Advise Needed : How to clear phelgm?

Fong-I've nvr tried Hou Ning before.

My boy on a formula concoct by my TCM
We paid $50 for a bottle last for couple of months. Taste nice, he liked it.
But I stop him on western medication before taking it cuz it does'nt work.

anyonw can advise wat the dosage for a 5wks old bb? the bottle i bought is 5gm.. instruction stated 1yr old above 1gm each time twice daily.. wonder hw much to gif to my bb.. the medical hall assistant told me can gif as n when no harm to the bb.. bery scare overdose..

5wks old... that is young!

I only started trying only my girl when she was around 7~8months old. And only started half bottle.

Why don't you bring your baby to Yu Guo, BabyCupid if your bb has phlegm? Baby massage may help to clear a bit... but be patient. It takes time to see effect.

My daughter is a faithful go-er at YG when she is not too well or when we find her heaty.

yeh koalarie
after i read the review about yu guo. have been faithfully bring my gal there each week for the massage hoping to build up her immunity.
so far so good. still hoping to see the effect faster

Anyone can let me know where is the Yu Guo clinic? My baby is having bronchitis so lots of phlegm in him.

Thnks

Anyone knows where is Huang Yao Nan at Chinatown?

For mommies interested, I gave my 18mth old Hou Ning from EYS and it works wonders, even after just 1 dose. So if you're fretting over a persistent cough that won't go away, try it. But because it's so expensive, I wanna check out the Huang Yao Nan one mentioned above in this thread. Tks.

Need your advise. My son just reached 2 months old. He recently had fever, cough and block/running nose. Fever had gone down but cough and running nose is still disturbing him. KKH has no medicine for him other than nasal drop. PD gave him cough n cold medicine but he still has not recover.

Any other remedies to recommend?

Hi librian,
No medicine, best is to breast feed...
Cause Baby under 6mths should not be given too much water.
Suck out the nose mucus as much & as often as possible,
the backflow of the mucus tickles the throat & cause the cough.

Medicine will only let your BB sleep,
make sure they do not contain alcohol...

If you use vicks/chest rub,
pls DO NOT apply at the nose.

When Baby do not have fever;
1. Keep Baby warm at all times, wear socks too.
2. If going out, keep Baby's head warm with a cap.

HTHs.

U can also use sea water spray from phamary , it does nt contain any medication inside , it is used to spray into the bb nostrial to clear the mucus . I used it when my bb was abt 3 months old as advised by my pd

Hi Mummy,
Does the sea water spray help to disolve mucus? Can it b use for 2 months old bb? Should I consult my PD first? You have the brand of the spray?

can i give Hou Ning from EYS to my 4mth baby? She had been down with cough and flu for almost a week. N think she has a lot of phlegm too. Try to suck out, but she is crying badly whenever we try to do that, so we are so helpless...
Pls help....

hi mummies..
my son coming 3 years tis year, he used to down with cough n flu at least 1-2 times a month, after taking "hou zhao san" regularly really help a lots.. i feed him 3 times daily when he is down with flu, when recover still taking regularly 1-2 times a week. i notices when he start a bit coughing i will feed him immediately and cough will stop next day. I tried EYS Hou Ning is good but a bit exp, i used to order from a chinese doctor, she mentioned tat keep feeding warm water is a must.

Has any1 ever heard of double boiling crocodile meat with cordyceps & dates for bb wif broncholitis or asthma? Heard fr my collicks takg this soup can 'break' the sensitivity. Oso any1 heard of drinkg Hay's goat milk to treat asthma? Pls share wif mi ur experience. Thks

Its at 51 Temple Street. Be prepared to queue up cos its quite crowded unless you go early. They are open from Monday to Saturday from 9am to 6pm. Tel no is 62239365.

Hi Tulip..my boy gets flu ,cough and phlegm easily cos he has sensitive airways..
When he turns 1 I gaf him Hay dairies goats milk..it works ...after his 2yrs...he is out of the bronchities problem...now my girls turn...she will turn 1 next wk..will start goats milk oso...she has chest infection now...on antibiotic jabs for 3 days....trauma for a 1 yr old kid...

Rizty,

According to my internet research, which is also verified by a PD, bronchiolitis becomes less common after a child turns 2 anyway. So I am not so sure if goat's milk will work for my 2 year old.

dear all
i am really glad that i found this thread cos my baby has runny nose and phlegm since he was 2 mths and every 2 months. he was twice on nebuliser,always have nightmare after the neb...sob sob..
i was and still am sad cos i breastfeed him till 8 months and he is very weak...last month he was down with flu and runny nose on neb too then was well for 2 weeks and now down again but lucky not on neb...the PD advice us not to bring him to crowed places...so where can i bring him to??my siblings says that he very scared of stranger of course scared since i cant bring him out often...sorry just to let out steam and i will try the above suggestions
thanks all

Rizty (riztiqah)

so u mean the goat milk is good.

i am ordering for my two year old son to try.

any comments on the orginal or chocolate wan?

sorry side track abit, for those of you whose kids are on nebuliser, pleasedo some research (so that you can ask the PD the right questions for better understanding). Medications administered through Nebuliser are usually for respiration problems (both acute and chonric) e.g. asthma and bronchitis.

Having phlegm might not equal to having respiration problems. It could also be due to sinus problem or nasal problem.

I had a case of misdiagnosis – a famous asthma/cough doctor tot my son was down with bronchitis and administered the wrong medication to him. In actual fact, my son was having lots of phlegm because of some skin bacteria residing in his nose. I might have lost my son had I not sought a second opinion (this skin bacteria killed more people than AIDS on a global basis)…

Would like to suggest to mummies with kids that fell sick often to try giving Sambucus. It works suprisingly well on my 2 kids

Samantha,

care to share the second pd that you went that indicates the problem was the skin bacteria in his nose?

I am keen to bring my daughter to see him/her. She had been told by two PDs that she is a super sensitive toddler and thus catch cough very easily.

You can pm me. =)

hi Koalarie,

The second PD is actually the usual PD we frequent. He was away on long vacation and hence, we sought another professional opinion when our son's cough/phlegm/runny nose got worse and worse.
He is Dr Keoy from Paediatric centre, Thomson medical.

many people has various comments about him but to us, he's the most wonderful PD. His most outstanding virtues include - listens patiently, does not jump into conclusion (like the famous cough/asthma PD), explains clearly (to medical idiots like me).

Junior also has super sensitive system (in particular, respiration tract and skin). Not sure why but Dr Keoy advised to give him cod fish oil.

I would like to believe that all doctors are equally good in their skills and knowledge. But it is the attitude that makes a world of difference.

Dr Keoy is a neonologist (how to spell?) not a cough specialist. But his "not to jump into conclusion" let him discovered something that a cough specialist couldn't/didn't.

Cough is something to be taken really seriously for the very young. For the first 3 years of life is very vulnerable to threats like asthma. I was an asthma patient and understood the fear and helplessness I had when I experienced a elapse.

I never want my child(ren) or any other kids to go through the same fear. For those of you who have asthma will also know - the sense of being unable to breathe.... is one of the greatest fear one can experience.

As parents, we shd strive to do our research so that we understand our kid's medication condition in depth. Very often, doctors rely on our feedback when they go about their diagnosis. Hence, it is of utmost importance that we give description of the symphtoms, rather than our opinion of what can be the problem (oh, he cough again la, like last time).

samantha,
thanks for sharing..
when your son's skin is sensitive, did you mean he had eczema problem?
how was your son diagnosed w/ the bacteria?

Nope, not eczema, nothing to that direction. Thanks god.

He just has rashes. When he's much younger (below 12mths), his rashes tend to be the fore runners whenever a cold/cough/flu/whatever is coming. And when he's recovering (even though his runny nose or other symptoms may still be looking bad), his rashes will fade away first.

Or when food smear his face (eg leftover waiting to be wiped) for a while (maybe more than 10 sec), that area will turn red.

How was my son's bacteria infection discovered? Here's the story...

When our son's condition didnt improve (in fact seems worse) after 3 visits to the cough Dr and straight 10 days of nebuliser, we went back to Dr Keoy (by that time, he's back).

We told him the facts
- how long junior was sick
- what are his symptoms
- how his phlegm and nasal discharge look like (what colour, texture)
- what the other (medication) doctor gave him
- what the other doctor commented

He did the usual - listened to his chest and back, torchlight into his hear, check his mouth... One last thing is unusual - torchlight into his nose.

Then he thought a while (a few secs) and asked if we would like to order a nasal swap for junior. Hubby said yes, and that's how we know lor...

was browsing through this thread..
my boy has bad cough cum phlegm for the past 1.5 weeks..
given him fumicil, zytec.. but doesn't seem to work..
my mum bought the hou zao san.. can i give him together with the western meds? or shld stop the western meds completely and purely give the hou zao san?

Thanks Tan Leng Leng.
Will have to inform my mil on this as she is taking care of my boy while im at work.
I so worried that my boy has to be on the nebulizer if the phelgm did not clear up soon...

I think TCM works better for Cough. Western med only stops the cough, but does not cure it. Zhi4 Biao1 Bu2 Zhi4 Ben3.

I stand by EU Yan Seng - they have tiny bottled powder for different types of cough - just tell them your symptons (cold or hot cough/ do you cough more in the morning or night/ with or w/o phlegm).

They have a special pack for cough - consisting of chuanbei, almond, one dried orange etc., boil it from 3 bowls to 1 bowl, an drink it. No it is not bitter - quite nice even w/o sugar.

Chuanbei and Pear (the dark yellow Korean Pear or Xue3 Li2, not the light yellow chinese pear) also good. must use the Chuan Bei balls grounded into powder (some medicine halls/ or even wet market stalls do it for you on the spot) - more effective than the pre-packed powdered Chuan Bei.

My last cough lasted only 1 week when I tried the above methods. Else very stubborn ones hangs on for 2-3 weeks!

I'm also having headache as my son keep getting cough, running nose every 1-2 months ever since he started playground. He's 2.5 yrs old now...n just this yr, I have been sending him to KKH for 4 times now as he is wheezing. This week start coughing and yesterday i notice he is breathing hard so bring him to see doc n confirm wheezing.

I tried hou ning and i gave him 2 doze on sun and mon. Didnt get well so i decided to give him western med to stop the cough n phelgm first. but get worse n start wheezing.

very tempted to try tcm. any good one to recommend?

notice chn medical hall sells different brand of Hou Zao San...not so effective....my younger one got diarrhoea after 1-2 dose.

I bought the Hou Ning yest from EYS yest at $66 per bottles however if you have OCBC NTUC Fairprice credit card there is 7% discount plus can earn points.. let my 27mths old girl try last night then she had nightmare screaming out aloud not sure is it got to do with the medicine.. moreover I'm coughing as well so she might be difficult to get well leh.. this morn let her have another half bottles then she cries when she goes to school.. usually she enjoys gg to school one leh.. anyone has such problem after givign hou ning as I find she get agiated easily leh..

Checked with EYS the Hou Ning is make of Goat Gall..

Precious 02,

Hey, I got problem with Hou ning too!!!!!

I was down with a persistent cough and tot should try out TCM. It so happened that EYS's new branch at raffles city got sale, so I bought hou ning to try.

As it was, my cough was already bad. After taking the first dose, wah piang... I literally coughed non-stop for the whole day. Really non-stop, I just couldn't stop coughing!

I continued with the rest of the dosage cos I thought should try out the full treatment before condemning mah...hehe

On the second day hor, miraciously my cough got better. Within 4 days, it's gone completely! So I thought hou ning did help.

Cough for young kids are horrible as they donno how to control or 'help themselves' (e.g drink water). So maybe your princess is upset by the cough condition which is changing due to hou ning is working against it.

btw, the EYS staff told me hou ning was made from snake gall leh... Whatever it's made of, the good thing is, it has hardly any taste.

then I went back again after purchsing from them cos I cant remember wat the staff told me the Hou Ning was made of.. another staff attend to me this time and say it is make of monkey gall.. I got a shock.. then I ask I thot is make of goat something then she hurry say ya is make of goat gall.. a bit unprofessional leh.. later I gg to vivo branch and ask them again..

The raffles city branch still got sales now? so hw much did u pay for the Hou ning?

so one thing is confirmed - hou ning is made of some animal gall hahahaha...

the raffles city sale over lor. It's a 3 day thing over one October weekend. They said it's the opening branch sale got storewide 20% discount. After discount, I paid about $52-53 like that lor.

Hi, just now lunch time went to huang yao nan at chinatown temple street to buy the hou cao san for my daughter.. 1 pkt $20.. bought 2 pkt will let her try tonight.. the person also recommend me to buy the cough packet for myself to boil since I'm coughing myself also.. the cough pack got a lot of stuff inside leh.. got nan xing, bei, xing, chuan bei fen and lot of others.. she say can let my girl drink a little also.. will update the thread after taking.. thks for sharing the info on Huang yao nan..

anyone know wat the hou can san make of? I ask the person at huang yao nan and she tell me is monkey gall..

eu ren sheng one is goat gall.. so which is better hah? Anyone has an ans?

Hi Precious 02

Hou Zao San is Monkey Gallstone Powder (Calculus Macacae mulatae), so I suppose it is from monkey.

Yes I know only EYS says their is from Goat..but I've always suspected they made a mistake in their website..

whichever the case, we know it is expensive!!

could u pls update your experience with the huang yao nan hou zao san. i still haven't got mine..but am planning to now that the weather has turned cold and my son's cough is coming back again

meanwhile, i have started giving him cordyceps powder (Lifestream brand) mixed into his milk regularly. it seems to help reduce his coughing, but the phlegm still won't go away..sigh