Dr L C Foong from Gleneagles

hi moonfairy

dun worry ok? u have come so far, dun give up!! Let's wait to see wat dr says on monday. Keep us updated ok? Like wat puipui says, u still have one more week to go, so stay positive, still got chance! i will visit the forum to look out for ur posting next monday. Sit tight and dun worry too much.

hi moonfairy

dun be sad. Do u think dr can do IUI for u instead, if the two follicles (10mm and 13mm) can reach the mature size?

moonfairy, dun give up..as chloe says, maybe still can try iui..or maybe, natural? if dr says u can try again in 2 to 3 mths, tat means there's still hope..

Hi Galz

I m tinkin of changin to a gynae who specialises in infertility...so tat the gynae wil b able to follow me thru in case I nid assisted prgms in the future...cos my hb spermie has very low morphology rate...n I foresee tat I may nid fertility intervention in the future...

Can I noe the avg waitin time for Dr Foong's appt...n the location of his clinic?...does anyone noe his cost for HSG?...btw...does Dr Foong always ask his patients to try for another 6 mths b4 doin any tests?...I m really tired of waitin...

Many thx...

hi moonfairy
i understand how you feel. but dont give up ok? we are all going through this and sometimes, it can be very tough. but we support one another. you check with dr foong if there were other options?

today, i went to see dr foong too for iui. sadly, the whole procedure had to be aborted as my hubby's sperm did not make it. i was very disappointed esp this time round i have about 3-4 follicles. now, doc says got to treat husband first as he suspects there were something wrong with his testicles, and iui is no longer an option. got to go ivf. i cried on the way home cos the journey to being a parent seemed so easy for some, but so difficult for me. at first i was the problem, husband seemed ok but now that i am ok, he got problems that needs to be resolved. sometimes i wonder if i should have gone for ivf again earlier before he had his infection. but that's water under the bridge.

anyway, you hang on there, ok? i know the disappointment, i have gone through that so many times and there seemed to be no end to it.

Hi fizz

i normally only had to wait about 15 min to half an hour at most for dr foong. his clinic is at gleneagles level 1 annex block. name of clinic - o and g partners. not sure cost for hsg. i think you can discuss with him what you want and he will advise what is necessary. i dont think he's the type that will say try 6 months before other options can be taken. all the best in your baby-journey.

we all mus hang in there..the road is indeed tough but once we have achieved our goals, it will be all worth it..i used to be very jealous of those ard me cause they conceived so easily and carried out their pregnancy with no problems and all are older than me. but now i just feel happy for them and pray that we all can have a family of our own..

strawberry, dun be disappointed..i oso was in the same situation as u.. in the beginning, i saw many famous gynes and took alot of fertility drugs. but all said my body was resistant. finally, i had 1 follicle and was told to try naturally. but it failed. i used to blame myself for why im havin so many problems and i was only 22 to 23 yrs old that time. i even asked 1 doc if need to check my hubby sperm but he said i shouldnt put the blame on my hubby so soon. i was very disappointed. finally, a doc ask him to test his sperm..it turned out that he had very poor morphology..only 6 to 9 %. they also ask him to go for operation etc..but we chose not to as there was icsi..then they said my eggs are of very poor quality when his sperm are very good, the problems just went on and on..

anyway, lets hang in there..we still have alot of time and as long dr say we have a chance, we cannot give up. we have to tell ourselves that we are not 100% infertile!

hi gaiz,

dr foong clinic is in #01-38, annexe wing, gleneagles hospital. the no is 6479 7267.

so far, i been there 3 times, waiting time longest was 45 mins..which i personally found was very good..i used to see other docs and min wait was always 2 to 3 hours. so i found it a real relief that so far it was only 30mins to 45 mins.

i know wat u mean..when i first started trying when i got married. i found it suspicious that i didnt get pregnant within the year and my periods were always 2 to 3 mths apart..my gyne said im so young at 22, sure no problem and wouldnt allowed me to try any other thing. but i started to see fertility specialists after 1 year and realised that indeed i had sub-fertility..i regretted that i should have been much more aggressive in my medical check up and treatments, etc.

anyway, u can always voice out ur concerns to the doc and let us knw if u need any further information.

hi puipui

thanks for the encouragement. my hubby also same situation as yours only that this last results was the worst ever. sperm quality really bad. i am already 38 so time is also not on my side. i'm trying not to get discouraged.i was so happy this time round cos my follicles were very large and nice, and i had 3-4, best ever in an iui procedure, then this has to happen ;-(. the last time, my hubby's sperms were good and i only had 2 follicles, didnt succeed. sigh, we will see what doc says after he checked on my hubby. but thanks very much for the support. i apprec it.

Hi Strawberry n Puipui

Thx very much for yr prompt replies on my queries...

Wil decide over the wkend if I shld fix an appt wif him...n if I wanna switch gynae...

hi strawberry

dun be sad ok? sometimes, things just dun turn out the way we want. Before the diagnosis is out, let's not jump to conclusion yet. i recall ur husband was hospitalised due to a fever? The high temperature at that time might have caused the sperm quality to drop. If it is really the case, then i guess the damage to the sperm quality should only be temporarily.

Hi Galz

Sorry to bother you...but I wld like to know the method Dr Foong uses to diagnose male infertility...does he oni depend on the SA test...or does he oso examine the guy's testes for varicoceles?...

Thx for yr help...

Hi Strawberry...

Altho I may not noe u very well...but I wld like to encourage u to b strong...TTC can b mentally drainin...I m sure everyone of us noes tis...but I still believe in perserverin for sometink which u really wan...(n I hope I can still hold on to tis belief down the TTC rd)...I m sure u wil succeed one day...*hugz*...

I m oso quite stressed as my hb's morphology is oni 3%...haizzz...

Hi Moonfairy...

Thx for yr advice!...b4 readin yr thread...I was askin u a ques in the TTC thread...thx again...

moonfairy, dun be sad, its ok to cry..at least u will feel better after doing so..tats the spirit, dun give up..u can try again..

fizz, strawberry- b4 my ivf attempt at kkh..my sis and i were seeing prof christoper chen at gleneagles..he diagnosed both of our husbands to have varicoceles and advised both to do an operation to treat it. I didnt want my husband to do an op and decided to seek a 2nd opinion and tat was where kkh advised to go straight into ivf/icsi since icsi needed 1 sperm each to fertilize. and tat was wat we did.

but my sis stuck to chris chen and her hubby did the op..later he did a SA later to compare and he was still ranging at the 9% mark..in the end they had to do icsi as well..just wanted to share cause my hubby felt very happi tat he didnt have to go thru the op as we say how my sis hubby was very sore and couldnt even walk properly for s few days..and in the end after spending thousands of dollars on the op, still ended up doing icsi and still managed to get 5 good embryos..

not saying that the op will not work, dunno if its just my bro-in-law case tats unique but i just like to share their experience.

Hi Pui Pui

Thx for sharin yr experience...at least it sorta manage my expectation of the surgery for varicoceles...

hi fizz,

no problem
sometimes its very difficult to make a medical descision coz there are always docs that give different advice. my husband didnt like the idea of going under the knife so we had to seek alternatives.. anyway always be comfortable with watever that u decide to do..tats the best guide.

Thanks for all your support - your words really made me feel less discouraged. I am feeling better today after some crying. We will see dr foong tmw to see what is to be done for my hubby. yes, chloe, he was having a high fever some weeks back - so we also hope his recent condition is only temporary. My frustration also stems from the unexpected turns of events. but the whole episode has helped me apprec my hubby more. he was there for me, and i realized for myself that he will always be more important than the kids. will keep you posted after tmw's outcome. take care everyone, we are in this together so we must all jia you...

hi strawberry

Glad to know that u are feeling better.

Yes, i would think that through this infertility episode, my husband and me appreciate each other more. God has a plan for everyone, and in our case, He wants us to learn to appreciate each other, before we can learn to love our children.

People who dun encounter the same problem have their own set of problems too. Sigh... u know wat, met up with some of my cousins during CNY at grandma's house. They are married with children, and some of them are younger than me. But from wat i observe, i dun think they feel blessed with children... As the saying goes, ren2 zai3 fu2 zhong1 bu4 zhi1 fu2... and one man's meat is another man's poison... i keep telling myself, dun be like them should i become a parent one day. It is meant to be a blessing, not a curse.

im glad tat we all have such supportive husbands. we mus really treasure them..i wanted to adopt this june but after reading abt all u gals determination and encouragement to have a child..i feel very inspired so i guess i dun wan to take the short cut so soon..we mus perservere to make our husbands fathers 1 day

moonfairy - 2 mths very fast..take care of urself and look forward to the next try..im oso not sure if im going to use lucrin n puregon cause it seems tat dr foong mentioned tat he may use the same meds tat u mentioned so i will not know till this sat..but u will be leaving this friday..so not able to make any arrangemnents with ya..hopefully 1 of the gals will be able to use it. anyway have a safe trip..

I also have about 100 iu of puregon left.i was supposed to use it for my next iui cycle in march in case this time round not strike. anyway dr foong said i dont need to do iui for Mar now cos hubby need to get checks done first. if any of you need it, you can contact me.

moonfairy

you just take care of yourself - and take a good rest at home, i'm keeping my fingers crossed for you and i and everyone else who's on the bb journey.

im considering on whether to switch bk to kkivf leh.
i like dr foong manner and the clinic but the costs like very high. if i swtich bk to kkivf, i wun need to pay anything as it will be fully covered under medisave.

im just afraid if i get pregnant, i have to budget for the future as i will be in the high risk pregnancy group. Will need extra surgery and hospitalisation fees as chances very high that baby be premature etc..just scared i wun be able to afford it.. my last stay in hospital for 2 weeks was oredi 10k..i heard nicu for babies costs up to 20k or more just for 1 baby, double if twins. sometimes if very premature even 100k oso have, dunno if im able to afford or not..

i dun wan to burden my husband even though he says we will be ok financially..but since im not working, i do feel a certain amt of guilt as he has forked out so much on medical..and now an additional 7k plus in cash on ivf when i can get it 'cash free' at kkivf just giving me 2nd thoughts..

sigh, not sure wat to do leh..im just very worried that i wun be able to carry out a safe pregnancy again..

moonfairy,

tried to send u pm but i think ur function to receive is disabled..my husband confirmed tat dr foong mentioned in our last appt tat he wants to use different drugs this time and..im not sure why oso..hopefully u and strawberry can find someone who needs them..sorry.

hi moonfairy,

i just replied ur pm..

my main concern is more on the costs actually..hope i dun offend anyone but im not really worried abt whether i conceive or not..cause i have been telling myself, have then have, dont have then dont have. try again but yet costs play a big factor. im comfortable with both hospitals so yup u r rite, i have to decide properly before i start this monday..

my major major concern is really how to prolong my pregnancy should i really have. i jus dun wana spend so much on ivf and have little left should i have complications again..so just crossing my fingers and hope i make the rite descision.

hi moonfairy,

thanks for ur advice..yest i discussed with my husband and he ask me to continue with dr foong. he says pay more get better result and less pain..i really hope its true lor.. so ok lor, i dun wan to be indescisve anymore..jus go for it.

actually i find kkivf quite good.. my sis did hers at prof chris chen, paid 20k and still no result..i only paid 5.2k and managed to get triplets. personally, ivf is quite similar in every clinic or hospital u go..its just a matter of services..in kkivf, u may not be monitored by ur own gyne and its usually the nurses that attend to u. the medication is much cheaper coz subsidised by govt. kkivf will be the next place to do should i fail my ivf at dr foong.

dr sheila loh was my doc at kkh and she is the head of the dept there. i asked my sis to see her, she will be doing her 4th ivf under her.

Be prepared for 2 to 3 hours just waiting to see her. i advise u transfer out once u r pregnant coz i felt that my antenatal follow up with her and the hospital wasnt so good..not very cautious and alittle complacent.

insurance is compulsory, by hsbc. the premium goes according to how many u put in. 1 embryo - 50.40 2 embryos - 105 and 3 embryos - 698.25

im looking at sm other insurance as well to top up..but u r rite, they may not sell to me since i have a history..my friend has a contact in great eastern so she is helping me to check if im eligible. will let u know if i get any recommendations for insurance as well.

is dr foong a good gyne for pregnancy? if pregnant, i was wondering if i should switch to other doctors? i dunno if he's been in o & g for very long and his card says he's a fertility specialist..i jus wana be certain he knows how to handle complicated cases like mine and be very cautious.i cant bear for the same thing to happen again.

do u knw if he delivers at govt if baby premature? cause my cousin wife had twins before and was seeing a pte doc but she was going into labout at 7 mths, had to go to kkh. Ended up her gyne wasnt allowed to deliver for her, she was assigned to any gyne avail and ended up very uncomfortable due to the sudden change

so jus wan to be prepare for the future. i guess i still have time since i may not get pregnant but just wan to learn more just in case.

moonfairy,

by the way u still have 6k for the 1st ivf rite? if u do it at kkh, how come u still need to mfork out so much?

do decide properly as well, kkh is ok but the medications may be more painful cause they use alot of injections. tat was 1 reason my husband rather pay more so that i wun feel that much pain.

hi moonfairy,

thanks, i hope tat its right descision..yup, we intend to ask dr foong again this sat regarding my history..so far he seems very comfortable in terms of arranging wat to do if i get pregnant etc. my husband says lets see wat the outcome first before talking abt it..so im making myself concentrate on the ivf only now.

im not sure how much will ur ivf be if done at kkh cause i think it depends on how much medication. my doc told me mine was ard 4k to 5k at that time. for my sis, hers will be different as she will be prescribed a new medicine. 1 jab to replace all the lucrin then straight on to puregon. $800 for just that 1 jab.

But the breakdwn was $2.5k for extraction and $500 for transfer. both they deduct straight from medisave. the rest u have to pay in cash and then lata they will reimburse u after ur whole ivf process.

mmm, ur husband may be right. im oso taking a risk by switching with a new doc as kkh had all my medical reports..so i oso see how it goes. maybe u can discuss with ur husband again.

Hi moonfairy and puipui80,

I was with Dr Foong.. all the way from pre-pregnancy to pregnancy to delivery.... no worries.. he is equally good. We found him to be detailed and as caring as when we were trying to get pregnant. I got pregnant doing SO-IUI ( I have PCOS) with Dr Foong. As he is familiar with my case, we just let him follow through the entire process. No worries.... perhaps should treat him as any normal gynae other than a fertility specialist.

When I try for my no. 2... I will go back to see him again..

Hi picnic,

really relieved to hear that..i was worried that i had to search for a high risk specialist if i get pregnant..but if he handled ur case well, im much more assured.. i just didnt wan to end up having another miscarriage. esp if it could have been avoided if the doc had been more thorough.

thanks very much for sharing..i feel more at ease now so i can concentrate on the ivf.

hi moonfairy,

dun be sad..i know its been really hard on u..we will all pray for u, okie? u mus take care of urself first and boost ur health. dun worry so much and let nature take its course.

i oso tot of adopting, but it should only be a last resort..so tat at least u wun think abt whether have u tried hard enough and have regrets lata on. do believe that miracles can happen. just dun give up on urself!

Hi puipui,

I guess he will take extra care with your pregnancy (when you conceived) esp you had a miscarriage before into your 2nd trim. Perhaps you have to let him know your concerns. Take it easy, k? Good luck with your ivf..

today DPO11... fingers and toes crossed... i am trying to focus on other things so that i will not think too much... and this works well, this week seems to have passed pretty fast, without me noticing!!!

hi moonfairy

dun worry too much, now most impt thing is to keep urself healthy and stress-free. Go shopping or meet up with ur friends for a good meal, or perhaps go for a trip to relax urself. dun give up on urself, u have come so far!

Hi puipui,
whether u r going thru ivf, in kkivf or private, the luteal phase support really dends on what yr body require at that point of time. i hv gone thru 2 ivf at kkivf n 1 at tmc. the 1st time at kkivf , i needed daily jab aft et cos my progesterone is low n the 2nd time 1 only require oral prognovara ( can't remember the spelling)n pessaries insertion. as for tmc, progesterone was low so required jab on alternate days. so it really depends on yr body rather than the practise of the clinic. so far, i don't see much difference between kk n tmc, basically why i went to tmc is because they are able to do assisted hatching on my embies. kk can do it but it is only when necessary. so far, the nurses at kk are very gd, esp nurse sarah. my hb travels a lot n i hv phobia towards needles. once, sarah leart that my hb will b away during a public hols, so i hv 2 jab my self, she actually offered to come to kkivf( kkivf was closed on tat day) n jab me, without me asking n no charge. that was her off day, i was very touched n felt bad/guilty at the same time cos it's her off day n she is not living exactly near kk. as far as i kn, kk really h very high success rate for those couples with male factor.
above is jus my 2 cents worth, hopefully it's of help to u

hi quando,

thanks for sharing..i was quite surprised coz i tot kkivf uses the jabs for all paitients aft et. u mean u had to jab urself? we were made to cm dwn everyday for 17 days to do the jab coz we werent allowed to do it ourselves. it was very inconvinient lor..my husband had to drive me there early to reach by 7.30am have the jab then bring me hm and go to work by 8.30am.

we changed to gleneagles coz of this reason..when i asked dr foong wat is the medication like after et, whether it will be jabs as well..he said he uses the 1 u mentioned, oral cum insertion. duno leh, but he told us that the kkivf jabs are actually the old method and jus gives us pain in the buttocks. the other is not painful and just as effective, maybe even better. my sis gyne told her same thing, so tat was why we chose pte clinic instead.

but i agree that the nurses at kkivf are very good..i cant remember 2 of their names but they always so cheerful when they saw me and taught me alot of how to handle myself as i had signs of ohss. so i really felt tat they cared alot..we decided that if we dun get pregnant at dr foong, then we will go bk to kkivf lor.

i went to the preadoption talk today, very informative..there are 700 adoptions carried out every year so its become a minority group in sg now..the talk was full house, at least 15 to 20 couples..some very young, some very old. surprised to see a number of foreigners as well..did u know that if adopt from cambodia, need to do a report every year till the child is 18 yrs old. and only us citizens are allowed to adopt from vietnam..only malaysia and indonesia have no restrictions, a hsr will suffice..it was good to know more but i rather try very hard myself first..and not do it on an impulse.

thanks picnic, i cross my fingers that i will get good result under dr foong..my husband says pay more get better result with less pain..hahah, dunno wat theory

chloe, im praying for u..jia you! really hope this is it!

i started my jabs today..tot it was suppose to be tis monday..using different meds tis time..superflac and then gonal-f. hopefully i will respond better and have more better quality embryos..u r rite moonfairy, by rite suppose to be ard 12 days of stimulation..

he said tat tme i did only 8 days may be why my egg quality not good due to kkh pushing me too hard and fast..so he will monitor and see the outcome of tis cycle and compare.

been very stress and nervous, havent been sleeping well..i feel like im going to fall sick any time..im now trying to go spa and not think so much to relax more..hope the spa helps, hahha

hi moonfairy,

u r back in jakarta now?
have a good rest and im happy for u that ur in-laws are understanding..its really nice to have family support..im sure ur hubby will pamper u these 2 mths..rest well and take care of urself.

tis time wasnt using lucrin..now usin superflac..its more stinging than lucrin so i found it alittle pain pain
..the dosage is alot more oso..50 units compared to lucrin which was ard 20 units last time i think. im not sure the cost gonal-f yet..im going bk on the 10th..will update u on the price by then..he did mention the price is abt the same as puregon though.

chloe, very excited for u..hope u got gd news for us soon
take care of urself!

hi chloe,

13 days very fast oredi..yeah, its better to keep ur mind off it so tat u wun get stress and worried. anyway, keeping my fingers crossed for u.

take care!

hi puipui

today, i a bit ki siao, dunno wat's wrong with me, went to order coffee to drink! Have been avoiding caffeine all these while...

14DPO, i think hor, i have started to be very conscious about it already...

hi chloe,

alittle coffee wun hurt, just dun drink too much too often.

getting excited for u, maybe this is it..i read in another thread, a lady had twins thru iui. yup, u will be aware of it some how..i oso had that feeling before the actual test last time.. hope u have sm good news for us soon!

hi puipui

no special feeling yet leh...

for the last cycle, AF came on 18DPO... so hor, looks like i have to tahan until 18DPO before i will suspect something has happened... aiyoh, me getting more and more conscious about the days liao...

AF arrived just now (15DPO) when i went toilet to pass motion. i am really taken by surprise this time, cos there are no warning signs at all... Well, fated lar. Seeing dr tomm to discuss wat to do next.

the jabs are really stinging..quite surprised coz lucrin not as painful..now jus tahan lor..been feeling rather down with my husband away in reservice..quite stress with this ivf and all..

dear chloe, sorry to hear tat ur af arrived. i will always pray for u and hope tat dr foong have other treatments to help u..most important is not to give up and remain upbeat..i know its tough but i believe tat we can make it 1 day

hi puipui

i am not mentally prepared that AF will come so early cos it came at 18DPO last cycle... Moreover, i've got no AF symptoms... Most likely, i will ask dr to let me try for one more cycle of IUI.

Hi Chloe

I am so sorry to hear about the af. Dont be discouraged,I know how it feels. Just go pamper yourself for today. as for me, i have to put everything on hold for now as there were some tail ends to tie up following my husband's hospitalisation.More check-ups ;-( I'm praying that my hubby's health will be ok. At first i felt very discouraged as it seemed that obstacles kept coming our way in this journey to parenthood. Now i am better cos decided not to think too much la.

hi chloe,

i understand how u r feeling..the road to having a child is never easy and always filled with worries and disappointment..but we can only tell ourselves to try and try again. my husband has been brainwashing me to accept disappoinment and not to give up so easily should i fail tis ivf as well. but i know u r a strong person and will have the faith and courage to continue on this baby making journey.

do take strawberry advice and give u and ur hubby a break, have a nice dinner or see a show. i think both of u deserve some pampering

dear strawberry, hope ur husband is feeling better now..i will remember him in my prayers and tat he will get better soon..do take care of urself as well, yup its definitely better not to think so much..glad u r feeling better and hope i can take after u by not thinking so much as im a worrier by nature

Thank you so much for the encouragement. Well, i am a bit sad, but i guess i am already quite seasoned to manage my emotions. Now, just wanna divert my attention to other things, be it work or like wat strawberry said, pamper myself lor. To think of it positively, if the cycle is futile, then it might be good to have AF come early so that can start next cycle early, save time mah!

Strawberry, i hope the outcome of ur husband's checkup will be fine. i think u have come a long way too, and i really really hope things will work out for u. Same goes to moonfairy and puipui, those terrible needles hurt!

Gals, let's cheer and buck up together!

i will update u all my discussion with dr after i see him tomm... ok, now, i just wanna think of where to go for lunch (*pamper myself mah*)

felt very irritable just now..my mum called and she has a habit of asking , so how, u got see ur gyne? when u doing ur ivf? when u adopting? aiyo, i am so tired of all her questions..when i said ivf see how, she was like yeah, wait lah, dun rush, blah blah blah..when i say not adopting lioa, she say why? i say i dun wan to rush anyway not im infertile mah, have to try myself first..then she went on and on abt hw its normal to not have children, 2 pple oso jus nice, blah blah blah..make me so upset..i jus say aiya, i dun wan to tok abt it lah..am i being too mean?