PCF Kindergarten

sahm888

HI,
can any mummies share iwth me how's PCF kindergarten? their standard, activities, etc especially at sembawang area? thanks.

I note that most mothers on this portal talk a lot about private kindergartens and hardly on PCF kindergartens. The last time I posted a similar question on this, I had only 2 comments.

Anyway, here are my views. I think they have a core curriculum which looks fairly decent on paper but as each centre functions on their own, it depends very much on the centre's principal and teachers. I believe that the key difference between PCF kindergartens and private ones is that the children who attend PCF kindergartens tends to be from middle to lower-income families. Many of the children stay with their grannies and most of them probably do not attend other enrichment classes. So the stuff taught at PCF kindergartens are fairly elementary to cater for the majority and the teaching methods are probably still quite traditional. The class size tends to be larger as well and most of the teachers are not so young. You probably won't see much fanciful stuff that you will see in the private kindergartens. I suppose to be fair, the PCF school fees is very much cheaper at about $100 per month compared to a few hundred dollars in the private ones.

My view is that if you belong to the group of parents who want your kid to do very well in primary school, you cannot simply rely on PCF kindergartens and will probably need to provide additional coaching or send him/her to other enrichment classes.

my elder girl is in PCF k1 this year. I didn't like it, will be switching her to a church kindergarten next year

agreed with JessChan. if we rely on PAP to prepare the child for P1, wow gone case man

my son oso N2 at PCF, same like hippo2002, i will be switching him to church kindergarten next yr to join her 2nd sister who is now K1 there.

in church kindergarten, my dd will hv weekly homework to bring back for eng, math and chinese. comes to jun and dec holiday, there will 3 booklets of holiday homework. on and off will hv art to do at home which end up i got to do it for her. :p every half yearly will hv parent teacher meet to talk abt the kid's progress.

for my son at pcf, hmm...so far no homework and art to bring home. no parent teacher meet oso. hv already half a year gone but i din hear him sing a song to me. not like his sister, everynite will sing at least 3 songs b4 she goes to bed. i thot he is anit-social in school. everytime ask him to sing a song or what did teacher teach today, his answer is "Dont know". haiz... will c how is his progress after joining church kindy liao.

whilst i agree that pcf is not actually a kindergarten that prepares its students (very) well for Pri 1, but their emphasis on group play/work and that the mix of kids from the middle to lower income really teaches the kids to be humble and not to take things for granted.
but if you are a SAHM, the 'no homework' policy may free up more time for you to coach your kids personally than having to rush to complete homework everyday just to submit. and also it is relatively cheaper.
JMHO.
btw, do we need to be church members to qualify for church kindergarten? and do they teach religious studies at church kindergarten?

my girl's PAP has lots of homework which I didn't like. anyway, it's very simple stuff like writing a-z, 1-10

I heard that church kindergarten do teach religious studies once a week. you need not be a church memeber to enrol, although church members will get priority

Actually, I have mixed views. Whilst I agree that we cannot rely on PCF kindergarten to prepare our kids academically for P1, I think it is easier for kids who studied in PCF to get used to primary school environment.

Many private kindergartens use very creative methods to make their lessons interesting but unfortunately, not all the primary schools are able to keep up with the creative teaching, hence the children may find primary school boring. Some may also not be able to get used to the much bigger class size and the limited attention that they can get from the primary school teachers.

1 more thing need to add...im not sure abt others pcf but my son pcf ratio is 1 teacher with 22-27 students. which i think some of the students may hv neglected.

my dd church kindergarten is 2 teachers with 23 students. 1 of them is assistant teacher.

u dun need to be church memebers to qualify for church kindergarten. for my dd kindy...think religious studies is optional and oni on every sat. but they still practice like pray b4 u eat, sing christian songs and their teachers must be a christian too.

ya. the teacher:student ratio at pcf is about there. my boy's class of 22 kids have 1 teacher. usually they will follow a timetable ie from what i understand from my ds, different group will do different stuff on a given day eg 1 group will do table toys, 1 kitchen corner, 1 computer, 1 group art & craft etc. the teacher will give instructions then and supervise. kids can ask question when the teacher go to their group to supervise. kids are encourage to work together, seek friend's help or teacher's help.

in that sense, i agree that pcf students tend to be more able to adapt to the bigger class size when they go to Pri 1.

so whether to go pcf is also depends on your kid's nature....if he is outspoken, then he can seek attention...if not, like what jas3angels pointed out, he may be neglected.

also depends on the centre and the teacher...some teacher are pretty good at controlling the class, there were a couple of times i pass the class and the kids are quietly doing their work (ie when they open their windows to ventilate the class during the HFMD breakout period).

Yep, agree with fz. I think PCF centres have their own merits and different centres operate differently and charge differently -
Some KI/K2 classes are 4 hours and some are 3 hours. Some have PE attire for games day, some don't. Some require the kids to wear white school shoes, some don't. Some centres even have interesting activity like baking or they bring the children around to learn about the neighbourhood.
I think it is very important that the parent visit the centre personally and chat with the teacher to find out how the centre is being managed. PCF centre can be a cheap platform for kids to socialise and learn basic stuff and the parents can supplement the learning via enrichment courses or home teaching.

My views on PCF + church
PCF - the best part is they sleep on platform bed that can be stacked one on top of another, no contact w in btw beds thus v safe from other kids' bed ... less contact means less lightly to get HFMD or Chicken pox etc. Most childcare centre uses mattress. After nap, just stack one on top of another NO GAP at all! Tr ratio to students in playgrp and nursery still acceptable. I ever seen one toddler: 1 tr for 1yr - mean pte care, so good!! The teaching style varies in dif cc. More Chinese nationals being employed so cc has more Chinese speaking tr then English.

Church - my neigbour's 3 kids all attend church sch even though not within walking distance - need to take sch bus. She likes the kids to rec religious studies/care since young. When my son already asked to write qimm qimm Chinese character during K1 & 2, her kids NEVER!! U may thot the kid will lost out when in P1 but she also not the relaxing SAHM. Aft 1st child couldn't handle 'taxing' P1, got to do homework till very late night while my son shaking legs (same sch/dif class), she pushed/drilled alot and now child able to even with peers.

Hi, allow me the share my view in the PCF that my boy attends. My son is in the elective program in which they offer English and Chinese speech and drama classes. My son enjoys the lesson as the teachers are good and lesson is very interactive. There are performances at the end of the each term for parents to attend. After which we can understand the progress of our child from the teachers. Note that the trained teachers are from professional speech and drama ctr, i.e. not the PCF teacher. As for creativity, I believe it boils down to the teacher, for instant I remember my son enjoyed the theme on sea creature. Beside excursion to the underwater world, the students were involved in project work and done some 3-D sea creatures such as shark using recycle papers. My son also read up a lot of books wrt sea creatures. PCF also offers other optional lessons after school hours that include art, preparation for pr 1 Chinese class, and science class, etc. Of which only the Chinese class is taught by the PCF teacher. My son can recite poems, do some science experiment and enjoys painting using water color, crayon independently. He can also create his own story book as it was also thought by the teacher too. During school holiday, there are optional classess for the students to enrol too such as baking class, art and craft class, etc. I believe sch, teacher, students and parents play a part in the education. I suggest parents to talk to the teachers and the parents before deciding which presch to enrol. cheers.

Hi Marmin,
May i know which PCF is your boy attending? yes, i personally believe parents also need to coach their kids at home, we can't rely everything on the kindergarten or schools.

Hi sahm88, my son is in Tampines West PAP. For parents who are keen for the elective program, early registration is needed to avoid disappointment. Of course the fees will be higher too. I can't recall the fee....

Like JessChan mentioned, diff PCF & diff Church have their own qualities & diff charges also, but their curriculum will be based on the MOE standard for the Kindergarten curriculum on nurturing early learners. Whether the kids will benefit from it will very much depends on the principal & teachers of the centre.

if not wrong, both PCF and church teaches the kids thru learn thru play, kids will be divided into small groups and encourage them to work as team; different groups will do different things at the same time, eg, group A doing art & crafts with teacher then grp B will be playing at the play corner, then grp C will do other activities (some ctr will have assistance teacher to help out)

Parents should visit the centre, talk to the principal & teachers before deciding which school to decide, but most importantly kids must enjoy & happy with the centre

I'm also considering to switch my son to PCF from childcare. Any mummies have kid attending Ghim Moh PCF? please feedback. Thanks

Hi Hippo2002,

It happened to me too, I quicky switch my 1st son & transfer back to church kindergarten for next term. Lucky, the previous kindergarten allow him to join back again.

At first, he was at church kindergarten since nursery. Heard from other mommy that PCF not bad, and I thought I can save $$$. Put him at PCF, in his class, there is 4 teachers changed within 2 terms.

FZ
in what way is church school better than PCF? I enrol my girls for church kindergarten next year although I have no prior experience with that church kindergarten

hello mommies

From my observation, unless you are ready to supplement with other enrichments, otherwise PCF is insufficient to prepare the kids for primary schools.

Well, I suppose most parents will still send their kids for some form of enrichment class even if they study in private preschools if they can afford the time and resources.

I think each school must be evaluated based on its own merits. Staff turnover is common phonemena in every industry when the economy is good. Sometimes it also depends on a bit of luck and the chemistry between your child and the teacher.

Hi Marmin

What's the school hours for the elective program?

I just received my son PCF registration for K1 next year. They are introducing a premium program that includes speech and drama, music, maths, etc... However, the sch hours is fr 8 am to 3 pm which I find it abit too long. What do you think? Of course, I must agree that the writeup of the program really looks good, it is something very different from the usual K1 curriculum. Btw, is it stressful in the elective program? How many students and teachers are there in a class? TIA!

Hi Red.rose,
may i know which pcf is your son attending that has the premium program ? do you know if they have it in the woodlands/sembawang area ?

Hi KTan

He is in PCF Zhenghua. Understand from the sch that the they are the 1st in S'pore introudcing it.

For Sembawang area PCF, can mummies tell me the difference between the PCF at blk 317 and 330? Blk 317 is under Chong Pang and Blk 330 is under Canberra. I want to know is there any difference in their curriculum. WHich one is better or both are the same.

Appreciate mummies for your feedback.

At lease your kids is in the PCF.

Mine need to wait for registration on 14 May 08. Which I worry is that I will not get a space in PCF that is nearest to me, due to my maid has to take care the 5mths baby and sent the 4 yrs to school. I am staying 321 and getting 312 yishun area. Many many worries and also see MP for help and approach CC and registrator counter before the registration date so as to release my worries. Now, it seems to be back to what I worry about after seeing MP. No use. Have to wait till 14 MAy. But there is another registration on the 12 May, Why can't I go on 12 may08? Helpless .....

Hi happywai, now then i got to know abt this link, both my kids are under PCF Chong Pang, at Blk 317, k1 ad K2 now. hope my advise to you is not too late...

So far as I know the lessons thought is ok, if you do not hold very high expectation. They are those kind of integrated programme type that will have themes each term. Currently my son's (K2) theme is about plants and seeds, hence they are expected to bring diff kinds of seeds to 'plant'. He also has spellings every 2 weeks or what... but do not see much on Chinese, and heard very little about my son talking about his chinese lessons. My friend's son in Marsiling PCF has chinese spellings... making me feeling that this PCF seems not emphasing in Chinese as well.

Yes it's true, as per mentioned earlier by other member in this link, that the class students to teacher ratio is like 24 or 25:1. You will definitely need to have enrichment for your kids, and not depending too much on PCF lessons. I believe other parents who send their kids to privates kindergarten also do send them for enrichment classes..

one thing I like about this PCF Chong Pang is that they do include Phonics classes in their curriculum, as early as from K1 onwards and also has story books each term. They do have school work but no homework.

You may also want to check out the PCF Chong Pang at Blk 309. This kidnergarten has a very different approach from the normal PCF or Blk 317. My son had attended when he was in N2 but I've decided to switch him to Blk 317 from K1, taking the tranditional one. Blk 309, if I'm not wrong, is the Italian style approach, something like creative learning... whereby the kids were not geared in writings, those type in the early stage... but maybe our current traditional society, I can't convinced myself that he will be able to cope if he goes to Pri 1 next time. Throughout his entire N2 there, I have not seen him being taught writings, not even A to Z.

Hi PCF mummies,

Any PCF uniform, Blue color for gal Six M to L to give away?

My gal going K1 PCF at Blk 312 Yishun next year. Any mummies same with me?

marmin & other mummies,

I just attended the 'orientation' last sat at pcf, buangkok. The centre principle gave a briefing abt the cirruculum etc on their programme. Like what marmin mentioned, their lessons are theme-based and involves projects that children can bring home to do with parents (hope I understand correctly) They will also use 'jolly phonics' to start children on spelling from nursery to K2.

not seen the nursery teacher yet as the centre principal told us she is on course to upgrade herself last sat. was thinking of 'motivating' my son if he likes the teacher. anyway, will see her on 1 Jan 09.

any mummies to share what to prepare children who are gg to start nursery?

Thinking of changing from private to PCF. Any feedback on Tampines West Blk 104 PCF? Need advice urgently...is it good. We do not believe in enrichment class but we coach and read to them every night

Wan

I thinking of changing my son to e pcf at buangkok oso but he is only 30mths old. Eligible for nursey? wat is e timing like?

adeline,

my son is gg to N2 le. timing is 9am-12pm. dun think the buangkok branch has the little steps programme. u can find out more details from http://pcf.org.sg/. If I am not wrong, the nearest branch is blk 535 hougang st 52...

Jacinta,

Are you referring to Blk 140 Tampines West PCF? My gal was there from Nursery to K2. Before that, she attended the playgroup at Blk 938. I find the teachers very loving and patient. For curriculum, I find that it is OK. But not much spelling or ting xie if you are looking for those. Only a bit in the 2nd half of K2.

Hi Jacinta,

Nt sure if u hv made yr decision. My gals are also at pre-nursery and K1 at Tampines Blk 938. I agree with MumInLove, they are also very attentive to children's needs and recognises that each child is different in their own way..which i find it good.

Hi PCF mummies,

what is your experienc in letting your child in study in PCF as compare to private childcare?

Do you find any different or slow pacing or ....need advises?

Hi my son in zhen hua pcf 528. I guess whether PCF or church school, it all depends on the teachers heart.

happyface,

my son has picked up more English than I've expected after attending 2mth of PCF N2. the teachers are also very patient when he throw tantrums every morning b4 attending class. their cirriculum goes by theme each month. last month was nursery rhythm & this month 'myself'. I think it is not very different from the private childcare.

It was so hard for a reply on this wedsite and waited quite some time. How I wish that that is online chat in the wedpages. May can put in as a suggestion.

i wish to know for nursery level, what are your kids doing in school?
so far, what are the things that they do have been brought back?
just wondering if nursery level have tracing cos that is what i see in bookstores.
or its just play and coloring and painting.

happyface,
were you the one whom stay in TWL(if you know wat i meant)? My gal now at Blk 123 PCF in CCK. You can sms me if need if you still have my number

they learn singing, colouring, writing and other crafts. my son knows all the months in a year and days in a week now. proud of him!

premium PCF centres. Any idea how to check where are these located? I'll be placing my #2 next year. curerntly #1 is in Bedok PCF. Good but not the premium one. Heard the premium ones are very very good...

any feedback on PCF Shunfu/Upper thomson? its called junior club, the one beside shunfu market..thanks!

PCF Chong Pang Blk 309 is GREAT... it is Reggio Emilia Inspired.. Teachers work closely with children to cater their needs and interests.. teacher dont just teach, they facilitate, nurture and cultivate values...

and the centre doesnt believe in drawing the curtain... parents can just pop by to see what's happening in the class.. All teachers are professionally trained and held at least a Diploma In Early Childhood Education...

Children there are constantly being encouraged and have high self-esteem.. Children are not afraid of making mistakes, they can make a mess coz that's how children learn.. Even we as adult tend to make a mess at times.. =p

and if natellehcim said that her child couldnt even write when he was there, then what makes transfering to 317 better since she also had to send the child for enrichment class?

the point is, parents should view kindergarten as a place for children to develop his/her personality, confidence, social skills, building their motor skills and literally have fun during their early childhood days... Coz just when else can children have fun once they hit P1? If they're already being stress out in kindy, what make them happy in primary??

Play is very important..

A lot of life meaningful lessons are learnt through play... A child can just play the "water play" area, we should see the process that goes along with it, during that play, the child pick up maths, science concept such as measuring the water level, sink and float, heavy and light and etc..

And also if a child can spell Hippopotamus today, how can we be sure that the child can spell it again the following week..?

think about it... just a thought to share... =)

Hi princessmomma, I like Blk 309 way of teaching, the teachers are very nice and loving. My son is in P1 now, and up till today he still go to that center to say hi to the teachers who had taught him in Blk 309.

Why I make a switch is due to I myself didn't really play a part in teaching my son how to write and spell.. (shame on me
). I can choose not to add any enrichment classes for my child because the traditional way will prepare him enough for his academic when going to pri sch. But being one of the kiasu parents, I've done so.

Also what makes the final decision for me to switch is one day at home, my husband was teaching him to do something, do halfway, he run to play or do something else (can't remember)...my husband told him, you should finish this before doing that, his reply was I also like that in school. meaning he can just do and stop whenever he feels like it. Thats make me wonder is this approach applicable to him?

I agree that learn thru play is indeed more meaningful for a child's development. But does our Singapore education today allows us to do so? When a child started primary school life, you will then feel the tension.

Hi Natellehcim...

Singapore Education today has already adapted to the Reggio Emilia's approach.. One of them being North Vista Primary School at Compassvale... check it outzzzzz! =)

The school follows closely on Reggio Emilia's principles and philosophy which allow children to act as a Protagonist..

Hence it is time for parents to change their mindset and treat children as an Individual not as what we want them to be... =)

hmm... sounds interesting. At least there is school having such approach. When i intend to enrol my son for nursery in 2005, the PCF (Blk 309) told me that MOE is going towards such approach. I find it interesting and more meaning for the kids to learn in such approach and thought that by then my son in P1 such approach is being implemented. Hence enrolled him in, but till now did not see any of the neighourhood school around my area is going towards such.

Frankly with enrichment classes do help the kids. depending on the preschool ciriculum in PCF is not enough. My son in P1, first spelling already comes with sentences. For their stellar programme for english now, does not comes with anymore textbooks. Instead they use story books for teaching, and their worksheets comprises of cloze passages... so now you understand how I have no choice but to be KIASU. :p