(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

FM:
i m using Friso. Since i got the sample bottle from KKH when discharge. I think they supplement him tat during our stay in hosp. So far no prob, so i sitck to it. My bro say Similac is the most ex, sometimes can go out of stock easily too.

Full month- cakes:
my FIL say since we are throwing a buffet, then no need cakes. think these days also v few pple appreciate full mth cakes. Will only give the vouchers to those I m not inviting for the buffet ( I can possibly invite the whole world right).

Feeding schedule:
My boy roughly have a routine of 3hrly feed now. At nite, i still need to wake up 2-3times. Quite tiring. So i alwaz try to sleep when he sleep in the day too.

Pacifier:
My boy seem to keep looking for something when he want to sleep, esp at nite. But my Mum say only give in to pacifier after his full month. So now, i let him suckle when he cannot be settled down for sleep.

Startled in sleep:
Yah, my boy often cry out loudly suddenly from his sleep, seem like a nitemare. Guess that's quite normal. After carrying him awhile, he's fine.

saroqueenie: I used Cupcake momma for Justin's first month party last Sunday.

2192713.jpg

Mummyo,
Wow, you're really good! Give birth in the morning, home in the evening! I guess with 3 it's better this way. For me, I could have gone home the next day (gave birth at 8 am) but we chose to stay the 2 allotted days of our package cos the thought of going home and handling all 3 was too daunting!

My Gabriel has come awake these 3 days! This morning he didn't nap at all! He only napped in my arms, and little short ones in his bassinet. Jialat. Plus, I had visitors, so maybe that contributed to his wakefulness. *sigh*. Hope he settles soon.

hi mommies

Am sorry for not posting on forums..... my baby is handful and keeping me occupied for a long time....
no sleep at all....please do bear with me ..

will be back soon

Congrats Mummyo!!!!

LemonT, really long time no hear frm you.

Re: milk monster and green papaya fish soup
My supply of BM has ranged from 100-150 ml each pump and i only pump about 3-4 times a day.
but now i guess i have to find ways to increase my supply cos the milk monster is catching up.
now about 1.5-2hr, he will look for milk. giving him from 60 - 80 ml each time.
i was reading about the foremilk and hindmilk thingy posted by Veron and think that maybe each bottle of EBM contain different type, maybe some more hind milk etc, that why such irregular feeding demands.

sartaryeo...
usually if my baby needs more i will supplement with formula... but its also difficult...cuz by the time she unlatches on me, she refuses to accept the other breast or the milk bottle...then i got to put her back to sleep then give her the other breast plus formula in 45 min time... now I just latch her on demand....she wants I give then at nite I give formula for the 3am feed so i can steal some decent hours of sleep! :p

congrats mummyo!
salute u, u can cope with 3. i put my boy with my mum for the time being. then full month shift to stay with my mum. weekend only bring 1 back with me. till 6 months then i bring little gal home. cant manage

wintertime
i also feed bb on demand. as and when needed. sometimes 1.5h she cries for milk, sometimes 2h sometimes canlast 3 hrs. my girl only 2 weeks old but drink about 80ml for each feed. mummies. is it too much?

kkf
is ur girl colicky? i put oil after bath and nite b4 zz for her so she can sleep properly in the nite. u may try to see helps not.
every bb is diff. maybe ur bb dun drink so much. drink till vomit is no good.
blueb
2-3x nite feed when on TBM? how did u do it? i tot TBM will wake up every hourly? my friend's bb on TBM, practically sucking to sleep and wakes up every hourly. she told me i was like.... wah so scary!

saroqueen
my mum made bean sprout husk pillow for my gal to put on her belly when she sleeps. she said helps to reduce startleness. I saw that OG sells it. it's call wheathusk pillow for bb. I find that helpful. maybe u want to get one for ur bb?

peachmomo
i called cupcake mama a few times but never reply. heard must order really in advance cos they always fully booked. is it true?
i send my mum for cupcake lesson so she can make for bb full month and their birthdays! save money. ha ha

Asleighh
My BB also does that. Guess it normal. Looks kinda of weird rite.

Jas
Erm, guess I will throw away..kekeke. When u say pump 100ml, means other than giving BM via latching, you managed to pump extra 100ml a day to keep?

DK
Hmm, not sure whether is my skin sensitive but after malay massage with the binding, my skin gets really itchy. And I went and scratched which cos some bleeding. Itchy fingers.

Wintertime,
No worries. Keep on trying. I was the same. Drink more liquid and papaya soup. No stress. Also, pump when u feel more relax like after a bathe or after meals.

Catmomo
U can try rivermall at sengkang. Family Clinic. My gynae recommend this clinic too.

I would like to find out if we need to discard formula milk after a month opening it? I have a tin of FM which I used only a couple of times and find it a waste to throw it away. Any thoughts?

mummyo: congrats! n u r great sia drug free n can discharged so fast. wif only 2 stitches..btw hw u al knw hw many stitches u have? me only saw gynae kp sewing think alot bah.. me stil fel abit pain, lik needle pricking type of pain at the sides. but got bet liao.

whitegalz/spicegal/catmomo: u al also giv FM?
i giving my gal similac, yst brg her to PD, PD say for her weight (nw 3.9+) she wil nd 80-90ml feed evry 3 hrs, nw kping to tt, if she make noise earlier wil giv her plain water. at nite then giv her pacifier..but if only she really make loud noises..otherw i try nt to giv her pacifier too.

Baby Breana's Update
Baby Breana was warded KKH on 8th Feb when she was 27days old, for sudden rashes which appeared from face, neck & gradually to limbs then the trunk.

I was freaked out cos the rashes looked lumpy & spots look like having pus in it. so we went KKH. Other then the rashes, Breana was alright. she was feeding & sleeping well but still hv to be warded for observation cos the rashes doesnt look common to them. we even had a skin specialist who came to the ward to look at her. Blood test was done too.

The MO, or registra or consultant & skin specialist really scared the hell out of me for saying that it might be a viral infection known as Acute Urticaria. As blood test is cleared of bacteria & baby is not showing any signs of discomfit, she was discharged the next day but if rashes persist for 4-6wks, biopsy have to be done.

After discharge, the rashes gradually reduced. & her skin bcome very fair & pinkish again. the next day, after bathe, the rashes appeared again & then subsized. i start to realise maybe the water was too warm for her. but little Breana seems to enjoy the warm water. so from that day onwards, i use only lukewarm water @ room temp only & the rashes never react again.

Yday, when we went to the PD, i relate the incident to him & he told me it was baby's skin reaction to water temperature. Upon hearing that, i suddenly felt so angry w all the doctors @ KKH. how can they be so unknowlegdeable?! my PD says KKH is a "training" hosp so even if its nothing serious, they still have to ward the baby for observation, do blood test.. etc. Baby Breana was pricked twice for blood test, 1st to see if theres bacteria, 2nd is suspect of jaundice. i told the doc off for being so undecisive. if they have suspected jaundice, they shld have drawn more blood from 1st prick. all they do is to apologise.

2 other beds in the same ward, both were warded for fever & born in KKH. 1 mum told me that her baby was suspected of brain infection which might be from her. i asked her whether she did the Vaginal Swab test & she said she wasnt told by the gynae in KKH that she NEED to do the test! so now suspected that she actually contracted the GBS during her pregnacy. Poor baby.. my heart really goes out to her.. wondering how is the little baby girl doing now.

Given a choice, i rather not go KKH. but what to do, its the only children hospital in SG.

hey Mummies
How does your vagina area feel after birth/stitching? My flesh (the piece of flesh) within the vagina area seems harder. Also, feel stretched on that area. is this normal. Not keen to go gynae check up, ex! haiz

kkf
I don't think it's the formula that causes colic. Probably it's more like the bottle or the teat that causes her to take lots of wind in as she drinks. Just burp properly after that should be ok and try sitting her upright to feed.

I guess KKH is just trying to play safe. Anyway, I really can't stand places which treat me like I've had an heart attack when i only just delivered my baby so I wanted to get out of the hospital as soon as possible.

koli
I'm just fussy and stubborn so I can't stand other people taking care of my children. My older boys are also at their grandparents now cos of their flu, afraid to pass to baby but I'm quite sad cos I don't like to keep my kids separated cos I believe it's important for them to get used to one another as soon as possible and grow up together.

Privileged
For me, I can only sleep on my own bed so if i had stayed in the hospital I wouldn't have gotten ANY sleep. That's how fussy I am. Nothing like your own home. Hehe.

mummyo.... U take care!!! Let ur hubby do more n u rest more now! Ya, I totally agree w u tat now baby is out, we r much more mobile n I really happy abt gaing this mobility back! Esp now my c sec wound almost healed aldy, so v happy, can move as I like
Great tat u only had 2 stitches!!!! Guess all the sex n perineum massage has helped!!

Wow! 3 deliveries a nite! He told u ah? I guess being a gynae has alot to sacrifice... When I was in labour in hospital, the nurse will call him when either me or bb has prob, regardless of wat time it was.. N it was then tat I realised really nt easy to be a gynae, u r on call 24/7!

Me has decided to ask the CF to go liao. i hope i cld settle this by 1st mar. tdy hubby call fren's contact but its an agent n she says she cant promise can get tt lady cos cant choose de by rite.

we hp can get back the same lady my fren use then can no n wry liao. but if worst case cant then no choice use other lady frm the agent at least anyth can find the agent

aft settle this i can arrange for my massage liao'

DKmama: i heard from ppl that we shld nt start too late. for natural birth ones no operation we can actly start from 5th day. but my mum dun recmd she say aft 12 day.anyw nw i cant afford the time, cos nt fang xin baby wif CF. so i also haven do my massage.
nw gt CF arnd i stil need my mum/mil they drop by help see see while i can rest( i cant sleep jus lie dwn rest) they see me kp walk here n there do tis n tt no rest, they bu fang xin, say no gd. so on off they drop by. so touched

whitegalz...I also still readg... Tink not easy to implement. Gor me, I dunno how to entertain my boy when he is awake! Cos he alwiz wan to carry! In fact, I alwiZ hope he jus sleep after feed... Very bad of me hor...

Catmomo... My fren recommended this PD in hougang ave 8. Open by a couple, husband PD, wife GP. But my fren say both gv same medicine, even thou consultation charges r diff. Below is the add...

Saw Baby n Child Clinic
blk 681 hougang ave 8 #01-827
tel: 63865732, 63864538

Dr Saw is the PD, Dr Khoo is the GP. U can call to ck their respective consultatn hours.

SY
yup i latch bb during the day, and in between feeds, will pump 2-3 times a day to keep for nite feeds.
Each pump abt 100ml-120ml.

I'm a March MTB and i'm abit confused over what would count as contraction. I know contractions are like cramp-like feeling but do you start timing them only if it is like real intense and unbearable or as long as you are feeling the cramps?

Can any mummies help?

wow Jas

You are good leh..so much milk...i will jiayou...

Hi Ann
The pain should be bearable abt 5 mins interval. But more intense than normal cramp.

hee i haven go time talk abt delivering my baby, here it goes(haha outdated updates:

17feb nite:
severe backaches, rib aches

18feb:
went to gynae, no signs of contractions:

19feb 5+am:
got up due to similar pain, 6+ got back to bed, at 6.50am felt very warm, guess its the waterbag burst, and did not dare to move, woke hubby up, confirmed its the water. aft the gush of water finish then i slowly waddle to bathroom.

19feb 7+am: took bath, changed, n had bread, milo tgth with hubby, aft that called cab and head hospic with all the barang barang.

7.35am in cab, water flowed agn 3 times, got pad so stil ok, but the 4th one was the gush so my whole bottom was wet..at the end wet the cab, hubby paid him more n told him to clean, heng its a malay taxi driver, if chi they sure scold cos bang dang this early in the mrn:

arnd 7.45am:
wheeled to delivery ward. evryth started liao, go toilet clear shit etc..3cm dilated. gynae arrived at 10+, nurse told him i in severe pain(backache) aft discus, decided to go for epi.

12noon:
9cm dilated...but contractions not strong..so wait n wait..
2+pm: finally gynae came..forgt wat time start pushing, but my contraction is still slow..need wait few min for the contraction , n which i could only do 2 push then wait again...3 nurses on me helping me to push...

3.23pm:
Baby nicole arrived! assisted with forceps

koli...well, an example of his timg..12am, 230am, 5am, 7am...but of course, there r days when he wakes like every 1 or 1.5hrs to feed!! But I hope it wun happen so frequently. For me, I jus latch on, no expressg of milk, so not so taxing. But sometimes wake up really v tired, keep fallg asleep while feedg him, plus I still dunno how to lie dwn n latch yet..

mummyo , until now i haven learnt to burp my baby successfully! hw u al manage to burp ur baby? itry al stroking methods but can do it

DK.. i have done 3 sessions of massage. I would say my tummy getting smaller each day. But she said the binding to be on at least for 7 hours. i usually took it out after 4 hours.. cant stand that tightness and it makes BF difficult! I was thinking my tummy not that big to begin with.. so i can cut the binding timing into half? hehehe..

But the best part is still the massage! with all the bendings when tending to baby, esp during BF and pumping BM (tend to bend forward to see baby or the milk coming out), i ended up with a backache. Now its gone!

iceblue, i topping up with NAN HA 1 now.. my daily supply only 4-500ml of BM.. the rest need to top up.. i will give FM for night feed and first morning feed so she can last longer..

kkf, your gal 3.9kg at 1 mth is good weight already!! she will slowly catch up with the rest, dont worry.. she is your little champion who can stay in your tummy for so long.. she is very strong i feel..

SY, mine is okie leh.. not hard.. maybe wait for a while more then will feel better?

Ann, my contractions concentrate on lower back.. the pain and ache all on lower back.. you will know it when ur contractions come, it is different from normal cramps..

ashleigh, my ML told me that the binder can support back to prevent backache..

now my tummy 31inch leh.. urs? before i gave birth, it was 41.5inch..

Whitegalz:
O! I learn something new… you mean different FM equates to different feeding amt required for baby? Quite a difference in your case – 100-120 ml with Enfalac, and now with Nan Ha1 only feed 70-80 ml? Now I am wondering if this is why my boi is always hungry.. I am supplementing him with Enfalac, when BM is not enough.

As for malay massage, I postponed my session, cos worried if rash will be aggravated by the oil/herbs. Better to let it subside first

Binder:
For mommies who bot the binder from the forum, have you used it yet? Was thinking if I shld just take it out to wrap arnd tummy since I didn’t get to start on the malay massage yet.

DK, this is from my observations based on my gal's feeding.. she demand lesser on Nan and less hungry easily.. maybe Nan is thicker? i now keep a book on her daily feeding time, amt she drinks, when she poo and color of poo and when she is awake.. hope can find out some routine...

yes, please use the binder first.. my ML told me it will help to put your womb back in place and slimmer stomach..

yalor, blueb.. i think slowly find and instill a routine when we more family with our babies.. maybe we should start with S.L.O.W...

lemonT, my colleauge had similar experience like you!!!!

His son got rashes all over when he was dunno how many weeks old, and he brought him to kkh. The kkh stupid doctors told him to prepare for the worse, said his son was in danger, rashes might be due to infection blar blar and scared the hell out of them! then my colleague went to get another doctor from another hospital (forgot which one), and the doctor told him nothing serious!

Same story!!! kkh sucks!!!

But bor bian, kkh is so much cheaper than private hospitals.

Whitegalz:
O! I learn something new… you mean different FM equates to different feeding amt required for baby? Quite a difference in your case – 100-120 ml with Enfalac, and now with Nan Ha1 only feed 70-80 ml? Now I am wondering if this is why my boi is always hungry.. I am supplementing him with Enfalac, when BM is not enough.

As for malay massage, I postponed my session, cos worried if rash will be aggravated by the oil/herbs. Better to let it subside first

Binder:
For mommies who bot the binder from the forum, have you used it yet? Was thinking if I shld just take it out to wrap arnd tummy since I didn’t get to start on the malay massage yet.

oh, so i have to look out for lower back pain on top of cramps then.

thanks gals for enlightening me : ) Hope to join ur ranks soon.. I'm reaching my 39 weeks this sat!

yes ashleigh. wanted to get the lday who do for my fren(tts thru an agent)

my tis one cant mak it no patience. n kp say thgs in front of my baby.. simply cant fang xin..

this mrn she even on the iron , with it lying on ironing board! faint! i say her. but lucky my iron got the auto cut off function(this i no tel her)she say she forget..

then anyth she no do well, say its bcos of baby

mine too.. i got mine from agency.. a very talkative one.. talk non stop... keep relating her experiences.. its like 'huo bu dui ban' cos initially we agreed on 1 auntie which we had a meetup and chat before. Last min agent say she had accident and replaced with another one.

During my conversation with my current CL, i realised that she doesnt know that she was a replacement. And she said she joined the agent only a year back.. When agent wanted to give her to me, agent said she had 4 years of experiences. Those experiences, which i learnt, were not with the current agent. Best is, my CL told me this agent like to tell lies. Ask me not to believe her!

I choose not to believe my CL and agent liao.. i jus waiting for the 28 days to pass quickly. perhaps i might ask the CL to leave a few days earlier.. never mind the money lost.

my current one is not thru agency is thru fren. actly i hav no choice thent ak the existing one de.. cos my this fren is quite nua one. but no choice la, she say gd. plus i thinkg use smone who has use b4 safer, thg i no believe she gd base on my fren standard.

but whos goin to help u if she leave?

me hope can ge tt aunty my fren use( thru agent) she was satisfied, n say is patient,this her 2nd baby liao think more an trust rather than my current one.

see her 1 more day also sian.

hp can settle evryth tonite wen tt agent cal my hubby

congrats lonerunner and mummyo!!!

mummyo
Wow !! that was fast !! ...delivered in the morning and discharged at night ..... how are you now ...?

Lonerunner
Guess we have similar delivery types...emergency C section. Take adequate rest ... Me also had a tough time ...can read my birth story later.. also update yours later la... rest ....

This is the story of my BF. I decided i go to total BF and then i told the hospital. But ..the second day at the hospital...BF not enough and the nurse told me that i needed to top up...I felt really upset and bad ..but then since jaundice reading was a bit high..i agreed to it ..because he needs to be hydrated... Later ..i tried to BF him ...then he just latch on...then leave it off in 5 min ..or just latch on and not drink..then again not enough..then i top up with FM.

Now last night he never slept well and kept on demanding ...he will just latch on and not drink.... or just drink for 5 min...later i gave him 40 ml of FM..i used enfalac ..given by hospital...but now doc asked me to try similac so just bought a small pack.

I am pretty upset that he still needs to top p with FM and cannot be on BF. I also used EBM...i am able to express only around 40 ml from both breasts...this being first week. Sometimes it is painful.. i spend only 10 min per side to express... i feel guilty even with EBM la ... FM even more guilty. night he keeps me awake the whole night and he feeds 15 min ..every hour ...
still confused about FM and EBM...and try to feed him whenever he asks....very tiring la ..and without sleep ...even depressing ... my hubby say its ok with FM and EBM ..and he asks me to relax and rest as more stress less BM... i am trying to convince myself ..coz i really do not want him to cry so much with less milk....and end up in problem...

also mummies ..i wanted to ask a doubt ...when does the poo poo turn yellow after how many days ...my boy is 6 days old today....still black ...now...but regular ...he poo poos 4 -5 times ... and wee wee is around 5 -6 times... of course this is the first day from the hospital..still lot of confusion ..first day handling the baby without nursery support ..its so stressful and confusing ...i read all your experiences ...as well... never thought it will be so upsetting...

DK, i bought the binder also.. and I had started using it.. quite useful also.. i starting my massage tomorrow..

ashleigh, aiyo.. tt's very dishonest of the agency.. so it's best to get a CL who is recommended by friends.. nvm.. very soon our confinement will be over.

Ramy, i totally understand how you feel. me too, i was so upset that i cry cos i don't have enough BM for bb.. i know it's common to top up FM, but i jus can't control my feeling.

how much can you pump each time? my bb is exactly 1 wk old and I can only pump average 20ml to 30ml max..