! -- child care info collection

easymom2

Hi all.
Want to collect some info of childcare / pre-school edu centres.Preferablely in sembawang area. Tumble tots,modern montessory, etc...

pls include name of the centre,duration each day,fee,area

we will be moving to tampines blk 700 series next year. Does anyone place their child at YMCA childcare at Blk 855? Is it good?

Can try Star Learners. They have centres in Bt Batok and Sembawang! They have their own character programme.

Just want to share something with all out there.
I attended a conference from MOE last month on Nominated good/excellent Pre-school 2010 based on the diversity, quality and creativity. And here are the reviews as they got medals...(for those who missed it on the newspaper.)

Finalist:
Bethesda (Depot Walk) Kindergarten
Bethesda (Serangoon) Church Sunbeam Kindergarten
Calvary Baptist Kindergarten
Kinderland (Chua Chu Kang) Kindergarten
PCF Bukit Timah Blk 285C
PCF Bukit Timah Blk 307
PCF Hong Kah North Blk 750
PCF Potong Pasir Blk 143
PCF Taman Jurong Blk 161
PCF Yew Tee Blk 690D

Commendation:
Cherrybrook Kindergarten
Early Years Montessori
Lumiere Montessori House
PCF Chong Pang Blk 309

Merit:
Far Eastern Kindergarten
St James Church Kindergarten

Distinction:
The Ascension Kindergarten
Living Sanctuary Kindergarten
Ramakrishna Mission Sarada Kindergarten (FOR Indians only i think)

*for me personnaly, i would put my child at either The Ascension where they focus alot on arts n creativy or Living Sanctuary Kindergarten!

ALL THE BEST MUMMY!!!!!!

Is AppleLand Montessori in Bukit Batok West Ave 8 good ?

I am conisdering between this and Just Kids Learning Place.

Appleland : Got lots of activities from what I can see on their Facebook. Went to check out the centre, teachers are warmer and nice, except they have many Malay Teachers.

Just Kids : Place is bright and new. But they dun allow us to see the teachers teach. so dun really know how they teach or teachers nice a not. But I saw many China teachers around.

Any one attended before can comment ? Thanks !

Thanks esther, great info on kindergartens!

But hor, mummies, do note that the awards are only for kindergartens cos childcare/preschools like Pat's, Chiltern etc are under MCYS instead.

Only kindergartens (with no full day programme/ or where kids need to be toilet-trained before enrollment) are under MOE.

montessori is actually a type of preschool curriculum, i.e. the way/methods/strategies in which things are taught to the kids.

A kindergarten usually only has a half-day progromme, and your kids have to be toilet-trained before enrollment. The teachers are there to mainly teach, and not to take care of toilet-training etc. So, a kindergarten won't have nap time in its schedule.

A childcare/preschool acts like a nanny for your kid, on top of teaching them stuff. So most will offer half and full-day programmes, they have nap times, shower times, and will help to toilet-train your kids.

So you can have montessori preschools/childcare and montessori kindergartens.

Price range is very wide leh, for preschool , the range is from about $500 to more than $2k a month. Working and non-working mothers get subsidies of $150- $300 for childcare only.

Montessori schools tend to be more expensive because of the learning materials used and because the teachers require specialised training.

You can also consider CherieHearts Preschool for those mummies working in Tanjong Pagar. They also have new branch now in Sembawang with infant care services.

Hi, I'm also keen to look for a childcare for my boy at bt batok. The furthest I'll consider is toh guan area.

Has anyone heard abt columbia child care centre? It's opposite imm.

I've put my boy in Learning vision at ibp jurong. I love the environment there! High ceiling with good natural light from outside cos of the high glass panels.

Hi Kaylin,

What is your final decision? Appleland or Just Kids at bukit batok?

Tks to sharing as I have same feeling as you when i visited both centre recently.

children's need the utmost care and attenion of the parents..and it depends on the parents how good they are at this...before doing anything you should consult your elder ones..

Hi Mabel, i am planning to send my to YMCA Bt Batok also. Have you enrolled your kid? Can you give me some comment and feedback?