5months baby boy not drinking milk nor taking cereals.. help needed

sungrapes, yeah, have tried neosure, supposedly higher calories for premmies, but anthea doesnt like it, end up drinking less. the only FM she likes are friso comfort and nan. she wont fuss much but sleep is easily disturbed lor... she dozed off very easily in the car, but when we pick her up she wakes up liao... singapore from one end to another only 30min, so at most she sleeps for 30 min lor... haha... btw, i saw from another thread that u used to fly ?? yr hubby also rite ??

valc, yr baby is 2 mths old, wats her birth wt and current wt eh ??? when did she start to refuse milk ?? did she gain wt ever since ?? if she continues to gain wt steadily, then at least she is growing... like sungrape suggested, maybe u can try FM, but give her a few days to get use to it... i strongly rec NAN1, rec by many mummies too...

hey sungrapes
i used to fly too. hehe mebbe we work together b4 even. ;) my hubby still flying. sometimes i feel resentful that he still gets to fly. i really miss the carefree lifestyle. the gastro told me to avoid dairy which some bbies may reject. do you remember anythign special u did that made your boy recover? my girl is jus refusing to suck as soon as i place the bottle in her mouth. it's so frustrating. she jus keeps turning her head right and left and if you persist she'll start crying.

edde
her birth weight is 3.365kg. now at 2mths she's 4.8kg. she started to refuse the bottle at 5th week. yes she did gain weight since 5th week. but very very little. according to the WHO standard is acceptable, but they take into account bbies in 3rd world countries who have generally slower weight gain. they go as low as 150gms a week. but in singapore, bbies are putting on 180gms to 250gms. so my girl is really off the range. we have to weigh her almost eveyr week to monitor cos i'm freaking out. can't get restful sleep cos constantly worrying. now i can't even get her to start sucking. and when she sleeps sometimes she doesn't suck. argh!! wat am i to do??!! doesn't she feel hunger? or thirst?

Valc!! I din noe u ex-crew! wat a small world..do u noe there's a thread for flying mothers?? come can gossip with us there leh!

When did u quit? ur hb is CC or TC?

Edde,
yes , me used to fly with hb. we couple coded. he is still enjoying life lor! me stuck on land!
Dun tell me u ex-crew oso!!

I quit in Apr 06 when i was abt 5wks preg. So still have til next yr Apr to return to flying, pending my wt!!

Valc,
anythg special i did?Ermmm...i ask my church pastor to come my hse and pray for him..does tat count?

Physically i cant do much lor! juz did the normal stuff like chg 101 FM, teats, bottles etc.

But then i start to pray and fast.My mum say smthgs only God can help and probably itz his way of making me turn to him,etc...

other then tat, itz wat i wrote in my earlier posts to sonic and edde.

Ur ger behaving exactly like my boy last time..but i was gvg him FM all the way. so i can dilute and chg FM. But u still BFg leh..any tots of trying FM? There r some bbs cant take BM rite?

Oh! my nanny started gvg him the pearl calcium powder..but dun noe if itz tat or not cos he oso taking those reflux med at the same time.

wow i din know there is a flying mothers thread. cool!! i left in 04 when i was pregnant with my elder son. he's such an angel so he's worth the sacrifice. so nice to be couple coded. it's like having mini holidays together. my hb is a tc but we did manage to do some flts together so that was qt fun. i din know there was a dateline for returning to work. they din tell me when i left.

really? there are some bbs who can't take breastmilk? i thought that was the best for bbs. mebbe those lactose interolerant bbs? this calcium powder, did the drs say is ok to take? i've also bn praying abt it and so has my husband and my MIL and my mother and my frens. still waiting for Him to answer...

Valc,
itz the Flying Mother's Scheme. Itz tied to my contract wen i joined the airline. but not every female crew get the same contract..like my neighbor,she dun hav. So if she wanna go back, itz under reemployment..will get new staff num and graduity muz start all over again.

Couple code is gd cos got sm1 to TP food for me and carry my cargo bag..esp in winter! hehe! But my hb will snore till i cant zz lor! very irritating..esp b4 long flt wen i need to nap.

If u can afford to stay hm then better lor..tat means ur hb go for flt u alone with the kidz? which fleet is he?

I read in a book say there r some bbs cannot take BM for some reason..cant rem the details cos me nv keen on BFg anyway.

The calcium powder i nv ask my PD leh..she western trained of cos will say no lah! But i was at my wit's end so i juz let nanny do anythg she wans.Aw, nanny oso take the same powder evday as tonic..i oso start to take liao..for my sore eyes past 2 days.

My boy still taking it once a while mixed in his water or as and wen nanny say muz take.

sungrapes, no lah i am not ex-crew, though i had always wanted to be one since young but in the end din coz no face, no figure, dunno how to swim... haha !!!

yr son eats pearl powder, my gal eats chinese med powder. i also dun dare to tell my PD coz like u said they western trained wont believe such things. but i believe its working well for my gal.

valc, u r very lucky liao.. at least yr gal put on so much wt and is growing well, one less thing to worry abt...

sungrapes
stay home got less money for me to spend lor. i stay with my parents but somehow i still find it difficult to cope even with a househelp. mebbe cos got a toddler who is full of energy. hard to keep up with him. my husband is on the 777.

edde
i guess with the amount that she drinks i can't expect fantastic weight gain. it's jus that it's v v v tiring feeding her cos each feed takes us an hour sometimes longer. and when she struggles, we gotto keep up with her, follow her mouth wherever it goes, and my whole body tenses up when i'm carrying her to feed. and when she starts crying or falls asleep, then that's the end of the feed even tho there's like more than half of it left. damn sian to feed her. i dunno how you do it 12 times a day. hats off to you.

valc, there was this period of time i nearly went crazy coz i have to go thru the milk struggle with anthea every 2 hrs.... have to come to terms with myself that i shld just let her be... but on the other hand, i was hoping she cld drink more... its very psychologically draining.. i cried everyday then. but luckily on most days, my hubby or mum was there to help..

Valc, tatz y i nv carry him wen i feed cos my whole body tense up oso.I feed him in bouncer.I got phobia to carry him now.

My mum oso bought for me the chinese med anthea is taking..but he alrdy taking the pearl powder so i nv dare to mix. Y dun u gv it a try?
or u wanna try the pearl powder? i can pass u some.?I rem tat those china fss ever say is gd but im not those take chinese med type cos my impression of chinese med is tat they r very bitter in taste. During my 1st trimester i had very bad spotting and cramps. i bo pian had to take the 13 tai4 bao3. Taste like shit but i personally finds tat it helps mre then any hormone jabs.

Edde,
maybe u shd try the pearl powder 2..itz gd to prevent imflammation of all sorts. i tok for 2 days and my sore eyes is better alrdy. Nanny keeps telling me itz gd but i was sceptical till now.u can get a jar and share with Valc.

sungrapes
you still feed your son in bouncer now? but v good hor can take 6oz 7oz. even my son who had no drinking problems(jus slow) cldn't take that much at that age. and he was not 8kg until i think after 1yr. hahaha so your son has recovered v well. i can't wait for ashley to get better.

i asked my mum abt the pearl powder, she said there was once a write up in newspaper abt it.

edde
i know how you feel. and yes, it's very draining, psychologically and physically as well. and sometimes these horrible thoughts creep into my mind of exchanging her with another bb at the hospital or that i shld never have had her if i knew she was going to be like this or giving her up for adoption. bad mummy!! but other times when she coos and smiles it sometimes takes the stress away.

Valc,
aiyah! last time i oso went thru tis feeding problem stage..but as mummy we cannot gv up lor! if not, then how? gv the bb away? yah lah! i ever tot of finding the biggest house in Bukit Timah and leave my son at the gate..or ask angelina jolie to adopt him.

Yes, now all feedings by me is done in the bouncer,even wen i gv him his cereals..oni his nanny can carry and feed. i'd rather not lor!

he now noe how to use his hands to push the bot away, in addition to turning his head L/R. So i muz have free hand to hold him down. smtimes wanna tie his arms to the bouncer..his hands damn fast man! he still has his moments wen he fuss during feeding esp at nite.

Tat day the PD told me his porridge muz be thicker type cos he had reflux b4. so is it once a reflux bb, 4ever a reflux bb? muz rem to ask PD next visit.

dun wori lah! ashley will soon improve. is the reflux med effective so far?

the medicine... not really. but at least she's not crying hyesterically altho she still kicks and struggles and turns her head left and right. we sometimes end up sleep feed her but is very slow and her hanky gets all drenched. takes 1 hour and my whole body is aching now.

valc, today anthea visited the gastro spec at NUH, Dr Marion Aw. from wat we told her, she suspected that most likely the cause of anthea not drinking is due to behavioral prob, meaning she chooses not to drink. but just to play safe and rule out other medical possibilities, she did blood test and urine test for anthea, review next fri. she mentioned the worst case wld be tube feeding lor...

personally i find this doc rather gd. she analysized the prob, provide solution and inform us of possibilities and help. if u are interested to visit her, let me know, i give u the contacts.

edde
wat medical conditions are you able to rule out from the blood tests and urine tests? she doesn't suspect reflux(silent)?

i spoke to a lactation consultant whom i consulted once during my latching on days and told her abt my problem now. she said she used to work with an infant feeding therapist in KK(who now no longer works there) and this therapist helps bbies with feeding problems. i din know that there was such a specialty in s'pore. not sure wat is involved in the therapy but wld like to find out.

i called my ex CL and asked her to help me feed ashley for 24hrs. cos when she was here during my confinement she fed her occassional bottles and she managed to finish 90mls each time in abt 10-14mins. thought she got some special technique and was desperate enough to try. but when she came, she left within an hour after trying to feed her. her attempt was unsuccessful. ashley as usual jus kept crying and struggling. and i think it scared her off. she was horrified that i have to resort to sleep feeding her for 1 hr each time.

edde
the gastro you saw is from the same dept as the gastro ashley is seeing. not sure if can jus switch drs like that. mine prof quak seng hock and he looked like a coffee shop ah peh. do you know that consultation & medicine is alot cheaper if you got a referral letter from a polyclinic.

valc, oh.. i dunno abt the referral letter thingy.. we din even have a referral letter from anybody coz the PDs just asked us verbally to visit Dr Aw.

Dr Aw doesnt suspect reflux coz anthea does not have any of the symptoms (eg. arching back) anymore... and coz she drinks well at nite (75ml in 15 min) but not in the day when she is awake, Dr suspect its just her choice that she doesnt want milk.

the blood test is done due to her kidney prob coz Dr said kidney prob might lead to high blood acidity which results in poor appetite. but my PD overruled this possibility coz anthea's kidney prob is not serious. urine test is for UTI also indirectly due to her kidney. also becoz anthea's previous tests have shown some high readings on some elements (dunno wat), so she wanna make sure they are not the cause of the prob.

hang on there valc, things willl only get better

Hi edde/Valc,
Been keeping track of u guys here.
Hope evthg will turn out well for Anthea and Ashley.

so wat can b done for bbs dun want milk cos of behaviour problems?

Valc, reflux med not working?

valc, yeah.. but not every feed is so gd lah... gd and bad lor...

sungrapes, i also dunno leh.. hopefully when she starts semi solid in july she will eat better lor.. maybe she just dislikes milk....

edde,
yah! juz bear with it for another mth or so then start solid, at least u wun hav to stress over milk intake.

her cereal u can mix with FM, cheat her to eat FM abit oso counted as total milk intake.

hope her tests come out fine.

edde
wah you gonna start solids so early ah? i will only be starting oct leh. ashley's bday 15april.

sungrapes
i not sure abt the meds but she seems to cry hysterically less. but she still wun drink properly leh. i have to resort to sleep feeding. very tiring and messy. argh! i jus want her to drink like a normal bb. dunnit to be greedy. jus average will do. monday we seeing the gastro for review. see wat he says. thanks for checking in on us. it's comforting to know that another person cares.

of course i care cos i've been there and i noe how difficult and testing it is to the mother.

Heads up, cheer up! All will be well!
A mother's love got no limit..u guys r doing a great job..spend so much time,effort and $$ to consult specialists.

Pls take care of urselves 2!

thx for yr well wishes and advice sungrapes !! u r always so kind

valc, yeah.. have to lor.. hope rice cereal works well for her... anthea's bd is 12 mar. so next mth i only starting on rice cereal and maybe fruits puree, will only start solids like porridge when she is 6 mths old... maybe u can try to start with semi solid when ashley turns 4 mths.. then at least that will add on to her intake..

at least u can sleep feed ashley. i can only do that with anthea at nite. even so, now she also learnt to stop sucking when sleep feeding, so sometimes she drinks as little as 20-40ml also... during the day she wakes up easily, so cant sleep feed... have to feed persistently and most of the time struggling.. both of us..

keep us posted on the review k... must cheer each other on

Hi mummies, been quite some time didn't log on. I took a week off last week to stay home and take care of my boy, it's not easy. I really took my hat off to you gals who are SAHM. Also very grateful to my mum who has been handling my boy when I'm at work.

Drink milk takes one hour of coaxing, giving cereal or fruits he will blow out and cry out loud. Drinking pattern also changed a lot, from toys to TV method, then now handphone method.. Need to let him play with my mobile otherwise no way he will drink... Sitting there with him for an hour, x 5 times a day. My whole body is aching now, in just a week! Also didn't have time to cook & eat proper meal, lost 2 kg liao!

BUT, one thing to console me is, he's taking 6oz now!! Weight gain also quite ok, now 8.25kg liao.

PD was very surprised when I told her my boy refuses milk and cereal, even porridge. She also said that could be he has got behaviour problem, since his weight gain is ok.

Valc, if you manage to find out more about the feeding therapy, pls let me know, I need help!

Edde, maybe u can let your gal drink more at night, since she's taking it fine at night. This also benefits u as she might sleeps longer thru the night.

Sungrapes, your boy and my boy behaves the same. I can tell you what exactly your boy will do in the next couples of days/weeks. Now he's pushing the bottle away with his hands right, he'll soon does that with his legs. Imagine, I need to hold the bottle, also got to take care of his hands and legs... And another space hand to hold his toys (now mobile phone)... Sigh!

I'm also feeding him in bouncer, but feeding solids will be done in high chair. But he'll soon outgrown his bouncer, I'm asking myself, where should we feed him milk then???? When he's learning to crawl and walk by then, I will have to follow him up and down with the bottle.

Sungrapes, is your son taking well with solids? I've tried sweet potatos, pears, apples, banana, cereal and porridge.. He likes NONE of them. When I put give him the food, he gave the weird look and quickly turn his head away from me. If I'm trying again, he'll cry. I've tasted the food, all of them are very nice. Don't know what he's up to.

Attached a photo taken last Sat, your boy will be able to do that soon too!

854242.jpg

valc, hows the appt with specialist ??

anthea's milk intake is record low today... so far only 240ml... everytime drinks only 30ml average... sianz... i dunno how long i can endure all these...

ashley's 2 feeds today also 40mls and 30mls. and this is after trying for 1hr. jus keep crying. argh!! sometimes feel like giving up. theres only so much I can do short of tube feeding her. it's a pleasure for most other bbies to drink milk y does it seem like torture for her. she behaves like i'm drowning her.

the gastro said most likely it's reflux altho can't confirm. unless do a scope wh he doesn't recommend. hm... if it's not reflux we'd be giving her the meds for nothing. gave med for thrush jus in case cos her tongue is whitish but he doesn't think it's thrush. I got my regular pd to check her mouth 2ce he already ruled thrush out. told me to cut out dairy and nuts in my diet cos she cld be sensitive to cow's milk. told me I shldn't switch her to FM.

he gave me more of the same meds to give her. to see him in 2wks.

wt gain 220gms in 14days. now 5.07kg. he says it falls below the low end of range. but at least there's regular poopoo. ???

sonic
I din find out abt the feeding therapist... yet. ur bb intake and wt v good leh. kp up the good work! even my no. 1 no drinking prob also not as good. drink less put on less wt.

Hi sonic,
long time no hear!Where did u last left us? Lots of catching up to do with u.

Ok, here goes..im glad ur boy taking 6oz now..improvement!His wt oso gd. My boy wt is 8.15kg since his last jab at 6mths old.(Juz for memory sake, wen ur boy DOB har? Mine's 15dec.)

Oh dear! i hear u say abt their drinking pattern i very stressed man! So next, he will use his feet to push bot?? I tried to hold him a couple of times to feed,he will use his feet to push against the flr, like bouncing/jumping like tat..very difficult to feed like tat, so back into the bouncer he goes.

Where to feed him after outgrown bouncer? Wah! 2nite muz think abt tis..cant zz liao! My bouncer is long and narrow type, got vibration.so mayb wen i turn it on, he noes cannot move. But he's trying to lean upwards now. he cant sit unsupported yet,so solid oso in bouncer. i tried in walker, but he juz starts to lean forward(cant c his mouth) or chews the toys on the walker.

my boy has oso started to crawl liao..

I guess wen they r older, they noe its milk time they will guai guai lie down to drink? Wat abt those hi-chair can recline type? u think it will work? Maybe u hav to train him, milk time muz drink, finish then play. I dun noe...my mum say makan time muz train them to sit down properly and eat, cannot make it a habit to chase after them with the food.But itz easier said than done rite!

<font color="0000ff">Solids</font>
Im still trial and error-ing. He takes 2 solid meals aday now. After 6th mths PD visit, she told me gv mre solids, dun wori abt milk intake.Can even try meat!

So for the past wk or so:
morning wake up: 8ozmilk
Lunch time 11-12+pm: 4tbsp oats + 2cube fruits
Mid noon 2-3pm: 6oz milk
Dinner 5-5.30pm: 4tsp rice + 3 cube vege
b4 sleep: 6ozmilk

By 9pm he cranky liao, wanna zzz. All the above is rough guide. still fine tuning it, trying to get his timing and pattern. <font color="ff0000">Most tricky 1 is the feed b4 zz. gvg me big headache.</font>

Im afraid he might not get enuf milk. but if gv him milk b4 his solids, even reduce amts, will affect his appetite. Smtimes, after din, 2hrs later he will drink 7oz. Other times, he drinks 3-4rs later. 2nite, he drink oni abt 3oz frm 8.15-9pm, after his din at 5.30pm. So i really dun noe..me back to keeping timetable again..trying to figure out this weaning thg. itz gvg me alot of stress.

If per day his milk intake is MINIMUM 500mls (abt 17oz), then he muz drink at least 3x aday. But too full frm solids, he wun drink. On the other hand, i muz work up to 5tbsp oats, 8tsp rice, plus vege,fruits and soon meat.!! How to achieve like tat? Mre difficult than strike toto!

I oso hav to factor in his naptime. Wen he's sleepy, he WILL NOT eat his solids.

OH! and wen he dun drink b4 zzz, he will wake up for nite feed abt 2am. I need him to sleep thru the nite! So me really stuck here..

There's this domino effect lor!

Wat abt ur son? Pls do share. Im so ARRGH!!

Sonic, tis is the bouncer i use. Note the seatbelt is much bigger, so maybe tat will stop him frm turning???
kao_confused.gif
855142.jpg

Valc,
u think itz better to do the probe thg, at least can rule out reflux? Then wun hav to feed Ashley all those med?

I mean, if u thinking of tube feeding her, itz oso putting smthg down her throat all the time. Y not juz do it once with the reflux probe?

sungrapes
even the gastro doesn't recommend it. my hb will nvr agree to it. the gastro said even if we do the tests, and the results confirm it, the treatment will be the same so no point.

sungrapes
even the gastro doesn't recommend it. my hb will nvr agree to it. the gastro said even if we do the tests, and the results confirm it, the treatment will be the same so no point.

sonic,
i decided to reduce his solids amt cos his milk intake is affected. He muz minimum drink at least 3 bottles.

Last nite after rice at 5.30pm, he din wake up til 7+ this morning!!!

2day, dun noe y, he oso nv drink milk during evening.?!? I gv him only 2 sweet potato+ 1 spinach during lunch.

Valc,
The docs can refer or recommend any feeding therapist to u?? There muz be smthg/smone out there who can help with such feeding problems rite?

ValC, how old is baby now? If baby is 5.07kgs at 3mths i think thats ok right? so long they double birth weights by month 4? thats the impression i get.

sungrapes, baby looks chubby and cute...why is this worry about feedings and weights?

valc, i dunno if this is the rite advice to give u but it works for anthea... have u tried stopping all med and see how ???

Clarissa,
itz the weaning process..cant seem to get it rite as in cant establish a proper routine/timing for him.

Some days he eats well, other times dun like his food.And it directly effects his milk intake cos he still needs milk at his age. I need to strike a balance and i m stuck rite now.

With the introduction of solids, it throws his whole milk timing off..itz not like milk only diet, where i noe he'll be hungry every 4hrs.

hi sungrapes,
i chance upon this thread.
eh, u mention 2 sweet potato & a spinach? in cube form or really 2 big sweet potato?
i remember my gal take sweet potato first time when she 5mo time, she was so bloated that she skip her milk after that. i oni gave 1 big cube of sweet potato at that time. so i no give her sweet potato till she abt 7mo.

well, no need worry too much on ur bb milk & food intake as long as they still gaining wgt.
by 3mo, double birth wgt and by 12mo triple birth wgt is consider ok. u oni need to worry if ur bb not gaining wgt or losing wgt.

i been thru the same path as u all cos my gal is fussy drinker n eater all the way till she 16mo.
imagine how i suffer for so many mths but finally its over.

sungrapes, ok understand...think i will meet the same prob with baby ricco start solids.. which will be sooon..........

hang on there, we will all get the hang of all these feedings

Valc, I shared the feeling like u. I witnessed a mum preparing milk in front of her twins. When the mummy goes near to her gals with the bottle, her gals were so excited and one even grab the bottle so quickly! How we wish our bbs also reacting like the cute twins hor.

Could it be the meds that making your gal sudden loss of appetite? For wat I understand, bbs on meds normally will fuss more than usual. So don't worry abt that. Probably situation will changed after she's stopped the meds.

Sungrapes, my boy's DOB is 27 Nov 06, so is exactly 7month old today!! He also like bouncing, whenever we carry him upright sitting down, he will use our thigh or even tummies as his base and starts jumping/bouncing. I read an article said that it's good for baby to bounce as it helps them to develop their feets stronger. But we will suffer then, cos it's very painful esp when he jumps excitingly on my tummy. ;( but wat to do, he's my dearest son.

Haha.. Seems like our sons experiencing same progress now.. My son also can lean upwards from lying position, sit unsupported for few seconds, lean forward and chews toys on walker, crawls quite a bit too.. And likes to cream out of fun.

I wish my boy will guai guai lie down to drink milk when he's older... Already got a hi-chair without recline system, never thought of feeding milk on the hi-chair though. I'm afraid he got hi-chair phobia cos now he will cry whenever we put him into the hi-chair as he knew it's solid feeding time. Sigh!

My boy's daily routine is like ---

7 to 8am - 6oz milk
11 to 12pm - 6oz milk
3 to 4pm - 6oz milk
7 to 8 pm - cereal or porridge (stop giving him others, thinking to start plain porridge/cereal first)
10 to 11pm - 6oz milk

Hmn, your boy is taking more huh... He's quite on track liao.

He sleeps at 12am (sometimes I'm too tired, fell asleep before he does, so he could be sleeping around 12.30am), wakes up around 6 to 7am. There was a day he finished half a cup of cereal at 7pm, the next day morning he sleeps till almost 11am! I reckon that the cereal must be the reason. Likewise for your son.

There is also another day where he had his milk at 7pm, then he dozes off at 9pm, I'm too lazy to wake him up for feeding, put him to sleep then. He sleeps thru till next day 7am still don't feel hungry. Weird rite?

So u don't have to feed him at 2am every night. Just pat him to sleep, otherwise this has became a habit for him to have midnight feed. What I used to do is, just prop the pacifier to him, then he'll sleep again.

5tbsp oats, 8tsp rice, plus vege, fruits and meat a day?! Wow.. Your boy is taking quite well. Yeah, 500ml is enough for them already. That's wat my PD said to me. So 3 times of 6oz milk is enough, if he is taking solids well. As my boy only takes 2-3tbsp of porridge a day, so I need to make sure he's still getting at least 4 x 6oz milk daily. I'm try to slowly increase his solids now. But he does't seem to interested on that. To me, giving him solids need more patience and endurance than milk.

Understand your frustration when you don't know when he can finish his milk, and when he's not. I'm having same problem too. Drill down to the problem source, it's becos our boys don't ask for food when they are hungry (or are they don't feel hungry at all??), unlike other bbs who will cry and signal their caregivers that they want milk or food... So wat we could do is mere guessing, and pray hard that they will finish the food.

Hey sungrapes, your boy is practising the non-spill sprout water bottle already? I let my boy drink water with that too, but he takes it as teether instead, keep biting but don't suckle water from it.. Naughty. :p

Hi smiley, glad that yours is over. U know our sorrow most, welcome to give us some pointers!!
your gal likes milk now or will she automatically ask for milk?

hi sonic,
my gal all the while hate solid....and drink little milk also. used to at most drink 6oz then as grow older she drink even lesser. only manage 4-5oz per feed or even 3oz sometime. and its after much coaxing then she drink more. per feed can take up to 1hr le. i so exhausted n phobia feed her milk. and she been eating commercial cereal+jar food from 5mo till 16mo...refuse porridge all the way. and no need to say, she is v petite size. now still petite.
she can from nite time 8pm last feed till next morning 10am also not hungry n drink only 1oz of milk nia. aiyo....i was so desperate that wanna break down crying. wonder Y is she not hungry one.

as for how she suddenly open up her appetite,. hmm...its actually a bad experience. she kena viral infection when we bring her out shopping. high fever for a few days then throat infection which make her lost appetite totally. she refuse water, milk n food. ended up dehydration and hospitalise for 7days as her cough n flu symptoms all kick in. she had upper respiration tract infection + serious sore throat,. on drip for a few days and daily suction of phlegm. nubuliser and dripping of antibiotics. its at the hospital 3rd or 4th day then i feed her some porridge and its plain porr with light soy sauce and surprisingly she EAT...and also drink milk. from then onwards, she start to eat n drink normally.
now she will down 8oz of milk in 1 go or at most 2 go if she not v hungry. time need only 5min-10min all by her own. no need coaxing. she will automatic come to me ask for milk when she hungry le. she can after taken rice for dinner n 2hrs later come to me for milk. she like milk now
solid got to depends on the type of food.

i read this thread is like how i used to be. v kek sim n helpless. i keep observing how other bb drink milk n was alws telling my hb "how i wish our gal is like them"

gals, jia you jia you....all the best

hi all, how many gms/kgs should baby put on on a per month basis?

I am expecting to start solids in about 1.5month's time. I should start with rice cereal than mix a spoonful or so in milk than give? how many times each day should I do this? and by then, how much milk should baby drink?

very confusing

smiley
thank you for your success story. it's v encouraging. i really hope my girl will outgrow this one day miraculously.

clarissa
wt gain shld be 1kg per mth for 1st 3 mths. triple wt by 3 mths. according to my pd. but that's jus a rough guideline. each bb has their own pace. like mine is def below that. when you start semi solids you shld continue to give milk as usual. yes start with little at a time and increase slowly. also thicken slowly. beginning will be messy. after a while he/she will get hang of it and take more. start with once a day 1st. i find the bumbo seat v good for starting solids, can use all the way to qt long. i only upgraded to the ikea high chair when abt 8+mths.

hi.. toking abt wt gain... guess i have the biggest reason to worry... coz up till now 3 mths 2wks +, anthea put on less than 1kg from her birth wt of 3.8kg...

Hi smiley,
glad to hear tat abt sweet potatoes!Tot im the oni 1 experiencing tis problem. Thks so much for shedding some lite on tis.

I gv his food in cube form..if his appetite so gd can eat 2 whole s.potatoes then i wun hav to wori liao loh!

So i shd not let him take s.potatoes till ard 7mths? My nanny did tell me it will cause bloatedness, but din noe effect will be so strong till dun wan milk. wat abt juz potatoes?

Aw, 2day i revamp his solid feeding. Stop his oats during lunch, gv oni 2cubes mix veg..took his 3pm milk well*heng*.

Dinner gv 2tsp rice mixed with 1oz FM + 1tbsp avocado..then try gv milk at 7.30pm, drank oni 3oz after much coaxing.

His solid alrdy very small amts.But if i gv mre then he dun wan milk leh.

Clarissa,
ur bb name is Ricco? Itz such a hip name! Nice!

Yes yes! we will share all our experience abt feeding here, be it milk or solids and gv support to one another!

This wt gain for bbs i read abt it recently smwhere. let me recall where then i can post here.

There's many ways of introducing solids, each weaning bk will have their own menu planners with diff 'styles'. u can try reading afew and adapt one to suit u and ricco.

Basically u start with bb rice mixed with water/FM/BM.

Gv 1 tsp, mixed till like creamy soup texture(runny). Introduce after his noon milk feed (any new food u gv him muz gv in the day so tat u can observe him for any adverse reactions to the food.)

There's oso the 3-day rule, where u gv the same food for 3days in a row to make sure he not allergic to it.

How old is Ricco? if weaning b4 5mths, solids r like food tasting to intro diff kinds of food to him. so gv once aday after his noon food, juz a tsp each time. Wen he is used to it, abt 1wk, then u can increase the amts given by half tsp each time.

Milk amt at tis time shd not decrease.

Every bb is diff lor! u juz hav to trial and error.

Sonic,
So now i pray evday my boy grow up faster can tell me wen he's hungry..me teaching him signing, but oni for 'milk' and 'eat'. Haha!

Im hvg difficulty trying to fit in 3 milk feeds. My gf told me maybe my son is small eater, cos her dd last time weaning got take milk no problem. Solid food impt, milk oso impt!! Then how like tat?

Sigh..the 2am feed is my nanny say muz gv 1. She say bb hungry muz gv milk else wun b able to zz. I told her wanna train dun gv milk, juz gv water can alrdy. She does it most times, but if bb miss his bedtime milk, then she will gv wen he wakes up no matter wat time lor..like last nite 1+am oso feed.

5tbsp oats and 8tsp rice is the target amt.

My son take oni 3tbsp oats and 4tsp rice..then will be 2 full for milk. so 2day nv gv oats and cut down rice to 2tsp. Is rice or oats mre filling?

So if ur boy zz early then u dun wake him for his 10pm milk? does he drink the milk willingly after his dinner or..?? He zz very late hor. Let him zz early then u can rest oso mah.

The sippy cup my son will drink then use it as teether after oso lor..but i will take it away wen he does tat. If he fuss, i will gv him his real teether, so he will learn itz not a toy. But quite cute lor to c him hold his own cup.

Hope 2mr will be a better day!
1 day he will be like smiley's dd, ask for milk!

Sonic,
our boys oni abt 2wks apart..no wonder pattern same same!

Any new pattern come out u muz warn me 1st ok!

kao_shy.gif