5months baby boy not drinking milk nor taking cereals.. help needed

edde,
Gd news!!
I guess as she grows up, the spincter muscles is stronger so the vomitting stop.

Maybe u shd chg FM? try smthg nicer to whet her appetite..?

sungrapes, yeah... we have changed back to NAN1 liao coz apparently she is best on this brand... but her milk intake is still inconsistent... each day ard 400ml only... she is 11 wks now.. i really dun dare to weigh her coz i think she din put on much wt.. sigh... jia4 buay3 dua3...

hi sungrapes
how did you manage to hire your CL for a longer term? one of the mummies from my april thread wanted to hire her CL for long term but MOM did approve leh. i'm also like you mummies having trouble feeding my girl. she's now 6weeks. each time we feed her is a struggle. she gulps air, struggles and cries without fail. and chokes often too. we feed her 6x a day putting 110mls in her bottle but she only manages to take half. she sleeps through the night so her intake is not much. i have trouble waking her up for her last feed as well.

saw the paed yesterday but he says there's nothing wrong with her mouth. and that there's nothing much we can do but keep trying. he says some babies are jus like that.

am also thinking of hiring a nanny to help with the baby as now my back is injured from spending an hour long slouching over to feed her and struggling with her.

Hi sungrapes,

Thanks for the recipes, however I hv not tried them yet as my mum against the idea. She has the same concept as u, shd start my boy plain food first. So her idea is to let him try some porridge before others. But my boy is still not very receptive to rice cereal, my mum dare not give him porridge at the moment. Right now my boy is taking a few tea spoons of rice cereal once a day. I told my mum to increase the amount each day but my mum keeps saying that he doesn't like it. Sigh! Think my mum also impatience like me. Thinking on starting serious weaning, I'm so lost. Don't know where and how to start.. Have you started yours?

Yeah, don't wake our sleepy bbs up. If bb is asleep and passes the feeding time, I will rather not to disturb him. It's ok, as sleeping also a important weight contributor to our bbs. If they are hungry, they will wake up and cry for milk.

I'm giving my boy gripe water once a day, he likes it sweet. I also think of giving him gripe water mixing the gripe water with milk to coax him. But my mum scolded me, thus gave up the 'bad' idea.

Edde, your gal only 6 wks but her milk intake already more than half of wat my boy is having, so consider not bad lah. Furthermore she is bb gal mah, tends to be on smaller build and putting on slower. Don't worry, wait in the end mummy lost more weight than bb.

Hi valc, we are not alone, I read from some threads talking about similar subject.. One mummy said that her bb has been rejecting milk since 2mos, the problem persists till bb is 12mos... **faint** I can't imagine what will I be if my boy behaves the same. What we can do is just pray hard that our bbs will LOVE the milk one day.

sonic, my gal is coming to 12 wks liao

valc, yr baby ver gd liao...mine at this age drinks only 40ml on the average !!! only when she is gd mood then will drink more, sometimes she drinks only 30ml!! sigh.. at least yr PD said nothing is wrong with yr baby, mine said he wanna do brain scan lah, introduce speech therapist lah... just to find out why she is not drinking and not thriving.. is yr baby putting on wt ??? mine only put on 500g since birth, she is only 4.4 kg now..

valc,
I juz found out tat m'sian can only stay here for 60days max, sfter tat muz go back m'sia for at least 30days b4 can come here again.

my nanny's kids r SPR, got biz in S'pore. so he juz applied long term social pass for her. S'por very $$-face, cos her application approved within the same day we applied!! Thank god, im lucky!

is ur ger allergic to cow's milk? edde's ger went for urine/blood test? can determine this. yah lor, this rejecting milk thing is very common,tatz y got this thread..u really not alone!

i experimented with different bottles,teats,FM.
i suggest u keep a timetable of her feeding time and amt. try to catch her pattern. eg. u gv 110mls, but she take half,so u gv her maybe 60-70mls every 3-4hrs. then u juz stick to this for a wk or so and monitor,slowly increase the amt. u may hav to adjust the amt or frequency of feeds.trial and error lor. tatz wat i did. may i noe the wt of ur ger? how's her poo? juz make sure she got enuf fluids and not dehydrated.

if itz any consolation to u, my boy was like tat frm 2.5mths til abt 4mths. he's ok now,but still got spells of not wanting to drink. at least he never scream head off.

u really muz try all tricks to cajole her. my nanny will jiggle my boy on her lap while feeding.i put him in vibrating bouncer,cos he squirms and i dun wanna drop him.

hope tis helps..u might wanna get 2nd opinion if this continues or gets worse.

edde,
wah! ur PD very drama leh! Muz do brain scan and speech therapy meh??

my mum told me last time i baby oso dun like drink milk, cry alot and dun swallow my food. She say my nanny feed me til she cried! But im alive and well now. i noe itz very natural for mummies to worry esp abt nutrition..the thg is, no matter hw difficult it seems to be at present, our child will still grow up well.

My mum and nanny always tell me dun worry, bbs r like tat. but if i bad mood, i will snap at them and say hw NOT TO WORRY!! MY SON NOT DRINKING LEH! he dun drink, later his brain dun get the DHA/ARA or watever they put in FM nowadays,then he will becm stupid.

But now he ok liao,reaching all his milestones. i play with him he can respond.can say he's a happy bb..now i oso dun worry 2 much. if he miss a feed occasionaly, i dun beat myself up over it. They will catch up in time.

<font color="aa00aa">sonic</font>,
U might like to tell ur mum tat bb rice cereal is fortified with iron, which is VERY impt to bbs till age 1yr old. Itz for their brain development..Porridge dun hav leh!

so far,i've let my boy tried apples,mangoes,carrots,pear,sweet potatoes. He din like carrots much. Juz bought a bunch of bananas, gonna let him try tat soon.

i was gvg him fruits/veg once, after his lunch feed and rice cereal after his dinner feed. But these 2 days, he din take much milk in the evening. so i stopped his cereal in the evening cos i dun wan let his milk intake drop. His feeding smthg like tis:
5-6am 6oz milk
8-9am 6oz milk
12-1pm 6oz milk+1 cube fruit/veg
5-6pm 6oz milk + 1.5tsp cereal

itz the evening feeding gvg me problem now. he doesnt seem hungry at 6pm, wen his last feed was at 1pm. whole 5hrs still not hungry meh?

like 2day i feed him frm 5.30pm-6.30pm,till my arms wan2 drop alrdy, he took at most 2-3oz..his last feed was at 12noon,5.5hrs ago! There was 1 day wen he drank again at 2pm after his feed at 12noon. Aiyoh!dun noe wat he up 2 now!
kao_confused.gif

so i try stop his cereal,nite time 10/11pm ask nanny to make him drink milk.

now i plan to juz let him hav different fruits/veg in the daytime after lunch feed.

B4 weaning, he used to wake up 12-1am for milk. but now he zz thru till 5am+. If he wake up at nite,nanny gv him water then he zz again.

His poo oso harder, mre green then yelllow.

There's a thread here abt staring solids, but i dunno how to link leh..if u noe, u teach me, then i link here for u.

or try this:
www.wholesomebabyfood.com
www.babycenter.com

Have FUN!

my baby was 3.365kg at birth. after 6weeks she's now 4.505kg. 1st 3 weeks she was latched on without bottle and weight gain was poor. my bm ss also dwindled. so started expressing and bottlefeeding which also started our problems with feeding.

sungrapes
she's on total ebm now. i also experimented on other teats ie pigeon perisaltic, dr brown, nuk, all the same result. she's using avent #2 now. when i was a baby i drank my milk very well and put on alot of weight. this is my 2nd child and altho my 1st child was also difficult to feed cos he was slow and always fell asleep, this one is worse, she's not only slow, she struggles and cries at every feed. for your bb to drink 6oz a feed that's v v v good.

do you give pacifiers to your babies? cos when i checked with my paed abt air going into her system with pacifier he said no and that it cld exercise and improve her sucking. hm...

sungrapes & edde
your PD is dr vasanthi at kinderclinic? i suspect my bb's struggling and crying is due to her sucking problem. cos she wld suck in the beginning but when she sucks and makes this 'chook' sound when she loses suction it's followed by swallowing air and then she starts to struggle and resist. i read that babies with tongue tie can cause these 'clicking' sounds when sucking. but she doesn't seem to have tongue tie leh.

sungrapes
you said you had to do a demo feed for the paed? will she spare the time to watch and listen to my bb feed and assess her?

hi sungrapes, yeah.. my PD very kua1 zhang1 one... wanna do this test that test macham my baby is a geunnie (aiyo, forgotten how to spell liao :p) pig..

valc, yeah, sungrapes rec her PD to me.... she is very gd, patient and assuring... and she refered my baby to a specialist in NUH, gonna see this spec next tues. actually her reflux ok liao... but still drinking not enuf tho picking up.. my baby is exactly like yrs !! suck for a while then stop liao. then struggle. if gd mood can finish 70ml in 10 min, keeps sucking. so i suspect she is just lazy to suck. she uses pacifier too.. wah.. suck pacifier macham magnet !!! i did a demo feed to my PD too coz just happened that its her feeding time. we even warded my baby to hosp for 3D2N just to let the nursery nurses feed her. over there she is ok, even i can feed her more. but aft coming home, amt drop again.

Valc,
sound like the teat hole 2 small. try make the hole bigger with a big safety pin. Avent #3 teat is harder. only their newborn and #2 is soft type..so dun bother buying #3 onwards.

I din request to demo feed, juz happens tat it was his feeding time. But u can try to time the visits close to feeding time, so u can demo for her to c. im sure she wun refuse if u ask her. she's there to help as a PD and u r paying for her time.

Wt gain of mre then 1kg after 6wks sounds ok to me.

My boy now using Dr.Brown. smtimes will use avent. Dr B better cos i observed he burp less. the teat oso softer for him to latch on.

edde
i went to see my paed today cos my daughter vomitted yesterday and again today. these were the only 2 times she ever vomitted. so mebbe reflux mebbe not. anyways, our paed referred us to a gastro specialist in NUH too. prof Quak. is he the same one your paed referred you to? we missed the appt today, will make another next tues pm. my paed said to diagnose reflux need to run a probe into stomache and mebbe ward her. that sounds uncomfortable and i dun feel really comfortable with it. she lost some weight in the last 3 days. i dun think my daughter has ever finished 70mls at one go in 10mins. so you are considered lucky. wat was the verdict of your baby's stay at the hospital?

Valc, mine was Dr. Marian Aw in NUH. my PD also advised us to do a probe test but we din want to. coz this is very invasive and is just to confirm baby has reflux. mine was quite an obvious case of reflux (she merlioned at least once a day then) so we tot its unnec.

verdict of hosp stay = nothing. no verdict. haha... or maybe the verdict is she drinks better on reflux FM like enfalac AR or friso comfort.

actually i dunno if u believe in chinese med. i visited this spec in KK and he said if med doesnt help, stop taking it. so we stopped all med she was taking then and seeked help from chinese sinseh. i dunno if this is merely a coincident but all the chinese sinseh gave was bao3 yin1 dan1 (literal translation = protect baby pill), she took it for a few days and reflux was all gone !!!

1 small bottle / day break into 3 feeds every 5 hrs. very cheap $1/bottle. my baby is still on it, the chinese sinseh said its ok to take even if its no prob, gd to strengthen the health... so i continue to give her hoping that it will help to increase her appetite. dunno if u wanna try..

actually the vomiting is not so worrying since it's only 2ce so far. it's the fussing and not wanting to drink and the crying. i really dunno wat to do already. feel very frustrated and angry. if there can be a med to stop her fussing & crying at feeds i will be v eager to try.

did you try getting someone experienced CL/nanny to feed your baby? i'm thinking of hiring a CL to help.

read from one of your posts that this problem arose when your bb was 3weeks? mine started around that time too - 4weeks when my CL left and also roughly the time when i switched to bottle full time. previously was latched on full time. when CL was here she had occassional bottles and she seemed to be drinking fine. but once she left all hell broke loose.

Valc, seems like our prob are quite similar. My baby doesnt vomit now, but still fuss at feeds. actually my PD ever mentioned its ok for baby to drink less, but MUST gain wt. so my baby's prob is not only the drinking, but most imprtly, not thriving. actually yr baby is putting on wt ok mah !!

my PD has suggested engaging nanny or CL to help feeding, but i think it wont solve my prob in the long run coz ultimately we are the caregivers!! but it might be useful to expand the baby's appetite lah.. i tried to look for nanny and CL actually, even called parentcraft at TMC for their CL service. but ultimately, i still prefer to look aft baby myself or look for a long term solution, thus am looking into the possibilities of sending her to infant care or nanny now... still considering...

my mum who has been helping me since confinement was saying sometimes its our style that baby might not like, dats why we see that nannies and nurses feed our babies better but not ourselves. so engaging prof help might be a gd try. maybe u can ask yr CL to come back !! but ultimately, we must solve the prob in the long run.. unless we are so lucky like sungrapes to have the CL as nanny even now...

hi edde,valc

CLs r definitely mre experienced. the way they carry bbs, talk to them and rock them. tatz y my boy can b comforted by his nanny very quickly wenever he's upset/fussy.

for me inexperienced mummy, he can sense wen im stress, angry, impatient. my nanny observed me during feeding and she told me my arms very tensed and my shoulders all hunched up. of course i dun realised it myself. she keep telling me muz 'fang shong'(relax). But very hard wen bb crying lor!

My bb cry in my arms, wen i pass to nanny, he stop. this kind of feeling is very CRUSHING to my heart.

sungrapes
wen ur CL feeds ur bb does he still fuss?

today my bb jus v sleepy whole day. at least bettar than crying lah.

ValC,
during his reflux days, yes.
But she still manages to calm him down enuf for him to drink.

if im the 1 carrying him, he will cry non stop.wun even attempt to suck.. itz very weird.

Until now i still dun dare to carry him to feed. i feed him in his bouncer.

how do u feed in bouncer? wun his head turn left right? mine wld even as I carry her to feed unless she's sleeping.

edde
can i ask how was your bb delivered? mine was delivered natural with epidural assisted vacuum suction. my sister said some babies delivered with vacuum suction have difficulties in sucking. dunno true or not.

Valc,
i let her watch tv/bb dvds.
i put bouncer in a way tat tv is on his left,so his head muz tilt left to watch tv.

smtimes his head will mov to look at me, then my hand hold the bottle muz follow accordingly lor.

Tatz y i feed him muz concentrate 100%.

Valc,
think most impt is to find out medically watz wrong with ur ger.

if itz reflux, medication will ctrl it.

hey valc, i delievered my gal exactly like u !!! natural with epidural and vacuum !!! did yr sis mention the reason ??? i am curious !!!

btw, which hosp did u deliver in and where is yr PD from ?? coz from wat u described, he sounded like my PD !!! i delivered at raffles hospital and my PD is from there too.

my sis and her family is on the way to vancouver with my parents leaving me behind with my ILs
if not for my bb i wld be there as well with my 2yr old son. she din say wat the reason was but will ask her when she gets back 2 weeks later. but i tried doing a search on internet but found nothing abt ventouse delivery related to poor sucking.

i delivered in TMC my paed from aglow at united square.

do you think we cld feed our babies together and exchange notes? hee hee

i find that my baby drinks better when asleep. but it's a long process cos she gives 1 or 2 sucks then stops then gotto stimulate again. takes slightly more than an hour. but even in her sleep sometimes she will will awaken crying.

hi all, i chanced upon this thread. my baby is 3mths 3 weeks old and weight slightly over 6kgs. he was born a small baby at 2.4kgs and thus his weight has always been a high concern to me.

These days i realised that sometimes he also dun wan milk. some feeds are really a struggle whereby once i place the teats into his mouth, he will wan to start to cry. than gotta try and try again and again, rock him, talk to him etc. until he drinks his milk. i also realised that he drinks milk best when half asleep. Every time when its near feeding hour, i will worry...dunno whether he will want his milk. He currently drinks about 5oz (140ml) every 3hrly, nite time he will drink about 4-5 hourly. thus he feeds about 6-7 times a day and total milk intake ranges between 800-900ml.

can someone pls advise me
1) why he seems to reject milk sometimes?
2) is he teething which is causing difficulities in feeding? now he puts everything he can grab hold of into his mouth. he likes to bite and pull the avent teats, he liks to put my fingers into his mouth and bite and he salivates a fair bit
3) is he showing signs of weaning off milk? meaning I should start solids?
4) what solids should I start him on? where to buy from and how to make?

I am a working mum and my MIL and maid takes care of him in the daytime. I feel that I am able to cajole him into take milk each time (though sometimes take longer) but i always worry my MIL cant handle him. So at work always worry when its near feeding time. Dunno if he will want milk. Than slightly after feeding time will call to ask if he takes milk. If i hear MIL says he takes milk, will heave sign of relieve...otherwise, will worry...sigh! like this how to work???? cant even concentrate and I have got so many deadlines to meet at work! HELP!.....

clarissa
your bb's weight at this age sounds v good to me. my paed said that if my bb was 6kg at 3mths that wld be considered v v v good for her. and his intake of 5oz a feed and total of 800-900mls is v good!

perhaps it cld be a phase that he's going through and will return to his old self again. i dun think you shld start solids at 3mths. he's too young. nowadays babies start solids at 6mths to avoid developing allergies to foods. when you do start solids you shld start with plain rice cereal that is very liquid then slowly thicken it day by day.

i prob know how you feel stressing over how much your baby takes cos i went through it b4 with my elder son(now 2yrs old) and am going through it again now with my 8weeks old. siiigh... 2ce unlucky. but this time is worse, my bb daughter keeps crying at every feed, at least my elder son jus didn't suck and was very slow.

sungrapes, i feed my boy on his bouncer too, but I don't let him watch TV (though it's quite effective when feeding him as he likes the moving images), instead I give him toys that he likes, while he's playing with toys, we put the teat in his mouth and he'll start drinking. but now another problem emerges, I need to buy him more toys as he already bored playing same set of toys.

I've finally persuaded my mum to continue feeding my boy with rice cereal instead of porridge. But she's still not receptive to giving my boy fruits. Reason being my boy doesn't seem to like cereal, hence she abit reluctant to make fruit puree for him. She doesn't want to see her effort eventually down to drain..

Yeah, I knew the thread that discussed abt weaning baby, thanks. It's such a long thread to follow, so much to learn from there. but I can hardly find time for that, being a working mum is not easy. After work, it's my turn to feed my baby as I thought must let my mum relax, otherwise she will 'resign' one day. :p

clarissa, but your boy is drinking more than my boy who is 6 mos now, his weight gain also very good at his age, more than 1kg per month! thus u should not worry to much. he is probably ready for solid, which was advised by my PD. As he is still young, u can start him with plain rice cereal. there is limited brand of plain rice cereal for 4mos baby, sungrapes and I used Heinz rice cereal for a start.

Hi ValC,

he used to feed 100ml and more than 8 feeds a day. So in comparison, his milk intake is less now cos nite time sleeps longer and I am not increasing his milk at a super fast rate. I fear overfeeding resulting in vomiting.

He weighs 5.8kgs at 3mths and now slightly more than 6kgs at 3months, 3 weeks. My Paed says he is slightly small for a 3mth old baby boy. This makes me worry even more... sigh...

Oh, I din know solids should not start too soon cos i read the thread here and everyone seems to try solids when milk don't work. If such is the case, than I should hold solid 1st. Yap, I think i remembered my paed says to start solids on 6th mth only.

If my baby is born an avg size or big baby, guess I wont worry as much. But at birth, he weighs just 2.4kgs- which is really small for a baby boy
everyday I hope that he will quickly catch up with boys his age.

so how do you handle your gal during feeds? sounds frightening. If my son behaves like this, think I will be extremely stressed...maybe stay home just to feed him...sigh! the things we do for our kids

valc, may i ask are you a slow-eater? i'm one of them. i'm always the last to finish my meal when i'm lunching with others. at home, i'm the one who clean the desk, since i'm the last. so my mum said that my boy would have taken after my bad habit, so he becomes a slow eater as well!! my boy is taking an hour to finish his 5oz meal.

since both of your bb are the same, just a wild guess that it could be the reason. is your elder son eventually eat faster now?

Hi sonic, how much is your baby boy drinking now? what should be the amt that babies coming 4mths should drink?

His initial weight gain is good. But now it seems to slow down and he is not taking as much milk as before and sometimes gotta fight battles during feeding time. Thus, I worry.

sonic
my mum said that i drank alot of milk when i was baby. and v ez to feed. as an adult i wld say i'm mediocre, not too fast and not that slow eeither. so i dun think it has anything to do with my babies eating habits. my elder son now takes his milk qt fast. 5 mins for 2yr old. is jus that the quantity is not much. for solids, perhaps i started on the wrong foot. i gave him too much pureed food that he doesn't like solids that are not pureed ie rice, veg, meat. so it's still tough on us that we still have to puree his food. snacks he will take though like biscuits. and he loves juice and yakult.

clarisssa
i remember the paed telling me that at 3mths babies generally take less and as they grow older the pace at which they grow is slower too ie dun put on so much weight. at this age they get distracted by other things like toys and things that surround them.

my husband and others have told me that how pple are when they were babies dun really have and impact on how they will be as an adult or older child. when we grow older we are all alike. among your frens, we don't know who are small eaters and who are big eaters and it doesn't really matter. but becos we are going through this feeding stage right now we are jus so bogged down by the quantity and manner inwhich they feed. it's so hard to not stress over this.

Hope every1 had a great wkend!! And all our darling bbs r being good boys and girls!?

<font color="aa00aa">clarissa</font>,
welcome to this thread..tis thread's great to share our concerns.

As u can c, u really not alone in ur quest to make bb drink.

1st, i shd say his wt gain is very gd. he's alrdy doubled his birth wt b4 4mths. u can calculate his milk intake requirements according to his wt by using tis formula:
wt of bb x 150mls / no of feedings per day

U shd oso take in2 consideration tat bbs have growth spurts. seeing the amt tat he takes per day and his current wt, u really dun hv to worry at all. Some bbs will at some pt be fussy during feedings, unless u suspect there's a medical reason eg. the infamous REFLUX. if not, then u muz be patient and innovative in ur feeding methods.

If u had noticed any chgs to his feeding pattern, i suggest u start keeping a record of his feeding times and qty. tis will enable u to indentify such chgs easier. Babies they chg and grow everyday. wat might work 2day,may not work 2mr. perhaps as he's bigger now, he needs less freq feedings but larger amts. keeping a timetable will allow u to pick these up.

chk out tis website for weaning guidelines www.wholesomebabyfood.com

3mths+ is abit 2 early to start weaning ..wait at least till he's 4mths and run by ur PD 1st.

My boy is abt 5.5mths old now and i've been weaning him for cmg 2wks liao..

are your babies with reflux throwing up milk? cos mine is not(well, except for 2ce over 2 days). i read that it's possible to have reflux without vomitting ie silent reflux. am i right to say that symptoms of reflux include gulping air choking and fussing at feeds? cos mine has all these symptoms but no vomitting. the only way to diagnose reflux is to do the stomache probe. but i'm not too comfortable with subjecting my bb to the procedure. i'm afraid she'll be in pain.

sungrapes
when did your baby outgrow reflux?

Clarissa,
to add on, my boy birth wt oso not very heavywt type.. he was 2.9kg.At 3mths, he was abt 6.2kg.
If u wanna wean at 4mths, Heinz bb rice cereal is gd cos no added sugar.

Sonic,
Ur boy is feeding well now? so u gotta spend a fortune on new toys then!

U really gotta convince ur mum to let him try other foods besides cereal. if not he'll becm a picky eater next time.

Maybe u can buy jar bb food for ur mum to use. then she wun hav to prepare it herself. Or during wkends u can prepare homemade puree in batches and freeze them for ur mum. she juz need to thaw it.

How's ur boy's milk intake since weaning? i dun dare gv my boy 2 much solids cos i dun wan his milk intake to drop. He alrdy stop his late nite feed liao. so now its 4 feeds per day, each feed 6oz.

Last 2 days he doesnt wan his solids much, even his fave pear. so i juz stop awhile and let him take plain rice cereal. cant wait till he 6mths!

Yes, tat thread abt weaning is very LONG. i read till i confuse but the starting part was quite informative. U noe the weaning book they talking abt by GINA FORD? my frend got it for me as a gift,was collecting dust smwhere till i found it recently.

I tell u, the schedule she drew up..dun believe any bb can follow it lor! she say feed bb at 11am 5-7oz milk, followed by solids, then at 2-2.30pm muz feed 5-7oz again. Aiyoh! bb how can be hungry again so fast?? Somemre after solids lar! she muz b talking abt angmoh bbs. Shd pass her our bbs, let her try to feed them!

now deciding which follow on milk to gv..cant decide between similac and enfapro.

Hi valc,
let me recall...

Symptoms of reflux:
1. sudden or inconsolable crying
2. severe pain and arching during feeding
3. excessive spitting up or vomitting
4. extremely forceful vomitting (projectile vomitting)
5. vomitting hrs after feeding
6. erratic feeding patterns eg, refusing foods or constant feeding
7. slow wt gain
8. poor sleep habits
9. gagging or choking
10. frequent burping/hiccups
11. difficult or noisy swallowing
12. excessive drooling
13. chronic coughing
14. frequent red/sore throat
15. frequent ear infections
16. respiratory problems include wheezing, laboured breathing,asthma, pneumonia and apnea

my boy had the sore throat, spitting up, wheezing, erratic feedings, choking, difficult swallowing, drooling.

Tat time PD diagnosed cos his throat red. he outgrew it by 4mths.

Silent reflux
try to sniff her breath..got sourish smell? or the few times she spit up, is the spit curdled?
After her feed does she hav tis wheezing sound frm her chest?

Grastric probe is to confirm reflux. Most times is thru observation and PD experience.

sungrapes
your boy doubled his weight in 3 mths. that's v good! my paed told me that if my daughter is 6kg by 3 mths that wld be considered v good. her birth weight 3.365kg.

my girl got the symptoms - erratic feeding(refusing to drink) choking, difficult swallowing, drooling(but dun all babies drool?)

after 4 mths he din fuss at feeds anymore? feeding jus got better?

i dun think she got sourish breath leh. let me go smell again. she has funny rumbling sounds from her tummy after i hear her gulping during feeds which is accompanied by fussing & crying.

Clarissa, truly understand how u feel. My boy also a good drinker when he was 1-2mos. Do u believe it, at 1.5mos, he was drinking 5oz every 3hrs... Then suddenly his intake drop dramastically to 3oz when he was 2.5mos.. Brought him to PD, nothing wrong, but his wgt gain was ok, so PD asked us to follow his appetite, not to push him. So at 3mos, he was merely taking 3oz 3hourly, then slowly increase to 4oz at 4mos plus.. Until a week ago then we increase it to 5oz.. Not a single feeding is easy, like fighting with him, seeing him crying non-stop as if in pain. Now at 6mos, he is still reluctant to take his milk.. But at least not as bad as last time, didnt fuss so frequent, so I take this to console myself, things will get better and better slowly.. We have to be patient, there will be rewarding time.

Sungrapes, my boy is improving slowly. I've just increased his intake from 4oz to 5oz a week ago. So far he's taking it fine, just leaving some 20-30ml behind at times. As he's already 6mos, have started him follow on milk too. I'm thinking to take this opportunity to let him try diff milk, see which one he likes. Have requested some samples to try. Thus far, my boy has tried NAN2 and Friso now, he likes NAN2 (probably becos he was on NAN1 previously), Im going to give him Similac from next week onwards...

You may also want to try getting different samples for your boy to try before deciding which one to follow on. Can't remember the link, but u can try to do a search for "RE:FOC samples for diapers n milk powder" under "Year 2007 and later Mums"

My hubby has bought some bb jar food for my boy. But I don't intend to give him as afraid it's not quite good for young bb as it's not fresh. I will try making some fresh puree for him during weekend then, but talking on freezing them and thawing them again, would that be not too good? Furthermore, I'm quite against using microwave to heat up the frozen food. Sigh, must spend some time reading the thread then..

Hahaha.. Good idea, pass our babies to Gina Ford, our bbs will then be FAT & chubby bbs..

thanks for the words of comfort. very tiring to keep pushing and fighting battles

sonic - yah, he used to be such a 'guai' drinker when he was 1-3mths old..most times crying for milk at 2.5hrs...thus everyday feed like about 9-10times last time..than now suddenly decrease and difficult to feed, i worry. 3 months baby will drink less? hopefully sleeping longer makes him grow faster
i always tell myself this to make myself feel better.

Last nite 9pm feed and this morning 8am feed was another battle...from last nite 9pm till this morning 8am, he took total 500ml. I am rather happy with this intake... now i worry later 11plus feed, he will be messy again..and dunno if my MIL and maid can handle him. he always kick so hard, cry so loud...sigh. and now i think he realised he can scream, keep screaming...

by the way, anyone brought baby for swims at 4mths? will they feel too cold? i only bring bbaby to play with water with his feet. never really place him into the pool cos afraid he will catch a cold. anyone has got exp. to share?

Probably some of the babies have to go thru a stage where they dislike milk.. Just like we adult, after having a sole type of food for long, we will get bored and even hate that particular food. Imagine if we have just plain rice 4-5 times everyday, we would probably prefer to stay hungry.

Wow.. 550ml overnight?? That's very good! All the more there is no reason u should worry. True, if baby sleeps more, they will grow faster.

Sungrapes, do u feed your bb solids sitted on high chair? My boy is still not able to sit unsupported yet, highchair is too big to fit his little buttock. So I bought a bumbo seat for him, let him sit firmly there to take his cereal. But he tends to get angry before he finished his meal. So we got to put him back to his bouncer to finish the meal. How about yours?

valc, we have postpone our visit to the NUH gastro specialist coz baby is picking up and is not vomitting anymore, so we wanna wait and see... i am trying Dr Brown's bottle now... so far so gd, baby can drink faster.. maybe u can try !! i bought the bottle from First Few Years at KK, quite hard to find elsewhere.

hi all mummies,
2day was a tough day for me. i feel very bored and my boy seem very grumpy 2day, hard to settle. play with him, he grumble, tot he hungry, make milk for him he dun wan, put him in sarong he fuss. Really dun noe WAT HE WANT!! Wanna bring him out but the weather so damn hot!
Weaning process is a standstill cos he suddenly not interested in solids.

Maybe he is bored at home but wat can i do?
SIGH...i juz feel so frustrated and tired. wanna hide somewhere peaceful and quiet and zzzz without worrying..he keeps making those irritating eh eh sound.

Valc,
ur ger will be wondering y mummy keep smelling my mouth!HAHA!

My boy wheezing sound is frm his chest..like got fluids in his lung like tat.

Wat brand bottle u using? try dr brown..itz really gd.

DROOLING
Most 'normal' bbs they start to drool at abt 4mths+. mine started when he ard 2mths+. my PD say b'cos his throat pain tatz y he dun wanna swallow his saliva..the key word is EXCESSIVE drooling.

Was wondering, is it she prefer latch on vs teats? how long hav u been bottle feeding her?
I empathtise with u cos me oso went thru this stage. the process very tiring, mentally! I think all the mummies here did the same thgs: chg diff brands of FM, bottle, teats etc.

<font color="119911">sonic</font>,
I got 2 brands of sample, similac and enfapro. i kinda narrow it to these 2 brands cos dun wanna confuse myself.

itz quite alrite to heat up food in microwave. juz heat for abt 30secs is enuf. But i read abt this nitrates thg in certain vege, carrots is one of them..keep 2 long in chiller the nitrate level increase or smthg. so some veg can buy jar type. jar type they remove the nitrates during the cooking process.

HIGH CHAIR
he cant sit well yet,so no hi chair for him. i feed him in bouncer lor. smtimes will prop the back up against the sofa so wun recline so much.

bumbo 2 exp to use for such a short while.

My boy oso will get 'angry' leh!! then use his hands to push my hand away. when he like tat then i stop feeding lor..dun wanna make him ANGRY rite?

<font color="0000ff">edde</font>,
see? u've gone thru the worst part liao!!

VALC,
my hb gg to USA soon. will make him buy dr brown for me. u wan?

No promises lah.. cos he very lazy to walk. but now is not winter, so he got no excuses.

let me noe k?

sungrapes, edde
which teat size do you use for dr brown? i tried using it once and the result is the same. so i thought it din work. and it was very slow. not sure if it's becos i was using the smallest size that came with the bottle. perhaps i shld give it another try.

i tried making an appt with the gastro specialist but the next available appt is on 21jun. that's so long from now. i can't tahan for so long. every feed is a torture for all of us. even tho i have not fed her for the last few days - my IL has bn helping me, i still feel really stressed and tired jus knowing that she's crying.

when will my baby get better and when will i regain my sanity.

may i know what are the meds that drs give for reflux? is there anything to make bb feel more comfortable so she doesn't feel so much pain and can feed better?

Valc,
me using VF teats. upgrade frm size 3 last time.

Isn't there another spec u can c?

but wat exactly is wrong with ur ger we still dun noe, cannot anyhw gv med leh..there's so many reasons y she's not drinking..

is it wind? cos u can get over the counter drugs for tat. reflux med muz be prescribe..

y dun u go to edde's spec 1st? takeover her appt.

Valc, hang in there. mine got better, edde's got better. urs will 2!!