Insurance for mums n baby

Maternity plans cover pregnancy complications and baby congenital issues. Can start to apply from 16 weeks up to 36 weeks ( differs from insurer to insurer)

Can get from

- Axa ( bundled with either ILP/savings/whole life plan)
- AIA (bundled with ILP)
- GE/Ocbc (no bundle)
- Prudential (bundled with ILP)
- Ntuc (no bundle)

After baby is born, quickly buy a hospital plan (shield plan) - if baby is pre-term (under 37 weeks) then can only buy from Aviva under moratorium underwriting option cos all other insurers will postpone the case and ask you to apply in 1-3 years time.

For Zika cover, get a personal accident plan that covers infectious diseases from insurers like Sompo or NTUC

In my opinion the maternity plans are quite similar. If the parents have insufficient coverage then go for axa to bundle with life plan for daddy or mummy. If don't want to bundle with another plan then go for GE or NTUC.

I'm an independent life insurance broker. I believe in low cost insurance option which is value for $ for you to cover the essential risks.

Please call me at 8688 6620 for more information.

Last edited:
Maternity plans cover pregnancy complications and baby congenital issues. Can start to apply from 16 weeks up to 36 weeks ( differs from insurer to insurer)

Can get from

- Axa ( bundled with either ILP/savings/whole life plan)
- AIA (bundled with ILP)
- GE/Ocbc (no bundle)
- Prudential (bundled with ILP)
- Ntuc (no bundle)

After baby is born, quickly buy a hospital plan (shield plan) - if baby is pre-term (under 37 weeks) then can only buy from Aviva under moratorium underwriting option cos all other insurers will postpone the case and ask you to apply in 1-3 years time.

For Zika cover, get a personal accident plan that covers infectious diseases from insurers like Sompo or NTUC