Being SPECIAL ,...

thanks for the information..

sigh so much uncertainty... cos it a spectrum so hoepfully relative child is more the hi functioning one..u are right therapy here is so exp..

cowandick - look up to u ..lifelong learning

i read the forum in today ST seems like special sch increase the fees or is it rainbow centre only?

thanks for the information..

sigh so much uncertainty... cos it a spectrum so hoepfully relative child is more the hi functioning one..u are right therapy here is so exp..

cowandick - look up to u ..lifelong learning

i read the forum in today ST seems like special sch increase the fees or is it rainbow centre only?

they keep increasing fees, but service still the same. Some no service even! sigh!

So, gotta DIY lor.

Lifelong learning for me is not a choice. Everything so expensive. Worse, no such service here in Singapore for my girl. how? Got to DIY. What to do? Going Melbourne each time costs a lot of $$$. Can't imagine spending all my time and money there. Told my hb, I was to go other countries for holiday too, not just Melbourne! So spend now and save later lor!

they keep increasing fees, but service still the same. Some no service even! sigh!

So, gotta DIY lor.

Lifelong learning for me is not a choice. Everything so expensive. Worse, no such service here in Singapore for my girl. how? Got to DIY. What to do? Going Melbourne each time costs a lot of $$$. Can't imagine spending all my time and money there. Told my hb, I was to go other countries for holiday too, not just Melbourne! So spend now and save later lor!

Hi. My child has premmie and born on 25 June this year via emergency cesearan. She has really bad reflux and has trouble swallowing even her own saliva. As a result she can choke on secretions not mentioning milk. Hence she is still on tube feeding and now transferred from tMC to KK for further diagnosis. As she is stll small there are many tests that we hold on due to high risk if sedation or GA is used. I am keen to reach out to any parents who have kids with similar problems as we still do not know what her problem is and are hoping she can outgrow them. Tests for pradar willi, chromosome tests, FISH, metabolic tests have all shown to be negative. She is alert, does not cry much except when irritated, trouble breathing or in pain, but is strong peripherally even though at birth she was quite floppy . Birth weight is 1.68kg. When fed the right milk, she can put on an average weight gain of 20 g a day.
At corrected age of 6 weeks plus, she already knows how to turn from her side to her back and to the other side. Intellectually she seems quite smart to us, able to show her displeasure and push people away when she does not like the nurses to suction her mouth/nose for mucus/secretions. She also has defensive mechanisms like covering her mouth, turning her head towards the bed so we can't reach her mouth or raising one finger in the air / tap her foot to express irritability.
If you know any child with similar symptoms please let me know. Thanks.

Hi Sally

Sometimes it is difficult to advise if there's no diagnosis yet. For all you know, it is just a phase your girl is going thru, and will outgrow it soon.

It seems that developmentally your girl is doing fine, so that should be quite assuring. Guess you will just have to persevere for the time being until someone is able to tell you what is wrong for sure.

Let's hope all goes well for your girl. But do drop by here anytime for a chat! Cheers!

Hi cowandchick, costa and fairytake, sorry for not responding immediately. Just checked back into this page today
) Thank you for responding. Yes, costa, please add me to the premature babies support group. Do I need to register there or do you need to invite me in?

Fairytake, what is PM? Sorry I not so tech savvy. I gather is some messaging thing? My email is [email protected] You can reach me by email and I can give you me HP number

Thanks all for advise and support. Baby sleeping nicely now. I bathed her at 11 plus this morning. She always sleeps very well after a nice warm bath. I heard all babies are like that
. I also hope she will outgrow all her problems. My cute little baby
She's 2.72 Kg now the last time I weighed her (2 days back). Not too bad a weight gain. Her birth weight was 1.68Kg.

hey, where's everyone? it's so quiet now.

City, you busy with your boy's exam ah?

Yukee, where you? btw, i tried email you, over quota.

Hello everybody
wow, just realised I 1mth forgot come in .....
city pumpkin had a spray so became golden pumpkin
1026409.jpg

hi Sally
How's ur child, any gd progress?

Hi C&C
I go find $$ via shares but ended up in the drain so heartache .... ,I reappeared in the 30-40. Happy Yukee gone Japan .... shiok but .... let her tell u.

Golden, yah, go japan beri shiok, but i caught my gal virus, so was sick for the 1st 3days...lagi more shiok...hahaha...

golden pumpkin u so cute.. why change name?

yukee-finally seee u... wow u su actually went japan with 2? i went to japan airport ( when on the way to states) and can barely survived the flight... i love japan cos soooo clean ( not sure how is outside cos airport very clean that i scared i will wet or even dirty it when i uses it..) tell me which part of japan u went... heard their stuff so exp so still saving to go japan one day. how long were u in japan?

Hi Toy Collector, nice to meet you, although abit rush, cos i thought you might be rushing...;)...mayb next time we can come out for lunch so we can talk longer...

Yah, Japan is quite a nice place, we went Osaka for a week...unless you like branded goods, they have a wide range to choose from, clothes don't need to buy, a simple t-shirt already S$20+ S$30 liao...we don buy much things lor, but lucky the shopping centre there were having sale, just buy some toys for my gals and some gifts to prepare for Christmas gift exchange...heehee...i bought a few art & craft book from their book shop, the price is half of wat is selling in Singapore...as for food, each meal average is ard S$6-S$7, if you eat at those small shop...

Hi Golden, sent you a email, today is our case conference, so just go there for a while...i saw you from far when i was going off, but i forget about the books, so i didn't call you...the speech therapist said from next semester they are using talktool method for speech, so have to buy those tools...quite expensive...

We went to buy those instant bowl noodle from the Yen100 shop (aga S$1.30), price about same as, but taste nicer and bigger serve then those we buy from supermarket in Singapore.

hi Yukee
PCMH no news about talktool, nobody talking about it so I guess we not affected yet.

Science Ctr today - the sun so hot but it decided to drizzle after we left the water fun. Not a good day cos clashed with many schools - McD flooded with students.

hi yukee.. i admire your courage to manage 2 kids to japan... me n hubby had a hard time managing our son at japan airport n the worst we are so ooo tired but the stuff in narita airport is sooo exp even Mac ..so we have no choice but to try some free samples of the sweets and walk around to look at their nicely wrapped sweets n food stuff.

i would love to go japan one day cos i love sushi ( watched japan hr to look at their fresh sushi)but was told their sushi taste different from ours..

Hi Golden,
I donno TalkTool is it for the whole school or just EIPIC, wait & see lor.

We are going to the Qian Hu fish farm next tue, the students can choose between the 'fish foot spa' or fishing...decide to let my gal go fishing, think she will not like fish swimming around her feet and biting her feet...i wanted to try, but caregiver must pay.

Hi Toy Collector,
don need to admire me lah, you just need to be thick skin lor (my #2 always cry, so let her cry lor), auntie abit (carry my #2 and push my #1 pram when my HB go toilet or shopping for his things)...that's all...haha...

In fact, i only try their sushi once, about the same as us...usually i eat beef rice, just like the Yoshinoya here, but taste much better and is the cheapest meal, also tasted their lamen, good also...

Yah, you should go, very nice place. In fact, i went there a few times, and would like to go again if got chance.

okie maybe japan should be my family next outing..but need to save $$...most likely next yr going to HK disneyland with in laws.. have u been to hk disneyland?

No, i have not been to the HK Disneyland, cos we went to the Tokyo one, my HB said don't waste money to go again until my gals can appreciate those things.

Hi Yukee, email u

U going Qian Hu with our school? Heard Sentosa got those 'cute eating fish', unaware Qian Hu has too. Tell me (if happen to get that experience) when u r back.

Hi Golden, i think i have no time to experience it, cos have to look after my gal...mayb will go with my family next time to try.

Hi mummies, City (Golden) got suspend (again?)...hahaha...donno wat she had done (she also not sure)...anyway she wants to inform anyone who knowns her that she will be MIA for a while...

Just trying to be helpful... I am volunteering reguularly for St Andrew's Community Hospital and they have a faclity for Autistic children on the top floor.
Here is the website if anyone is keen -www.sach.org.sg

Hi Toy Collector, fyi...u might be interested in joining "shoulders-sg" a yahoo online support group for parents with children with ASD

Hello Cowandchick, u were saying about oral hygiene for ur child? Is ur child attending a special school? Is there an OT there? I believe an OT should be able to help you with it...OTs are concerned with matters of daily living including activities of daily living...he/she might be able to suggest some strategies or modifications to help ur child maintain oral hygiene. Let me know if you need contacts for OTs in S'pore....I might be able to help

Hi Hedya
My girl not in special school. Took her out coz cannot tahan the way they run things! She's in mainstream school, just finished P4 this year.

Anyway, the special school also got no OT of any sort. I went to the website on OTs in Singapore, cannot get thru them leh. Would appreciate if you can help.

May have to resort to doing it myself with her. Getting in touch with other visually impaired adults, and asking them how they manage themselves!

C&C
my special sch got OT, PT etc ..... thot got mention to u? Also got mention I know a mummy with 2 blind girls - met her when we attended Aquatic Readiness (swimming) last yr.

I'm a bit surprise to c yr question on oral hygiene .... thot she P4 liao 'shld know'. Think I miss this part so a bit blur now.

btw, I just shoot the Mod so I think this nick wont last long .... questioned their efficiency, double std and being unfair to me.

Angelmum
If kena suspended again, just email me your new nick lor! What to do?! Must still keep in touch, right?

My girl is brushing her teeth ok, but because she can't see her reflection in the mirror, cannot pinpoint the dirt part. Tried to get her to floss also difficult.

Your special sch got OT, but school for blind bo leh!

C&C
But Rainbow Ctr - both branches have OT n other therapies!

The mummy told me her 1st girl was born blind - did genetic tests but cant find any problem. 2nd child also blind, so sway. Girls were in special sch - never in mainstream cos not half way down the road faced visual problem.

The girl in the same Aqua can swim/float herself. I dont know their names, only know face

U might want to ring Rainbow n check

angelmum know how u felt cos that time i was suspended i was wondering i saw mum writing in free item to rent out their flat their car their bumbo seat n i just say to loan out my toy for a small token and it was really small 1-3 for 6 mths and i was suspended.. i was really upset cos i can actually sell my item since i was here since july 06..i have in the past lend my toys to mum whom i know for free..

sigh i also noted that a few mums boldly write for cash or just for just state the price.. i guess the mod might be too busy to notice them..

hi toy collector

indeed frustrated cos others dont get banned (used cash) but I kenna. U already got back yr ac so not that bad lor.

So now u not using yr other nick with 01?

Hv u tried cleaning yr windows with the expired diaper?
1083814.gif

it took a while to get it back..but 2 mums wrote to the mod cos i really offered my toys to them without any monetary exchange at all..

ha ha i have not tried using the expired diapers cos just in case some mum wants it for their babies poo inside..

Hi C&C,

Sorry for the delayed reply. Is your daughter a member at SAVH? I know that they used to have an OT there who worked with the visually impaired years ago. Am not sure whether there's still one there now. There are quite a number of OTs in private practice and you can also get OT services for children at NUH & KKH. However, many of them specialise more in developmental delay or autism. If you want some names of places where you can start to call and ask around, I'll be happy to email to you....