Hi Just Faith,
Can I enquiry from u, for medicated FET do we need to take hcg jab bef transfer?
Cos I was wondering no ovulation then hw to transfer?
Do we have to insert at the same time everyday? How to go about doing it huh cos we are not suppose to squat aft transfer rite?
Btw, wat is the optimum thickness for lining? Do u happen to kn. I'm doing my transfer next week, very nervous.
I'm thinking easy but is still hard to do so. Will jus have to keep praying
n have faith!
Pls advise.
Thxs!

Hi Ron,
No more embeddies left from this fresh cycle. We are puzzled tat the quality this round under menopur din turn out better than I used gonal f ..
We are vy puzzled, meeting angela in awhile at care.
My water discharge has stop n I aso stop all medication. Wonder will my af coming ??

I was wondering shd I change gynae? My gfs suggest I change bt my dh said current gynae dr Eunice Chua has been with me since last oct, my fibroid removal n 3 ivf cycles, she knows my details best now, if change gona try diff things all over again, no point he says ..

Justfaith, Is Pessory the same as Progestoron insert? How come can insert into rectum? If want to make "big business" in the toilet, then all the gel will come out also right?

If insert into rectum, how does the Pessory or Progestron medicine get into the womb?? I am really puzzled....

Dollygal, I thought most of the sista from CARE see Dr Paul. Maybe you want to consider Dr Paul? Maybe perhaps it got to do with your diet? Did you rest for 3 months before embarking the new fresh cycle?

FaithBB

You will be prescribed prognova all the way till BT. This will help our lining. Medicated FET = no jab. Besides prognova, I am also on aspirin. Minimum lining required is 8mm. On my first scan, my lining was 9mm. So arrange for ET abt 4days later. So far, my inserts timing are irregular as I need to handle my #1 first. Only when I put her to sleep then I will shower and insert. Why cannot squat? I squat all the time leh.

Sophia, saw yr PM. My bt on 8/9. If AF report, I will not go le. Yes. I am with KKH. Think I will use HPT on DPT 14 onwards. No courage to test now. Hahaha

Dolly gal, sorry to say Dr Eunice Chua is not a IVF specialist. She was my gynae las time. Did 2 IUI under her. All she care was ask me to do ovarian drilling which costs abt 3k. In general, she was more interested to see pregnant ladies. If u notice, most of her patients are pregnant ladies whom I believe TTC naturally. Dr Paul was my hubby doc. He was able to identify my hubby's problem immediately. Initially I wanted a female gynae, thts why I did not consider him. I moved on to KKH. Supposedly to see Dr Sadhana. Waiting time was very long. She went for deliveries. I saw Dr Loh has alot of patients. So I did not turn up for my appt with Dr Sadhana and see made appt to see Dr Lo instead. I spoke to him abt Dr Eunice Chua and ovarian drilling. He stopped from ovarian drilling. He said if ovarian drilling are not done properly, I may lose my ovaries as a result. He said he can help me through SOIUI. Btw, Dr Eunice Chua does not do SOIUI.
Only IUI. I striked under Dr Loh.

I know of a sista during my cycle last yr, striked triplets under Dr Paul. Dr Paul is a very nice and patient doctor. You will be under good hands, I can assure u. Dun waste yr time on Dr Eunice Chua.

sunstillshines, yes it is cyclogest progesterone pressary. I tried to insert via vagina last yr, but it was really messy n stain my panty liners. It is easier to insert into rectum. I usually clear my bowels in the morning. Then shower. Then insert pressary. In other words, I hv no bowels movement for the rest of the day.

I also hv same worries as u las time. Hahaha. But I didn't think so much anymore. Haha

Dollygal - sometimes seeing another doctor can help give a fresh eye to the problem, or at least get 2nd or 3rd opinion before Starting next fresh, esp if you have had 2 fresh cycles & only so-so results. Even if u stick to dr. Eunice chua for next cycle, at least you have confidence the other experts concur with her recommendations. Like sunstillshines, I also initially tot your doctor was Paul tseng.

How many did you eggs retrieved in fresh#1? 12 to 7 to 3 is not too low, you have male/female factor? Did you get to learn about the egg quality for this round yet? Or Just the cell numbers...

Faithbb, sorry I was reading the recent posts first and older posts. Ya, Sophia is right. Actually pressary is best absorbed at rectum. I also worry about infections at vagina. Maybe this is also why KKH prescribes antibiotics after ET. When I did IVF last yr, no antibiotics leh.

Justfaith, thanks. I didn't know that Progesterone can be inserted into rectum... hahaha... My clinic has advisted to insert into Vaginal. From my last FET, I have inserted in vaginal. Only one time some "cheesy" thing came out... maybe because I inserted quite deep..

You have bfp already?

Thxs Just Faith for answering my queries. Cos for fresh we need to hv hcg to evoke ovulation to transfer. Natural FET they hv to test for ovulation but for medicated no mention of ovulation so kind of feel strange. Cos our body need to ovulate then the body will produce the necessary hormone to support the development of the embryos rite so quite puzzled with it.
I read that preferably no squatting
so as nt to strain the womb muscle n for the embryos to implant. Anyway take it with a pinch of salt ba cos I hv read ppl traveling aft transfer, doing all sorts of stuff but still bfp.
Guess is God's timing.

I will insert throu rectum then, dun kn whether it hurts or nt. Ouch...

justfaith, wish both of us luck! will also try to test on dpt14, which is only 2 days later.. not sure if i got the courage then or not..

ER done! Not so scary afterall. Knock out really quick. Retrieved 16 eggs. After wiping, reallt got blood stains.Cramp feels like tummy ache that kind. And I'm not guevn press dies or doxycycline. Just that Azy antibiotic to take once tonight.

hi faithbb, the pharmacist said that if you think it's too dry, can wet the pessary with a bit of water before insertion.. for me, it's alright as i find the pessary a bit oily already.. i normally wear those surgical gloves when inserting the tablet

Chrisl, are you in town? I'll be doing it this month but I guess by then my menses come and lining is really, it will be either end Sep or early Oct. Not sure if my menses will delay.

Tanny, yah... I don't like the feel at the waiting area for my turn because it was also my first time in the operating room. Worse still when the lady beside told me she was nervous and I calmed her. Weird was don't know why both of us was kept waiting while the other two who came in later did their ER before us. Maybe their DR came before ours. Yeh... you've done your ER and gotten 16 eggs. Yes, me too a bit of blood stains after wiped. Likely different patient is given suitable medicine to eat. Rest well.

dollygal, if you intend to change DR, do get a copy of some of the reports from your current DR. Discuss with your DR again and do at both of your comfort level.

JoynFaith : Dunno why I got no pressaries. Maybe Doc thinks I dont need it.

I was first one so no need to wait.. straightaway wheeled into the room.

FaithBB : Optimal lining according to my TCM is 11-13mm. Follicle size optimal at 17mm - 20mm

Hi fatefully,

That is good news. Do take some time to relax this weekend.

I finally told my boss today that I may disappear for a week but my op date is not confirmed - he was very understanding and din ask for any more details. A load off my chest!

Hi Tanny,

you sound so relaxed for someone fresh from ER! I feel more encouraged. You have a good rest!

Blessings: Oh actually ER not scary. Maybe I was lucky cos no need to wait. I was awake at 9am. Think my op starts at 815am. The lights were quite bright in the resting area after the op - they din dim it and I covered my head with the blanket! Then I rested closing my eyes and suddenly the blanket got pulled off and I opened my eyes stared at the Dr (not Dr Loh) who asked if I'm ok. Heee; Yeah ok. He came to check a few times and once he caught me examining the plug. I was looking at it cos its my first time got plugged mah. I hope my eggs grow swee swee and all gets fertilized. My hb told me his sample is very small quantity today ( cos he cleared stocks earlier) Aiyo!!

My left hand now bruised from the plug. How to minimize the bruise? Put cold or hot pack?

Tanny, u sounded chripy n energetic aft ER. For me the last time round, I was still so sleepy n drowsy. Once hm I immediate fell asleep again. Feel crampy around womb area but miraculously it was ok the next day.
Anyway rest well.

Both dr Eunice n Paul are from same clinic. If I switch to dr Paul, a bit paiseh Leh.. Dun knw wat to do now too
Angela says rest for 2 mths first.

FaithBB/sunstillshines - no problem. Will try my best to answer.

Someone asked me if BFP, err.... Dunno the details. No courage to test. Think today 12 only. No news is good news.

Yes, Sophia. Really looking forward. I hv booked RWS on 9/9 to celebrate whatever the outcome is.

Just Faith, do u feel any symptoms this time round?
I actually remember ur bfp the last time round n so fast u hv given birth n on ur FET cycle.
Im still at ground level but endless I will continue to strive for my desire n God will bring it all to pass.

dollygal - no need to be paiseh to switch dr, I also switch from eunice to paul. Dr Paul is a man of few words, but if u have questions he'll answer them promptly. I went to another gynae in tmc for 2nd opinion cos eunice consultation is always very short & she's like cannot wait for me to get out from her room!

Dolly gal, I had the same experience as just faith with dr Eunice chua.

Did 3 times iui with her and not successful. Had the same feeling. She is too busy with expecting patients and her strength is as a gynae and not a fertility specialist. The only thing she prescribed freely is clomid, which I later found out from my current one that clomid not advisable for 2 many times as it has side effects. Waiting time is super long and I am usually out of her room in less than 5 min.

FaithBB : I reach home and ate lunch and watching TV as I read/ reply office emails from home. No sleepy feeling leh. Still crampy..

Dollygal : I think its good to switch. I used to see Dr Fong Yang (his cinic is known as Fertility Clinic) but I see any pregnant ladies at his clinic when I see him, so I feel that he is only more keen to see pregnant women/ handles delivery rather than fertility treatments. He also didn't send us to any tests and just prescribd clomid. Anyway I'm glad I made the decision to come to KKH under DR SF Loh. Din want to waste any more time as I'm getting older. Just now at operating room the outside resting area, I saw a lot of patients files with the NRIC no stated outside. Wow.. many young patients such as birth year 80, 84 somemore. I feel so old already.

Actually what is the procedure for ER? Means poke holes in our ovary to suck the eggs right? So more eggs such as 60, means must poke 60 holes? Then these holes will bleed so causes our blood stains is it? And when inserting the whatever in, also scrap the walls of our inside making it bleed? (Sorry if this sounds gross - Im trying to think what happens inside there)

Hopeful78! Tot it was for us ladies ..read wrongly haha

Joy&Faith im not in town leh..seems like i might be doing around the same time as you too..but still must wait for my in-charge doc for the precise date..he'll be back next week. (called earlier and nurse said to call back) But im not sure if i should insist for a break of 1 mth for my body to rest..and the many bruises i have on my tummy to go away

you're lucky Ladies to have total sedation during ER(so probably don't feel pain during the procedure), for me i was SEMI Sedated as they don't allow the former..thus i can see and feel the whole actual procedure thru a monitor screen they placed for me

Chris : semi sedated? Oh gosh.. so the screen sees what the doctor does? yes I think I will also faint from fear.

kkh wont call us on the eggs status right? can i call kkh tomorrow to ask? or they dont entertain us? must wait until monday on ET day then will know?

ChrisL - suggest to try to wait for at least 1 month if you can. At minimum it allows ovaries to return to normal size before Stimming again, also to get menstrual cycle back to normal. Medically, we can try the next immediate cycle but not a bad idea to at least give body a short well deserved vacation

tanny,

do you know why you are put on short protocol while many of us with kkh are on long protocol?
ET is usually 2 or 3 days from ER for those with kkh?

Tanny, the embryologist will inform you how many eggs collected, fertilized and survived thawing. Dun worry abt the number of eggs. You need one gd embie to stick to you.

Btw, u r very imaginative. I only imagine insert a sucker (like vacuum cleaner) to retrieve the eggs. So only poke 1 time lah... Not 60 times like u said. Wahaha

vyvy : cos im PCOS with v v high AMH = high risk of OHSS; thats why short protocol for me. if long protocol, im at even greater risk of OHSS.

i heard kkj is 2 days ET. mine 3 days cos happen to be day 2 is on a sunday, so they do it on monday.

yes, i rem i saw the nurse preparing the needle today with my short sighted eyes (they took away my specs already) its v v v long, longer than a 30cm ruler, maybe twice of it.

Tanny, you can put cold pack first and once it's 24 hrs, you can switch to hot pack. You seems very relax after ER, do rest. The embryologist will inform you after you've done your ET.

Chrisl, you can rest a month first for recovery and do FET when you are ready later. Can't imagine myself in semi-sediated. Initally, I thought I will be put in that stage cos' the nurse told me I will feel giddy during the ER duration. To my surprise, I knock off after seeing the medication injected in. I think I will feel scare in your situation. You are a brave gal.

I spoke to Eunice this afternoon . She is ok w the switch whether to dr Paul or kkh. She can write referral letter for me once i decide. Bt I need to discuss w my dh first .
To b fair dr Chua is a good gynae but I dun feel she is as bad as wat u gals say tat she only wants offer short session . So far she always call me after my failed cycle.
If I decide to change it's bcos I want to try diff protocol n opinion from another doc.

Btw I always schedule the earliest appt in the morning or last one before lunch time so usually I dun hve to wait tat long for dr Chua. Tats wat the clinic nurse teach me, mayb they knw I busy w work , hates to wait too long. I even fell asleep at the couch sometimes

Not all follicles contain eggs, not all eggs retrieved are matured upon retrieval, not all matured eggs will succesfully fertilize to become embryos, not all fertilized Embryos will cleave (divide) overnight. Not a silly question at all.

Btw I keep farting now and it is cramp each time I fart. Anyone encounter this? Is it normal to fart so much after ER? Sorry for this like of gross conversation.

Dollygal, I dun mean Dr Eunice Chua is a bad gynae. As I said, she's not an IVF specialist. My gf did 4 IUI and 2 IVF under her. All failed. Only tell my gf's hubby low sperm count blah-blah aft she failed IUI. But do IVF also failed. My gf gave up on Dr Eunice Chua. I also told her to switch to Dr Paul since she prefer TMC. She striked under 1st IVF under Dr Paul. She's delivering in Oct 11. She was with Dr Chua since 2008.

If u see Dr Chua as a normal patient, can say she's good. She has 4 children.... But she's not a infertility specialist, sad to say.

Just Faith, read ur post and decided to pop in!

Dollygal, it makes sense for u to just switch from Dr Chua to Dr Paul since all ur records can be easily transferred. Dr Paul is a very good doctor. I strike triplets via IVF under his magic hands, and he delivered my 3 cuties too.. He is always very assuring and will not cause unnecessary stress to patients. This is particularly impt i feel for us going thru ivf and those with multiple pregnancies.

Opps.. i sound like i m advertising for him.. :p

Anyway my Hsb say we rest first then tik abt the switch.. He is half hearted now.. We try ttc natural for the time being bah..

Tanny, during my fresh cycle, my gynae had retreived 61 folicles during my ER. I didn't have a single drop of blood stain.

Don't worry! Be happy!

Dollygal, I am with Thomson Fertility Centre at 5 floor. Paul Tseng and Eunice chua are on the 3rd floor right?