(2014/10) Oct 2014 Mummies

@angel_loi Hehehe all my girls got lots of hair when born. Still we shaved them botak during full month. Just bring to any hair salon, their shaver is very safe, not sharp on skin when shave. So don't worry.

Decided to celebrate on this Sat instead of Sun cos flipped through the calendar, it's a better day. (We never do on actual day, usually on the prev. weekend) We prepare red egg, glutinous rice, ang ku kueh for bai bai.

You really tok kong wor, can tahan. Never wash hair. My hair is always smelly and wet...yucks

@agaga

Ya, my hair really lots of dandruff now. So sad.. After this confinement got to solve my dandruff problems, Haihzz! My hair not so oily as during my #1 & maybe bcz in using the dry shampoo.

So, shaved hair to be done on full month or any day before full month?

@agaga

Ya, my hair really lots of dandruff now. So sad.. After this confinement got to solve my dandruff problems, Haihzz! My hair not so oily as during my #1 & maybe bcz in using the dry shampoo.

So, shaved hair to be done on full month or any day before full month?

Shave on your chosen day. I'll shave her this Sat, bring her home trim nails follow by bathe with flower water. After that can pray to ancestors at home.

You mean you got dandruff after using the dry shampoo?

Shave on your chosen day. I'll shave her this Sat, bring her home trim nails follow by bathe with flower water. After that can pray to ancestors at home.

You mean you got dandruff after using the dry shampoo?

Thanks for guiding me.. I think not easy to trim their nails too. So small leh..

Not really caused by dry shampoo.. Actually during my both pregnancy, I will have dandruff problems. It was so itchy recently & my dandruff just like those cornflakes. Lol..

I'm hopeful my girl jaundice will drop and discharge today! No more hospitalisation and stay healthy.

Yday PD called and informed she sent her for heart ultrasound cos she heard noise, in case there is hole in her heart but she had chk with heart specialist this is normal for newborn with little blood in heart and assured me this is not serious & no hole.
We can send her for ultrasound when she's 3-4mth old.

I'm hopeful my girl jaundice will drop and discharge today! No more hospitalisation and stay healthy.

Yday PD called and informed she sent her for heart ultrasound cos she heard noise, in case there is hole in her heart but she had chk with heart specialist this is normal for newborn with little blood in heart and assured me this is not serious & no hole.
We can send her for ultrasound when she's 3-4mth old.
Hope my girl's will drop too and discharge today. Gonna go see her later. Lucky it has dropped from the time we admitted her.

@angel_loi, your dandruff problem sounds serious. Hope it will go away once your hormone level returns after a while.
i usually bring bb to those neighbourhood aunty shop to shave.. look for those aunty as they more experience with young bb.

@littlefish & @silentlove, will pray for your bb jaundice level to drop too. i know it can be worrying.

@angel_loi, your dandruff problem sounds serious. Hope it will go away once your hormone level returns after a while.
i usually bring bb to those neighbourhood aunty shop to shave.. look for those aunty as they more experience with young bb.

@littlefish & @silentlove, will pray for your bb jaundice level to drop too. i know it can be worrying.

Don't worry about hair... Will have alot more changes. Mine kept dropping at 4mths. Wanted to colour my hair and all that but realized the hair quality keep changing from the time I deliver. Think takes abt 6 mths or something for hormones to settle. This must chk with gyne.

@littlefish @silentlove praying for ur babies too.

I m just out from shower. Always a happy day after shower till I go sticky and smelly again.
Pray that all babies free from jaundice and stay healthy

Thanks @leocub @popie. Just received call from hospital. She can go home today! :')

Can monitor jaundice by seeing the skin colour. Gently press then see if yellow. Or the whites of the eyeballs. Or their colour of their pee. Make sure baby drinks more fluids - be it BM or FM.

Can sun baby also, don't forget to give them milk before and after. Also don't forget to cover their eyes with a towel or something.

I'm still deciding between Mt A and TMC... Anyone has experience with the 2? Which is better in your opinion? I would prefer the one with better support for breastfeeding..

I'll prefer Mt.A
I had gave birth in mt.a in 2012 and tmc in 2014
Reason is bill size is smaller, car park more convenient n cheaper, service is better, breast feeding lactator is more pro.

My cash portion for Mt.A is $1800, TMC is $3600

Car park for Mt.A is $5 per day regardless of multiple entry whereas TMC is 2 tickets to exit (4bedder) ($3each)
At TMC, imaging I got to lookout for the hectic traffic plus no shelter and so scotching sun!! Mt.A has a spacious destinated drop off/ pick up area and the nurse will help us push the baby down. At TMC, I carried baby from ward to car park!

In Mt.A, the next day after birth when wake up, nurse will help u up the bed, give mouth rinse. TMC, nothing!

B.f lactator in Mt.A is more friendly & helpful and will pop by everyday. TMC only once and very sacarstic, ask for more help, she, suggest we call home service when go home.

@silentlove

Glad to know that your baby can discharge already :)

@littlefish

Don't worry too much.. Your baby is under good care frm hospital nurses. She will be fine.

I was just back from clinic & my baby is cleared from jaundice. End of this mth have to go back for hep B 2nd dose jab. Baby weight at 4.54kg @ 26 days. :)

For those who are still in waiting mode, do get enough rest. As after give birth, u will be busy with yr newborn & breastfeed them. :)

I'll prefer Mt.A
I had gave birth in mt.a in 2012 and tmc in 2014
Reason is bill size is smaller, car park more convenient n cheaper, service is better, breast feeding lactator is more pro.

My cash portion for Mt.A is $1800, TMC is $3600

Car park for Mt.A is $5 per day regardless of multiple entry whereas TMC is 2 tickets to exit (4bedder) ($3each)
At TMC, imaging I got to lookout for the hectic traffic plus no shelter and so scotching sun!! Mt.A has a spacious destinated drop off/ pick up area and the nurse will help us push the baby down. At TMC, I carried baby from ward to car park!

In Mt.A, the next day after birth when wake up, nurse will help u up the bed, give mouth rinse. TMC, nothing!

B.f lactator in Mt.A is more friendly & helpful and will pop by everyday. TMC only once and very sacarstic, ask for more help, she, suggest we call home service when go home.

Thanks for the detailed comparison... TMC carpark is really a nightmare...

I find that std in Tmc has dropped as compared to my first experience in Y2007.

Thr out my stay, I encountered not too pleasant encounters w ward nurses and nurses in delivery ward

Back in 2012, i delivered.my first baby in TMC too. Also found the service not really warm n sincere from younger ward & nursery nurses(one is china and another from ph). The mid wifes do not show alot of personal touch too.
I still choose to deliver there as my gynae clinic is at TMC, so more convenient for him to come & monitor me during labour and stay.

@lala, congrats on your delivery. able to share your encounter? Btw did u room in w baby the entire stay?

Dear Mummy
I going for induction on 17th morning which is this Friday .. Will be admitted By tomorrow nite. This is my first bb :) just wonder is induction endurable?

Sent from my iPhone using Forum

Dear Mummy
I going for induction on 17th morning which is this Friday .. Will be admitted By tomorrow nite. This is my first bb :) just wonder is induction endurable?

Hihi, Normally when you're induced it's more painful.

@purple_luv every Monday is my checkup! Recent one gynae checked my cervix I dilated 1cm. I feel very kan chiong lehhh. Tmr I 39 weeks already. Hopefully baby can pop out soon.
But I'm not showing any signs of labour. I thought by now would alr, cos second child. Hahah. But no leh... Lol.

@purple_luv every Monday is my checkup! Recent one gynae checked my cervix I dilated 1cm. I feel very kan chiong lehhh. Tmr I 39 weeks already. Hopefully baby can pop out soon.
But I'm not showing any signs of labour. I thought by now would alr, cos second child. Hahah. But no leh... Lol.
I also having checkup coming mon, my gynae dont check on dilation.
He said if nx week still not labour then induced on 25/26oct, was thinking to push fwd a few days if really there's a need to induced. Hmmmmm

Cos last date of EDD already... Heard can inject epi once induced & the pain is coming...

I delivered at MT A and i find the nurses at the nursery is good. The lactation consultant gives a very gd & detailed consultation on how you shld breastfeed n massage. U can also ask question after the 1st free consultation and they r willing to answer for free. But if help required of cos hv to pay. My bill only $1400 with 2 bedded and natural without epi. I had a happy stay there.

@purple_luv
Haha cannot tahan already right? What's your estimated baby's weight now?
Ya cannot tahan, even my husband also gan chiong.
According to gynae the weight will be 10-15% diff. From about 2.7kg > 2.9kg > 3.2kg > 2.8kg(last checkup)
So now i dont know what bb weight now:confused:. Awaiting for monday checkup.

Any mommies know how many hours before taking epidural cannot eat anything?

When they flush your bum cannot eat alr. I think also depends if you're inducing or not.
If inducing and taking pethidine or epidural, better not eat after that alr. Eat before you check yourself into labour.

@purple_luv haha yeah my husband also keep saying. Maybe today!! Or tomorrow latest lah. Confirm one. LOL.

From my #1, my gynae scan estimate quite accurate. Before birth, she say ard 2.8kg. Then baby born 2.86kg. Haha. So now when she say my baby 3.2kg I panic alr. So scared too big, somemore I want to try all natural birth. Hahahha.

Ya cannot tahan, even my husband also gan chiong.
According to gynae the weight will be 10-15% diff. From about 2.7kg > 2.9kg > 3.2kg > 2.8kg(last checkup)
So now i dont know what bb weight now:confused:. Awaiting for monday checkup.
My girl was estimated to be 3.4-3.5kg but ended up coming out at 3.215kg. Hehe.

When they flush your bum cannot eat alr. I think also depends if you're inducing or not.
If inducing and taking pethidine or epidural, better not eat after that alr. Eat before you check yourself into labour.
I still ate after they injected the medicine to flush out the bum I didn't have time to eat breakfast before I was admitted. But it was just a cup of milo and 4 slices of egg sandwich. Before eating, the nurse asked my gynae if I can eat he still jokingly said can, order char kuey teow or Mcdonalds for her. Haha. About 1 to 1 half hours after I ate, I injected epi already. No vomiting for me. But they said is see individual one. Some may vomit. My side effect after that was shivering and itchiness on the chest area. This happened about an hour after injecting. Then after giving birth, was still shivering for a while then I was ok after being pushed to the ward.

They will ask u not to eat once u admit. Better eat something simple before u admit. Cos if labour is v long u will b v hungry by the time u r ready to push. Some ppl boil egg water with sugar. For me I ate some bread. Anyway u will b on drip.

It's better u grab something light food before u admitted. I rmb I was admitted at 4pm & get ready prepared in labour ward. They still ask me to fill in the menu form which food I preferred including my hubby too. But when our is delivered to my labour ward, I was told that my gynae don't allowed me to eat already. Actually that time I was quite hungry but no choice.

After epi, I only feel shivering & thirsty. Don't feel to vomit at all.. It's all up to individual. Suggested u don't take too heavy meal, just in case.

To share my experience in TMC.

Below are my negative experience:
Nurse In observation ward mentioned to my Gynae that my bp is normal. In fact I was induced due to high bp. My bp measured was 150/90 when my Gynae measured me again in the observation ward

I was instructed to breathe in oxygen cos bb oxygen level low. One nurse in delivery ward told me to " breathe this only when in pain" . When I told her I m using oxygen , not laughing gas , then she realised her mistake. Imagine if I followed her instruction, my bb oxygen level would be in dangerous level.

During admission and in observation and delivery ward, I have to answer same repeat questions several times. Diff people keep asking the same qns like any cord blood or placenta collection? I thought they should have a record since I have indicated to them before.

Lastly the ward nurse did not put on panty for me after I went to ward. Just put a pad and ask me to close my legs and put a protection sheet under me. I was being attached to urine bag and I could not move . Hence I pressed bell to request for panty as I felt uncomfortable with the blood flow. I requested ard 11 pm and only by 5 am I got my panty. Thr out the night I could not turn or move as I need to " kiap" the pad with my inner thights.

Upon discharge at Tmc, were given a survey form to fill in.

Forget to mention the following, at Tmc, were given medicine in the morning and evening, I'm tired and asked for medicine around 9plus (snack serve at 8pm), they say on the way. 10plus, request again, say on the way. Until I sleep already then they come and give medicine at 12midnight. By the time, stomach already empty lor!! In the morning when they give medicine still remind me to take after food.

Another important thing to mention about TMC is their Confinement food. Rice, stir fry lean pork w/ginger, veg w/frozen beans and canned corn, soup, banana. Only the soup is acceptably nice only. Fried rice w/frozen beans and some chinese bacon, soup, banana. Again, soup okay.

Can't imagine if Tmc home delivery also served the same cheapo food, think one month service not cheap about 2k

Usually they serve fish soup in the mid morning but didn't serve so I ask for it when they serve lunch the nurse who is in charge say 'it's impossible, I could'nt had missed'
Until she checked with my roomate who also didn't get. Then she apologized and left the room and never come back.

I still remembered back in 2012 Mt.A served stewed pork w/red dates. Very nice food served as compared to Tmc.

@silentlove so in the end dr adrian free upgrade to 2 bedded for u? How much cash you pay? Thanks
For 3D2N stay, they charged $2100 Medisave and cash $2066. Doc that time already requested for deposit $850. Bed was upgraded from 4 to 2 bedded at no extra charge. Mine was exp coz baby was delivered through vacuum delivery and with epi.

Upon discharge at Tmc, were given a survey form to fill in.

Forget to mention the following, at Tmc, were given medicine in the morning and evening, I'm tired and asked for medicine around 9plus (snack serve at 8pm), they say on the way. 10plus, request again, say on the way. Until I sleep already then they come and give medicine at 12midnight. By the time, stomach already empty lor!! In the morning when they give medicine still remind me to take after food.

Another important thing to mention about TMC is their Confinement food. Rice, stir fry lean pork w/ginger, veg w/frozen beans and canned corn, soup, banana. Only the soup is acceptably nice only. Fried rice w/frozen beans and some chinese bacon, soup, banana. Again, soup okay.

Can't imagine if Tmc home delivery also served the same cheapo food, think one month service not cheap about 2k

Usually they serve fish soup in the mid morning but didn't serve so I ask for it when they serve lunch the nurse who is in charge say 'it's impossible, I could'nt had missed'
Until she checked with my roomate who also didn't get. Then she apologized and left the room and never come back.

I still remembered back in 2012 Mt.A served stewed pork w/red dates. Very nice food served as compared to Tmc.
I've had similar experience with the medicine issue. On my first night, I was in ward by 4pm. They say medicine will be served around 9pm. End up 10+pm only they start serving.

I find that their LS also not very good. The way they teach how to massage the breast before feeding. When my baby was admitted to KKH, I ask them to teach me their step and is so much better even though there are more steps. Better as in can really see the milk flow out. This is only my personal feel.

And they were having some promotion with mothercare whereby babies born at KKH between August and October can redeem 2 small milk bottles from mothercare for free. Not bad.

To share my experience in TMC.

Below are my negative experience:
Nurse In observation ward mentioned to my Gynae that my bp is normal. In fact I was induced due to high bp. My bp measured was 150/90 when my Gynae measured me again in the observation ward

I was instructed to breathe in oxygen cos bb oxygen level low. One nurse in delivery ward told me to " breathe this only when in pain" . When I told her I m using oxygen , not laughing gas , then she realised her mistake. Imagine if I followed her instruction, my bb oxygen level would be in dangerous level.

During admission and in observation and delivery ward, I have to answer same repeat questions several times. Diff people keep asking the same qns like any cord blood or placenta collection? I thought they should have a record since I have indicated to them before.

Lastly the ward nurse did not put on panty for me after I went to ward. Just put a pad and ask me to close my legs and put a protection sheet under me. I was being attached to urine bag and I could not move . Hence I pressed bell to request for panty as I felt uncomfortable with the blood flow. I requested ard 11 pm and only by 5 am I got my panty. Thr out the night I could not turn or move as I need to " kiap" the pad with my inner thights.

@lala, what lousy services from a private hospital they are providing. And such careless mistake they make in the observation wards. Dun they QC or monitor the KPI of their nurses.

Poor me... Vomitting 6-7times after increase epi dosage to 10ml... Start shivering follow by drowsy n puke... ;(