Air Purifier - Please advise.

i'm also looking to buy a purifier for bb's room. Heard that the brands like toshiba etc (not sure about sharp), uses ozone to ionise the dustmites etc, which is ultimately not good for health. Recently, USA also ban such purifiers as it is not environmentally friendly.

Think you'll need to look out for HEPA approved ones, which are better than the ozone ones. I have to check with my hb, who has some brands in mind. I can't remember all of them but one of them is called Honeywell.

Prices range from $400 - 800 for one set. There is a shop in Shaw centre who specialises in these type of anti-allery products.

gingerleaf,

You can check out this link for the honeywell brand. http://www.allergy.com.sg/honeywell.html

I remember which brand my hb wants to buy liao, its called Austin. He said that although its more expensive, the filtration system is less expensive to maintain in the long run.

The link for Austin brand purifiers is:
http://www.allercare.com.sg/products/air_purifiers.htm

We've not bought the purifier yet... I'm only due in Dec so still got time to deliberate. The shop in shaw centre is located at No.1, Scotts Road,
#04-54, Shaw Centre,
Singapore - 228208

You can check it out... heard that they sometimes have discount on the purifier. Can leave your name with the sales assistant if you want them to inform you of any promotions.

I am using the Philips humidifier - it uses some ultrasonic technology to break down the water into a mist. Also helps with some cleaning function. I think its about $150 not on sale but i got it 15% off from the kakibukit baby warehouse forgot the name its #69.

Then at the philips fair it was going for about $80-90+.

http://www.consumer.philips.com/consumer/en/sg/consumer/cc/_mRank_2/_productid_SCH580_20_SG_CONSUMER/Ultrasonic-Humidifier+SCH580

The osim one looks good too - but i think given a chance again i will still buy the philips as the osim is a small item - you will have to refil water everyday - abit troublesome - for the philips i can refil water every other day at the 1.5 speed notch.

Botanist,
Thanks for the infos and links, will check them out.

vic_ma,
I've got a humidifier oreadi. Looking for an air purifier now. Thanks!

gingerleaf,

the Austin one is more expensive, my hubby said its just under $800. But the sales person at the Shaw centre shop said sometimes her boss gives discount of 15 or 20% (i can't remember the exact amt). So we are waiting for discount lor..

We have a 10% discount voucher from SGH, cos my hb went for allergy testing there and they give voucher to encourage him to buy purifier.

I think we would like to get the purifier but still waiting to see if its really necessary. Cos so expensive!
But if it helps to keep room dust mite free, then it will be better for bb.

botanist,
Yeah, this purifiers are really expensive!
Which model are u looking at? The healthmate looks good from the description. Bet they cost a bomb also.

I'm not sure which one my hb wants, but it could be the healthmate jr., because he mentioned that he is looking at the Austin one that fits our bedroom size (which is 2 bedrooms knocked into 1).

At first, we thought of getting honeywell (which is half price from Austin), but that one must change filter after 2 or 3 years, and the main filter is quite expensive! like another $200 - 300, so we figured that if we are serious, better get the Austin cos no need to change until 5 years. But there is still a smaller filter that you need to change regularly (like air-con filter), but it does not cost a few hundred dollars.

Hmm I dont know much about these purifiers, but my hb did say that if you are shopping for one, must consider these things:
- purifier that suits room/house size
- HEPA approved, of course
- no. of times it recycles the air in the room, within 24 hours (this is quite impt)
- err.. i can't recall the rest..

wow. thats alot of researh done on ur hubby part!
Am gg to use it for bedroom oso, same as urs, 2 into 1. I never know abt the recycle of air thingy till u mentioned. Wowww. Im really impress by wat purifiers can do!
I hope the Jr is as good as the Healthmate.

hehe yah, he is the kiasu type. Must do lots of research before buying.

Let me know which one you get! I think I wont get it so soon... so maybe we can compare notes.

I have to show hb 1st. Quite a hefty amt to part for a purifier tho.
We have a delonghi purifier which we got during the sars period, but have not used it for a long long time, tho the unit is still working, hb wans a new one. He was looking at sharp plasmacluster actually but I think he might be interested in the Austin more. Not sure wanna spend so much on the purifier or not since my newborn hasnt show any allergies to her surrounding yet..

Did any of you finally get the Austin? I am contemplating of getting one as well. But find it really expensive. The sales girl told me it is $795 but my friend told me she bought it for aroun d $600+. Pl let me know your purchase price if you have bot the Austin.

I've the Sharp plasmacluster.

Also, if you are holding a durian feast in your aircon living hall, just have your Honeywell on, and there is no residue durian smell.

i'm thinking of getting a air purifer for our master bedroom. Can pls advise on which kind to get? thanks!

Sorry, New to this thing.
Like to know how effective is Air purifier? And it can contain germ or virus spreading.
I ask cos, my two kids are sleeping in the same room. if one sick , scare the other will catch the virus or germs as well.. any advice?

Is it true that air purifier can help reduce coughs/runny nose due to allergy and dust? Was recommended by TCM to get a purifier when my boy was down rather frequently with cough and bronchitis. Furthermore he sleeps on the mattress on the floor and we were told that the area is the most dusty regardless how many times we mop the floor each day.

I have a high-end Air purifier, Blueair bought in Oct 2008 with 3 years warranty. Hardly used as my children have no effect using or without. Now moving house, & thought of pass to someone which can put it to good use. Bought at $668 with a new filter un-used, still keep original receipt. Pls explore their website to find out more info.
http://www.blueair.com/Singapore/en/products/203/

I bought directly with the direct supplier, MassMark International Pte Ltd. Interested, pls pm me.

I thinking of getting a UV-C air purifier, saw a maier brand and this germ guardian brand in US. any comments? read about air purifier with uv-c is more efficient in killing virus.

Many of my friends are using the Atmosphere brand air purifier. Very effective n energy saving. Can filter out as small as SARS virus. Tan Tock Seng Hospital ICU is using this brand too. If interested, can email: [email protected], to find out more

We have been using several air purifiers.

AP1. Sharp plasmacluster, FU-W43E, S$476.64
http://www.sharp.com.sg/web/products/prodDetail.asp?prodId=284

AP2. Air free Sterlizer & Air Purifier, around $300
http://www.amazon.com/AirFree-Platinum-Sterilizer-Purifier-Filter/dp/B000V8JOMQ

AP3. Maier UV-C Pluggable Air Purifier (MHI-608), $49
http://www.maier.sg/pdts_ap_mhi608.html

Have been using:
AP1 for 18 months now,
AP2 for 11 months now,
AP3 for 1 month.

AP1 for our daughter room, and
AP2+AP3 for our room.

Will be tranferring AP2 (Air free) to my office, to kill virus/bacteria from colleagues who are coughing when sick.

I have kids so I have to be extra careful of our health. I don't want them to have allergies at such an early age. Their health is of utmost importance to me. Since it's my first time buying one, I searched for reviews to be able the best one air quality monitor and air cleaner to suit my needs.

Nowadays air purifier getting cheaper. I got mine Xiaomi air purifier. IT SHOW sell $99 for first 15 sets walk pass Xiaomi store. They selling $399. Sure is cheaper than the rest.

This is nice thread because i am also looking for air purifier for may car and i found some best ones at https://www.airpurifierfirst.com/buying-guides/best-car-air-purifier-clean-air/ but a bit confusing of choosing which carbon or HEPA.
Hi, Jiten!
Don't think that you've came to a right thread, since you're looking for a slightly different model than OP does. But if you're trying to get rid off odor and chemicals smell in your car, then carbon filter would be the right option for you. As for a babies bedroom, It's better to choose HEPA filters, since they're made to trap microorganisms and spores (like these, for instance). That's why they're used in hospitals and healthcare industry.