Bukit Batok/Bukit Gombak Mummies Club

Hi Tiffany,

My girl goes to Gracehouse starting from this year and I can see she's enjoying herself there. There's an update of the child's progress in character and academic periodically (once a month) and it's useful for parents to know. The school is clean and appealing to the children. The teachers are really nice and helpful too. On the down side, the fees really not cheap ($931 per term) and they are gonna increase it still...

I'm looking for a babysitter who can help MIL take care of my 2yo and 7yo (who goes by sch bus at 11.30am). After 11.30am, can help do some housekeeping duties. Need her Mon-Fri 7am-1pm. MIL stays in Bukit Batok St 31. Any good recommendation pls PM me. Thank you so much!

I will be moving to Bukit Gombak in May. Is currently looking for childcare for my 2 years old son. So far I've been to Little Footprints and MMI. Honestly I was not impressed.
1. Little Footprints - When asked about their curriculum, they stared at me. I got to asked them in details like "Will you be teaching based on thematic?" They told me that they are flxible in teaching the kids. If I want curriculum, they can give me all their lesson plans but they won't follow it. Their reason is that "Kids get bored easily, thus no point sticking to a curriculum." They elaborated that they rather tell something that interest the kids than have them bored. To me a a KS parent, this is not ideal. In my heart, I was thinking how will my son be able to 'catch up' in Primary school if he go through these kind of system. However, the teachers are friendly and it is spacious.
2. MMI - They are known for their manipulatives for kids. But I wasn't impressed with their manupulatives. They were sparse and 'dirty'. The space is so tiny. Their gate is locked by a 'hook'? I was really puzzled. To think that I pay so much for these 'facilities'.I was told that in the afternoon, the playgroup will join the nursery for activities since the number is small. For me this is not what I want.

I am really in dilemma now. Any recomendation for cc nearby? Carpe diem @BB is full.

Hiya,
I live nearby bukit gOmbak mrt and after did my research my k1 boy is now enrolled fullday at mulberry learning..

hi, i am staying at Bt Gombak area. Does anyone have any school van transportation contact. I like YMCA child care centre at Bt Batok central but it is quite far from my place at Bt gombak, hence looking for transportation. Please pm me as i seldom follow the thread. Thanks

Sent my daughter to pro teach Hong kah. Not sure whether I like it. The place looked cramp and old and dirty and messy. Not sure if there are other good ones.

Before n after student care? I send my kid to kowabunga for reading class, they also have basc looks good, at blick 361 by bukit gombak mrt though..

me .... my boy will be in P1 nx yr . Any gd student care ard our area? Went to see Proteach the centre is quite old. Yet to visit Just education

happi,
my boy will be going to LiahHua hopefully, its just behind our home hehehe.. lazy mom here..my boy is also not so academic focus, he is very physical, he swims and skate well.. he's good in math but he doesn't like reading much.. so I don't want to aim at too academically focused school and put too much pressure on him, scared he will dislike learning later in life..

student care perhaps will continue with kowabunga lah, or others nearby the school.. so easy for me to pick him up..

Mikiko,
I m also looking at this school.

Nining,

I also prefer convenience... Else picking and sending them to school can be a big problem in future.
How is the reading class at kowabunga?

Specialise in PRIMARY SCHOOL MATHEMATICS (Bukit Batok)

Mr Chng - taught in Teck Whye Primary School, 2 years experience in home tuition
Ms Low - 3 years experience in home based upper primary Math tuition

Based on Latest MOE syllabus
Affordable rate of $80/month
Duration: 1.5 hours per session
Maximum 4 students per group

Mission:
Nurturing students to be their best

Description:
5 mins walk from Bukit Gombak Mrt and Bukit Batok Mrt
Bukit Batok St 31

Call us for more details :
Ms Low 98801453
Mr Chng 93630572

My boy this year p1 at st Anthony.
So far so good. As the school is a temporary site, the state of classroom furniture is quite bad.
But overall, my boy is adapting well.

So far my boy is ok with the teachers. The form teacher reply my email inquiry quite promptly. She also assigned my boy to help out in class. For chinese lessons, the teacher implement a token system to collect to redeem presents, so my boy quite eager to participate in class. No streaming for p1 and whole level will go up the same class into p2. I find them not so academic driven.
But have donation need to donate for school buildijg fund.

happi,
yes, there will be one in the renovated sch compound. that was what we were told. but i heard from my friends whose kids are in other schools with inhouse student care that the school may limit applicants and priority given to lower income and/or there may be a quota for certain group (eg lower income certain quota, others certain quota) and/or subject to balloting (different sch, different practice maybe). not too sure about the requirements yet.

- Is kowabunga in Bukit Gombak an after-school centre?
- Izzit suitable for all levels of primary?
- Any idea how much per month and any subsidy?

お返事お待ちしております。

あなたに感謝し、最高の位置づけ。

Happi
I think next year p1 will be the last afternoon batch.when they shift back to bukit batok in 2015, it will go single session.

anyone knows if there is any good after school care in Bukit Batok East area? my girl going P1 next year. really dunno what to do

Hello all, I need a bit of help here. My son has been going to Grace House since last year N1, and frankly he is very happy. But there have been some incidents that put me off and also the school seems to become more profit-centric, instead of subsidising the children in certain areas, they try to earn from there. Relief teacher also made some unpleasant remarks in front of the children. I am seriously considering pulling him out and put him in other kindergarten next year, or worse case is to find a good childcare as I also have a 6mth old baby. Though I try to avoid this option because I am a SAHM. But really, Grace House is just across the road from my block so convenience is one big factor. I'm in quite a dilemma. Any advice out there, should I pull him out (because if not, my younger one will also go there that will be another few years and fees are not cheap), and where would be an equivalently good school?

I am new here.
Am considering playgroup and childcare for my son next yr (presently 9mths)at bukit batok area.
appreciate your recommendations..i stays at jurong area but caregiver stays at bukit batok.

St Anothny i think too far for me.. heard its a good school but seems hard to get in.. but if you are staying near, no harm trying leh..
lolz.. dun wana stress myself..

bukit view so far last year no balloting so i guess not much competition.. all sc goes in.. recently also have a few good awards (compared to Keming Primary) in the recent years..

can see here for more info: http://www.bukitviewpri.moe.edu.sg/

I have a question and would appreciate some input / general comments. I have 2 kids going to fullday childcare and a maid. My maid recently has been trying to convince me that I do not need her - from NOT helping to get the children ready for school, NOT bathing the children, and not cooking decent dinner! I only ask for 1 vege + 1 meat/fish + 1 soup (alternate days)... yesterday I get 1 plain vege, 1 canned food, and 1 leftover soup. I think it is time to find alternative.

I am wondering if there are SAHMs or aunties that can come in, say, 3 afternoons a week to do housekeeping and preferably, cooking as well? And if there is such service available, what might be a fair price to pay? Anyone with similar arrangement?

When do I need to enroll for child born in 2012 to 18mths playgroup/nursery? I'm a first time mum and not sure how long before enrollment need to be done so that my child can start playgroup/nursery few hours to half day at 18th mths by Mid 2014.

Any good ones to recommend at Bukit Gombak between Sparkle tots/Star tots/Grace house or others nearby? Hopefully walking distance.