Sembawang MTB or SAHM

May I know whether do we need to produce the baby's birth cert upon registration? If so, how can we produce since we need about 1day to go to those fengshui master for names?

LYMing - I'm sorry I can't help you in any way as I do not have the same symptoms as yours. Actually for my case it wasn't through any friend's recommendation that I choose Lawrence. The main thing is his clinic is near my home. After going through several times with him, I'm pretty comfortable with him hence continue till today & of course had signed the package as well. His package is reasonable, it's around $550.

In fact after saying out his name to some of my friends, I realised that his is popular after all hahaha. I got to know a mum whom had given birth this year, she said that Lawrence's stitching is good! Not forgetting that my unforgettable 1st trimester is so miserable that I called him whenever I don't feel good so as to get more information. So far he always advised me to go to the clinic on the very next day for checkup. Most important thing is that you got to be comfortable with the gynae as you need his/ her professional skill & advises throughout the pregnancy.

Carol - welcome abroad! Nice to hear that your gal is doing fine. So are you SAHM or FTWM? Care to let us know more about yourself? Pardon me I'm pretty busybody at times.

apple - you are right. I heard things like the queue at Terence's is pretty long. In fact, my niece is seeing him and my brother in law does feedback saying that his charges is expensive. Btw is there any PD that is near Sembawang just in case there is an emergency?

Can anyone teach me how to retrieve my own PM, let's say someone had PM me? Tks in advance.

Hi Vivi & Van

thanks for your feedback - tonight i am going to see Dr Ang - i just called the clinic n got a shock that he pick up the phone

through conversation, he sounded friendly and asked me what is my problem (i told him the itchness is unbearable) he said not to worry he will look into this - he asked if i have seen another gynae i told him yes, but i have 2nd thoughts he said dont worry too much he will see what he can do

this give me assurance

Ladies thanks for your feedback
really appreciate it very much!!!

Morning, Van, sorry can you tell me what does SAHM or FTWM stand for? Paiseh I am not so familar with the terms used here.
Oh ya anyone here is TTC and has tried Clomid before? What's the success rate?

Hi Van

think if someone has PM u, meaning sent a private message to u, it will reach the email add stated in ur profile when u register this forum. So u should be checking ur email account.
Btw, got ur PM, pls check ur email a/c.

Hi eliza

saw the seat at Mothercare couple of mths back, promotion too. seem like can't use for long time or for bb who is big. what is the age tat bb can use this seat till? thanks.

Re: BUMBO
Not very practical coz if your bb got big thighs, it can't fit after awhile..and while putting bb inside, they tends to lick the front portion
my 2 cents worth of comments..keke

RE Bumbo,

I bought bumbo for my elder son when he was 4 months. Think he sat in it for about four/ five months only.

Hello, everyone!!!
I saw from eliza's thread that her Bumbo seat is sold already, anyway. But thanks for the tips, Vivi_C and apple. Didn't crossed my mind that bb with big thighs may not be able to use it for long. Hehehe...

Carol,
Welcome to this thread!!! SAHM refers to stay home moms and FTWM refers to full time working moms. Let us know which catergory you belong to, ya?

LYMing,
I do agree with Vivi_C that you should seek 2nd opinion since your NUH gynae seemed a little "boh chap". I have chronic sinus and ear preferation which needed to be treated with antibiotics often. Throughout the last 8 months, I was often sick cos I cannot be administered antibiotics. Even though I still see my own family GP for treatment, Dr. Ang also double check the medication given by my GP to ensure I'm taking safe and absolutely unnecessary medication. Yes, he sometimes picks up the phone at the clinic and also on those days when the clinic is not open in the evening. I feel quite comforatble with him, that's why I choose to see him.

JJ,
You asked Jenny about Dr. Ang's stitching skills in the Oct thread. Like what Van mentioned, many of his patients commented that his stitching skills is very outstanding. So no worries about that lah. Anyway, I will be able to tell you my personal experience once I deliver.

Hi twins MTB,

Thanks for enlightening me, In this cas I am a FTWM, what about you? Are you expecting twins? When will you be due? So envious but it must be terribly tiring for you? Did you conceive your twins naturally? Which Gynae are you going to? Heard that for twins, charges will be double for all. Oh ya any known thread on clomid for me to read up on?

Hi MTBs

If u r still interested to know, I paid $260 for the 5-in-1 jab about like 2 yrs ago when I brought my elder son to polyclinic then.

Hi Carol
I'm expecting twin gals and they should popped anytime from now till probably another 2 weeks max. This is my 1st pregnancy (thru natural conception) and I'm seeing Dr Ang at Sun Plaza. He has given me hospitalisation leave from my 30th week to prevent premature delivery, so I have been staying at home. But after delivery, I will also be a SAHM to care for the twins myself.

The charges are not exactly double but I'm not entitled to the standard package at the hospital (TMC in this case). For multiple births, TMC charges mother and babies separately for everything. The only thing which remains the same is the gynae fee.

I'm not sure what kind of information you're looking for but some of the gals in the following thread (about TCM) mentioned Clomid consumption. You may want to find out more from them. One of the gals is San. Can check with her since she is still active.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=5&post=1299089

Meanwhile, if I chance upon other threads concerning Clomid, I'll let you know.

Carol,
Have you been to the Singapore Baby and Parenting Portal? If you haven't, you should give it a try. There is a forum on TTC and Clomid is one of the more active thread there. I can't paste the hyperlink here and the website name is also not allowed in this discussion board. So weird... Maybe because the portal is in direct competition with this website??? So lame!!!

Anyway, I will PM you the link.

Hi dorayaki,
I'm back here. Been missing the threads in forum since Sun. No time to read all. So, how's your checkup? Going to due soon? Have you decide for C-section or normal delivery? I read in Oct 06 thread said there's a mother with twins gave birth naturally leh. Are you going to try?

Halo ladies => I am back, busy for the whole day.

Vivi c - Tks for updating the cost of 5in1. Re: Bumbo seat, I agree with the rest it's not going to last for long at most a couple of months. My friend is using this for his son now. Btw only chunky thigh can make them sit still otherwise it is an expensive white elephant.

I did not receive your email. Did you send to me via PM or my personal mail? Fyi I still haven't know how to see if anyone had sent me PM as I'm still lost in this.

Hi Jenny welcome back to this thread! I supposed you have given birth to your lovely princess now. Btw do you have any confinement listing to share with us here as I am totally loss.... Tks in advance.

LYMing - Do take care of yourself. Let us know your updates. Cheers!

There's a sale coming up. Here it is:
http://www.carrefour.com.sg/events.html
Just click the baby fair for coming 04th Oct. I'm not sure if the prices are reasonable or not as I haven't reached this phase yet. Hope this is helpful though.

Bumbo seat:
yes, u r rite. if baby have big thighs cant fit. dats y i m selling mine.

anyone interested in a Combi pram?

534975.jpg
534976.jpg

Selling at SGD 90 (RP: SGD 238)

Letting go because have 3 strollers at home!! and i only have 1 baby.

Bought and have only use for 3 mths.
But you may want to take note of the harness strap. However, I have used the pram safely.

Hi Twins_MTB, thanks for the great info, I will go and read up. I see so you will be delivering at TMC, it a nice place and the nurses are good. you will be in good hands. do take care and may you have a smooth delivery. have you decide on which PD to choose? You can try Dr Ang Poon Liat, he's very experience and nice man.

Hi Jenny
So touched when I read your posting on the birth process this time. You're really brave to go ahead without epidural (both times!!!). I'm keen to try natural delivery but Dr. Ang has concerns about one of the twins' position currently. He is going to review again tomorrow evening to do a final confirmation. If the twins' positioning is ideal, he will let me try natural. Else, he will ask me to decide on C-sect date.
kao_sad2.gif

I was hoping to try natural bcos this may be my first and last delivery mah.

Carol,
I have not thought of which PD yet. More concern about when my twins will popped. Hee...

Hi Van

I replied ur email cos when u PM me will send thru to my email address I used when I registered for this forum. So maybe u will like to check ur email account? If not I will sms u. But I do not have the pacifiers with me leh. cos they are at home. so will contact u to see how we can meet.

Hi Carol
Dr Ang Poon Liat is not good leh and his charges are high, I remembered the 3rd day after my boy was born, we went back to see him, he din do anything and charge me $150 + *faint*, thereafter i din go back to him.

Hi CClyn,
Ang PL not gd, erm so far my gal has been goin to him, so y did he charge $150, what wrong wif ur boy? however i agree his charges very high and he very commercialise, he try to promote his products but he cured my gal neck problem when even my PD from Mount E cant do anythg when she was young that y i have been going to him for all big/small ailments my gal has. my gal was hospitalised earlier during CNY and he was not bad he came of the first & 2nd Day CNY to check on her condition, so which PD are you going to now?

vivi c - oic, I get the picture. It's okay you cannot meet me today. Feel free to sms me your available time & date, I look forward to see you hehe...

Check this out:
http://prettyfit.resonance.com.sg/oct06/mailer.htm
Enjoy shopping!

twins - you are indeed brave to include natural delivery as one of your option. For me, after seeing my sister's case, I personally do not have such a daring approach. In fact, I do consider C-sect & natural incld. epidural as my options. Well it still lies on the position of our babies, see how it goes. Praying.....

I am still looking out for PD near Sembawang area. So far I have heard that AMK is very popular but seeing the crowd tune me off. What if I'm facing an emergency?

Hi cclyn & Carol

Think, doc be it PD or GP are quite personal. ie. some may be suitable some may not. like the GP that I always go to may not be tat suitable for my hb and he likes to go to his own family doc. guess for bb or kids are the same.
I think have to try it out thru recommendations if not suitable may have to look again.
O I heard there is a very good PD at NUH, male one, not sure of his name. Channel 8 ever done a documentary about him. But one thing, NUH is quite out of the way.

Hi Carol,
PD was at Clementi as tat time he was bb-sit by my aunt, I only bring him there when he was seriously ill, other then tat he goes to GP. Dr Lawerance Ang also advise me to go GP for minor illness

My boy was born with G6PD - Glucose 6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency, it leads to an abnormal rupture (breakage)of the red blood cells. We went back to him for review, he look at my boy and gave us the blood test report & some cream. Tat cost us $150+ (blood test was taken in hospital & charge under hospital bill)

Hi Vivi
Agree with you.
The GP near my place always need to visit twice then can cure, my neighbour told me to go Sunplaza 3rd floor, so I went, surprisingly their medication work
Funny hor

Hi Gals

This is just my opinion, I m not saying PD is no good....u should bring ur child to see the doc that u and kid is comfy with. I feel that services fm GP and PD is the same for minor illness like fever, flu etc. the medicine given also same. but the charges betw PD and GP is a huge difference. So how i feel is, normal ailments can go to GP once bb like after 6mths and PD or specialists for specifics illnesses.
Hee......just my opinion.

Hee....cclyn, I also see the GP at Sunplaza 3rd floor. yup tat one see one time, flu or fever can cure.......I also went to this GP when I was sick during my pregnancy, then show the medication to my gynea, just to be sure.

Hi CClyn,
U mean your boy has not recover yet? is his condition serious?
My gal was once G6PD but she is okay already, so dun be dismay, your boy will be fine.

Hi Twins_MTB,
Have you prepared everything for your admission?
Remember to bring along your own sanitary pads as the ones provide from the Hos is very uncomfy.

By d way, does anyone here happen to also go to Gynae Dr Chia Yee Tien? Just checking.

Hi Van

O I still can meet u, if u dun mind abit late like 8+ or 9+ pm. I just have to go home grab the things. btw where r u staying liao? Probably I can walk over. not to worry, will sms u later so tat u can contact me.

I agree with vivi c - PD or GP, it all depends whether are you comfortable with him/ her, this applies to gynae too. After all we are all human being hahaha...

cclyn - I'm sorry to hear that your boy got the G6PD. May I know how do you know that in the first place? Also, your mum & you got to look out for certain thing for your darling, correct me if I'm wrong.

Any mummies store their darling's cord blood? If do care to share with me your experience pls, thanks in advance.

Hi Carol
He is ok, tks
my boy is 4yrs old liao. His G6PD is inborn and will never go away. Just need to be careful of wat he eats especially Chinese medicine.

Hi cclyn

O I m also sorry to read tat ur boy has G6PD. but how come inborn? sorry leh very kaypo. must be heart pain to u. if u ok to share, I also interested to know how u discover ur boy has it. Thanks.

vivi c - no problem for me as I'm not going out today. My home is at Blk 486 near to Sembawang Shipyard. I believed it's too far for you. Just sms me if you are available so that I go to your place & collect. Btw your block, 357A is just walking distance to MRT, am I right? It's those white-blue coloured blocks if I'm not wrong.

cclyn - I strongly believed that the food your boy consume for now & future may even minimize the chance of occurance.

I had watched discovery health channel, it once showed a lady inborn with genetic disorder which forbid her to have any baby. She only knew this after consulted a fertility specialist. At the same time her twin sister got pregnant, she got curious & asked doctor about it. He told her that indirectly through the diet, her twin sister frequent lots of veg & fruits which indeed alter her DNA somehow. Well I was quite impressed that even though we are born with certain DNA elements, food does make a difference in our life too!

Wa, u walk over ah not good lah u pregnant leh.
yup its 357A those blocks with semi-circle balcony. its ok I'll sms u and see how we can meet. see ya and take care.

Hi Vivi
I also dunno y my boy have G6PG as both me & hb dun have it. I was told by PD the same day when he was born. Ask doctor 'HOW COME' and was told tat is genatic. Prob my Ah Gong/Ah Ma or Tai Gong/Tai Ma have it

Hi Van

Will avoid those food he is not supposed to eat and hopefully it can minimize the chance of occurance or even recover

hi Van, Vivi

thanks for the feedback - i went to c Dr Ang (though he *chop chop* but i feel comfortable with him) he prescribed some cream + med for me to consume (safe for the pregnancy)

i will c him again in 3 wks time

Hi LYMing

Its great tat u r comfy with him. so u will continue to see him still? well its convenient to go the sunplaza instead of somewhere else. n TMC is quite a nice place to give birth. think most gynea sees preggie lady "chop chop", mine was too....mostly nothing much to check, only check size and heartbeat. so u early stage of pregnancy?

cclyn - no worries. So long your darling avoid those food from young, it should minimize the chances of occurance. Who knows by the time he grows up, this will be the end of his history book! YES!!!!! Luckily your PD told you about this otherwise when your son is unwell none of you know the actual root of the problem.... this is a blessing in disguise.

LYMing - good to hear that you are feeling better. Cheer up! Your baby will be as cute as you are hehehe.... Fyi my appt with Lawrence is this coming 25th.

vivi c - it's okay. My tummy is not that big, just cross over 6th month. I take it as a stroll as I am quite a lazy person, sitting in front of pc everyday kekeke

Wow I'm so happy, so long I reaches my 7th month of pregnancy I can go for my massage! What a long wait!

Van,

I went to Ooi Clinic @ Yishun Ave 4. Accessible only if you have car. Tried taking bus, but very troublesome. Taking the cab will cost about $5(one direction).

Dr Ooi and Dr Foo are very nice docs. Like them. Many of my hubby's colleagues also take their children there

augustmum, I think I read about Dr Ooi n Dr Foo r hb & wife rite? Er..can PM me the clinic addy..just in case emergency, maybe this gonna be useful. thanks

Maybe we should consolidate a list of PDs near our place?
Like Vivi_C, I also feel that its important to be comfortable with your doc, be it a GP, PD or gynae. For my chronic sinus/ear preferation, I was seeing a very experienced specialist until he died (of old age). Then I was under SGH's ENT clinic for 4 years and no improvement. Finally, it was a GP near my old house who did the trick and save my day. My entire family visits this GP for "everything under the sun". Hehe... Its the comfort level lor.

Carol,
Yes, I've my hospital bag packed already. I'm ready to go TMC anytime. But my babies are not leh.

LYMing,
Glad to know you're comfortable with Dr. Ang. Ya, its important to see a gynae near our home. If you look at me now, I cannot imagine going for medical review anywhere further than Sun Plaza. I can hardly walk now. My hubby thinking of getting me a wheelchair already. Hee...

Hi Augustmum, for Ooi Clinic, mind telling us roughly much the consultation fee is like? Are they PD or GP? Do they operate at nite and sunday? They give vaccine also?

What is PM? can someone tell me? Anyone got any idea about the before and afetr school care centre at sembawang? do they accept kids from 4yrs or begining when?

Carol,
PM = Private Message. You just have to click on the name of the forum user in left hand column, it will display the user's profile and a link for you to send her a private message. The message will be directly sent to her email address which the user used to register to be a member fo this forum.

I just updated the table attached which I posted previously. Feel free to update it, esp the new ones who had just join us on this thread.

mime_msexcel.gif
Sembawang Moms
Sembawang Moms.xls (14.3 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Carol

Hmmmm.......if I am not wrong these kind of b4 and after school care centre usually accept older children normally 4 yrs old will like care under childcare centre if they are to go to some centres.