Gestational Diabetes

I doubt weight gain leads to gestational diabetes. Cos dr tham didnt mentioned my 15-16kg weight gain affected. My first 2 preg was normal, only #3 was diagnosed. I didnt really excerise much except lotsa shopping , mostly i try to keep within the 'healthy' diet, but still put on weight. End up delivered at 38+2wk, baby was 3kg! (Smaller den my 1st 2 kids lor).. And LO was low sugar at birth so ended up taking fm in hosp. I also forget to ask dr tham y was my LO low sugar wen i haf GDM...emmmmm... Forgetful me!

Hi, the reason for baby having low sugar is because baby's body produced lots of insuilin to process the extra sugar tat mommy is feeding them when they are in their tummy. When born the source of sugar is immediately cut off as baby is already on their own. However their body has yet to adjust as fast, so still produces as much as insulin to process the sugar. Therefore resulting in baby having low sugar...so after baby born, mommy need not do the prick tests, but baby need too...very heart pain to see baby 's tiny soles being pricked...I wish I m the one being pricked...

So mommies,it's very important to control ur sugar level if u have GDM to avoid feeding ur baby too much sugar.

I was detected with GDM at week 30...kkh wants to admit me immediately and put moon insulin jab cos my Glucose tolerance blood test was very very high... I refused to start insulin and I told the nurse I want to control diet..... For the one day monitoring at kkh, I failed all the prick tests. The nurse teng kept asking me to start insulin... But I asked her to give me chance.. I changed my diet completely.
No more economic bee hon which was my favorite
Breakfast was usually 2 hard boiled egg , sometimes I soak plain oats in milk and serve ...
I will walk a longer route to get to bus stop
In office i will take gardenia whole Meal bread with one slice cheese dale cheese trim version
Drink skim milk
If carving for coffee,I will take kopi c Kosong
Lunch 3 table spoons of brown rice with lots of vegetables, I bought the vegetables from mix rice stall but I will wash away all the sauce oil.... I will buy a portion of pork or chicken or chicken drum stick and wash away the oil before eating. Sometimes I wil take salad but without dressing. Occasionally I will take chicken chop but without sauce... From my prick tests I noticed that by eating lots of vegetables the reading is always under control.
After lunch snack is either skim milk or unsweetened soy milk with a slice or bread or some almond
Dinner similar to lunch
Night snacks similar to after lunch snacks.
Basically eating outside is fine just need to wash away the sauce and oil
Alternatively for dinner u all can buy a piece of tofu from ntuc , some mince meat, some mushroom , some vegetable. Put the mince meat on top of tofu,lay the mushrooms and vegetables by the side , steam it and served... Nice and healthy
U can also buy chicken breast meat season with a bit of pepper and little bit of soya sauce(really little ) , pan fried it and served.. Yummy..
Fruits I eat dragon fruit, kiwi, Apple, guava.. Safe...
Exercise is very important too.. I will walk 3 sets of 10 mins every day.. And do Bit of yoga after night snacks before bed time...

With the above changes made to my lifestyle, I managed to say No to insulin.. And my weight maintain while baby was gaining weight healthily... In fact I did not gain weight on my body... My water rentention problem which I used to have before the diet control slowly went away. And I look better...not so round.. And many commented that I look slimmer after giving birth...didn't have much difficulty losing the extra weight gained during pregnancy..in fact I am lighter compared to before pregnant.

One possible problem of GDM is having big baby... But with good control and regular exercise,all will be under control... I gave birth to a healthy baby weighing 3.14kg!

In fact I feel thankful for the GDM that I learned to eat healthily...

Dear sisters with GDM... Jiayou!!!!!

@pony2014 do u still maintain the same diet after give birth?
During confinement month i still ate brown rice, i do take red dates drink, milo, meals with salt and sauces added (which we cant before giving birth).. in short i do not follow strictly what i do before giving birth but i do watch what i eat.. and i personally feel that when the little one is out, i am not as "disciplined" ..hahaha...

@gammahedging , @pony2014 thank u all for the enlightenment! Like tat i dun need check with doc... N i too hope my next review will be fine as have family history of diabetes frm my grandma...but my mom didnt..so crossing fingers!

Dont think weight gain contribute much to GDM, though it is still one of the factor for certain people. Me (forever underweight) and other participant in all sizes who i have come across during the class in hospital also got GDM. Somehow it's more because of age, family history and hormonal changes.

To battle with it, it's really depends on diet and exercise. But on top of all, the key is discipline.

After delivery can eat normal, but just be mindful of what you eat, timing and portion of carbo as what you did.

Ganbatte for all who needs to be on diet and busy pricking finger or doing confinement and breastfeeding now.

I havent purchased the meter. Under Dr Tham who never tested the sugar level again, really not sure if I have managed it well or not... My weight gain is not much after GDM diagnosis though (1-1.5kg for the past 7 weeks).

Like most mums here I think GDM diet actually is good for us, very healthy, feel fresher, no excessive weight gain or water retention problem.. I read this article and find more motivation to cut sugar down: http://time.com/3896316/sugar-addiction/
Also having plan for my 1st kid to eat healthy, by cutting sweets from her diet!

@Happybump , yes u shld stop sweets for ur #1.. Haha not say i anti kids eating sweets lah, but dentist who saw my big one also say those kids who dont tk sweets teeth will grow nicer n fall later (which i think is good too). But i limit chocolate intake and really must brush the kids teeth daily... Dont wan my kids get sweet tooth like me!

@Happybump It's good to cut sweet thing for LO.... But somehow it's a very challenging task since I think we all love sweet thing when we were young.
@furbee Haha... That's good your big kid has nice teeth.

Hi mummies, can I ask for those who did self-testing..

- is the 2hr post meal reading more important than the 1hr reading? Should I be worried if 1hr fails but 2hr is kept within threshold?

- say for example 2 Slices bread/peanut butter passes the reading, logically it means that I won't need to test anymore the next time I eat this same combi?

- is it important to take my reading everyday before breakfast?

I doubt that I'll continue seeing the specialist anymore as my levels so far are still within limits esp 2hr reading. But at the same time I wanna figure out a plan to make sure everything stays under control (insulin resistance increases as pregnancy progresses?) Shd I test a few days weekly or test only food that I'm unsure about? Any suggestions? TIA!

@Lynelyn
-If u have taken OGTT and the result is based on 2hr reading (most of the case is 2hr in SG), then it would be the base case to monitor. So when u do own self pricking will be using 2hr reading to compare and see how well u can control. Unless u also had the 1hr result for OGTT, otherwise your self pricking is giving u an idea how your body react to the sugar in the food u eaten, or if u really want to study thoroughly about the food and your activity impacting your blood sugar throughout that period of time. I believe using 2hr is good enough and practical. To a certain extend it make sense if fail 1hr slightly but pass 2hr, since GDM, the body is already in an impaired mode, and your exercise normally would kick in at least 1hr after meal.

-Depends, technically the combi is safe to consume, but also need to know your activity level during the time.

-If you do the test for the date, then yes its important. If u not doing any test, just good to know your fasting level, not really a must, can't always keep checking to stress yourself.

- Cant remember if you are already in your 3rd trimester..... If yes then no point to see specialist unless you also have other medicinal issue. The best is to check with your gynae. Usually after 2weeks of self test and discovery, u should have an idea about the suitable diet for yourself, carry on with it and that's all. How you want to monitor going forward also depends on your lifestyle and preference. You can choose one day of a week to test and do all your pricks, or just selectively prick if you feel that you overindulge or eaten something u not sure.

@nvidia thanks for the advice! Feel more assured to stick to 2hr self testing now. Yes I'm in my early third tri and my hubby and I don't intend to see the specialist already as it's expensive and GD is kinda like a self discovery journey I realized?

I'm sticking to the 'safe and tested food' so far but will always test when I eat hawker food or if I introduce a new snack to my regime. So far so good and I find that I'm a lot less stressed and less hungry as opposed to the first week when I was pricking 9x a day at the specialist's request..

My little indulgence snacks are Bulla mini yoghurt sticks and Alpen Light cereal bars.. 2hr reading passed ! Celebrating mini victories hehe..

To mums who have delivered, may I know if we can just eat as normal? Im so used to eating much less carbo, dont know whether it would affect milk production after delivery..

Can eat normal, but maintain a healthy diet, if over eat will be difficult to loose weight lor.... (not everyone is like Fann Wong ;))

How much carbo intake won't have any major impact to milk production. Milk production is determined by hormone level. More frequent of latch/pump, getting enough rest, drinking plenty of fluid would help maintain the supply. But do bear in mind everyone is different, some may have enough supply, some over, some under or even none not matter they have tried every method.

Just fyi... Fenugreek which helps to boost milk supply reduces blood sugar level.

Hi, I Am diagnosed with diabetes, in early pregnancy therefore it is préexisting. Can I know if anyone is like that too?

Maybe not pre-existing bah? Before pregnant,My blood sugar was high, but border line, not yet diabetic. After pregnant, due to hormones change, sugar level shoot up.

I gave birth last month, no need to inject insulin already. Back to normal diet.

I know I shld be watching what I eat cos I have impaired glucose tolerance but I still eat ice cream , drink soft drinks etc..more often than when I was preggie. prolly less cautious cos at 4 mpp I am about 7 kg below my pre pregnancy wt

Its fine to indulge once in a while. I did and my weight still never increase ( 1kg in 10 weeks). Baby also measured ok so doc said all ok, hahaha. My list of indulgence include ice cream, bun, milk tea no sugar no pearl, dark chocolate (Royce is soo yummy), banana

Everyone asked why I look so small for 37w pregnant lady.

Heard from friend that they also drink coconut juice even though with GDM. I guess not too much is ok!

How many weeks does your Gynae Do the glucose test after giving birth ? N did it go back to normal readings, no diabetes

Any mummies here who have recovered and have the leftover lancets to sell/bless ?

How many weeks does your Gynae Do the glucose test after giving birth ? N did it go back to normal readings, no diabetes

Any mummies here who have recovered and have the leftover lancets to sell/bless ?

I did my repeat ogtt at 12 wks.reading was better but still higher than normal. probably due to my pcos. I still have the lancets for the freestyle optium

Hi gammahedging,

If reading is higher than norm, is it still considered as diabetic ? What's pcos?
I don't have diabetes cos the reading is not tt high .there are 3 categories...normal , impaired and diabetic. I belong to the impaired group. pcos is polycystic ovarian syndrome

Hello mummies, I got diagnosed with GD two weeks ago at 24weeks. Was depressed for one week, especially I tend to have higher reading (7-8) after dinner. There was once I ate salmon fish and mixed vege with a bit of brown rice and it went up to 7.8 2h post dinner which was strange. Had the same thing before and no problem with it. Had it for lunch too and the reading dropped to 5.4 but just don't understand why it didn't work that particular dinner. I conclude is the timing.

I did not prick myself daily but frequently enough in the beginning to test the type of breakfast, lunch and dinner I can eat. Finally, I just cook extra for dinner to pack for lunch the next day.

I am required to prick 2 days a week, 7x but some times I wanna test the suitability of the food, so I pricking extra. Western food seems to work very well for me, including KFC!!

I would like to know... What will happen if those days we don't prick and happen to over eat or reading goes up... Will our body be affected?

Hello mummies, I got diagnosed with GD two weeks ago at 24weeks. Was depressed for one week, especially I tend to have higher reading (7-8) after dinner. There was once I ate salmon fish and mixed vege with a bit of brown rice and it went up to 7.8 2h post dinner which was strange. Had the same thing before and no problem with it. Had it for lunch too and the reading dropped to 5.4 but just don't understand why it didn't work that particular dinner. I conclude is the timing.

I did not prick myself daily but frequently enough in the beginning to test the type of breakfast, lunch and dinner I can eat. Finally, I just cook extra for dinner to pack for lunch the next day.

I am required to prick 2 days a week, 7x but some times I wanna test the suitability of the food, so I pricking extra. Western food seems to work very well for me, including KFC!!
Which is the irony - U know KFC is junk food and yet it doesn't spike your glucose. Hence I'd say, pls exercise discretion too and not be too hung up on your sugar reading. The brown rice + salmon + vegie meal is definitely much healthier than KFC

@gammahedging ya kfc isn't healthy. It passed the test cos it has minimal carbo. Just the meat and coleslaw only. Realise carbo is really the culprit. Tested with dumpling too. There was once I eat 1/3 and had no problem because the carbo wasn't much but another time I ate almost one (gave a corner to hubby), the blood Glucose spiked.

Ate cedele salad with roasted chicken and 1.5bread. Reading was ok.

Soup spoon is my fave now! Soup + side + wholemeal bun can keep me full and reading is below 6. @SuperBerry I'm like you.. I realized eating noodles can't keep me full especially since I don't dare to finish the whole bowl.. So might as well eat something else right. Hehe. I failed with Japanese soba noodles the other day though.. Thought it was low GI but maybe not low enough. I agree that it's easier to manage carb intake if we eat Western food

@hopeful78 R u newly diagnosed?
Maybe you can try to see the suitability for your body. I have an exchange list of food to consume but there was one time I ate brown rice bee Hoon. I went for 1.5bowl and it was exceptionally high for me, 8.5. Never so high before...

Of course the exchange list says 1 medium bowl. My bowl is small actually...... So I reckon it does not suit me. You aga aga the quantity U can eat for each type... For me, I rather stay clear of them unless that day I gonna relax a little. I have not tried whole wheat pasta yet. Been craving for some tomato based pasta but been abstaining....

Soup spoon is my fave now! Soup + side + wholemeal bun can keep me full and reading is below 6. @SuperBerry I'm like you.. I realized eating noodles can't keep me full especially since I don't dare to finish the whole bowl.. So might as well eat something else right. Hehe. I failed with Japanese soba noodles the other day though.. Thought it was low GI but maybe not low enough. I agree that it's easier to manage carb intake if we eat Western food
@Lynelyn which soup did u go for? I went to their website and saw that most soup include wine / alcohol aw their Ingredients. The amount might be little but I totally avoid soup spoon now. I am fan of their meatless minestrone but I decide to stay clear.

I've been taking meatless minestrone! I saw the alcohol content but I reckon shd be quite little cos I don't taste it in the soup.. The new bulgogi wrap is super yummy u can try it.

As for pasta, I've taken canned tomato sauce with egg pasta (home cooked) and my readings are good. Usually paired with broccoli and a meat dish. U can try it...tasty and filling too. For canned tomato sauce I just select the one with lowest sugar content.

Question: can we eat white noodles or yellow noodles?
Actually all noodles regardless white or yellow are high GI...except for things like wholemeal pasta, brown rice bee hoon.
The amount you can eat to keep your sugar level low wont be enough to keep u full...

@hopeful78 R u newly diagnosed?
Maybe you can try to see the suitability for your body. I have an exchange list of food to consume but there was one time I ate brown rice bee Hoon. I went for 1.5bowl and it was exceptionally high for me, 8.5. Never so high before...

Of course the exchange list says 1 medium bowl. My bowl is small actually...... So I reckon it does not suit me. You aga aga the quantity U can eat for each type... For me, I rather stay clear of them unless that day I gonna relax a little. I have not tried whole wheat pasta yet. Been craving for some tomato based pasta but been abstaining....

Yes.. Newly diagnosed abt 3 wks ago. Now at wk 29+. The thing is I exceeded the test by a little n I dun need to do price test daily. So the nx prick test is nx wk during the usual check up. Just dun wan to be eating the wrong thing..

Anybody knows whats the sugar content threshold for snacks? I thought 6g is ok, i.e. 1 table spoon of milo kosong, or 100g of plain yogurt. Recently I munch the Munchy oat cookies, one pack is claimed to have only 7g sugar. Not sure if it is ok?? I dont have a meter to measure. Also, gynae nv check the sugar level again after the 2d x 7 times test :(

@hopeful78 U may wanna check with your gynae... Unless u prick and test it out, U won't know the impact that particular food has on you. I currently sticking to safe choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

me.. me.. I drink teh c kosong. But dun know how safe it is since I never test. Also drink Koi bubble tea with no sugar once a week... bad me!

Bubble tea without sugar is ok! I tested on milk tea.. My twice-weekly indulgence :)

I've also been drinking jollibean without sugar too but some ppl are telling me that soya milk is not too good for baby boy? Been taking it almost every other day though... Weather is too hot these days!

I had four spoonful of teh c Siew dai yesterday and let my hubby drink the rest. The one I went isn't good... Hehehe

Oh yeah, I test on mr bean soy milk (no sugar) before. It's so filling that my blood glucose was 6plus 2hours later. Of course I ate one slice of low GI bread with it too. So I reckon soy milk contains a fair bit of carbo that increase my blood glucose.

Yet to test on the ice cream.

Now I am craving for curry vegetables!! Wanna cook it myself. By right the vegetables can be eaten freely right?? How about the paste? Maybe I gotta moderate?

I had four spoonful of teh c Siew dai yesterday and let my hubby drink the rest. The one I went isn't good... Hehehe

Oh yeah, I test on mr bean soy milk (no sugar) before. It's so filling that my blood glucose was 6plus 2hours later. Of course I ate one slice of low GI bread with it too. So I reckon soy milk contains a fair bit of carbo that increase my blood glucose.

Yet to test on the ice cream.

Now I am craving for curry vegetables!! Wanna cook it myself. By right the vegetables can be eaten freely right?? How about the paste? Maybe I gotta moderate?

Wow curry vegetable... I can only relate it to heartburn lol.... You can try to make your own paste, but not sure if the taste will be what you expected. Yes vegetable can eat freely excluding starchy type (corn, any other root veg like potato, carrot etc.)

Hi! Just to share that i have delivered and evrything is normal.. Bb is of small side at 3kg, 39w4d. I din really control diet for the past 2-3 wks, almost everyday has one or two indulgence. So chill out if ur weight is in control gals!

Hi ladies. I had to inject insulin during my 35 wks checkup . Gynea says sugar control have nt been vy good . So ned to inject insulin till birth. Quite worry it might affect bb n myself after birth. Any one have same exp? Care to share

Hi! Just to share that i have delivered and evrything is normal.. Bb is of small side at 3kg, 39w4d. I din really control diet for the past 2-3 wks, almost everyday has one or two indulgence. So chill out if ur weight is in control gals!

Congrats @Happybump!! Happy for u and enjoy motherhood! You can bid GD goodbye already!! :)

Hi ladies. I had to inject insulin during my 35 wks checkup . Gynea says sugar control have nt been vy good . So ned to inject insulin till birth. Quite worry it might affect bb n myself after birth. Any one have same exp? Care to share

Hi @ongu may I know how your gynae determined that you need insulin? I'm doing self monitoring now.. Only testing on meals that I am not sure about. Occasionally will exceed threshold on average 1-3 meals a week. I hope that is ok..

He saw my montioring chart for last 4 wks n determine was nt good cos mostly 2hrs after dinner my reading is ard 8-11 that is why he insist me injecting insulin. Injection is twice everyday . Before lunch & before dinner.