(2011/01) Jan 2011

Hi pooh, the first 20 weeks is all test & test to make sure bb is doing well. During the detail scan, they will check all the major organs eg. heart & lungs, to make sure it's developing well.

Once everything is fine with the bb after the detail scan, we can all happily look forward to the birth of our bb.

ting.. my doc's package is $1400 for normal delivery.. only covers consultation fees for scheduled visits, 1 visit after hospital discharge and surgical assistant fee.. GST not included.. sigh..

going for detailed scan tmr.. according to what my gynae mentioned last time, i think i can opt to record the "happenings" during the scan.. shall ask for the charges tmr..

rather excited for tmr to see how much baby has developed..

anyway i'll be going down to taka baby fair tmr after gynae appt.. most likely will be getting the Avent products, child seat, breast pads, accessories and any other items necessary.. wont be buying much clothes though i'll b super tempted coz there's already 4 other nephews around to pass down clothes.. i'm targeting the maxi-cosi dori car seat.. so hopefully still available tmr when i go down in the evening!

just to update, hubby has gotten a stroller alr and he's very pleased with himself for getting a good deal and a decent stroller.. bought a Capella S228-08 aqua colour from another mother as the baby just refuse to stay in the stroller.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Babyzie:

Thanks. Get back to you on the orders soon ya. Yes, like to have the contact please.

Daphne:

Oh, thats the amino test. You and baby will be fine. Don't worry ok! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi jass1408, not sae very clear lah. but can see lor.

Hi ilovemiffy, too bad me delivering at Mt. A not at Glen.E. if not mayb we can meet at hospital buddy buddy..hee my #1 also starting pre-school Jan 2011. i hope she can adapt.

the side effect for epidural is quite lasting. till now i can still feel numb and pain at my spine on and off. i personally feel that if can don't go epidural is better lei...

i posted a bit but then never really post actively. Just want to ask if anyone knows ppl who were pregnant and had HFMD? So unfortunate, im alr 20 wks pregnant and just found out I have HFMD! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_cry.gif] so worried for the baby. Initially i had appt with gynae today but she rescheduled to next wk. So i cannot check with her also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ting- you start yr #1 at pre-school in Jan? Me too! But arent you worried about how #1 will react when baby comes and he or she gotta go to school? I'm scared my boy will feel like I'm pushing him to school just because baby is here.....

Hi pooh,you are lucky to have the lobang to get Avent product cheap cheap lei. actually i also don't think the product should cost that much. we are just paying for the brand. they charge so much and i think their R&D cost shud has long recovered le. last time i paid $300+ for my avent uno breast pump (normal price) and later found that the bundle price of it with warmer, bottles and cream even cheaper during a sales. heart pain. so later i thot must really take advantage of the sales... ya i agree that besides avent products, the other sales items at taka fair doesn't seem having very attractive offer. i think breast pump buy online cheaper. i m thinking to apply for the taka credit card now to gain the additional 10% discount. but don't think can get it before the fair end :p i very yao kui hor...ha!

Ting,

if can find lobang to buy things from overseas can really save alot. I'm buying my Medela Freestyle from london, cost abt SGD$360. Sgp selling $700!

my #1 also starting preschool next yr, hope she can adapt well before i deliver #2.

grumpus - when are you delivering #2? im wondering whether i should send #1 to school earlier so that he gets used to school first. But the prob is the preschool i signed him up for will not take him in this yr, i will have to find another school for him for this yr first....

pinky_j, don't sigh lah. my package is $2K. only have additional detail scan included which they claim original price ard $300. i thot yours overall still alittle cheaper. Good luck for your scan tml and happy shopping [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happybelle, me very worry actually. i am actually thinking to deliver my bb on 3 Jan so that can complete my confinement before CNY. but my girl starting school that day. my hubby is confident with our girl and wanna go ahead with the plan but i am worry.

grumpus, i bought my PIS thru ebay last time and took advantage of $1 to US$1.3+ exchange rate. i paid abt $400+ inc shipping. to get the pump at $300+ is really cheap.

ya. let's hope all the best to our little ones on their preschool next year ba.

happybelle, why not you let your Gynae know that you kana HFMD and ask if it is necessary to go down have a check? actually i think your GP should be able to advise also.

Fwah! so many of you got relatives and friends oversea to get things for you. so lucky *envy*

happybelle,

my EDD supposed to be 23 Jan, hopefully won't deliver too early so i can settle my girl in pre school first.

Ting,

yup is really worth it cos when u buy from ebay u still hv to pay shipping. but if u hv ppl to help u bring back can save a bit more on shipping.

apple,

u can check prices online from the few major london stores like Boots, Mothercare, Marks and Spencers.

I like to look for bb supplies from Boots and Mothercare. M&S good for buying lingerie.

but must quick quick cos pound going up already

Ting:

O dear, is your girl going to preschool or CC? I'm intending to put my boy into 1/2 day cc in Dec to ease the transition.

Happybelle:

Possible to call your gynae to check if you need to go down to see her asap or you can wait till next week?

re: buy things overseas

Sob not travelling for work anymore, cannot buy. Colleagues who are required to travel are mostly single. A bit hard. Haha maybe ask them to buy clothes from US. Children's clothes cheap and good.

apple - Thanks! Just v unfortunate lor.. Yeah i think baby should be fine, cos 1-3mths most crucial. But not like i can avoid it cos i dun even know where i picked HFMD up from! Funny thing is my 2.5yr old boy ok but i kenna! My immunity lower than his, i think.

Ting - actually i had my appt for 20wk detailed scan today but when i told gynae over phone that i hv HFMD, she suggested reschedule for next week. Can understand lah, after all its contagious and TMC all full of pregnant women and small babies. Boh bian lor....

yah i also worry about my #1. Somemore he's v clingy to me cos i only work part-time, plus baby coming, so im scared he cant adapt well to school. Alr sourcing for another school for him to go in Oct, so that he can start school early and get used to the idea of school. Trouble is, I will then have to switch him on 3Jan to the school i alr signed him up for.

grumpus - 23 jan.... i think can! Got enuf time to settle your girl first.... but bb must guai guai be good and stay in till then!

jass - actually im v worried for baby but gynae says see me next week so boh bian lor, i just have to wait. i was alr hoping to see her today cos it's supposed to be detailed scan and the last time i saw the gynae was 4 wks ago alr.... long long wait!

Hi jass1408, my girl going to cc playgroup. like happybelle, the sch which i enrolled my child only can let my girl start sch next yr.

i registered her for full day cc but think i will let her go half day first. slowly let her adapt.

happybelle, i thot of enrolling my child in another cc for the time being too. but read that the todlers may still feel stress if we switch them to new environment later. so my hubby say just stress her once next Jan.

hi ting

i think the avent breast pump is gd. But 'bu ser de' to buy. too pricey. Cos I am not sure if I got milk or not. If only for a while, then 'bo-hua'.

I am using hand-me-down breast pump. Passed down to 4 pple. haha.. (frm my sis to her gd frd to my sister's sis in law). But very noisy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I am even getting my nursing bra from Mark & Spencer in London. Haha. Sis says its super cheap there.

just had a live update from hubby at taka baby fair that there is a whole range of strollers and childseats there.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pooh,

actually if u invest in a good pump and pump regularly sure got milk one. no such thing as no milk. my cousin's wife after giving birth for one wk then decide she want to breastfeed ask me can or not. i told get a good pump and start pumping sure can. sure enough she manage to breastfeed her bb for one yr.

i also got my non wired bras and nursing bras from M&S in london. super cheap like SGD$15 for one bra.

oh.. just remembered.. any mummies using babysafe mattress for your kids currently? any comments? planning to get one for bb since i like that it's made of latex so it's cooling and rather lasting.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i saw it at kiddy palace..

Happybelle, i got HFMD when i was abt 3 months 1 week from my hubby who also dunno where he got it. It was not a pleasant experience though cos i couldnt walk for 2 days cos of the blisters hidden beneath the skin. Mine was really bad as compared to hubby cos of low immuntiy. I took piriton to treat the rash and also anti inflammatory medication - loratidine. No choice le. I vistied my gynae for my 16th week and told her i got HFMD. she says there are no past cases where HFMD affects the BB so don't have to worry unless u are abt to give birth then got it then maybe might transmit to bb. i have to wait for my 20th week detailed scan to ensure all is ok. like you my gal didnt got it either, we left her at my MIL's place for 1 week then visited her wearing masks and gloves.

I have already sent my daughter to CC since Jun this year as what we have planned, which is a blessing cos she will not feel that i am putting her to school because of a new bb. She took abt 1 month to adapt - her first week was ok, then second week started to cry when we leave her ( they termed as separation anxiety) so every day after the 2nd week, she cried and cling on to us, though after that she will be ok but still very xin tong. She started falling sick too so missed classes here and there. after a month of on and off class going, she is better and look forward to going to school. Now she says greets her teacher and is very happy.

What are your thoughts for second time mummies - do u tink childcare cum nusery/kindergarten or pure kindergarten (like 3 hrs school) is better ?

Hi Pinky,

I am using baby safe toddler pillow for my daughter and it is very good. i think baby safe products are good, but quite pricey. most impt is that it is not too soft for ur bb.

Gingersnap

i understand how xin tong u are cos i just send my son to cc early this mth. i cried when i left him cos i have never left him alone wif strangers before n he is very upset. now he is still adjusting to cc n i hope he will get used to it soon. he cling to my maid after school for the first 2 weeks n refused to go out gai gai wif my hubby n i during the weekend. That was when we realised that he is very scared tat we will abandon him again. we are very sad but we firmly believe that it is for his own good cos he could not learn anything at hme with my maid who speaks broken english. The more time he spends his time at hme with my maid, he picks up bad english. tat was y we send him to cc instead of kindergarten.

this wld be his 3rd week at cc and he is better now, less clingy to maid and started to go gai gai wif us again. i hope he will resume his normal cheerful self again.

hi gingersnap.. where did you get your baby safe pillow from? i'm going to check out taka baby fair if it's selling there as well..

Thanks Grumpus, the avent pump really much cheaper in the mothercare website. But i think the bottles are not that much cheaper or am I wrong? Yes M&S bras are cheap! Should be asking my sis to buy back too but need to determine the size....

Gingersnap: my girl is in CC too. cos i find that when she is home with mil, she eats a lot of junk food and watch too much TV. She is better off in cc learning things. If I am SAHM, I would prefer her in few hours kindy..

My girl took a mth to stop crying (heartpain but have to be hard hearted) and she take bus to and from sch herself........ now she still fuss on and off esp after a long weekend

gingersnap - hey thanks for sharing! i think pregnant women generally immunity lower.... im at the stage now where i can't walk cos of blisters on my feet, and my hands hurt each time there's contact so even simple things like washing of hands or holding a cup is so difficult. the GP i saw didnt prescribe me any medication. Did the piriton and loratidine help with the condition? How long did it take for you to recover?

coconutz - awww i felt so sad when i read your post, must be really xin tong for you initially. I will def feel the same way when i put my boy in playgroup later this year in Oct... somemore he spends so much time with me cos i only work PT and i can foresee he'll definitely cry and scream if i leave him with strangers. Im glad that yr boy is now starting to settle down.... initially xin ku but you're right, but remember it's all for his good! Yours is full day cc?

happybelle,

My gal is now having HFMD too... also worried she might pass on to me... sigh...

I've just order the Medela Freestyle from US.. they are selling at US$299, ordered from mybreastpump.com and my sis-in-law will help me bring back so I can save on the shipping costs.. not sure whether I will be using it or not, coz I hope can really latch on bb, and that will be the best....

My gal is also using babysafe latex mattress... they are really good, coz got 'holes' for ventilation so very cooling...

hoshi - oh no so sorry to hear that! how is yr gal now? now that i have HFMD, i know how incredibly painful it is..... are you isolated from her now? must be extra careful cos i think now that we're pregnant, immunity generally lower. if you're not isolated from her, make sure you always take care to wash your hands and take more vit c for now!

apple,

yes the avent pump and sterilizers are much cheaper in mothercare UK but i also find that the bottles are not much difference. but anyway bottles r small items lah, save also won't save much.

btw, u can actually order online, pay etc everything and choose a store to pickup. then just get yr sis to help u collect when the items reach the store. that's what i did cos a bit difficult for me to explain to hb what to buy etc, scared he buy wrongly.

for M&S can go to sgp outlet and try the size etc then tell yr sis exactly which model and size u want. M&S also has a order online and collect from store option.

Grumpus, that is great! I have one bad shopping experience where the things are never delivered to my sis's place as she was at work and they claimed they have left a note. I think its easier that she go to the store to pick up. whats the exchange rate now? 2.2?

happybelle and hoshi: hope u and hoshi's dd get well soon. really scary recently with a spike in the number of cases. My girl's cc has 5 cases recently. The cc say they are now at level 2. Once reach level 3, have to close for 10 days.

happybelle

i sent my son to a full day cc at cherie hearts so tat my maid can cope with bb at hme after delivery.

i did send him for enrichment class before this n he likes it. how long is yr playgrp? i regretted not sending my son earlier for enrichment class cos kids learn so fast...

apple - thanks dear... it's really scary how HFMD spreads. i dun know where i caught it from....

coconutz - im sending him to half day playgroup in oct... then next year i will put him in another school but that's only 3hrs nursery. the only enrichment class i send my boy to is art class - and he totally loves it!

i have a brand new set of AVENT DUO ISIS IQ breast pump US set to let go... Brand new BPA free, unopen , unused. 1 year international warranty starts from Aug 2010

Interested, please PM me or email me at [email protected]

hi hoshi, for the Medela pump you ordered from US, how does the warranty works? Can the US warranty apply here or there is no warranty? Thanks!

Hi apple and happybelle,

Thanks for ur concern. I'm now staying at home with my gal taking care of her since last Thursday... sigh... left with this stubborn blister on the feet which seems not to go away.. sigh...

Hi furlin,

The warranty only applies to US... and there's no warranty in singapore... I ordered from mybreastpump.com same as the spree organised by LengLeng in the overseas spree...

So far heard no major complains... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pinky, i bot the pillow from Taka so i suppose the taka bb fair should have them.

Happybelle, i took 2 full days to recover where the blisters dried up, then peeling of the skin occurs on the hand first then on the feet. it was pretty unsightly cos its like changing skin. i was away from work for 1.5 weeks.

Apple, i sent my gal to CC cos i want her to learn too. i think they are better there cos they learn to socialise and also share things as well. Ya, quite sad to leave them when they are crying. Don't worry, things will get better once he get used to school. everyday i will constantly tell my gal that she is going to school, then tell her the purpose of us sending her to school (nt sure if she understands) but that really works. We told her you should greet ur teachers when u reach school and say hi to your friends.. and she is pretty happy about going to school now.

Hoshi, please wear a mask or try to isolate yourself from your child if possible. I think the cases of HFMD are on the rise so please take care.

For those of you who have a gal as yr first one and now also expecting a gal, how do you react when u tell people yr 2nd one also gal and they give u THAT look or make comments like 'huh, another gal'. I get so annoyed when people make such comments. I mean yes, it will be nice to have a boy and a gal, and yes, i am disappointed that my 2nd one will also be a gal, but it's not like we have a choice, and boy or gal still our child. They dun usually make such comments if yr 1st one boy and 2nd one also boy tho...sianz. Just dun understand why boys are still so prized compared to gals in this time and age.

I can understand how you feel... coz my first one is gal... before I know the gender, people already telling me hope this will be a boy, otherwise cannot close shop... haiz... but I told them hubby and my gal prefers mei mei... and although this time it's a boy, we felt a bit disappointed... but nevertheless, boy girl is destinated lor... so long as baby healthy can already...

Hoshi - ya, when people found out i preg, a few of them also say hope i get boy this time round. I feel pretty angry when they say that and find it quite insensitive of them, like they are saying too bad yr first one is a gal, hope u dun kena another gal.

Actually i told my hubby, if no 2 is a boy, still may hv slim chance that may try for no 3 (cos always plan to stop at 2, but who knows if will change our minds in the future :)) But if no 2 is also a gal, i will definitely stop at 2 and close shop, cos if i go on to try for no 3, people will think that i really want a boy and i dun want my 2 gals to feel that mummy and daddy really want a boy also and they will feel as if gal not as impt as boy.

Actually don't think so much... just ignore them lor. When people ask me abt the bb's gender, we told them we prefer gal gal... Actually now also quite worried coz I dunno how to take care of boy.....coz no.1 is gal...

just got back from taka after going to gynae for detailed scan.. so far all ok according to gynae.. but half the time when he was pointing out different parts of bb's heart.. i didnt understand a single thing.. i was happy to see the baby's features, fingers and toes though not clear.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gingersnap.. i only saw the baby safe mattress.. but i didnt get the mattress.. i was hoping to see the pillows but they didnt have the baby safe ones.. i shall go get it from kiddy palace..

rachel.. it depends on what you are planning to buy.. many items are going at a good price.. i only bought avent newborn set of bottles, maxi-cosi child seat, 1 jumpsuit for baby, 1 nose cleaner and 1 box of pigeon breast pads.. i didnt know what else to get.. many strollers going for quite a steal actually.. must go down and see what you are comfortable in getting.. for breast pumps, i still need to check with my sister in law if she still has hers.. if not i'm tempted to get medela freestyle.. still need to consolidate the list of items that i need to get.. but probably not all from the taka baby fair.. super expensive parking at taka today.. was drizzling so didnt risk of parking elsewhere..

sputnik.. dun care what others say.. as long as you n hubby are contented can alr.. u can nvr control what pple say..

sputnik - actually no leh, boy or girl ppl will always tend to comment 1 boy 1 girl very good.... my #1 is a boy everyone kept telling me before i found out gender for #2 that if it's a girl, then can form the 'hao' characte, so nice to have 1 girl 1 boy then can close shop, etc.... And somemore i've always wanted a girl too.... but in the end found out it's another boy im expecting.... so when i broke the news to everyone it was like "awwww you can always try for a third one". Even my maid gave me a sympathetic look! Grrrr.....im sure if it's a girl this time everyone will be telling me wahhh congrats 1 girl 1 boy can close shop..... I wish everyone will stop saying this whole 1 girl 1 boy thing, esp gender not up to us to control!!

lol :p

eh, when it comes to this whole "ppl-commenting-on-the-gender" issue .. I am the one having to endure the most comments lor.

we always planned for 4. never more. and my 4 are all girls .. every time I was pregnant, I heard plenty of comments of "hope it's a boy for you" comment, then when I found out it's a girl, without fail, ppl will say,"awwww try again lor"

eh, this isn't TOTO lar. I'm not getting pregnant 20 times just to get a boy. we wanted 4 lor. we didn't really care if they were boys or girls .. we can't really control what.

then this time, ACCIDENT .. pregnant again. haiz, everyone thinks we are trying for a boy. I almost HOPE it's a girl. We're just praying for a healthy baby at the end of the day.

sigh

hi all mum to be

i have many sachet of milk powder of different brands selling at $1.20 each

similac mum 50gx3 sachets expiring 14/04/2011

Enfamum 50gx1satchet expring 13/11/2010

Dumex Mamil Mama 48g x 8 satchets (6 expiring on 13/11/2010 & 2 expiring on 16/05/2011)

Collection at Clementi Mrt/ Bt Panjang. Postage will be ard $2-$3 cos its a bit bulky.

Email me at [email protected] if interested

wah kristalangel,

u are so brave to have 4 kids!!... I'm barely surviving with 1, and with another 1 coming, dunno how I can manage it... gosh!

happybelle,

tat's so true too. U've got one boy, and people hope next one it's a girl. And if got girl, people hope next one it's a boy.... hiaz... Think we just ignore them... anyway they are not the ones to take care of our children, so we don't have to take their words to heart. I'm sure whether it's boy or girl, we will still love them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sputnik: Ignore them lah. I dunno my baby gender yet but I hoping for a girl again but if boy I am also okie (actually same as hoshi, i dunno how to take care of a boy ahha cos i come from a family of 3 girls). Pple already give me the OOOO and ahhhh when I say I hoping for a girl haha.

Kiristangel: ahha I can imagine pple must be thinking u are trying so hard for a boy ahah.

Pinky_j: do u remember how much u bought for the Avent newborn set?