Support Group - Special Needs Children

To those mummies of kids who may have vision issues, there's this lady (I attended her talk once) specialising in visual impairments. She's a vision consultant at AWWA (possibly Rainbow also). Her email is [email protected].

Yes Momresource i'm the one u collected isomil from. Looking to share again but getting from one who doesn't charge transport. You keen to share again? Yeah i know abt the GFCF diet but hard to get glutten free bread and organic food tasteless my gal dun like, hard to keep to the diet. Is your kid on medication too? So ur kid in childcare or parents looking after?

AWWA told me there's parents support group in ARC I'm thinking of joining cuz in here mummies r all busy never make a point to meet up

Hi lexnchris,
Not at the moment. In fact I have not opened the 3 tins yet as my kid has not finished the Isomil2 yet. But I let you know when I need it okie.

Ya, not easy for strict diet... for my kid very exposed to junk food. can tell me only got McDonalds on Thur as that's the day for new toy. On the other hand, much easier for travelling as kid eat variety of food.

I believe in supplements and I think it helps... you can check out Vitakids and prob they can recommend supplements that you want to work on... eg. be it for calmer child, more focus child...

Just encounter another tantrum episode... imagine screaming away bcos I refused a can drink from dispenser machine whilst we just came out from restaurant and kid still holding to drink... some parents also give me those "cheapo mummy look", can dine in restaurant but yet refuse to pay $1 for can drink kind... I don't give a damm and let kid screamed on for over 15min during journey home... when returned home, kid already cool down and apologised for bad behaviour; even can sat down wrote one page, sorry mummy (in chinese) and did some homework...

so just stick on what we believed... the society here is no longer our parents time that people look out for each other... no offence for foreign talent parents here but our kids are facing different competitions and the playing field is not fair anymore.

i know u mean about those stares... really have to heck care their shaking of heads and those "chut chut chut"s. mrt, food court, everywhere. Yeah I also heck care when she scream and sit on the floor/pavement. Mine don't like to walk. Yeah I give omega supplement.

So fed up with Sgprns wanted to move to australia but hby no qualifications/money. Hence searching for mummy support group but everyone like not regular here. Like u would die for just 1 mummy to go out together and destress. Momresource since we stay Hougang wanna go Bouncing Kids together? I got another mummy oso in HG to join. Next month 7 July my gal bday got $50 voucher u can join for free play & food. It's like Explorer kids.

Other HG/Buangkok/Kovan mummies can oso join.

those sgprns you are referring to may not be the born here, grow up here sgprns heee...

Is Bouncing kids in Kovan old interchange? We kinda of drive thru there quickly as we didn't want kid to pester us to go there each time as we dine in kovan quite often... Many thanks for your offer.

I guess it will be tough to meetup as kid schedule is more packed than mine... in full-day childcare, hospital appts and enrichment classes to go. Have to plan out with hubby even on oversea work trips as well as struggling with community works... made me kinda guilty liao as I wasn't able to contribute as much... thus, even turning to spree to buy stuff...

where is ARC? I just wanted to submit for forms to EPIC & there are tons of details to fill
and the queue is one yr...imagine so much time lost

Momresource u mean your special kid goes to childcare can still go enrichment classes? Wow his concentration level is quite good if so. dun get wat u mean not contributing hence turning to spree... sigh. so difficult to get mummies to go out together. nobody responds..

yeah teenie, queue is quite long at ARC, it's at AMK. I chose AWWA, cuz if i chose ARC in case thorough diagnose is not solely ASD have to go back to AWWA as they're quite diverse in diff conditioned kids. They were pretty fast comparing i feel.. I went KK in Feb, AWWA interviewed, now waiting for reply in Jul whether got slot or not. social worker told me some parents go for pte docs to go for non-govt special schools so their kid gets help while waiting but it's too ex for us. Main thing CEL say is not which school to go to but going in ASAP. Plus AWWA all therapist available there cuz they are stationed there but others got to wait to see them.

lexnchris,
Sorry I wasn't clear thus causing confusion... I was quite active in community works, like volunteering in MINDS and also some grassroots work. But however, due to close attention required by my kids I have to forgo a lot of such social activities as well as set aside career to attend to their needs. Being their parents if we don't do that, who else will right?

I got 2 kids... both are in childcare at the moment and will attend mainstream school but are also undergoing therapies in both hospitals and private. Enrichments are art, speech& drama and keyboard.

Both are not developmental delays, rather one is with high IQ but also possess other learning disabilities and other medical condition, thus went thru ADHD assessments.

The other kid is late talker thus couldn't sound out and resulted in lots of fustration as other kid will laugh thus causing very low self-esteem.

So in respect to hospital system and those child developmental units, I am consider no stranger as I am difficult patients mummy keke...

Other than that, I was looking for some materials on ADHD and chanced upon this thread and wanted to know more from this mummy here who has an ADHD son.

Hope this is clearer now.

So you're not a SAHM? Where does your kid attend speech and drama? I wanted to sign up but because of her short attention span I didn't want to waste my $$.

This is an email just received from [email protected] (online support group of SPARK - Society for the Promotion of ADHD Research And Knowledge)

Online survey on ADHD Related Issues

Jassen Pharmaceuticial Companies is conducting a on-line survey on ADHD related issues and like to invite ADHD patients & their parents to complete the online survey at http://survey.euro.confirmit.com/wix/p674129087.aspx. This survey will take just about 5-10 minutes. Jassen Pharmaceuticial Companies is offering participants with a ADHD handbook published by SPARK (sold by SPARK at $5 each).

When you have completed the online survey, please leave your contact details, so that Jassen Pharmaceuticial Companies can deliver SPARK handbook as a souvenir to you.

In addition to the survey, Jassen Pharmaceuticial Companies is also conducting a 30 minutes in-depth interview for ADHD patients & parents of ADHD patient, and a sum of SG$100 will be provided as a token of appreciation for your time. If you are interested, please let Jassen Pharmaceuticial Companies know and leave your contact details in the online survey (or use the contact provided below or the email in the cc list).

Jassen Pharmaceuticial Companies plan to complete this online survey by end of June 2011 (some grace period may be given, since this email is sent out a bit late) and seek your kind assistance to finish it by then.

After the completion of this online survey, Jassen Pharmaceuticial Companies will gladly share the findings with SPARK and the survey participants.

Best Regards

Please note the contact detail for Jassen Pharmaceuticial Companies below:

Lewis Yap
Senior Product Specialist (CNS)

2 International Business Park
#07-01, Tower One, The Strategy,
Singapore 609930
Tel: (65) 6827 5855
Fax: (65) 6720 0734
Mobile: (65) 97890600

Hi Lexnchris,
No, I am a full-time working mum but I kinda of set aside my career to concentrate on kids... try to restrict outstation travelling 5x per year and to involve kids as well...
For speech and drama, they had it in school, once a week. But also went to Helen O'grady and my girl is starting another school in serangoon gardens next term.

A big Hi to mommies out there with special kids. My son was 22 months when the doc at KKH diagnosed him with symptoms of ASD. My hubby and I were so shocked for a couple of days as we thought our son was just hyperactive and therefore ADHD. From there, we started to understand some of the quirky habits my toddler have - walking on tip toes, spinning around, frequent tantrums etc

I have read many library books on ASD and there is an area on tantrums that I would like to share: there is a difference between whether a child with ASD wants to behave or unable to behave

A normal child will deliberate throw a tantrum to get what he want and he is able to control himself. A child with ASD is unable to control himself during a tantrum (meltdown). They usually "misbehave" or tantrum because they are unable to commumicate with you or trigger by certain conditions in the environment eg sound or light. Once you understand that, then we can use things like PECs, diet control, medication or daily habits to prevent such meltdown from happening.

For example I changed my son's milk powder and his sleeping habits improved so much that he is less cranky in the day.

So parents with ASD child has to be extra observant and resourceful as my son's teacher explained.

I share some of the mommies' concern on the dollar and sense to support the extra needs of our kids mentioned here. My financial burden is quite heavy as I have a helper from Myanmar in addition to the allowance I pass to my mom for groceries, food and other needs when my son is taken care by her. My husband does not earn a lot and yet he has to co-share the cost of taking care of his 90 yr old mom. I am financially trained and I have updated my family budget recently and I estimated our family is unable to save anything. And that is before my son go for waiting list to go EIPIC. I have arranged to meet a social worker next week and see if there is any way to ask for extra help. EIPIC centre charges according to gross income and not disposable income. We are so called sandwiched class - between our children and parents. I'll keep you all informed on the discussion of financial concerns for special needs kids with the social worker.

Right now digging into my savings to pay for the private special school, non-gluten diet and the special supplements. I just think of it as spending my money early so that my son has an easier time in future and I can pay less later haha. Particularly when early intervention will improve my son substantially during the early years, I will not give up easily.

Hence I am unable to give my son my full attention as a SAHM but certain things have to give for priorities. My struggles are no different from all the mommies and I think only you all will understand how I feel. Thanks for listening :)

has anyone any experience with the OTs at st. andrew's children hospital?was asked by kk whether i prefer to go to Johnny at HPB or SACH. Chose Johnny cos queue shorter but now wondering whether SACH has better OTs. Doc at kk also recommend that we go for pte speech therapy so wld be grateful if anyone can recommend a experienced n effective therapist.

Many thks!

Just sharing my experience here in case its helpful to any mommy out there. We've been seeing phychologist, OT, speech theraphist, since my boy was 3+, under recommendation of the child devt specialist at kk. All under kk n subsidised. The assessments done by these specialists says that my boy's slow in his devt and have some autism-like behaviours (he's much better now, the behaviours r gone/lessen) so its a gd thing we (my boy's cc teachers alerted us to his problems and asked us to bring him to kk) mge to catch it in time n can do early intervention.

btw, dunno if you've heard but kk is now sending us to centres (various hospitals, etc. I dunno the full list though) nearest our home, or HPB, whichever we prefer. All at govt subsidised rates. The nurses at kk will let you know your choices and help contact the various centres for you for appt-making after the review/asessment with the child devt specialist.

forgot to say in my previous post that to get the subsidised rates, you hv to go polyclinic to get referral to kk first. if not, its private rates. Its better to get subsidised rates if you don't mind waiting cos its the same grp of specialists seeing your child regardless of whether you are paying private or subsidised rates.

There are other special needs parents, we can be found here: Parenting Special Needs Child

miracle bebe (miracle_bebe) - financial assistance cap at $2500, an increased from the miserable $1500 household income. Read more at CEL website.

Govt currently forcusing on early intervention. The older kids got nothing juicy. The top up in edusave accounts were insufficient to cover special school fees, yearly.

If any of your child diagnosed with medical condition but not eligible for funds to buy equipment, strollers, etc … PM Angelmum, I may be able to direct you for assistance.

Being Special: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/789053.html?1301531499

hi WeSt

Thanks for the info.....BUT, how new is this news?
As I understand from CEL and CDAC, unless one is disabled, CEL is not the place to seek assistance for early intervention or financial assistance.

the info on $2500 was announced this year ... March or something, before GE .... think I posted in above site.

CEL (Enabled Living for Disabled) can help to buy equipment or items for household income below $2500.

CDAC - your nearest one, mainly for family support ... if only one breadwinner, the other parent/family member unable to work, has to stay home to attend to the child/parent with medical conditon. Assistance eg food vouchers, small allowance, school subsidy, free text books, <font color="0000ff">on short term basis</font>.

Frankly, govt not interested to help us .... all the special needs items are so costly. Schools and therapies are not cheap too in Sg!

On top of special needs problem, govt also made me stressed with domestic helper issues.

Made me work cos getting finacial assistance was too hard .... that time cap at $1500/household income. In order to work, I hired FDW .... most of my salary gone to paying for a live-in maid .... paid over a thousand each month yet no guarantee maid kind, responsible and willing to help my special needs princess + do housework.

Sigh

<font color="119911">I seldom come here to post so if you want to find me or other special needs parents... u know where</font>

My son is not disabled. He is clinically diagnosed with ADHD and mild dyslexic.

CDAC rejected my application for financial assistance for early intervention (special classes, treatments or therapies) becos we live in a 4-room HDB flat but most importantly, the write emphasized that my husband has a source of income.

CDAC referred me to Social services who also rejected (infact did not even make an attempt) my request for some form of help - in this case, application for school pocket money fund, becos my husband's salary was not w/in one of it's 5 criterias.

I am now waiting for MOE with very good news hopefully, for a great percentage in it's bursary application approval for special "enrichment" classes for our son to attend at DAS.

Yes, we are blessed to have our child attend mainstream but unlike what some may have mistaken, it does not mean our child need not attend other classes to help him cope with dyslexic issues. One may view DAS's website www.das.org.sg to find out how expensive those school fees are, without a bursary.

I was about to post this message when I read your last post in my email notify update..
May I ask you of what form of special needs is your dear princess?

Just pop in to tell everyone my gal kanah rejected by integrated school... sigh
say she not compliant advise me to bring her to gym classes. Anyone can recommend? So discouraging... after the long wait... sigh... more and more white hair coming out...

any mummies can tell me how you choose your ICCP integrated school? Do you go down to take a look at the school or just choose the nearest one?

Hi, Glad i found this forum.. My son was diagnosed with GDD since he was 16 mths. Now he's diagnosed with Autism Spectrum disorder.
Tried GFCF..but too early to tell the difference now. Anyone tried Autism clinic by John Yeo at thomson?

Just received an email from a SPARK (ADHD support group) member enclosed copy of information to some online Community Lectures and Seminars

For more info and questions, please contact the organiser - PositiveLinks.net

attachment_icon.gif
ADHD-SGP
ADHD_SGP_PositiveLinks.odt (22.3 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Aiya..so sorry! I know you all can't open the file. Well, neither can I

But fret not, as I've copied down the important details of the email to be shared with you here.
(Source of email: ADHD Singapore)

Positive Links++ www.positivelinks.net is pleased to announce a series of Community Lectures (Free) and Seminars for the month of October.

Community Lectures (FREE)
Lecture description and registration details -
http://www.positivelinks.net/on-line-seminars/community-lectures/

Seminars
Seminar description and registration details -
http://www.positivelinks.net/on-line-seminars/upcoming-seminars-2/

All sessions are on-line and participants can attend sessions from a location of their convenience. All sessions are limited to only 25 participants to facilitate discussion and personalization. A computer with audio capability and internet connection (preferably broadband 3Mbps) is necessary.

About the presenter:

Dr. Alefiya M. Nomanbhoy

Registered Psychologist (Singapore) Regn. No. #009060163

M. Psych (Clinical Psychology)

Ph.D. (Learning Disabilities)

Alefiya M. Nomanbhoy is a Registered Psychologist (Singapore), Member of the Australian Psychological Society (MAPS), Member of the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) and an International Affiliate of the American Psychological Association. She holds a Master of Psychology (Clinical Psychology) from James Cook University, Australia, a Master and Ph.D. from Northwestern University, U.S.A in the Field of Learning Disabilities, Master Certification in Neurolinguistic Programming (NLP) and the Post Graduate Diploma of Teaching in Higher Education from the National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University. She is a Consultant Educational Psychologist and a former lecturer at the National Institute of Education (Singapore).

www.positivelinks.net

Hi Chopins! I've brought my boy to John Yeo. He's with Autism Recovery Centre now I think. Thought he was really knowledgable and is very willing to share info. Read somewhere online he's got child with Autism so he knows first hand what he recommends.

Hi Yvonne, yup...his daughter is having autism. I agree he shares info but he didn't tell us that the vitamins he prescribed is overdose...till I asked...my boy was having diarrhea due to the vit overdose. Got me so worried.

Can any mummies please give comments of ARC and AWWA? I heard ARC is better, thought of switching my daughter but not sure if it'll be another year of waiting.

Was ok with John. Went for allergy test and neurofeedback. He was helpful in giving me advice on helping Autism and also the most cost effective way to go about what I wanted for my boy. Did he tell you why he over prescribed vitamins? Must have been a horrible experience for you! I'd be super mad if he did to me.

Just in case any1 is interested, the On-Line Seminars offered by PositiveLinks that were supposed to start in month of October has been rescheduled.

To find out dates, times and other details, pls view http://www.positivelinks.net/ for more information and instructions to apply to attend these On-Line Seminars.

The lecturer is Dr Alefiya M. Nomanbhoy [M. Psych (Clinical Psychology), Ph.D. (Learning Disabilities)

I received this event update sometime ago via email and thought some of you may be keen.. As I didn't know how to download the file from email, I have uploaded it into my album instead for my convenience.

<u>Subject</u>
Do you know anyone who is looking for information on dyslexia?

<font color="ff0000">HELP Me to learn to spell and read, Mommy..</font>
https://picasaweb.google.com/103169249457867293975/HelpMeToLearnToSpellAndReadRefWwwDasOrgSg#5667997939197573826

Held on 29th Oct from 2.30pm-4.00pm at the NVPC (The National Volunteer &amp; Philanthropy Centre) located above Clarke Quay MRT station

For enquiries pls call Ayu at 6594 0344

Hi how is everybody?

Received this news update via email and would like to share with you.. If keen, pls refer to the contact details right at the bottom.

Title: Public Forum: WINDOWS INTO THE ADHD WORLD

Date: Saturday November 12, 2011
Time: 1:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Location: Function Hall, 5th Storey Podium, The URA Centre, 45 Maxwell Road, S069118 (Nearest MRT: Tanjong Pagar)
Notes: Speakers: DR NG KOON HOCK,Psychiatrist, Vice President of SPARK
MRS BELLA President, SPARK

Programme:
1:15pm to 2pm: Registration
2pm to 3pm: Diagnosis and Treatment of ADHD (Dr Ng)
3pm to 3:30pm: Break
3:30pm to 4:30pm: Helping the ADHD Child at Home and in School (Mrs Bella)
4:30pm to 5pm: Panel Discussion

Admission is free.

PROFILE OF SPEAKERS:

Dr Ng Koon Hock is a psychiatrist in private practice. He has been practicing psychiatry for about 20 years, providing medication and psychotherapy. Before going into private practice, he had served for many years in the Child Guidance Clinic under IMH. He is also the Vice-President of SPARK.

Mrs Bella Chin is a working parent with three sons. Her youngest has the ADHD condition. She has been the President of SPARK since the formation of the Society in year 2000. She gives regular talks on the understanding of ADHD as part of the society¡¦s efforts at creating ADHD awareness.

Registration is required as places are limited.
Please register through phone 6283-1576, email [email protected], fax 6252-6834 / 6283-2140. Please note that there is no confirmation for faxed registration.
Please arrive by 1.45pm on 12 November 2011 as your reservation maybe released to others there after.
Registration is transferable. Admission will be on a first-come-first-served basis.
Closing Date for registration is 10 Nov 2011 or when seating capacity is reached, whichever is earlier

To register for the forum, kindly forward us these details via fax or email:
a)Name, b) Contact Number, c) Number of Participants

If you wish to be on our mailing list for updates on future events, please provide us your email or postal address.

Hi... glad to find this threads... I also have a son who is autistic. Recently I came across a movie called "Temple Grandin". This lady, Temple Grandin is autistic herself and went through lots of struggles in life. But today, not only she is helping other who is autistic or who have autistic children, she is also a PHD holder with lots publications. It's really a very nice movie. if you have any question regarding about autism, you may write to her in the website below...

http://www.templegrandin.com/

thanks for sharing the video trusting Him, I saw it too.. let's pray all gifted kids have favour from teachers/schools to succeed in their future life!

Hi everyone , I am new in this thread.
Thanks for sharing all the valuable thoughts and information. They are really comforting for mummies,taking care of kids with development delay.

My boy (2 1/2 year old) attended Learning Vision childcare at Bukit Merah last year, he was left unattended many times, so I had to withdraw him since he was not able to learn there.

Currently he is attending OT and ST at SGH; yesterday, me and husband brought my 2 1/2 year old boy for EPIC's screening for Autism at "Society for the Physically Disabled" at Tiong Bahru. They set up new EPIC center there; Very high chance of having a vacancy for my boy and we are staying nearby, but the center makes us very uneasy. Feeling quite depressing after the screening due to the environment.

I am still thinking of engaging him to mainstream school.

Any childcare or kindergarten which has low ratio of teacher/children?

hi louise
I understand how you feel going there, I went there for a trial PT for my boy as well.
Maybe you can see EPIC at margaret is it better, my boy jus join EPIC at margaret drive early this year
I know the SPD still need to revamp as it used to be for adults only

I also stay near SPD that area

Louise, if your kid has problem expressing himself wouldn't advise you to put him in mainstream because not only it's much more demanding, I've heard many special needs kids ending up having emotional/psychological/emotional problems because they don't get any help from friends and parents regretting pulling them out of EIPIC schools.

Hello
perhaps you may be able to find some useful information through this website:
www.specialkidsclinic.com.sg and the FB page through the homepage.
Some of the issues and questions raised on this thread are covered there.
Every child has potential to improve and it is important to provide intervention as early as possible in order to optimize their potential. Intervention needs will also change with the age.
Hope is indeed a powerful motivator and as parents, you are the most important therapist and the most valuable advocator for your child.

From: http://www.singaporeartscienceprize.edu.sg/main/index.php/groups/29-kid-do-stuff/166-play-therapy-child

Helping a Child Through Play Therapy
By JANE FRAMINGHAM, PH.D.

Adults often think of child’s play as mere fun and games, or a way to fill time. Actually, imaginative and creative play assists a child’s cognitive growth and emotional adjustment. Through play, a child develops self-confidence, a positive self-image and learns to express feelings, make decisions and cope with real-life situations. As such, play can be therapeutic, helping a child deal with and overcome problems that inhibit his normal development.

How does play therapy work?

Play therapy offers a child a safe place to play out-rather than talk out-his thoughts, feelings and problems. The therapist chooses toys that encourage “fantasy play,” such as clay, sand, water, drawing materials and puppets, as well as toys that enable a child to act out real-life scenarios. The therapist builds a warm and supportive relationship with the child, thereby encouraging the child to open up through the symbolic language of play.

During a therapy session, few limits are set and the child is given complete freedom to control his play and actions. In such a protective, yet empowering environment, the child generally leads the therapist to the source of his emotional disturbance through his activity and behavior. The therapist uses developmentally appropriate techniques to help the child let go of negative or restricting feelings and develop coping mechanisms to use in real life.

Who can benefit from play therapy?

All children go through stages or an occasional emotional “crisis.” But some children have serious problems, often caused by:

Neglect

Family violence
Divorce, separation or other changes in a family situation
Severe burns or disfigurement
Chronic illness
Deafness or other physical challenges
Grief
Hospitalization
Learning disabilities or other mental challenges
Often, a child needing help displays the following traits or behaviors:

Poor academic performance
Poor relationship with peers or siblings
Passivity, withdrawal
Bedwetting after toilet training
Reading problems
Social immaturity
Speech difficulties
Refusal to speak
Preoccupation with sex
Excessive worrying, anger, sadness or anxietyPhobias
Aggressive behavior or acting out
Knowing if a child needs professional help is not always easy. Ask your family physician or a mental health professional for guidance.

Session one and beyond

During the first session, the therapist describes the treatment process, parental involvement, treatment termination and cost. Confidentially is reviewed, and parents must sign a consent to treat before therapy can begin.

The therapist talks with the parents to learn more about the problem-how long it has been present, how they have tried to deal with it, and how it affects the child’s life and family members. Then, the child is introduced to the therapist, the playroom and the therapeutic process. Usually, a child will see the play therapist two to three times a week. The length of treatment varies.

The child’s level of functioning, during the session and at home, will worsen and improve over the course of therapy. Once the child has worked through his problem and has reached a state of emotional health and a level of functioning that is appropriate for his age and stage of development, he is ready to end treatment.

<font color="0077aa">I'm currently pursuing a course in Therapeutic Play and looking for case studies.

As this is highly confidential, you may want to drop me a PM should you know of any children that needs help, but cannot afford professional fee.

Referral from parents / guardians / teachers are welcome.

Anyone can recommend their current childcare (normal) that accepts special needs kids n are kind n proactive to them? Tks in advance .