IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Ladies- Do you gers still do BT to measure HCG and Progest Level after detecting the sac? My KS hubby ask for BT as he is worry since we have yet to hear the heartbeat.

BB rabbit..i did the BT whole of first trimester.....only stopped at 13 weeks... this is the standard practice at CARE....

BB Rabit: Like Panda, I do BT wx a week...coz im also from CARE

Rose: I like watering my plants... i have 6 pots altogether...i enjoy the process...esp when tiny leaves grow...heee...

Bing,

u just need small bottle at the beginning. U can change to bigger bottle later.

I give alternate bottle and my tit. They are ok.

do u think a high chair is necessary? If yes, which brand is good? Just started my gal on cereal n I find it quite a hassle that someone has to carry her while I feed her so thinking whether a high chair is useful.

Pink,

so u like gardening too. i wanted to go this garden festival at suntec, but with my current condition, i have to give it a miss.

Often, i will imagine that my baby is a seedling and the long pregnancy journey as planting process...since both need patience and love. Gosh, I just wish that the day that I can hold my baby in my arms will come soon.

Bing, I'm using avent only. My gal is ok with it. No confusion too between bottle n latching.
When I got Nuk ortodonthis pacifier to standby, my friend told me some baby doesn't like the teats of that pacifier. My friend gal refuse that pacifier but my gal ok. She only doesn't like that pacifier because suckle suckle no milk come out ha ha.. Should see her frown face.. So funny

ladies, I'm one who did painting, simple Reno, shifting furniture during pregnancy when I passed 6 months. So each to their own. Don't scare each other ok ;)

Rose: yesyes flowers and plants make me happy!!
I guess better dun go...i thot of gg too but im sure the queue will be long.

Very true. So we will nourish this little darling life and it will blossom!

Grumpus- I was always dng BT a few times last 2 wk, until he see a sac on Mon. He said dun need to do. But hubby wann do for a piece of his mind.

Eskimobaby,

how r u?!

Highchair is a good trainning. Make them sit during meals. U won't wanna run after them during meals.

I used Ikea highchair but u must watch them coz not that stable if bb is big and wanna climb out.

I hv the traditional stable rattan chair at home. Not high at all n wun topple even if bb gets heavier next time. But hard to find these days I think. Maybe the older shops tt sell rattan still has

Singapoh,
been bz with work n bb so hardly had time to login. Thot of getting the ikea one too but dunno my bb can sit yet or not. Now she can sit but not so stable yet...

Hazel,
I know wat u r talking abt... Can use it as stool too but I was thinking of highchair so that she can join us at the fining table next time

eskimobaby,
i use the ikea high chair for my daughter too. cheap cheap good good. when she was smaller and not so stable yet, i just stuff a pillow or a bolster in front to prop her up.
the other way i fed her was using her infant car seat which is slightly inclined so good for when she was not so stable.

Vi4n,
Your girl must be thinking that you are feeding her milk when you give her the pacifier..i can imagine her frowning face..haha..it's funny..

I like Avent bottles but I think they are all wide-neck and not compatible with my medela pump, that's why I don't plan to get any. If you use all Avent bottles, that means you have to pump your BM into medela bottles and transfer over to Avent bottles for feeding/ storage? Will there be any contamination when you transfer the EBM around?

Eskimo, that's a gd idea. But hor.. Pls dun leave her unattended in the high chair hor... The chair can topple easily if she rocks in it...

Bing, I def need to use other bottle to store the milk. My 7 bottle of avent plus 4 bottles of medela where got enough to store
now I have 3 days supply already le.
And surely will need to transfer ebm even if u use compatible bottle because u have to prepare different ml measurement for each feed n you may not pump that much or that little each pump session mah. If u get what I mean.

Tom n Stephanie sell this head conversion that can make avent bottle to fit to standard pump size which including of medela pump. That head conversion not expensive. But I forgot how much but less than $10.

Yes lo, she thought is her milk, so suckle nothing she frown then suckle still nothing frown again then push the pacifier out then cry. Very cute ha ha.. I like to disturb her ha ha..

Des, let's see when.

Tomorrow or should I say today will be her 1st month celebration. I have been very busy these days. My body take the toll. Very tired. I have a full house of people staying in our also now. My pil plus my mama, auntie n cousin..

Vi haha my bbs also like that especially big one.. She will even mk sound b Kick hetmr leg n frown then push the paci out haha

Vi, oxidized, so cute.
Congrats to you dear vi, for having done so well this past 1 mth.

Your hse sure crowded.

Oxidized, I dun think I have u on FB, how are your twins AND you doing?

Oxidised, but your twin like the paci right? My gal refuse it. Good also la. I don't need to headache on how to wean it off.

Des, I'm happy today finally come to an end.. Very tired.. My last batch of guests are still at my house now.

esk,
i use mama love high chair frm sil at hm, ikea high chair at my mum's. train jodie to sit at dining table whn we eat. so far so gd. ikea high chair is good cos legs r wider, but adults may trip on the legs easily if not careful.

vi,
i also bought the converter whn i used wide-neck btls. now dun nid le cos jodie is drinking lesser. dun nid to use the bigger wide-neck btls

Vi4n,
Congrats on the first month celebration ;) u are doing a gd job and milk supply Is also increasing!

I know what u mean by transferring the ebm, but I can only experience it myself when it comes to my turn..thanks for telling me about the head conversion at Tom n Stephanie. I'll go and get it one of these days as I have a few wide-neck bottles which comes with the pigeon buundle and they can't fit the medela PIS.

Take a pict of your girl's frowning look for us to see leh..it must be very cute

Any recommendation for maid agency? Do u mind sharing the contact here?
I've been contacting a few maid agencies in the past few weeks but they have yet to find a suitable one for me. I shortlisted a Filipino lady but she failed her health checkup in Philippine. Also shortlisted a few Indonesians but the agency hasn't managed to contact them as they stay in remote places.

Bing,
I got my Filipino maid from Besthelper which was recommended by my friend. She's 36yrs old and been with us for almost a month. Prior to these, we also had phone interview with several Filipinos whom we shortlisted. Like what you said, some couldn't reach at all due to their poor network system. Eventually we chose this because she have a 13yrs old son, had babysit experience back in Philipines and she's "mature & patience" enough to take care of new born babies. So far, we find her ok just that she tend to be forgetful at times.

hi i am expecting a baby girl. =) everything is fine with my daughter except there is a soft marker for ds. Her nasal bone is short for her head size so the ratio exceed the passing ratio. Actually not sure how accurate is the measurement of nasal bone as there r 3 taken and the values vary quite alot. I didn't know short nasal bone is a marker for ds, all the while tot only whether there is nasal bone is a marker. Got alittle worried after seeing prof at camden, he is against amino and mention wait for the 21 weeks scan to see. The risk of having ds is 0.36%.
Anyway will not think so much now. Will be seeing dr loh next wed and see what he says.

Gan, congrats!
now u can start buying pretty clothes for her. so nice!

hmm.. during my oscar, doc only check the nasal bone..i din see measurement..... only the NT and bb height measurements were taken....

Panda, prof at Camden is not really just doing oscars strictly. He scans bb's organs for markers of abdnormalities such as DS. Thus, he is precise when it comes to measurements.

Oscars tests r blood test and a NT scan to check mainly on neck thickness. But prof a specialist in anenatal feels tt these are not sufficient to conclude the risk of adnormalities. Coz there r more markers to assess the risk more accurately

Bing, I jus checked kiddy palace also has the conversion.

Did u try the maid agency that I used? Sun employment?
Pm me if u want the contact

Gan,

Congrats on having a bb girl.

Don think so much on the Oscar result. I failed
Mine too when my Oscar test show high risk. I guess dr loh will advise u to go for amino if u ask his opinion.

Gan, fashion is correct. Dr loh has a different sch of thoughts as prof. So, if u ask him he will ask u to do amnio. I ever commented that no need amnio n that he cld tell if there are any abnormalities at full scan - 19+ at KKH. He asked me if I want to wait to so late to know n do something drastic at late stage if I need to? Well, I skipped the amnio coz hubby told me no matter she ia still our daughter.

That said, Oscars test at KKH are just tests. Nothing is more accurate than the full scan at 19+ wks at KKH or amnio test. I know of 2 close friends who did super well for oscars but full scan at 19+ wks revealed serious abnormalities. So, if u dun wan to do amnio then dun think too much of the oscars tests. Just relax n enjoy the pregnancy.

thanks all, a daughter is always what i have been hoping for so i am very happy. =)

fashion spree, thanks. I actually pass the oscar but it's the scan at camden that shows the short nasal bone. Hope bb's nasal bone will grow quickly. I guess she is like me. I have a short nose. =) i am not sure abt amino. But must admit was really worried after the scan result yesterday.

btw anyone didn't do the 20 weeks scan at kkh but goes to camden? Not sure if i shld do it at kkh or camden

hazel, i got the cd of photos but can't figure out alot of scans coz mostly showing the organs measurement.

Hazel,

I agreed with you. Gan just follow your heart. I choose to do amino cos my hubby agreed to it too. and more over 2 doc advise me to do amino at that time.

grumpus ha ha i was telling my hubby, dun think i will save on the shopping. Gf also giving me alot of clothings for baby so my daughter is going to have lotsa clothes!

Prof was asking me am i sure i want a daughter coz my hubby will love her more than me. =p

Gan,
hahaha.....yes it's hard to resist all the cute clothes. i used to hv to constantly remind myself that she will outgrow them very fast so dun buy too much.
although ppl always say daddy's little girl i dun think so leh. my girl is definitely more sticky to me, maybe cos i face her 24/7.

gan
Congrats on having a princess!! So happy for u!!
Now u should be gng into 15 weeks right?
My next appt is abt 2 wks later.. Means i will get to know my bbs gender! So excited... Then i can start to buy bb clothes...

Panda
Btw i decide to get a twin stroller.. Cos i saw someone pushing a very nice twins stroller.. Aldy chked where they get it from..

I also went to baby kingdom & hypermark.. Not much tins there.. But quite alot of car seats model.. I saw maxi ones not bad..