Playgroup- Sunflower/LittleTots/AppleTree/Talent Plus

fuji_apple

Any children of yours attending these playgroup?

Sunflower/LittleTots/AppleTree/Talent Plus

Which one is better?

hihi i signed up talentplus for my boy starting class in july in hougang. dunno whether good or not. din know there are so many other playgroups in hougang

i think it's about $135 per month. there are 2 sessions. i signed up for the 11- 1 class. there's also material fees which u pay by the quarter, cant quite rem how much liao. school uniform and scholl bag for $40. my boy will start class in july cos they follow the school system where june and dec are school holidays. however, we still have to pay the school fess for these 2 mths.

Jkids,
Yes, there's an Apple Tree branch @ Chong Pang. It's the headquarters. In fact, they have quite a lot of branches located islandwide. For Little Tots & Talent Plus, the nearest one is at Sembawang, but they're slightly more expensive than Apple Tree.

U can visit www.appletree.com.sg for more info. My gal has already completed the 1 yr programme last year. She's in nursery this year

pumpkin:
did your kid enjoy appletree? isit at chong pang? i am considering the one at chong pang. i saw the website too...certain things not there, i called the tel, but the person didnt sound very frely, wanted to quickly put down the phone coz she look after the kids at the same time...

i saw the apple tree registration is coming...what do we have to bring to register?

JKids,

My gal attended the Canberra branch cos I'm staying at Sembawang

It's actually a 1.5hr programme based on themetical learning. Basically, they'll be taught different themes each semester. Like colors & shapes..etc for 1st half of the semester & alpabets for 2nd half. And each wk, they'll only be taught 1 item within the theme, e.g wk1 will be yellow, wk2 will be red..etc, so it's v. focused. In addition, they also hv singing, art & craft, games, role play & story time..etc for every session, so really good & interesting concept. Their lessons are also v. well organized. At the end of each wk, they'll also be bringing home some of the craft work they've completed during the wk & a story book each for parents to read to them over the wkend.

As for the teacher & auntie there, they were both v. experienced in handling the kids, esp. the teacher who's really patient. This is v.important esp. in dealing with a group of preschoolers where they're more difficult to manage at this young age.

Overall, my gal had a great time mingling with the kids & she has also made a lot of new friends. Most importantly, it has helped to build up & widen her social & interactive skills which are crucial for their future development.

As for registration, if I'm not wrong.. u only need to bring along ur child's birthcert & ur IC. But it's better that u call up the centre to confirm on the documents required cos afterall, it's been 2 yrs since we did the registration & procedures/requirements might hv chged now. There're lessons conducted at Chong Pang branch too so the teacher there might be busy at times to atttend to phone calls. U might wanna call them in the morning ard 8+ cos the earliest session starts only at 9am. So far, I've not encountered any prob calling up. They've all been v. friendly & helpful

pumpkin:
thanks, the info is indeed useful! i checked, its the same, bring copies of birthcert, mum i/c and $$$.

care to share which nursery u have placed your child at, and does it automatically go to kindergarden too? coz soon in another yr, i have to register her for nursery!

Jkids,
No prob =) My gal is currently @ PCF Chong Pang branch, Sembawang. She will still continue her K1 & K2 education there for the next 2 yrs so no need to switch. There's also a PCF branch at Chong Pang Blk 107 too. U can prob chkout www.pcf.org.sg for more info

pumpkin: me in fact thinking of enroling mine in PCF at blk 107.... but wondering how's the teacher's quality now? btw, was yr kid toilettrained by the time she went to playgp? what are the kid expected to bring in their bag?

JKids,
Yup my gal already toilet trained at 18mths so do not need to wear any diapers when she goes to school. If wants to go to the toilet, she will just let the auntie know & the auntie will bring her there. But some of her friends still on diapers.

And no need to bring anything to school.. just a water bottle with plain water for her will do, cos it's only 1.5 hrs.

As for teacher quality, from what I understand.. PCF's teachers have been undergoing specialised training from time to time since few yrs back to upgrade themselves & to accquire better skills in managing preschoolers.. so there shld be no issues. So far, the one teaching my gal now has been quite gd.. v. patient & experienced.. no prob at all.

<font color="0000ff">Are there any Talent Plus or Apple Tree playgroups around Jurong West? Or, any other recommendations?</font>

Is there any interested mummies for the AppleTree playgroup at Clementi Blk 359, starting Jan 2008?
Time is from 10.45am to 12.15pm.
Kindly pm me if interested.

Hi does anyone have address and phone number of Sunflower kids, Simei?
The website doesnt have it and nor do the headquaters at Bedok north have their numbers.
wat are the other play schools in East?

heard that appletree not so good. fren's son attended the nursery, 1st few days, he walked around the class, the teacher told my fren not to worry, some kids like to explore new places. the second week, my fren returned to work and her maid brought the kid to sch. the teacher asked the maid to stay with the kid to ensure that he sits with the rest of the class. my fren called the sch, they said they need the maid to help the kid settle down in sch (isn't that the sch's job?). last week, they told the maid (n not my fren) that she has to stay for the rest of term. my fren called the principal directly, n principal said that the sch needs help, n their sch prog is catered to majority. fren pull her son out of the sch, checked around n found that review for appletree is not good. better find out more before sending your kids there

I send my girl for the Apple Tree weekend enrichment program. Thus far I find it useful and good learning as the materials taught are of relevance to her learning. The teacher is nice to have too. I think depends on the branch you are in, every school is the same...even for Kinderland and Learning Vision.

Most impt is your comfort level when you talk to the teachers and principal and monitor on the way. My gal attends childcare on weekdays, that is by far the best childcare so she has been there for a yr plus. I search ard other centers and find they can't make it even for reputable school.

hi Yimi n luvmum
thanks for the info..
but even i've heard that aaple tree is decent enough...i think it also varies sometimes for children and their getting comfortable with the school.

I looking at playgroup aroud Bedok north st 3/ave 2...any comments for Playgroup @ Blk 526 and Sunflower at the Kaki Bukit Cc?

My girl attended Apple Tree in Anchorvale (sengkang) finished her 1 yr programme last year and now she is in nursery. I personally think that Apple Tree is quite good in term of the class programmes. But most importantly is still the teacher. Going to register my youngest daughter in Apple Tree too.

Joenna,

I heard the Apple Tree at Anchorvale is full already when I wanted to register my son last year. Are they open for registration for 2009?

i called a few tlmes they say registration opens in june they ask me to call back early june to check registration for the different centres

Any comments for Apple Tree @ Bishan? Went to the RC but couldn't find the place unless it's INSIDE the RC? But it's a very very small room. Any comments on the facilities of the school?

apple tree at yew tee very good
teacher is being nice -ms soh
i recomend anyone to enrol there
2 yrs -

but i dd stop in march as she keep on crying
seeing the red uniform

but i will try to enrol again after school
holiday - take note they collect dec fee and july
fee together.

hope this help mummy asking abt apple tree in cck

i at yew tee - but there is another one in cck

do check their website
take care

Anyone those children are in JW area talent plus playgroup??? Which one is good. The one my son is attending now is at st 25, it is a very very bad school n i thinking of transfering him to other branch.... ANy mummies out there, care to give some feed back regarding other JW branch talent plus playgroup???

The reason i wan a transfer is becos:
1. When i look up to this branch is becos it near my hse, walking distance. When i go there go for enquires for the 1st time, i realise the main teacher can attend to me (enquires) for 1+ hrs without starting the class.... n the assisitant teacher there do nothing n just play with the children. I did have my doubt that bery 1st time, so i reconsider again after few more month. 2rd time i go regrister n that took me ard 1hrs too, n again the main teacher attend to me n didnt start the lesson as usual. I happen to saw a 3yrs old boy sitting alone outside the classroom sofa, doing nothing and i started to ask y he sitting here, n the teacher can tell me: aiya... he lousy lah... cme for 6mth oreadi still like this. I was there for 1hrs n he boy just sit alone there doing nothing, he is not crying at all, the teacher there simply dun care him,n tell me he will go in himself after an hrs plus... I think the teachers there shd encourage him to join in n not do nothing to him n let him sit there for 6nmths since he is not crying oreadi....

2. Today i start my 1st day with my son, n realise the whole lesson is playing with toys thru out the lesson.... For 1hrs plus, the children there are playing toys on the floor with 2 teachers there, after an hr plus, the main teacher take out 1 worksheet n ask 1by1 go table glue n paste, then ask them continue to play toys. After all children done worksheet, the teacher play toys with them awhile then ask them go wash hand n drink water. After drink water, teacher take out another kinds of toy n let them play, after that, sing afew song n good bye..... There is no hoslistic learning at all. I read from the website the programme is not like this leh.... Now i knw hw come the teacher can attend to me for 1hrs without starting lesson...

3. I find that the teacher is not those caring n patient types, when he saw my son is stuborn type of people, she tell me 2moro i dun come in n sty. I wonder what she is going to do to my son without me ard.... The reason she give me is children hard to settle down with parent ard. i think she is not going to use the soft way (hong)at my son as what i see his attitude toward other children. I really think there is something wrong with this playgroup at st 25, b4 i sign up, i oreadi have my doubt. Infact i shd trrust my feeling n not sign up in the 1st place when i find it fishy.

I going to try for 1 more day n see what the outcome, n decide to change branch, but that will be driving dist liao, no more walking dist.

I got another mummies at st 91 there say the lesson is not like tis when he start his son there... hope mummies can give other feedback regarding other branch for my referral.. Hw abi=out the branch at gek poh CC?

<font color="0000ff">baby_glendon,
My friend's son used to attend the TalentPlus playgroup at Bt Panjang (he's attending childcare centre now) and she said her son enjoyed it and learned lots of stuff.

However, being a new school term, the teachers may let the kids do more playing to get them (esp. the new ones) feel more settled in the new environment. After 1 - 2 weeks, the actual cirriculum may kick in. Did the school give you any newsletter stating the theme for the term?

Perhaps you can check with the Principal, Catherine (hp: 96651443)</font>

http://www.organise4u.com.sg/TALENTPLUS.htm

hi bbloh,

today i have my 2rd day at talent plus again, today worst... nothing is done today except playing with toy, ball sing song n go home.... I ask the teacher hw come no lesson but she say have to due wit crying children, so lesson can onli conduct 2 week later. I was thinking that if every month got new student then no need lesson liao loh... Somemore my frenz at st 91 talent plus told me that they got lesson on 2rd day onward. I really think something is amiss in this branch.... I was thinking to change branch to gek poh leh...

those parent who send their children to playgroup:

Hw was their lesson conducted hah??? I remember last time i attend other playgroup, it was like-
-play toy n setlle dwn children
-keep toy n mark ateendance by eg. roll ball to the called name n children say present, or some is takew their name n paste to board.
-music n movement
-hoslistic learning depending on theme
-do worksheet art n craft colouring n etc
-snack time
-then follow by chinese lesson n singsons n sing gd bye song...

That was parent accompany playgroup, i wonder those without parent type izzit the same, mummies who have children in playgroup, carte to share with me hw they conduct their actitivites during the 1st 3day when u r allow to stay in?

the school didnt give any newletter or explain anything to me n another new student mother leh...

my friend who son at talent plus but at different branch told me that 1st day really didnt do anything, just play n mingle ard, but after 2rd day, lesson is conducted with colouring or art m craft. n they sit n do on table together, not like what my 1st day is... just ask 1 by 1 go table do worksheet, no conduct lesson, just to let them show their parent their work end od the day telling those parent their children learn something at school like that.

The teacher say i cannot stay in 2morro liao, ask me come fatch my son 1hr later, n of cos crying is not avoidable. But i was thinking that since i find the school something is amiss, maybe i will not let my son attend 2morro, n visit the gek poh branch n check it out whether it is the same... cos my friend in st 91 branch say it not like this.... u remember i did say i stay there for 1hr for enquires b4? the teacher oso no conduct lesson for the 1hrs when everyone is not crying.... i was wondering hw come she didnt ask me come back later or what....

or bbloh, do u mind ask ur friend for me, ask her whther her 1st 3day were like this same as mine? do nothing just play toys, no lesson? If every month got new student, then no need lesson liao loh... this is my thinking.

<font color="0000ff">baby_glendon,
Sorry can't help you as my friend dropped her son there alone right after sending him to the playgroup from 2nd day onwards. His son said "bye bye" to her and ran straight to the class. So, from the 2nd day, it's "drop and go". Her son was 18 months old then.

My son used to attend another playgroup and my mum brought him there. As we also started him in July, the practice was somewhat different from yours.

(1) There was no orientation nor formal briefing prior to starting the term whereas for those starting in Jan, there is a formal briefing by the Principal in Dec.

(2) For the 1st week or so, my mum will stay with my son. But as the days progressed, the teacher will ask her to leave early. My son can be heard crying loudly but the teacher will try to pacify him. My mum said that all they did was to play with toys and maybe did some Arts and Crafts.

(3) For those who enrolled in Jan, it's only an hour class for the first 2 weeks for the kids to settle down and caregivers were allowed to stay for the first few days. All they did was to play with toys too but I was not too bothered with that as my aim was to set my son at ease after 6 weeks of school holiday break.

I was given a newsletter stating the theme for the term (e.g. alphabets) and how parents can help to gather the materials together with the kid (e.g. we were asked to find some pictures related to the alphabets of the week) for them to compile their own alphabet book. They learnt all the 26 alphabets in 2 terms and my son was able to name me most of the alphabets.

Eventually, the kids will be given worksheets, do Arts &amp; Crafts, Music &amp; Movement, Outdoor Play, etc. as they'll bring the materials home and we'll be given photos (gotta pay) showing what they did in class. I believe they do carry out the tasks planned for that term.

I was also given a folder summarising my son's development, his character and interest at the end of the term.

Perhaps you can give the school a bit more time for things to fall into place.

Hope what I've described helps to reassure you a little.</font>

im back from GekPoh cc. Got feedback from 1mother what they are doing those 2days. She say they conduct lesson on the 1st day le, learn basic thing n art &amp; craft thru lesson. As there are many student, so teacher will group them into 5people in a group n do their craft on table, after that the other group do too...

But teacher told me now is full, tell me she cant decide anything as principal is not ard. She say still got 1 slot available but that was reservered for 1 indonesian boy. Ask me wait for prinicipal to be back see hw she decide for me, whether to add 1more in or what.....

mon is youth day so no school... i think i can onli wait for pri to be back on tue loh, cant do much.. But was afraid if my son teacher call me up n ask y i didnt attend school or ask regarding the matter, duno what to say... pai say.... i hope to get into GP 1, cos nearer, nanyang abit far for me leh...

my son now seem to be phobia toward playgroup after attending 2days, even with me ard.... Duno y he react like this, he have been going for so many type of enrichment n playgroup eg, bjg, playdayz, zoophonic, MMI, but none of them he feel so kang ju toward them. But this talent plus, he rejected even with me ard in the class. Keep taking his shoe wana leave, feel so sad with his reaction. i scare he will be phobia in going school again, luckily today i didnt let him attend

the catherine u mention earlier izzit the boss? I told the teacher i could not contact the prinicipal, n she give me another manager hp, but not in use liao, i told her i got 1 catherine hp, she say that is the boss....

<font color="0000ff">I think Catherine is the boss.

Have your son attend any non-accompanied program before? Maybe when he saw how other kids "cope" without their caregiver around, he may not feel comfortable.

Nevertheless, if you find the one at Gek Poh good, do give it a try and seek refund from the one at St 25.</font>

haha i dun think they will refund, but since it is under same manager, think they will let me change location, but the 2rd nearest one is gek poh, but it reserved for other boy liao. Hope that the manager can close 1 eye let my son join in ba... or else i think i wana refund since the teacher didnt practice what have been written in the website...

By the way i remember ur child is ard my son age rite? have u decide which pre-nursery for him oreadi in 2010?

<font color="0000ff">The centre has a quota to meet and adding another child may violate MCYS' regulations.

Hmm ... my son is already 3 YO and is attending childcare service now.</font>

the manager for Jw talent plus just call me n say it full at gek poh, n they will refund all the $ to me....

i think they neva investigate hw the teacher manage the centre there cos she jus say the teacher there explain tat children were crying n etc... no much investigation taken to the teacher incharge even i told her what i obseverse...

i think it really no good that they just refund me n let the matter rest, imagine there is stilll lot lot of children there which parent duno anything when the door is close.

Thse who are knne to take up talent plus, neva go to jw st 25 one... hei dian.....

<font color="0000ff">It's good that you get your $ back but bad that the management just swept the whole matter under the carpet.

Have you checked out Star Tots Playgroup?

There are several branches at JW. Location of playgroup centres:
http://www.edufarm.com.sg/

My friend's son used to attend a branch at CCK (he's now attending Kindergarten) and she said her son enjoyed it very much.</font>