PCOS....

Hi Chau, good to know that.
Hope u will adapt to the new environment very soon ;)
I took clomid 2 weeks ago (23/9), now should be the ovulation period, still waiting... but these few days i did the ovulation test, the results are negative... so i am a little anxious now.

Hi rejoy28, thanks for sharing. this is very encouraging ;)

Al the gud luck to you. share the news with us. enjoy as much as u can.. as i always enjoy every minute without thinking anything......making busy with some gud stuff....great to hear the encouragement.

I am diagnosed with PCOS/PCO (i am not sure which one) 2 years ago. Have tried 100 and 150mg of clomid but the blood test showed I was not ovulating.

Now I went checkup at NUH and scans shows that I have small follicles in my ovaries and my AMH is 30.5! I am also overweight. Doc advise me to lose weight. Meanwhile I am waiting for my HSG appt next week.

I have started walking for about 5 days a week. Sometimes 5km,7km. In fact I enjoy walking!! I also started to play badminton and eat less rice. So far lost about 2 kg.

Anyone having the same condition as me? Lets motivate each other

Hi there, I'm finally back.

The last 3 weeks have been very emotionally and physically draining for me, as my bb was born 5 weeks premature. Luckily everything is OK now, so trying to get back to 'normal' life.

TTCing - Milo kosong is good, but you might want to stay off 100-plus. There are concerns that the salts and minerals might upset one's body chemistry and affect body functions. In fact, you reminded me about drinks. Try to stay off coffee and green tea where possible. Soya products such as soya milk is also an area of concern. Stay off unless you are lactose-intolerant and needs soya milk for calcium. In fact, when TTC, both me and my hubby stayed off soya products. You can do a google to find out how soya products might interfere with TTC for some.

twinklelynne - hv PMed you

rejoy28 - congrats! In my case, my gynae said my PCOS got better as I had more kids...

twinklestars - jia you - don't give up. I had the same experience as you. My BMI is the shoot-off-the-roof kind, and after losing 10kg in a year through diet and exercise plan, things got much much better...

Moon, thanks for advice. Hope to be like u too, to be able to experience and enjoy motherhood soon

Take care and have a gd rest

Hi, I am new here. Recently I went to tmc to do check up. The doc after scanning said I may have pcos as she saw few egg and she think there is no big one even though I was in my 10th days cycle. She asked me to go back for blood test next month when my mensus came. So this month I went back for blood test, but the nurses after tool my blood sample straight away ask me whether want totale mec for ovulation. I said " no, wait for blood test". I feel very uncomfort, isn't she should find out whether I have pcos or not before ask me to take Mec?

I went to Tcm to " tiao" my body also. Accrding to Tcm doctor, I did has ovulate, the reason I can't conceive is bcos my body is not heat enough.

Did anyone experience before or any good o&g doc to recommend?

Wslim:I m also having PCOS and is still gg to TCM to tiao my body. TCM will tiao your body to strengthen it but the gynae will give u medicine to trigger ovulation. Depends which one u believe in.

I just went to scan for follicles and only managed to take the largest egg at 11.6mm on CD13. This is my 2nd clomid cycle after May'12.I also did a trigger shot to try to make the egg ovulate. I will be going to the gynae's again this Saturday to scan and maybe another trigger shot if it grows bigger than 16mm.

Anyone of u here experienced only a 11.6mm egg on CD13 but still managed to ovulate and get a BFP that cycle?

Hi moon, i oso like to knw your regime and diet plan.

I was oso diagonised with pcos. I juz had my ovary drilling. Wonder if i cld get preggie.

hope this thread is still active

i am having my 6th clomid cycles but no ovaluation. Gynae say the follicles are too small..im diagnose with PCOS and its terrible. Have to take medicine to induce menses and only last for 3 days..anyone experience the same issues?

i am seeing tcm and gynae as well..but not sure how to take the medicine..anyone doing the same thing?

I do know of some supplements that can help you all to conceive naturally. Do PM me for more details.

;-)

Hi everyone, I had been taking metformin for about 4 months. 3 tablets a day.
Er..... First 3 months menses cycle 30 days.
2nd round got release egg. but the 4th month Menses was super late..
My friend asked mi to put the bak fung pills ( I use YuRenSheng) into the brands chicken essence and
stew slowly about 15-20 m until the small bak fung pills melted)
Few days later menses come. if u have irregular period, u can try this ;) ( 2-3 days once to keep your womb warm if do not feel the heat - TCM concept)
I am considering to stop metformin cause serious hair loss and afraid of damages on kidney and liver, any comments?

Hi Mi Mi,

Did u discuss with your gynae on whether you can or should stop taking metformin? Whether other alternatives such as clomid is OK or even better for you?

I used to be on metformin, and my gynae told me it's super super safe. In fact, it's supposed to have positive health benefits, such as lowering risk of diabetes and heart disease. This is especially important for super-plus-size PCOSers (like me) who are TTCing.

Hi all..
I hv tried my last cycle of clomid and went to see gynae. He told me to go for ivf! Is there no other alternatives than to go for ivf? The news make me feel devasted, its like telling me no hope and need to go to last resort ivf..and when ask the % of successful rate only 20%..

Any idea after 6 cycles of clomid, what can we do? I really need help. thanks

Hi forumbb,

Did your gynae explain why he's asking you to go for IVF direct? He should have explained why other alternatives such as IUI are not being considered. In my case, my gynae advised me to go for IUI first before trying IVF as the last resort, although he said many couples rather go straight for IVF to lessen waiting time and suffering as well as save cost in the long run. Even when IUI failed for me, he was reluctant to go straight for IVF and instead asked me to lose 10kg in 1 year and then try IUI again.

i was diagnosed with pcos. mine is more anovolutory. i hv regular menses.

so when trying for kids, i've tried clomid but did not respond. And i really do not like clomid. it makes the vagina very dry so much so it pains and hv to use lubricants. Thus, doc also suggests me to go for ivf, skipping the IUI too. He is more concerned due to my age. Here I am doing my first fresh cycle of ivf. Of course ivf is always the last option.

Hi moon,
No he didnt explain, I didnt ask as im too shocked when he tell me go for ivf and most likely due to my 6 cycles of failed clomid thus ask me go for ivf.

My pcos is terrible according to him plus my age 35

Hi All,Please pound,mesh black chicken to brew its natural essence to drink weekly. It is good tonic and high protein, get your elderly to teach you how to brew..or,eat black chicken egg,.good help for fertility

was wondering can a woman have pcos even if she already have a kid. I mean before this I have no problem conceiving but its very hard now. Im still young and gain alot f weight after gicing birth four yrs back

Hi foumbb,
I think you should ask him to explain his reasons. This will at least set your mind at rest as to why he suggested IVF straight. For example, does he know why clomid failed? Is it because no ovulation at all, or ovulated but just didn't make it etc. And did he advise you how to manage your PCOS? This is very important as you go about IVF if indeed this is the way ahead...

Hi adlieyn,
It is possible. You could have PCOS all this while, just that you did not know it because it did not give you any problem. It is very possible that it only became visible because you gained a lot of weight after giving birth. My gynae told me PCOS usually is dormant if weight is low (normal BMI), but if weight increases by a lot, then all the symptoms will start to appear. If you wanna try for another kid, try to lose at least 10% of your current weight, and maintain for at least 3 months. This is what I did, and that's how I manage to have 3 kids although I am super-plus-size, have terrible PCOS, and is no longer young (I had my kids when I was 32, 34 and 38).

Hi moon ..

thanks for ur reply!yes Im currently tring to lose weight now. Heard alot of ppl say if i lose weight it somehow cnan make me easier to conceive.. Really want a second one. What did you do to lose wight? As a full time working mummy.. I find myself hard to exercise.

Hi adlieyn,

My gynae told me as a guide, if one is super-size and has PCOS, it would help a lot to lose at least 10% of weight - more helpful than taking metformin/clomid etc. Better if can achieve 15% loss.

I am also a FTWM, so I know how hard it is to find time to exercise. I did the standard stuff, like walking all the way to the MRT station from home when going to work in the morning instead of taking the feedber bus (and vice versa in the evening), walking to a farther place for lunch, climbing the stairs instead of taking the lift (I live on the 8th floor, so this helps a lot). Of course, exercise is not enough, must also change diet. No oily food, no fatty stuff, no high-calorie desserts and tidbits etc. I must admit it was very tough, and many times I wanted to give up because the weight loss was very slow - less than 1kg per month. But I kept on going because I wanted a kid.

I know of friends who lost weight after going for TCM or taking supplements, but it is your comfort level as to whether you want to go for these options to lose weight. I did try TCM but stopped after a while because the active ingredients used in the medicine upset the iodine level in my body and caused my body to go haywire. And because of this, I did not dare to try weigh-loss formulas/supplements. So for me, not much of a choice as to how to lose weight - the cold hard way...

Hru MIMI. checked your post...did you try any other doctor.
Also, i have a good news...iam pregnant. i went to KKH DR. Sadhana. she told me take clomid once i get periods...i dint get periods so i took pills to get periods. still i dint get periods...i thought it is better i check pregnancy kit before i go to doc.... :D..i am pregnant now n everything is normal....sounds different as i dint took any medication for PCOS...just done few exercises like walking playing tennis....

Hi Moon,

Thanks. I'm currenly on a healthy diet
All the while I took stairs to my house. I live at 4th floor, still oka lah hor.. But finding time on my off day mayb to cycle or swimming or even badminton or tennis

I have a daughter already but am still tring fot no. 2!!

Hi Chau,

congrats on your pregnancy!!

Hi moon,
I have check with gynae and was told due to my pcos n 6 cycles of unsuccessful clomid. Its advisable for me to seek ivf consultation where they will try give pills to suit the stages.

Hi adlieyn,
We shared the same situation..sigh..

I was diagnosed with PCOs only AFTER i gave birth to my girl. When my gynae was doing a post birth test to see if my scar (c-section) has healed.
It was then that he discovered i had PCOs

I was having menses once in 3 months but was too busy to go for check up on why my mense was so irregular. But this irregularity, started 5 years ago.. before that it was around 5 weeks once but at least regular.

So.. coming back to where I left off... after the gynae discovered I had PCOs.. he sat me and my hubby down and told us the next one might be difficult... so he drew us a plan.. since I'm breastfeeding at least for 6 months - a year might not have period so after a year I was supposed to see him so that he can give me contraceptive pills if I didn't want a child or other medication to keep me fertile.

So as I nursed my baby till she was about 11 months... I discovered I was pregnant again!!! Wow! I was shocked... cos I was told my next one might not be easy...etc.. fertility down by 50%...

Anyway, for this second child.. I thought since fertility down by 50% hard to get a child so me and hubby... you know... just do it anytime we wanted or felt like.. after having our first... no stress in wanting a kid..=P

Then after the second child... I breastfed him for about 8 months I think and again I was pregnant for the third time.... but this time i miscarried.. sighhh.... it was this year in Febraury... so so sad.....I guess from the stress of taking care of 2 kids and being pregnant at the same time living in a 2 storey house...

I had to be reviewed again for my miscarriage just to check if the womb was clean... so I asked him to check my ovaries to see it was ok...the gynae told me... ermmmm... I think your PCOs is a mild case.. the fact that you keep getting pregnant I think I wouldn't need to recommend any medication. He did show me the ovaries, it still had those black blobs but he diagnosed it to be mild... don't know...

So for me.. i think it's important not to feel stressed or tensed up when you discover you have PCOs... just do it with your hubby (u know la) as and when you feel like it and have fun.. think that's important. It's love making that makes a love gift (baby)

Hi everyone, can i join this forum? I'm here here.
I was diagnosed with PCO around 10yrs ago and been seeing doctor at KK who prescribe me with oral contraceptive trying to regulate the period. But i defaulted treatment.
Few months before getting married in 2010, i been seeing Dr Benjamin Tham (very gentle and nice) in TMC as i knew that its not easy for me to conceive. I was started on clomid+metformin and the dosage just keep increasing till 150mg clomig and 1500mg metformin. I had my first attempt on IUI by Dr LC Cheng couple of mths back as Dr Tham was unavailable. Subsequently, i switch gynae to Dr LC Cheng (fertility specialist - he is professional, informative and great!). Another attempt cycle of clomid 150mg+metformin 1500mg was unsuccessful as i had ovulated by the progesterone level was not high enough. Just had appt with him today and had 'upgraded to injectables' - Gonal F. Will be doing SO-IUI.
I am also seeing TCM Dr Chen Qiu Mei (last time from Tong Ji)
Anyone experiencing emotional roller coaster? Don't know if its due to all the medication but I had emotion breakdown on and off.
Is the success rate for SO-IUI high?
Fertility treatment are so exp, hope to succeed this time and save the money for grooming baby. ;)
On top of the metformin 1500mg, I'm taking other suppplements that include folic acid, multivitamin, royal jelly, omega fish oil, EPO and vitex. Is it too much?

Hii everyone ..im new here.. I haf pcos n my progesterone r very low..n my gyane advi mi to go for IUI cos he sae even after taking metformin n clomid still dun work for mi .. He sae there is not other way.. His side doing IUI cos $3k .. Any one know how can i increase my progesterone? Thks im super lost

Hi ladies, I have PCOS and somewhat managed to conceive my boy naturally with TCM and some monitoring with ovulation kits, BBT. Hope it gives you some hope. prior conceiving him, my menses can visit me once in 6 months.

Am trying for second child now and it seems so hard... No news after 9 months of trying. Have been testing with O kits for months and always negative... so I went back gynae to check. He saw my eggs didnt mature to big size.

I am taking clomid for this cycle and would like to ask if clomid affects anyone's mense cycle? Gynae said can BD starting from day 12. When did you start BD and for how long?

Thanks for the reply baby sparkles! Sadly the OPK still shows negative. Today is CD14 hence I was wondering if I dint ovulate or not yet...

Same happened with one of my friends. Because of PCOD, she couldn't have a baby for almost 3 years. Then she took homeopathic treatment for her PCOD problem treatment and got her PCOD cured within 3 months. Now she is pregnant and almost completed her 5 months the day before yesterday. She is very healthy and the doctor said she won't face any complications further. Happy for her progress. You should also try this once.

Doc puts me on ovulation pills (6 times clomid and 2 times letrozole) and monitor my ovulation every menstrual cycle. After 8 rounds of treatment, I am happy to say that effort pays off. Ppl said that letrozole works better for pcos.

Yes it's long.I went to polyclinic to take a referral letter and waited for 4-5 months for first appt. But subsequently every month's checkup is no issue . u get to meet the doc every month to monitor ur follicles etc

Doc puts me on ovulation pills (6 times clomid and 2 times letrozole) and monitor my ovulation every menstrual cycle. After 8 rounds of treatment, I am happy to say that effort pays off. Ppl said that letrozole works better for pcos.

Thats gd! At least it works for
Yes it's long.I went to polyclinic to take a referral letter and waited for 4-5 months for first appt. But subsequently every month's checkup is no issue . u get to meet the doc every month to monitor ur follicles etc
Did you go to private gynae before? Im thinking should I go private gynae which is faster or try out nuh.

Thats gd! At least it works for

Did you go to private gynae before? Im thinking should I go private gynae which is faster or try out nuh.
Yes. I did. I went private first but each time it costs $400-600 for scans and meds. It is too expensive in the long run that is why i decided to go govt. Scan at private cost $100 each time wherelese at hospital is only $30 each time..not to mention medicine. The medicine at the private gynae is so ex. If you are thinking of starting earlier, then u probably could go to private first while waiting for the appt @ hospital. After tt then switch to hospital.

I am familiar with PCOS too and would like to share with you my experience.

I was diagnose with PCOS in Aug2016 and got treated and able to get pregnant by Dec2016

All along my menses had been irregular, once only happen 2 to 9 months. Happened that I accompany my aunt to private gynae, Peter Chew @ Gleneagles. No doubt it is expensive but I can said it is still very affordable.

First consultation was $350 because blood test. Subsequent 2 visit (once a month) cost abt $200plus with medication. Third visit was about $200plus with 3 months medication supply and next appointment will be in 3 to 6 months. I had glycomet for my treatment.

Private gynae may be a little more expensive. But do not have to wait 4 to 8 months waiting time for ur appointment.

I was overjoyed by my pregnancy and thanks to Peter Chew. Without him I Guess I still won't be preggy by now.

hi, is glycomet metformin?

Went to gyna at Thomson for papsmear as well as for my pcos. Doc gave me Duphaston for the next 3 months to induce period cos I didnt have my period since last yr aug( around 6mths). Praying that I will ovulate naturally and will strike! Anyone taken Duphaston b4 can share your experience? Many thx.

Hibun,
Yes. I have taken duphaston during my IVF program and it is synthetic progesterone pill and we must have good levels of progestrone levels to support a viable pregnancy.

Hibun, Duphaston, birth control pills and NorE all can be used to trigger our period and it all depends on your gynea preference on which medication to prescribe you.

Hello all!

I've read through this whole thread but realised that there is not much info on the recommended gynae.

I've saw 2 names such as Dr Benjamin Tham and Dr Lc Cheng. Can I ask if anyone else have other recommendation? Or is there any thread which already has these info? Thanks :)

Hello all!

I've read through this whole thread but realised that there is not much info on the recommended gynae.

I've saw 2 names such as Dr Benjamin Tham and Dr Lc Cheng. Can I ask if anyone else have other recommendation? Or is there any thread which already has these info? Thanks :)

I am also a pcos patient with dr lc cheng. He is a fertility specialist and I conceived 2x under him.

All gyneas with sub-fertility speciality will be able to handle pcos patients and if needed continue fertility treatment with them.

I am also a pcos patient with dr lc cheng. He is a fertility specialist and I conceived 2x under him.

All gyneas with sub-fertility speciality will be able to handle pcos patients and if needed continue fertility treatment with them.

Thank you! How do you find him?

You managed to conceive with clomid or other treatments? It's ok if you are not comfortable in sharing that :)

Thank you! How do you find him?

You managed to conceive with clomid or other treatments? It's ok if you are not comfortable in sharing that :)

I conceived 2x via ivf under dr lc cheng. He is a patient and analytical dr who will answer to our queries and open to patient's opinions & decisions too.