5months baby boy not drinking milk nor taking cereals.. help needed

clarissa,
ah boy is ok,still oni 2 teeth.now he eat gd, dun eat,force him oso no use,so juz follow his cues lor. if he drink less milk, then i will gv him mre yoghurt and cheese..

i asked the same q wen i wanted to gv tofu oso..it can b served cold,but i will heat up in microwave for 1 min then mash it, no need to sieve. i buy the japanese Yakko tofu cos i compare b4 and itz the best in terms of calcium compared to silken n soft tofu. the firm tofu is the best but the skin tougher.

i noe barley water is cooling, dun noe abt barley cereal. 10tsp is alot, is tat the serving amt on the package? cos i nv gv barley cereal, i gv healthy times multigrains last time.

veges i oso gv the same as u, but i oso tried cauliflower,zuchini,butternut squash. i oso tried watercress once but time consuming to pluck cos the leaves v small. can oso gv peas/green beans tho i nv try.

sonic,
i buy those plastic containers hawkers use to put takeaway food,small size, enuf to put 1 portion of meat. evtime wen i need i will take 1 container out and thaw in the fridge overnite.

edde,
oni heard of urine acid in adults, din noe bb oso can get it..so wat can b done to cure? itz juz one off case rite? did PD say watz the cause?

mummies, u guys have heard of urine acid eh ? its a one off case.. not everytime... doc says its normal leh... izit supposed to be painful? doc din say the cause too... i din ask since he said its ok...

Fizz, Sungrapes,

Is there any quickest way to remove the fish bones (even the tiny ones) when it's raw? Being too lazy already.

Fizz, true it's not hygienic to pump in toilet. Tat's why all my colleagues decided to stop b/feed when return to work. Maybe u can try NAN.. Many commented that it tastes closest to bm. Hopefully cae will like it.

Edde, not sure it's painful or not, cos my male colleague didn't share with me his 'down there' pain or not.. Haha.. Just joking. But whenever he got urine acid, he will have fever and given mc to rest.

edde, i always go foot reflex. The chinese physicians always mention urine acid. I think its not painful or anything but not too good to have too high content urine acid. And they always advise to drink ALOT of water to flush away. Since you mentioned Antheas not been pee-ing much, i guess its really lack of water. Whihc could in turn cause this urine acid thingie.

Try giving her more more water. Hopefully it helps.

Sungrapes ok thanks. I wanna give zuchini but again, dunno how to cook. Boil and Mash also? I also wanna give peas but dunno which type to buy. frozen ones? hehehe...me super useless when comes to cooking.

Hah, I think yohurt and cheese is good! 7mths can start taking? or wait till 9? when time near will need to consult you on which kind to buy...phew theres kind souls like all of you ard for me to ask...else jiaklat...

ah boy got 2 teeth...ricco no tooth in sight! he is coming 7mths liao. not supposed to haev tooth yet? but these days he salivate alot.. sometimes when he wakes in the morning, will see a patch of saliva on mattress cover... and his gums abit swollen.

sonic, clarissa, doc just called to say her urine test result is ok!! *phew* think its really due to dehydration.. coz i seldom give her plain water.. luckily now at nanny she drinks more plain water.... sometimes, i feel that doc's advice is not 100% rite leh.. coz doc said dun give babies plain water 0 calories.. but old folks say must give... think the old folks are rite this time..

wat to do ah? if ashley simply refuses to drink milk at all. after her 1pm feed, she slept all the way till 4pm which was supp to be time for her next feed. but after such a long nap, no way she going back to sleep. so she jus refuses to suck lor. argh!! wat kind of funny baby i have who doesn't feel hunger or thirst.

clarissa
i think yogurt and cheese at 7mths no prob. jus avoid the soft chesses like brie and camembert and other mouldy ones. chedder and other hard ones are ok.

Sonic...

"Ma yao yu" (in Cantonese) or "Ngor ghe" (in Hokkien) has the least bones...jus ask the fishmonger to debone it for u...check again usin yr fingers to feel the fish flesh when u reach home...

edde,
glad tat the urine test was ok..
is anthea still hvg fever? like wat other mummies say, juz gv MORE water..i gv ah boy water ev hr or so.

clarissa,
actually cheese and yoghurt is safer for bbs to take cos all the lactose broken down by the fermentation process..so if FM ok, then cheese/yoghurt lagi no problem.

Zuchini, buy small size, big 1 maybe bitter..clr,the darker the better. i steam,no need to peel skin, then blend. cos of the skin and the seeds, u cannot mash it nicely..muz use grinder.

Peas, think u better get the frozen type. dun think u wanna get the pod type and pry the peas out rite?hehe! i nv cook b4 peas, but this is wat i heard..itz better to boil it,cos the skin will detach and float up in the boiling water, then again muz blend for younger bbs. older bbs can juz mash.

i bought those frozen mix vege..got peas,carrots,cauliflower those type..but haven use it yet. i was planng to gv as finger food or cook it with meat on 1 of those lazy days.

these 2 days ah boy has been crying in his sleep. will suddenly cry, half sleeping, take quite awhile to calm him down. y like tat?? nanny say he kena frighten,but i dun rem him being tramatised in any way leh..

And i've been thinking of gvg him probiotics..any comments/advice?

mummies, HELP!!
recently when my gal throws tantrums...really v jialat...kicking her legs hard and pushing her head backwards until whole body like a 'C' shape....just like a spoilt child...is this an early sign of bad behaviour? Aiyo..i v worried....why is she doing this...nobody teach her leh..how can I stop her from doing this?

Thanks Fizz - will try out.

Valc, can u try to wake ashley up in the middle of her sleep? Let say after 1pm feed, wake her up ard 3pm, play with her for while until she's tired, then she will fall asleep at 4pm again, that's when u will feed her. Tat's wat my mum does for my boy.

Sungrapes, my boy also like tat. When he wakes up crying, we have to carry him and rock him to sleep again. My mum said, it could be he played too much before sleep, so got nightmare.

What antibiotics do u want to give your boy? Do you mean vaccinations?

msworri, my boy also did that, bending his body backwards, shaping a reverse C.
i also finding a way to stop him from doing that. very bad temper. sigh!

my boy had fever last wkend. went hospital and his temp was 38.5. is tat very hi? cos the doc say is borderline, but his whole body was burning hot to me!

very poor thg wen bbs get sick,cant eat, cant zz, his fave toys and activities oso not interested in it. he's ok liao,hope he will stay healthy and strong.

Sonic,
im referring to probiotics, those gd bacteria, like those in Yakult and yoghurt. itz supp to help keep his intestines and digestive system in gd balance and mayb can help his immune system. itz quite a new thg..itz available in powder form frm GNC and Nature's farm. so evday juz put a bit in his food.

so itz quite normal for bbs to wake up middle of nite crying?thks for the assurance.

btw, fish bones easier to remove wen the fish is cook.

edde,
hope anthea is well.

Oh yes! mummies,
there's a parenting talk organised by KKH. the topics r: "Is there such a thg as brain food for ur child"? and "Maximising ur child's learning potential".

On 10 nov, 2-6pm.
any1 wanna go? can chk their website www.kkh.com.sg for mre info.

sungrapes, how's your boy now? hopefully his appetite gone back to normal now after the fever subsided. hmn.. in fact 38.5 is quiye high already. but it's good that u always got paracertamol standby at home, so u can give him some before rush to hospital.

porbiotics powder? never heard of leh. think got to ask PD before giving bb this supplement lor. what does the sales people from Nature's Farm say? is that meant for bb?

your boy still wakes up crying in the night now?

sonic and sungrapes,

so nite time cries means daytime play too much? my boy also sometimes nite time cry and need carry and rock him back to sleep.

sungrapes, hows boy now better? babies temp is slightly higher than adults. normal range between 36.5-37.5. 38.5 is high but maybe not consideered the super high kind lor. my son is also down with fly past few days. when taking medicine, he practically cry the whole house down.

have got 1 question - how much milk should my son be taking now? he takes pm cereal about 5tablespoons with 3 tablespoons of 2 kinds vege and evening time 2 tablespoons cereal with 1tablespoon vege. I wanna start him on porr tmr. rather excited. But i heard many babies prefers cereal to porrH

hi sonic n clarissa,
thks for asking...my boy ok lor. the fever went down by mon. did lots of sponging cos i very scared fever till brain damage. i got a classmate's brother, was in SAP school till got hi fever 1 time and kena brain damage. Both his parents r lecturers frm NUS.

but now i think teethg again! his upper gums super swollen,dun even let me apply teethg gel..so his milk intake suffers again, like maybe oni 2 bottles aday. so i gotta feed him 1 whole tub of yoghurt, then put alot of cheese and 1 big piece of tofu for his lunch.

i read tat bbs 6mo-1yo need 600-1000mg calcium per day..so wori he not enuf calcium and iron loh!

i oso tot 38.5 quite hi..so wat is bb's normal temp?

clarissa,
yah! i tot wat is fly? haha!*panic*
so after flu, normally bbs will develope running nose and cough rite? tatz wat the doc says, so me now monitoring ah boy, he's hvg this cough tis 2 days, but no running nose leh.

think for ricco now, minimum shd still be 500mls per day, unless he's taking other forms of dairy products, then can reduce to 300mls per day..tis is wat my PD say..aw,alot of books oso put it at 500mls..including milk used in cooking and mixing cereals.

i shd say ricco's doing quite well in his solids..5tbsp alot! r u gg to start on meat soon?

2day i cook brown rice till my blood boil! take so long to cook 1!!! Not gg to cook it anymre!

sonic,
the probiotics thg i actually got the brochure frm the PD's clinic..but another mummy frm other thread say GNC got sell, so i went chk it out. if can prevent bb frm falling sick, then of cos i wanna gv it a try.

so bbs cry in the nite seem like quite common thg? then i wun wori 2 much liao..tot he traumatise or wat.

sungrapes,

at least you replaced with yoghurt/cheese and whatsnot. which is good. will boost up his calcium.

normal baby temp range is 36.5 to 37.5. which i tink thats why your PD says 38.5 is border line fever. so its high but not SUPER high.

no other forms of dairy. wats worse is now in the nite time, he dun wan milk. last time he will still stirr in the middle of nite to feed. Now hor, his last milk intake at 10pm, wholenite no feed till morning 6-7am. so milk intake drop more lor. last time PM feed gives cereal add milk have got at least additional 100ml milk. But if i give porr now, meaning even less milk? like that jiaklat.. think i will go hunt for yoghurt today let him eat... by the way, what yoghurt/cheese should I give? Plain yoghurt? any brands? cheese so long non live bacteria cheese will be ok? cheddar? or the laughing cow? but laughing cow is so saltish!

i am back at work... so now rarely have energy and time to check the forum

anyway, visited the gastro spec on tue... wt dropped till 5.15kg... now she is almost dropping from the 3rd percentile... doc said if by next visit 23 oct her wt is still no gd, then she wld seriously want to tubefeed anthea... sigh....

anyway, she said 3 feeds of porridge (half bowl) + 300g of milk is enuf for anthea wor... sigh.... hubby and i broke down at home aft the visit.. i must say her words gave us lotsa stress and pressure.... wat if anthea's wt is still miserable aft 1 mth... i must agree that 5kg+ for a 7 mth old is really pathetic... i really dunno....

today nanny told me she likes ngor hee... dats relieve to hear... will try to look for yogurt for her to try over the wkend too..

if u guys are looking for me urgently, can sms me at 96825907 coz i might not check forum regularly now... very tired and sleepy everyday...

take care all mummies and babies...

edde,
so sorry to hear tat abt anthea..my heart really very sour wen i read u and hb broke down. How can i help?

At least itz comforting tat doc say the amt she's taking is enuf for her. Maybe as she takes more varieties of food, her wt will improve.

Sigh..take care, dear! If u need anythg,u noe where to find help..
Chk in once a while ya?

clarissa,
i tot itz very ideal tat ricco drink at 10pm and can sleep thru the nite till morning!

My boy will wanna zz by 8.30pm. if he dun drink b4 this then he will wake at 3am to feed, which is wat i dun wan him to do. I wan him zz thru the nite leh!

Actually, can add FM in porr..think 1 mummy posted above..Some mummies oso add FM in the EYS brown rice.

how much milk is ricco taking now? Did he like porr 2day?

Yoghurt, im gvg Paul's brand, plain yoghurt..got frm NTUC and Giants. I made my own yoghurt 2day, so dun hv to keep buying,can save $$
cos im gg to gv him evtime he miz milk feed.

Cheese, i gvg swiss and cheddar. the laughing cow i gv as finger food once awhile,cos so messy to clean up.

edde, yoghurt is a good form of dairy too. Hopefully anthea loves yoghurt. I am giving my boy also. also wishing that he loooves it.

sungrapes, he is not drinking enough milk, so its not really ideal lor. at least if got nite feed, milk intake will increase mah. this morning give milk from 6am...till 930am than finally drink milk...sigh! 300ml per day is sufficient? he take 1 time porr in the pm and 1 time cereal in the evening.

he dun like porr also...sigh! on fri take 3 mouthfuls dun wan already. so quickly give cereal lor. but i still continue give. hopefully he will like soon.

i bought yoplait baby yoghurt. he give me this funni look when eating. how much yoghurt can i give per day? 1 full yogplait tub? quite alot le.

yah, i wanna give cheddar next week also. so just grate the cheese and feed? no need to do anything else to cheese? hoping he likes....

Hi guys, i survived my first wk of work !! really very tired.. wonder how other FTWM cope..

i cooked anthea porridge on sat! my first porr for anthea heehee... i cooked it with pork lean meat, chicken drumstick, carrot, potato and pumpkin... then i fed her mashed pumpkin with the porridge (coz my carrot and potato are not cooked soft enuf, was rushing out then! haha)... she quite ok with it.... but my mum said my pumpkin has too much fibre... coz i din grind, i just mashed... and she also said pumpkin will cause wind wor... i told her i wanna give yogurt, she said better not now coz anthea stomach not very strong, scared she cant take it... *faint*

clarissa, i told anthea's gastro specialist she eats 3 times of porr per day, each time close to half a baby bowl.. then she said milk at least 300ml can liao...

ok guys.. mon again tmr... i feel like i am always in this "low batt" mode.. haha... catch up soon!

yesterday I did a terrible thing which I cannot forgive myself.... I went to bed with my bb and I actually fell asleep before her....think you can more or less guess what happened after that.....she fell off the bed and knock her head hard. It was a loud thud. Felt her head and found a v v soft protruding bump...was so scared...my hubby kept saying "chiam chiam...internal bleeding....." and keep scolding me....and my gal was yelling like anything.... I was at a loss... brought her to c GP even though I know they will still ask me to monitor for the next 24 hrs...

I'm still monitoring her now....really hope everything will turn out fine...else I cannot forgive myself...

edde, sounds like anthea is feeding well with the porr! thats really good news!
you are really adventurous le. already using meat stock. i only use anchovy stock + anchovy powder. why dun you add some in antheas' porr also? super good source of calcium. Since she taking not much milk. remember to grind with bones. think better to still sieve the food le. else alot of fibre and when they poo hor, the fibre will come out wholesale
indigestion. read from some mummies that avacardo is a super fatty fruit? you may wanna try. think yoghurt and cheese are also super good source of calcium le. since our kids not drnking much milk, gotta source alternatives le.

my boy only take 1-2times porr/cereal per day. if evening time, he wanna sleep, i will not give cereal. will just give milk and he sleeps. so i think i gotta aim for him to take more lor.

take good care of anthea and hoping to hear good news on antheas' good wt increase!

sungrapes, i bought mild aust cheddar. is this a good cheese to give? i heed your advise on yakko toufu and now my boy gotta take it everyday. hahahaha... you are like a walking baby feeding nutritionist le...

hi edde,
work full time very tiring rite? take mre chix essence to engernise urself. Or gv ur students test evday, then u dun hav to talk, can rest..i make very bad teacher.

clarissa,
yah! my PD oso say 300mls enuf and im gvg oni 2 solids aday. My boy milk intake is very bad..think anthea, ashley oso drinking mre then him. he take max 2bots aday. the 3pm feed totally dun wan,so i gv him 1 tub of yoghurt mix with fruits to replace.

Yoghurt's calcium is same cup for cup as milk. so for me i gotta gv 1 tub as replacemnt for his 3pm feed. if ricco is drinkg enuf milk, then maybe u gv as snack.

most cheddar r gd start for bbs. juz grate into food. i gv cheese evday oso..bear in mind itz very filling,so dun gv 2 much,else he wun b hungry for milk.

Sigh..who ask our bbs all dun like milk..so weird rite? my mind evday is "calcium!calcium!calcium!" where to find calcium!!!

besides milk,tofu,ikan bilis,yoghurt???

msworri,
how's ur ger? hope evthg is fine..

Dun beat urself up over this..itz inevitable tat bbs get knocks and bumps. we cant b watching over them 24/7.

think itz better to push our beds against the wall,at least 1 side is protected..

take care.

sungrapes,
thank u for your concern! my ger looks ok so far...thank goodness!!

now i dare not lie down together with her anymore...got to train her sleep in her cot herself,which she doesn't seem to like it.

Is cereals add to milk consider "solids"? what about fruit puree + milk? My gal is 8mth now,taking 1 time porr, do I need to increase to 2 times?

Anybody can teach me:
(1) how to cook chicken porr? The meat need to puree b4 serving or b4 cooking?
(2) anchovy powder - just buy normal anchovy and grind them? Need to de-bone? Need to sieve after grinding? just cook powder with porr and serve or still need to sieve b4 serving?
(3) What else can I put in porr?? currently, my porr will hv fish, tofu, potato, carrot/pumpkin and corn.

edde,
don't too upset abt anthea's wt! like some of us, some babies are just naturally "light/skinny" regardless how much they eat...just make sure that anthea is happy, healthy, active and developing well...btw, I also came across a boy who is only 7+kg at age 1.

Look at the brighter side..maybe our gers are those petite petite sweet sweet type leh... those a lot of guys will like one...hehehehee.

sungrapes - cheese will fill him up huh? than i better not give 1st. dun wanna affect his milk intake even more. wow 1 tub is really alot le. I give only about 2tbspoons after milk feed. but his milk is pathetic kind. each time can drink 100, i happy liao. Toufu has high calcium? I tot its proteins...hahaha... I give toufu everyday now also. wow happi that its another source of calcium!

msworri - good to knwo your gal ok. last sat i also woke up to see my boy at the edge of my bed. so scared! just 1 more turn and he will land on the floor! we must be careful esp now that our kids are sooo super active

i consider cereal+FM = semi solids already. You puree fruits and add milk and spoonfeed? why need to do this? why not give pureed fruits and milk seperate? at least milk from bottle easier to give? I am also wondering when I should increase to 2times porr. ask the walking nutritionist
hahahhaa

chicken porr - also thinking how to give meat but planning to give only 1mth's time when he reaches 8mths.

anchovy powder - i use 2 types of anchovy cos i dunno which is better. so i mix lor. the normal kind which we use to cook stock. ask for the smaller type meant for baby. with the bones kind. no debone cos bones contains highest calcium. I also use the small tiny silver fish. (some says this is better some says not. i dunno so just mix both). I soak rinse and re-rinse it many many times to take away the sodium. about 1/2 day. than oven toast it till crisp. than grind it till powdery, than sieve it. than i just take 1 teaspoon sprinkle into my son's porr everyday. i will also use anchovy stock for the porr (if theres no fish inside the porr. if porr already add fish, than no anchovy stock).

am also wondreng what else to give. i give threadfin fish, pumpkin (both aust and butternut), califlower, zucchini, toufu, spinich. wanna try sweet patato and peas soon. anything else to add? my boy dun like brocolli. maybe your gal will like?

sungrapes, a few questions :

1) now my boy takes 1 time porr in the PM and 1 time cereal in the evening. I plan to give 2 times porr (pm and evening) and 1 time cereal+FM in the am. Meaning he will be on 3times solids. Is this ideal? Or morning should still give milk and no cereal?

2) If AM he takes 100ml FM added into cereal. and IF he is able to take 3pm, 9pm and 6am milk each time 100ml. total milk intake = 400 (with the morning cereal milk) will be enough? cos i imagine he take 100ml milk like so pathetic. my friend's baby take 180ml each time! somemore gulp down one...sigh!

3) can i just give potatoes + vege for 1 meal feed? no cereal/porr. maybe evening? i see my boy eating the same old things just diff days like so poor thing. and thought if its me, i will also be sian! but scared potato too filling and he wont wan milk before sleep...how?

hi guys! sungrapes.. one word on worklife...SIONG !! haha...

msworri... actually if not for the doc, i am ok with anthea's wt coz she is developing well and happy.. just petite dats all... but everytime aft seeing the doc, i wld be very stress coz she keeps suggesting tubefeed. wah.. 1 yr old 7kg?? u know the parents personally ?? the kid's PD din say anything ??

i see that mummies are very excited with giving yr babies solids !! so gd to have experienced mummies here to teach us

hi edde,
me so long nvr post here...
hmm..i think the PD has his reason for worrying.. me not trying to scare you here. but ur gal now 6mo++ and abt 5.15kg hor is indeed v petite and after she learn to crawl, stand n walk, her growth would be even slower cos she use lotsa energy. my gal at 7mo was 7.2kgs and now she is coming 20mo and only 9.7kgs. when they reach 1yo, their growth can be stagnant for months or even 1yr no increase in wgt. really not to scare u lah but ur gal PD must be v worried cos she is approaching the age whereby wgt increase going to slow down.

edde,
I don't know the parents, just happen to be at KKH and saw them weighing their child. The nurse just couldn't believe what she saw, and kept asking the poor mother and child to weigh several times, and using different methods. This mum told the nurse that he has been like that all along, but the nurse kept mumbling "...only 7+kg, how can it be?...." Haiz...sometimes, we mummies r v stressed up by d comments people made...

ya, I agree with u...sometimes I felt better liao, then somebody come n comment this or that, or that d doc say this n that..then I start to panic all over again...just a matter of time I get crazy....heehee

clarissa,
thank you for your advice! My porr will definitely have threadfin fish, and i use soup (chicken/fish bones + Si Sen herbs) to cook instead of plain water. So does that mean that I don't need to use anchovy powder? And wow...the anchovy powder so difficult to make....must really toast it till crisp is it? i don't have oven leh....Can just soak n rinse n grind?

I didn't try zucchini, thought the colour of the veg looks v artificial, esp the yellow one. Cauliflower and broccoli - I read somewhere that preferably give when bb is 8mths & above..so I think I can start trying now. Peas, i bought, still unopen in freezer, but no time to try.... :p

msworri - according to my understanding, meat based stock is to add flavour to the porr and also intro the kids to meats. Anchovy powder is mainly to add calcium to kid's diet. anchovy is very rich in calcium. so i think it will still be good to give on porr. yes you have to toast till crisp cos not dry how to grind/keep?

you can try the green zucchini. i only give green ones. cauliflower and brocolli to give 8mths above? i dunno so already started giving
just now saw 1 mother feeding her boy porr mixed with potatoes, carrots and peas. looks nutritious and rich. but also looks super filling. i will try peas over this weekend.

msworri, whats your gal's wt now? for me, i really cant be bothered with what others think of my boy so long i know he is growing well and is a healhty happy baby
like i mentioned before, that uncle says my boy 3mths old, i just laugh over it lor. I even told him 'uncle, he is 6.5mths (that time) le... NOT 3mths'. i think i made him felt paisei instead

msworri - i still have 1/2 box of anchovy powder in my fridge cos i was too zealous and made too much the last time. i give you wan? all fresh ingredients but was in my fridge for 1 week already la. you mind? i can meet you up fri thru sun. some shopping place? I love to just bring my boy out to walk walk walk...hahahahah.. no wonder he likes to walk and eat porr.... alamak! bad habit

hi smiley, thx for sharing
wat u said is exactly the doc's concern... but there is nothing much we can do (besides tubefeeding) except feeding her more and hoping she eats well... hm...

msworri, yes yes... that is exactly how i feel... how i wish i can be as optimistic as clarissa, then maybe i wont be upset so easily... re the anchovies, if u dun hv an oven u can toast them in a wok, no oil. but its said to be heaty aft being toasted.

today i overheard a granny telling her daughter who has a baby that anthea shld be abt 6 mths old.. i was so happy and gave the granny a BIG smile.. haha... hubby and i were taking photo of her sitting in the NTUC trolley then... maybe the granny cld guess coz anthea was sitting...

valc, long time no hear from u.. how is ashley?

msworri,
glad ur ger ok, think our bbs not as fragile as we tot them to b. my boy bump his head till i lost count liao..funny thg happened 2day, my boy was trying to stand and my 2 dogs kept barking and pulling at his pants/diaper. think they trying to protect him??

Aw..i noe 1 ger 11mo at 8kg..is tat ok wt? cos she's absolutely adorable and super active! More active then boy!

Chix porr--there's prob 101ways to cook it. there's 2 ways i do it,depend on how lazy i feel
i use chix breast cos they hav most proteins,slice them small pcs. 1st method, put evthg in the pot and cook small fire till the chix melts,dun hav to puree/mash. 2nd method, put in chix last 15-20mins b4 porr done, then scoop up the meat and mash with spoon. i do this if im using stock to cook porr.

how's ur ger's milk intake? if she's doing well then u can gv her 3meals solids..if not, like me, struggling to gv my boy enuf milk, i cant gv too much solids.

Clarissa,
Ideally,can hav 3meals aday. But it depends on ricco's appetite and his total milk intake aday.

u wanna do smthg like this?
6am milk
9am cereal+fm
12pm lunch
3pm milk
6pm dinner
9pm milk

does he take milk at 9am? if he does so willingly, then i wun gv cereal. cos gv cereal takes longer time to feed and it will eat into his lunchtime=less time to digest, then m afraid he wun hav appetite for lunch.

If he refuses milk at 3pm, then u can reduce his lunch portion. If he still dun wan milk then 3pm feed u can replc with yoghurt,it has same amt of calcuim as fm and is easily digested,which will let him b hungry enuf for dinner.

the brand of yoghurt im using ev 100g=200mg cal. u can gv 50g for 100mg cal,abt the same cal amt as 100ml of fm.

the pm cereal u adding fm?

Milk is impt cos of the cal..so if bb not havg enuf milk,then muz provide frm other sources.

Potato can replc rice/cereal as carbo,no problem.U can cook with veg and add fm oso..potato is quite dry wen u mash it so instead of water, u can add milk. If u afraid ricco cant digest, u gv to him for lunch then monitor his next milk timing c if hungry or not,b4 trying it for dinner.

Haha! i read ur post abt the ikan bilis u mix make me laugh, cos u KS as i noe it!

clarissa,
tatz y i not keen to cook porr for ah boy, cos cant add milk inside. At least cereal can cheat abit. But he likes porr alot, mayb he sick of the angmoh style food i gv him.

u better feed ricco mre,fatten him up abit, cos wen he starts to teeth, he wun hav appetite for milk liao..

edde,
my hb and i oso tok picts of bb in the trolley!! But his trolley is frm Giants..haha! itz juz 1 of those thg 1st time parents will do rite?

my nanny gg back to m'sia for a while..so me moving back to my mum's plac 2mr.Hope my boy wun fuss there.

hav a great wkend, mummies!

sungrapes, ooooo...so its not ideal to replace 9am feed with cereal? but soon will still need to replace morning feed with solids right? by then how? boy now takes morning solids? or only milk? what will be a good time to to intro am solids?

this yoplait baby yoghurt seems to run out everywhere i went. no choice, i went to get the organic baby yoghurt. what brand yoghurt you use? where can i get it? toddlers' yoghurt ok for baby not? yoplait petit miam can give babies?

add FM in potatoes? so funni! will it taste wierd? all along dare not give potatoes, so scared his next meal dun wan eat. if add FM lagi filling?

yah lor, i also think its cos i KS. i cant decide who is saying the right thing.. some says this better and some says that.. so i mix and have the best of both worlds? ideal not? hahahaha.......

he is 7mths and no tooth in sight... how come huh? tot about 6mths will start to teeth? no tooth in sight already not drinking good amts of milk, when starts to teeth how? sigh! dare not think man!

i like to give porr.. cos whenever i see the ingredients, will think that its very nutritious. sometimes in my porr, i give so much variety, add spinich, toufu, fish and zucchini... siao hor? KS mah...plain milk gives the impression that its not as nutritious compared to a good bowl of porridge. i gave porr means less milk so thats why i need to supplement with yoghurt lor. but yoghurt i give as a side. not main.

any idea whether cna give celery or asparagus? this weekend wanna try peas and sweet potatoes. thinking of trying celery and asparagus next...

clarissa,
u can gv solids in AM. itz juz tat since u worried abt ricco's milk inake tatz y i tot u might wanna delay it. Another tot is this..if his milk intake is not gd, then u might wanna replc 1 milk feed with solids so tat he's getting his nutrients frm other foods instead of juz milk. Ths was wat my PD suggested to me last time.

Ah boy is taking 2x milk in the morning most times. smtimes he wake up late, then he will drink at 7/8+(1x milk), take his bath n nap till lunchtime. 2/3pm i try gv him milk,if he dun wan, then i gv him some yohurt,then next meal is dinner,most likely cereal+fm since 3pm nv take milk. If he tok milk 3pm, then i gv him porr or other foods. Then i pray he will take some milk abt 8pm b4 bedtime. But most times he wun take lor! I try 2 aim at least 3 bottles,but if he dun drink or dun fininsh it, there's not much i can do, except gv him mre yoghurt n cheese next day.

Potatoes u can try cook with porr and gv him some forlunch, test his reaction to it.

Yoghurt, im using this brand call PAUL'S. itz plain full fat, the oni 1 i can find tatz full fat! Most bb's yoghurt r fruit flavoured so they contain sugars. itz better to buy plain and add ur own fruits. Aw, ah boy dun like bb yoghurt,mayb 2 sweet for him. He doesnt seem to like sweet thgs. the yoplait brand, many mummies r gvg, read frm other thread.

Normal mash potatos oso got add milk inside. I got recipes say can add fm for bbs, so think it shd b alrite..itz another way to sneak in some milk for bbs 2.

Celery very yucky if u thinkg of pureeing it. itz better if u cook in soup(let him drink soup oni) or stew with other veges. Asparagus has got many fibre, read tat abt 10mo gv better, else hard to digest. it can oso b given as finger food.

hi sungrapes, i am still giving milk for 6am and 9am feeds. but he dun drink much. yah evening i also give cereal. like you say can sneak in milk! whats the ideal wt for a 7.5mth old baby? that day, my place have gotten a lantern festival celebration, 1 daddy was holding his kid - very big size. 8mths old. than he guess ricco 3mths old! than the next day i brought him out shopping, 1 gal guess he is 4-5mths old... aiyo, very alamak le.. hear liao also sian. but as usual, i will tell them 'huh? no la... he is 7.5mths old'. though make them feel abit paisei, but personally dun feel good too lor...sigh!

wow sounds like ah boy also dun like milk. why huh? i gave ricco cheese last weekend and i think really fills him up... lunch time he takes longer than usual to finish up his porr... but i only give 1 teaspoon lor. cheese really so filling?

pauls' brand yoghurt is really like the no nonsense yoghurt
very serious serious kind. now i am trying the oragnic baby yoghurt.

so can give celery already? i will stew in his porr together with the fish and 2 other vege if can lor. oh, than i better not give asparagus 1st

thanks soooo much for these pointers...what can i do to repay you........
when are you gg back to work? not that soon i hope.

clarissa,
there's no ideal wt lor...i go playgrd smtimes will meet afew bbs ard ah boy's age. Got 1 boy a day older then ah boy and he looks so big size, mre like 1yo, can wave and clap hands. Then same time got another boy 2wks older then boy and he looks smaller. So??? maybe itz oso genes lor. if i marry big size angmoh, my kids will surely b tuah tuah type.

this boy, dun noe him lah!! drink milk like slaughter pig like tat. Tis morning he woke up abt 6+, i din gv milk till almost 8am, then he finally gulp down like starving him like tat. But if i gv earlier then he wun drink oso..so how like tat?!

Evthg i noe is frm books or internet lor..glad to help
Yes, cheese is hi in protein so very filling. it takes awhile for them to get use to digesting it.

work? i defer till next yr..approved liao

Oh yes! i asked my MIL abt the anchovies yesterday..she say both gd for bbs. But the white ones dun buy too white looking, cos they use bleach to wash it so look whiter. I dun noe true anot..but since she tell me, then i better tell u oso.

hope all had a gd wkend..

my boy's top 2 incisors came out liao finally! appetite for milk oso much better..

he keeps bumping his head, but i cant keep him in the play pen whole day rite? I like him to crawl and get the exercise, but...

hi sungrapes, how nice that you are gg back work only next yr! am just back from a rush rush trip and MIL gg hols soon. I gotta apply leave for a week plus. Paisei to apply esp now its peak period..sigh!

no tooth in sight for my boy still. he's 7.5mths, abit late yah? currently trying to think of new porr receipe to feed my boy.. how do you give chix? puree?

hi all!

clarissa, there is this dialect saying that says "7th mth sit, 8th mth crawl, 9th mth teething", so yr boy is not late at all

hi edde, yap. let those tooth grow at their own pace
hows anthea?

the rate my boy wriggles about, fidget, climb, touch staff here and there, wanting to walk etc etc, i wont be surprised that he don't put on weights. non stop as long as he is awake. today he showered 4times cos everytime he is drenched in his own perspiration, all sticky and dirty. like this how to put on weights fast?

hi edde,
glad to hear tat anthea is eating well

My boy oso nv gain any wt even tho he's eating well..at his 8mo chkup he was 9kg, 1.5mths later(he's now 9.5mo) still the same wt. i wonder where all the food went? hope it goes to his brain lor!

R u using NAN FM? i juz chg to NAN and his poo super soft..is it normal?

clarissa,
when i intro chix,i cook it angmoh style cos the book i read say bbs will take to it better if cook with some veges.,so i stew it with pumpkin(his fave) and puree it. once he's fine with it, then i cook chix porr. rem to choose breast meat cos got most protein compared to other parts of the chix.

u can oso cook rolled oats with meat. can mix in FM and it smells very delicious. me oso thinking of new porr ideas n thgs besides porr.

im gvg millet,brown rice,rolled oats. now trying to find bb muesli. 2day did beef porr..he's ok with chewing the minced meat, but eat super slow,so in the end i cheated by blending it abit..haha! so impatient of me rite?

then his poo got bits of vege and millet cm out..wonder if any nutrients is absorbed??

sungrapes, i hear from many ppl saying that nan Fm produces soft stools. thus its good for constipated kids. so no need worry on that. I use mamil gold 2, also good for poo. my gynae asked me to use mamil gold one. he says most others heaty.. difficult to poo. and true lor. i also find enfalac difficult on the poo.

yah pumpkin also ricco's fav! cos i think its sweet. my MIL use chicken bones and chix breast meat to cook the stock than use the stock for ricco's porr. but no chix meat inside. whats rolled oats with meat? so chim le. sounds so hard also... muesli you also wanna give? wow....i think beef is good. will beef the boys up...dunno true or not.. come 9th month, i also wanna do beef stew for ricco
i super KS mah...thinking of ways to beef up my boy...else ppl keep saying he 3mths i fainted!

ricco's poo, sometimes the spinich also comes out. i think at 8, 9 mths they are very active. thus, not much weights gain. ah boy 9kgs at 8mths is super good weights liao lor...if ricco have such kind of weghts, i sure happy liao