BP Shopper

donno wat happened ler.. yesterday got problem accessing to the forum.

hi janeh,

walau.. work till 4am... ur boss really lucky ler...for me last time i always eat snake one lor.. cause i was in sales so most of the time back home early.. u work till 4am.. i reach home at 4pm lor...hahaha... aiyoyo.. i dont think so i can get a desk bound job. u better take care of ur health. like wat moxuyue said, u have to have a healthy body to make another bb.

hi moxuyue,

btw ocean's spree has arrived. me will collect direct from her liao cause bought some disney board books and will wait for it to arrive which wont be so soon and collect it together. thanks a lot yea.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for the maid she'll be coming in later this friday. hope she's good.

working hours from 8-5.30pm 5 1/2days for RM800. but i wont incl her meals and lodging. but she can buy and cook at my place.

my mil said this type of maid have to be very careful where i put my valuables cause they go in and out everyday so very easy if wanna take things. she heard of stories where these maids will take a spoon of sugar/detergent/salt/rice home everyday. this way they save on these necessities.. but anyway even with my current part time maid i am already careful with where i put my valuables. better to be safe than sorry.

Just got a call from Friso! Their milk source is from Netherland but packed in Malaysia. So this one oso out of my list liao. Sigh... Now only 2 choice for me 1)Wyeth 2)Mamil. Hope my boy will accept one of them... fingers crossed.

Hi Vivien,

Ocean haven't contact me for collection leh. Maybe mine not in yet... No need to thank lah, didn't help at all. :p

51/2 days for RM800 is very cheap lor. Good leh! At least u don't need to sleep in the same house with a stranger. But i guess important to keep the house keys so cannot duplicate. But will u leave the maid at home alone? Else cannot go out on wkdays wor. Too bad cannot get Malaysian to come over to work else this is a very good arrangement. My mum's pl don't have room for maid n my father n brother don't want a stranger in home.

Hi MoXuyue

So did u order the toilet seat with steps?

Actually its not easy to toilet train babies, also for training them to self-feed themselves.

I think ur boy learn it from other babies, just like my gal, she imitate the way my nephew cry after seeing it on last saturday. For the past 2 days, i've been correcting her when she cry like him.

Hi Andver,

Nope, didn't get the toilet seat with steps but ordered the Tip-Resistant Furniture Safety Brackets & Portable Shower Arm Safe-er-Grip™. My boy tipping over those plastic drawers and 2 nights ago the iron nearly fall onto his head! Luckily my mum was fast enough to catch it. The portable shower arm for bathroom cause don't wanna drill anymore holes on the wall liao. ;)

I think the toilet seat with steps can still wait for next BP then see how...

How is you r maid? So far so good?

Btw, did you let your girl take the Pneumococcal jab? Last time the doc say after 2yr old is 1jab, below 2yr old is 2jabs. Now he say after 18mths only need 1jab?

Hi Vivien

Hmm... maybe because she's a gal thats why more particular in cleaniness.

As for my new maid, i think maybe she got 1 yr+ experience lor, but certain things like

take care of bb and etc,she got to learn from start cos every baby is different and our expectations oso different.

Actually i'd prefer part time maid then full time. Too much commitment for a full time maid, quite stress [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Janeh

Ya you're rite lor, must train continuously cos if you train during wkends and not wkdays, the interval is too long and she might forget too.

my maid came yesterday... and so far so good except for some minor minor things... really glad she was here and she's able to do most of the things ard the house without much guidance. my boy is down with fever. so i had the time to take care of him full time. went and see a dr and its a viral fever. then have to monitor for 3 days else will suspect its those caused by mosquitoes. these few days my boy was really bitten by lotsa mosquitoes lor.. sigh...

like wat andver mentioned full time maid really much more commitment. for this part time of mine. i dont provide her with any lunch or dinner. and when we go on holiday, we dont need to bring her out or worry she's home alone too.

moxuyue, maybe u can ask ard maid agents in sg whether do they have such kinda maids. i think it'll really helped ur mum in some ways esp with ur 2nd one coming along soon.

as for me i didnt let my boy take the jab. i know its compulsory in US, UK and Aust. reason is last time i spoke to few doctors. and their children also didnt take the jab. they say not necessary cause in our country the disease is not in an upward trend. thats why its not a compulsory jab. unless the child travels a lot to countries with higher statistic in pneumococal disease.

Hi Vivien,

Thats good, your maid come in at the right time! hope your boy recover fast fast! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yah, thats is very true. But i think to get a full-time maid in Singapore will be expensive! So we'll see how first...

The Pneumococcal jab is compulsary in Singapore liao. So gotta jab but now deciding when. I read there is Prevnar (older version) and Prevnar 13(latest). The previous one is vaccination against 6virus and the latest one is 13virus. Will check with doc when my boy goes for his 18mth jab.

Hi Vivien,

Do you have Ocean's HP? Me cannot post on her thread and she haven't reply my email. Thinking of going to collect my stuff from her tonight. Can email me if you have? Thanks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi moxuyue,

oh its compulsory di? in msia still not yet ler..

my boy also going for the 18mths jab soon. hope he got no side effect from it..

btw have pmed u oceans contact. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi MoXuyue

I'm thinking to get the portable toilet seat.

My new maid, so far so good but she is the quiet type, don't really know how to play with my gal.

Yup, i let my gal took the pneumococcal jab, i think is 2 jabs. She also done with her MMR. I let her took the rota-virus very early so its oral. I have the Leak Proof Straw Cup but not the 10 oz Vacuum Insulated Straw Bottle. Don't know what's the difference leh.

me on leave today! coz bring my gal to jab.. yeap mine also got pneumococcal, rotavirus before she turned 18 mths.. 2 jabs for pneu and 1 oral one for rota..

MMR also done. 15 mths, i add chicken pox, today add in another one, hep A. so far so good.

hmm.. anyone hav any idea a good water bottle for baby to go to childcare? mine still using mag mag.

hi moxuyue,

havent seen or tried the btl. but looks good but also quite pricey ler..

hi andver,

glad ur new maid is good so far. think they will need sometime to get close to ur girl. same as my current maid now.

the toilet seat so cute. ur girl toilet trained di easier to get a seat. for me my boy just refuse to sit lor.. sigh...

btw is the leak proof btl good? really leak proof? cause a few btls i have leaks lor... sigh..

FM milk storage bags?? i think some time back someone showed the bp on it. maybe u can try finding in closed bp section.

hi janeh,

maybe u can buy the one from this bp

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3948036.html?1273468436

Foogo by Thermos

Leak Proof Straw Cup Clear/Pink/Purple 11oz selling @ $24

this is the one andver has. cause few of the btls even the pigeon magmag would sometimes leak ler...

Hi Vivien

Right lor cos our bb can recognise ppl now so it'll be abit more difficult.

Sigh.. i can't find the FM storage bag BP [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Forgotten who is the seller too.

I ordered from the above bp too, the hello kitty funtainer bottle and food jar [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Andver,

I think you can get the portable toilet seat, looks useful and your girl willing to do it on the toilet bowl liao. I'll get it too if my boy start using the toilet bowl instead of in his diapers. :p

Maybe the new maid needs time to warm up to your daughter. As long as she don't give headache then very good liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Didn't keep track of the formula milk storage bags. Why don't use those compartment type of container?

The 4 in 1 Toddler's Potty looks good! But i don't think my boy will kwai kwai sit on it. Washing his hair is a headache, must hold him tight cause he'll cry n kick his leg. So now i dare not bathe him liao, leave to my mum n hubby to do that.

I read on the net that there is a latest pneumococcal jab called Prevnar 13. Will find out more from doc when my boy goes for his 18mth jab.

Any side effect from the pneumococcal jab? My boy got slight fever for his 6-in-1 jabs.

Hi Janeh,

Did your girl have any side effect from the pneumococcal jab? Me scare my boy will have fever so wanna wait till he 2yr old then give him the jab. He is having fever now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm thinking of getting the Foogo Straw Cup too. Can read reviews from Amazon. ;)

Hi Vivien,

Me thinking of getting the Vacuum Insulated Straw Bottle cause I prefer him to drink warm water. If go aircon places I'm afraid the water become too cold to drink... still considering cause he still don't know how to use straw...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Mo_Xuyue

Yeah yeah, i bought the portable toilet seat already 

Oh i wanted to get the formula milk storage bags for outing use lor, easier and not heavy.

Pneumococcal jab was ok for my gal but she got fever after the MMRV jab and this happened 5 days after the jab.

Thanks for the link regarding the funtainer ya..i got the bottle w/o the pictures but still in the cupboard unopened.

I use the normal armpit thermometer, ear thermometer, infrared contactless thermometer and also another type with the colour strap type. My paedetrician said the most accurate one is the ear thermometer and she recommended Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520. This bp seller selling it too

http://tiny-shop.blogspot.com/search/label/Thermometer

Hi Andver,

Thanks for the info!!! Will go get the Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer IRT4520! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My boy was ok for the MMR jab, didn't give him the MMRV. But the GP i went to alawys advice us to give him the fever med immediately after the jab and stop if he didn't have fever after giving him twice.

Hi Andver,

Got an email from Nestle that they are giving:

"This May, get 6 FREE NAN® Pro 3 sachets worth $8 with every purchase of 2 NAN® Pro 3 900g tins!

This limited offer is available at all major supermarkets and while stocks last!"

Maybe you can get this for the time being. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi moxuyue,

me thinking of getting the pneumococal jab only after 2 yrs old too. cause tat time most prob will be more certain that i'll send him to cc. then u know la.. children always gets sick in once they are sent to cc. so better to be safe than sorry. but for now. dont wanna burden him with too many jabs.

i got the IRT4520 ear thermometer too. but my boy hates using it. hehehe. everytime have to hold him tight and he'll struggle. faint...

Hi Vivien,

Yah, me too and by then only need 1 jab.

I think at least ear thermometer is much faster than normal armpit thermometer cause the for the normal thermometer i gotta hold my boy down longer... I think must let him play with it first... :p

hi vivien

the thermos quite exp oh...

hi xuyue

my bb still ok from the jab. cant remember if she had any fever. but for the recent ones, i always gave her barley water (china one) one day before jab and before she took the jab. help it quite helpful coz she didnt have any fever after the jab

hmm.. i have both ear and normal thermometer. always will use both when bb has fever. just to make sure mah.. kiasu.. hehehhe..

Hi Janeh,

That means the pneumococal jab should be quite ok since most bbs no fever. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My mum cook barley water once a week for my boy but i'm not sure which type... will check w her. Thanks for the tip! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I heard armpit one quite accurate but like vivien's boy, my boy will cry n struggle when i take his temperature... sigh... so gotta find one thats easier to use n still accurate.

Yah the changing clothes one is cute! But i think more for girl girl leh... ;)

Hi Janeh,

haha... it is something like we used to play when we were young. It was in paper and only 10cents each right? If no money to buy then we draw out the clothes ourselves. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi jane h,

yealor i find it quite expensive too. so still hesitating.. hehehe... if u found any good lobang for btls let me know yea... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the bear thing really cute.. yealor i still remember the one we had on papers.. that one more fun ler.. more girly... hahaha...and i remembered the clothes much nicer.. those were the good old days..

hi moxuyue,

wow u used the armpit method ah?? peifu peifu.. the ear thermomether my boy already struggling with it. i saw pd also using the ear thermometer and it seems most bb's will struggle too lor... i think they dont like it when something foreign is stuck into their ear.

but like u said its really faster than the conventional method

hi vivien n xuyue..

ya i still remember the times we play with the paper, more fancy clothings.. i got the bear thingy liao.. aiya.. only got 5 heads, 5 bodies (clothes) and 5 bottoms.. but my bb seems to b interested only on the heads coz got different expression (happy, sad, laugh etc)

oh yes, do u all start giving yogurt n cheese to bb? i tried to give cheese, but my bb doesnt like it ler.. any idea which brand of yogurt n cheese is good to bb?

Hi Janeh,

I give my boy cheese after he turn one but because i was eating bread and he want so i give a little only. I just give him the brand i like... "President" but leh i think from Europe too so maybe next time i buy cheese from Australia liao. ;P

Didn't let him take yogurt cause its cold directly from fridge. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi jane h

i started giving after 1 too. i just give the normal kraft where they have the high calcium version. for yoghurt i gave the brand yoplait meant for babies. can get from cold storage.

Hi Mo_xuyue

Thanks for the info for nan pro 3 promotion [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yup, i also gave fever medicine before and after bb's jab.

Hi Janeh

I gave cheese & yogurt to my gal after she turned 1.

I gave her Yoplait yogurt (6 tubs) & Fernleaf calci YUM yogurt (4 tubs). For cheese, i gave her Kraft cheestik and also The Laughing Cow cheese cubes.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4007719.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4007720.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4007721.jpg]

Hi Andver,

I went to NTUC, Cold Storage n Guardian to check liao... Most Nan Pro3 made in Philipines liao. Only left a can or 2 of older stock that were manufactured in Switzerland. Wyeth still haven't send me the samples... sigh...

dear all

thanks for the info on yogurt n cheese. will go to cold storage later to check out.

btw, i think my bb allergic to either kraft cheese (pieces type) or karihome goat milk (tablets), she got diarrhea since last week! we stopped to give her since yesterday, hopefully will get better..

hi vivien

still not yet got lobang for cheaper water bottle.. asked tupperware liao.. they dont hav straw type.. got to find again.. saw puku in giant but i think those type is not bpa free lo.. so my bb still stick to her mag mag hahhaha..actually bought her rubbermaid one, but she dunno how to use yet..

Hi Janeh,

My boy will have diarrhoea when he is teething. But one thing very effective is to boil rice water and use it to prepare their milk. I use brown rice, it works for both my boy n my sis's kids. Gives the milk a very nice aroma too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi MoXuyue

Oh dear, shd i change the milk to other brands huh???

Hi Janeh

Try to give ur bb soy milk (Isomil) if bb got diarrhoea.

hi vivien

i search high n low for the bottle yesterday at vivo and finally found one at toy'r'us. But is more for girl leh. coz under strawberry shortcake but is BPA free!! might go n get it these two days.. it comes with strap and straw, around $15.

there is another one at giant under munchkin. but is smaller..BPA free, about $12

actually my main concern is whether the bottle is BPA free or not.. so far only saw these two.. intend to let bb to bring to centre.

inform me if you found other lobangs ya..