IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Just remembered sth... Jeannie, Pixie... How long after the trigger/HCG shot was the IUI done? My last one was 36 hrs... Just wanted to know if other timings may b better
2 days beforehand, cant remember the exact hours
the nurse will tell me the date and time to inject, i just follow

I'm pregnant on my first SO-IUI but the doctor cannot see a baby in two times ultrasound of 6 weeks and almost 7 weeks. I'm too worried and doctor accidentally spoke it can be miscarriage. But other than that, he didn't explain me anything though I asked many. He asked me to wait another two weeks and come back for another US.

Can you recommend any female gynae who is kind and a bit talkative? My current gynae is male, he is good, skillful and very kind, but he didn't talk much. Sometimes I dunno what to ask because I dunno what is happening to me.

Any of you encounter such problem?
you can try Dr Selina Chua @ Mount E. she is very informative and will always tell you in advance what to expect.

I'm sad to share the doctor confirmed my case as miscarriage after Saturday ultrasound. :( He asked me if I could want to take pill to induce it or wait for natural. I opt for natural but now I'm so scared thinking of how it will be going to happen.
Can anyone share me the experience/ knowledge of miscarriage? How does it happen?
doc got say what happen? why he didnt explain to you?

Sorry misspeace, maybe it had come to return you the joy you once gave it, in previous time. My side we are getting ready for another round of disappointment really feeling damm super duper dejected....

I'm sad to share the doctor confirmed my case as miscarriage after Saturday ultrasound. :( He asked me if I could want to take pill to induce it or wait for natural. I opt for natural but now I'm so scared thinking of how it will be going to happen.
Can anyone share me the experience/ knowledge of miscarriage? How does it happen?

My condolence to you. *hugs* Though this is just a virtual hug, I feel your pain. Hope God will give you the strength to go thru this.

Getting pregnant with ART, is hard. Not 100% successful. But after being able to conceive and then losing it ,....its even tougher. Don't know why, but I tear as I typed this.

Be strong. *hugs*

Sorry misspeace, maybe it had come to return you the joy you once gave it, in previous time. My side we are getting ready for another round of disappointment really feeling damm super duper dejected....

Did not even manage to do an IUI this time round. My follicles didnt even grow, just freeze at its previous size on Wednesday.

Although I am a bit sian lah, but I try to be optimistic. Try again on my next cycle. Next, time with injection.

Hi, Skinnykoco. Congratulations! I am also a silent reader here but i'm new here as well. Glad that I found this forum. I hv same problem with yours too. It's only tht I'm not yet lucky to successfully conceive yet. Unexplained fertility, I don't know what is wrong. I have a small fibroid but doctor said its ok. Failed my 1st fresh cycle of IVF last week @ KKIVF. Sad & don't know what to do. I was thinking should I change doctor? I'm lost..

Hi, VenusHopes3,

I'm so sorry to reply late. Pls do not give up, very soon all of the ladies here will graduate and move on to next stage be a mother.

I would said is no harm to seek second opinion. There are a lot of fertility experts in town.

AnnBby, did the doctor tell u why did your eggs stop growing? Also another qn for those w BFPs from IUI, how did u keep hubby's specimen warm for IUI? I just held it in my hand... But I saw tt someone stuck in her bra?

mine is done at the clinic i doing IUI.. so no need to keep warm as no travelling. once they finish processing the sperm, they will ask me to go into theatre to do IUI straight away.

Oh mine is done at mt e... Then i collect and go to paragon where my clinic is... My clinic didn't tell me i was doing it wrong but mayb i shld stick it in my bra instead...

Forumbb... Did u do iui during hari raya wk?? Ur tww shld b almost over?? So exciting

Hi @Wei1984 ,
My doctor did not give me a definite reason. When the lower dose did not work on me, the possibility could be my weight so dr ask me if I could reduce weight as I am on the plus size. After I did reduce weight, it worked for awhile. I did not manage to lose more weight after my initial weight loss. So now, it seems it did not work again although the dose increase.

There are so many outlying reason. Maybe my body just adapt to the medication as I have been taking it for some time now or stress could also be one of the factor. The dr did say, mine is not the only case.

Kind of lost....as I do not know what to do at my end. Been eating egg whites and all the other recommended practices...but to no avail. Sad lah.....but I cannot give up.

Hugs dearie... Be strong and be positive. We are here with you!

is there a requirement to warm the specimen for IUI? Will it affect? I am not aware of that :(
oh no, im not aware of this.. i just left the bottle inside the bag..didnt keep warm.. also after the IUI procedure didnt bd..so might be lower chances le... :(

hopefully miracles happen..

Oh mine is done at mt e... Then i collect and go to paragon where my clinic is... My clinic didn't tell me i was doing it wrong but mayb i shld stick it in my bra instead...

Forumbb... Did u do iui during hari raya wk?? Ur tww shld b almost over?? So exciting

yap did it during hari raya week, and next week go for blood test. I too hope have good news..the waiting is terrible. My friend told me something abt Lupus with the hormones injection, i wished can minimize it so if strike 1st time thats good ^_^

I know the tww is horrible... At least the first part u r doing sth rather than helplessly waiting and hoping for the best... The lab at mt e told me to keep it upright and warm so i just held it very tight lor...gd luck forumbb

Thanks Wei1984, cant wait for the blood test.. are u waiting for yr results too? btw, what does tww stands for?

Good luck AnnBy... Jia you... Fingers crossed you will respond much better to injections...

Thanks. I hope I do....if not, I don't think there are any other possible way for me to get pregnant. If that happen, I just have to take it as God's will.

still have la...
IUI cannot, still got IVF ma...

大S try 3 yrs. Christine Fan try for 4 yrs. eventually they also succeed

Forumbb, tww means two week wait i am on day 8 today... Just went for scanning... Going to c doc again on thurs... May do iui on Sat or Mon...

AnnBby, dun give up... Like Pixie said, IVF is still an option... Are you gg for TCM as well? Mayb can try? Definitely seems to hv worked for Cantabile

still have la...
IUI cannot, still got IVF ma...

大S try 3 yrs. Christine Fan try for 4 yrs. eventually they also succeed
Forumbb, tww means two week wait i am on day 8 today... Just went for scanning... Going to c doc again on thurs... May do iui on Sat or Mon...

AnnBby, dun give up... Like Pixie said, IVF is still an option... Are you gg for TCM as well? Mayb can try? Definitely seems to hv worked for Cantabile

Of course can try. But I just fear the injection also have no effect on me. I know this is just the worst case scenario. But there is always a possibility that it can happen. So I just want to be prepared.

As for TCM, I did try for a few years. No avail. Fyi, I have been trying for 11 years. This is a very very long journey for me. I just hope that I can keep on going strong.

11 yrs is really a very long time. Actually you are very impressive already... But the thing is you tried so hard for so long, you might as well try everything possible... At least you will know for sure...

I only went for acupuncture twice, last Fri and yesterday, and my gynae says this cycle is alot more promising. She says the eggs are much bigger and lining is thicker... Why dun u ask your gynae whether can combine tcm and iui? Some gynaes even hv tcm doctors they are comfortable working w...

Of course can try. But I just fear the injection also have no effect on me. I know this is just the worst case scenario. But there is always a possibility that it can happen. So I just want to be prepared.

As for TCM, I did try for a few years. No avail. Fyi, I have been trying for 11 years. This is a very very long journey for me. I just hope that I can keep on going strong.
be positive! you have not try IVF yet. maybe IVF is the key to your BFP!
and with IVF, there will be more information regarding your eggs too. so the fertility specialist also can determine more accurate way to tackle it.

previously i read a blog, a woman also try many many yrs. her partner and her also healthy. last resort do IVF, then after analysis of her egg, found out her egg only allows very healthy sperms to enter. if abit offspec, the egg will reject the sperm. hence causing her cannot get pregnant. then after found out this problem, her fertility specialist know what to do and she got her BFP!

be positive! you have not try IVF yet. maybe IVF is the key to your BFP!
and with IVF, there will be more information regarding your eggs too. so the fertility specialist also can determine more accurate way to tackle it.

previously i read a blog, a woman also try many many yrs. her partner and her also healthy. last resort do IVF, then after analysis of her egg, found out her egg only allows very healthy sperms to enter. if abit offspec, the egg will reject the sperm. hence causing her cannot get pregnant. then after found out this problem, her fertility specialist know what to do and she got her BFP!

Sometimes its just tough to remain positive when you have tried so long. I have encounter those with more than 10 years of trying and finally conceive. Thats why I try my best to be optimistic. Maybe I will be able to conceive in the future. When and how, I do not know.

Maybe IVF is the answer but even IVF too is subjected to whether your body will react to the injections and the follicles are growing.

On my next cycle, the dr will do more frequent scan on me to ensure there are follicles growing and whether my body is responding to the injections. That means more frequent trips to the hospital.

Its not that I am not optimistic. I just would not want to be overly positive. Because I did a few years back and it failed. I was devastated. It some time for me to rebound. So I do not wish the same thing to happen again.

Hugs... we have tried for an equal, if not, longer period... more than 10 Yrs of marriage. 2 failed SO-IUI... proceeding to IVF.

Though this is not good news but I feel you know what I am feeling as we both have been married for more than 10 years. Mine is going to be 13 years on March next year. I always pray & hope that my marriage remain strong whether I have kids or I don't.

Anyway, hope your 1st IVF will be successful. *big hug*.

Though this is not good news but I feel you know what I am feeling as we both have been married for more than 10 years. Mine is going to be 13 years on March next year. I always pray & hope that my marriage remain strong whether I have kids or I don't.

Anyway, hope your 1st IVF will be successful. *big hug*.

Indeed... I know Exactly how you feel. I struggled and still am struggling as I approach this IVF journey.
Hubby is more attentive and sensitive after being through 2 cycles of failed iui. I know he wouldn't Give up until IVF though...
I have a low threshold for pain and am afraid of jabs... I am afraid of what lies ahead.
We shall stay strong for this marriage! Let's do our best and let God do the rest.
Have faith... you are not alone. GOD bless!

Indeed... I know Exactly how you feel. I struggled and still am struggling as I approach this IVF journey.
Hubby is more attentive and sensitive after being through 2 cycles of failed iui. I know he wouldn't Give up until IVF though...
I have a low threshold for pain and am afraid of jabs... I am afraid of what lies ahead.
We shall stay strong for this marriage! Let's do our best and let God do the rest.
Have faith... you are not alone. GOD bless!

After 2 aborted IUI and 1 failed IUI, similar to your hubby, my hubby changed too. Now he sees the whole picture,he understand that it is not as simple as it seems. On top of that, seeing what I have to go thru, he can only sympathise. He always say...why do I pay the hospital to inflict pain on you. Though he tried to make it sound like a joke, I know he felt bad inside.
I am not going for IVF yet. Next round, I am just trying IUI with injections. Maybe if these does not work, then I have to proceed to IVF.
How you go thru all this with your low threshold of pain? Really salute to your determination. I guess the desire to hold one of our own is much stronger than the pain that we have to bear.
Anyway, thank you for giving me some support. My load feels lighter. :)

U know sometimes we read n are inspire by other ppl success rate in IUI or Tcm etc n we hope we are the one that can strike too if we try harder. The fact is what we read about those who try longer n strike are minority. Everyone of us tried very long naturally before we decide to step into ART procedure so after a few tries it's better to move on to Ivf with a higher success. We tend to drag n tell ourself other ppl also do many times then succeed. If I try harder n longer I will too but by the time U decide n feel that U are getting old then go for Ivf, your success has already drop tremendously. Ivf need to do at a younger age for higher success n better ovarian reserve. I always complain to my dr why I see other ppl so old also can strike. Why I cannot. Till my dr gently put it across that those are only minority. Just to share my thoughts.

I agree with @Jumbo girl

Don't hesitate too long if you know that ivf is a possibility.. Even the healthiest couples (under 35 yo) have only abt 30% chance of succeeding with ivf, and that statistic drops drastically with age

I'm 32 this year, and had 8 cycles of assisted (clomid/injections/IUI) before I moved on to ivf.. And our stats have always looked good and docs were always positive with the outcome..

Recently failed my first cycle of ivf.. I had 19 follicles, but only 7 eggs retrieved, 3 of them mature, and only 1 managed to be fertilised. Considering I'm still "young" and healthy, the yield is quite poor. Which could mean that for all my previous cycles, even with all the follicles, they possibly contained nothing also. Granted, I have PCOS, but I responded well to the stims and hormonal levels and lining etc were considered good.

Hb and I still feel that we've wasted too much time earlier..

@bbcaromel You'll be alright with the needles :) just take a deep breath and jab, the will to want it to work will pull you through

Can I add on that it is indeed true that we should move on to IVF cos age is really not on our side. I tried IUI once and it failed. The chances of IUI are really low. Very very few people succeed through IUI and with my kind of fortune, I am not surprised I did not strike. IVF sounds scary with all the jabs but I think it can be done. Just grit your teeth and go through it. You're not alone in the journey.

Sometimes its just tough to remain positive when you have tried so long. I have encounter those with more than 10 years of trying and finally conceive. Thats why I try my best to be optimistic. Maybe I will be able to conceive in the future. When and how, I do not know.

Maybe IVF is the answer but even IVF too is subjected to whether your body will react to the injections and the follicles are growing.

On my next cycle, the dr will do more frequent scan on me to ensure there are follicles growing and whether my body is responding to the injections. That means more frequent trips to the hospital.

Its not that I am not optimistic. I just would not want to be overly positive. Because I did a few years back and it failed. I was devastated. It some time for me to rebound. So I do not wish the same thing to happen again.

ya.. i tried almost 2 yrs, i already give up and have the "come what may" attitude...
maybe cannot be positive, but at least dont be negative. if don't have expectation, at least wun have disappointment. but at least don't expect to fail.
just try whatever there is for you and see how it goes :)

I know of a case of someone who probably got preggy for about 7 times and had 3 kids naturally. And twice she was preggy with twins. The rest of her pregnancy ended in mc. And she's probably in her late 30s. It's disheartening to see someone who is older and like so easily preggy while I had to struggle constantly just to get BFP once. I guess in the end it really is fate. My hb asked me why I want to have a second one since we have one it's okay already. Sometimes his comments really make me feel like giving up. Like what am I doing so much for.

Morning Ladies, sky is very blue and nice these few days. A sense of hopeless seems to flood this thread and so do i.
Is really hard to have the heck care attitude especially when we know what is going on (as in the process) and hoping for good results yet at the same time around us we have people who are can just pop and pop. Worst feeling is when u see your own siblings having cute little monster and one self as none.

Same here totally very disappointed dun know want to even carry on with having kids dam piss off at this stage

Hang in there guys... I think everyone here can understand the struggle of TTC... The hope, the wondering what else we can do, the disappointment etc... N it happens cycle after cycle... The extent of it may b different but... We all understand the ups n downs etc

But i think we have to try everything we can... Be it IUI or IVF... If not, we will prob regret it and keep wondering whether things wld be different if we had just done a lil more...

anyway my wife news is negative again .... and i blew it this time cos i am sick of her going thru all these injections still nothing. Guess IVF is the stage where we will know what the hell is wrong. Last straw else i will give up and let go a childless life not interest with all these craps. Sorry folks for the rant.

Hang in there guys... I think everyone here can understand the struggle of TTC... The hope, the wondering what else we can do, the disappointment etc... N it happens cycle after cycle... The extent of it may b different but... We all understand the ups n downs etc

But i think we have to try everything we can... Be it IUI or IVF... If not, we will prob regret it and keep wondering whether things wld be different if we had just done a lil more...

@Wei1984 , I agree with you. It doesn't matter because we all tried. That is the main point. So we know, at the end of our journey, we won't regret looking back, knowing we have done something about it rather than nothing.

For those that suggest I jump straight to IVF, yes, I have thought of that when I start this ART journey. As usual, the dr say I am still "young" though I am thinking my time is running out.

There are so many protocol in goverment hospital. First the dr want me to lose weight, which I did and still trying to shed more. Then they found out that I am not vaccinated with rubella. I have to take a jab and have to miss a cycle. Not allowed to get pregnant for a month. Then everything was smooth sailing. Tried natural with clomid for 3 cycles, no success. So the dr said proceed to IUI and then hiccups after hiccups appear. If my follicle have been growing, this should have been my 3rd IUI but its only my 1st.

So yah...this would be my last try in IUI. Should this fail, then yes, I would definitely tell the doctor I want to queue for IVF. At least, I have the reason to tell him that it is already passed a year since I am in this ART journey. And I have failed 2 IUI attempt.

Why don't I go private? Money is the issue. :p

anyway my wife news is negative again .... and i blew it this time cos i am sick of her going thru all these injections still nothing. Guess IVF is the stage where we will know what the hell is wrong. Last straw else i will give up and let go a childless life not interest with all these craps. Sorry folks for the rant.

Hang in there @WJZKEV . I understand your frustration. No husband would want their beloved wife to go thru this. But you have to be strong yah. Both emotionally and mentally. Cos at the end of it all, you are your wife pillar of support

Hi Annbaby, thanks i know is gonna be hard on the mrs too but is a really a blackhole on the time and effort put in.
I just have her call up KK to cancel the whatever blood test since is waste of time and go straight to see THH and book for IVF

Same here with u Ann, money is an issue else i would have go pte too.

Hi Annbaby, thanks i know is gonna be hard on the mrs too but is a really a blackhole on the time and effort put in.
I just have her call up KK to cancel the whatever blood test since is waste of time and go straight to see THH and book for IVF

I wish you all the best! But whatever the outcome maybe, BFN or BFP, your marriage is the one that matters most. :)

Yeap Ann, worst is lead childless life is not as bad
Come here and rant all you want ... I'm sure you don't show this side to your wife :)

Every cycle that I failed, I needed my husband to react as normally as he could ... I don't think I can take it if he showed that he's disappointed ... Thankful that he understands me enough to know I don't need him to say anything ... just pat my head and tell me to prepare for the next round and pack our weekends with activities