Dr HO from Mt Alvernia

Dr Ho is more expensive compared to some other so call famous gynae and his consultation/scanning time is shorter as well but still will go back to him for my next pregnancy. He is such a fine gynae, so.. so... so.... much better than those I've seen previously.

Anyone done 4D scan at Dr Ho's clinic & how much does he charge you?

U mean dr ho has 4d scans now? He din hav it during my previous preg and that was the only thing I complained abt cos I was very eager to c my boy 4d tat time...
Dr ho may b exp but he is definitely worth evry cent. I heard he just raised his prices when I went for my PAP smear last mth.
I dunno anything abt his religion, he din preach to me when I was seeing him... Mayb he noes we dun share the same religion.

yes, he did a 4d scan for me last mth b4 i went back to msia to give birth. he charges me $50 for the scan & i tot 4d scan would cost much more according to my colleagues. he was so kind to even print 2 pix of my girl. some says he is sort of money face but i dun really agree. he actually gave me a $500 discount early last year for D&C. mayb based on mine & my hubby's occupation, he knows we r not rich. dat's very kind of him actually.

wow, got discount? when we went to see him the first time, he even say we have to take into consideration the gynae charges before choosing a gynae when all i ask is "when does package start?" jus that mth alone, we spent close to 2k on him. but i must say he seems gd la. his scan machine also very sharp.

when he knows we are christians, he also use bible to lecture us leh but he didn't say he is so i presume he came from a christian sch setting but may not ness be christian?

his 4d scan so cheap? think he gives his patients special rate since we all pay alot from the start

i didn't ask for disc, dr ho juz give. he doesn't prefer his patient to negotiate on his charges, he WILL give disc if he think it's necessary he says to me. yes, we shd know the charges b4 seeing the gynae. i've read in other forum commenting dr ho's charges being too steep, regreting seeing him for so long, blah blah blah..... i was thinking, if one think dr ho's charges are too steep, etc, he/she should have stopped seeing him, why continue to see him & get so upset at the end?

i doubt dr ho charges so cheap for a 4d scan. mayb a kind gesture since dat's my last visit for my pregnancy. wanted my girl to be delivered by dr ho but due to some issues, went back to msia for delivery.

Hi 09022007,
I agree wif what u said... Why complain abt the charges aft choosing the doc...??? I think it's very impt to be comfortable wif ur gynae, if the charges are making the person feel unhappy, then perhaps changing doc will be a good idea.

hi 09022007 n freshpoison 77,

i hope u don't mistake my postings as complains. tt's not my intension, i jus wanted to get some feedback n support from choosing dr ho so would like to hear from patients who have seen him or are still seeing him.

it's not that i can't afford to pay, i have no idea who he is before my preg n i jus called mt a to ask them to give me a dr's rec as i really don't know where to go n none of my friends have used him so i have no reference and as i am a first time mom, of cos i am "gan jiong" n also seldom pp post anything on him recently as well.

then everyone kept asing me why my dr charges me so much. i've no experience in this area so i jus told them mine is a special case since i have some complications at the start.

this preg has not been easy for me, hope to get support from fellow pp seeing dr ho tt's all

I just want to share that Dr Ho is not mercanary. His reason to up his price, he told me before is to give quality service. He ever started his clinic at KK and worked until wee hrs - no life. Now I guess he wants to give quality service and not just accepting more and more patients. But that doesn't mean only rich ppl can see him lor just b'cos he increase his fees. I mean I am not very rich too.

He is a very nice doc. He doesn't talk much but once he open he can be quite nice doc to talk to..Give you assurance and make you trust him. Sometimes sharing his bits of personal experience etc.

hehehe... little twin stars, i knew u r not complaining lar. wat i mentioned earlier is not referred to u but someone else in another forum. dun worry, dr ho is definately a great gynae... if u dun mind paying the extra that is. enjoy ur pregnancy.

hi clovy n 09022007,

i started my preg seeing him once a wk until wk14 that's why i feel the pinch. now have to see hin every 2wks. thank god my hubby set aside money for this baby. too bad my body is weak and i am paranoid as well as this baby is not easy to come by so dr ho wanted to assure me by seeing me often instead of once a mth. also my hubby wants to check on our baby often jus in case as we lost one of our baby at 10wks.
guess each situation is different. dr ho did assure us that he is gd with complicartions as well if any arises (touch wood la)

clovy n 09022007 (always scared i type one number wrongly,hehe)
thanks for the assurance.
r u guys seeing him now? in the midst of preg or delivered?

I m seeing him once a week now..few weeks more to delivery...
little twin stars,
how far r u in ur preg now?

little twin star,
i've already given birth. a wk more bb will be 1 mth old! i had a miscarriage early last year (9th Feb 07 = 09022007). dr ho also adviced me to see him more often during 1st tri, once every 2 wks due to previous case where i lost my bb at 16 wks gestation.

aria,

congrats, u r almost there! me still long way to go. me 16wks coming 17wks only. once a wk is very often for u as well. did u manage to sign package? my preg is stable now, hopefully he'll allow my case to sign package.

let me know how's mt a later k
i never stay there before but hubby likes the environment alot. very suitable for delivery as it's so peaceful there plus i heard the confinement food there is yummy!

congrats!!!! u must be busy preparing for the 1mth celebration

u must be shock to loose yr first bb at 16wks. but at least there is a rainbow at the end n u managed to conceive soon after.

my body seems weak, i had an early miscarriage mid 06 when i was with another dr who told me to not think about it n didn;t check on the status on my womb. then no news until i finally got preg end last yr n was blessed to have twins but lost one at 10wks as when i went kk 24hr clinic for bladder pain, the dr there gave me antibiotics n i lost 1 bb few days later
then when i ask them what happ, another senior dr say i didn;t have bladder infection n need no antibiotics but of cos they will cover up n say it;s not their fault. i only went kk cos i found out i'm having twins so better go there, if not i will never go kk. nit ever again

i didn't dare tell anyone about my preg then cos so much drama, so don't know where to go. i nly know i want mt a, so called mt a for referal n search here for comments on dr ho before going. my friends later all think i'm too garang to do that with no friend's rec causing me to panic but after finding out my dr is dr ho, they say i very lucky to choose such a gd dr n didn't end up with any other ones in mt a

Hello there! I have already given birth abt 9mths ago liao. Enjoy my stay at Mt. A. There's delicious confinement food offered, not so commercial and not crowded. There was a sister/nun who will vist the new mums she is so ci xiang...I think if you are a catholic she will bless the baby? I dunno cos I am a free thinker which she found out through the conversation. Dr Ho will go to 2 hospital for your labour - Mt. A and TMC. I chose Mt. A. I think TMC is too crowded, too commercialise. I heard they even have spa package for mums-to-be! Of course you pay more money lor. Then there's very pro lactation specialists/consultants who will visit all the newly admitted mums to help them to brastfeed their baby if they choose to. Nurses are friendly, can easily start a conversation with them. On the day of my discharge there is a nurse who would accompany me all the way to the hospital entrance to see me off! Carried my baby all the way to the doorstep. So nice and kind of her.

little twin star,
ya lor..last appt abit of high blood la..he was worried so ask me to c him once a wk..heh...
yup..i sign up the package cos more worth..
i also m/c last yr cos blighted ovum..the d & c he performed was well done..i conceived after 1 cycle of mense.
I visited him wkly during my 1st trim also..cos not stable..
ok will keep u posted abt mt A

clovy,

belated congrats! hee, than u can give us more advice
mt a sounds gd lei
i also don;t like tmc, think it's another kk to me...crowded! they have spa at mt a? how does it work? u go in a few wks before giving birth? does mt a do water birth? btw, can we choose midwife? my friend who gave birth at mt a said her midwife came in n fiercely told her, no noise! no shouting! jus keep quiet! when my friend didn't even do anything yet, she was jus admitted to labour ward only.

mifi=aria?
u very fertile! next cycle conceive! i have to wait a year plus!

high blood need to monitor. my friend had high blood n she gave birth 6wks earlier. it's always gd to have close monitoring es if it;s our first child cos we will be gan jiong

haha!try to relax n dun gan cheong cos ur bb can feel it..so far i m still ok la..jus need close monitoring..n culprit cld the all the cny goodies n lack of rest...hahaha...
oreadi got lecture by dr ho liaoz...now very obedient...
oh ya..little twin stars,dun forget to moisturise ur tummy..v impt...so wun get stretch marks...

littletwinstars,

I gave birth in Jan last year. At that time Mt A did not have water births, but one of the suites does have a tub for you to sit in till delivery if you want.
From what I know only a couple of gynaes in Sg do water births and you can only do water births only in cases of low-risk and stable pregnancies, and of course everything is subject to the approval of your gynae. I don't think Dr Ho does water births though; he did not seem like the type who is willing to experiment. To him mummy and baby's safety is the most important.

<font color="aa00aa">hi everyone,

I also saw him recently... like everyone says he's very confident, very experienced (someone said he's delivered 15,000 babies rite?) and no nonsense straightforward in-yr-face type of doctor.

I guess I'm comfortable with him but did make appt to see another gynae 2.5 wks later beforehand cos my friend recommended. So wanted to see which one i felt more assured with.

Then dr Ho also asked me to come back in about 2 weeks. so for convenience i decided to schedule on that same day I'm going to see the other gynae.

then after leaving the clinic, i thot - wah quite weird rite? go two gynaes in one day - not like they will tell me anything different.

what were your experiences, when you were searching for a gynae?</font>

Hi little twin stars,

Wah lau, I think you misunderstood me... I din mean you, I was juzt saying "in general" abt how we shldn't 'complain' aft making our choices... I apologise if I made you feel otherwise.

My bb is already coming to 17mths... I delivered @ MtA. Loved the hospital, loved the confinement food, loved the nurses... (esp considering the fact that I chose the 4 bedded ward cos was afraid of rocket-high hospital charges) I wasn't shown any attitude even though I was in the 'cheaper' type of ward.

mifi,

i always forget to apply oil. my skin has become very dry n tummy itchy also. last nt started to put liao.

sheri,
i think i will just stick to what is fast and quick. hee. i though preg is a time to eat whatever i want and have the liscense to be fat, but i didn't know end up so many things cannot eat

dr ho's scan very sharp, wander which mth can tell gender. he told me most prob , then now tell me still early, better wait for detailed scan. so can't do shopping yet

ch lee,

if i were u, i will schedule the other dr the next wk so i can get to see baby everyweek
whcih dr were u thinking of going? i was deciding between dr ho n douglas ong as i found out most of my friends are seeing him but i don;t like mt e....very busy place. i like mt a....serene n calm, each consultation, i feel peaceful n not so hectic so just stay on. moreover i heard, dr ho's known as a "painless dr"

freshpoison77,
scare me, i though is there something wrong with my post. but i jus write in case got any miscom....then i was thinking, don;t tell me my hormones are bullying me again. hee hee. no worries, all's cool

<font color="aa00aa">i was thinking of dr Joycelyn Wong from TMC. my friend went to her, and said waiting time was never longer than 30 mins, stitching so good 2nd day painless (same as Dr ho i guess), and very sweet patient reassuring doc, good for first time mummies.

so now I'm kinda confused. so thot at least meet her... then if both are just as confidence inspiring, and perhaps her package is cheaper, then can consider.

although ironically 1-bedder in tMC more exp than in MAH. want to tour both hospitals before deciding too lor.... </font>

little twin stars,
rem not to scratch no matter how itchy it is..very fatal 1 leh.once the marks show its perm liaoz :p
Just rem to moisturise religiously...
i knew my bb gender ard 13 wks..cos legs always open wide wide..

ch lee,

i only consider but i never visited douglas ong. we didn't even bother going for hospital tours now. when i first got preg, i more gan jiong....wanna go hos tours n also see diff gynaes...now sian already. as long as reputable and it's what we want can liao. tmc is out for me cos of the crazy parking n it;s so busy. at this point, my hubby told me not to think anymore n jus stick to dr ho. if not i'll end up visiting n visiting n first consultaion is always alot more. it's really up to yr comfort level i guess. how many wks r u?

<font color="aa00aa">yah that's true.... but actually today when i went to MAH the parking was very packed also and the first floor was so crowded with so many people!

but i think parking at MAH is still better than TMC - quite expensive and even more limited. at least there's a shuttle to MAH from Novena - saw the signs at the mrt station. anyone knows how often that shuttle is?

I am 6 weeks already... so surprised to see the heartbeat so clearly today!

mifi,

yrs must be boy right? mine also suppose to b boy. when i saw him with my mom, he zoom in and told my mom most prob boy. than at 16wks, he didn't zoom but pointed out the "stick"to us but still don;t wanna tell us 100% boy lei es when i said i wanna go shhopping,hee. i scratch lei, then got red marks but it'll go away soon. so far no marks (touch wood)

ch lee,

congrats, no wander u r at the deciding phase. i passed that phase cos now 16wks so too "lay chay" to change liao plus dr ho has my details already. when i was at the deciding stage, i was driving my hubby crazy!
plus i kept my preg a secret so no one to ask for advice! normally if i'm late, i'll do valet park before 2pm and parking is cheap compared to mt e! so far when i go see dr ho,i don;t need to wait very long unless i change my app last min

actually last time when I saw Dr Ho I never waited longer than 20-30min unless he was away delivering.
Try to take the first appt of the morning or afternoon if you can, then dun need to wait so long.

All MTBs here, jia you, and may you have wonderful experiences!

Oh yeah, and littletwinstars, please watch your diet hor. Dun regret like me, I put on 16kg and felt very bad for 3 months after I popped. Coz most of the weight I put on is USELESS weight and stayed on me instead of baby, heehee. For the first month after birth all I lost was like 5-6kg. Actually when you are pregnant you only need extra 500 calories per day, so dun try to eat for two.

little twin stars,
he wun confirm the gender til detail scan..tat's his style..he will only say how many % likely to be boy or gal...relax la..few more wks..will be ur detail scan..
mine is boy..marks usually dun appear so early :p..but have to take care now..

Hi little twin stars (stardiva), I agree with what ClaireMummy (sherl) said. I ever asked for dr ho opinion abt water birth cos I know mt. a can do water birth; they have that facility. He said safety comes first and he doesnt do water birth wor..

Hey mummies, understand dr ho is experience good doc. Any idea how old is he? Curious to know. Sometimes if he is not too busy and doesn't look tired, he look ok but when he is otherwise, he looked very old to me. Hahahaa..If there is a chance ask him straight leh, see whether he want to answer or not.

he is very nice.. He feels that hubby shd be with wife throughout the labour period. My hubby was ever called out by a nurse. She said that my parents-in-law were outside and wanted to talk to him. Then dr ho was not happy with the nurse and said who gave permission that hubby can go out from the labour suite. Hahahaa...dunno whether he felt that the nurse see him no up or what cos nurse treated dr ho transparent? Anyway he told me that he doesn't encourage hb to leave wife in the labour suite esp when wife need HB the most during this period.

Very sweet right?

<font color="aa00aa">haha can calculate roughly. Apparently he graduated from NUS with MBBS in 1978. So let's say he was 23 then. So that would make his birth year 1955. So he's about 53 this year?

yah from what he said to me he's a zero risk guy. don't ask him whether other multi vites are ok. all are not okay until proven ok. which are those that he has checked and is issuing.

well i was 10 mins late (i even called 5 mins before the appt time and said i was rushing there trying to get a cab from mrt) and in the end, had to wait for 1 hour.

Hi little twin stars (stardiva), I used to go polyclinic then referred to KKH. But waiting time was super long even though fees was very cheap cos referred by polyclinic and doc assigned to me then seemed so young and inexperience. Feeling insecure and complained to one of my galfrenz she recommended me to dr ho. Said he is good but mothers feel that his fees is high so I may also think so too. Which I do but HB told me not to be so niao on our baby that's y I changed my mind and sticked to him. Till now no regrets. Hehehee..gg to save up money to prepare for my 2nd one, I am gg to him again. =) Currently ttc for 2009 baby. Pray hard I dun hv to wait long!

Hahahaa...Hi CH Lee, same experience for me too. The nurse would always call me to check whether I will be early for appmt else I would have to wait very long.

Hey I like the booster energy pills he prescribed me. I think the pills really work wonder or am I just oversensitive? Have you tried that? The nurse said first few weeks will be very tired for new mummies so will prescribe this energy booster pills.

clovy,

That is indeed very sweet.

Hope I can still afford to go back to Dr Ho again in a couple of years' time!

clairemummy,
i don;t eat alot, most of the time i eat for the sake of eating unless that day the food appeals to me particularly . so far i lost weight in first tri. only recently i picked up went back to pre preg weight. i only eat junk on weekends

mifi,
ya, think dr will not confirm gender till then. gotta tahan 4more wks. when dr ho say can't confirm gender on sat i asked him, u mean now become girl? then he pointed to us and say...still there la. haha
i better be diligent in applying the stretchmark oil! tks!

clovy,
don;t do water birth nevermind, as long as painless labour! i scared of labour from all the documentaries i've watched

first trimester i;m seldom tired, only beginning of 2nd tri. also it deppends leh, tt;s why i don;t need booster. hubby say first baby better don;t stinge es when our baby not easy to come by. kkh really cannot make it. i was a patient at pte suite somemore n when i called the nurse to want to meet the dr urgently cos i was in pain, the nurse say cannot, just go 24hr clinic and get any dr to see me! u trying for 2009 baby...so fast! all the best!

ch lee,
think that time he prob came from a delivery, cos my first app, i waited very long, the nurse was nice, asked if i've eaten. then ask me to go ans eat first, she gave me an estimated time n was very accurate. u can ask the nurse to call u when it's coming yr turn as well

Hi 09022007 and little twin stars,

I had have a miscarriage too, happened on Dec 2007, I am now expecting, moving on to the 6th week. Would like to know if you can share your experience with me? I am worried cos Dr. Ho said I have a high risk of miscarriage again due to the previous case. Thanks

Hi little twin stars (stardiva), fast meh? Alot of ppl say 2 yrs age gap children are the best not too far apart and end up siblings not close. One yr age gap I cannot cope. Then all the stuff can recycle for the 2nd one, trying to save cost, energy and effort actually.

wendy,

for that u have to ask the fertile one mifi

clovy,

oh, ya by then just nice. for me i also don;t dare think if no. 2 yet. but since this one is most prob a boy, i will wanna try for a girl

little twin stars,
i think he dun wan to set ur hope high n later disappoint la..thou can see little bird bird clearly..he will wait till detail scan.

wendy,
if u r high risk to m/c ..he will probably put u on duphaston n injection weekly till 13 wks..me also went thru this..i mus admit he abit kiasu but that shows he's a cautious n responsible doc..

mifi,
thanks for replying

i am prescribed with duphaston and had a jab yesterday, going for another one on thurs. however, due to the previous m/c and had light bleeding , that made me more fearful. going to see him next mon. do u have to see him weekly during the first trimester?

clovy,
i only say i will try for a girl the next time la. i'm no guru, hehe. but alot of people predicted mine will be a boy even before i got pregnant! i like girls lei cos can dress up and when i go shopping, so many nice girl's clothes, so tempted to buy lei. i even wanted to decorate my baby's room in hello kitty style....the moment i said that, my baby kicked me. wander if it's out of protest. haha

mifi,
till now i also never tell people the gender in case see wrongly. 4 more wks!!

wendy,
dr ho also put me on wkly progesterone jabs to stabilize preg and i had to eat the hormone pills 3 times a day as well all the way in my first trimester. yes, i also had to see him every week during my first trimester but it helps to assure us, as normal drs see their patients 3-4wks once only but guess for us, need close monitoring. don;t worry, when u are closely monitored with all the jabs to support, it will be fine. my friend even had to go to the dr every 2days for the progesterone jab as she was spotting thru her first trimester. she already gave birth

little twin stars,
thank you for the encouragement
i felt much better knowing that i'm not alone to face so many unknowns. just for thoughts....if u really want a baby girl, try to consume more meat or seafoods than greens, the chances of having a girl is very high. that i was told by a chinese physician.

Hi wendy (wtangyt),

you don't worry so much. You know "tai(1) jiao(4)"? Must always stay happy then baby will sense it and be happy. You worry too much then baby will like to worry too. Put your faith in Dr Ho. He is good professional and experience doctor. I am sure he will try his best to ensure a smooth delivery.

This is interesting. So boy shall be vice versa eat more veg? I only heard something abt calendar..Some website show a calendar that will determine whether you hv a gal/boy e.g. http://www.thelaboroflove.com/chart/index.html. Dunno how true is it. =)

Think its good to have 1 gal and 1 boy - more balance mah daddy, mummy and 1 gal 1 boy. 1st baby not so pressurised. 2nd one starts to pray liao..Hahahaaa...just jesting huh! Gal or boy still our child so shd not mind so much, ok?

wendy,

now i preg i eat more meat n seafood but boy lei. u mean must eat while trying is it? before preg i eat more well balanced diet ....alamak, i think i ate more veg when trying. no wander. now preg, i oppo, eat more meat

clovy,

the chinese calender not accurate one. it shows i shld have a girl. but the ang moh one say boy so how to believe..mostly always 50/50