(2012/01) Jan 2012

Ms Carpe & Jamie:
You are most welcome

Blue_Y:
I love watching channel 425 too! Esp 'i didnt know i was pregnant'. Sometimes, its hard to believe that their tummy didnt grow at all!

Maddie:
Me! Me! I had difficulty falling asleep last night.
Lie flat - feel like tummy is being stretch.
Lie sideways - difficulty breathing.

i am a big believer in baby carriers. used them a lot for my #1. I think I have 6 carriers at home! But in the end only used 2-3.

If you want to try out different carriers, you can go to http://www.babyslingsandcarriers.com/. They also have a shop in Square 2, where they help you choose the right carrier for you and also teach you how to use the carrier. I guess it could be more expensive to buy from them than to ship from overseas, but I feel that the service there is really good and the staff are very helpful.

may - Manduca is a good carrier. I used more ring slings and pouch carriers at first, then switched to a Patapum when my daughter was older.

Echo and May: When do you all start using baby carriers? After the bb has developed head control? Approx when will that be and what are the indications that will tell us that our individual bb has head control AND is ready to be carried around in bb carrier?

Ms Carpe Diem,

As I did not have a very good carrier for my #1, I only started using it when #1 has head control, I think after 4mths.

But this one that I'm looking @ buying boasts of being able to use for infants 3.5kgs and above coz its got an infant support and neck support as well.

You can go to the shop that echo mentioned about to take a look. The owners aka the sales persons are very helpful and let you try the carrier on. Just that the price is really quite high so I will still order online. =P

GOOD Morning everyone!!!

Blue_Y sure is early starting thread at 5.02am,
maddie & Joy , for me not really cant sleep but need to get up at night to go pee usually ard 3-4am, then cannot go back to sleep *Yawnn*

Zanie: What is the cost of one Manduca sling?
If there are a few of us wants the same brand , makes sense to do a bulk purchase can save on shipping.

Blue_Y & Littleone,
Updated

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD> EDD </TD><TD>Gynae </TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Birth order</TD><TD> Predicted gender</TD><TD> actual gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Carpe Diem</TD><TD> 31-Dec-11 </TD><TD>Dr Quek Swee Chong </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> #1 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Littleone1705</TD><TD>1-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tiny Bubu</TD><TD> 4-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maddie </TD><TD>7-Jan-12 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheerbear</TD><TD>7-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>b_cup </TD><TD>8-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Tan Hak Koon</TD><TD> SGH </TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Felicia Low</TD><TD> 9-Jan-10</TD><TD> Dr Chen L.H</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stefseansharbabes</TD><TD>9-Jan-10</TD><TD> Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#4</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>styliciously </TD><TD>10-Jan-12 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>CT (yoyoblue)</TD><TD> 10-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Suzana</TD><TD> kkh </TD><TD>#4 </TD><TD>60%Boy-40%Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stella Rodrigues</TD><TD> 10-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr C.K. Khoo</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yong Hui</TD><TD>10-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peanut (Veronica Chau) </TD><TD>11-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua (TLC)</TD><TD></TD><TD> #1 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tuetecotage</TD><TD> 11-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Anita</TD><TD> NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>(X) ttcx</TD><TD> 15-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Cheng JP </TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD> #2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Idali</TD><TD>15-Jan-12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bunnymuffin </TD><TD> 16-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly K</TD><TD> 18-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Wong Mun Tat</TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amaesing</TD><TD> 19-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>HQ</TD><TD>20-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Quek Swee Peng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>TBD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Echo</TD><TD>21-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jowinbaby </TD><TD>22-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Cheng LC </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>50/50  </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinko</TD><TD> 22-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lebebe</TD><TD>22-Jan-12</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michele Xie </TD><TD>24-Jan-12 </TD><TD> Dr. Hii Hoi Chin.Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MayC </TD><TD>25-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr WK Tan </TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>#2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>25-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr SP Teo</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>PiggyB </TD><TD>26-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>#2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD> 26-Jan-12</TD><TD> caroline khi</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blue_Y</TD><TD>27-Jan-12</TD><TD> dr eunice chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>May (zanie98) </TD><TD>28-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr CH Koh</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> #2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gingerleaf</TD><TD>30-Jan-12</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Apple Khoo</TD><TD>30-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jallo </TD><TD>end Jan 2012</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Millie'sMum </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SnowWhite </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chiffoncake (bigroundeyes) </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adel </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>joyojoy</TD><TD>6-Feb-12</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Girl</td></tr></table>

hq: i also have no problem falling asleep. just after wake up middle of night then cannot fall asleep again.

i bought the manduca carrier for my girl from the shop echo mentioned at square 2. was $220 then or thereabouts. got 10% off second and subsequent purchases so can pass card around. good thing is can try with bb there, so can test out the different carriers. think from birth can sling liao, but use the side sling to cradle. i never managed to get my baby in that, she would cry.

Hi Carpe Diem, i remembered carry my #1 in baby carrier starting from 2 months onwards, in the front. There is a back support behind the baby head. Usually, baby will tend to lean on my chest more than on the back support. Baby facing inwards.

joyjoy, i also had difficulty falling asleep. My #1 cough through the night last nite
I typically just wide awake and hard fall back to sleep. I suggest you can lie to your left sideway, instead of right. I forget the reason. When attended the Childbirth Education Course , Mrs Wong told us to lie on our left. Baby will be getting heavier and its impossible to lie flat or lie on our tummy.

gals, Sorry if i miss out the post for me above.. no time to read back le

I was using the pupsik pouch for my #1 but he is very tall so he didnt like the cradle hold legs dont know where to go so used the sarong(ring) sling but it keeps sliding , as i had c-sect so cant use those front carry punch cos it sits on the tummy ... which i think it's really nice and secure to put bb in

<font color="660000">jamie,
Stingray is a deep sea fish so the worry is mercury content. Same rule applies, eat in moderation. Mackerel, tuna, shark all same theory. Mercury content won't b a problem if eaten once in a while, just don't make it an everyday thing.

I believe that preggy mummies should b happy n satisfy their cravings ( except for non edible things). Just watch the amount &amp; be careful with raw food n you should b fine. There's a line if thought that says that many of your cravings are actually your body telling you what minerals or vitamins you r lacking so shouldn't you follow what your body needs? Just don't go overboard in eat a whole tub of ice cream to satisfy a craving hee...</font>

i used the MIM ring sling, have a modmum and another hotsling pouch and a Connecta carrier for #1.

Haha... i'm still thinking if i want to get a Beco for #2.

RE Stingray:
I dont know if it is proven or just myth..
What i heard: 'If eat stingray, placenta will be stuck in you and cannot (or hard to) come out.'

On carriers, im a strong advocate for baby wearing.. It helps to bond us with our babies. From birth to abt 6mths, i carried my girl in carrier called Sleepywrap. Not many in sg use sleepywrap but it is suoer comfortable for baby n it seems like im still pregnant but the baby is outside... Baby slept so peacefully in there w/o even stirring to the point i feel im carrying a doll.. After 6 mths, i uses manduca.. Very gd for us carrying the weight which is distributed evenly ard hip n shoulder... Best carrier cos the babies are sitting down instead of being hang by their crotch area like babybjorn.
Now tht shes bigger n want to constantly b carried, put down carried, i got myself the baby nari hip hugger... Think weight is distributed evenly n our posture wont give the backache tht the normal carrying will...

For sleepywrap n manduca, they r sold in singapore at Novena 2.. Cant remember da name but think irs babywearer? Just go to the shop, they'll guide u one on one what carrier is best for your build. The shop is cosy n they even teach u how to wear n take out, keep etc... Even if u dont wish to buy, do go n take a look then u can make up ur mind better. I go 3 to 4 times b4 deciding. Their range of wear are very extensive cos they specialises in baby wearing from birth to big...;)

if you have a suitable carrier, you should be able to use it from birth. pouch slings or ring slings are great for newborns - give them the swaddled, secure feeling. my daughter used to love sleeping in the sling, all the way up to 8 months. She didn't really like the cradle carry, preferred tummy-to-tummy hold. for carriers that need bb to have head control, you can try them from about 5 months onwards.

mscarpediem
Beco is a brand of baby carrier

I was bloating the whole of last nite..sigh don't howcome sudden bloat till so jialat. Maybe bcoz I already have serious gastric problems b4 preggy. Me now try to break my meals portion to be even smaller.

Joy &amp; Maddie: I dun realli have problem sleeping but can be uncomfortable at times. I find sleeping on my left side helps. When I lie flat, I find the pressure on my tummy esp uncomfortable. So nowadays alwaz sleep sideways.

littleone: Welcome!

Blue_Y .. agree babybjorn looks really painful on bb cos the crotch area very narrow, so i didnt buy lucky I didnt buy cos end up c-sect hahah

if I natural birth this time, i will get a manduca looks good, I just saw the video on the sleepy wrap ... looks the same as Moby wrap ???

hq
yup sleepy wrap is similar to moby wrap, just that it's a different brand. think the material is also a bit stretchier than moby wrap. stretchy wraps are easier to use but have shorter lifespan - will be hard to use by the time baby is 5-6 months.

haha hq, all babies are different. Mine cannot be in pupsik. She will cry. She like to be upright and happy in baby carrier. I also have c-sect. On the 2nd month, i start using the carrier. Still ok for me

joyjoy, thanks. She much better but tend to cough at night sleeping. Haiz. Sent her to TCM and Tui Na, hope it helps.

<font color="aa00aa">So today's topic is on baby carriers! Wow, we are planning ahead ya

We didn't end up buying any for #1 - went to try them out but he didn't like it cos his thighs were too fat then &amp; the straps chafted. So ended up just carrying him without a sling/carrier. We didn't even use the stroller for long, cos he started walking v early (7 months) &amp; insisted on walking on his own everywhere. Most prob gonna go carrier-less again for #2.</font>

joyojoy: My gynae says I might be early so most likely wont hit new year bb...cos my #1 born in the 37 weeks. So i might get a xmas bb instead. =)

I'm also hoping my baby will come just after Xmas so that I can celebrate Xmas and would hv just completed confinement to celebrate cny.

joyojoy and limyg: yup, i hoping bb comes out by then too...so by the time confinement ends just nice CNY. And also dun need to fight for school places in future. Dec period cooling good better for me as i hate hot hot weather. My 1st was in the month of May OMG weather so hot man.

OMG - MS just hit me fast and furious .... not sure how to managed for the rest of the day. Just keep feeling wanna puke and running to pantry to hide (cos I have not told my office) so shacked... and meeting day today somemore haizzz... maybe go and take MC also dont know GP will give or not ...

i'm also hoping to have a dec baby to avoid the dragon crush. but then also know dec babies are at disadvantage cos one year younger than the rest. aiya, either way also must compete lo.

hq
i'm sure GP will give you MC if you explain to him your situation. i find that doctors are generally sympathetic especially for pregnant women. hope you feel better soon!

joyojoy
you can try a hot sub like meatballs marinara. i ate a lot of that in my first pregnancy, cos not supposed to eat ham and cold cut deli meat.

I don't like the sleepywrap (tried it in the Square 2 shop)coz i was sweating from just trying to wear the carrier and putting the fake baby in the carrier. I also felt that the carrier does not distribute the baby's weight well and I felt most of the weight on my shoulders (which was ouch for my already aching back), not sure if I was wearing it properly or not though....

Hq: Manduca carrier: sure! Just let me know if you are keen to order the carrier with me. I was asking for discounts for bulk purchase coz I have other friends who are keen. We can all bulk purchase together! (^_^)

Echo:
Good idea

But outside very warm now.. extremely lazy..
Will just eat at foodcourt at my office.. very sianzzz...

HQ:
Lucky you

Have a good rest! tc..

Hey gals,

Just sidetrack abit, as some of u know I'm preparing for wedding now as well, m wondering how much did ur hubby give dowry to ur parents when u got married n how did ur split the cost of wedding or did ur hubby paid all?

Echo:
Good idea

But outside very warm now.. extremely lazy..
Will just eat at foodcourt at my office.. very sianzzz...

HQ:
Lucky you

Have a good rest! tc..

joyjoy, u can still eat at foodcourt. The moment i stepped into it, i nauseas. The smell is terrible. I need fresh air.. haha

Pinko, for me, HB give my parents $888 as a token cos every single expenses are by both of us. My parents in law did not even fork a single cents, include my Si Jian Jin. My HB bought them for me himself. BTW, you can discuss with your hb. It maybe unfair for your HB to fork ALL. Afterall, its a wedding for both
My opinion. No offence.

hi gals(waves),

I am feeling excited today cos tonight is my first appt with the gynae after tested positive. Hope everything is fine.

Gals, I am feeling very bad. Keep wanting to vomit and no appetite..Sigh..how to survive 1st trimester...

Hi Pinko,
For me, both of us share 50:50. We paid for everything for the wedding. As for parents, we leave it up to them to give whatever amount they want. Cos personally, it's my own wedding, both my hubby and I feels we should pay for ourselves.

pinko: For me, my hb give $1888 as token. For my wedding, hb paid for most of the items. I paid the wedding shoot and i bought my own si dian jin to be married over. The balance of my savings i chip into the dinner. But we had an agreement with my parents &amp; pil, the angbao collected at the wedding all goes to us to cover the cost of the dinner.

joy: i oso craving for subway..i will still order cold cut but ask they to toast it longer. Me notti mummy. =P

hq: u have an understanding boss! Take care k!

I have the MIM Sling, Pupsik, baby bjorn and beco. Think baby bjorn good for initial stages when baby is lighter. Sarong sling n pouch sling I dunno how to use at all. Dunno issit because baby kept stretching straight.
I love beco the most! Weight distribution is really good.

Re: Slings,carriers
I've used mim slings, pupsik, baby bjorn and beco. Mim slings and pupsik are good when baby is still v v young like few days old to 2-3 months. Beyond that I feel the weight distribution is not too good.
For Baby bjorn, baby's weight is distributed mainly at your shoulders. And it gets v v tiring if you baby is heavy and if u are carrying for long hours.
I like beco best of all. Weight is distributed mainly at hips so u can carry your baby for long hrs. I went Cambodia, vietnam, china, hong kong carrying my #3 in the beco.