5months baby boy not drinking milk nor taking cereals.. help needed

sungrapes, yes baby's name is Ricco.
Maybe my hubby was thinking of the footballer Zico when he thought of this name

I wanna introduce solids only upon reaching 6mths - thats what my PD advise. He says too young will often end up with more feeding problems.. but reading all these threads here makes me worry, cos seems difficult. Need to juggle between solids and milk. And already now, my boy's milk feeding pattern is so difficult. Sometimes he drink as little as 750ml per day.

yah right, everyday seems to have new pattern coming out from my boy. These couple of days, he likes to hand hold his bottle and when he dun wan anymore milk, he will auto pull out the teats himself! I cant imagine a 4mth plus baby doing this! I was amazed... and after he pull out, sometimes when he wan somemore, he will put the teats in himself...i find this so cute

Everyday the same worry and concern for me - hoping baby ricco will want and drink his milk milk....

HI edde, thats a real concern. PD says everything fine? bo bian gotta continue to cajole and give milk. Maybe you wanna try giving milk every 2hrs instead of 3? some babies drink better when its spaced nearer???

clarissa
edde is giving anthea milk every 2hrs already. round the clock 12x in 24hrs.

edde
does anthea cry when you give her milk? does she try to shake off the bottle with her head by turning left right?

Sungrapes, I wish when I update you abt the next pattern changes, it will be good news, ie my boy is taking his milk and solids well, and keep asking for more!! Haha..

My PD told me that milk is important more on the calcium, as it's crucial for bbs as they are growing fast now. However, if bbs have enough solids that contains high calcium, eg ikan bilis, then it's fine to reduce milk intake.

How long does your son take to finish the 3tsp of rice/cereal? How do you measure xx ml of water to 1tsp of rice/cereal? That's equivalent to how many mouthful of food (if we adult have it)? The fruits in cube that u mention is about the size of ice cube? Don't think that amount of food will be more filing that 6oz milk.

Yeah, if my boy zz around 9.30pm, I will try to let him sleeps thru without waking him up for the 10pm feed. But if he wakes up around 10pm, then bo-bian lor, got to feed him. I'm a lazy mum :p But most of the time he will wake up for the 10pm feed, only if he is extremely tired that day or didn't nap enough, then he will sleeps thru. Think he already got used to it. That's why try not to let your boy used to the 1am or 2 am feed. If your nanny not around, you will suffer.

Another thing -- does your boy poos daily? How does the poo like? Before my boy starts any solids, he poos daily around the same time, so we would expect when exactly he poos. However, ever since he's on solids, he poos on every 2 or 3 days interval. And he is not just poos once but twice or more! First time normally semi to hard (greenish black), then becomes soft and yellowish green, then last will be near watery (yellowish). Last time he has been consistently near watery and yellowish as he has been drinking quite a lot of water (besides milk). PD said as long as his poo has no blood, that's fine. But I'm still worried as it doesn't look ok for me.

clarissa,
eh! y all men the same? Name their kids after football player?
My hb wanted to name son Kimme, after some F1 driver..i say how can gv boy such girlish name? next time ppl will make fun of him!

I wanted to start 6mo oso. But wen start 6mth, muz do very intensively. I read some weaning bks and i very overwhelmed by the speed. I scared bb (and me as 1st time mum) cannot adapt, tatz y i start abit early, so tat bb and i hav mre time to observe/make any chgs. But i intro food to him very slowly, always oni 1-2tsp once aday..u can start 1wk b4 he official 6mths..test water abit..c his reaction.

U gg thru wat sonic and i went thru..Haha! Now use hands, next use feet. Wait til he noe how to flip..warn u 1st!
Cant even stay still 2 chg diapers.

<font color="0000ff">SONIC</font>,
Oh! so milk for calcium..wat abt those ARA/DHA thg?

I nv time how long he takes to eat..abt 1/2hr? the mixture i nv measure amt of wateri use unlez im using FM, then i go by oz lor. I juz mix til the texture i wan. But rice will swell, oats wun.So i use mre water/FM for rice. The amt after mixing is quite little. If i eat, mayb 3 spoon can finish liao. But if u mix it with fruits/vege the amt will be mre lah.

..3tsp rice + 1cube fruit/veg cld be mre filling then milk cos itz solids VS liquid?? This amt he take, roughly he will b hungry abt 3-4hrs time.

So ur boy the 10pm feed will he fuss ??

POO
He poo in morning, but not evday..every2 days smtimes. Smtimes he poo 2x aday. itz still quite soft,slightly formed..clr is dark green. but those days i feed him broccoli/spinach. Mayb tatz y green clr, other clrs is brownish green.

Oh! i hope u dun susspect itz diarrhoea?? the poo got soak into the diaper?

clarrisa, her PD is very concerned... we have been to many PDs to but no one has found the cause of it yet. going for her gastro spec review tmr... hopefully will have some solution.

valc, yes, she turns her head sideway when she doesnt want milk... will cry and fuss.... now she stops at 30ml then will resume her trick.

y'know wat, we brought her to taka on wed and surprisingly, she drinks her milk very well !!!! i guess prob its becoz she is distracted by her surroundings and she just kept sucking !! every feed is average 60ml every 2 hrs without much fuss !!! so it convinced me more that her prob is behavioural. she chooses NOT to drink.

edde,
maybe u shd bring her out mre often? Anthea may need chg of secenery. or she may be bored, evtime drink milk c the same thgs.?

Eh! u can try bring her out, c if she behaves the same way again.

Sungrapes, agree agree!! Once bbs start to flip, crawl and sit already, very hard to make them guai guai lying there for us to change diaper or dress them. When I bathe my boy in the bath tub, he will try to pull himself up to a sitting position. The moment we put him down to my bed, he will flip and crawl, we got to chase him to put on the diaper and cloth. Heng! he has so far never pee on my bed. :p

You are right, solids is of cos more filling than liquid. So, that's even harder in trying to fit in more solids in addition to keeping the min milk intake.

Ops.. PD never mention abt ARA/DHA though, maybe she presumed that it is enough with the minimum 500ml of milk intake daily. Even my mum said, during her time, she hardly drink milk, cos my grandparent are not earning enough to buy expensive milk powder for them. Still she is growing up healthily and not very stupid. HA! But in the modern world, we kiasu mum trying hard to ensure our bbs drink more milk no matter what.

I dont think it's diarrhoea. Cos the sequence is hard, then semi-hard, then soft watery. Every time will be the same. 2-3 times a day. Think must give him fibre by adding vege to his porridge now.

Edde, I'm impressed with your endurance. Every 2 hours round the clock = 12 times of feeding is not easy. Mine onli 5 times a day already very sianz.

Hmn... I think your gal is exactly like my boy, it's behavioural problem. Hence I think u probably don't need to bring her to gastro spec anymore.

Sungrapes,

Missed this...

On 10pm feed, normally my boy will take longer to finish his milk. Probably he know that daddy & mummy are back, he wants to play with us. Normally my hubby will give him a round of massage at night. He is looking forward to that every night.

edde, glad to hear that your baby is drinking milk! you must be so happy and relieved!
since such is the case, than bring her out more often. even if you ain't gg out, maybe jus walk ard in your garden or ard your estate when its milk time?

giving milk every 2hrs is really bo joke. but what to do.... i guess we will do anything just to make sure our kids drink milk
keep that going!

by the way, how old is antheaH

edde
how did your gastro appt go today? it's good that anthea now drinks well outside, then you can bring her out more often.

Anthea is abt 3.5mo now rite, edde? This behavorial problem there's probably no way of testing it..so quite tough on u to manage it cos itz so unpredictable..last time wen my boy dun drink, i will rearrange the furniture. Very stupid rite? Tot maybe chg the fengshui abit,a miracle will happen!!

Sonic,
Haha! My boy 'fountain' on me many times alrdy. if evtime he fountain on me, i strike 4D, me now zillionaire liao!

Our boys this age getting mre and mre active evday..evtime chg diaper, i perspire. And eyes cannot leave him even for split second.

2day his poo is still dark green, like pureed spinach! but abit dryer and still soft type. Super STINKO! I nv experience b4 3 poo aday of diff clr and consistency leh..so afraid nothg to share with u regarding this..sori.

My dad told me smthg very funny 2day..i told him i feed s.potatoes to bb and bb very bloated dun wan milk. My Dad say s.potatoes during wartime no food then ppl will eat 1!! Cos itz very filling.

I gv my boy lunch 2day cauliflower/carrots/zuchini/pumpkin mix + 2tsp oats mix with 1oz FM and he ate evthg up.

But dinner same problem, after bb rice and fruits, he dun wan drink milk. I gv 3tsp rice. but i do notice after adding the fruits, itz quite a substantial amt.

Massage for ur bb!! So young noe how to enjoy life..i think after chasing him whole day, i need a massage mre than my bb loh!

valc, anthea's wt increased by only 30g in 1 wk. coz she had fever aft her vaccin on last fri and it affected her milk intake for the next few days, then she needs another few days to regain back her milk intake.

her urine and blood tests results are ok. so no med proven cause for her prob yet. we are referred to a dietician. she calculated her daily calories intake based on her milk intake and its obviously much lesser than wats req for her to gain wt. so based on some calculations, she advised us to make thicker milk so that for every 100ml of milk she drinks, she gets more calories than the 67g/ml (for FM) normally.

yesterday we tried this method and her intake was BAD. only 345ml for the whole day, even bringing her out doesnt work... think she is adjusting to the new concentration. today picking up.... hopefully this method works well on her (tho high risk of constipation). if she doesnt put on 200-300g by 2 wks, doc suggested trying tube feeding.... might need to ward her and do more tests at the same time.

until now, hubby and i are still contemplating on the tube feeding idea. we dun want anthea to go thru the torture (doc said some kids have the tube on for more than 1 yr coz the same feeding prob persist in toddler yrs), but yet at the same time worried abt her wt gain. its a painful decision.

sungrapes, did Dr vasanthi mention to u why she doesnt advocate tube feeding??

how is tube feeding administered? wat happens when start solids? is tube feeding painful/uncomfortable? at the point of inserting the tube or during the feeding as well? wat kind of milk do u use during tube feeding? wat happens if you choose not to tube feed her despite not putting significant weight? will it be detrimental to her health? i heard that one of the risks of tube feeding is that food going into wrong channel causing pneumonia.

i thought that the rate of weight gain is slower after 3mths? bbies usually put on the most weight during 1st 3 mths, after that wt gain slows down right? you say she needs to put on 200-300gms in 2 weeks. is that the normal weight gain for bbies the same age?

are there bbies out there with anthea's feeding behaviour? is there a support group? is there alternative therapy for anthea's condition?

wah... valc, almost all yr sentences are questions!! haha...

tube feeding = tube inserted via the noseril into the throat. according to my SIL who was a nurse and had admin tube feeding to a 3 mth old baby, one end of tube will have a stopper. when need to feed, just syringe the milk into the tube and milk will flow in slowly... the insertion of tube is only done once. aft that it will stay there FOREVER until prob is gone. insertion will be painful, but not aft that. feed her the same milk.

if we dun want tube feeding, we will just continue with the method now ie adding more scoops of FM or adding supplements and extra carbohydrates into the milk. doc said if she still does not put on wt, she will remain small. worst case is she will be chronically malnutritious and growth might be hindered or slow down. yeah... doc mentioned tube feeding must be done with great caution.

wt gain will be slower aft 3 mths... by rite, babies shld put on 30g/day in the first 3 mths. aft that maybe 150 to 200g per wk.

the gastro spec has had many patients of the same prob.. usually tube feeding works best on them... i dunno of any support group. she din mention any other kind of therapy.

we might delay the tube feeding solution until she reaches 6 mths... wanna see if things will pick up when she starts on semi solids and solids.... give her another chance before traumatising her

hi edde, sorry to hear this. yap let her try solids to see if it works 1st before the tube thingie. try not to let anthea go thru this (if can be helped). It sure will be painful

have you tried changing to another brand of formula? change the teats? sleep feeding? how about feeding in quiet place? try feeding and at the same time rocking her? maybe she got too many scares? cos tcm believes that if babies kenna too many scares, than wont wan drink milk...you can go chinse medicine halls to buy 'jing feng shan' and dap abit into anthea's mouth? i think just try all and any ways.. so long she drinks milk milk....

sonic and sungrapes, good thing therse this thread..i can run to you guys for advise once ricco starts solids... getting very anxious about this...hahahaha

by the way, have everyone here collected the baby gift set given out by the national library? its a nice gift set. worth collecting

Edde, agree wif u, give anthea more time. Maybe she prefers solid than milk. The tube feeding method sounds so scary. Even an adult will definitely not like it, let alone a young bb like anthea. Other than refusing milk, she's active and energetic right? If so, it's fine. It's just a matter of finding out the right trick to make her willingly and happily.

Sungrapes's idea on shifting the furniture is workable too. I used to feed my boy in bathroom wif my boy lying on his favourite bath tub... Try to find out wat anthea likes and you might be surprise how much she can drink.

Clarissa

yeah, giving solids is another importance milestone for our bbs that we mummies will be very anxious abt too. I'm still trying hard to figure out my boy's eating pattern cos he is a fussy eater. So far he doesn't like porridge or cereal. Yesterday, he suddenly becomes very 'hungry' and finished all within 10mins (usually takes abt 30-40mis) no coaxing at all.. Haha... Don't know why, pray hard he'll be keeping up this pace. Hopefully yours will be smooth one though.

Btw, what's the gift set all about? Never heard of that.

Sungrapes, yeah I guess it's too full for your boy after his sumptuous dinner. No wonder he doesn't want milk. Your boy have already tasted so many new foods. My boy has a lazy mum, so far he's has not tasted vege yet. Will make some for him this weekend..

Your boy has vege everyday, so he doesn't have poo poo problem. But my boy's poo also super stink, esp after he has started solids. Think that'll be worse when they eat meat right? Oh ya, your PD told you to start meat too right? Have you started any?

sonic, good to hear your good news! aint this what we all hope to hear! that baby is finishing up milk and food and crying for more! wow...

its a pack consisting growth chart, baby CD, and a hardback baby journal..the journal looks good... not like some cheapskate stuff... very easy, just go to counter ask for it...but 1 thing, its meant for baby born in 07 only...

hi clarissa, haha... we have tried everything u mentioned... but no use leh...

sonic, so far she doesnt really have a favourite spot... sigh... even the more favourable spot wont make her drink consistently for more than 5 min !! i must say she has very short attention span... yeah... besides this prob, she is a lively, happy and cheeky baby !!!! only loves to play and coo !!!

edde, oh all tried and no use? what about feeding her during her bath? some babies like mine, loves showering time...sometimes he cries alot and my hubby just put him into bath and he quieten. what about the exchanging pacifier trick? Once at the PD, i saw a grandmother doing that. the baby will be tricked and will take a few mouthfuls before shaking off the bottle again. So, the grandmom do this over and over again till baby drink quite substantially. or give a bolster/toys, than exchange? just try any method just to make sure baby drink milk....

sonic
there are feeding therapists in mt alvernia, kkh, nuh, can't remember if sgh has. there's a clinic called kaleidoscope who specialises in various therapies including feeding therapy. but i think charges are high. for kkh, you need to get a referral from a clinic in kkh 1st b4 you can see a therapist there.

edde
i was reading abt feeding difficulties on this website. i think tube feeding is qt drastic cos once a bb is tube fed it's v hard to convert her to oral feeding. http://www.hmc.psu.edu/childrens/healthinfo/f/feeding.htm

thx clarissa, tried liao... also no use..... am still thinking of new ways...

valc, thx for the link.. very informative... think its just our luck that our babies have this prob...is ashley drinking fine now??

no ashley is still drinking the same. ya it's jus our luck. you know, my cousin who is jus 1 week younger than i am, has a bb boy jus 2 weeks older than ashley. and he drinks 180-210mls a feed and he finishes his feed in 10 mins(using avent #1 nb teat). she only needs to feed him 4 times a day. i feed ashley 7x a day and spend 1 hr each time and she doesn't even finish her bottle!! she tells me that when she takes the bottle out halfway to burp him he will scream becos he wants to continue drinking so she can only remove the bottle from him when he's finished. how unfair life is. v depressing.

ashley is on antibiotics - augmentin. cos her belly button is infected. it jus never dried up and is persistently red. i hope it doesn't worsen her appetite.

i still can't figure out how you feed anthea every 2 hrly and still make time to do other stuff like make your meals, eat, bathe her, shower, go toilet, clean the house, laundry, do grocery shopping. how do you do it?

valc, i am also very depressed now... everytime stangers see anthea, they will give me the shock look when they hear that anthea is 3 mths old... or coming to 4 mths to be exact... the next qn they ask me is "is she born small", and when i replied "3.8kg", they will be dumb-founded.. i feel very sad whenever it happens... dat just shows how small anthea looks.

i dunno if i hv shared this with u... i ever saw this scene in the hosp.. one mummy asked a granny if her grandkid she was carrying just turned 1 mth old, the granny replied no, 3 mths, just that the baby hasnt been putting on wt. the mummy exclaimed in shock "huh!! 3 mths !!! my baby is 3 mths and he is already 7 kg!!!" at that moment, i really felt like slapping that insensitive mummy.

i am lucky, so far i have had help at home coz hubby has been on leave since beginning of june. before that my mum was helping me. so far i have only looked aft anthea by myself for a stretch of few days...

on days when i am alone...
make my meal - sometimes i dun eat lunch, sometimes instant noodles, dinner usually wait for hubby to buy back ard 9+/10+pm... now i intend to cook myself simple meal for lunch and dinner. maybe just a soup will gao dim everything..

eat - eat fast lor... now i am trained to finish my meal in the shortest time possible.. even when outside coz hubby and i have to take turns to carry her when we eat. she will fuss if left alone in the pram.

shower - either take quick shower in the day, or shower at nite when hubby is back.

clean the house - i dun really do that. i have a part time maid who comes every fortnight. at most i mopped my floor every few days.... my house is ok. tidy. just dusty coz i have a construction site beside my blk.

grocery shopping - will do so when hubby is at home over the wkends.. or hubby will do it... luckily we have a NTUC just at the mall in front of my blk.. and a fdcourt too....

actually u r quite rite, besides looking aft anthea, i hardly have time to do other things... but luckily she usually in deep sleep ard 8+/9pm so aft that we have some time to do our own things...

haha.. sorry for the longwinded acct of my day!! actually i am very stressed now... my hubby is going back to work next wk and i will be on my own from then on.. usually he feeds her better, say 60-70ml.... unlike me, carry her she cry liao, not even mentioning feeding her... dats why now i am wondering without my hubby, how i am gonna survive the day feeds.... think by then she will drink 30ml / feed liao

valc, i can imagine how envious u r when u c yr cousin and her baby... i was wondering just now, how i wish one day i wake up, she will be drinking normally like other babies... how i wish...

i guess nobody can understand how we feel without going thru what we are going thru... valc, be there for me k... just like i will be for you.... lets cheer each other on....

me juz back frm m'sia..gotta send nanny back home afew days.

Edde,
glad to hear tat anthea's tests came out fine. wat abt the feeding therapist Valc mentioned? is it same as dietician?

Dr Vas juz say 'dun ever do tat' wen i asked her abt tube feeding. she nv say y. Itz a difficult decision to make. but wen it comes to the well being of our own bb, perhaps we hav to consider it an option? Did the dietician say can wean at 4mths? Anthea gg 4mo soon rite? Solids can replc and provide extra calories and nutrients.

edde,dun bother abt other ppl's reactions. ev bb is diff and it doesnt mean u love anthea less wat! in fact, they dun noe the whole story. if they do, they will noe u r a greater mummy,cos u go thru so much for anthea. if they were in ur position, mayb they cannot even take it!

U dun stress, evthg's got a way out..dun stress k! Ur mum gg help u wen hb go back work rite? if not, nowadys got many 'external' help available. u alrdy got part time maid. u can order tingkat. U muz eat well then got energy look after anthea.Keep ur spirits up.u need to find thgs to keep u thinking positive. Dun think this problem is 4ever. thgs will chg and improve, esp wen bb start solids. JIA YOU!!POSITIVE THINKING!

hav u tried those lamps can revolve, got picts type? the lights reflects, goes round the walls of the room. quite mesmerizing.My boy like to look at it while drinking milk. but oni at my mum's place,cos it belongs to my niece. Saw smthg like it at Ikea $15. Now trying to con my niece to lend me hers!

edde,
when anthea is 4mo, u can consider feed her some white rice cereal. my gal last time 4mo. i start her off cereal cos she really is taking milk v badly. quite surprising after start off cereal, she take her milk better...drink faster n more. my mum says cos she had longer interval in btw milk feed so she become "gian ni". then hor whenever she reject milk, i will feed cereal with fm added. there was a time i was like feeding 3x cereal + 3x milk a day. n her morning 1st feed is cereal n not milk :p

sungrapes, thx for yr uplifting advice
neh.. my mum is not coming to help me.. i told my mum and hubby, ultimately i have to learn to handle anthea myself.... its just a matter of time...

thx smiley, u have given me hope !!! yeah i intend to start rice cereal next wk when she turns 4 mths. but the instruction says only once a day rite ?? ok to feed more than that in a day ?? we tried to stretch the interval longer thinking she might drink more. but we are wrong. no matter how long we stretch she drinks the same amt.

eddde, keep your spirits up! do you feed in the nite time when she sleeps? suggest you just feed even when she's sleeping since she aint taking alot in the daytime? dun let her sleep more tha 4hrs at 1 shot? alternatively, feed everytime when she fusses and wanna sleep? let her associate sleeping time = drinking milk. thats why i do. whenever my boy fusses and wanna sleep, i just give milk. if the hrs are too close to the last milk time, i just give less. let them wan milk whenever they wanna sleep

hi clarissa, yeah i do nite feeds. she nvr sleeps more than 1 hr one shot (except at nite when she is in deep sleep, but i still feed her). in the day time, if she can sleep for more than 1 hr i very happy liao... i tried to feed her when she fusses to sleep. failed. the sleepier she is, the more she rejects milk. she just cry and cry and cry... i feed her as soon as she wakes up. thx for yr advice

edde
how do you cope with night feeds? i wake up at 2ce at 12am and 6am to pump and feed ahsley i'm already so tired. last night i overslept and woke up at 3.30am. you can imagine the state of my breasts. i pumped out 490mls in a single pump - which is more than wat ashley takes sometimes. these days i've bn oversleeping cos i'm so exhausted. this is even after setting 3 alarms on my hp. how do you do it every 2 hrs? and the washing & sterilising of bottles.

i think i want to try therapy for ashley. i think mebbe hers is a sucking and swallowing problem. dunno...

the last 2 times i went out with both my 2yr old son and ashley it was qt a disaster. my son kept going 'mummy carry mummy carry' while i was trying to have my lunch and my hb was trying to feed ashley. so you can imagine, both our food turned cold and then ashley decided to do a big poopoo. the other time we went to a buffet, this time with mum and sis and her 2 kids - 8 & 2yo. we jus cldn't really indulge or eat in peace. my son also refused to eat his lunch then. argh!!.. when will they grow up and grow out of all these eating problems??!!

edde
i spoke to my paed abt tube feeding. he said it's dangerous cos food can go to the wrong channel and it can be fatal. there was an incident where it happened to someone's mother and it was qt traumatic for the family. my paed said that if she doesn't fall below the 3%tile we shld jus keep at oral feeding.

you know wat my fren used to do when she was all alone at home with bb. she wld freeze food when her husband was around and heat them up to eat whenever she was too bz to cook. i think it's a good idea.

i called for a lactation consultant to come by my plc tomorrow to consult on ashley's feeding problem. hope that something good will come out of it.

valc, yeah.. meals outside is always disasterous.... we can nvr eat in peace... not mentioning enjoying the meal....

rite now i am lucky coz hubby helps me with the 6am and 8am feed, so i do the 2am and 4am... i dun sterilise the bottle everytime so its ok, just washing up... sigh.... everytime my alarm sounds, i gotta push myself out of bed lor... there are a couple of time i snooze and simply overslept and miss her feed... then i will feel very very guilty and angry with myself.. sometimes hubby misses her feeds and he will get an earful from me too! i also dunno if i can tahan next wk when hubby is back to work.. coz i dun intend to wake him up to do nite feeds..

thx for sharing with me info on tube feeding... rite now her wt is in the 10-25% percentile... oh yes, the idea of adding more scoops of FM failed. she has harder stool from it and constipation too.. so with that, she resisted milk. just now hubby went to KK to buy the carbohydrate supplements to be added to the FM... this is our last resort before tube feeding i guess..... but i am not optimistic... i really hope next wk when i start rice cereal, everything will pick up...

all the best to yr lactation consultation tmr... hopefully u will find great help from it...

edde,
think for anthea, u hve to follow her cue. Try gv once aday, if she likes it then no harm increasing it 2/3x aday. Dun have to follow wat the box says. Hopefully her milk intake will increase accordingly. If not, at least she's getting her nourishment frm cereals.

Sonic,
Last wkend b4 i left for m'sia, i called my PD.Told her tat my boy refuse bedtime milk,ask her how?!? She say can intro another solid after his am feed. Eg. 7am-milk,9am-oats,lunch-porridge,3pm-milk,dinner-rice cereal. Then the last milk feed can skip.

She say can gv fish and pork, no chix yet. Porridge muz make till thick and sticky type, then add vege and meat. So now me very headache cos dun now how to make porridge. There's so many methods,which 1 will gv the best results?? Sian!! I intend to improvise abit, cook the meat separately and use rice cereal instead of make porridge.

I went supermkt and c got wat type of fish..wah lau! cod fish oso got so many types! I c alrdy oso blur!!

Really sian man!!

wow edde, i am impressed! even nite time you feed every 2 hrly! i tot you only does that in the daytime...oh man! so you hardly sleep! will lose weights fast
thats how i always comfort myself
i wake up 2times for nite feeds too.. normally once at 1-2am than the other time at 5-6am. and after feed, i will normally express milk.. already like this, i feel tired and drained. but whenever i see my weights keep dropping, i think its well worth...hahahaha

valc, 480 in 1 pump? wow! thats ALOT... i express every 6hrly...sometimes if nite time oversleep 8hrly the longest...but never can express this much. if have gotten 260 already very happy

lactation consultant
she tried finger feeding with tube and cup feeding and bottle feeding. all not v successful. she says ashley has sensitive gag reflex. kept gagging. and that the chuping sound she makes is that her toungue is not in the correct position or moving in the right motion. she doens't really have a suck swallow rhythm. most of the time ashley didn't even want to suck at all.

she recommended speech therapy and/or cranial sacral osteopathy treatment. in the beginning i was skeptical abt the cranial sacral therepy. but i spoke to my fren who's an occupational therapist. she did a course on it b4. and she said it's effective. she had a treatment done on her son, she also has a fren who sought such a treatment. it's sort of an alternative medicine but she says the result is qt dramatic and immediate. can actually feel something like a rocking motion in the body during the manipulative treatment. i dun really understand the therapy in great detail but it's got to do with the cerebrospinal fluid.

haha.. clarissa, no leh... i din lose wt fast leh... still stagnant at 4kg more before pre preg...

valc, at least now u know the cause of the prob. may i find out from u where u got the lactation consultant from ?? how much eh ?? if can find out reason i dun mind asking her over too... i called up one before... very ex... and they charge by hr !!

can tell me more abt the therapy once u find out more ??? if its proven to be effective, no harm trying.. but any side effect ?? maybe i can ask my gastro spec next fri too when we visit her...

anthea's case is quite similar to ashley, most of the time she doesnt wanna suck too. her sucking is always intermitten... aft a few suck will stop, then i have to stimulate her to make her suck again.. sometimes she gets choked and refused to suck again... then she will open her mouth like goldfish and there is no way i can make her suck again..

argh! my naughty son jus erased a whole chunk of what i typed here. i gotto retype.

edde
no i still dunno wats wrong with ashley. reflux or not reflux. problem with sucking coordination? i jus spoke with my cousin who's a dr. he said speech therapy mt help but def not this cranial sacral therapy. he said anything that claims to treat a variety of illnesses with a single treatment is dubious. and that cerebrospinal fluid is not accessible from outside of the body and even if it is there is no use in moving it around. he's not heard of cranial sacral osteopathy. my hb also thinks it's hocus pocus so i guess that option is out. my cousin says that there shldn't be anything wrong with ashley neurologically or her sucking coordination cos she's able to do the suck swallow rhythm at her 12am and 6am feeds. he said that i shld continue to seek treatment from prof quak at nuh cos he's like the best in sg.

this lactation consultant in from mother & child at tanglin mall. she charges $100 for house visits. i'm not spending any money by being stuck here at home feeding ashley all day so i got abit of extra money. wat's the use of money when my daughter is causing me all this anguish.

how come anthea's symptoms are like ashley's but mine say is reflux and yours say it's behaviour? cld mine be behavioural also??

valc, thx for sharing the info

my gastro spec said its behavorial coz anthea has no prob drinking at nite. like yr cousin said, if the baby can drink normally at certain time of the day, then it shows that baby shld have no neuriological prob at all !! maybe u can ask prof quak abt it ???

wah! very cheem! Aw, edde, my boy milk feed improve after weaning..mayb like wat smiley said..they 'gian ni'.

sungrapes,edde
how did u get ur bbies to take the zantac? ashley keeps spitting it out. it's such a torture.

valc i know wat u mean, anthea also like that, sometimes i wondered if she took in half of it. doc told me to put it in the milk, but in the first place she dun finish her milk wat... duh... so we i did was syringe fed her bit by bit lor.. really BIT by BIT...

oh valc... u asked me abt sterilising bottles.. last time i very hardworking, i have 4 bottles so i sterilised once i used them up. now i have 2 bottles, so i dun do that anymore. and i heard that its no gd to keepo sterilising bottles. so now i sterilised twice a day, once in the morn once at nite. other than that i just wash and rinse with hot water and put back into the steriliser for the next use.

edde
you said that anthea lost appetite when she was on antibiotics, which type was she taking? ashley is on augmentin 1.4mls for her bellybutton.

clarissa
your bb is 4mths and you are now working still wake up to pump and feed 2ce is v v good. it's noble the sacrifice you make for bb. you also wake your bb or your bb wakes up on her own for feed?