Dr Henry Cheng @The Women's specialist centre Bishan

soymilk80

Has anyone ever engaged the service of Dr Henry Cheng? Tried to look for his review at other forums but not much information. Anyone willing to share the experience and the package costs?

Thank you..

I was under Henry cheng during my pregnancy in 2010. He is generally friendly, however there were occasions where he was not in good mood.

Can't rem the package costs but his charges are reasonable in my opinion.

I'm with Dr Henry Cheng for my #1 and currently #2. I can't remember exactly how much but his consultant and scan is approx $107, with additional $50 for multi vit and fish oil. Overall I spend approx $2100++ for #1.

As for him, I think he is a very easy going gynae...very straightforward and will not beat ard the bush type!

PM me for more details, if you need, CHeers!

Dear Petite Love and Tres,

Thank you all for the input.. at first I was going to Dr Lawrence Ang at Sembawang there but I don't really like his service...esp with first baby you tend to ask more questions and need more assurance from the Doctor but I think because he is very busy so he tends to cut short the consultation time.. Also its very far from Bishan to travel all the way to Sembawang so I switch to Dr Henry Cheng which is only at Bishan... Hopefully all will be goin smoothly..

Tres, I will PM you again to ask more questions.. thanks

I was with Dr Henry Cheng. Delivered my first bb last Dec. Hb & I are happy with him. Although some pp say he has mood swings, we never encountered it. We find him quite a humorous person. Agree with tres he is easygoing & straightforward. Fees are reasonable.

Hi Usaginoko.. thanks for your input.. at least I can find a few good comments about him. Make me feel assured that I am in good hands
Will continue to visit him until delivery..

Dr Cheng is very good. He delivered my 2 babies and he is very detailed and humourous. So far, never encountered any unpleasant mood swings or whatsoever, and he is very professional and always put people at ease.

For my 2nd baby, he was even asking me to 'test' power see if got strength to push... and even ask me to take a short break and watch tv.. haha... he's also very considerate, and asked me if I like some coffee, coz given that in labour ward, it can be quite a long wait.

I did not experience any labour pains at all for both my babies, and my hubby even said, wah, give birth so easy?! 3 push and baby is out..

So don't worry, u are in good hands!

he delivered my baby in 2009, not only me but 3 other of my frens, actly i followed them. in 2 mths time my fren's 3rd baby will be delivered by him again.
He is very experienced and great, professional and humorous, whaha but u gta be able to take his jokes as he is the straightfowrd type.

i will definitely go back to him should hav number #2 in future! hope he dun retire yet

soymilk, i stay sembawang too..heheh i travel down to bishan.

i only knw lawrence is really busy, alwys 1 hoards of ppl queuing outside, so guess it may be possible he do not hav engh time for explanation

I have PCOS and i have been trying for a year, seen 1 gynaes 1 fertility specialist and 1 chinese sinseh, was about to give up hope when i decided to heed my friend's advice and went to him, 2 months later i am preggie. ;)

Dear mummies, thank you all for the input

I am sticking with Dr Henry Cheng..
@Averie: 3D scan I'm not sure. but everytime go check up always have the normal scan
@rainbowzstarz: he is still young lah.. cant be retired very early hahaha
@chubby_fishes & Macam: thank you all for the good assurance

hi macam: mind sharing what Dr Henry did for you on the month you Gt your bfp?? I am also seeing him .. thanks..

macam: but congrats.. you are finally preggy.. I am still waiting for mine..
he also prescribe me with clomid.. did he do any trigger for you when he scan your folicles on mid cycle?

Good luck Shirley, don't lose hope!
He gave me progyluton with clomid. Because of my busy schedule at work I told him I'm unable to keep making trips down to the clinic to scan or even take hormone jabs( that's what the previous gynae wanted me to do)
Hence he just gave me 3 cycles of clomid and progyluton (because of my PCOS) to try out.
Good luck babe, baby dust to you!

Ps any ladies know if his stitching is good?

hI macam, I am keeping my hope high..
thanks for your baby dust. *grab all*.
I read from somewhere saying that his stitching is good.. r u going for natural delivery. btw, he is really nice and friendly.. hopefully I will strike and hit bull eye for this cycle..

Hi shirley,
I heard from my girlfriend that he recommends Natural Birth but i have not thought about it yet.Yes he is nice and friendly abit joker also.

The 1st cycle when i tried, heeded the advice of a friend and BD every 2 days,
My hubby then suggested everyday to increase the chance, (he searched on the net to find if it was feasible) True enough i got pregnant after the 2nd cycle. LOL so ah, maybe you can try every day,
I also use Pre-seed fertility lubricant dunno if its this combi or not. You can try!
Wink wink*

hey macam, many thanks for your kind advice.. I am hoping for the best.. did Bd on the day of ovulation only.. so don't dare to pin high hopes.. disapointment months after months can be stressful..
how r u feeling now?? how many weeks now?? hope we an bump to each other one sat at his clinic..

hi Shirley,
I understand how it feels, indeed its stressful. Dont lose hope though, just keep trying =)

Im 7 weeks today, going for scanning over the weekend to hear the heartbeat. Now MS also getting worse difficult to eat also.

But grateful for all these symptoms as doc says as long i have these symptoms dont have to worry.

Jiayou shirley!

His stitching considered gd bah, coz 2nd day of csect i can walk around slowly w/o help liao. And by time confinement ended, i was totally fine. No pain, unlike some other csect mums in my grp still experienced pain at the wound 2-3 mths later!

My good fren's gynae is Dr Henry Cheng. She also said his stitching is good. The next day she walk herself without much pain. But that is provided she taking the painkiller. If she miss it she will also feel the pain. But she commented his stitch is nicely done. I guess stitching skill of the dr is very important coz it will leave the scar with you forever so might as well do it a nice one than having a 'caterpillar' stitch. I also just change my gynae to Dr Henry Cheng.

Dr Cheng delivers at both Mt A and Gleneagles... very good doctor.
He 'promotes' natural birth with epidural.. so for both my delivery, absolutely no pain at all.. and stitching is good and I can walk the moment the epidural effects are gone..

Hoshi: I c. Thx for ur replies

Btw does anyone know if we need to book appt to see him? Any Tel to call him?

Macam: thx gal! I went to see him liao and he said I got PCOS too. Prescribed me with clomid n another med to shed off my thick lining.

r u still taking tcm med and his meds together?
I'm taking both but 2-3hrs apart. I will b seeing him on my next CD2 for follicle scan.

Take care n hope to have gd news like u for my next cycle

Hi ladies, hope all of u here are happy and well.

Just to update:
I just went to see Dr Cheng to scan for follicles and only managed to take the largest egg at 11.6mm on CD13. I also did a trigger shot (menogon) to try to make the egg ovulate. I will be going to the gynae's again this Saturday to scan and maybe another trigger shot if it grows bigger than 16mm. So gals, please pray for me!!

Anyone of u here experienced only 11.6mm egg on CD13 but still managed to ovulate and get a BFP that cycle?

Hi TTCing,

Iam also going over to Dr Cheng's clinic next week for the fertility test etc.,as i have been TTC for nearly a yr after my MC early last yr.
Will he start off with a pap smear test or? Hw are his charges for the test?

Hi Doris,

For my case, he started with a consultation first and then followed by a pap smear as I have never done it before. I was then scanned to check for my uterus and ovaries' condition. My 1st bill was $207.20. Subsequent scan and medicine are around $107~135.

Do u have regular heav periods or PCOS?

Hi TTCing, tks for Yr info. Had very irregular menses after d&c early las Yr. I can't even track my ovulation period nw. Hw long have u been consulting him?

Doris: sorry to hear abt that. Have u tried to use an ovulation urine strip before? It is definitely cheaper than seeing a gynae every now and then.

I just started visiting Dr Cheng since last mth.

TTCing:I have used the ovulation kit for a few cycles, but no indicated even I took on my calculated ovulation days. Sometimes I have been thinking if I ovulated. Nw under TCM medication too.

TTCing: He was recommended by the GP I normally visited. She recommend Dr Cheng when I was pregnant that was 5 yrs bk. He is quite detailed n patient.

Hi all, I'm new to this forum. Just found out I'm pregnant and think it's about time to pay the gynae a visit!

My friends recommended me Dr. Henry H Cheng from Bishan Women's Specialist clinic. Read many good reviews about him and was quite decided on visiting him.

But... today I walked past this Thomson Women's Clinic at AMK Hub - Dr. Wendy Teo. This clinic is very near my place so if she has good reviews I might want to visit this instead! Can't seem to find much reviews about her compared to Dr. Henry Cheng.

Can any kind mummies / mummies to be please share your experience with Dr. Wendy Teo from TMC please? Appreciate it!

Thanks ~~

Hi Choo Mummy,

I am also looking for a gynae around the same area!

We were considering Dr Henry and Dr Wendy too coz it's nearer. But hubby found some negative reviews on Dr Wendy, something about her too young and inexperience.

How is Mt A? I visited it before renovation. Is it better now? That's the only thing that is making me hesitant to go to Dr Henry.

How much is Dr Henry's package?

i delivered my second in 2010 with Dr Henry Cheng. i m happy with Dr Henry Cheng. He is patient and caring. love the nurses there too...they were nice n calm nurses who will greet you and chat with you. my first in 2008 was with dr Koh Cheng Huat. He is way to fast and straight...like no time like that...and the nurses were all black face due to many patients clogged at the clinic.

Ordolla,

I love Mt. A. especially the food menu is good! I love the western food menu though i know i should take the confinement food..keke..i ask my hubby to order the western while i order the confinement food. confinement food is not bad la...si mo si yang...quite traditional. but of cos my mom's better!
a week before i need to admit for delivery, my son down with bronchitis and hence stayed for a few days with him. the nurses there very good and helpful. i feel comfortable. and of course i still misses the food there! the steak with apple sauce is best! pork chop not bad too...haha.. i missed out the steak w apple sauce so eventually got to eat it when i deliver there a week later..so satisfying hahaha.. my 2 delivery were at Mt A. Mt A a good choice...definitely.
good luck to your delivery. cheers

I m still seeing Dr Cheng after he has assisted me successfully to conceive. I m now close to 12 weeks' pregnant

When will he suggest to us which hospital to choose to give birth under him? I will choose Mt A after hearing so many positive feedback...

Will be seeing him again this Thursday for my Oscar test. Hope to be able to tell the gender this week thru the scan too

hi, i am planning to visit Dr Cheng. which CD should i go?

I have PCOS..so is clomid+gonal F+ meformin?

hi ttcing, thanks. i called yday. the earliest he is available is mid march. i will go down and see him for consultation first.