. my pupils laugh and finds it weird, went home to tell their parents that Im sick!! Alamak..

Btw, anyone has good recommendation for maternity and newborn photoshoot? So far the ones I hv seen does not appeal to me. Thou there r many dat catches my eyes for newborn.

Take care everyone!

hi teacher mummies
i got a question which i guess you gals may be the best person to advise me..

i have been selected to teach chinese languauge in pri sch..

do u know if i can appeal to change to english medium subjects? if yes, who can i go to??

manythanks for your advise

Candy white,
u can look through the forum and see the photos that are taken and decide.

don care about what students think... most important is u and ur bb...

Hi, it has been a while. I have so many complaints!!

But first, to answer nashi's question, I was also given chinese lang when i was given the letter. but i wrote in to MOE to the recruitment person and requested for a change. I managed to change and now am teaching EMS. The pax I emailed to had resigned. so i dunno who is in charge now. See your letter whether there is any contact email you can write to. For me, that time, I really gave a lot of reasons why i want to change (for eg i said i scored high for math and sci and think i can contribute better in these subjects etc)

Now for my complaints. I am now sick, feeling feverish and got cough. So, sun morn went to see doc and was given 2 days mc. Then today I saw email from the sch. As there were 10 absentees fr my class, my class will be sort of quarantine in the sense that the FT will stay with the class the whole day with no change in subjects teachers. I m already 23 weeks preg, already weak and they expect me to stay with a class which is infested with virus. I really dun understd the rationale. Why not just quarantine the whole class and not come to sch? now we are putting the children and worse, me at risk. I have another colleague also same fate. she is not preg and she requested to wear mask as she had to stay with her class for whole day. Sch din allow her saying that it will create a panic. In the end, she's also down for 2 days mc. So ^(*$@^(*$@^*.

I am thinking whether to extend my mc till the end of this week cos i really dun want to put myself at risk. Now i dun even know if I am infected with the dreadful virus. i am really at a loss as to what to do. shd i immediately go hospital to get treatment? or shd i just wait?

hi rachelle

so that time did MOE write hard letter to u or emailed back to you for the grant to change?

I did sent an appeal email to MOE, but still waiting for their results..I hope i can teach EMS too..but my appeal short and sweet only... keeping my fingers crossed...

Nashi, they wrote email to me to confirm the change. If i rem correctly, I din wait too long for the reply.

But if let's say they still dun grant your request, you can try to write a better appeal letter. I do have a colleague who was offered to teach Chinese. Then, she did contract in chinese. meantime, she still tried to request for a change. Then, before she went into NIE, they granted her the change and she took EMS in NIE and now teaching EMS.

All the best!

hi rachelle

thanks for all the information. i hope my request can be granted then i do not have to further appeal some more..

i tot once start contract cannot change liao..wao, so actually still can...

thanks again!!

Long time never post msg. I'm due in oct and going to take ML from term 4 onwards. 1 more month. Quite excited. For my sch, the management is quite nice to pregnant teachers. They try to keep us away from those tasks that require contact with big gp of students.

Take care all..

HuiLing

Sophia: Most likely will not be taking maternity photography cos husband decides to invest in a beginner's pro camera to take for me but will most likely take newborn pics with kelly but not sure if she's the same person u mentioned.. got to look for her contact again.

Rachelle: Seems like ur sch's not so understanding... they shld knw preg women belong to high risk grp.. Did u voice out ur concerns to the mgmt? Having no change in subject trs the whole session can be tiring for u.. Take care!

I have spoken to my P abt breaking of leave.. Initially she was against it strongly and said that she cannot allow me to take advantage of the sys (but she gave it to another colleague before me wor..) So i told her then i will take 3 weeks pre maternity leave which means i won't b ard to see my pps thru their exam prep... She thot abt it and allowed me to break in the end but comes with a condition.. She wants me to come back on the 2nd mth of leave for the yr end work plan seminar (for a few days) so my HOD can give me work to do throughout the Dec hols during the break of my maternity leave. Sigh... dunno y must make it so hard on new mums to b.. So I decided to heck care and just take plenty of MCs before my edd... then take straight 4 mths ML so no one may disturb me...

Hi Candy, I think we are referring to the same photographer. She doesn't do maternity shots but she will use me as her first .
Well, I'm game cos she's coming to my house. After that I will get her to do the newborn shots. Let's see how it turns out.

Enjoy the long weekend Mommies!!

Hi Sophia: Is she from Kellysjy@Photography? Ya.. the photos frm her sites r so attractive! I just sent her a msg and waiting for her reply. When is she taking ur maternity shots? If gd n timing ok.. would like to ask her to do it as well.. More importantly, how's the pricing like? Can u pls share? Thanks!

Cynthia: My edd is on 22 oct

Hi rachelle, MOE replied me and rejected my appeal! i am soooo sad....i wish to appeal to higher authority, do you know who should i write to?

hi Teacher Mummies, anyone due in early dec? my edd is 4th dec. Does that mean the latest date to start my ML is 4th dec or i can start taking only in Jan 2010? Since we are already in holidays during dec.

what do u think? thanks!

Hi Doozie,
For ML, the latest you can start is strictly the date your baby is born whether or not it's during the holidays or not. So very likely your ML will "eat" into your holidays.

Hi Candy, yah, the same photographer. I've booked her to do the maternity shots in Oct. Maybe i'm her first one, so she is asking me to suggest some poses for the maternity shots. Really don't know how it will turn out. But, I am quite chin chai as my priority are my twins shots actually. I told her I wanted her package B, can check her web for her price.

Hi Doozie...

Ur situation is the same as mine. My edd is 2nd dec and i am only taking ML the day my baby is born becoz don't want to waste my maternity leave.

By the way...i was wondering..mummies who are due in nov/dec..will you be going out for PSLE marking in October?

hi all, just spoke to my P. She also not keen in letting me break up my ML. Saying it will be like we have 20weeks of ML. (Am due end sept)After calculation, eating into dec, by right, i will back to sch by 2nd week of the new year. Sian. But she did mention about special reason if she allow break up of leave. Then she mentioned about me exploring childcare leave. I not very keen in taking unpaid or paid childcare leave being that BB's first few years very crucial, I want the leave for unforeseen circumstances. Haiz..

I initially thought of taking 2 months straight then be back for dec for meetings etc lo. Then take another month for jan. Then back in feb, so that i can at least stagger my last month of ML over the rest of the year. Frankly, I have no one to take care of my bb after i go back to work. My In Laws are most willingly too but they live in Sabah. I am now living with my mum (to cut expenses)... My mum also not very keen in taking care of my bb, citing she is old and tired of taking care of kids. Plus, she not sure if she will continue to be adjunct teacher next year.

We financially cant afford a maid and even if i put my kid in infant care, the expenses will be about the same PLUS i will not be able to pick up my kid as infant care closes @ 7pm. Checked with my HOD she mentioned that i most prob will remain in PM session.

Haiz. Anyone managed to convince their P to let them stagger their ML instead of eating into holidays?

Nashi, I'm so sorry to hear that they have rejected your appeal
I really dunno who to appeal to for the rejection. But then, are you interested in teaching chinese? if you have no interest, then mayb it's good to think thrice cos once you teach chinese, high chance you will continue teaching chinese. Only some lucky ones get to switch to EMS during contract......

Haffa, we have the same EDD
can only start our ML from our baby's bd. but i was thinking of taking like 2 weeks before EDD to rest. so, will be taking like the last week of sch off in that sense.

I'm not involved with the PSLE marking. phew. So i am going to stay in sch and pack my stuff haha. So much things at my cubicle! we change cubicle every year cos they want to sit level by level. So i beta pack first.

I think it is very difficult to stagger the ML cos they always say sch needs come first. if you stagger, they have difficulties planning for relief. so they rather you one shot take all.