Sembawang MTB or SAHM

How's Lantern Festival been for all of you? Over my side the haze just got too bad hence avoided going to the garden to join in the fun.

I wonder if twins has given birth yet? Hmmmm....

anyone knows what the legend on the ultra scan images stands for? For example, Tlb? I know that EDD stands for estimated Delivery Date.

Any website I can reference to?

oh i am confused on 4 Oct 06 the length of baby increase from 3.31cm to 4.13cm (yesterday 9 Oct went to c gynae) my skin vvvv itchy no choice i apply the cream ...so i saw every increase only GEN TLB duno what it is coz it decrease

Hi hi...
Van, no need to wonder anymore... My twins are OUT!!! They arrive on 06/10/06 (Mid Autumn Festival)!!! I went thru' emergency C-section on Fri nite. Waterbag broke after one of the twins turned breech again. Sat/Sun/Mon was just busy, busy, busy entertaining my twins and visitors. Now I finally feel more settled down at home. CL is very good, so I can have a good rest from now. Still need to get rid of water retention on my legs. Update you all again.

LYMing - Did you see this at Lawrence's clinic? If so, maybe you should ask Lawrence about this as I'm not too sure what is Gen TLB? Call him instead.

For my case, if I come across anything or question for Lawrence, I'd definitely write it down so that I can ask him for my next visit. If it's very important to me, I will give him a call right away.

Halo twins, CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! Welcome back! I'm sure right now you are very busy with the extreme changeover hahaha Let me have your address so that I can drop over & visit you okay. My email is [email protected]

Wow, I've missed so much not logging in here for two days........

Twins and Jenny
Congratulations......must be real bz now esp during the confinement month. Twins also gave birth on min-authem festival, wow so many bbs born on this day.

Van
u plan to visit Twins and Jenny? maybe can wait for me on like 25 Oct or something then we go together. Twins and Jenny, let us know if its convenient.

JJ
How? did u call my neighbour re. the bb sitter? How is it going?

Hi Twins..Congrats!! I just back fr holiday n u already pop..keke..must be bz entertaining your twins ya!! take care, need help buzz me

vivi c - nice hearing from you. I can meet you on coming 25th to visit Jenny & Twins. Oh man the haze is coming back, still obvious over my side.

JJ - just in case you haven't find the babysitter, how about asking around like for instance the neighbours. This happens to my hubby's friend - his wife had just delivered & pure concidence their neighbour is looking for babies too. No harm asking around neighbours though.

apple - wow where did you go for holiday? Did you bring your darling along too? How's everything?

LYMing - so did u call Lawrence yet? Let me know your latest update.

augustmum - how's your younger son? Are you going to take over the role of taking care of elder son soon?

Seems like the ticking game is still on for LYMing, JJ and me.

Vivi C, Tks.

My MIL+maids are taking care of my twins while i am working. I am worried if my children catch virus in CC but i do like them to go learn something when they're 18mths/2yrs old.
I will be careful while they are attending to the CC.
Which pre-school do you put your kids to? Can share?

Twins_MTB, congrats. Enjoy your twins' company.

ennen

O I put my boy at the PCF pre-school by twinkle tots or something. they will link up with RCs at void deck to rent the place. its just two hours per day. just to learn some colouring, singing...I dun expect much just for my son to play and socialise there. so maybe shorter period one is better at controlling the health rather than CC.

Van,
Dr Ong Woon Hong is recommended by a colleague of mine. His clinic is at United Sq, level 2 (near to Ben n Jerry's). I find him very good, detailed in telling us what to do etc. He's friendly and the nurses at the clinic are cheerful and helpful. I still can't comment on his charges yet. Cos the 1st time I brought my gal to see him (after discharge from hosptial after deliver; for review), I paid $80+ (did blood test). The 2nd time I brought my gal to see him to review on my gal's jaundice, I paid $40+ (did blood test again).

Van, 2kidzmum,
I will be going over to my mum's place once my CL leaves. Let me know bah.

dorayaki,
Congrats!!! Got pic of your twins???
Aiyo, very hot recently hor? How's your confinement? I bath like mad everyday hahaha...

Vivi C and Van

Thanks. I haven't call the bb sitter yet as I still not yet decide whether or not to be SAHM.

Finally I get to use the PC. Hubby is out today, so "no government". I'm doing all right becos CL is very capable. Just need to bed rest becos water retention on my legs still hasn't fully "subside".

Jenny,
Your baby's jaundice OK already? I also can't stand the heat. Thank God CL allow me to bathe myself everyday with herbal water.

Here's some pix of my twins!

Gracia, born 2.165kg.
542500.jpg

Chloe, born 2.095kg.
542501.jpg

All cleaned up and happy together.
542502.jpg

Van and Vivi_C,
I'm OK with you all visiting on 25th. Let me know. Will email Van my full address.

Hi twins mum

Your girls look good. Based on their weight, they can discharge together with you on the same day right? Did you bf? Where did you give birth? How's the stay there?

ennen,
I delivered them at 37wk/2days.

JJ,
Babies' weight normally dropped a little in the first week. At discharge time, Gracia weighs abt 2Kg and Chloe weigh only 1.9kg. But both passed all the tests, so can discharge with me on the same day. I delivered them at TMC. The stay was enjoyable. Though there were quite a number of deliveries on 06/10/06, and the weekend that followed was quite chaotic, the staff were busy yet friendly.

Oh yes, my lactation just started. I had been trying to get my babies to latch on for days but no milk flow. My breasts started to engorge yesterday and today the milk is flowing (though not excessively). CL makes me lots of soup to stimulate milk flow and it does help. Praying that the supply will increase over the next few days.

Wow twins_MTB..upgraded fr MTB to MOM already lar :p Your twins so adorable..bravo. I missed that very moment so much and my bb already 7 months..time flies

twins mum

So your babies were given formula milk during their stay at TMC? I heard that lactation should start immediately after given birth and the LC will massage your breast so that the milk can come out faster.

TMC still under renovation? Your ward is at which level? Single bedded?

dorayaki,
Not yet leh, Jaslyn still got a bit yellowish. Thank god, yday and today got a bit of sunlight!
Did you engage massage lady? I'm using Mdm Naini.
I think Chloe has big eyes leh. Can't see Gracia one yet. By the way, I think I saw one of your bbs dunno last fri or sat leh. Were they at level 3 NICU? My gal was admitted due to jaundice and I was there for the past few days and I saw the twins gal (only saw one lah). Then I asked the nurse, she told me got 1 pair of gals and 1 pair of boys. I think I saw the bb gal on the right side (the combined pic), she is Gracia or Chloe?
I bath everyday also, with or without herbs. Since I start my massage session, I bath once in the morning and once at nite (after I remove the binding).
Keep pumping or latch bbs on, the engorgement will be over in another few days time. I know is damn painful. Ask hb to help you massage.

jinava,
You can request to bf your bb immediately after birth. I was very tired after delivery, so my hb instructed the nurse to give FM.
TMC level 4 is still under renovation, but noise level is kept to the min. I stayed at level 3, single bedded, no noise at all.

Hey Twins

Ur girls are beautiful, wish I have a girl too.
Glad to hear that u r managing fine n a good CL to help. rest n eat is very impt for mummy doing confinement. take care of ur health, rest well cos u r SAHM so got long way to go in taking care of your girls.
Yup bf, keep pumping or latch on so tat engorgement will ease, initial days is like this keep doing this will be better then. but best let them latch on better stimulation of milk flow.
will contact Van to see we can visit you. take care and enjoy.

JJ,
Yes, my babies were given FM during their stay. But prior to every feed, the nurse will bring them to me to try latching on and for stimulation. TMC is still under renovation. I was at level 3 ward (2 bedded).

Jenny,
Take good care of baby Jaslyn huh. Hope the polluted air clears up sson.

My babies didn't go to NICU leh. There were 4 pair of twins during my stay. You probably saw the other pair. But if you did see the one on the right in the pix, that's Gracia.

I didn't engage any massage lady since I had C-section. My bump has gone down significantly after I keep pummping my breast. Amazing! Anyway, weight is almost back to normal, so I'll see if I need to get a massage lady after next week. As for engorgement, I can tahan the pain. Not a problem so far. Hee!

Vivi_C,
Okie, see you soon!

Just my personal experience with massage lady. If you want to save some money, think this is optional as I feel not really much help. u can go to those maternity wear shops to get those binds where u can wrap around ur waist after one or 2 weeks when u are better. usually bf will help the uterus to move up faster and heal faster so I feel the wrap is sufficient.
but if u can afford it, why not r&r n have a good massage.

Hi mums / MTBs

This was what my colleague just shared with me, like to share it with u too.

TO ALL MUMMIES:
Before I was a Mum
I made and ate hot meals.
I had unstained clothing.
I had quiet conversations on the phone.

Before I was a Mum
I slept as late as I wanted
And never worried about how late I got into bed.
I brushed my hair and my teeth everyday.

Before I was a Mum
I cleaned my house each day.
I never tripped over toys or forgot words of lullabies.

Before I was a Mum
I didn't worry whether or not my plants were poisonous.
I never thought about immunizations

Before I was a Mum
I had never been puked on
Pooped on
Spit on
Chewed on
Peed on
Or pinched by tiny fingers

Before I was a Mum
I had complete control of:
My thoughts
My body
And my mind
I slept all night.

Before I was a Mum
I never held down a screaming child so that doctors could do tests
Or give shots.
I never looked into teary eyes and cried.
I never got gloriously happy over a simple grin.
I never sat up late hours at night watching a baby sleep.

Before I was a Mum
I never held a sleeping baby just because I didn't want to put it down.
I never felt my heart break into a million pieces
when I couldn't stop the hurt.
I never knew that something so small could affect my life so much.
I never knew that I could love someone so much.
I never knew I would love being a Mum.

Before I was a Mum
I didn't know the feeling of having my heart outside my body.
I didn't know how special it could feel to feed a hungry baby.
I didn't know that bond between a Mother and her child.
I didn't know that something so small
Could make me feel so important.

Before I was a Mum
I had never gotten up in the middle of the night
Every 10 minutes to make sure all was okay
I had never known the warmth
The joy
The love
The heartache
The wonder
Or the satisfaction of being a Mum.
I didn't know I was capable of feeling so much before I was a Mum.

vivi c - lateron I'll email to you twin's address. Let me know what are the time available for you to meet me on this coming 25th.

twins - so far vivi c & I are able to visit you on this coming 25th. Let me know if it is inconvenient. Thanks.

Btw is there anymore ladies whom wanting to join us to visit twins this coming 25th? My email is [email protected] Let me know thanks.

My MIL wanting to do the confinment for me. Actually I am pretty worried as this is her first time doing this and till now she has no idea what to do yet she insists. Oh god! Can anyone share with me your precious confinement information as I got to treat this as DIY confinement instead. Sign sign.....

Hi Van
No prob. Feel free to pop by. I will ask if Carol wants to join in as well since she stay in the same block as me. What time are you planning to come? Just SMS me will do, in case I didn't log in to find out.

As for CL, I used to think my MIL can help me too. But now I'm thankful I got a CL. She is only 40 years old and can really do wonders. Not that my MIL is no good, but she's already 67 years old. I don't have the heart to ask her to help me day and night. Not forgetting I have 2 babies instead of just 1. Moreover, my MIL was hospitalised last week for stomach ulcers. I can't imagine what will happen if the CL is not here to help me! Now I think its good to have a CL around bcos CLs are so familiar with newborn babies, they literally make you feel so much at ease leaving the babies (and yourself) in their care. This is just my personal experience. You will meet me CL when you come by next week.

Anyone from Sembawang needs NTUC point to exchange the plates/bowl? I got 10 points I think but I no need them. If u need, pls PM me or leave a msg here.

Hi Van

Most likely can meet up with u on 25 Oct to visit Twins. Will confirm with u again on the time. i will mostly be over at sembawang in the morning. maybe we can meet for breakfast or something.
about confinement experience, depends on how u look at it whether mum or MIL do if u pai sey to see them work so hard u will go and help n deprived resting time. CL, cos u feel u pay her so when she do things u think well she is paid to do all the things. n CL may have cons like lesser bonding as bb might sleep with her which I dun prefer and most of the time she will take care of bb. some CL also not pro bf but think some happy if bf as she no need to feed bb if u latch bb on.
Some of the things to be done during confinement:
cook - 3 meals as after delivery impt is to eat well to get back health n have to eat on time and must eat fresh and hot meals. so when want to eat then cook, can't cook all and leave there from morning till night.
ingredients must be fresh so marketing have to be quite on time.....
boil herbal water for u to bathe and prepare ingredients for the water.
take care of bb, feeding, changing, bathing as after delivery u can't carry heavy things, can't touch water unless need to.
besides cooking for u still have to cook for other members of the house, cos wat u eat they might not be able to eat as too heaty liao.
also need to daily boil red dates water plus other ingredients for u to drink as u can't drink normal boiled water.
then also need to cook speacial tonic to get u back to health also.
actually quite alot of things to do esp bz if still got one older child to look after.

apple - I had PM you regarding the NTUC points. Look forward for your great news.

vivi - this coming 25th I got an 10am appt with Lawrence. After that we can meet up for breakfast cum lunch before heading for twin's home. We contact via SMS. Oh yah can you pass me the Avent stuffs as well kekeke... Thanks for your advise regarding the confinement. I guess I will just have to pray hard that I will recover FAST!!!! Praying.....

Here's the update:

http://newsletter.waveo.com/thebodyshop/oct06b/images/WAREHOUSE_emailer.jpg

Enjoy the shopping!

It's ok, thanks apple.

So anybody interested to go with Vivi C & I to go visit the twin? My email is [email protected] Let me know thanks.

Btw anybody got NTUC points to pass to me? I still got 10 more to go before I can buy for my mum. I'm so blur, didn't know that NTUC stop issuing it from today onwards.

Hi Van
I checked with Carol. She's working on 25th, so she can't join you and Vivi_C to come to my place.

You are not referring to the NTUC Arzberg Dinnerware redemption bonus points, are you? If you are, I have 3 bonus points. Can pass to you.

twins - yap I am referring to NTUC bonus points. Can I have these 3 points pls? Thank you in advance. How's your confinement being so far?

Wow the haze is turning up & down everyday. Until tonight my house's windows are still tightly closed. My hubby forbid me to open fearing that the chemical of the haze may not be good to me. Everyday is just like morning mist to me over here.

Van, if coming Wed is not that hazey..will join u and vivi to visit twins bb and mommy

PM me the timing see I can make it or not..my time is depending on my lil gal..wahaha coz I don't buy the idea of leaving her with my maid alone at home :p

Hi apple, thanks for your response. I will check with vivi C with the timing and PM you. How's your gal coping with the haze? Wow these days I may even smell the "burning thing" lingering in the air.

Van, the haze is really bad at our area! arrrghhh..the burning smell is horrible yesterday
I put her on aircon room most of the time. No choice. I don't want her to fall sick bcoz of this stupid hazey thingy lor. I got air purifier n dehumidifier on all the time.

Long time no talk. been really bz with work
kao_dizzy.gif

Van, will be able to meet u after ur appt. so roughly let me know the time or sms me. will not be logging in this website next tuesday onwards....cos on leave mah
. O can u sms me on monday to remind me to bring the pacifiers back? cos now I keeping them in office. thanks.

Apple, right thing for u to do. dun ever leave ur kid with the maid. u never know how dependable she can be. ytd brought my elder son out for a walk with maid, he suddenly stood up in the stroller cos his di di not using he playful sat on it lor. then my maid was like dreaming away didn't even noticed his dangerous act!

Van and apple, is the haze real bad at our area? Have not been back recently cos so chaotic now for me as MIL has chicken pox so everyone is now at my mum's place but will be back tonight. This haze ah is really affecting one's health, I just went and see doc re. a bad sore throat on wednesday. hope my boys r ok. think should not be a problem with my elder son cos he drinks lots of water. but my younger one really dun drink water leh. got any advice on this how to make bb drink more water? dun seem to have such problem with my elder son leh.

LYMing - you will be approach by Lawrence's nurse once you reaches the "stable" condition. Meanwhile you got to pay as per visit version. The package, $550 will deduct the visits you paid for the earlier appointments. Mdm Chan, the nurse will highlight to you what can be deduct & what cannot be deduct whenever she passes you the receipts.

apple - you are not alone, my girlfriend is doing likewise by turning on the air con & keep the windows closed. Let's hope that the haze will clear faster....

vivi c - How about we meet around 1045? I am giving buffer just in case Lawrence is late again. Where do you want to eat? Sorry to hear about your family. Chicken pox normally will be bad during the first 2 weeks thereafter things will be getting better. The haze over our side is not improving at all. Everyday is like mist to me. You got to take good care of yourself as your sons need you most. Take care!

Vivi, my maid is OK and I trained her to be able to handle my bb, but then if I got to go out for longer, I'll lug them along. If I just need to go NTUC to grab some stuffs or tar pao food, usually she is fine to be alone with my bb.

Maybe I'm SAHM, so everyday I see her and remind her things that she does. So eventually she trained to be like what I did on my bb stuffs.

Re the haze, it looks so BLUR outside! Horrible ler..I don't even step out fr my hse for couple of days already

Vivi, u can feed water via spoon? My bb simply don't take bottle..so everything I gotta feed fr spoon. This is the cons about tbf! arggghh

Van, 1045 should be no problem. we meet at sun plaza as u will be there. I got no cravings for food, normally pregnant lady will have, so u decide what to eat. we go air-con place lah cos haze mah. thanks for the encouragement. yup takes about 2 weeks or so for chicken pox to clear and the later stage is most contagious. so not sending bb back till MIL is all well.

apple, good for u to have a reliable maid. but i try to keep a distance betw my kids and maid as far as possible. not sure is this healthy but the employment of a maid is to help my MIL when she help us take care of bb during weekdays as she more pamper with housework and need extra helping hands. so thinking of discontinuing maid's contract after 2 years or earlier when bb is more independent. cos tat day read newspapers that first 6 yrs of life of kids major changes in childcare or maids departure will have great influences on kids so I don't want my kids to be too affected when the maid leaves so now i try to take care of the kids myself as far as possible during weekends and she does housework mostly.

vivi c - Alrite then. We shall meet at sun plaza at 1045. We will have our meal at SunPlaza instead. Next time we'll go out elsewhere to eat okay. Still got my hp#? We contact via phone then. No worry I will remind u regarding Avent pacifiers.

It's good to hear that you are doing your very best to keep the boys accompany. It's very crucial to keep this bond together esp they are still at a very young age. At least the boys know that you are around for them when they need you. Sometimes you can try reading stories to them keke...

Tell you frankly, today's haze is terribly bad like fire smokes in the air! It should be one of the worst haze I've encounter. Oh dear....

apple - are you joining us for the meal? Let me know if you can make it. Tks in advance.

It's up to the kid whether they prefer feeding via spoon or via bottle. On-off you can try using the bottle. Kids will gradually adapt to it but this takes time & lots of patience though. I use this method on my niece for about 6months before she wanted to adapt to this. Now she is a happy girl drinking water on her own hahaha...

Vivi, my bb is not that close to maid. My maid basically doing all the household chores. That's y I'm SAHM to take care of my bb myself ah. Only when I
'm bz then my maid will handle her.
Err..pros and cons..my gal now very sticky to me! Whenever she sees me she will raise her hands long to reach me :p super glue ah..haha
I also worried the more time I spent with her, when she goes to childcare, she may have prob staying there..sigh

My gal rejecting bottle badly ah! I'm patiently tried almost everyday. Be it EBM or water, she simply hates it. I even tried on various brands of bottles and teats. PD said she is fussy eater, so is not easy to bottle train her. He said let her be. If she takes via spoon, be it.