Dr Paul Tseng from TMC

I really like to find out more abt him but seems no one comments on him here leh...

Hi May,
I'm 22wks preggie and am with Dr Tseng. Saw him since Oct 04. Am very comfortable with him and find him quite trustworthy, good bedside manners. I guess he won't say much if you don't ask. If you prepare a list of questions to ask during the checkup, he will answer. He won't say anything to make you anxious or worry, I think he believes every woman's body is different.

When I was first pregnant early 2005, there was no heartbeat at 7wks but Dr Tseng didn't say anything was wrong. It ended in a miscarriage 2 weeks later and initially I thought he should have warned me but in the end I'm glad he didn't say anything to cause me to worry over 2 weeks.

Many ladies in www.parentlink.org and www.4trimesters.com (replace '4' with 'four') were under Dr Tseng and have birth stories. Check out the websites.

He charges $40 for short consultation - more for the first visit, then $30 for scans. $500 package for all visits from 20wks and 2 scans with $50 off if you sign up with first born incentive. He won't use ultrasound scan every single time because we still don't know what effect scans can have tho it's generally safe. He checks the abdomen and uses the doppler.

I think he's pretty cool lah ...

fondue
Sad to hear that you have a miscarriage. But will doc find out how come there's no heartbeat of bb during the 7th wks?

For his charges, seems reasonable. However, I will prefer doc to tell me more abt my bb or my health instead of me myself to prompt qns.

If you like the doc to tell you what to do, then Paul is not the one for you. His style of practice is that you have to know what you want and he'll go with you. My 5 cents worth.

Hi Zinaw,
Did you go for any prenatal classes? If so, let me know your comments as I'm not sure which to go for.

Hi May,
which other doctors have you shortlisted?

I did research on the Net first. eg. find out possible causes of miscarriage like blighted ovum, mole, hormonal problem, etc, then asked Dr Tseng which of the above he thought was the cause.

I prefer to make a list of questions to make the visit worth my money and gather as much info as I can. I guess the Dr's 1st responsibility is to provide treatment for what is not right/healthy, not to be an encyclopedia providing information.

There is so much the doctor could say, it's better to voice out what you're interested in than have the doctor make u spend money on more consultation time over a subject that doesn't interest you. Chatty doctors may not talk about relevant stuff, I've been to 1 before.

Hi fondue,
I went when i had my 1st kid. I attended the one at KKH and I don't find it useful.

Hi fondue
Besides Dr Paul Tseng, I have oso shortlisted Dr Joycelyn Wong from ACJ Women's clinic at TMC. I have read through alot of comments for Dr Joycelyn and felt quite comfortable with their feedbacks.

I like to know more abt Dr Tseng bcos I have 2 frds together with their sisters oso being delivered by him....

Not to be offended, if I were to be able to prepare for a list of qns to ask doc, wat for I need the doc? It will be my first preg n how I would know wat i shld ask?

Anyway, once again thank you for taking the time to break down the expenses for me, it's really useful. Tks

I went to Dr Tseng as well. My baba (nickname for my son) is now nearly 2 yrs old.

Dr Tseng is very good if you dont want to be hassled into taking drugs/C-section, like a lot of gynaes here. Very patient guy.

My birth was quite different from a lot of my friends - extra long labour cos I refused to take painkillers (at first) and had a doula with me. No pressure to take epidural etc but in the end I did cos already 2.5 days labour with little dilation :p

Would recommend him to anyone.

Hi Avalyn,

It is reassuring to hear this about Dr Paul Tseng. I have been seeing for Dr Tseng for a couple of months and found him ressuring and wise as well.

A question... Is Dr Tseng's stitching good? Thanks!

I delivered my second baby in Feb this year by Dr Paul Tseng too, though my first child was delivered by another doctor.

I decided to switch to him because I wanted a doctor who is pro VBAC. And he did not disappoint me. I had a successful VBAC and what's best, my labour was only 3 hrs+ with no epidural, no stitches and no tear.

Yes, he is a doctor who is not the chatty sort. Chatty doctors may not be providing relevant information to you anyway. Luckily for me, this is my second baby so I know exactly what I want to ask, so seeing him has always been an enjoyable session as he gives me answers to my questions. Also, he won't unnecessarily ask u go for tests unless he feels it is absolutely necessary.

Dr Tseng delivered my first baby in january this year. he is very patient.

i had an entirely natural birth i delivered with no epidural and no episiotomy - this was in my birth plan. he was supportive of my desire to have a natural birth.

after taking the hypnobirthing class from 4trimesters, i decided that i wanted a natural birth adn switched to dr tseng and tmc during my 30th week. i am glad i made the right decision

Hi Karyn,

May I know how much your baby weighs when you deliver? I heard that only small babies are possible to deliver without episiotomy. How do you overcome the pain without epidural?

Hi Karyn,

Was the hypnobirthing class from 4trimesters useful? What do they go through?

Do you know anyone else who sees Dr Tseng and had episotomy?

Hi Betterworld,
Dr Tseng doesn't practise episiotomy and hence you won't be able to find one who's with him and had episiotomy. We all tear naturally.

Hi Zin,

Thanks! I did not know about that. Does Dr Paul Tseng stitch up after the natural tearing then or he just let the wounds heal naturally? Thanks!

My colleague had told me that good stitching makes a lot of difference in the healing process.

Hi Betterworld,
Of course he will stitch up after the natural tearing. =-P and when you visit him for your post-natal checkup in his clinic, he'll provide you with a bottle of bottom spray which is very good for healing.
I think that besides good stitching, whether a doc does episiotomy also makes a great difference. I saw many mommies who got great difficulty sitting down after their delivery, but for me, I get up and down easily. I can even go do the post-natal exercise which the hospital provides, whilst many moms who had epi can only sit and watch, don't even dare to move cause any move they have, their stitches hurt! And you can see their hubby always standing by to assist them to get up and sit down. So I'd say Dr Paul Tseng's a really good doc and you won't regret your choice!!
But 1 thing to remind you, after you've delivered, pls remember to ask the nurse for the bottom disinfectant solution so that it'll expedite your bottom healing process! Cause sometimes the nurse will be so busy that they'll forget.

Hi Zin,

Thanks a lot for the insight and advice.
I am glad that Dr Tseng does not practise episiotomy then.

Is there anything I should note with regards to consulting Dr Paul Tseng?

Hi betterworld,

Hmm... can't think of anything in particular. Just that because he's not one who volunteers much info, it may be good for you to surf the web more so as to get yourself better equipped, and then ask him if you don't understand.
Have a smooth delivery!

my baby also delivered by dr tseng. he's very patient and takes time to answer all our questions even tho he has other patients waiting (n we never wait long to see him). he's very pro natural and does not do episiotmy. he was very supportive of my wish for natural breech delivery but unfortunaly circumstances meant that i had to hv a c-sectin. he still took time to answer all my doubts and worries even over the phone. my wound is very neat and i was able to get out of bed on 2nd day and no pain abt 2 weeks. i just saw him for my 6 week check today.

Hi Connie,
Dr Tseng said that a baby with head circumference of 35cm or more may have difficulty passing thru the birth passage. But your pelvis will soften and widen during delivery and so will baby's head. God created our body to deliver our baby and created our baby to be just the right size for us.

In my antenatal class I learnt that we overcome pain by naturally producing endorphines - it's our body's own source of pain relief. We have to be careful not to produce adrenalin or other chemicals that will increase the pain - like when we tense up instead of relax.

Hi Betterworld,
If there's anything else to note:
Dr Tseng tends to quickly say "so I'll see you in X weeks' time" after checking on my tummy and the baby's heartbeat. It feels like he's saying goodbye but I'll resist going off and whip out my list of questions to ask him ... else I'll feel like I waited to see him then the consult is over in 5 mins ... a bit bo hua (not worth it) ... so do your homework to be well informed and ask him stuff to clarify or find out his stance.

you can do research on induction (what if labour slows or stalls) or on delayed cord clamping or optimal positioning of the baby ...

Hi sggal,
Congrats on your delivery!
At which point did you decide to go with the C-section - was it after you were in labour some hours? What factors contributed to the decision?

Hi Fondue, Zin and Sggal,

THanks for the advice!
Just saw that Dr Tseng was interviewed for this article on alternative birthing in the the New Paper couple of days. In it, he indeed publicly proclaim that he is against episotomy.

I find him good and assuring so far. However, I do notice that he does not actively prescribe vitamins and Calcium tablets unless asked. I had not been given specifically Calcium tablets.

Hi betterworld,
you're right. He won't prescribe vits and other pills unless you request for it, because he believes that as long as the mother is eating a balanced diet, these won't be lacking, and hence no need for additions. Unless you're concern cause of your diet, then you can ask him for it. He won't reject you if you ask.

Don't mean to be a wet blanket, but Paul Tseng is really not the "assuring" kind. He's not the type to give you advice and assurance.

I went to Paul Tseng last year under the recommendation of some friends. I find him ok - not too warm, not too friendly, not too cold either. He comes across as just a doctor who does his work. Nothing more and nothing less.

My baby was diagnosed to have multiple fetal anomalies at the 5th month detailed scan (I did that on the 21st week). My hubby and I were both shocked beyond words (that was our first baby), but he didn't really show much emotions. I am not blaming him for showing no emotions, as afterall, as a gynae, I am sure he has come across many such cases. However, I can't help but feel that if only he could have showed more care.. He gave us a very clinical explanation of what is wrong with the baby, and kind of "pushed" us towards a termination. I am not saying he forced us to terminate, but the way the news is told to us, he's basically saying there's no hope of having any quality of life for the baby.

I supposed Doctors are also human and the way that different people deal with bad news is very different. For doctors who see lives & deaths everyday, this is just part of the job. However, for first time parents like us, it's a truly huge shock to us. I supposed I can understand he is only doing his job as a gynae to tell us my baby has no quality of life and I should terminate. However, I just wish that he could have shown more empathy. I remembered when he was telling us the news, his nurse was in the room with us and passing tissue papers to me as I was openly crying away..

I can't comment on his "doctor skills" since most of the visits is just the typical U/S scan, say a few words and consultation is over. For my termination, the procedure was done entirely by the nurses. At 5th month, to terminate, I had to "deliver" the fetus. I was induced into "labour" and when the time came, the nurses helped me to clean up and all... Paul Tseng only came at 8.30am when everything was over at about 6am. I supposed there is really nothing for him to do, and this is probably the standard procedure for such termination.

I am not saying that he is a bad doctor. I am sure he has done a lot of good work delivering many babies. However, if you want assurance, he's not the type.

This is just to share my story with MTBs out there.

Hi Autum,

Very sorry about your first baby. Hope that you have gotten over your loss. I suppose that Dr Tseng is really bad at delivering bad news.

By the way, can I know what was wrong with the baby? Did the Oscar test show anything?

hi betterworld, i didn't do Oscar test, cause Oscar test was mainly to test for Down Syndrome, and I wasn't in the high-risk group. Even if I did the Oscar, it may not pick up the problem that i had cause it's a different problem.

Hi May, I am not sure but I think if a woman wants an "abortion" at 5months, it could be dangerous because I think they will do a dilate and cutterage, meaning, they will actually cut the fetus and then scrape or suck out.. eeks!

In my case, I actually "delivered" the baby "naturally". That means, I was induced to go into "labour" and then I had to "push" the baby as if I am really in labour. The alternative is to have a C-section done to remove the fetus.

From a medical point of view, it's best if you can "deliver" the fetus naturally. It doesn't make sense to have an operation to remove a fetus that is meant to be terminated. That's what the doctor advised. Initially, I felt so sick when I first heard of this.. because to me, it's double cruelty as I still have to deliver a baby that I could not have.

But I suppose we have to accept whatever that happens.. I think, if I am not wrong, the same thing happens to women whose baby may have died in the womb (still birth) near their delivery time. I guess they would have to "deliver" their baby in that way too.

Hi betterworld,

My baby had neural tube defect called Spina Bifida. This is a condition where the spine (neural tube) did not close properly during the formation, which is within the first 6 weeks when you are pregnant. One way to cut down this risk is to take folic acid. I didn't know about this at that time, because when I know I was pregnant, I was about 7weeks.

The 20week detailed scan is the best way to pick out such "structural" defects because by 20weeks, the baby will be big enough to see. My baby actually had a lump in the lower spine (near backside). Because the neural tube didn't close properly, this causes the spine to form a protuding lump.

The spine is supposed to drain the fluid from the baby's brain. So, with this defect in the spine, the brain's fluid cannot drain properly. This causes pressure to build in the brain, which caused the baby's head to go out of shape.

Well, I hope I am not scaring you. I was in total shock when I first hear of this last year. Never in a million years would I have thought that this can happen to me. I did a lot of research on the web for such a condition and really cried my heart out.

Please don't let me affect you ok.

Autum
I'm really sad to read what u have been through...Imagine u still have to deliver the baby....suddenly feel like crying after read abt ur posting of wat u have been through...I'm sorry but I'm those that is being easily affected....

So r u now trying for another one?

May, actually i m just pregnant. About 5 to 6 weeks now. I m posting in the Feb07 thread. I found out about this forum only now.. I mean, last time, i didn't know about this forum, or I would have come here earlier to find out more information and to share.

I can't say that I have gotten over what happened in my last preg. And now that I am preg, I am actually quite depressed and cry easily. All the thoughts about the past, and all the worries for this current preg, just overwhelmes me.. I am crying almost everyday, and I try very hard to control my emotions.. afraid that I will breakdown at work..

Sometimes I will run-off to the toilet to cry. So silly hor. But I guess we have to accept what fate has for us..

Autum
Oh congrats to u...so u're posting in Feb '07 thread ah...who knows maybe u may deliver during the cny.

I understand that u have not gotten over what happened to u in ur last preg, I believe this will be a life time memory for u n ur hub. BUT, pls keep it in mind that god has given u another life again, therefore, u have to take really gd care of urself from now onwards as u're oni 5-6wks preggie...The first 3 mths is very very very important...I'm sure u know tat urself too...So, be optimistic, put ur past aside, live with a brand new day ahead!

I can understand ur emotion like almost going to breakdown eg cry in toilet. Cos last time whenever i felt stress, I will cry in toilet or a corner too...U have to put urself in full relexation now to ensure a smooth pregnancy ahead of u...

Let us enjoy our pregnancy stage now!!!

May, how many weeks are you pregnant now? Are you seeing Dr. Paul Tseng?

Actually he is ok lah. I have quite a lot of friends who saw him. I guess it's just that in my case, things went wrong and he's not good at giving bad news. For normal pregnancies, most of my friends have no complaints about him lah.

One of my friend went to him because Paul Tseng actually specialised in VBAC (vaginal birth after cesarean). My friend's 1st preg was cesarean by another doc. She wasn't happy with her first gynae. She went to Paul Tseng because she really wanted a vaginal birth (to experience natural delivery).. However, in the end, she still couldn't do vaginal birth because her second baby was bigger than her first! So Paul Tseng did a cesarean on her. And my friend was very happy with his cesarean stiching skills. Apparently he even managed to cut away the old scar from the first cesarean, and made the new scar alot neater and less visible.

Anyway, that is just info for you if you decide to choose cesarean lah..

Hi Autum,

I feel sad after reading your account. I am sorry if I had made you dug up old wounds. Congratulations on your pregnancy. Be strong for the baby that you are carrying now, okay? I think it is very understandable that you worry and think about the past, but do try to let go and think positive for your baby now.

It is good that you have found about your current pregnancy so early. I am sure the same thing will not happen again. I think it is only natural that mothers-to-be worry for their child. Sometimes, I do worry too even my OSCAR and detailed scan are good so far.

By the way, which gynae are you or will be seeing now?

Autum
I'm in 13wks going to 14wks now. Edd is 6 Jan '07...

I'm not seeing Dr Paul Tseng cos I find that it's not convenient to c him at either woodlands or tmc leh as I stay in Jurong West. So I'm seeing Dr Kee's at Jurong Point Women's Clinic. Actually I get to know Dr Paul Tseng is becos he is my frd gynae. He delivered my frd 2 child n all her sisters oso delivered by him.

Anyway, I plan for natural birth lor, don plan for C-section...

Hi betterworld, you didn't make me dig up my past memories lah.. i mean, as i mentioned, I have been thinking about it on and off, and now that i m preg, i m thinking about it. Can't be helped lah.

I have gone to see Dr Woo Bit Hwa, at his clinic in Northern Hope, Punggol. He was the one who said I m about 5 weeks. Hmm, now still too early to see anything except for the sac (waterbag). He told me to see him in my week 8.

Well, I haven't quite decide if I want to continue to see him. He's ok lah. I went to him because I know that when he was with KK, he was in the dept for birth defects. My alternative choice is to go and see Dr TC Chang at Thomson. TC Chang was from the same dept as Dr Woo, so they actually know each other. Now, Dr Chang is the head of fetal medicine in Thomson.

Seems that I have a lot of considerations in my mind. I had seen Dr Chang once last year. I was refered to him by Dr Paul Tseng to have another detailed scan after they discovered the anomalies in the 20th scan. He came across as quite competent.

However, I resist going to him now, because firstly I didnt really want to go to Thomson. Somehow I am afraid that place will bring me bad memories and bad luck. Also, I think that Dr Chang's charges could be higher. That's why after doing research and asking around, I went to see Dr Woo, who also seemed knowledgeable in birth defects. Dr Woo told us that he used to be in-charge of the birth defects registry in KKH.

Well, I'm still kind of undecided whether to continue with Dr Woo or to go and see Dr Chang. Then again, I will think that no matter which doc I go to, if bad things are meant to happen, it will still happen.. nobody can prevent or predict what fate has in store for us..

Hey May, if your baby is earlier by a few days, you could have a New Year baby (1 Jan).

So where will you be planning to deliver at? Which hospital?

Autum
Ai yo, u don think too much now. If still haven't decide which gynae to go to, then don decide yet, just continue to c Dr Woo first, then slowly decide to sign with which gynae.

Haha, hope just nice 1 Jan, but scare is oni scare that bb can't wait to c this world in end December. haha...Just bless n have to tell him/her to come out on a nice date...hehe

I plan to deliver in Mount A. At first still tot to deliver in TMC, but seems tat Mount A is than cheaper TMC.

Hi Autum,

If TMC brings you bad memories, don't go to TMC at all. Rather seeing doctors who specialises at birth defects, why not be postiive and see a doctor who is renowned for his birthing skills? There are quite a number of good doctors in Mt A and Mt E too. I heard that Dr HK Ho at Mt A is pretty good too. In fact, I was contemplating between him and Dr Tseng, but chose Dr Tseng in the end cos it is easier to get an appointment with him. For myself, my aim is to deliver in Mt A, so I was looking more for a good doctor who can deliver there. Yes, no one can prevent or predict what can happen. Well, trust in the God that you believe in.

Hi May,
Is it true that Mt A is cheaper? I think that all the hosptial charges are quite comparable and depends on what kind of delivery we have in the end.

Hi May, Betterworld,

From what I know, TMC is the cheapest private hospital for deliveries. Mt A comes quite close. I think the difference between TMC and Mt A is just a couple of hundred dollars. They are quite competitive, so really not very much difference there.

I am also thinking of going to Mt A this time. Actually I thought of Raffles Hospital too. One of my friends went there last year and is full of praise for the facility there. I supposed it's new and facilities are newer, and not so crummy.. and they treat you more like a "hotel guest".. however, RH is definitely more expensive. My friend estimate it at 15% more than other private hospital, but I think it's more than 15% more.

Like what betterworld said, hospital charges are also dependent on what type of delivery you have in the end. For TMC or Mt A, I think it's still ok, if say in the end, you need a cesarean. For places like RH or Mt E, if you have a cesarean, the cost will increase by a lot more, because everything is more expensive than other hospitals.

betterworld, I did think of seeing Dr HK Ho at Mt A also.. but I think his charges are very high. I read in one of the other threads that the first visit cost more than $200 and subsequent visits is average $160.

Hi Autum,

I am surprised that Dr HK Ho's charges are so expensive. My colleagues saw him and I don't think they paid so much. Maybe you would like to call up and check...

Mt A is a good place to deliver. I chose it because it is known for the good midwives and importantly, cos I will feel peace there being a catholic myself.

Betterworld/Autum
After asking for many different charges from different mummies, I personally feels that Mount A is abit cheaper than tmc. At first I oso tot Mount A shld be abit more expensive than tmc, but seems the case turns to be the other way round. But I truly agree all depends on the kind of delivery u been through n how many days in the hospital...

Wow, so expensive ah, $200 for the first visit n subsequent $160...Mine is ave $100 for each visit...

Hi Autum,

How are you? You should have passed your 8th week now...

Hi May,
I compared Mt A and TMC charges. I think TMC is more expensive for two-bedder, normal delivery

Hi may,

No, I did not compare charges for the 4-bedder cos it is never my intention to take a 4-bedder. After the delivery, I would prefer to have peace and quiet and not be disturbed by other mothers and babies. In fact, I went on a tour of Mt A yesterday and found that all mothers are encouraged to have their babies by their side during the day. Imagine being woken up by each baby crying and all the other mothers' visitors...

I am opting for a single-roomer. I feel that I do need to pamper myself after giving birth. Also, husbands can only stay if we opt for a single-roomer.

Oh, actaully different ppl have different needs lor..For me, I scare quiet n lonely, so i opt for 4-bedder where they will be more ppl in the room. I scare to be alone in the room especially hospital rooms.

Hi, I'm sourcing for gyna who is experience in VBAC and have bumped into this thread. Does Dr Paul Tseng deliver in MT A? I saw his name listed in MT A website. Can someone give me the address to Dr Paul Tseng's clinic at Woodland?

Hi LC, yes, Dr Paul Tseng delivers in both TMC and Mt A. Sorry, can't advise on his Woodland's clinic.