Cooking Tips & Recipe

huskie,
#3 is a mickey.

Last month went to square2 ad bought some beef steak. Passby that BBQ restaurant and saw lotsa kimchi appetitzer on the table. What is soon dubu? Also went to the korea supermart and bought rice cake, always watch korea drama and saw them eating this. But not so good, the rice cake is quite hard but the red sauce is quite nice.

annlee,
Wow, another boy, so you don't have to buy that many new clothes, can use a lot of korkors' clothes!

Yes, their appetizers are very good. One of my fav is the sweet lotus root.
Soon dubu is the spicy tofu stew served in the black claypot. They normally use seafood such as prawns and clams to make the stock.
Ah, you went to Solmart! Quite a good range of stuff with good English description, but not cheap! My MIL going to Seoul for holiday in May... I'm wondering if I should thick-skinnedly ask her to help me bring back some condiments.

For rice cake, I think the little shop in between Solmart and HangSang should be better? The one called Hankook? They specialise in rice cakes.

Hee, I made kimchi 2 weeks ago... I found it so-so only, but hubby claims it's very nice... dunno if he's just paying me lip service.
I'll try making it a bit different next time, but need me and Soph to recover first then got time to cook!

Where did you buy your beefsteak? And how did you cook it?

hello all!

Congrats Lyn, your girls are so pretty, envy you!

hey Sister choc, u finally out huh? aiyoh MIA for so long! hehe, salute u man, going for #4 !

Thanks Cookies for 'waking' me up to check the thread, if not i will miss all these wonderful news

I was so so busy with works since last year... now the 'report card' is out and i didn't get much increment either.. heart cold.. and heart die also.

Congrast to both annlee and cookies, u two plan one is it ? :D :D

huskie, saw little sophie photo thru msn wow, she looks so sweet and pretty, is tat her fav toy ? she looks like big girl liao..

Recently not much cooking, leave that to my maid to do it.
She can cook quite well now, like sweet and sour pork, her kampong way of frying chicken quite nice etc..

Ok got to be to work if not got to work late not much time for my boys… ciao!

lyn,
Forgot to ask you - how do you serve the lecithin granules?
I've bought and eaten them before, but yucks, I didn't like the taste and smell at all.... smells like plastic!

huskie,
for the rice cake, have passby the rice cake shop specialize in but only after bought the rice cake from the solmart, my hb also say I shld get it from the shop but too late.

I can't remember the shop name for steak but I think is on 2nd or 3rd level next to the escalator. I'm craving for steak after had 1 at black angus and I shld DIY earlier cos the steak I bought is so good!! They will marinate the steak for us, so i just need to pan fry it. Also bought 1 thin slice of wagyu beef but haven try it yet.

wah... you make kimchim, didn't wanna try it cos afraid it will failed hee... I'm also craving for kimchi, have bought 1 every week since my 2nd trimester.

Hi littlecat...
How's your boys?? your ds1 learning spelling now right? Was telling my son to write chinese spelling today and he's very bored with it. He just hate chinese but no choice.

Glad to see this thread alive again!

I am also preg with my #2, a boy at 33 weeks. EDD mid june. Have been busy with my sick gal and training my new maid for the past month.

Recently also craving for high-tea or buffet. But only allow myself once per month.
Went to Rose veranda at Shangri-la and like it very much. The food variety is not much, taste quite ok, I just like their tea, many different types of tea to chose and their atmosphere. Also went to Ellenborough market place, is really a market place ha... alot of auntie, those really kiasu auntie I mean. Very crowded and some will rush for it, some just take their own sweet time to pick/chose the food. Don't really like it, the dessert is quite good esp the durian thingy, others soso. Will try The Line at Shang one of these days.

Annlee,
Congratulations!
hee... so u will have 3 boys soon.

how's yr 2 dss coping with the news of yr pregnancy?
wondering by the time when we have confinement, how the weather will be like.

Huskie,
when will u be trying for no.2?
for me, i din feel much pain while breastfeeding. but i realise the supply is reducing very fast. so maybe my body's way of hinting me to stop bf.
sophie is on full bf? is she eating solids well now?
we hope will be national day, cos maybe can get free supply of diapers for a year. but think likely be earlier.

will try to find time to try out the new places u recommended. ;)

littlecat,
finally the 'zhang men ren' appear leh.
so many of us preggy. u tempted to try to for no.3 ;)

muffin,
Congratulations! u got a 'hao' now.
is yr girl taking yr pregnancy well?
hope that yr new maid is good.

Good late morning girls !

Just finished giving work to dd2, homeschooling her this yr bcos of her poor health.

Congrats annlee n muffin too ! seems like this yr quite many preggers

Hey huskie, your little sophie's very cute, still dare to beat you.. sometimes, dunno whether to laugh or be angry right ? My didi is also like that, I use a cane nowadays. When he sees me disciplining the girls, he'll stand together with them to be scolded as well !What kindred spirit!

When you have no.2, you'll find it easier to cope with no.1.. do i make sense ? haha..

The yam rice is not exactly vegetarian, surprisingly, it tastes good. sometimes, I don't add oyster sauce. Just salt and black sauce.

Hey huskie,
I gave up tuition after I couldn't cope at home. They keep me very busy. I'm enjoying the time with the 3 at home. But some hair-pulling days, I'll still meet up with my friends for a cuppa.
Somehow, pg with no.4, no.3 is always occupied with no.2 or his toys, he seldom sticks to me. But, when he wants to eat something, he'll pull my shorts vigorously!

Hey CAT, have you been humming ? I tried one hum dish in one of the coffee shops in the west once, it was "rawly" nice ! Lots of garlic on the cooked hum, seasoned with soy, sesame oil, onion oil, sugar and whatnot.. I think it came out in makan sutra months ago.

Your maid really "crever" to cook hor! How are your boys ?

Hey annlee, I'm also craving for high tea !
My dd2 is also not good with chinese spelling, so I make her recognize the characters, strung in sentences.

Today's lunch will be chee cheong fun disguised as kuey teow with fishballs and green veg.

All the talk about korean food makes me drool. Also craving for instant noodles. The mee kosong brand instant noodles that is sold is Sing Siong is very nice. Texture of noodles is chewy or "Q Q"

annlee,
Thanks, I'll check out the steak next time I'm there

cookie,
Yep, I'm still TBF... period hasn't come yet... I'm waiting for it to come leh.
Soph is taking solids well, 3 meals a day.
I'm thinking of weaning her onto UHT milk, but she's still running a mild temperature plus runny nose, so I'll wait till she's better then try.
Hope to TTC after May... hee, cos I don't wanna do confinement during CNY. But of course won't strike first try, so maybe should just start trying now!

Choc,
Hee, I'm still not sure how to cope with #1 when #2 comes along leh.
What do you do with #1 when #2 needs to feed?

I forgot... do you have a maid at home? or are you coping with all 3 by yourself?

LittleCat,
Hee, you finally showed yourself!
How's your SAHM plan going? Not doing it anymore?
Your dss must be big now!
Eh, I still have your A5 blank flashcards... so sorry I haven't been to the West at all, cos ILs were busy travelling and other times either Soph or I was sick.
If you don't want it, it's OK... I can keep them cos I use A5 ones anyway.

My MSN pic - that's the pic of Soph at her first birthday

The bunny in its naked state is a present from hubby, and I sewed both hers and Bunny's dresses as present for her.

Huskie,

Heehee, I don't have a helper, still one leg kicking everything.. but I do have a part time cleaner that comes every once a week. I make my girls pick up toys and crumbs on the floor.. Not easy tho, but i have learned to shut both eyes to mess!

I'm staying near my sis, so my dinners are all cooked by her helper. It's great to stay in Tamp, cos there are lots of GOOD FOOD !!

Wow! you sewed sophie and the bunny's dress? You are really good.. keep it till soph gets bigger, she'll really treasure what you have done. My dd1 still remembers certain things I did for her when she was about 2..

You can ttc now, the age gap is ideal.. when bb comes, there'll be a fair bit of jealousy initially, but it ll be good for no. 1 to learn how to care and share. When I'm feeding bb 2 , I'll read with no.1 on the bed. After bb2 is asleep, i'll spend time with no.1..

If bb sleeps alot, it'll be great !Can plan simple baking or make some play dough with no. 1. Sounds easy huh ? But these are once or twice a week activities you can do.. you still need to rest as much, if not, you'll be tired out..

Choc ah Choc,
I peifu you leh - 3 kids and no helper!
Now talking about TTC, hubby already wondering if we should get a helper.

Pros:
- get our meals cooked and housework done
- if I kenna bedrest again, helper will be really helpful

Cons:
- Gets headache if helper gives you trouble... my friend's helper went out without telling her and shouted at her!

And her kaypoh neighbours asked her hubby why she never let helper use handphone to call home, and her hubby confronted her, thinking she abusing helper. But actually she just didn't want helper to use phone during working hours. So much headache!
- Hee, we have no extra room for helper to sleep in, and don't really want helper to sleep with Soph.

So good that you can find a good part-time helper. My previous pt helper broke my parquet floor (dropped the fan blades) and came when very sick... passed flu to me *sigh*
Know where to get good pt helper? I'm thinking if I should engage Amah on Wheels, but they're expensive!

I like the idea of reading to #1 when feeding #2!
Will remember that!

cookiemonster,
Thanks... my dss waiting patiently for their didi to be due. Sometimes when I'm resting on the bed they'll climb onto the bed, pull up my blouse and start kissing my tummy saying I want to kiss baby, after that poke my belly buttom and both laugh happily, omg...
hey..I'm wondering abt the weather in aug too, afraid it might be hot like now. Did you put on alot of weigh or normal?

choc,
I miss out your sentence abt having #4. Congrats!! peifu peifu...and no helpers, really salute you! Sometime must really close 1 eye when the house is messy. I used to pick up the toys over and over again till so frustrated.
I'm cooking the yam rice you recommend today, thanks for your recommendation! Will also freeze some, think it will be quite a big potion, the yam is quite huge even though I bought it half.

Huskie

Getting a maid is really a matter of draw....if you are free, go the thread on advice on baby and maid...you will know what i MEAN....

I hired my maid since aedann was five months old...now into third maid...sigh...jian bu wan...

Haha huskie.. don't peifu me leh.. There are days that i shout at my three kids until my neighbours can hear what i am screaming about. Once I shouted "OUI" so loudly at didi with windows opened that I could hear my own echo ! Tsk.. tsk.. shame, shame..

I truly agree with you all about the issues on maids! Got to either get someone/agent whom you know well to recommend them. That's why, my hb and I are scared of having one. Sometimes, my sis' helper will also give "lian3 she4" to us, which I'm quite scared.
With a good helper, you can indeed spend more time with the kids.

annlee, hope you like this simple yam rice recipe..I also use half a yam, and it's a big portion too. Then, fry or blanch one veg eg kai lan to go with the rice.
My older nieces are anti-yam, so when i invite them over for lunch , they'll reject without thinking.

Will be cooking minced pork porridge with spinach tonight. Simple meal...
For lunch today, I fried a plate of garlic flowers(dunno wat name) with tow kwa. My dds love that too..

Recently, I crave for tomatoes , any kind, and will dip them in plum powder. Did you have any craving for no. 3 ?
So how are u with 2 boys ? They are funny! I think boys are more "chin chai" with everything. Having 2 girls n 1 boy, my girls are really more girlie.. got to toughen them a bit.. haha..

A friend also taught me to add chestnuts into lotus root soup. Tried that , and it's sweet and tasty

Got my inspiration to cook afetr this thread has been revived

Made a beef stew Korean style today - leftovers can keep for lunch tomorrow.

Joy,
Yeah, this maid issue is a very delicate one... so many things to consider!
Brought my dd for tui na yesterday. I don't like the new place, so cramped, and it's in a basement yeah?
But woah, sooooooo many sick and coughing kids... I was so scared dd will catch something else from there!

annlee,
Your dss so cute lah... can't wait for another playamte!

btw, did you take the peiling stuff to "tiao" yoru body before TTC this time?

Choc,
Woah, you've still got energy to cook?!
What is garlic flowers? Is it suan(4)?
And chestnuts in soup.... it's the fresh water chestnut from the market? Or the dried nutty chestnut used in bak chang?

Huskie

I went to the new place too. Yes, its a bit cramp.For crowd, I always go early in the morning, so no problem.For parking, no problem as its non peak hour and I like it there as I will not be caught in the rain unlike in the old premises....

zzzcookiemonster,
This maid ok lah, but speak v little english. I must demonstrate how I want things to be done before. Have to slowly teach and monitor closely. Dunno know rejected how many badly ironed shirts already, but cleaning wise ok.

Joy747
Getting a maid is really a like a lucky draw. At 1st, I thot my last maid was a god sent, spoke good english, so can just give instructions and she can do and cook. But I overlook the fact that she is same age as me, so sometimes will give me 'face' and argue when I reprimand her. She tends to 'filter' instructions, I told her perform some tasks, and when they are not done, she will argue that I did not tell her. Lucky my hb was ard when I told her and he reprimanded her saying that he overheard my previous conversation and I did specifically tell her to do that task. She also very smart to spin sob story abt her gal being sick and hospital to ask for advance, and phone cards. hiaz, a total nightmare. Anyway, when I told her I am letting her go, she ask me if I had the legal right to do that!! Really makes my blood boil and regret the fact that I promise to give her an extra month of salary to compensate.

Choc
Wow, no 4!!! I am closing shop at 2 liao! I told my hb to give me a knock on my head if I told him I want another baby. hahaha

Huskie and Joy,
Are you talking about yu guo? I just went on tuesday as my gal had flu cough for abt a week and does not seem to recover with the pd medication. I see room 8, Huang Yi Shi, what about you?

hi ladies...

hehehe... littlecat lured me back too....

<font color="ff6000">lyn</font>
CONGRATZ!!!! ur girls look sooooooo adorable!!! wats their name??? r they identical twins??? remember to pop by n share more photos of them hor...

<font color="ff6000">choc</font>
WOW!!!!!!! #4 n all by urself, i also peifu u leh... i only hv 2 n already struggling to find time for everyone liaoz...

<font color="ff6000">cookiemonster, annlee, muffin</font>
CONGRATZ!!! CONGRATZ!!! and CONGRATZ!!!!!
hehehe... seems like babydust all over e place hor...

<font color="ff6000">sophie</font>
still more used to using tis nick of urs.... share e photo here leh... i dun use MSN, but now juz sooo curious to see lil sophie n her toy, plus e dress u sewed for both of them!

abt getting a maid... ya, agree its reli a "lucky draw"... thankfully mine now turned out quite ok... we also dont hv room for her to sleep in, cos Ayden is sleeping with my hubby in e nex room, while me n Belle in e master room.. so my maid now sleeping in e "smaller living room" area at nite... bo pian, but we did explain e situation to her n gave her a choice if she wants to sleep on e floor in e master room with me.. but she chose to sleep there lor...

<font color="ff6000">littlecat</font>
thanks for luring me back... hehehe... i also miss e times tat i chat with u girls on cooking n baking... *haiz*.. my baking stuff r growing mould in e cupboard liaoz... but wat to do... dont think i'll hv e time till belle grows older... how's GC doing now??? r u still going to be a SAHM??? im still wishing everyday tat i can.....

muffin

so sorry to hear that you have been through so much with your maid. For me, when I had my first maid, she also give me colour as she finds herself indispensable as aedann was still a baby then. Now, second maid, dare not play punk with me yet and am very strict and firm with her....

Choc
WOW, number four on the way without helper, you are really fantastic...for me, almost dead when i was few months maidless...partially due to deanna academic wise in school is very challenging...and little one is physically challenging for me...so am stressed up in both aspects...

cookiemonster, annlee, muffin
Congrats

Starz
hey, long time no hear...two is different from one and only one, right?I refused to believe till the second one comes along...aiyoh....

Lyn
You must be very busy with twin...

Baking
No motivation to do it...partly me also do not want to put on weight cos bake must eat, right...hahahaha

Re. maids, yeah, it's really a jackpot thing. So lucky if you get a good one. My cousin's maid can cook very well... does all the marketing and manages the weekly household marketing at $60/week, and food includes meat and fish even. But of course it doesn't include big ticket items like rice.

My mum's maid is quite young, but also show "face" to my mum... hee, and she doesn't like to eat the skins of the bread, so she'll dig for the inside, while my mum eats the skin!

muffin,
Yep, Yu Guo. I was also there on Tue! I was there at around 11am... what time were you there?
I don't know the name of the doc... but it's a petite Chinese lady in her 50s?
I'm thinking of bringing Soph back again this Sat cos she seemed to sleep very well after the massage. Otherwise, her nose is always drippy and half blocked.

Joy,
Yu Guo opens at 9am yeah?
If I go in the morning on Sat, as in before 9am, do they leave the number tags outside for us to take, like at the old place?

Haha, for baking, you bake and let the kids eat! But hmm... eat so much cookie stuff also quite heaty hor?

starz,
Hee... yeah, changed my nick cos Sophie is my baby's name, so a bit weird to be called Sophie myself!

Your maid is quite good and understanding!
Yeah, come in and chat here more often!
Show us a pic of Isabelle!

Here's Soph in her birthday dress and Bunny in a similar dress

Hee, dress is supposed to be sleeveless, but looks like capped-sleeved cos it's too big for her!
MIL commented she can wear it till 4 yrs old!

1376684.jpg

Huskie

Nice pic

Ya, yuguo opens at 9am but at around 8.15am, number is already out and many people will take the number in advance too.

For me, my aunty stay just a lane away, and she will always take for me and I am always number one in the q. If aunty not free, i will drive there to take the number first as i also stay a few lanes away.

ya,cookie is very heaty, my kids are ban from it since young as both are heaty base and worst is that, they are not the drinking water type of kids...

Hey good morning ladies!

Huskie, the chestnuts for the lotus root soup is the one used for the bak chang. Have you tried taking garlic pills and then bf sophie ? Read from some homeschooling articles that garlic is good for viral infections.

Just this yr, I have resorted to using herbal and natural remedies for my children. Partly because, i have been subjecting them to antibiotics and 'chemicals' in the past. Brought them to GP until, I can predict what kind of med they'll be giving.Nowadays, I feed no.2 and 3 with garlic oil when I hear the first cough. Then manuka honey umf 15 helps with cold sores and sore throat too.They seem to respond quite well to garlic oil and honey.
But got to exercise wisdom when fever or infection can't be controlled aft a few days.
It's really "jia lat" when one falls sick, and passes on the virus! I understand how you feel

I think the garlic flower is suan4 hua1..I can only manage lunch this days.. a simple simple lunch. Today, will be frying white bait with eggs and hairy marrow soup with minced pork.

Joy, starz and muffin,
I also dunno what got into me to have the 4th one ! haha..I told my hb that's enough, whether no. 4 is a boy or girl, I CLOSE shop liao.. period. Thought I closed shop at 3 and gave all my maternity clothes away.. now I got to wear my hb's big T's and look for L, XL berms! Think I should knock my head harder if I ever thought of no.5 !! Haha.. But I do enjoy motherhood more now

Hey soph, just saw the pic of little soph.. the dress is so neatly and nicely sewn ! I love it! I can only manage culottes and elastic skirts ! Where you got the pattern ? Or you came out with your own ?

Choc06

What is garlic oil?can i know where you get it from?

I remember someone told me garlic can be heaty...anyway will confirm again ...

Aedann cannot not anything that is heaty and that includes nordic cod liver oil...sigh.

I think the chestnuts is li zi as in hokkien call kao luck, right?that supposed to be heaty right?But, i know its good for those people who suffer from backache....

I love eating garlic flower, is it good?

Choc,
i really salute u!
i cannot never do what u are doing now.
and yet u still have time to home school dd2. and take care of the needs of didi and dd1, all these while u are preggy.
yr husband must be extra extra good to u.
but i do fully agree with u that having a maid is sometimes nightmare. sigh... i can write a book on this leh.
heee.... will try yr method when bf no 2, will read to no1.
i also taken a liking to plum powder now. guava, apples, pineapples, green mango etc.. everything must put plum powder.... quite jia luk hor

Huskie,
maybe u start the UHT milk when sohpie is better.
I am thinking of changing to UHT milk for my boy as well. But everyone ard me is discouraging on that. saying that milk powder is better.
the dress u made for sophie and bunny are so sweet! u must keep the dress for sophie. believe that she will be so touched when she is older! heee... maybe sophie's daughter can wear that too. ;)

annlee,
yr 2 ds so cute! they will sure love the didi alot. sigh.. i still need to grill into my boy that didi or mei mei will be arriving soon. sometimes when i touch my tummy, he will pull my hands away... do not allow me to touch.
i lost abt 5kg with all the puking during 1st trimester. but now am abt 6kg heavier than before losing the 1st trimister weight. so i also dunno to say if i gain 5 kg or 11kg also. what abt u?
only hope i dun gain 25kg for this pregnancy again.

Muffin,
Glad that yr maid is good. think needs more time to get used to our style also.

Starz,
thank you. ;)
was still chatting with littlecat on msn and wondering how u coping.
ayden and isabelle enjoying each other's company?

Joy,
think u are correct to say li zi = kao luck in hokkien.
last nov, when china for biz trip. the li zi in season and i bought back quite a lot (like those fried ones that can be found in pasar malam) and they are really fragant and sweet. the local colleagues told me that if i cannot finish eating them, can put into stew which are quite nice as well.

Joy and starz,

choc,
I like garlic flower too...sometime will cook it with tau kwa, like chinese new year dish. Few days ago, cook garlic flower with fish and black bean sauce, very nice to go with porriage.
Yesterday tried the yam rice, I like it, I think the yam makes the rice tasty. My elder son pick those yam away and finish the rest, I suppose he don't like yam ha...

huskie and Joy,
yuguo is good? Can I have the address?

huskie,
I saw sophie's picture in msn too... at first was wondering where did you get the bunny outfit same as sophie.
I might getting peiling confinement herbs. But very troublesome, hope my friend in KL can help me. About peiling herbs I find it good but not the company, very dishonest. The lady or salesperson I spoke to will ask where am I from and charge the amount differently. I've tested them before, when I mention I'm singaporean they will charge me sg price which is S$690 exluding courier. But if I says I'm local they only charge me $499 in RINGIT. So in sg dollar is about half of the ringit price. Quite piss off with them, ridiculous price .... moreover these types of chinese herb is cheap, I'm actually buying their formula

cookiemonster,
oh you lose weight on 1st trimester. I puke quite badly on my 1st trim too but weigh is the same. I think shld be 11 kg you gain if you include the weigh that you lose. Did your gynae says anything abt the weigh? I put on 4.2kg on my 20weeks and my gynae nagged nagged nagged. Was also hoping not to gain 20kg like my 2nd preggie.
ha...your ds so cute...starting to get jealous huh...think need to tell your ds again and again the arrival of bb or how good it will be when baby arrive.

Joy, you can get garlic oil from nature's farm. One small bot about 30 plus, My dd2 is asthmatic , and doc says it's triggered by viruses! first time, I heard. She has a very heaty body too! Her nose bleeds very often when it gets hot. So I make her honey with calamansi lime in the morning. I have also cut off milk,which I find produces phelgm for her and supplement goat's milk sweets instead.

Now, i make no.2 read to no. 3, and no. 1 read to no.2 occasionally..

Yup, it's kao luck. hehe.. The garlic flower is sweet and sometimes my mum will fry them with sotong. Glad you like the yam rice.. ya, some children just dont' like yam!

Eh cookie, you sure can do what I'm doing
My house is perpetually in a mess! I would love to have a full time helper, but I scared leh..
My kids and I are sometimes crazy esp when my hb is out of town. So, when he's back, he'll normally take some time off to let me go out for facial or meet up with my friends.
I've learned to go slow and let go of things that can't be done on that day. Things to be done can wait, but time with children can't, I supposed..

Joy,
815am?! No wonder the last time I went to the old place at 845am, thinking I would be first in Q, I saw a big crowd and had to wait 1hr+!
OK, this Sat will go at 815am then! The new place has some kopitiams nearby so at least can have breakfast there

Choc,
I put garlic into Soph's porridge... would that be the same?
ok, maybe I go get some garlic oil pills too.
I also do self herbal remedies... in fact, I prefer that. For coughs, I put onion pack on Soph's chest... makes her smell like some roast chicken, but seems to make her cough lesser.
And my PD also gives herb-based medication.

Thanks for info on gao luck... I've got lots of them (dried ones right?) in my fridge, so can pop a few into my next lotus root soup. I added them into my beef stew yesterday... tasted quite nice, but still quite hard!

Sophie's dress - I got a basic sleevless pattern from Spotlight, but changed it a bit to make this dress. Copied this dress from a BP here... the dress was selling for $48 which I thought was a bit steep. Generally quite easy to make, but I had to think a few weeks on how to make the flower

It's my first piece of work after buying the machine.

btw, I remember you used to like to put nan and bei xing ren into soups for lungs right?
At what age did you start to feed your kids this kind of soups?
Cos I read about this almond fig soup that's good for persistent cough, but not sure if I can feed some to 14-mth old Soph?

Hee, have #5 lah! Babies are sooooooo cute! Dunno why I never thought of having babies earlier!

muffin,
Your dd has persistent cough? This soup is supposed to be good for that, but not sure if can feed to babies that's why I'm asking Choc first. But your dd is much older than Soph, so maybe OK?
You can take a look at soup recipe here... easy to make!
http://www.globalgourmet.com/food/special/1999/wisdom/soup.html

cookie,
Yeah, I'll keep the dress for her in her little treasure box which contains her umbilical cord, hair from first haircut etc

Soph fell sick twice cos I tried FM on her.
The last time she fell sick in Dec with super high fever, I was trying to wean her onto goat milk FM, which the Chinese doc said is too heaty.
Then this time, I tried to give her soy FM once a day... and after 3 days, she had fever and cough!
Also tried fresh milk (fridge kind) on her, but she had a dry patch on skin on her nose which PD says may possibly be eczema, and also lots of phlegm.

annlee,
Yu Guo
8B Jalan Masjid
#01-04 Kingston Terrace
Tel: 6447 4761

You can ring them up to ask about exact opening hours (I lost their namecard which has it).
All I knoow is they close on Wed.

Eh, S$690 for the herbs?! That's daylight robbery! *faintz*
Just tell them you're Malaysian then, since the delivery address will be your friend's place in KL anyway.

Choc,
My place is also a perpetual mess

I cannot see my dining table at all... and sometimes dh and I have to eat at the sofa cos cannot find a space at the dining table!

Huskie,HAHA.. roast chicken !! Hey ,
knock my head if you sense me wanting no. 5..
Dunno about putting garlic into porridge, I do put them into soups, maybe the anti-viral properties are extracted out into garlic pills?

yah, heard about nan xing and bei xing for persistent coughs too. But, one day, i happened to talk to this aunty who told me that the almonds were poisonous, if consumed too much ! I went "HUH?"... so occasionally I still put a bit into soups.
I brought dd2 to TCM until the physician told me to bring her to KK ,bcos she has given the strongest medication,, not once but twice... sigh!

GP told me her resistance is lower than normal children, so just build her health with nutritious food and supplements.

This yr, aft homeschooling dd2, I find her health much better with ample rest and natural remedy like garlic oil and manuka honey. Your PD good leh, give herbal medication.

My dd2 had persistent cough in the past, so I totally cut down on citrus fruits, bananas, chicken.. and load her body with pumpkin soup plus almonds, watercress plus almonds. I fed her this when she was past 15 months, after her cough stopped. Using soups as a treatment, and also cod liver oil.

Now, i add acidophilus into no. 3's milk.. His appetite is great.. I'm trying all sorts of natural food to boost their immunity.

Went to spotlight to look for children's dress patterns few months ago, but they were not available
You certainly did a very good job in your sewing ! The flower is so nicely matched !

Hey cookie, my malay-tongue dd1 still loves spicy food.. but nowadays, she'll buy crackers and nonsense , I think she too deprived at home.. hyak hyak..

sophie
just came back from yu gou. yeah, I see the old lady in room 8, lowest level. Heard about her from this forum and went to try since my gal does not seems to be recovering even though she has been on medication for a week.

annlee
yu guo consulation hours
Mon, Tue, Thur, Fr
9am-12.30pm
2pm-5pm
6.30pm-8.30pm
Sat
9am-12.30pm
2pm-5pm
Sun
9am-12.30pm

muffin

you see room 8...how is she?she can be quite paranoid at times but one with good heart.

something i learn from herb , vitamin etc....trial and error on your child and you will know best what is suitable....

for instance, nordic cod liver oil, sambucol,yogurt, supposed to be good for kids but never are for aedann....

annlee,
Thanks for the link... their shopname is so interesting!
And they sell organic pork too, but so expensive!

Joy, muffin,
I didn't know we can choose doc and that there are 2 doc there!
I think I saw Room 7, the nice friendly lady.

Choc,
I think bei xing is the toxic one, when eaten in raw form.
Anyway, I just went out to buy apples after dinner... will make the soup tomorrow, but maybe reduce the bei xing to just 2 instead of 4 pieces.
I may just end up drinking the whole pot of it, hoping some of it will pass on to Soph in my bm!

Actually I don't feed Soph any citrus stuff or bananas, and very very seldom chicken.
OK, Soph will turn 15mths in 1.5 weeks time anyway, so I may just feed her some of that soup tomorrow

What cod liver oil do you use? And what brand acidophilus?
Soph doesn't eat much *sigh* I practically have to distract her with TV or something to draw/play with on the highchair then she will open her mouth.
And once the food is in her mouth, she just keeps it there!

hi hi...

<font color="ff6000">Joy</font>
yupz... definitely different.. but i think its a good difference... watever it is, 2 is enough for me liaoz.. haahhahahaha.. unless one fine day i strike TOTO, then i may change my mind...

at our home, we never let e maid feel tat she's indispensible... rather, we always aim to make her feel tat we can easily do without her, as we r still very hands-on with ayden (whom she's taking care of mainly, plus housework.. she doesnt reli take care of belle cos i dont want her to..) my mum also will do housework whenever she can.... it'll juz be abit inconvenient for us if we ever decide to send her away n get another maid, n she knows tat.. so i guess she doesnt dare to play punk lor.....

<font color="ff6000">sophie</font>
hahaha.. come in more often ar... i'll try my best ya...
tats a really sweet dress!!!!!!!! e dress befits e wearer leh!!! sophie is soooo sweet n charming!
wow, if im sophie i'll sure be very touched when i realise how much effort mummy had put into e dress for me... in tis time n age, where everything is so commercialised, ur handmade dress reli touched my heart leh....

<font color="ff6000">choc</font>
heheheh... dont say too soon tis time... mayb u enjoying motherhood soooo much tat u'll make our govt very happy by having another few more???

i reli do envy u.... how i wish i can too....

<font color="ff6000">cookiemonster</font>
we r coping ok lah... now tat belle is already 5mths old, we sort of know her "pattern" already lor... but definitely, her "pattern" n ayden's "pattern" very very different...
eh... initially ayden was very bo-chup towards belle, think when she's still young n not responsive,he sort of totally ignored her... but now tat she's getting more responsive, n he's gotten used to her "existence", he's starting to play with her once in awhile... sometimes will pass us a hankerchief to clean up her drool... otherwise, its still a bo-chup attitude towards her....
hehehe... talking abt e 2 of them i'll never stop...

share some of their recent photos... hehee.. dont *arbish* me for flooding e thread....
1378787.jpg

1378788.jpg

1378789.jpg

1378790.jpg

1378791.jpg

Hi starz

nice pic. so fast your boy is so big now.

I know what you mean when you say maid is indispensable.....I am feeling exactly the same . was telling my friend I may want to take on a part time maid. Maybe a few months maidless trained me to be more independent. now, aedann and deanna do not even need a maid to be around them, not to mention take care of them.

starz,
Won't *bish* you for flooding the thread... in fact, pics really brighten the thread a lot.

Wow, for 5 mths, Belle looks very tall!
Ayden is also such a big boy now!
Time really flies.... seems like not long ago you were just preggie with Ayden when this thread was founded and active.

Joy,
Actually if the kids don't need a full-time maid, then a part-time one could be better. No need to put up with their "face" and be responsible for another human being!

Hey starz, your bb belle is soooo cute ! Reminds me of all my children when they were babies, all botaks ! Hey, knock my head HARD.. 4 is enough.. besides, I think no more bb bonus aft the 4th one.. haha.. its a joy to have babies, but when they are older, they have another set of problems..

Was thinking about a daily part time helper from 9 to 5 pm to help me cook and clean initially.. One of my super-rich students had that, the china ah yi will come and prepare food, clean up house daily.. one hr is 10 bucks. Aft some calculation, hb says it's not worth it.

Soph, my products are mainly from nature's farm. The acidophilus is in powdered form, which I add into his milk.
A friend swears by it. Her grandson who's sickly, took acidophilus for few yrs, seldom falls sick. So I'm just trying out, so far, no.3 is ok, not much phlegm, but he's on the lanky side( guess he inherited from hb), but his appetite is good. My cod liver oil is also from nature's farm, but will be switching to scott's soon. Scott is cheaper.. hehe.. I like soph's size, very bak bak, nice to bite.. haha..

Hey joy, aedann and deanna's names are so unique and nice ! I guess when no.4 comes along, she/he will have names like mary, john, jane, tom..haha.. no ideas to name them liao..

hi everyone!!

wow, how have things progressed!

Congrats to all the MTB

Congrats to lyn! Your twins gals are so pretty!!

Huskie - your dd has grown so much! So sweet! What do you prepare for her 3 meals? Recently, my elder gal is extremely fussy with food. She only eats about half a bowl or less of porridge every meal...headache

Starz - your ds has grown so much too! Your little princess is so cheerful! Is that you carrying her?

Choc,
What is acidophilus? My elder gal has been coughing for past 1 week and recently has running nose. Am trying to build her up immune system as I intend to send her to CC by 20 months.

Hi Kris, acidophilus is friendly bacteria living in the gut. After a course of antibiotics, it kills all the bad as well as good bacteria in the guts, so body's immunity is low, esp stomach and intestines. So, it;ll be good to load up the body with these good friendly bacteria. My explanation is very layman,hehe.. I think you can swing by any nature's farm and get some brochures from them. They explain more in details.

My 3 kids have very sensitive nose and lungs, and very prone to have lots of mucus.. When they are down with flu or fever, I'll mix the acidophilus into water or juice and make them drink 2 to 3 times a day. Still trying out this doc Quack "self- help remedy" , so far, it works for them. I believe it's like a kind of tcm treatment.. And listen to each of their bodies, whether they are too heaty and monitor their diet, as some food cause allergies and more mucus production..

Cheers and have a good day ,All ! Going to chill out with my friends later..

Choc,
OK, I'll pop by Nature's farm to ask about their acidophilus. Normally during and after antibiotics, I'll give Lactefort, but it's very expensive for daily use.
I actually have some Yogi House brand acidophilus which I use to make yogurt... maybe I give her some of that too

I also bought Scotts last week... will try giving her afetr she recovers.

Hee, Soph is actually very small size at 8.2kg only. Very narrow frame!
Can feel her ribs now that she's sick! Pictures deceive

Wow, going out gai gai later? Have fun!

Krisjoy,
Soph gets oatmeal or bread for breadfast... into which I'll sneak some spirulina or flaxseed oil

Then for lunch and dinner, she gets porridge or table food with us.
There was a period of time she was fussy with food too, then I realised she's probably bored with porridge.
So now I mash up the rice, add soup and she eats whatever we eat. Or she likes chor beehoon, so sometimes I make that a beehoon soup. Realised she doesn't like pasta though... Chinese gal ;)
It also helps to let her self-feed cos she is then more engaged in her food. She'll either feed me or feed her.
But I also have half a portion of her food in a bowl I'm holding, then I'll feed her in-between.
Her self-feeding keeps her engaged and my feeding gets her food in.

Post some pics of your babies!

Joy,
Go to this website to download the freeware called Irfanview:
http://www.irfanview.com/main_download_engl.htm

You can choose any of the sites, but CNET should be fast enough.

I assume you know how to download yeah? Just click "Run" when they prompt you.

Open you picture with Irfanview, then go to
-> Image -> Resize

When resizing, you can choose either percentage terms or pixels.

Very easy freeware

Hope to see your pics soon!

Hello gals!
Wow! So many posts ah... Got a shock! But yeah! This thread is alive again!
and wow! So many pregnant!

Congratulations to Choc, Annlee, zzzcookie, muffin

huskie,
I was looking at my past blogs just now. I really miss the looks of A when he was young.

I do understand about grandparents worrying of petite sized grandchild and all the comparison
I been through that. I just compare and point out the same sized toddlers to my mum. hahaha...
I give A carrot juice directly already
Now, when we go Gleneagles, he will tell his daddy "buy juice" before we leave. hahaha.... habit already.

B and C are 2.34kg and 2.94kg at birth respectively. I did "tai jiao" to ask them to be 3kg at birth. hahaha... but at the back of my mind is "dun grow too heavy". Maybe that's why one come out almost 3kg, the other so low weight. hahaha... Cos at the end of pregnancy, I felt the weight.

hmm... violence will create violence
When you beat her cos she's not listening, next time, when you or others dun listen to her, she will beat.

I drink normal carrot juice. Cannot afford to drink so much organic juice. I never drink the bottle kind. Only drink freshly squeezed juice. I started to give him carrot juice after 1 year old. He dun like diluted ones, so I gave him undiluted.

Lecithin granules, I felt it has a soya after taste. I take teaspoonful, eat and drink water! hahaha... Nowadays, I add to my oatmeal, togather with wheatgerm.

Choc,
Wow! Number 4! How to cope with 3 ah? I am having some challenges coping with 3 now...

zzzcookie,
If everything goes smoothly, pass all her tests, she will come in on 1 May. She will be arriving on Monday

Joy,
Last week, after I posted, my mum cannot help me anymore. I had days of having to handle 3 all on my own. It was not so smooth. Nowadays, gotta let my mum bring A back to JB to stay there cos I cannot cope. Sometimes felt so sad.

hmm... what's new in cooking? For me, it's cooking simple confinement food now. When pregnant, hardly got time to eat also. Everything is sesame oil with ginger and garlic and vegetables. Examples of vegetables are pumpkin, kailan, broccoli, cauliflower. I like pumpkin stir fry with sesame oil, ginger and garlic. Quite nice. And everyday is black bean lotus root soup. Since no time to boil red dates water, I will throw longan, black dates, red dates and wolfberries in the soup
Dump everything in slow cooker. kekeke... easy hor? No choice la... I gotta cope with taking care of myself, cook for myself and take care of two gals. My hubby will come home to wash dishes and do the laundry.

annlee,
I met someone who told me her baby was jaundice free cos she drank at least 3 cups of carrot juice throughout pregnancy. So I followed
And both my gals are jaundice free.

zzzcookie,
I went to a Jap restaurant called "Nara" at Novena. Very nice and quality Jap food there
That was the date night with hubby when pregnant

littlecat, krisjoy,

okie... gotta go... mooo...

hey lyn,
I was reading your blog about having to cope with the 3 when your mum was not around.
Must be real siong!

Eh, I beat her hand cos she bit me when bf leh. So if cannot beat her, then how?
Then what about other times when she doesn't get her way, and then pinches me? This, I have no idea where she learnt from cos me and hubby don't do this leh?
How how? Any books to recommend for reading up on such behaviour and how to handle?

Choc, muffin,
Today I went tui na and I asked the Chinese physician if Soph can drink soups made with bei and nan xing... she said can.
And guess what? She then told me the best soup for coughs is nan bei xing, figs, apple, pork... which is the recipe link I posted up earlier!
I told her I had already soaked my nan bei xing and will make today, and she told me good... and can add fungus for lungs too.
Asked her about toxicity, and she said bei is the toxic one, but in small quantity like a few pieces, it's OK.

Made the soup and fed Soph a few tablespoons... will monitor to see if her cough is better... today never take Western cough mixture too

Joy,
As usual, I didn't know there was a Room 8, so I just gave my card to the lady and she put it into Room 7, Xu yishi.
When paying, I asked the lady at counter about Rm 8, and she said Rm 8 is Huang yishi... have to wait very long, cos she sees patient and does the tui na herself... she doesn't assign to the therapists.

huskie,
It's indeed siong... This morning also home alone with 3 till my mum came after lunch. Hopefully things will get better and better.
I read that we cannot beat their hands, especially when they are exploring things. Very tough when the tough gets going. hahaha... I am getting impatient lately. All the violence behaviour in my subconscious mind came out. Trying to control my actions...
To stop undesirable behaviour, can read "the good behaviour book" by William Sears. Got excellent tips there.