Dr L C Foong from Gleneagles

WanBB

Dont worry abt going alone. Dr Foong is v reassuring and patient and will wait for you to ask questions.

Good think aby u and ur hubby for going together is for him to have a semen analysis on the first visit too.

But nevertheless, i had a really good first appt with Dr Foong. Only gynae i have seen so far to really explain the medical terms with you. And he is v gentlemanly, maybe his 10 yrs stay in London helps... so i actually feel q comfy in his hands.

Since its your first visit, in case you kalang kabok, i suggest you write down your list of questions so that you wont miss out any.

Let us know your tots after you see him

WanBB

Dont worry abt going alone. Dr Foong is v reassuring and patient and will wait for you to ask questions.

Good think aby u and ur hubby for going together is for him to have a semen analysis on the first visit too.

But nevertheless, i had a really good first appt with Dr Foong. Only gynae i have seen so far to really explain the medical terms with you. And he is v gentlemanly, maybe his 10 yrs stay in London helps... so i actually feel q comfy in his hands.

Since its your first visit, in case you kalang kabok, i suggest you write down your list of questions so that you wont miss out any.

Let us know your tots after you see him

tomolo seeing dr liao..now having quite abit of discharge, but like egg white.. is it ovulating? moonfairy, did u have this while on puregon? the gonal-f jabs not painful, superfact more pain i feel..but now dosage cut down to 20 units so the pain not so bad now.

so far no signs of bloating leh so quite worried tat medicine got no effect on me..will do a scan tomolo n see how lor..so far he scan and say lining developing well so now jus making sure my follicles got grow or not..

wanbb, dun worri..i oso now seeing him alone cause hubby in reservice..tell u all something very funny, last week i went alone for the 1st time for my appt.he asked me, have u been getting with ur husband? i just stared blank at him for a few seconds, cause i not sure wat he asking..in my mind, i wanted to ask, r u talking abt sex? but i felt embarrased and quickly blurted out, my husband in reservice..so he replied, tat's good cause if not, it may reduce the sperm count..so inside i sighed a relief tat tat was the question he meant..i felt very gong gong.

i see quite a few women come in alone as well..notice he got quite a few ang mo women as well. did u all notice?

most docs will ask u to try at least 1 year, i oso kana last time as well..1 gyne even ask me to lose weight, say i too fat tat why cannot conceive and prescribed slimming pills to me. and he was a gyne tat do ivf as well.

chloe, so fast..good luck to u! rest well and dun let ur work tie u down too much..crossing my fingers for u.

take care gals, will update u all tomolo.

Hi chloe and puipui, all the best for tmw. will pray for you both to have ultra positive results.

sorry i didnt write much these few days, very busy at work and also confused over the whole bb project. just talked to a friend, and guess what, she's preggie and naturally too! i am very happy for her but also wonder why miracles didnt happen to me. anyway, dont want to think too much la - got to get hubby's health ok first.

Hi gers,

thanks for the advice.

Curl, guess i really need to note down all my question. But most pro will miss this cycle. so Sad... need to wait another cycle again. Sobz

my hubby's staff not going with him to KL and he's afraid to sleep alone. In the end I can't reject his pathetic pleas and i agree to go with him. I think it's a plot. he don't wan me to visit Dr foong alone or stay at home to hu si rui xiang.

Chloe, good luck to you! let us know the good news soon!

Puipui, i really admire you. So cheerful! lighten my day! good luck to you today.

I wish you all the best for the IVFs.. think we just have to believe that miracles happen to us.

As for the symptoms, when i had my first pregnancy in Dec last year which ended ectopic. During my so call ovulation days as a result of clomid, i have no symptoms. even my saliva ovulation kit did not show i ovulate, but i actually strike that round by BBT chart.. just suay that it was ectopic.

Good luck to all and hope to hear good news soon!

jus came back from clinic..got at least 25 eggs now..so my extraction will be right on track, most likely mon or tues..

chloe, hcg injection do ourselves? i was quite surprised when he said can inject myself..i guess more convinient lor..but got so many blood test..now like every visit have 1 blood test to do..got a phobia of needles..tis fri/sat another scan to do..dunno if need to take blood again or not..scary!

moonfairy, i didnt have much discharge during my first attempt leh..i guess different meds. when u going for it again? u in bangkok now? dun think so much hor, im sure the new meds will more effective..is it really cheaper than puregon? i didnt realise, i tot all the same..but good for us lah, since its cheaper, hahah

strawberry, mus have faith tat in time to come will have miracle..sometimes we have to work towards it lor..when i saw how the indian lady struggle thru 1 m/c and 7 attempts on ivf..very admirable leh..but its really all hard work..so jus think of it as working towards a goal..my sis say i seem so obsessed wif my attempts on ivf but i told her same ting..must work fast mah, dun give up cause of failure..every attempt means got some hope..take care!

hi puipui

i got a GP near my house to do HCG injection for me. Well, dr foong asked me to do it on my own, but i dare not, cos this jab stings! u can let dr foong know that u prefer a GP to do it, he will then issue u a letter. Just bring letter and the 2 small bottles of HCG medication with u to the GP, the GP will know wat to do.

wow, 25 follicles! Congrats!!!

hi chloe,

dr got mention gp as well but he say very easy to inject leh, hahaha
..lucky got 2 gp clinics just downstairs my house..yeah, i dun think i dare to do myself oso, better let gp do instead

my tummy quite bulging now..jus hope tat i wun get too sick after the extraction..getting very nervous, duno why but quite scared of the extraction..got a slight phobia..hope all goes well..

hi moonfairy,

aiyo...sooo pain..i cannot imagine kana both sides..must be really terrible for u..so far, im ok..hurt alittle bit, my heart always pound when he say blood test..aiyo..now u say after every scan, got blood test..jia lat liao lor.

dun have any blosted feeling, just tummy bulging alittle so pants too tight liao..hahah
im trying to drink more water but not easy cause have to pee very often..

i think u will do well under the new meds..but u may find the superfact painful..gonal-f no feeling, quite surprising..do let us know when u going to bangkok..so fun..wish i can go n shop n massage as well..hahah

jus wanan ask u all a question..is it ok to be oeverweight? cause now im 67kg and 1.65m tall..is it very overweight? last time i was 63kg but have difficulty shaving off the last 4kg now..is it bad?

Just to share my experience. i had a very bad experience at TMC previously. The nurse, i can still remember she is called Ms Lee, did not poke the right spot on my arm to extract blood. She actually panicked, and i tell u, it was damn painful. Well, she struggled to draw blood from me and guess wat, a big blue-black on my arm (a big patch, pple thought i drug addict!) for the next 2 weeks!! From then on, i stopped going to TMC.

PuiPui

25 follicles is great! I am so happy for you.. now must make sure ur uterus and all other things are strong for the baby to implant. Rest well and drink some herbs to compliment.

Let us know ur good news very soon

been feeling sick these few mornings..i feel as though i have morning sickness all over again..every time i wake up, i would feel like throwing up n start retching (dunno if correct word) at the sink..suppose to be 1 of the side effects?

thanks curl, im alittle scared though cause it can be alittle painful after extraction if have too many follicles. the last time i couldnt walk properly for 2 to 3 days cause my abdomen so pain.

chloe, u poor gal..the nurse really lousy lor to do such a bad job..it should be a basic requirement for all nurses n doctors to draw blood correctly. if not, theyt should jus go back to school..i wonder how they ever come out into the field!

i oso had bad experience..there was a doc at kkh, i think she's a trainee..she tried to insert a plug into my right hand, but my hand immediately started swelling and actually looked like a ball. she tried again on my right hand again but at the corner vein..alamak, it mus have hit a nerve cause my hand felt a hot burning sensation..i no choice, shouted at her cause it was so painful, u can see her face so scared and quickly withdrew the plug..the nurse saw wat happened and asked her to leave and got another doc to come and do it..worse still was my left hand oredi got plug, right hand all the veins affected by the swelling so had to insert the plug on my arm instead..

real nightmare

chloe,

sorry forget to ask u..when u went for ur op previously, were u warded in the day surgery? cause angeline passed me a list and it put tat after extraction, will be in day surgery ward..so wan to know if husband allow to be with u while recovery?

last time kkh not allowed visitors, so husband had to wait outside for abt 2 hours.

Pui Pui

Please stand strong and positive, u are q v near to success... i really hope that things would be ok.

I am seeing Dr Foong on monday to see how my eggs have grown. I am not yet IVF, but on same dosage of clomid as the last round when i got pregnant with ectopic. Hopefully, my ovaries still react.

Take good care this weekend.

hi puipui

i stayed overnight in the ward previously, mine not considered day surgery. For my case, my husband was also not allowed to be in the recovery room. As for the ward, it is ok for husbands to stay if the other party sharing the same ward is agreeable. Not sure about day surgery though. Do u think Angeline will know?

curl, just curious. Wat is the dosage of clomid u are on? Did u go on puregon and metformin?

Hi Chloe

I started with 50mg & 1000 mg metformin round 1 in Sept last yr. No reaction, but managed to have menses the next cycle. Gynae 1 scan and check but never explain, i was given 100mg with 1000 mg metformin. Still nothing. 3rd round, 150 mg clomid, 1000 mg metformin and 10g of folic acid
and i got pregnant. Too bad it ended ectopic.

During my ovulation days, BBT did show. however, i have no cervival discharge (v dry) and other symptoms at all.

Sorry, but what is purgeon? Is it an injection?

hi curl

Dun worry, some pple just have lesser discharge than the rest. Dr will be able to tell when he scans u, whether ur have little or much cervical discharge. i am quite insenstive to the mucus, so everytime when dr asked me, i will say no mucus. But when he scans, he always found lots of mucus inside my vagina.

Puregon pen is used for injecting FSH (Follicle Stimulation Hormones). It is easy to use, needle very short, and u can do it on ur own. In my case, i will jab on D6, D8 and D10. Some pple jab more frequently when they go for super ovulation (esp in the case of IVF). u doing any IUI?

puipui, how are u today? Hope u are getting better. Still feeling nauseous and bloated? Previously when i went for my laparoscopy, i understand from some gals in the fertility forum that drinking ginger water helps to reduce nausea. Boil water with ginger, red dates and dried longan. Let it boil for some time and then drink it while hot. i drank it after my operation (when nurse says i can start drinking water) and found it very effective, as i had no side effects from the GA at all. Not sure whether it will help in ur case. if u are interested to try out, please check with Dr foong before u do so. But must warn u hor, the ginger water tends to make u pass out a lot of gas. ;)

moonfairy, so have u decided when u will be moving to bangkok? Will u be coming back to s'pore to see dr?

still feeling nauseous in the morning..but dun have the bloated feeling leh..tummy is extremely round though..discharge still alot as well..he say as long its not green or itchy then jus ignore..i had a pink color tinge also but he says its ok cause it may just be staining from recent menses.

thanks for the receipe chloe..i have been drinking tat ever since my confinement..i know it helps in blood circulation as well..hahah, at least help me to get rid of excess wind oso. ai, but just a tip..try to avoid ginger whilst u r on the 2 week period okie? cause it seems ginger can actually encourage ur body to mensurate..so try to avoid as much as possible for now. learnt it from 1 of the the ivf tips website.

curl, hope u have some good follicles tis monday..i had friends tat had etopic pregnancy before but also managed to conceive naturally again..so dun give up okie? hope tat u will have some good news for us tis monday!

Hi puipui,
wow! that's good news to hear about the egg quantity. must take care ok? and keep us posted of outcome. by the way, i recall you had ivf the last time too, didnt you have frozen eggs? have you used them? i asked because i am considering using my 2 frozen ones from the last ivf cycle but at the same time, i'm scared that they will not survive thawing and then all my preparation for implementation would be naught. anyone had any experience to share concerning implementation of frozen embryos?

hi puipui

Thanks for alerting me, i din know ginger will cause menses to come! aiyoh, so is it still ok for u to drink ginger water? i think better ask dr foong before u try anything.

Hi Moon Fairy

Dr foong say i need not do IUI for the moment unless there is a need. I think he need to monitor my follicles first.

Becos if my dominant follicle is on the left ovary (where the ectopic happen), then he will 'leave it', but if its on the right, then he would either suggest intercourse or if need be IUI. So will have to see how on Monday.

hello gals,

moonfairy, so u in jarkarta now? at least u can have time to slowly pack and rest well first..i know moving can be very stressful..take care okie? most impt now is to do some exercise and eat well. then at least ur body is healthy when u start again.

strawberry, very sayang lor..i didnt have any left over embryos tat time..i used up all 3 cause when they divided my eggs into 2 batches..all 12 under ivf didnt divide well so were thrown away..only 3 were formed from 6 remaining eggs under icsi..so im very worried lor..dr say wan to do all icsi tis time and see if my eggs really poor quality..so now just waiting for extraction to see outcome.

however my sis did have 5 embryos frozen when she was with prof chris chen..she got herself transfered to kkh under my ex-gyne dr sheila loh. but onli 3 survived the thawing process..dunno why, but dr loh told her she onli had less than 1% succeess rate of getting pregnant..i didnt ask why rate so low..instead of jabs to support pregnancy, she had to insert the tablet in her anus instead..the nurse told her they dun use progesterone jabs for frozen embryos. from wat i remember, dun need to have any jabs..i think u will be monitored from ur period onwards to check the lining and establish when u ovulate then the put in the embryos ard tat time. hope the info helps.

i saw dr ann tan before, is she the 1 at mount elizabeth? was suppose to do ivf with her in march but decided to go ahead with dr foong instead..was she any good? heard she was a high risk specialist but i found her quite fierce.

curl, i oso went thru something like u before but with another doc..hahah, but onli managed to get 1 dominant follicle after so many rounds of clomid/puregon. my husband very stress tat time cause have to time intercourse..hahha
u should be able to do well..wish u all the best!

chloe, the ginger i learnt off the net..my sis told me prof chen say cannot eat chicken, all soy products and even soya sauce. i did avoid all these at first attempt but now more relaxed..i try not to eat so much lor..but ginger i did abstain...not sure abt ginger drink though..not sure if all this is true, but i guess njo harm trying lor..but its true tat as long eat balance diet is most important.

Hi puipui
thanks for sharing about what happened to your last ivf. mine all 26 follicles went on icsi - ie why only 5 make it - used 3 so got 2 left.

you feeling better today? yes, ann tan is the one at mt elizabeth. i found her ok - she knows what to look out for. i wont call her fierce but can be tempermental at times - sometimes very nice and chatty and sometimes more brisk and serious. but i think she's very good with the embyro placement - i had zero pain and the whole thing was finished in a matter of seconds. i was supposed to do second cycle with her too, but hubby wanted to see someone else.

Hi Pui Pui

How was ur egg extraction today? Hope that things went well for you.

I visited Dr Foong today, scan and no signs of ovulation even with 150mg of clomid and 1500 metformin this round. Follicles still small and lining not thick yet. He ask me to monitor and seeing him on fri to confirm no ovulation, then he will abort this round, bring mense and start next cycle with an injection.

I have never had injection to ovulate, can you share how it is? Is it painful? Is it self inject?

Somehow i think mayb this cycle not v good, cos my menses q funny. very light, only 2.5 days and also ectopic just happen on 23 Feb, maybe body havent reset yet, perhaps why no effect.

When will your implantation begin? Have u prepared ur body for it?

Hi curl,

I started with 150mg and metfomin.. forgot what's the dosage and it didn't bring on any ovulation. So... I used the injectibles to ovulate and it's not painful.... it's like being bitten by an ant.. the needle is really small.. cos the injection is administered using a puregon pen. It's self-inject but your hubby can help you to inject.

Hi Picnic

Thanks for much for the infor. Q disappointed that i didnt ovulate with 150mg of clomid cos i reacted well the last time. Ovulation came at D14...

I see, so its self inject.. so did u get pregnant after you got ovulation with injectibles? Did you do a IUI with injection?

Hi Picnic

Thanks for the information. Actually, q dissapointed that i didnt react with clomid and metformin this round with the same dosage. I reacted well the last round and had ovulation on D14. Not sure not whether if its the not so good mense cycle and my ectopic that menses the body system.

So, u manage to ovulate with injectibles? Was there any site effects? Did you get pregnant after that? Did you then do UI? Sorry for so many questions.

Hi Curl,

Yes I was equally disappointed when I failed to respond to clomid and metfomin. Can't explain why our bodies react this way.

Yes I managed to ovulate with the injectibles.... side effects.. think bloatedness and a little cranky.... and I went on to do IUI and got pregnant after that. My baby is now 10 mths old... also delivered by Dr Foong.

hi curl

dun worry, i use a puregon pen to inject FSH to stimulate egg growth on CD6, 8 and 10. My hubby does it for me. Like wat picnic say, it is not painful (except once when hubby did it wrongly). Must make sure ur hand is steady and u should be ok.

puipui, how are u? Is the egg extraction painful? Kind of worried that din hear from u for quite some time.

Hi Picnic

You are really lucky to have a baby at your first try. I really hope i can be you. I always tot i will need ovarian drilling and etc. So when i reacted with medication, so happy, but have to end up ectopic and partially lost my left tube. Now, got to deal with 2 problems. Ovulation and must be on the right. Feel q sad at times but keep telling myself to push on and I have a strong feeling that i will be pregnant soon esp after the ectopic when i actually see mylive foetus, just wrong place. Maybe psychological, but it keeps me going.

But I took it during my natural cycle, so that may be the cause of me reacting not so well this round. Or dunno if the body is just too immune.. sign..

Hi Picnic, u must be really happy when u deliver ur baby. You shld quickly plan for a 2nd one.

Chloe

Thanks for infor. How is your IUI this time? Must wait till when then u know whether u succeed?
I am really anxious for you. Like all here, i also wish i can contribute to the success statistics with Dr Foong

hi curl

Today is 8 DPO. Keeping myself busy so that i will not have time to think too much. This is my 3rd IUI after my laparoscopy. i had laparoscopy in Dec last year, removed scar tissues from my pelvic and did ovarian drilling. i am not very confident this time, cos i think if it happens, it would have happened in my previous IUI... Well, will have to wait till next week to know whether successful. Should i fail again, i will go for a break and then go for IVF...

Hi Chloe

3 tries are v acceptable for success. Pls keep your spirits there. Who knows u may realy strike! Good to take ur mind off but still keep the hopes there.

So u had ovarian drilling? I almost did that if i didnt get pregnant last dec. Was it effective on helping you to ovulate naturally or with low dosage of clomid? Was the process painful? And do u need to stay at home to rest for a period?

Please let us know your results next week. I hope you & I can 'graduate' soon under Dr Foong's care.

Hi Curl,

Just stay positive... I oso dunno how to react if my then IUI cycle failed.... I will be devestated as well.... what to do.... the success rate of IUI is around 20 plus per cent .. IVF is of course much higher.... my advice to you.. is to be strong, think positive and u r in the good hands of Dr Foong. Sometimes used to wonder why do we have to try so hard just to get pregnant and not to mention spend so much money... :p

Planning for 2nd one? :p Not so soon.. maybe I will see Dr Foong maybe during 2nd half of the year for no. 2.

Hi Picnic

Ya lor. I also sometimes think why i have to go thru all these? But i think we have not answers, just fated lor.

For me, if spending some money can solve the problem, at least u see some light at the end of the tunnel.. but pregnancy is a v unique thing. Even with the similar symptoms and etc, diff pple have diff reaction. And really like strike toto like that.

Yes, i wish you all the best for no. 2 and pray for me too. Cheers

Hi Curl,

I agree 100% with you. Sometimes I do wonder why do I have to have problems with fertility. Why can't I be like my other friends who got pregnant so easily....but being pregnant and carrying a life for 9 mths is indeed very unique thing and the baby is even more precious to us especially we tried so hard just to conceive.

I wish you the very best... good luck and remember.. think positive !!

Hi Picnic

If you dont mind and if you can recall, can u briefly tell me how u go thru the IUI with the jap? And what size of eggs are they expecting and the process and rough costs?

Just want to b mentally prepared and have better idea..

i jus did my extraction yesterday..it wasnt as scary as my 1st attempt at kkh cause they used GA so slept like a baby throughout..i did have alot of nausea and retching though so had to be given some medication to stop..the cramps were also very bad and had alot of difficulty walking and sleeping..but today seems alot better, jus need to rest 1 more day.

i had 28 eggs altogether so yesterday dr say will fertilise at 5pm and today wait for his call to see how many became embryos..transfer will be done tis friday..he said i wun be disappointed tis time as i should have some embryos to freeze..so im jus keeping my fingers crossed

Hi Curl,

I started on my jabs around CD2 of my period. I had to inject myself for around 10 days or so... started with 700iu... each time.. dunno how much... forgot liao.. :p The follicle must be around 20mm before the egg is released. I spent like around $3K plus for the whole process as they include scans, injectibles, puregon pen and the IUI itself.

Hi Pui Pui

Great to hear from me. Many of us wondering how u are doing. Hey, 28 follicles is amazing! Congrats! Am sure you will be expecting great results! Wow, Friday would be really an exciting day for you, isnt it?
When will you know if the pregnancy is confirmed?

Picnic

Thanks! Didnt know that it so ex $3K to do injections & process. I ask Dr Foong before and he says if its IUI, its abt $500, so if its with injection, its consider SO IUI? Sign, come to this stage, frankly, if spending the money can help us have a baby, dont think we mind. Money can earn back but not our age, time and thus fertility. If you dont mind, may I know how old u were when u conceive ur first kid?

my tummy has beeen giving me sooo many problems..not sure if its something i ate or the hormones..jus keep having diahrea..will be seeing a gp later tonite.

curl, thanks..sorry for not updating u gals lately cause been bz cleaning the house and getting prepared..usually i wun do any housework during the 2 week wait so tot of giving the place a good clean up first...last time we had to wait for 17 days before the hcg blood test but i kind of knew after 1 week cause my sense of smell became very sharp and everything jus seem so smelly..

had alot of discharge as well and craved for sour soup and kiam chye all the time..so i cheated n did a home test after 10 days..but i think i will jus wait for the 14th day tis round, honestly im not so confident esp with all my tummy trouble and all. feel as though my body not balanced..sigh!

i oso agree with u lor, sometimes really need to spend money to get result..even though i didnt have to pay any cash for my 1st attempt at kkh, but it really feels different when doing in a pte clinic..the atmosphere and the pain is much less scarier i guess. hope u will do well with ur treatment..i oso paid ard $3 to $4 k when i did the injections and process but was under mount e but i didnt succeed though.

Hi Curl,

The injectibles are the ex one.. ard $700 plus for one small tube.

IUI is ard $500... but u gotta factored in the consultation costs, scans and medication.

I was 31. Dr Foong always said I am still young.. dun be so kan cheong.. ha ha ha !!! What abt u? How old r u?

dr jus called..got 12 embryos so far..he advise to put 3 again..but have to discuss with my husband tonite..he say if i kana all 3 again, then i can do a reduction to make it into 2. quite scared leh..really have to decide properly..

Pui Pui

I think you shld put in more. You decide how many you want after they are fertilised. You never know..

Picnic

Thanks for reply. I was reading some old threads and saw ur 'journey' to pregnancy.. u are really v lucky... I am 30 and turning 31 this yr after bday. Hubby is one year older than me. Actually, my hubby dun want children. He always never wanted kids, but knowing that i love kids so much, he has been v cooperative and participative. Initially, i target to get pregnant before 31 and i did, but too bad ectopic.

I kind of regret going to my first gynae. She was q slow in treatment and believe in the natural mtd as much as possible. Dr Foong is a good balance, not invasive but > aggressive.. I wish i can conceive soon..

Dr Foong is v encouraging.. He also say i v young, so lots of time n opportunity.

Just want to keep all posted. Today i went to see Dr Foong, suppose to induce my mense to start next cycle as clomid didnt seem to work when i saw him on monday. Follicles still 10mm then. He say v little chance of ovulation.

However, when he scan me today, i actually abt to ovulate! I reacted to clomid afterall... unfortunately, the dominant follicle came from the left ovary where part of my tube is removed due to ectopic. sign... he ask me to BD tommo and monday.. there is still a 5% chance that right tube can catch the left egg....

However, if i didnt happen, then i will see him next cycle, he will try to give me injection to boost the right side...

While i am relieve to hear that i ovulated.. a bit xian that it comes from left again... really hope i can be that 5%...

Curl
Very happy to hear that you ovulate.Dont worry so much..just do your best in your BD...and i'll
pray for you. must rest well too, ok?

puipui
how's the implantation coming along? now you must just rest rest and rest well..stay happy too. will pray for you too! keep us posted, ok?