Dr HO from Mt Alvernia

He's simply fabulous! My 2nd child was deliverd by him and it's great! No painful stitches, in fact, I can pee and sit cross legged barely 8hrs after birthing. Also, cannot even see the stitches. He's very experienced and confident! Higly recommended. If you need a chat , you can call me at 81122212, no prob, cheers!

My sis in law got him, and she said the same thing about his stitches too. : ) But is he the sort who is sympathetic to pain, or is he the scornful sort? How about his caesar skills?

He is my gynae and my bb was deliverd by him in early Jan'04. He is very good and like what Yvonne mentioned, I got no painful stitches too. I am sure will go back to him for next child.

thanks for feedback..i am a first time mother so quite nervous about it...
can anyone advise me what are the procedures for 1st appt?
many thanks

I think shd be HK Ho. He's my gynae too & i personally think he is a experience gynae. overall, i'm pleased with him cos although he's is abit kiasu, i realised he wants to make sure both mother n bb is safe n sound under his care. I did not experience painful stitches & i healed well.

Btw, the nurses in his clinic may appear "cold" but actually they r very nice ppl. One of them even come to my labour ward to see how i'm coping with my labour & gave me her encouragement. :p

Dr Ho is also my gynae..althou i juz start going to him when im going 5months, i tink that he's quite ok....
my fear was to stay alone in the hospital when i give birth..
any1 can suggest which room should i choose?

Dr Ho is wonderful. He delivered my ds in Dec 03 and like what other mums mentioned, no painful stitches. In fact, the nurses exclaimed that all Dr Ho's patients do not need painkillers!!
Highly recommended!!

I must say his assistant, Susan, is also very nice. But pls don ask dr ho questions that he expects you to know by reading up yourself. He is not so patient with that : )

Yes, he's Dr Ho Hon Kwok, for short, we call him Dr HK Ho. Correct! I'm someone who's really scared of pain, but I did not need painkillers at all from him, WONDERFUL!!! Yes, he's very experienced and gentle. He was last time from KK hosp, he has delivered more than 20,000 babies liao. Also worked in UK before, thus very very knowledgeable! In case you need to know, his clinic is at Mt Alvernia 6353-8833. Agree, I love Susan too, very nice lady! And even during birthing, the nurses are really good and experienced! All the nurses at Mt Alvernia also say that Dr Ho is GREAT!

He is also my gynae. my 2 girls were delivered by him No stitches at all. He is friendly and likes to talk. That's why the waiting time is very long. I think his charge is abit too expensive but wat to do, you want this kind of service, you pay for this price.

BD consultation is around $70 if im not wrong, but if u are going there for regular checkup, i tink they'll ask u to take up their package...if u wan to know more, can call them, the telephone number is as above...

i had juz given birth last week, actually no need any stitches but i happened to push tooo hard & fast, then stitches are needed...

for my case no. As long as u cooperate and push when necessary, u won't nedd any stitches after delivery.

hi emma,

i had ceasar done by Dr Ho. Have to say he's really really good. Not much pain and i was up and about the next day. no worries about having to clean the wound and change the bandage or whatsoever. did not need to bother about the wound when i went home. i had one set of stiches removed one week later and the final set the next week. in fact, the operation was the least of my problems.

lingzi, i tink actually for my case also no, coz i push toooo hard n didnt coperate nicely, therefore, i need some stitches, for ur info, the stitches is alrite, and he'll give u some painkiller if u scare pain...

Hui32, I think that's great! I might consider going to Dr Ho for my next delivery. Btw may I know for your hospital bill, how much you need to pay after CPF deduction?

I'm new on this thread. Got my first appointment with Dr Ho in August...have to wait for more than 1 month for my first appointment with him. He's really popular!!!
I'm not pregnant yet, but am starting my family-planning. So thought better go for a first thorough checkup. Never been to a gynae before, quite apprehensive and scared. What to do, I'm such a coward...very scared of needles and blood that's why postpone going to gynae for so long (Have been married 2 years lor).
Could someone let me know what to expect for my first checkup? So that I'm abit more prepared!

ckluv2travel, the 1st appt that i went there was in feb this year, and im 4mths pregnant, did a scanning and a blood test...
but u starting for family planning rite?im not sure whether he wil ask u for the blood test anot...just relax when u are there, the nurses there are all very frdly 1...

Is Dr Ho the type of doc who will encourage you to go for natural birth (meaning wait for you to "pop") or who would insist for induce birth?

He doesnt advocate induction, he is more concern about the health of the mother and bb. For me, I was a high blood pressure case and to avoid pre-eclampsia, he had me induced at 37+ weeks. Same goes for my gf who had gestational diabetes, she was induced at 38 weeks.

HI all would like to check, how much is Dr Ho package? Is he very detailed? He scan for every visit? is he the one that will explain everything to you and very patient?

hi apple,
there is a package that u can signed up on your 16th week..it will cost $600 for all consultations and scanning..but for your 20th week, u will need to pay additional $100 for thorough scanning
hope this helps

hi apple,
personally i find dr ho quite friendly and gentle so far..and he is quite professional. so far he has been quite detailed in the checkups..
one of my friend sis also uses him for delivery of her 2 babies...so not to worry

Hi chiart

Do you still remember for the first time when you went to him for your checkup , how much does he charge? subsequet charge roughly how much other than package?

I'm using doc ho too for my 2nd one (now only abt 12 wks). Got to see him almost ev wk or so cos preg was not v stable loh. He's really nice and v assuring. Got to know him cos he diagnosed and operated on my mum who's got ovarian cancer. A v experienced doc who is also a fren and counsellor at your times of need. Can't tell you how difficult it was to hear tt mum had cancer (standing outside op theatre, past 12 midnite etc, abit like tv show), he did it in a sensitive way tt was both upfront and yet encouraging. He visited my mum early in the morn the next day to break the news to her and encouraged her to fight on. He's not the type of patronising doc that tells you "It's ok, you'll definitely make it" etc, he'll tell you what he knows and encourage you to move on w grace and strength.

I am so glad I hv him as my 2nd gynae after my not too gd experience w my 1st doc. Must say his nurses are excellent too, don't think they are cold like someone said leh...

apple(blur2) I think dr ho charges $70 for consultation... subsequently also $70 unless it's on package.

hi apple,
how are u doing?
think for the 1st time, i pay about 180 plus...that actually includes consultation, urine and protein test, and i took some medication back as well..so add up about 180 plus..
he will do scanning for u on your first visit...
how many months pregnant are u now?
his package will start on your 16th week

just curiousity, i heard from some friends, they say their gyane are very good as they able to know certain things by feeling the stomach and once they scan, it is really wat she say...

wonder is Dr Ho also that expert?

every visit there will be scanning rite? heard some ppl say always scan, is not very good for the baby. How true is it?

Hi apple,

I'm only in 1st trimester, stomach still small small, nothing to touch and tell I think (except lard), so don't know. =)
But I guess he probably doesn't touch to gauge.

For my 1st gynae (also practising in Mt A), she does scans and lets me hear my baby's heartbeat almost ev time til birth, w/o me asking for it. When I asked doc ho to let me hear the heartbeat of my foetus, he told me there are some who say that that may not be gd for baby loh, cos of the higher dosage of power used. For the same reason, 3D scans may not be all that fantastic too.

Don't think scans in general wld harm baby tho. Otherwise it wldn't be used. Don't worry too much ya.

Btw, my preg is fine now. Tks for the well wishes.

for my first visit to dr ho, i paid roughly $200 plus coz i did some blood test, collect some vitamins, did some scanning...its becoz i went to him too late, that time i was already 4th mth pregnant..
after that i paid around $600 for the package too..it dnt include medicine or bloodtest, or any detailed scan...as for the baby's heartbeat test was not included also..

nearer to the date of my delivery, he found out that my baby din put on any weight, so did some heartbeat test for baby, and he asked mi to monitor the baby's movement, whether the baby did kick me every day for 10times...
one week later, i put on 2kg..

after that i juz wait for my edd lor..if nt i will have to give birth earlier, this wat he told mi..

he was quite orite..
a nice gynea..

but eventually, he told mi that my edd was 15july then later on nearer to the edd he told mi my date was 25jul...

i went to him for appt on 9jul, did some heartbeat test for baby, normal appt, he din tell mi that im going to deliver soon..
after that on the day late afternoon, ard evening time, i notice some water coming out from mi, then in the morning ard 1am on 10jul, i went down to mt a...
then nurse @ the delivery suite ask mi to admit coz i got some shows of contraction...
in the morn 8am when doc ho came to check mi, he broke my water bag, then contraction became very very pain...finally i gave birth on 11am++
then i asked him, tot u said my edd was 25jul, then he replied, i calculate the wrong date...

i was unprepared that i will give birth on that day...

but overall, his a very nice doc....
once u see the baby coming out from u, all the pains will be gone...

those who just visited Dr Ho, i just wonder how much is his package now? still $600?

Btw, what is his opening days/hours?

Hi blur green,

Dr Ho is abt in his 40s (prime for specialists). The clinic operates full day (from 830am - 5pm) on weekdays (except for Wed + Fri). Wed, Fri + Sat he operates half day (830am - 1pm).

Nurses are nice. I have spotting when I was 6 weeks pregnant and have to go thru twice weekly hormone injections until I reach 13th week.
Nurses are very friendly and most of the injections were pretty painless.

His clinic is pretty crowded (esp esp Sat) so be prepared to wait around 1hr or so.

Hi sgmom

beside taking take injection , did you take pills?

btw is your spotting, light brown color?

cos happen thati go see him, got no brown discharge then after that have...
...but me got to see him every week.

Hi Blur green
Yup. Injection cum pills. Pills to be taken 3 times a day, at 7am, 3pm & 11pm. Both gotta take until 13th week.

My spotting was not light brown colour. It's like my menses (ard 3rd/4th day kind of flow). Lasted for 1.5 days. Dr Ho gave me 1 week MC to stay at home. He told me to rest and dun worry too much coz I didnt experience pain and the sag didnt move so Dr Ho says the signs of miscarriage is not there. It was rather comforting to hear la.

After that no more liao.. thank god.. Now I'm into my 16th week. So now shd be safe. Before that I have to see Dr Ho every week also. He say can stretch to every 2 weeks if I'm very busy. But on the safe side, he prefers to see me every week lor.

Now I see him every month.

hi sgmon

erm...3rd/4th day color is brown or red?...sorry to ask this qn.

u mean you take all till 13th week but during this period, you always got spotting or after eatin/injection a few days later no more liao...hence all the safe side take till 13th week?

wah you now on your 16th week liao very soon
you will know your baby gender liao...:D