(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

ladies: let me ask a very philosophical question.
To a preggy, which is the lesser evil? cup noodles or fried black carrot cake?

miemie >> no prbs..i will go ahead cos i am dying to move my kena-confined-at-home-for-a-mth limbs! do join later when u feel good abt it...hopefully i am still in the class

HRD >> i asked HB to buy me a tennis ball...he gave me a damn weird look when i said i need it to do a bum exercise..rats, now i've alot of explaining to do.

Angie >> welcome and I am a worry wart too. Every time i march in for my gynae visit, i'll whip out my notes and start asking...think she buay tahan..ask and you will be answered..muahahaha..but really, i think u are fine. don't worry!

astro >> now lying on my left side..my right thigh becomes super painful..cannot stretch straight..i got to slowly slowly move into position. the pain like i'd a fall on my butt on a hard flr...

i was thinking of maggi mee yesterday night..today i was dreaming of carrot cake all thanks to miemie..i think i think...instant noodles if they don't have MSG and trans fat..or else, carrot cake it would be. cos at least it has an egg??

xoxo: are u having cramps in ur legs? wah. how come sound so bad one?

ha.. i had a hard boiled egg before i ate my cup noodles.. still i feel weird! :S
haiz.. give up.. dunno what to eat!

xoxo; did i tell u.. i am exactly like u? will have a long list of questions.. i literally write them on a LONG strip of paper.. eunice was patient in answering them. but i guess it was really mundane. some of my questions.. to the exteng she said 'XX, if you don't have any bleeding, you are fine'... hahahhahah! then i shut up after that..although i still tell her i feel uneasy over something..

astro >> the idea is not to waste the doc's time mah...so i tell her, i've a weird way of interacting with professionals ard me. first i will research things related to our interaction, fig out my qns abt them/their work, then i will bring along these lists...so far, i'll let my gynae talk first..and she will automatically cue me..what do u have to ask today? that's how we ended up talking abt the birth plan, doula, pain mgmt, the US pic (she pointed out the knee caps..i can't get over this..but i totally missed the "yolk sac" thingy.) i was kinda happy that the baby looked contented in the "crescent"..so it shows, lists aren't fool-proof.

the pain's really nasty at moments. isn't a cramp but it's like i took a hard knock somewhere. i don't walk now..i waddle. unglam. i think it's so premature! just when my MS is subsiding (i hope hope hope..today was good so far xxxxxx)..i thought i can get the nursery in order. i made a list for that too...things to give away, things to buy, things to re-organise..i even wanted to visit the barang barang 90% disc sale at senoko..in the end, with this yucky weather and a tired HB..we are still home

xoxo: wah! i think u are heeding into the 2T.. thuogh ur MS is still here.. :p.. u got so much energy to want to do this and that.. ha :p

same here. she always asks me what i want to ask .. but i think she has lots of patients.. to spend half an hour answering all my questions! ha...

hmmm.. i really forgot all my preg facts liao. ops.. ha.. could also be ur ligaments loosening.. u feel a stretch as u walk?

xoxo: u are biased wor.. boys are equally cute :p

think for me.. it will be 'different'.. i might just treat my girl like a boy! ops.. :p

astro >> yep, walking creates a sort of pull and pain...boy or girl..is the same, but i think a girl will be loads more sensitive..

xoxo: then it is stretching of the ligaments liao.. common during the first tri.. apparently..i had that nearing the end of 2nd T.

xoxo,
hahaha... you'll have even more explaining to do when he sees what you do with the tennis ball. ;) warn u first ah. when you do initially its sore. but continue doing it, will become better.

astro,
i think black carrot cake better than instant noodles. yah lor. at least got egg inside mah. hehe... i've resolved to go get black carrot cake for supper tonight. hehe...

astro >> no more coke for me for today...ligaments?? i didn't know i had much of them..they sure are making their presence FELT..

HRD>> we are becoming a carrot cake forum today..i've ordered that for dinner. kekekeke...looking fwd to it..hopefully no MS after that. astro..did u get the carrot cake afterall?

xoxo/HRD: ha.. i initially wanted fried carrot cake.. coz i didn't have enough for lunch coz i wasn't feeling too well.. asked ellie go down see, no have! end up.. i took the greater evil.. --- cup noodles! :S.. but before that i took one full boiled egg.. huh.. :p
it is not because i have a craving for it leh. it is because the coffeeshop downstairs had nothing! can't be telling me to eat one packet of RICE right??? :S

xoxo: today no MS at all?! steady lah! ur light is getting brighter liao! :p

hello, just came back from my steamboat dinner ... fully satisfied. Now taking some vitagen to aid the digestion. Will overeating harm the growth of the bb huh? i seem to be eating non-stop. And after the steamboat, still went for durian pomelo sago desert.

today, felt my somach pulling in all areas (before dinner la, after dinner, i'm pretty sure its the food). sometimes its like a sudden jab, leaving me a bit surprised, but i supposed its all right.

When i go to my gynae, i also pull out my list of questions. Why are we paying so much for each consultation? the reason why we are seeking a specialist is to have all our questions answered right ... so just ask away. That $80 we are paying for is for their expertise.

mascot: wah. steamboat?!.. can finish ah?.. i can only eat small amounts. but that leaves me hungry all the time.. end up i alwys forage for food.. so chiam.

it dun harm the growth. but careful dun put on too much coz might have gestational diabetes, pre-eclampia.. yada yada..

ha.. i have learned to ask only the 'impt' questions.. :p

(just like to share this bizarre news i read today)

Woman Gave Birth, Left Baby On Pacific Blue Plane: Reports

WELLINGTON, New Zealand — A woman who secretly gave birth on a flight from Samoa to New Zealand may face criminal charges, police said Friday, as they investigated reports she abandoned her baby alive in the plane's bathroom.

Police are inquiring into "the alleged ... abandonment of the child by the mother" after the flight landed in New Zealand on Thursday, police communications manager Ana-Mari Gates-Bowey said. "A likelihood of this investigation is a criminal prosecution."

Media reports said the mother left the baby in a bathroom waste bin on the Pacific Blue plane carrying 150 passengers; others said she was spotted with bloodied clothes in an immigration line. Police have declined comment on the reports.

Gates-Bowey said late Thursday the woman had undergone surgery at Auckland's Middlemore Hospital and was later reunited with her baby. Its gender has not been disclosed.

"We are relieved to have been informed that both mother and child are reunited, are well and are now being looked after in hospital," Pacific Blue said in a statement Thursday.

The 30-year-old woman, believed to be a Samoan national, got off the aircraft at Auckland International airport early Thursday without flight attendants knowing she had given birth.

Immigration officials are investigating what information the woman provided on her visa application and how she boarded the airplane at such an advanced stage of pregnancy, spokesman Rowan Saker said.

President_astro: when i get hungry, i get pretty naseous and all kinds of food will seem very turned off. But once i start putting them in my mouth, i can wallop everything down. I wish i'm pickier about food, at this rate, i'll balloon in no time. Already this evening, i couldn't zip up my shorts without the lower tummy bulging out. *shake head*. HB ask if its the baby; i told him its water rentension :p (its my excessive eaing these few days la)

Regarding the news, why this woman give birth so easy huh? Then baby no cry? why no one knows? and how she cut the placenta? And... its clear she don't want her baby lor, what so relieving to know that she has reunited with her baby? i see liao also abit angry

mascot: ha.. my tummy from my last preg is still there.. Miser also asked me if i am showing yet.. i told him.. 'left overs from teng'.. hahahah.. got a very slght bluge.. very very slight. cannot see it. but can feel it with fingers kind..

strange hor? i never watched the news. i am also wondering.. not painful.. so fast?! u meant the umblical cord?. the placenta will just come out after birth.. it is the umblical cord.. which needs to be cut..

astro >> my light is getting brighter..didn't have MS today at all..but i can feel a little bit comin' now...the stuck-in-the-throat is happening again.
but the frequency is getting less and less..and i don't feel the nausea 24/7...

siangjiao >> I was thinking of the steamboat at roxy square...haiz..maybe i will try to go there for lunch with a friend soon...hehehehe...

Hi MTBs,

Can i join in? I was from the Jan 07 thread.
i was now having #2.

i read through the previous posts and saw tat i had the gynae with joyce, roxie and ginger.

siangjiao: I share the same sentiments with you about how easily she give birth. Seems so easy for her.Maybe people who give birth easily abandone their kids easily too. I have seen alot though i cannot fathom why and how either.

wtpooh: Hi.

IceBlue: Hi.

Is it due to the rain that is why my shoulder is so stiff/aching these few days?

xoxo,
nah, i din get the carrot cake afterall. was feeling queasy all the way from after dinner time. its been like this the past week. i can only eat a little and right after i stop eating i feel like puking. (except i never vomit out)
speaking of roxy sq steamboat. the one at the basement rite? sorry ah. my first time there will be my last. kena rip off there. the uncle asked if we wanted to try their specialty "hae cho" (prawn ngoh hiang). wasn't on the menu but we thot try lah. scarly later the total bill came up to $40+ for 2 of us (we din order a lot) so i questioned. then found out their bloody charge us like $16 for hae cho. i was pissed man. so altho pple say this one cheaper than parkway mini steamboat, i ended up getting ripped off.

wtpooh, iceblue, welcome!

P_Astro,
14hrs labour??? that's why on the onset i wanted to just go for c-section. so scary. cos i know of some frens went into labour too long, baby still can't come out, in the end emergency c-section anyways. *scared*

siangjiao,
preggy book says around week 10, std weight gain should be around 3kg. if you're around there then its fine i guess. i feel like tummy getting rounder by the day too. but luckily i cant really overeat, cos eat too much like wanna puke. but i eat very often lah. like every 2-3 hrs, half portions.

xoxo,
oh yah, i have a better place for beef steamboat in the east. if you eat beef that is. u know hua you wee near bayshore park? actually its diagonally opp the summit. yup. but only avail weekday nights.

hello babes.. wa, din know my breakfast yesterday sparked off another commotion.. hahaha...

how's everyone today? forum's very quiet..

me last night had a super blocked nose, both sides of the nose blocked and i couldnt really sleep... went to see a GP this morning and given medi, but im trying not to take any other medi.. so hopefully the blocked nose wun come back and find me tonight. backside today ached like mad, couldn't even walk straight, think is the bone shifting or sthg..

my tummy is showing, quite obvious i feel.. maybe its fats but i tink i prefer to think is the baby growing.. talk about self deceit! wahahaha

MieMie: Take comfort in the fact that tummy only start showing now. Mine start showing about 6 weeks back.

I have this block nose problem as and when. I suspect it is due to the aircon. Do you stay in air con room alot? Can try to add in a fan. Improve the ventilation. I read somewhere that this nose block (sinus) comes along with pregnancy.

I am feeling stress and moody today....

Hi there wtpooh and iceblue, welcome!

Been a crazy weekend for me! so tired. Couldn't sleep properly last night and brought my bunny to the vet this morning coz he's not feeling well. spent the later part of the afternoon recce-ing little india for a early morning shoot tomorrow! :S

Hope all your weekends weren't as crazy as mine! hahaha :p

ww>> my tumym started showing quite sometime back, but now its getting more and more obvious, im not sure if it's due to the fact that im putting on a lot of weight now...

ya, at night i sleep in the air-con room, it gets too stuffy if i switch on the fan only.. my nose is starting to feel a bit swollen, wonder if its the sinus that is causing it..

MieMie: Heheh as for mine i think it is mainly due to fats. What i mean is switch on both, aircon plus fan. Leave the door ajar. Air the room frequently. Try other ways rather than taking medicine first.

welcome wtpooh and iceblue!

Iceblue: ha.. glad to see you here too.. used to lurk at Jan 07 as well (for a very short while).. but have MIA from there for a long long time liao

HRD: for the first bb.. 12 - 14 hours is quite common.. coz it takes forever to dilate (average 1cm per hour).. of course. u can have lucky mummies who deliver in less than 10 hours.. hmm.. quite beyond our control lah..
as for ur frens.. i think their bbs were either in destress or there were some complications i suppose.. else normally they will try to conitnue with the vaginal birth.. or use some form of assistance.. such as the vaccum or forceps..

for me.. my case is slightly 'interesting'.. my water bag broke on 1st jan at 9am plus.. i could go on and let it keep leaking/gushing (which is darn uncomfortable).. but i felt.. wow, how cool is it to have a bb on 1st jan?! hhahaha (fyi, 31 dec is my wedding anniversary. hahahah.. )teng's EDD was 3 jan.. ok. so we went and got myself admited lah..
at the labour ward (not the delivery suite ah), iwas still very happily looking around coz no contractions at all.. but the gushing of waterbag is really darn irritating.. then my gynae appeared.. asked me if want to induce? (coz she knows i have read that if labour persists more than 24 hours when the water bag is already broken, there lies a risk of infection).. then i asked normally how long is the induction? she said ' out in 6 hours'.. i waslike.. wah. cool seah..and i really hated the irritating gushes of water which i had to keep changing pads!

I reasoned to myself.. first labour 6 hours nia,on a 1st of jan.. i will be out of the deliver suite at about 4pm.. not that bad mah.. and via epidural.. 'painless'.. not bad. maybe i can have a second bb.. i was so proud of myself that i thought i was making a very very logical and right choice..

hahaha. and knowing that induction will be more painful.. i said, ok, i will take the epidural.. then ok.. i had a happy time with no feeling of contractions at all.. all the way till the late afternoon, when i started to get quite numb from all the epidural.. but i cannot turn nor toss.. haiz.. how chiam.. and i was so cold.. (i think the an ... (dunno how to spell) really up my dose of epidural quite a lot.. coz he gave me a choice..'feel something' or 'feel nothing'.. of course i took the choice' of not feelign anything.. alamak..)

bad mistake

then i was all numb and i can't turn.. haiz. back was BREAKING from the numbness.. and dilation is slower than expected.. till 115o + i started pushing.. but i was so numb and i dun feel any contactions. i can't push!.. teng was in a cha cha lor.. forward one step, back another 2.. argh.. funny how the gynae and nurses keep saying.. imagine u are pooing.. my feeling then was.. does anyone poo lying down?!

then miser was supporting my neck.. and when gynae says push. he did all the pushing.. on my neck! gosh. then and there, i reall yfelt i will break into 2!.. then at 1152, gynae asked me, still want ot conitue.. by then i was almost ready to take c-section!.. then she said.. dunn have to go to that extent.. can choose the vaccum.. i asked how long will vaccum take? she said '2 minutes".. i was like 'how come u didn't tell me earlier?!'.. she said 'coz i thought u wanted to try mah'.. *sigh*.. then teng was out at 1152pm lor.. just in the nick of time lah. else he will be 2nd jan.. which i think he wants lah.. argh..

so there. u go. in my birthplan, i wanted NOTHING.. and up i have the works.. gosh..

till today, i still say.. i didn't die from the pain. but i died-ed from the numbness! horrible experience with the epidural wor..

ok. sorry for the long sotry. but i hope it was amusing enough :S

xoxo: i remembered either u or someone else was asking the birth stories of mummies who already have their #1.. and i said something like.. wait till i got mood to write.. see? it is that long!

re tummy showing..
hmm. i think there is simply too much left overs from teng.. i dun see anything.. i can feel it with my fingers though. but the belly is still bigger than #2 though. ha..

didn't have a good dinner just now. maybe because i was so full , still, at lunch time. coz i had instant oats drink with a sandwhich..
ate a few piece of penne pasta nia..

(side track.. teng's fierce appetite is back! he finished his usual two bowls of udon.. plus almost 1/3 of miser's upsized Alfredo penne! so creamy! yet he kept eating.. and also one garlic bread!)

then i had dinner at about 5.. no apetite. take one small slice of rock melon sorbet.. and just one sushi and a plate of jap beans (the green ones.. cannot remmeber the name suddenly)..

then teng was rejecting ellie's pasta.. then miser and i concluded that he ate too much lunch.. turns out.. no! he just didn't want the pasta. i ordered a chawanmushi set (with rice, and miso soup), mixed everything up , he almost finished the entire bowl of rice!
come back can still drink 180ml of diluted milk (coz was told by PD to give him diluted milk)

now asking miser to go down get some deep fried chicken wings for me..(again coz there's nothing to eat).. haiz.. this time.. so unhealty

no one around? gosh. i am talking to myself..:p

P >> my MS is back..yesterday and today. it gets worse in the evenings..i had rock melon for dessert this afternoon too. rock melon + bile = rock acid! whahahaha..my mum shared with me that she took the epidural for my elder sis and had an experience similar to yours. she was bent over walking the next day too..mine was a natural birth..within 3 hrs. whoa..14 hrs sounds..bad. i am so impatient..nothing more than 5 hrs...sheesh...

HRD >> hua yu wee? that's opp my mom's place..where i grew up..but the thing is, i always felt it looked "old world"...muahahaha..ok, will keep in mind. i take beef..no mutton though.

HRD >> kena ripped off at the steamboat place? whoa..i think singapore is really turning into a dishonest city...i didn't take their "off-the-menu" items..so most times when i dine there with my HB, we never go beyond $25...i'll keep in mind..this makes for a good press story :p

welcome iceblue and wtpooh...

iceblue: i am seeing the same gynae too. cos the clinic is near my place. u mentioned #2, so did u engage him for #1. Is he good?

Hi gals, I am now craving for mcspicy. shld i or shld i not eat? so unhealthy hor?

strawberrystars >> eat whatever you love now...cos sometimes the appetite just don't come...i'd mackies for breakfast today...

can anyone advice how am i supposed to do the tennis ball therapy?? i bought them for my achy butt...couldn't get it to stay in place for my butt to ride on it?? my HB is terribly amused..

xoxo: alamak. rock acid?! gosh.. sounds very painful! :S
if u want everything done within 5 hours.. it means must dilate 2 cm per hour.. and u must be able to push the bb out in less than 15 minutes.. :p possible? :p

yalor. the numbness from epidural is horrible! hmmm but then again. i dunno how bad is the contractions. i WILL try to rely on the laughing gas this time round. and be MOBILE! i cannot lie on that stupid bed anymore. can die..

strawberry:mcspicy? wow wow wow. i think if i eat that.. tonight. i dun have to sleep liao. indigestion. how chiam.. :S

HRD/xoxo: oh.. hua you wee.. i been there.. coz my family likes to celebrate those older folks bdays there.. coz hainanese ran mah. they knwo the bosses. always so thick skinned get discount :p
i quite like the outdoor area. i remebered there was a swing of somekind. maybe it is no longer there though..