(2011/10) Oct 2011

Winny

if u know u will need epi then it's pretty much set.

My hb n mil also discouraged me on taking epi but ultimately it was my choice n I know that I sure needed. Hb say last time ppl no choice so u pretend y no choice n do without. I curse him to be female next life. Now we modern world hv a choice, hv an alternative , y suffer. Mil say is dr wanna earn our money by promoting epi.

It's v irritating their comments so they can say watever they want n yes their motive is for our own good in case old got pain etc risk of insertion injury etc , so I just said will try to tolerate pain if can but rather epi than go thru c sec n recover slower. Pain when old could ve due to old age n not coz of epi in our 20,30 lor. Geez!

Anyway at 1.5cm dilate I couldn't bear e contraction discomfort pain n asked for epi oredi. After which I dilate faster n could rest before delivering. Many hours to go ok. U can reason these w ur hb. It's a smart choice to hv it early as there was staff shortage in e morning as all those mummies all sudden want epi last min n nurses n epi ppl all rush rush. Those in rush more risky w insertion as hv to keep still n they might reflex in pain from contractons.

Anyway strangely my epi didn't flow evenly n I still had left side pain n epi finished just when 10cm so just nice. Do scared it wear off too much then I suffer pain when pushing. At that point I just pushing w all my might Just wanted bb to be out!

Congrats gilera n mummyfaith

I've given birth on 7/10 too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Here's my 'Wu long' story:

6/10

edd is supposed to be on 22/10 n so far bb's v small so i tot he won't be out anytime soon.. but on 6/10 aft lunch i went to toilet n saw sthg tat I'm unsure of whether izzit discharge or waterbag leak. Then i call my fren n aft tat emergency hotline at e hosp n was asked to chk in immed. So i went hm to bath n rush to hosp. When reach I was strip on to CTG n saw regular contraction but as I wasn't in pain n only 1.5cm dilate so I was asked to go hm n go for chk up as per norm on 7/10.

7/10

1030 aft breakfast felt tummy pain n was thinking might be false alarm agn so con'd my journey to norm chk up at clinic. Feel regular pain along e way n feel like vomiting.

11 as CTG was done e day b4 I just show e nurse e result n told her felt pain tdy. Went to gynae n gynae mention alr 2cm dilate so was asked to go hm to clean up, have lunch n chk in to hosp. Once out of clinic I vomited.

12 no appetite for lunch so i just bath n hubby brought along hosp bag while I was drying hair n sitting on bed feeling v comfy n dun feel pain anymore. Was thinking might be broxton hicks earlier on. Nonetheless hubby say since gynae alr ask to go so we just go if nthg happen then we go flyer..

2+ changed n strip on to CTG told nurse so far dun feel pain aft bath n vomiting. Gynae attend to me saw contractions at 5min apart asked if i felt anything but i said no. Gynae chk for dilation n was 2-3cm dilated. Gynae went ahead to break waterbag n drip.

3+felt regular pain but bearable n was talking n joking wif hubby n switching tv channels.

4+ felt worse can't slp tossing n turning feeling uncomfortable but was psycho-ing myself not to take epidural.

5+ felt stronger pain at lower back but can't feel anything on tummy call for nurse for e laughing gas.

6+ can't tahan e intense pain but still I opted for e free thigh jab 1st b4 gg for epi. Asked nurse how long to go ahem mentioned 6-7hrs more.. tot to myself jialat seems like can't take it. Nurse say will chk on me at 645 ie 1/2 hr to go. Then almost immed aft nurse left, I got a sudden urge to push n body reflex alr pushing.. I told my hb to call w nurse n tell them sthg comin out! 1st nurse say it's e norm n say it's a gd sign then came 2nd nurse who chk on my dilation n say oh u r alr 10cm dilated!! Gynae rush over n said gd start pushing when u feel pain. So aft 3-4 push out came bb. N gynae was delivering my placenta n collecting bb's blood for cordlife n pressing my tummy

For blood n urine. Both drip non stop gynae say i was losing much blood n my urine is a lot.. n she kept digging for sthg..

Hubby was bz taking photos of bb while checking on me at e same time.

Glad I did it! Hope bb can discharge wif me tdy!

Hey winnie,

I agree with Hoppy about the choice of hospital.

I was given a choice btw mt a or mt e. Hb n I decided mt e cos gynae's clinic is there and should we required urgent help from gynae, he can come much faster. If I'm not wrong, had I chosen mt a, gynae will still check on me but maybe some of the checks will be done via phonecalls and he will get the nurses/midwife to perform the checks if he is not around? (Esp for mummies who go thru long long labour like me)

Also, have you found a pediatrician?? My gynae n ped are both at mt e, so for post delivery check ups,, bb n I.visit docs together. Save us a trip from going another place. (my gynae said that when ped wants to see bb, that would be the day I can go to him to check my stitches etc) so one stone kill 2 birds.

For my case, a peds in the same building as your delivery place also has benefits. Bb needed to b readmitted for jaundice. So peds could retrieve records easily and visit him in ward more freely. Cos I delivered there, nurses all recognized bb, hb and I, and it helps cos can enter nursery w/o too much restrictions.. (this is my opinion n experience)

For epi, if you know you need it, go ahead and request for it. Ur hb might have worry about the side effects, but at the end of the day, u're the one enduring the pain. I had to take epi cos I kept fighting the pain and couldn't dilate a single cm for 5 hours. Once epi in, body relax and slowly I began to dilate. Of cos, if you can go through w/o epi will be best. But if cannot, don reject it based on family's opinion. =)

Congratulations bubblygeekypig!! Is yours a bb boy or girl?

Hope you can discharge with bb today!! Congrats again n welcome to

Motherhood!!

hi rejoy28, actually i'm looking at 1 bedded as this is my first time. So I'm hoping that my hubby can stay with me.

Jojobar, thanks for sharing.

Hi Hoppy, thanks for your opinion.

Hi Gilera, my hubby said the same thing. Haha...

and he said if so many women can do without epi then I can also.

Anyway, i also gave him assurance that i would not opt for epi if i can bear the pain and also depends on scenario (like dilate faster, etc).

Hi Diana, thanks for sharing. Can I know how do you decide on pediatrician?

Dear Bubblygeekpig, Congrats Congrats!! Must be a relieve!! My turn coming soon.....nervous!!}

i've a few items to let go.

1)Lamaze gardenbug foot finder & wrist rattle set ($10)

2)Lamaze Spin & Explore Garden Gym ($15)

3)3 tins of Similac Mum, expiring Oct 2013 ($12 each)

Kindly PM me if you're keen.

Thanx all!

Sweetsnow: yes in end no epi. Hb saw I took e thigh jab n knowing still another 6-7hrs to go he say i sure take epi.. but who noe right aft e jab, I feel drowsy n next moment start to push alr. I surprised myself too! Cos from 3-10 cm dilate even nurse say will deliver ard late at nite.

Diana

Thanx yes I'm able to bring my son back now he keep sleeping n didn't wanna latch on hai..

winny

Haha it's natural to be nervous esp for 1st child like me no experience at all n so afraid tat it'll happen in office..

I delivered at parkway east- formally east shore 2 bedder paid ard $1800 for deposit aft deductions from medisave but according to hb still got bal of $100+ to take back..

Creamdonut

Haha aft gynae saw 5min for contractions n I said dun feel pain she also mentioned my pain tolerance v high but still becos I only dilate 3cm she expect i'll deliver late at late she tot i'll take epi but who noe everything happen so quickly aft e thigh jab! Haha.. if i dun have e urge to push I dun even noe i alr dilate 10cm cos my pain is at e lower back not e tummy area..

Hey winny,

My ped was recommended by my gynae. Same building but different level. Do you have a ped in mind alr?

Oh! One more thing good about having the ped near the hospital is whenever bb need to do bloodtest, jus have to move from the clinic down to the hospital and viola~ can know the result within an hour and ped can inform you in person the next step to take. Eg. If bb needs to be admitted for observation etc.

Bubblygeekypig,

My son also didn't latch for the first night... But the lactation nurse and staff nurse at the hospital helped.. So that got him suckling. Back at home, I anyhow do at first.. But with time and some practise, you n bb can do it! Don't give up!

Is he your first child??

Hi bubblygeekpig, it's your first time and you opt for 2-bedder. Do you need ur hubby at night or what? I'm only worried abt that. My frens say it's good that hubby stays.

Hi diana, thanks. I will ask my gynae for opinion. I havent got any in mind.

Hi Everyone!!!

Im looking for Mac Monopoli Stamps

Tanjong Rhu

Thomson Road

Toa Payoh

Joo Chiat

Sentosa Cove

Orchard Road

Admore Park

Scotts Road

Shenton Way

if u hav pls pm me

thanks in advance

Yippee, tomorrow is my appointment with gynae. Will try to go kenko for an hour of foot reflex to trigger labor in the afternoon, hopefully by late afternoon gynae appointment there are some progress for me.

Anyone here hire confinement lady to help during first month? I am quite nervous now as this is the first time I engage cl and I read lots of horror story of cl from the forum....

Bubblygeekypig,

Wow, your delivery is actually quite smooth. Jia you... I'm sure you'll get the hang of bf soon.

Jojobar,

I also hired Cl... from CL agency somemore, coz by the time my hubby decide to let me hire, all the recommended freelancer all taken up liao. I try not to hear too much stories to scare myself. I really think depends on luck. I try to console myself that if my CL is really bad, at least I can ask the agency to change one.

Winny

So far i relay on nurse n it's been gd so far. Cos my hubby needs to go back n shift his stuff for bb so no choice..

Sweetsnow

Sometimes he wan sometimes he dun ytd for whole noon till late at late he just wanna slp. Only manage to latch few min then dozed off.. v sacred he's hungry. Alr a small bb still dun eat!

Hi Sweetsnow,

I selected the CL based on the review and the biodata. Unfortunately, i was very very busy at work at that time. I did not really research on it. Hence i just random select ....Now i finger cross.

I used ikare as the agency even though i aware that some mummies complain about her attitude. But was so caught up that I did not bother to research for others...

How much are you preparing for the confinement marketing har ? i heard story that the confinement lady spend money like no body business... Worry i end up to be carrot head for pp loh...

Hi oct mummies

Sorry to disturb

Just wan to ask anyone have pink discharge on week 36plus as I saw some pink discharge this morn .. But my edd is 3 nov..

Hope all r doing well.

Librabb,

Have ur bb been discharged? I got a call to see doc in hospital tmrw. I hope bb can be discharged. Worried.

Piles

I got a big problem now. Can't walk. Can't get up buses too. My gynae say wound not closed up n worse of all I developed post birth piles. It's so painful I can't walk or sit. Does anyone have these problem? Can someone advise me? Doc only gave me cream n antibiotic cream to prevent infection. Say takes a week hopefully to clear up. Now I wonder if I hve to go thru sugary to remove piles.

Pofy

I had piles for #1. It wasn't very serious, but I had a lot of bleeding for a few days post delivery when I had bm. The bleeding stopped by itself. My friend recently went for surgery. These days the surgery technique is better so the old problems of not being able to control urgent bm are rare. Recovery takes a long time though, a few weeks, and have to walk slowly. Monitor your situation and see if it improves, it wil get bett because your whole bottom is sore and inflamed now. What also helps is a sitz bath, this is generally recommended for piles. I also used sitz bath to reduce inflammation and cleanse the episiotomy wound

http://www.hemorrhoid-cures.com/sitz-baths.php

The last time, my mum was the one who went marketing with consultation on what are the suitable foods. The CL will cook whatever she buys.

Hi pofy, i understand your worry. I am sure your bb will be fine. Hopefully you can bring him home very soon!

I am in 39 weeks now but still no sign, except for increased mucus and some brownish mucus. Didn't see any mucus plug but I couldn't be sure since I usually go to the toilet in the dark at night ;p Abit nervous cos' I don't know what to expect since my first one was induced.

Just back from gynae, baby head not engaged yet ! Cervix not dilate also. Doc do not recommend for inducing this week. But will assess next Monday.....

Hi leeoh and sweetsnow, most cl will not doing marketing on their own but usually give u the list or accompany by family member. But from what I heard, they buy like no need money cos not their money. My both Cousins spend like above a thousand for 28 days of worth of food. Is that the norm?

Hi ginelle,

The 2008 mummies like to used water-rise catering, cheap and good. But most of the baby full month I attended used neo gArden or four season. These are the popular aka common buffet caterer if you do full month at home or at condo function room.

hi pofy

bb has discharged. but still have to follow up at polyclinic every few days..damn tiring.. wondering how long i can endure.

hope that ur bb is doing well, dun think too much.

been so busy with pumping, feeding so no time to log in..what i need now is a nice NITE sleep.. haha

take care

Thanks JoJo and Libra for the reply. Am aware that NEO garden is quite a popular buffet caterer but heard that it's portion not that big.

Any mommies engaged Jessie catering, Elsie's Kitchen or Select before? Am more concern of the food quality than service.

Libra_bb (piglit21) : are you taking the super value set? the $7/8? i duno what's the review like for stamford. scared later food not nice or they late etc..

Hi cream donut,

I personally find it good and they decorate the buffet line very nice for you. I have been using them for Xmas party and children party. Their signature dish is curry chicken ..go goggle them for review[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tamms,

I want to avoid ops. Can't afford to hve recovery time. I will try go pharmacy to buy the sitz bath tmrw at Tmc. I hope they sell.

Librabb,

Good to hear ur bb is out. I didn't get to speak to pd at all. It's always pass Message fr his clinic's nurse ever since I was Discharged altho they call me daily wif updates. Quite unsettling actually. Tmrw I will get to see him. I hope bb can go HME. But I also worry I cant cope if go HME n have to go back constantly for ck up.

Leeoh,

Thanks for the encouragement! I hope so too. Hve been shuttling between hospital n HME daily n I didn't realise it's already a week since bb was born n I still dun hve him HME. Sigh

Jojobar,

Good to know that even after I break rules I will still be fine. In situations such as mine confinement rules just cannot be applied. I wash my hands so many times jus so to enure we r clean when we touch bb. Even if it means a few years less of my lifespan I think it's still worth it. now all I want is for the piles to go away n for bb to come HME.

Hi pofy

Don't worry so much. Take care of yourself leh. My last pregnancy I not only Kenna piles so I suffer from uti. So you must take good care of yourself to take care of bb. As I was doing tbf at that time, I cannot take antibiotic to clear the uti but more of riding it off... Painful experience.

Do you have any relatives or friends to help you around when the bb is back ? Might want to consider to ask for some help if you are concern

Jojobar (mummychanel) : really? ok i will call them and check it out. thanks for the feedback! btw, u were one of the 2008 mummies tt used them for full month last time? hahah...

Hi crewmdonut,

No. I had my full month for no 1at orchard hotel . This time, we are going back to orchard hotel for no 2. As we are lazy to spilt two sessions hence we book a function room to do a 3 hour hi tea.

I used them for Xmas party and birthday party at home. Quite like them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pofy,

Jiayou! i m sure u can do it , ur BB too. My 1st night with BB was terrible...whole nite didnt slp.

Duno wat he wants.. hahaha.....

How long ur bb latch on each side?

Hi Libra BB,

Chilli Padi is pretty good interm of food as well. Their dish is very much gear toward nonya style which is not suitable for all my guests. Hence i seldom use them and their price is also slight higher thanthe rest. But I have tried them couple of time and their food have been good.

Libra

My baby is a 1 breast per feed baby, I always let him finish 1 side before switching. Mostly no need to switch, 1 side enough for him. Used to be 45min to 1 hr, now it's 25-45min at 3 weeks. Takes long cos he'll fall asleep or unlatch so every time that happens I will burp him and feed again.

was thinking that if we do not have enough breastmilk and need to supplement with formula milk.. could we ask for sample from the milk companies.. seems like they do not send free samples for 0 to 6 mths onwards.

any idea/advice ?