Any mtb/moms staying at Woodlands area?

Hello Happymrskoh,

As I mentioned before on earlier chat, quite a number of good teachers have left. And I dont like the system later on and have transferred out of the school last year. And feel it is too pricey.

They will do English, Maths and Chinese and also once a week music and art & craft etc.

Hi Happymrskoh, you may consider Little Sparkler Learning Centre @ Woodgrove Woodlands, I quite like the teachers there and found them quite friendly and positive towards kids, my son is quite a shy boy but after a year with them, he improve his social skill tremendously.. I am happy with the result.. Afterall, it depends on you which result you want to get at the end, you may go down to their centre to have a look and feel it yourself..

Hi Cashewnut,

I am intending to take a visit at this school as I'm looking for an enrichment school not a chidcare centre. Can you let me know how is their curriculum like? How old is your boy when you enrolled him?
So glad that your feedback about this school is good.

Hi Elaine, I enrol my boy for N2 and now he is in K1. Sorry I can't give you much advise on the academy cos my initial intention is to let my boy mix around.. but they do have meet the parent section every 6 months, and using MMI method to teach.. they are following the MOE guide line in teaching so i think they cover all the necessary syllibus. They do have outfeild visiting too, i remember my boy did visit to yakult farm, marina barrage & some other vege farm too. Their next outing is Singapore Zoo this coming March.. And one thing i like is they do have lots of feedback to my FIL when he go pick up my son, so i roughly know what happen to him during the class.. Oh.. i forgot to mention, they are on facebook too.. you can see some interesting photos or update there too.. http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/pages/Little-Sparkler-Learning-Centre/130008437016842

Hi Elaine, that time when i looking for a class for my boy, i did visit another centre just right opposite the Little Sparkler, the centre is well equip with play area & computer as compare to Little Sparkler, yes, they say they do teach basic computer, but the staff attend to us is so unfriendly and "yaya papaya", so ends up we choose Little Sparkler and till date, we have no regret for our choice..

Hi Cashewnut,

Heehee, I did browse through their pictures on facebook. Actually, I planned a visit before CNY but then I wasnt feeling well so postponed it till today. Surprisely, the principal Gail did a follow up. Usually, most schools I encountered will not bother with any follow up. Oh, btw, do they have spelling for K1? Or it starts at K2?

My boy is only 15 mth now so if the school is good, I might let him try next year. Thanks for letting me know that "stuckup" school ... I dislike those yaya papaya schools too.

Hi Elaine, I know some of my fren's kids did do spelling test in K1, but i think i haven seem any for my boy, but i do know they teach spelling in phonics way, cos my son did mumble lots at home.. By the way, my younger son also there now, he is 21 mths now.. may be they can be classmate next year..

I have settled both my sons pre-school searching, now cracking head for P1, I do not have any fren around Woodlands, so is quite diff for me to get info on Primary..

Hi Cashewnut, I see. It's alright. Will check the details on their curriculum when I get to meet Gail.

Oh, you still have a younger one?? Cool, really hope they can be classmates next year and I will keep a lookout for you. :D

To be honest, I am not very good with the primary schools around Woodlands too. Is there any schools nearby your house within 1-2 km? If the school is good, then maybe you can write in to see if you can do some PV work. No guarantee but at least increase your chances into getting that school.

Hello Cashewnut & Elaine,

As I remembered I did mentioned abt the few primary schools around Woodlands that can considered as that are the feedback that I got from others.

Admiralty Primary School
Greenwood Primary School
Woodlands Primary School
Fuchun Primary School

Hi Ling, Woodgrove or Greenwood? or both?? Yes, still can't make up my mind which school to go.. dunno whether to sign up PV or just follow the god's will.. if need to sign up PV, this JUN is the closing date.. but again, Woodgrove do not need ballot this year for student stay within 1km.. a bit too lazy for PV..

cashewnut, nowadays the balloting can be quite crazy.. i think last year even greenwood have balloting for phase2C (cannot remember if its within 1km or within 2km. read it on another forum).

Perhaps mommies who have kids in primary school can feedback, but I think most of us have pre-primary tots!

Cashewnut, my girl born in the same year as ur son, 2007. Im sourcing for primary sch now also. Nearer to where i stay is Admiralty Pri. And me myself have shortlisted Innova Pri also.

Heard Admiralty is the established sch in wdlands. those stay <1km also need to ballot.

Hi Kate, How is Kerryn now? She is in N2 rite? Yes, my boy suppose to born in 2007 but he come out earlier in 2006, so now cracking head to source for primary for him.. Somebody comment Admiralty as:

good schools in wdlds are admiralty, woodgrove, woodlands ring and innova.
those who wana go admiralty, make sure your kid knows how to read simple books, can count and know simple times table.
then the learning will be accelerated as the pupils will be exposed to higher order learning.
admiralty is not advisable for weak pupils as they are not so good in nurturing the weaker lot.

Admiralty is 1-2km from my house, but still consider far cos my house near woodlands mrt, think just 1 blk away from your parents house.. hehe.. unless i consider school bus.. if school bus is in option, then i got lots of choice but then need to do PV to secure the place lor which I lazy and cannot make up my mind which school to choose..

How?? what is your priority to choose the school?? I cannot make up my mind to put which as priority:
1) near my house? (Woodgrove) or PIL house? (Fuchun)
2) guaranty registration? (Fuchun)
3) after school care? (Innova)
4) Popular school?? (then most are fall within 1-2km and need school bus arrangement)

How??

Cashewnut,

Is Greenwood but this is what I heard from other pple.

My son is in Primary 1 now.

I think for Primary 1 so far not too bad just make sure that your kid know 1-20, some number bonding and additional and subtraction before going Primary 1 and they will be more comfortable.

Hi Ling, addition &amp; subtration is headached, i have no patient to teach.. by the way, what is your priority to choose the primary??

May be I should just settle down at Fuchun since it is quite popular too &amp; is near my IL house &amp; is guaranty registration.. But I also quite like the Innova after school care (need more info on what the school care do?)

Cashewnut, ya.. kerryn is in N2 now. Most likely i will choose Admiralty as my 1st choice while Innova as my 2nd choice.

I quite like innova cozs is a single session school and also like you say, got student care there.

Ling, ur son is in which sch?

Cashewnut,

Ya it really needs a lot of patient when teaching maths. Me too is impatient so poor JJ (my son) always get scolding from me. But his method of using his fingers when addition and subtraction is good. He always put the bigger number in his mind and then let say when doing subtraction, eg 22 - 8, he will put the number 22 in his mind then he will show 8 fingers then will read out the number and at the same time reducing the number of fingers.

I have shifted to Sembawang and for my son I would choose a school that have good foundation as I feel it is important to create a strong base. And since I am a old girl so I enrolled JJ there.

I heard that Fuchun is good too. So maybe it is worth considering Fuchun as you will be free from hassle. I am also a old girl then. Heehee.
I shifted when I was in Primary 4 and was the pioneer of Fuchun Primary School.

Kate,

JJ is in Rosyth School

Hi Ling

Sorry to interrupt here. I am also staying in woodlands and my son is K1 this year. I am considering between Greenwood and Woodlands Ring for his primary school but can't decide. I am new to woodlands (just shifted here 2 months ago) so pretty new to the primary schools in this area. The nearest to me is Greenwood Primary and Woodlands Ring Primary.

Hoping anyone who has info about these 2 schools can share.

cashewnut, must know time (multiplication) table before entering p1 for admiralty... scary! Any idea about the non-academic features of Admiralty?

Ling, wow..rosyth is far.. do you send ur DS there or does he take the school bus?

Bloom,

Ya quite far. My dad drive him to school everyday and I will pick him up from school.

But actually while driving JJ back, I do see school bus going to the same direction with me till Yishun. Hee hee..

Wow Bloom, that really sound scary.. my son still dun really understand how the addition and subtraction works, need not to mention about multiplication, he still can't memorise it..

check with you guys, do you teach your kids multiplication in english or chinese?? I myself learn it in chinese way, but my husb learn it in english, heard ppl say chinese way are better cos shorter syllable

Hi Cashewnut,

I taught my daughter in English. She finds it easier saying in English. I reckon reason being she is more comfortable with English.
it all depends on the child ba

cashewnut, i am not saying go Admiralty PS need to know multiplication, i am quoting your mesg "make sure your kid knows how to read simple books, can count and know simple times table" and saying tat its scary.... i assume ur simple times table means multiplication right?

wah..all of u so on.. i never teach my gal anything.waiting for school to teach.. :p i find that either i canot teach, or i am not teacher-enuf..she just cannot absorb whatever i tried to teach...

Hi Elaine/Happymrskoh/Cashewnut

Am so glad to find this thread...i've been burning midnight oil researching on preschools at woodlands these few nights. I am very happy to have chance upon this thread! I have a 23mth old tot and am also looking for a suitable preschool for him next yr. Seems like Little Sparkler is a good recomendation. Will add that to my list. Thanks for your recommendation.

Does anyone know/hear anything about AppleTree and Star tots?

Hi Li Ann,

Haha, I'm also so happy to have found this thread but something crops up last week and I still havent get a chance to go down to Little Sparklers. HIaz... once I get a chance, will let you know how I feel about the school. Hope it's good. I dun want to search for schools again. It's giving me a big headache!!!

I havent hear anything about Appletree and Star tots yet. if any mummies who knows about these two schools, pls let us know. Thanks a million in advance

Mummy pls avoid the yay a papaya school opps little sparkler, I enroll my son last year and he came home crying, there's 1 tr there think she is the in charge, no smile not friendly at all, pupils that came out from there look stoned n not cheerful at all.
Although my son love their gym equipments but he felt sad without me inside with him, cos the tr there are quite unfriendly....
Maybe it's just my experience but please take a look at the place n talk to all the trs before deciding

I m planning to take a look at little sparkler too cos its really near my place.

Thanks mummyfang for the advise!! I dun want my son to come back crying too.
Btw, if you happen to visit little sparkler, can you let us know your thoughts and opinions about this school? thanks

hello mummies!
i'm new in this thread n have a 18 mth old gal. i'm also on a hunt for N1 school for next yr when my dd turns 3. any recommendations? i've signed her up for startots for this yr aleady but have not started. will give my thoughts once she has started for a few wks. i'm not expecting much fr there, just hope she can socialise and not get bullied. i've visted little sparkler, small setup but the place looks quite neat and clean. not sure if their curriculum is good or not. any one sending their child there for N1 can comment?

Hi mumies,

Was quite busy lately, long time never log in..

you may log on to little sparkler facebook, they just have their 2011 1st feild trip to Singapore Zoo, my sons are enjoying the trip..

Ha mummyfang, I have same feeling as you when i last visit the yaya papaya school..

my dd is in fuchun pri nw. i should say the standard in this sch is dropping...

surprisingly, siling pri is better nw, i heard fm my cousin whose dd is studying in siling that they had changed to a better principal n hence standard is picking up!!

govier, thats the scaring thing... each principal only stays there for 6 years so a school's standard can change when our kids are halfway there...

Bloom,
i saw this chart on, i think, "kiasu parents" web, they list down the pri sch according to the PSLE results. i was SURPRISED siling is within top 20 whereas fuchun is within last 20!!! HUH!!!

govier, think that list gives higher weightage if there is more recent high scorers, and i read from ksp that siling had a top student duno last year/year before....

Bloom,
is it that girl who can enter SCGS. Her dad was afraid she cant "blend" into the life there as they hv $$ problem after he saw most of the student in SCGS are chaffeured in "branded" cars!! this girl ended up in NJC but her dad was killed in a car accident!!! So sad leh!

govier, not sure if its that girl. I just read abit here abit there from ksp forum. Sighh..sometimes life is so scary and unpredictable...

Mommies, anyone know of any bicycle shop in Woodlands area that sell adult tricycle? My balancing on 2 wheels is very terrible, but now I am thinking of ferrying my gal to enrichemnt class using 2/3/4 wheels (not car lah) so am thinking of getting a tricycle / bicycle with stabilising wheels. Any idea?

i alway go to the bicycle shop, along the roadside, in woodlands mart. the old couple is friendly n helpful! anyway, be careful when cycling.

i thot this girl was the top last year cos newspaper came out when her dad was killed... heartpain too when i read the news...

thread is kinda QUIET!!!! only both of us... Chit here, Chat there!!

govier, u mean the bicycle shop i thik at the bottom of the carpark on the road towards woodlands mart? don't really go there often so not sure with the location.

woodlands mommies are all very busy ahahahah

<font color="0000ff">Hi Woodlands mummies, me staying @ Blk 7xx, near woodlands mart</font>

Does anyone know is there a guarantee enrollment if using PIL place to register for PS?

jynnsan, PS = primary school? any primary school?

If use PIL address, address will be considered as between 1km - 2km even if it is < 1km. So have to depends on which school you are talking about.

Hihi mommies!!! I'm a woodlands mommy too, staying at Dr75.

I have 3 princesses, 5yo, 3yo and 10mths. My 5 and 3 are in kinderland preschool civic K1 and PreN2.

Btw can u advise when do we need to start pv at the primary school? I am thinking of enroling her into Greenwoods, nearer to my home. Is it good?

Hi artitute

I think the PV registration for children born in year 2006 is closed. You may need to call Greenwood Primary to confirm if you are keen to PV for this school.

Thanks Bloom, yes, PS = Primary School.
Now there is a construction of PS just opposite my block, directly opposite Admiralty Primary School. Went to MOE website, it does not state which Primary School.

jynnsan, oh..that is interesting..never really notice that side (cos its not near main road).mmm wonder if it will be ready next year :p