Gleneagles Baby

Hi Lovedogs and Jas,

I was charged the single bedder rate.

hi jasminetea...

cool!!!!

hi Jas,

juz hope they will not downgrade us to two-bedded if they run out of one-bedded during our delivery date

hi jasminetea & lovedogs

oh i agreed that was cool!

and yes *fingers & toes crossed* they won't downgrade us.

jasminetea
you just told them you want to upgrade and they give it to you??

Hellos jas and lovedogs,

Like jasminetea, no need to pay extra for upgrade (I'll cry bloody murder if they did), and they were extremely apologetic, as though I would complain. Haha. I think since you've paid the deposit, they wouldn't downgrade you??

jasminetea, Yeah, Lisa Chin is wonderful. Very modern. But my appts with her always chop chop one.

jasminetea,
my massage is at 9am. early in the morning. Can't wait. Husband has been trying to massage me, but he always falls asleep first.

hi pianokey

wow glad to hear that but on the other hand, when i was admitted to hospital earlier, there was a mummy who had just given birth, she opt for single room but since not available, she was in the same room as me leh.

now i hope the single room is available otherwise i must pray for both you & jasminetea's good luck

hi jas,

me too also must pray there will be single-room available...else must have the good luck for paniokey and jasminetea

Hi Jas and lovedogs,

Maybe 2 bedder was also unavailable when I was there? It was really quite funny when the head nurse person came to explain to me, and then my husband. They were so sorry that I have to make do with the suite. so so sorry....

Anyway, on to another question: Any of you have a maid at home? I'm totally clueless about getting a maid. Not sure the process, how much it costs, what sort of levies and what nots. Any idea any of you? Get from agent? What is a transfer maid? Are there any maid agencies who are good with infants & toddlers?

Hello ladies

Pianokey, my appts with Lisa Chin also chop chop one. Waited for 1 hr to see her for 5 to 10 mins. Then my hb said that means I was fine, so don't have to worry 'cos initially I was quite "upset" about it.

It is good to do massage early in the morning.

I also don't have maid leh, so cannot help you on this issue.

Jas,

No lah, I didn't request for the upgrade. They just offer me the room when no single bedder is available. I was having contraction then, already in pain, need wheelchair to push me up somemore. Maybe that is why they didn't let me wait, just put me into the deluxe room immediately. Heeee..

hi keann
the itch did not subside, taking chinse medcine now. went see gynea, she din give me any lotion but ask me see skin specliasit. went to ck on fees and consultation fee $85. din see in e end cs wish to fin my chinese medicine 1st. but manage to catch more sleep these few days after the chinese medicine.

been taking at least 5x shower dialy to cool myself down

hi jasminetea, do PM me ur massage lady contact. am staying in the west clementi. btw how much is e rate?

Pianokey,
Yes am getting a maid. She's coming end next week. We used an agent who brings us through the whole procedure. Our part is really just to choose the maid based on their profile...the agent will settle the rest for us. Have to take an online employer course as well. It's compulsory for 1st time owners. Questions are pretty straight forward and easy.

Usually agent fees vary from one another. We went to 2 agencies and settled for the one that has been getting maids for sis-in-law past 10years...Just go to your chosen agent and they will explain the breakdown of the costs. No obligations usually...Levy is $295 without baby, once baby is out, it will be $200 (or $195..can't remb).

You can request for a maid that specify her specialty as taking care of kids. But then, i give these personal profiles some discount. You never know it's true or not....

We pray hard for a well-behaved maid and hope that all will turn out well for us. Can give you more updates when i have my maid next week.

Fion,
If itch is getting to you, better see skin specialist....at least get proper specialist doctor advice.
As for chinese medicine, make sure the medical hall is reputable and they know that you are pregnant. Sales guy can know very little if they are not properly trained in TCM.

hi Keann, yah Dr Gordon has just gotten a new machine that can do 3D scans now liao - tho I suspect we have to pay extra for the scans and only when it is neccessary. His new machine now can also show the heart rate on the screen, right? I have been with him for coming 6yrs liao n his old machine simply does ordinary ultrasound scan.

Hi Keann,

Thanks! Rather scary to get a maid these days. Horror stories galore. But with 2 young kids, I think I really have no choice. The only maid agency I can think of is "Nation" because of their silly TV advertisements which are played over and over. Good luck for your incoming maid! Indon or filippino? I want to get a filippino one, cos when I was a little kid, we had a filippino one, she was very nice, taught me to read and write English. And I don't know much malay.

Seems like the rest can survive without maids. Make me feel bad.

hi pianokey

No, pls don't feel bad. I'm struggling very hard without a maid but lucky I do engage cleaning company to clean my house otherwise I'll go crazy.

Good luck on your maid hunting

M&M,
Yesterday i checked with Dr tan and he told me don't have 3D scan. He is still sourcing for one. Heard 3D scans can see baby's face...guessed i will have to keep the suspense until delivery day!

Pianokey,
Maid is filipina. We chose her becos we really cannot speak bahasa and didn't really want to go through the pain. So to start off, we got filipina. There are many agencies out there and if you visit a few, you may find one that suits your requirements and in line with what you are looking for.

hi Keanne, strange coz my sil (who just delivered last mth under his care) told me that he has the 3D machine. I saw a handbook tied to his machine that has the 3D image also... hmm... maybe she was mistaken.

haha... dun worry lah... it will be a sweet surprise when u see your baby for the 1st time! I still remember the 1st time I saw my son is that he has inherited my eyes n hubby's lips! It was a very special moment coz I could never imagine how the baby inside of me looked like.

Hi Jas,

I currently have a cleaning company too. But the amount I pay, might as well get a maid.

Keann,
Yep, will go maid hunting v soon. How long does the process take, from hunting to actually having the maid here?

can you recommend what brand of diapers shd i buy for NB? also for subsequent months?

have u heard of nepia? is it good? will it leak for overnight usage?

Hello ladies

Lovedogs, I'm using Nepia. Personally, i feel this is the best diaper around. It is great for overnight usage, no leakage at all! Plus one more great point, it is so soft and I believe it is very comfortable for my girl. I have tried other brands in between and feel that none of them are comparable with this brand.

Lovedogs,
We're also curious to what brand of diapers to use....so wat we did was to stock up 1 of each popular brand. Got pampers premium cos all hospitals seem to be using it and mamy poko cos it sounds kinda cool. Maybe will get 1 or 2 more brands and experiment on baby

Since nepia is mentioned here, i will try it too!

Pianokey,
Are you planning to get a maid? When are you giving birth? I went to visit the agencies about Nov/Dec time. Usually they would take from 3-6 weeks to get the maid in. But if maid is transferred maid, sometimes you can get it almost 1 week later or quite immediately.
We are not super fussy, we just went through the requirements with agent & she selected a few potentials and we chose from there. Profile really doesn't tell much of a person's personality...

Having had 2 kids, I must say u need to try out the cutting of diff brands of diapers. What is good abt Mamy poko over Pampers is that it is meant for asians, so the cutting is more fitting. I also find that Pampers Premium's foam tend to disintegrate after wearing a while leh. (Dunno if there is an improved version or not coz my youngest is off diapers for a yr odd already)

For eg, my colleague used Dryers for his son n it leaked while it is ok for my son. It also depends on the anatomy of the baby. Some hv bigger hips n fatter thighs, so the urine wont leak as much. (plus some babies are more active, so some diapers tend to get loose after a while if it is not well fitted.) It takes trial and error to find out which is the best brand for your little one. I used to use Mamy poko for night and Pet Pet for day. Pet Pet is so so, the cheaper range but it is fine coz the change is so frequent in the day. Think it is 20 over cents as compared to almost 50 cents per pc for Mamy Poko/Pampers Premium.

hi jasminetea, m&m and keann,

many thanks for your feedback
Coz i saw there are 60 pcs in the nepia NB...worried is it too big a pack...and it seems like i can't find it in many supermarkets or dept stores. Got an online URL to order but must order 4 packs for free delivery...hence, abit apprehensive and lost..

Hi Lovedogs,

I think Nepia NB size is not easily available in departmental store. 60 pcs is not a lot lah. NB used up very fast! Unless you are using cloth diapers, a packet will last u for about 2 to 3 weeks? (For my case, esp for bf babies).

When you need the diapers? I always order from Nepia directly (also need 4 pkts for free delivery). If you don't mind to wait, I can order for you when I place my order next round

Cheers~

hi jasminetea,

me need in only in May coz EDD in May...now in the midst of researching which one is good

i was thinkg to use cloth nappy during the 1st mth as i will have a CL. CL can help wash. BUt will request her to use for day time. night time was thinkg to use diapers. In this case, do u think a pack of 60 will be too many?

Hi Lovedogs,

Shd not be a problem for May as I believe I will top up sometimes in March or April unless my girl don't use diaper by then haaaa.

NB size for bb up to 5 or 6kg if I'm not wrong. My gal is 5kg+ at 3rd mth. I don't use cloth nappy at all, so quite difficult to estimate. But I knew my gal used up 1 pkt of 60pcs within 2 weeks for the 1st mth. Maybe other mummies here can advise?

U let me know if you want me to buy for you.
Can PM me.

hi jasminetea
whats e link order for NEPIA online? is that the one u can get from NTUC, heard got 1 brand when come very fast snatch and seling like hot cakes

Hi Fion,

I don't order my NEPIA online. I order from Nepia directly. Their contact no is 62262650.

I think that is the brand eps when they got offer. Last round, I didn't even manage to get them at offered price in spite of going to NTUC 3 times!

hi fion and jasminetea,

I got this link http://dignus.sg/baby-diapers-nepia-c-194_195.html?osCsid=f390a4f7860701207ae096ded0a46469

1 pack of nepia only $14.70. Is it cheaper?

Also must order 4 packs for free delivery. But i am not sure whether can mix and match as have not tried.....

hi jasminetea,

okie, i will do more research and PM u here by early March if I need you to help order
btw, do u think if i call them directly to ask for sample, will they provide? heehee

Hi Keann,

I've delivered 2 weeks back. No. 2. We went to the maid agency today. Didn't know what to expect. She gave us a stack of bios and said feel free to look and then asked if we wanted to interview 2 transfer maids. My husband and I got a shock. Not prepared, so we said " wait wait...." then we took a deep breath and they were summoned. Not used to the yes sir, yes mum. I think I was more nervous than the maids during the interview. Husband and I were sitting down and they had to stand! Not used to it! Think we'll make terrible employers.

Will prob get a transfer maid? At least can see what we are getting... hmm. not sure. Your maid coming very soon ya?

lovedogs: 60 cloth nappies?? Too many la. I only have 20, but if bad weather, cannot dry in time, then make do with diapers. If you have a confinement lady, it's fine to use cloth I think. If doing it yourself, just use diapers please. You won't believe how often a newborn poos and pees. You can be changing the cloth ones like 3 in 5 mins. Poo, poo again, pee, pee again.

Jasmintea,
How much it is to order directly from Nepia? Do they only deliver only for 4 packs?
What is the full name of the Nepia diapers? Nepia for Newborn?
How many pieces of diapers will baby use?

I've bought 1x premium pampers and 1x mamy poko, but not sure if need to buy more....

Pianokey,
My maid is coming this Monday/ Tuesday. As this is the first time for us, hubby and i discussed quite a fair bit to manage the maid. I think just as long as you are firm with your maid, don't be too buddy buddy with them, should be fine. Neighbour had a maid and was quite nice to her...and maid asked for a lot of things...phone home, handphone, etc etc.

Lovedogs, I read somewhere in this forum that Nepia don't provide samples anymore. But you may wish to try.

It is $15 per pkt from Nepia. I knew that Dignus is cheaper (by 30 cents) but I had bad experience from them, so will never order from them.

Anyway, sometimes Nepia will have promotion at $14 per pkt. Last round, NTUC's promotion price at $13.95 per pkt!

Keann, see above for Nepia's pricing.

Full name for Nepia. They will indicate the sizes on the package.

Initially, baby can use as much as 10 pcs of diapers per day. But as time go by, they will use less. My girl now @ 9 mths plus uses about 4, at the most 6 pcs per day.

Cheers~~

hello,

can i ask what brand of teats gleneagles used? coz i read from another thread that TMC uses NUK teats and after discharged, the bb not used to Avent teats...

lovedogs,

Gleneagles gave us a nuk teat.

Keann, how? maid here? We booked ours today! but must take the online course first. First time employer of foreign domestric worker.

lovedogs, should be ok la. Baby only in hospital for a short while, a couple of feeds. You are not going to try bfeeding?

is it? cool! thanks....2 bottles enuff?

hi pianokey,

when u delivered recently, how many glass bottles the hospital gave u?

Pianokey,
Yes, maid is here. She's ok so far. English is average but at least she understands what i am telling her...but shiok to have someone do housework for us....no more LAUNDRY and ironing of clothes!!!!

So did you book Indonesian/ filipina?
The online course is not difficult, most are common sense questions. Some questions i cannot believe that they are even asking...but i guessed there's a fair bit of abusive employers in Singapore.

Hi lovedogs,

I didn't ask for bottles this time round. I still have about 8 from the last time (which I hardly used, and didn't think I'd be needing so many this time round). But I kind of need more now.... Go at different times of the day to ask for them. They won't give you many all at once. that was 2 years ago la. Maybe the nurse we approached niao.

Keann,
Yippee. Got maid! Yes, quite luxurious to have one eh? My confinement lady has been doing my laundry and doing all the dishes, and making my bed, and preparing triangle sandwiches for breakfast, so I'm too pampered already. Mine is Fillipino. Yours? Am still waiting for the password for the online course. anxious anxious. Cos got to survive 3 weeks (at least) without confinement lady/maid. I used to frown upon those families who go out with the maid, and let the maid carry bags and kid, etc etc.... And soon I'll join their ranks.

Such decadent lifestyle I lead. sigh. hope 2 kids is a good enough excuse. :p

Pianokey,
Yes shiokest to have maid. Yes, my maid also filipina. But i think now are the initial days cos she REALLY VERY hardworking....house cleaned until i dunno what else for her to clean now. But we are still not sure of her cooking yet....got to put in efforts to teach her how to cook our type of food.

hi can any mummies share ur bill size with me.

just paid a $300 depoist to gynea and hear that when in hospital gynea wil visist us but cost abt $100 per day. then i kw have Dr Yip YY for PD ard $500.. alamak.. what other charges are there.

am looking @ 2 bedded, normal with epdiura. i kw can claim $450 for prental packages. assuming other complications, can any mummies share how much is the breakdown and net cash payment? we really scared not enough

hubby fd wife just give birth @TMC, 2 bedded c-section, bill $4000++, end up paying only cash $700.