Advice on Myanmar Maid

my maid of 3 months wanted to go back to agent, headache!
She said no problem to me and then complained homesick, then weather hot, then saying not feeling well etc.
My two kids r in school and she has very little house work to do and she is still not happy. Too bad! wish her luck and hope that she will be happier elsewhere!
I have decided to stop her service as I cannot afford to keep on counselling her and she is on and off type.
I have phobia now.

Some of my friends told me that young maid like 23yrs old don't usually do a good job..is that true? I found a transfer maid who work for 5mths as the ex-employer's mother do not want maid anymore..She is a Myanmar and 23yrs old.
Really not sure what is the best age range to get for a maid.

I think a person's age is just one of the factors and may not be a main determinator. Their mindset and character is more important.

Of course, am not talking about the 16 year olds, where it is illegal to start with.

Meet her, give her a chance, if the meetup goes well, never know.

All the best!!!

My maid is 23 but she is underaged! If not she willnot be able to pass the criteria. She is too immature and cannot take hardship and after 3 months she wants to change employer.

i think its attitude. i had old helper who refuse to work. young one who love children. ultimately,its really whether the maid wants to do things your way and learn...even my current maid,she loves my kiids but seem to be unable to take care,but when she tries,she can.

its better to get someone who's the eldest child in family. they dont have a choice but to take care of younger sibling unless age difference is far too big.

Hi Hi to all fellow mummies here,

My mymmar helper is wif me for 3yrs now. She had her home leave together wif my sis's helper slightly b4 2yrs contract was over. When she came back I realized there's some changes in her - always uses her hp either texting o listening to radio. Accepted it cos after all no one's perfect.

Anyway, her contract supposed to end next yr jun but somehow her work slacks a lot as compared to d previous 2yrs. So I asked her if she's home sick & gave her to option if she wants to leave earlier ie, when her work permit expires in end Oct. She said yes she wants to go home to pursue her law career as her age is catching up (she studies law b4 coming to Sin). Best part was, 2 days ago she asked me for a copy of her passport & work permit cos her mom asked her to stay longer as she has a lobang ta some 1 is offering her $700 as compared to my $450 wif 1 day off per mth!

Out of goodwill, I gave her immediately as I hv a home printer so her agent frd came to collect. Then tis evening she came to me & ask for 2hrs time off tmr for interview. Was angry at her as she can b so selfish to let me handle my 3 kids alone while hubby is currently overseas. Anyway, I still let her go but told her at tis is d last x I'm being kind.

I agreed to release her earlier as she said ta she wants to go home to pursue her career. Apparently, now she's using me as a stepping stone to advance her 'career' in Sin!

My question & dilemma r :-
1) She said she's willingly to stay wif me till next yr mar instead of jun (3 mths b4 d contractual date). Told her no, either work permit ends date ie, end Oct or end of contractual date ie, next yr Jun. No half ways. She chooses end oct. If so, do I hv to pro-rate her air tix?

2) D more I think d more angry I gets. Felt so betrayed. Can I cancel her work permit & send her home immediately? Let her potential employer (tink it's expat fam) takes d tedious application process? Is it too harsh n heartless of me?

Wat would u fellow mummies do?

Sorry 4 d lengthy message.

just talk about practical and financial issue 1st.

you would need to house and feed her. as mentioned by yourself,her work slack and the fact that her heart is not with your family will just mean her work will get worse. 2. she obviously has no qualms at giving you inconveniences if it is to her benefit. how do.you know the 2nd time round she won't just suddenly tell you sh .e wants to leave and leave u in the lurch. 3. who is going to hwlp her transfer? agent? so until transfer is done r u going to house and feed her plus pay the electricity bill and her wages for substandard work. 4. if she is transferring to another employer, you do not need to pay for air ticket or any pay in lieu. in any case, she request to resign and i would strongly suggest that for the period she goes to agent, do not pay her and tell her that she is taking leave so no pay or agent at all.5.if you are sending her home,you have to pay for full air ticket.

i personally will not tolerate a lazy maid who has no qualms taking advantage of me.

forget to act, in the 1st place, the other employer would need to oay agent fees. so personally i do not think its harsh. let the agent work for the money and let your lazy maid pay for the consequences of her choice. maybe the maid would become a better person and remember for the future that she signed and agreed to.contract.

Thanks tinklestar for ur advice.

Din sleep well last nite. She went out tis am at 8am & did not come back till 12:30pm! Drop me an sms ta she's sorry & will b a bit late at 9:25am. I din reply till 10:45am asking, wat her a bit late means n @ least shd hv d courtesy to inform d x. Got tis -> I'm so sorry, coming back soon. From 10:45am - 12:30pm, drive fm woodlands also reach ardi lah. Too much & up to my eye ball liao.

Thou, she apologize profusely but i don c a pt talking ardi cos i've made up my mind ta i'll send her back these 2 days. I'll make sure she gets d hard way ta we mummies here r not to mess wif!

Not looking forward to maidless for d coming 2mths but beta than seeing black-faced & unappreciative ppl daily.

Phew! Felt so much beta after ranting here :p Thanks thanks .....

I know it is not easy managing helpers, esp such helpers. It is great that you are so strong and brave!

For helpers who are not of the best character, you can actually blacklist them with MOM. This will prevent innocent families from hiring them unknowingly. This may also deter such unethical or dishonest helpers from taking us for a ride, so to speak.

So you are sending her to myanmar these few days, remember to have someone frisk through her luggage to ensure your valuables are ot hidden within, and that you do pay for the air ticket using visa or some mode so you have proof of your payment for it, and that you or person engaged does see her enter customs.

Hope all goes well. Cheers!

Actually, I still gave her a last chance last nite. Casually asked how did d interview go & wat happened. Not sure if it's language or cultural barrier cos when i asked how many kids tis auzzie fam has & she replied :- I don wanna talk.

Ta was my last draw! No more. Told her she doesn't respect me. I don't talk to my boss like ta. Wat culture also nvr & shd not!!!!

Sourcing air tix online now. Felt bad but she left me wif no choice.

Yes, I'll frisk thru her luggage & prob get agent to send her back. Don want to c her face anymore.

Thanks Nelle

hi mummies, I have a Myanmar maid that's with me for 3 years. She is going back for home leave this coming october. May I know what are the procedure for applying for home leave so they can clear the custom smoothly? I have renew her permit n passport already. Haven't bought any tickets though. Tried calling the embassy but they are DONT picking up their phone or either, they are engage. So angry!!!

anyone noe where to get the air ticket to myanmar? my maid requested to go home, onli with me 15mths, tout she is the best yet create havoc now, headache leh... she steal n go, hw to take bk my money har?

Hi rellako,

If I'm not mistaken, my previous helper said no need to get any home leave fm embassy le. She juz go n came back in a piece le.

Cool down. Tell u a damn drama & classic story. When my helper went to renew her passport, she went on mon am, ton d nite at embassy. The next am still wait & no phone call to me till at nite 7pm. I asked her y not go up infront n ask d officer, she say ppl quarrel n officer scold. I said, ask won't die, beta than wait like ta rite ? I told her to wait for me, i went down, snake thru d crowd of over hundred ppl n ask the officers at d counter, wat was happening & it is a muz to wait for passport o can collect an/r day. They said an/r day ok. Walah ! Easy Peassy ! Just open mouth n ask. Very difficult meh ? Not asking u to quarrel wif ppl. Sigh ..... Block-head. Wasted 2 nite wifout proper rest. An/r thing very angry is she doesn't hv a sense of responsibility, don even bother to call or sms me. Batt flat can borrow fm ppl 1 mah.

my maid's work permit is expiring, how do i go about it renewing? can any kind soul help me? many thanks in advance!

thank you twinklestar! but her passport expired on Aug2013. where can i get the cheapest insurance for her as well?

bandtz,

welcome. i suggest you try keying in the renewal online and check if you can renew. you dont have to submit, can save as draft. in any case, they will not allow you to renew unless their requirement are met. for insurance, you can try ntuc but I'm not sure ots the cheapest.

you might want to go to www.Singaporemaid.blogspot also as i believe they have some useful information on renewal.

thanks twinklestar again!

I am going to transfer my myanmar maid in Dec and anyone who is interested, can pm me for more info.
She is with me for less than 3 months, salary 420, no off day and no hp.
I don't intend to keep her as I will be moving to a smaller house by then and I will be the stay-home mom.
She is suitable for house cleaning and childcare. Her problem is only communication and she is trying to learn.

myanmar maid they are good. my mil side hired a myanmar maid. due to emergency case, we have to put our baby in mil house in the morning while we go to work. instead of my mil taking good care of him. ITS THE MAID!!! and during teething time...she didnt have good sleep cos my baby wants people to hug. so she hug him and until dont know what time, and mil was zzzzz like dont know what. the maid, much more caring than mil. really

Dear Mummies

I think I am one of those pioneer employers who engaged Myanmar maids. People used to think I am mad to engage them as their language capability is really bad. Well that was true.

My first Myanmar maid arrive and cannot speak a word of English. I was soooooo frightened as my confinement lady was leaving in a week's time, and I urgently need somebody to care for my newborn. Surprisingly, she cannot speak but can understand evey single word I say, without repeating. Slowly, she picked up cooking, cleaning ... and I was sooo surprise at such young age, she cared for my newborn superbly.

Well, over the years she changed after she was allowed to go out, use handphones blah blah blah ... So there came a day that we think she needs to be sent home. I do not wish to go into details.

My second maid also came from Myanmar, not bad, no complaints. She never ask for off-days or mobile phone, for the 2 years she worked for us. She left early this year after fulfilling her two-year contract, stayed behind to train my current maid, and ensure the current maid knows everything before she left.

Now, my current maid. So-so only. But my kids are older, and household chores are so much simpler, no need to wash milk-bottles, every piece of clothing washed by the machine.

Well, in summary, the quality of the maids from Myanmar has deteriorated very much. As you all can see that their country is prospering. Some young girls deliberately come here for a 2-year holiday to see the world.

But it's not just them from Myanmar, Indonesians, Filippinas -- all the same.

Nowadays, do not expect good, quality maids. Just have to live with it. Cause they do not need the $$$ like those who came here in the 80s and early 90s. Those are the group of maids who are desperate for money, and will work hard, some even stayed on.

I really wish, I could forever engage good Burmese maids, but my hopes are dashed.

Juz
I totally agree with what you anslyse! I have 2 good myan maid initially and both served 2 years contract. They changed after 2 years. My third maid was a nightmare , lazy and could not be bothered. My fourth one was good but she wanted to transfer after 3 months! Currently my maid was terrible! I am putting up with her.

I don't know whether this is a safe place to reveal the maids' agenecy name.

After maid hunting with several agencies, I realised some of the popular names are just unreliable. I interviewed a row of transfer maids, and all gave the same reason of being transferred out. How can that be? All will tell the same tale of being bullied by "ah ma"! Walau, give a bit of originality lah.

With the new rules and heightened salaries of Indo maids, and Filippina maids. My pereference still stay with Myanmar maids. But it's important to go to the right agency.

I have been to two, and boy, they are dead honest. They will tell you what was the real reason for the transfer, and whether or not the transferred maid should be taken. And some, will allow you time to get to know the maid better, by letting you interact with her for one to two hours!!!

So mummies, any good agencies to recommend. I mean the smaller, unheard one which specialises in Myanmar maids.

Juz souless,i went to a agency at peninsula plaza.its the 2nd day my myanmar maid is with me.so far i am quite pleased.its a transfer maid tho.

i guess all myanmar maid chu pattern after 2 mths..

my maid (2 mth) tell mi she wanna transfer out..after i told her tt i am passing my toddler to her..now solely doing household chore but very forgetful..

initially was like good..minimal supervision..initiative..slowly lazy n lazy..

kept wanting to go out..kept bugging mi when going my mum house...

sadly, the supply of maids coming here is slowly diminishing.

Indo good?
Phils good?
All have pattern one.

So we should ask the governement in such situation we mothers face, who on earth wanna have more kids.

govt will tell u, u can do it without maids. the constant reports on how well some maids are treated and should be the norm plus the changing of policies are telling us that.

just keep to 1, i still regret having more than 1.most of childcare is done by myself. the lack of sleep, needing to supervise my blur yand almost incapable yet deem "capable maid by the govt", stress from work is killing me. these days, i end up telling maid to watch kid, 1 not 2 so i can cook, clean else i think have to eat dinner at 9 and at same time pray she doesnt let the baby eat candles, batteries or what not. and I'm helping with quite a bit of work. we will be sending baby to childcare as soon as we can then no need to care whether need maid or not anymore. she's only a help when i am sick or super busy.

My myan maid is currently with me for the third week.so far still okay.just that communication is really the key issue.she can read english but cant really speak or understand.altho i would prefer a maid more gong then those v zeng one,but sometimes it does drives me up the wall with her gongness..

She wash the wash cloth using my washing machine!i was really pissed off.when she washing milk bottles,she actually left the nipple in the basin.i can tell her to pour ice water 10 times for my guests before she understands what i meant.lol.overall she is still ok la.sometimes i see she takes initiative to clean up things without me having to say that.but one thing i dont like is she keep want to hold on to me as im heavily preggy.i feel like an old woman.
I dono if all myan maid has the tendency to always say "yesyesyesyes" eventhough they don understand at all.it sounded like a lil frustrated and yet she doesnt understand at all.its only when she said "oh oh oh" then it shows that she understand?! Any ways to correct that?

any good tips in assessing Myanmar maid?

i still have bond with e agency..thinking wanna stick back to myanmar or get an indo?

have to have a maid... just tested preg...

my maid is the zeng type...cos she is modern thinking..stayed in india for 6 mths.. not those kampong type..

its really a matter of luck, and trust ur feeling when u look at the photo unless you.always miss. so far, every maid i have are at least not bad heart.my current and last was selected by others and i must say, of the 4 maids i have, they are the worst. the 1st 2 wasn't that bad in terms of chores, just that been a while with me so started having attitude and giving problems. last already had attitude in 3 days. current i must say have no attitude problem as in refuse to do or black face but working with her gives me headache at least once a week over the same things again and again. she's not unintelligent, or don't understand language. barely into 7 months with us can understand some chinese yet have problem understanding english which.she can read and write.

Serene,i think reslly depend on luck.my fren hired a myan maid too but her maid was horrible.was aleays on the phone,lazing in her room n tell my fren she doesnt wants to work. When i first hired my maid,was considering between her and a younger choice.was told by the agent that usually those close to 30 didnt get married r unlikely to get married.n being the eldest in the family does help in her maturity n responsibility to be bringing bk money for the family.how true is that i cant b very sure..

Hi Mummies, I hope all of you could just bear with me while I pour out my frustrations with my maid.
She is really driving me up the wall with her attitude and I am at wits end handling her.

I am currently staying with my mum, who is looking after my son, as I am still waiting for my flat.
I had hired a maid my maid, so that it would not be too pressurizing for my mum to do the house work and at the same time look after my very active 11 month old son. However, my maid is increasing becoming more of a headache then a help. To cut a long story short, she is does not cooperate with my mum when taking care of the baby. For example, if my mum needs to go to the toilet or needs to do the cooking she would not want to help look after the baby even for a bit. Just the other day, my mum was doing her prayers, told her that just take care of the baby for 10 mins. Just 10 mins! Five mins into her prayers, she heard my son screaming in pain, she rushed out to see my poor boys hands caught between the backrest holes of our metal chair. My maid only came to the scene when she heard my son’s cries. And before my mum could come over to the scene; my maid just forcefully pulled my son’s hand out of the hole. My son was crying even louder and harder due to the pain. Luckily the hand was not fractured, but there was redness and swelling there for 1 week.

From the sound of it I am sure anyone would be thinking that she concentrates to do the housework, well you guys are wrong. In fact she can spend hours doing housework but the house would still be dirty.
When we ask her to clean the windows, she would clean just one window pane and say she has finished cleaning the window. (btw she takes about 1/2 hour to clean just one pane). When you check and ask her why she didn’t do all of the window, she would either give u a silly smile or she would ask you “Must I do the whole window?”
At first I thought she was native as she is a freshie and its her first time working in Singapore. But I was so wrong. I had called to complain to the agency on her behavior and was hoping they could talk some sense into her, but what I heard from the agency shocked me. She had actually told one of her cousin whom I occasionally allow her to talk to via phone that “You no need to do so much work, we are only paid $400.” The agency only learnt of this casue the cousin called the agency to complain that she is overworked at her home.

She always puts this innocent face, but the truth is she is neither that naïve nor innocent. She had a 4month probation period and during this 4months she would not be allowed to go on off instead would be paid $20. Exactly one day after her probation period she tells me that she wants to take her off the next day, which was coincidently a Sunday. I firmly told her that “Off is something I give, not you take whenever you want. Even if you need to go off you must tell me at least 2 days in advance not last min tell me.”

She is with me for 4 months and moving into her 5th. But in terms of job improvements that actually nothing that she does that I can praise her for. I had actually employed her casue the agency told me that she had experiences working for a Korean family in her home country for 3 years and she is choosing to work in Singapore cause the family is returning back to Korea. But her behavior makes me wonder if the agency was just lying to me.
I actually want to give her up and change for someone else, maybe change the agency itself but I am not a tight budget these two months and would only be able to do so in Dec. Changing maids are not cheap the employer has to bear all the cost wherelse the employee is bearing nothing. Sigh… till then I am gritting my teeth holding on. Praying that she would not casue anymore harm to my family, especially my son.

What I wonder if that is this really the attitude of all Myanmar maids? Or am I the unfortunate one to end up with this kind of maid.

I am also engaging myanmar maid soon....but when i see the passport photo and the biodata photo...like so diferent leh....biodata pic seems more amicable....passport like so fierce like that.....

Haiz....maids are always a problem to us...

If she cleans the window and it's not clean because she is going shoddy work despite you having provided the right equipment and instruction, you know what it means? She needs more practice!

Let her practice and practice until she gets it right.

And set a timer for each practice before she gets it right.

If she is a clever girl, she may learn that if she does things right the first time, she would not have to keep on doing the same thing.

The Children and Young Persons Act in Singapore governed by MCYS can be read to consider neglect as one of the forms of child abuse.

I informed my helper in the first few months of her starting work with us that if the child unwittingly hurts himself under her watch of duty, the adult who is to deigned carer at that moment of watch of duty has to bear responsibility.

She used to watch the child knock his head and do nothing. We expect more. And she saw the light. Like it or not, we have sound parameters which are not difficult and we do expect them followed.

Good to have your mom WATCH the maid take care of the child until the maid gets her act together. Some grandmothers would love the child so much and try to do everything themselves, which we as daughter do not want our mothers to get tired out while the maid acts stupid.

I hope things get better soon... I know how rough it can be for us mommies in Singapore...

Hang in there! Jia You!!!

Need to establish which maid you get d myanmar maid from.

I noticed that a couple of maid agencies r tale carriers.

workingmum, change her as soon as you can.

meantime, like nelle says, make her clean. and tell her, if you do not finish your work, you dont sleep. i will record everything down.

and if my son or anyone gets injured because of you not doing your work properly, i will report u to police. she obviously has attitude problem.

my maid cannot do properly but at least when i scold, she tries albeit every 2 weeks i need to give her a scolding. she's a bit like.your maid. honestly, i think most maids are not naive or innocent just cannot be bothered. with the new rules coming into effect, its just going to get worse.

400 is not little. when they change to myanmar dollar, its a lot.

New helper jus arrived on tues after maidless for a period. Pardon me as she's fm Indo but not myanmar but i can't locate d approprate thread as i really need to rant out my frustrations. So pls pardon me for hjacking ya.

Anyway, she told my mom ta she's very tired after day 1 of cleaning the floor, wash 2 toilets & clean up kitchen after cooking. Mayb not used to it i tot.

Day 2, woke up late prob raining last nite too shiok to zzz. Then my mom saw her using her feet to move my bro's bag & clean d floor using feet !!!!! Then i taught her to wash toilet at my own house & she can clean 1 part of the tiles but not the other end despite demostrating & telling !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tis am, i woke up & still sees her on bed. Said headache, i gave her 15 more mins then told her to wake up to take b'fast b4 med. Cos I'm not sure if she's telling d truth o faking mah. Slowly crawl like a turtle fm room to toilet. Sigh ....

Tinking if i shd send her back to agent & get them to train her over d weekend o not.

I'm really wondering, is it ta tedious to do household chores ? If they made up their mind ta they r here to earn money home, y can't these ppl wake up their idea & finish their job ? We pay watever fees here & there, levy here & there but govt still say we employee did not give them benefits blah blah blah ...... Ppl who don complain r d lucky ones ta don get to step on shit! Nobody likes to train a new FDW, it's tough & I would rather do it myself than teach!

I'm sick & tired ta y am i so suay wif 1 lazy, lousy 1 & pattern ardi come out a few days wif me le ????? All mummies want is a responsible helper to lighten our burden. Ta difficult to ask for meh?

My maid is with me for 3 wks already.so far no major issue.but these few days i just feel kind of not up to expectation and should i really voice out?
Took her out for dinner yesterday,she didnt take initiative to follow my toddler girl until i took her to.it happened a few times and usually she will jus stick to her seat n i have to ask her to follow then she will move her butt. The only time she took initiative is when she saw my relative myanmar maid and she will go up n talk to her.i understand that shes elated to find someone from her country but i expct her to look after my girl n not just focus on chitchat. I saw her taking initiative to talk to another pinoy maidnof my relative,prolly that pinoy dont understand n jus ignore her.is my maid too talkative?

I saw her digging her nose some times n i felt disgusted that she didnt wash her hands and touch other things...

This wk i realised she is being a lil sneaky like always hiding one corner during noon.i felt uncomfy and spoke to my hubby.my hubby said she might be tired and wanted some nap.so i let her nap for an hr during noon and usually she sleep ard 10pm and woke up at 8am,should be more than enough right? My aunt said shouldnt let them nap,i not they will get lazier,is it true?

Today,i invited guests over for dinner.after setting up,she just sat in the living room to watch tv.and even the guests came,she didnt take the initiative to open the door.during the dinner,if theres nth for her to do,she will jus sit in the living rm to watch tv.i didnt forbid or allow.she didnt ask me either.but was told that should teach her manner to be standing by in he kitchen instead of letting her sit there watch tv.should i let her watch or? Am first time employer,wish to seek advice...