PCOS patient and trying to conceive, pls share experience here.

Hi Chatz, sorry I didn't see your message. Hmm.. my gynae is quite well informed regarding PCOS but she is not a fertility specialist. Would recommend that you look for a reproductive endocrinologist instead.. that would be a more targeted choice.

Meimei, no leh, my boy still hanging on in there.. going siao from the waiting :p

keke.. catz.. u so cute :p
hang in there ok.. think comin out soon liao..

Hi! Ladies,

Just to inform you that Catz has been admitted to hospital for induction of labour this afternoon.

Lets pray hard that her delivery would be a smooth one and Timonthy a healthy and cute BB!

Catz,

Do update us when you return ya!

hi there, i am new here, stumbled on this website days ago, i have pcos too, and just got pregnant but unfortunately think i am losing the baby

I conceived naturally actually, Chatz did u conceive on clomid or metformin, or has anyone conceived so far?

Hi there ladies,

Thanks to Elle for updating the ladies. Have been MIA for rather long liao
Little Tim is 2 weeks old today. Don't think I want to scare you with my labour story though
Just know that induction from 0.5cm dilation is damn painful!!!!!

Meimei, how's everything gg?

faridah, congrats on the pregnancy! I also was afraid of miscarriage when I conceived my little miracle on first cycle of Clomid. Pls go and see your gynae ASAP. They can give you progesterone to stabilise the pregnancy.

hi catz

tks for replying super fast, but i was given those injections and taking the duphaston, intially at 7 weeks, they cld see the heartbeat, now it has disappeared, and nothing cld be seen, i have brown spotting now, i really think i am heading for a miscarriage
Catz, i need yr advise, how bad was yr pcos? are u overweight? i was not actually, now i am 65 kg!!! ahh, after 2 mths of pregnant, i have to be ideally at 53kg actually, tks for yr reply. Oh yah, i also read that u had a high hcg on yr 1st pregnancy and lost it, same with me, mine was 5,364, too high, gynae thot it was triplets!!!! How what do i do? hellppp

HI faridah, when did you last see your gynae? Best to go down and see what they can do for you. My PCOS is rather average I guess - irregular periods, bad acne and easy to put on weight. If I don't watch myself, I can really pack on the pounds easily. Before I got pregnant I was 58kg, height is 1.69m. I had an early miscarriage once (like a really heavy period) and then this successful pregnancy with high hCG. Please please go and see your doctor today if you can get appt. I know how horrible it is to try and try and not get pregnant.

hi catz, tks for thr reply, ya i am going to my gynae in Gleaneagles tomorrow at 10am, heard he specialises in PCOS. i am only 1.6m tall, and am more overweight than u sob sob.now 65kg, before pregnancy, 60 kg, I actually was with a lady gynae at gleaneagles but is very put off by her rude remarks sometimes, very long story! u said u got pregnant with metformin rite? does it work? Just got married last year in March, then conceived in mid nov 2004. very depressed. I also had the same as u, not so bad acne, but i put on weight very easily. Heard all the low carbing stuff, really wanna try gosh, i am desperate to lose weight!

faridah, good luck at your gynae appt tomorrow. It's good to have an understanding gynae who doesn't pass disparaging comments about your condition. PCOS does make you very insulin resistant so do go easy on carb but not totally carb-free yah? I try not to eat so much rice even though I loooooove carbs but then, I don't starve myself either. Take care and post back...

hi catz, i had a d&c done today, coz there was no heartbeat sob sob. Anyway, did u have a d & c done, when u miscarried? my gynae wanted to wait for a few more days, but i said no need to wait coz it is no longer alive. And i didnt want to see red blood! that would freak me out. He will start me on metformin next mth when i have recovered, after the 1st period has come, sigh... was really traumatised,after my d & c. My new gynae actually specialises in PCOS, been looking high and low for one! So he understands my problem better!

hi catz..
me started work liao so seldom drop by already
hmm.. me start ttc again next mth
forget to take clomid this mth.. keke

got any pic of little tim??

hi faridah.. take care ok.. sad to hear that u done ur D&C today.. rest well and recover well
ur BB will come back to u soon

hi mei mei, tks for yr encouragement, which gynae are u seeing now? does he/she specialises in pcos? It is impt to see one that does. How long have u been trying? Clomid didnt work for me dont know why, gosh! But good luck to u coz it does work on some people.

HI Catz

May i know when u had yr miscarriage, and how long did it take for u to conceive little tim after the miscarriage? tks just wanna know the waiting part

I went to see a gynae last week, was advise that i have bubbles in my ovaries. He advise me to check out more details about PCOS through the website.

Does it mean that PCOS is infertility???

Hi faridah, so sorry to hear about your d&c. Nope, my first failed attempt was a very early m/c (called a blighted ovum) so it was an ultra heavy period.. didn't even realise it until I was looking over my charting and realised *duh* Please take care of yourself, rest well and nourish your body. DOn't forget to take multivits and esp folic acid yah? I think it was more than a year before I actually conceived on the first cycle of Clomid. Total TTC 1.5 years.. we were gg to give up hope already and start saving for adoption!

pooh25, PCOS does not mean infertilty, just subfertility.. don't worry.

hi catz, tks for yr care, concern and advise, and sorry to hear abt the miscarriage too,gosh the gynae said i can start trying in march. Sorry to ask, but right after the miscarriage, why didnt u start on clomid, by the way, may i know yr age, sorry, just curious coz i will be 28 this year, and as the days passes by, i worry abt my biological clock

i actually dont have the stretchy thing when ovulating, do u get that?

hi faridah
i'm currently seeing Dr yvonne soong at TMC... dun think she specialise in PCOS.. but she got patients with PCOS too
me tried for 3mths only :p clomid works for me.. but didnt preggie coz i counted the wrong date to make baby.. lolz

Hi faridah, I was in the US when I had the blighted ovum and I didn't have health insurance at that time.. so I only got the Clomid when I returned to S'pore for vacation lor.. Same as you, my cervical mucus was not discernably different when I ovulated. In fact, the ovulation predictor kit reading was very iffy but we just went for it anyway.

Mei Mei.. wrong date ah? Hehe.. how come so blur?

Hi Mei mei
Tks for the reply, well, from my point of view you shld see a gynae that specialises in pcos, they will know how to handle the situation better, Did dr Yvonne check yr insulin level? This must be checked so that they can correct it by giving u metformin if it is high coz, sometimes u cant conceive if yr insulin is high. If u are interested in the gynae that specialise in it, pse inform me, so that i can give u the number to call.

Hi Catz, tks for the reply, yeah this cervical mucus thing is driving me nuts, my frds kept on gloating that her is very stretchy, shows that she is fertile! so What! My gynae said it is just one of the indicator, does not really mean that u are fertile sometimes. So not to bother abt that actually. I really hope to get preggy in march,sigh and not miscarry again, i am still reeling over the loss of my baby, when i saw the heartbeat the other time, i thought i was out of the danger zone, but not actually, well i will ask for 3 mths of no pay leave when i conceive again, coz the 1st trimester is very crucial.Think i was too stressed with work! Keep in touch catz and mei mei

Hi faridah, I know it's difficult losing a pregnancy. Don't lose hope yah? Keeping a stressfree love life, I feel is the key. Also just keep taking care of your health and getting enough folic acid. The 3 months of NPL is a good idea. I think the reason I had such a problem-free pregnancy was because I was bumming away in the US without any stress. Keep touch yah?

Hi all, me new here. I was also diagnosed w PCOS 6 years ago, now married and trying to get pregnant. i hav been taking chinese medicine to regulate my menses as i feel that it's better than e Pill or others or else my body will depend on them too much, and also I dun like the side effects.

Anyway besides e hairy part, I dun have e heavy weight problem luckily, but instead i was quite underweight, though now normal weight. Waiting for 1 year of marriage before I go see fertility doctor.

Sometimes I feel pretty sad when my menses come, and also when people ard me get pregnant so easily.

I like to ask u people here how long after seeking treatment do u get pregnant?

catz.. keke mine very hard to know when the fertile period coz missed 5 mths already mah b4 my nov AF.. then in nov AF came, dec didnt come then this jan me took med to induce lor & didnt get the OPK oso :p.. nw waitin for next mth to start all over again ;) or even i can start nw coz today CD15 liao.. lolz i will try late coz think my cycle very long leh..

hi faridah.. my case is very mild
so i think its ok lah.. metformin works for me too.. my LH is 6 and FSH is 4 so dun think will change gynae at this moment yet ;) thanks

Mei Mei, i think u shld monitor yr fertility period more closely, i am sure the gynae did tell u when to do it right? It is not hard to know, use the OPK 10 days from the start of yr menses till u see the 2 lines, will usually show up on day 14, so u can start doing it on day 10 onwards to play safe till day 20 i guess.

Hi Puik,
Yes, i think 1 year is fine to wait, but after that pse look for a gynae that specialises in pcos, i am seeing one now.

Hi Catz,
Tks for yr reply, really appreciate it, were u ever overweight before yr 1st miscarriage, i am going on to that if i dont loseeeeee weight ahhhhhh!!! my gynae told me to be at a BMI of 20, arrrhh, means i have to be 52.5kg, now 66kg after pregnancy, before was 60kg, since i lost the baby, i gotta reduce the excess baggage,i am on a low carbo, high protein diet, will inform u if i do lose 2 kg by end of this week, target to lose at least 10kg by end of feb, so that i can prove to my gynae i am SERIOUS abt losing weight!

hi faridah.. thks
me gonna get the OPK soon.. keke :p hope to get preggie till i siao liao.. :p
me gonna to start monitor my O this mth

catz
got pics of little tim onot.. i wanna see leh.. so sweet :p

Hey Faridah, I've never been overweight but I do struggle trying to be slim lah. Put it this way, I am not stick-thin! It's goot to reduce your carbs but pls do not forsake carbs completely as it will put too much strain on your liver yah?

Mei mei, still haven't gotten around to resizing Tim's pix... lazy Mummy.. haha

hello.. Catz,

Nice to see you in this thread again!

I've followed your Jan'05 MTB thread.. and nice to know that u r coping well with your little one

So envy.. u've delivered liao.. Mine is due early March.. now feel so heavy and clumsy with terrible heartburn experience..
Each time i read the birth story of wat u ladies have gone thru really make me freak out!.. But I saw pictures of all babies, i feel that all is worth worth.. Hey.. so far u havn't post your boy's picture leh.. care to share one here?

By the way u mention that Tollyjoy breast pad is no good ah.. jialat leh.. i bought 2boxes leh.. jus bcos its cheap that time.. regret liao

In fact my fren told me pigeon ones are good..which other brands have u tried so far?

Congratulation Catz!

So nice to hear that you have just given birth. I hope I can be like you one day.. will try my best.

hi catz
ya i only take carbs for breakfast, other than that lunch and dinner are mostly fruits, veg and chicken,

Hi elle
Did u conceive on clomid? or metformin and clomid, i did try clomid but never conceived on clomid,tks

Hey Elle, thanks for the well wishes
Yup yup, at the end of my third trimester, I was really swollen and grouchy and SO READY TO GIVE BIRTH! I've been using Lansinoh breastpads which I brought over from the States but running out so went out to buy. *sigh* Those darned Tollyjoy ones fill up really fast.. don't use 'em when your milk supply first comes in 'cos you're going to leak milk all over the place. I think the Pigeon ones are really good. You'll need at least 2 boxes to tide you over the first week or so.. if not, be like me lor.. drag your new born out everywhere.. hehe.
As for piccies, aiyoh, this website only accepts small piccies so I very lazy to resize.. will get around to it *one of these days* hehe

Thanks cat_tail, all the best in your TTC.. just remember to take care of your health first and foremost.. makes pregnancy a lot easier!

faridah, wah, you are really being disciplined with your diet! I find it impossible to diet in S'pore! TOo much good food around!

hi catz,

gosh, with pcos, it can be hard to lose weight, sob sob, yes, my mom is a good cook and not being able to feast on it, is the biggest loss ahhhhh!!!!! sigh when i was much younger, around 20-21 i was very slim, now i am sooo fat, tks to the good food!!!

Hi Gals

All the while okie in health, but maybe because of my mum's death and wedding and house reno, my hormones was being disturbed. Menses become very irregular and kept on vommiting for a year.GP are not any to give me much comments, chinese doc say that my stomach too cold.. tats why vomit.

Went to a gynea recently and he diagnosed me with pcos. Now on metformin. But the effect of the medicine is making me to feel like stopping to take the pills. Although I will still eat as normal, but keep on vomitting, once a day is usual, sometimes so bad like almost ten times a day and keep on having the smell of the medicine.

Can check if you gals also face the same problem with me when taking the pills? How do you all cope with it?

Hi Shirlynn,

I was diagnosed with PCOS in August last year. When I first started taking Metformin, I was very ill as well. I felt like vomitting everyday, had diahorrea and was very tired all the time. However, I read that these side effects should last for only a few weeks. So I persevered and after a few weeks I began to feel much better.

If you are taking Metformin for the first time, you should be taking 500mg twice a day. I am not sure how much you are taking but you should begin at 500mg twice a day. If you take 1000mg, 1500mg or 2000mg twice a day, the side effects get more severe.

Another thing is taking foods that have a lot of carbo and sugar seems to trigger the symptoms. If you can reduce your carbo and sugar intake, that may help to reduce the vomitting etc.

The only good side effect of taking Metformin is that you may lose some weight. I lost 8kg taking it over 4 months and 1 dress size.

But my main goal is TTC. I've got a question for all the successful ladies who managed to conceive with PCOS.

If you have PCOS and your hubby has a low sperm motility, would it be better to just go for an IVF? I've been taking Clomid for 4 mths and still no result. My gynae suggested IVF but am hoping Metformin and Clomid comibination will help but may think of just doing IVF.

Genuine

Hi Amy,

I have started with once a day for 500mg for a week, now on twice a day. By right I should be at the third stage of thrice a day. But felt so sick that dun wish to increase the dosage any further.

Will try to reduce those food but they are what I love.

Actually the doctor also told me that I will reduce weight. But it seems like I increased instead. Before vomitting, I will feel bloated, but after vommitted, I will feel like eating again.

I also TTC and hubby also not yet done the sperm count yet. Now waiting for my mense to come for this month.

Btw.. which doctor are you seeing ?? Mine is Charles from Mt E.

Hi Amy, My husband also had fertility problems - only 4% of his sperm was normal so we were given practically zero chance of conceiving. He gave up coffee for the one and a half years of TTC. We were going to try IUI first as IVF is really very painful. I think they usually ask you to try 3 rounds of IUI before proceeding to IVF.

Hi faridah,

Sorry for the late reply.. This week is my peak period for work.. so trying to rush out my report..

I conceive base on clomid+metformin. Initially i've tried many rounds of cloimid (at least 6rounds and at highest dosage).. then no response at all.. was devastated.. So switch to KKH after got referral letter from polyclinic(cheaper mah
).. so the gyne at KKH gave me metformin together with clomid.. for the first few cycles i didnt ovulate at all then until the last cycle (which is the last menses b4 i preg) i responded! I think metformin wld regulate your hormones for a few cycles b4 showing result.. On top of that i also take evening primerose tablet which i believe it does help also.

Dun give up, believe in yourself.. i'm sure all PCOS patients here wld get preg sooner or later.. !

Hi! Catz,

I just notice i got fat feets!.. so ugly that i can't get any shoes for CNY
Would it swell till birth har?.. Aiyah.. i stupid went to buy tollyjoy jus bcos its cheaper.. Luckily my fren gave me one box of pigeon breast pad to try.. but i think i'll definitely have to get a few more boxes hor.. But i'm worried wat if i no milk how?

Amy,

My hubby sperm result also bad.. only got 2%normal sperms.. the other variables is ok.. Remember you jus need one sperm to make you preg, miracle can happen!..
I always believe my case is a miracle.. so i'm sure you wld succeed soon.. Jia you okie

Hey Elle, I was actually warned by my friend not to buy shoes 'cos her feet swelled and never went back to her original size. I always wear thongs and open toed so thank God my shoes lasted me throughout my pregnancy although at the last week, they did get a little tight 'cos I was pretty swollen :p It's actually really bad just before you pop lah.. it's such a relief to have Baby out, trust me! As for TBF, don't worry, you will have enough milk. Read up on every single piece of BF literature you can get your hands on for the time being so that you can be confident and relatively stress-less. A good website is the La Leche League website. Got a lot of good links through the Moms in Mind website too. I'm saving the Tollyjoy pads for when I leak less. For now, I'm sticking with the Lansinoh and Pigeon!!! Oh, don't forget to buy at least 8 outfits for baby! I've got about 18 and still washing every two days, maybe even daily!

Hi elle & Catz,
tks for the reply

Went to see my gynae today, and got the lab study back for the D & C which i did. It said there was a foetus, placenta, all the stuff, but they state it was a missed abortion,foetus was not abnormal. I am just so sad, i waited 8 mths for a baby, took clomid for 2 rounds,(Aug & Sep) nothing happened, and then when i was abt to go for IUI, i was already pregnant in December 2004.( Got married in March 2004)Very devastated, it is so hard to conceive with pcos, and when it happened, i lost it, I am really very depressed, i just dont know how am i gonna conceive again and when and hoping that another miscarriage wld not happen. I thought it was a blighted ovum, but no, it was a real baby, i really feel the loss... miss seeing the tiny flutters which is the heartbeat on the Ultrasound screen. Yet, my hubby was not sensitive towards my feelings, he was unhappy that i did not visit his parents on hari raya haji, but how am i to? i had the D & C on wednesday and 2 days later was the hari raya. He said his mom would love the other daughter in law more, i said so be it!, i have my mom's love and it is enough, i dont need his mother's love! She didnt give birth or take care of me, so why shld i bother! Geez, like my aunt always say men are selfish, so true are her words.
My gynae told me to take a break for 1 - 2 mths and he wld see me in the 1st week of march to check for my insulin levels, if it is high, i will go on Metformin, if not, clomid, i hope i can do both.

Elle: The evening primrose oil, do u still take it after u were pregnant? How often did u take it? I took GLA and that might have helped me conceived the other time, but i read on the net saying not to take it after ovulation because it has some hormones that make yr period come, before ovulation shld take it.
But i really mourn for my dead baby. Sob sob

Hi! Catz,

In fact i bought scholl's sandal and have wear it since early pregnancy, its very comfy but i still hope to get another NEW shoe for CNY mah.. so searching around for the cheapest one.. heehee.. Even if can only wear few times i also 'kan-yuan'.. as long as is a pair of new shoes for CNY..
You shiok hor.. this year got your BB to celebrate CNY with you..
Yah.. is a relief to have BB delivered but the labour process is unbearable huh.. urgg... scared scared leh..

For BB's outfit i think i have more than enuf liao.. that time JL expo got sale i went to grab so many sets and on off when there's sale i'll buy somemore.. and who knows lately my fren's BB boy outgrown by so much till all his infants clothes cant wear liao.. and pass all to me.. Did you wash all the newly bought BB clothes b4 you let BB wear?..Can i just wash it using plain water? I've yet to wash leh.. now new yr coming.. so many house work to do..

Hi! Faridah,

Sorry to hear about your loss.. I hope that u cld get over it soon and start afresh again.. I understand the disappointment you having.. but look at the bright side at least you manage to conceive naturally.. your body is functioning well and sperm is in good condition to make you conceive b4.. I got a fren who went thru minor surgery and later spent 20k for IVF eventually no result.. U can imagine her mental and emotional stress.. Right now she has an adopted girl and life has started to brighten up for her.. but till date she never give up TTC.
Tell yourself that you shld be contented since you r able to conceived naturally without having to go thru the artificial manner..
I'm sure this loss is not a full stop to your chances of conception.. Now most important is to take good care of yourself, regain back your confidence and i'm sure very soon you wld share with us good news..Dun give up!

Some guys are insensitive.. or i wld say very MCP.. Mayb your hubby sayang his parents alot thats why disappointed if you didnt visit his parents during hari raya.. But does his family know abt your condition?.. I'm sure they wld understand it if you hubby were to explain to them.. U r right.. most impt is to have your mother's support.. but hubby's support also cldnt be missed.. I hope u'll have a nice slow chat with your hubby and things wld turn out to be fine soon..Perhaps go for a short trip during the CNY holiday for a retreat..

I dun noe whether this is the suitable time to break the news to you all. Anyway, I am 9 weeks pregnant!

Hi Faridah, I am so sorry to hear that you have been miscarriage. Do you mind to tell me how many weeks you conceive before it happen?

Gosh, I am a bit overwhelm that I am preggy but paranoid that I may lose it cos PCOS have a high chance of miscarriage. I dun noe what is the next step I should take, can somebody help me?

Congrats cat_tail!!!!!
So happy for a fellow cyst-er! Like you, I was really paranoid about miscarriage.. every visit to the toilet was filled with fear lest I find that I am bleeding. Have you seen your gynae yet? They can actually do a quantitative hCG test to see if your hCG levels are rising sufficiently.. that's what I did. They might give you progesterone jabs if you are found deficient.. other than that, take things easy and don't stress yourself out yah? Start on your folic acid and prenatal vitamins.. eat healthily (esp before any signs of morning sickness set in)

Hi Elle,

Tks for the encouragement

Hi Cat tail
well i lost it at 7 weeks plus, was going on to 8 weeks, how did u conceive? tell us yr secret!

Thanks catz,

I have just seen my gynae yesterday for my routine check up of my PCOS & I just want to tell her my irregular period come back again.. but it came out to be a baby in my tummy!

Err... what is the effect if hCG is not rising sufficiently? She did not mention any hCG test except the "Dating Nuchal Thickness" for down syndrom. However after the ultrasound scan, my foetus is only 9 weeks old so must wait until it's between 11-13 weeks that is another month longer before she can do the test again.

Catz, nowadays I dun feel like eating & there are certain food that make me want to puke... is that normal? i am taking the folic & the prescribed vitamins now, hopefully it can substitute the nutrients that I did not provide enough.

Hi faridah,

You will be surprised by my weight! I am only 42kg & I have no secret on concieving, it just come out unexpected!

I can say I am very very lucky... I stopped my pills in Sept & period come in Oct & Nov & then stopped until now. I din really take it at heart cos I always have very irregular period plus it was negative when I do my own pregnancy test in Dec. Worst of all... I only make out with my hubby once per month..so getting preg is the last thing I ever tot of.. He got a shock too when I broke the news to him & claiming all the credit goes to his strong sperm.

Anyway, I am quite scared of miscarriage too, so will be very careful in watever I am doing. By the way, I heard first trimster is the most dangerous period, is that true?

hi cat tsil, yes 1st`tri is the most risky..pls`be careful with what you eat - no raw/ unprocesssed foods for fear`of listeriosis..sorry can't type prop...holding bb la... later!

hi cat tail and catz

cat tail, so happy to hear abt yr pregnancy, but are u sure u have pcos? what is yr height?
yes 1st trimester is V critical, so take extra care ok cat tail, i didnt u see, always rushing to work coz my office is in bradell and i live in pasir ris, SPH moved to Bradell 4 years ago lah, last time it was at times house at kim seng road, sigh, and u know i have to climb 10 steps if i wanna get to my office, so just imagine i think i climb up and down 20 times each day, so i guess that cld have contributed to the miscarriage? and i had a fall too coz it was a rainy day, but that was just at 6 weeks pregnancy. so dont think that affected it coz the fall was on my butt. if it is better, try to take unpaid leave until u are abt 4 mths coz it is safer, in my next pregnancy, sigh hopefully in march or april, pray for me!!! i am gonna take 3 mths unpaid leave,dont care! so take care ya cat tail, take anmum milk also, can get it at ntuc, good for u.
u know i bought lots of maternity clothes and shoes for the pregnancy, think just gotta keep it

Haha catz,

Is your BB behave well?

Ok, I will stop my favorite sashimi for now. & be extremely careful with watever I do.... Just pondering, izzit true after the first trimester, I will be safe?

Hi Faridah,

Yup no doubt, I am a PCOS & was detected 4 yrs ago. Got multiple cysts, hormone imbalance, irregular menses & low bone density etc. Really very jia lat one.... I am 1.6m height, can consider very skinny.

Wow, your workplace same as me doesn't sound like a friendly environment for preg woman! I am working in engineering field & have to cycle everyday around my working compound. Sometimes, I need to carry heavy equipment.. Gosh, thinking back, I was doing so much of these stuff before I know I am pregnant!
I better talk to my supervisor to give me lighter work.

Dun worry, I believe you will get conceive soon. Sometimes this kind of thing better dun think too much & it will come naturally just like me. Remember try to relax yourself.