Any comments on Modern Montessori International

moomooko

Any mummies sent their child to Modern Montessori International school? Any comments?
Any from the west branch eg. choa chu kang or bukit timah....

Hi moomooko,

I sent my elderest girl to the MMI at bukit panjang (ten mile junction). Find it good as my girl is now more motivated to learn. They teach sensorial, practical life skills, language and mathematics skills with lots of hands-on concept.

Try to visit their http://www.modern-montessori.com for details

Micsarah

Hi, my daughters attend MMI ten miles too. Which level is your daughter? I have one in K1 and one in playgroup. The teachers there are wonderful.

Hi 2galswith love,

My girl is at the N2 level full day program. Yes the teachers and staff are all great and wonderful.

Will be transferring her end of this end to MMI Brighthill.

For those looking for MMI in Jurong.
There will be one childcare soon at the new jurong sport complex (st 93) Think another 1mth will be open. When to take a look, still renovating. Quite big. Looking forward to the opening

I also have one daughter going to MMI Play group...Tells me that she sang this poem today when she comes back.. She goes to MMi West coast

I went to the open house of the new centre at Jurong west st 93 and i realised that the tables there have pointy edges. When i asked the teacher there, she said 'well, they are from the supplier'. I was like ???

And some of their teaching materials used are cut from those glass like plastic materials (for shapes matching) where edges are kinda sharp.

Are other MMI centres using the same kind of pointy edges tables?

I also attended the open house at the JW Sports Complex & decided to sign my boy up though he's only turning 16mths in few days time..wanted to secure a place for full day as I understand that places will be limited as most parents prefer to sign up for the full day instead of half day given the $25 difference only.
Mummies whose kids are w this centre for a while, care to share ur child's development? Thks

Any mom sending 18 mos-2yo toddler for enrichment class at MMI Tampines MART? Can provide some review?

I have been to the MMI CC at JW sports complex. The place is very new and nice.

My kids didn't attend this CC. But my 4 year old girl attends phonics enrichment class at MMI beside Lakeside MRT. I find it very good. My girl not only can read, her english pronunciation also improved a lot.

Hi Sharon
I cant rem exactly how much but the full day CC is $600..I signed up for the 2 weeks trial to c how my boy react

for those in MMI JW Ext, how do u find it?
i'm interesdted in sending my kids there but abit surrise on their teacher to student ratio lei...
rgds,
wendy

What about the teacher ratio? I heard is 1:12 not sure if this is the norm. Thanks shylyn. I think yours is for working mum 642 with GST. Non working mummy is 700 plus with GST I think. Anyway the registration fee is $107 with GST. Just paid. :p

Would like to find out any parents with kids in MMI programme before and now in Primary school? Just want to find out whether MMI trained kids can be really fitted into pri school syllabus? Reason is bcos my girl is under MMI school for 1 year going to K1 next year and abit worry that too much time has been spend on montessori teaching and not main stream teaching. Pleas advise.

Great thanks

Hi Sharon

U send ur child to MMI as well? Currently, my boy's class, he's in playgroup, has only abt 5 students of which, only 3 including him are on full day. Not too sure whether is it due to the holiday season..this mth very much lesser students..but on average the student to teacher ratio is 1:8

Micsarah
Sorry, no comments on this as my boy is much much younger than urs ^_^

Hi Sharon

U send ur child to MMI as well? Currently, my boy's class, he's in playgroup, has only abt 5 students of which, only 3 including him are on full day. Not too sure whether is it due to the holiday season..this mth very much lesser students..but on average the student to teacher ratio is 1:8

Micsarah

Hi Sharon

Micsarah

Shylyn,

Your son is Ivec? My girl is in the same class. Full day.

Hi Sharon

Really? Which one is ur dd? I know there's a girl who will knows my boy name & even pronoun it accurately..impressed indeed cos my boy dun even know how to pronoun his own name yet. :p

Wanted to send u a pm..but pity u dun accept pm..we can chat further via emails ^_^ Definitely love to make another mummy friend..hopefully can meet up as well ^_^

My girl's name is Sheryl.

heehee...My girl still don't speak very well yet so maybe you are referring to the long hair one Pheobe who I think speaks really well as she is the oldest in the class according to the teacher? Glad to know another mum with a kid in the same class. BTW your son is still young so he wil talk later. I understand Ivec is the youngest in the whole centre. He is really cutee...

I only talked to your FIL during my girl's orientation so it it nice to meet you here.

Me girl also on fullday childcare at jurongwest MMI.

She jus started this week..
First day home already kena flu + cough.
The rest of the week cry till no voice ..

Mummies with kids in jurongwest MMI,
Any comments cos me and my friend were quite disappointed.

the playgroup class, always alot of crying and teacher couldnt handle them..the kdis want to go toilet the teacher also no time bring them there ..sigh..
then all got 'pi sai' teacher also not free to clean for them.
and then food are little ..bathing are 'qi cai'
anyway the center is very chaotic.

Wonder if other center are like this..

Do you all have the same feeling or me overreacted ?

Anyone has comments about the branch at Holland Grove? Or has anyone sent their tots there, care to share your experience?

i sent my daughter to MMI ten mile junction for 1 yr and just to share my experience:

1) main reason i sent my daughter there was to learn english. my daughter was looked after by my mandarin/dialect speacking parents. the teachers was so impatient, after 2 wks trial they constently complained to me that my daughter can't speak english. and said that she has to start speaking english!! how can she start to speak english when she don't know how to?!

2) the school lost 3 sets of her school uniform, 1 bedsheet & 2 blanket in 1 yr. the teacher did not inform of the lost also.

3) i told the teacher to help encourage my picky daughter to eat more. my daughter feedback to me saying when she said don't like to eat and the teacher just ignore her and walk away!

4) there was few occasions when my daughter hurt herself but no feedback from the teacher at all.

5) when i cook food for my daughter to bring to school for celebration, she said that she did not get the eat the food that i cook. it was given to other class!

6) i also spent nearly $100 like plsrelax for yr end concert including costume, ticket & video.

I am utterly dissappointed with this BRANDED SCHOOL. I have since transfer my daughter to a normal childcare and she is always happy not like previously in MMI. I spoke to a few mummies and they had lots of complaints about the school too, but did not want to go through the hazzle of changing school for their child.

I hope these is helpful information to mummies who is planning to send their child there

mummy(jusamummy)

Hi, may i know which childcare did you transfer your daughter to? I am looking around for recommendations.

Me too very disappointed with this Premium school. They have become so commercialised over the years. Trust me, when they first started in 2003, they were totally different. From they way they manages their students and their attitude...

Am thoroughly and completely disappointed with them. Will let my k2 girl complete her last year here while look for a better environment for my N1 girl.

Alot of mummies, including me, have feed back to school, main office and whichever way. The problem is, they are very good with excuses and covering up. Anyway, we are in no position to start a war, ie, will sure be at a losing end. They will always tell you, "well, its alright, we still have a long waitlist......."

I can relate and understand your frustration. My daughter has been refusing to go to the school since the beginning of this year, and i have been paying the school fees....

hi 2galswithlove,

i feedback to the teachers about my concern and they show my 'black face' for few days. few times later, i talked to the principal instead and said the same thing!"if u are not satisfied u can withdraw, we have lots of pple waiting to come in!"

after i withdraw my daughter i called main office, nobody called back after a wk. so i emailed, also no reply. i emailed after a wk again still no reply!! they are simply not interested to know our feedback at all!

and the thought of paying that amt with this type of attitude makes me blood boil leh!

mummy,

Oh my god.... so angry for you. No point talking to the Principal... Anyway, i think their days at Ten miles are limited.. Heard the building has been put up for tender.

What goes around comes around.

I try to PM you k?

I think MMI centres aren't very keen to reply enquiries etc. I waited for more than 4 days for their reply about my son's enrichment preogramme, no one called me back even message is left.

Hi jisamummy,

Surprise to hear your feedback regarding the MMI at tenmile. My girl was in N2 last year with MMI tenmile and we didn't encounter what you have been through. So sorry to hear that. However, this year we transferred her out and put her in thomson MMI as we shifted from west to north. Not too happy with the curriculum at MMI thomson. Ya feel that MMI is charging so much yet we are not paying quality stuff nowadyas.

Well my girl has been to west coast MMI and she is just fine...
They are nice and responsive...
The centre supervisor according to me is a star...she keeps check on all the teachers...
Overall I would say i have liked this particular MMI

yes standard for different branch varies, and i can only say for the ten mile branch that standard there is totally not what u would expect from a 'premium' school. and there's alot of mummies share the same view as me.

My son has been in mmi ten mile for about 1 1/2 yr. Thumbs up for the playgroup! The teachers are responsive and he learns a lot there. Lots of hands on activties too. Now in N1 harder to reach out to teachers cos I think class size has grown. So far so good!

school sucks in MMI jurong west ext sports complex. i am withdrawing my kid the instant i get a placement in another school!

Hi Happygirlie,

Hi i had transferred both my girls from MMI Thomson as i had problem picking them up on time so transferred to cc near to my place at bishan.

I think overall ok but it depends on which teachers and which classes. However, didn't like the lack in chinese lesson especially the child is in K1 or K2 need to prepare for P1.

Now my younger girl happier in new childcare. used to cry everyday in MMI Thomson bcos different class with the sister.

anyone has been or sent their kids to MMI in sembawang. they recently had a branch early this march.

I'm looking for playgroup or 1/2 day for my 2 yr old girl. preferably not too far from home as my mum will be sending/taking her from school