(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

shryn
aiyor, da fan shu gong gong one leh.. always kena bullied by chen xian sheng (mr. tan)..

re: "xiao long bao" mal
he still eat as per normal. i hv increased 1 more porridge meal for him as suggested by PD. he is just hang ni, not heavy like pui pui afterall keke..

re: walking
i seriously dun think mal is ready to walk yet. he is able to stand by himself for few seconds without support, but not stepping out his legs yet.

miracle,
long time din see you and max! i heard from pet some of you joining trio ctr. how much their charges like? mal into 2nd term and his teacher started giving homework liao
it's mummy's job leh

miracle,

yallos! wan to join in for the trio trial class. cna let me know the details? finally checked out julia gabriel at evans rd. some of the mummies are so trendy! may join the mandarin class next year. still thinking about it. btw, max is taller than emma! she's only 70cm

ankh,

hehe! thot u don want to join ? k, will fill u in! haha! stress manz! trendy? so does that mean we have to get new wardrobe !
i think max n emma is abt the same height leh! or maybe max is a few cm shorter than emma! guess diff clinics measure differently!

miracle,
think here faster. Hahhaa

JWT like gymboree. Think trio for me is too tedious. I don't like homework and not hardworking too. So I think trio is out for me. I am thinking of Playnest in Evans too. #1 has been there since 18th mth(PlayClub) and now Nursery(every Sat)... But think back traveling to and fro very tired leh.

miracle,

yeh, thanks!

hee, some of the mummies at evnas rd look like me ie t-shirt & shorts, got some look like............. reminds me of missylan actually!

ankh,
No stress la... I often wear bermuda and tee... dun need to wear nice nice one... some mummies wear nice nice cos maybe helper with kiddo so mummies come and fetch them back. Hahahaha...

missylan,

i am oso not the hardworking type! my intention is to let my boy socialize, sing songs n learn something!! instead of rotting at home with me!! btw we are forming our own class

JG
maybe plan some activities for yrself during these 2 days! can go shopping, hi-tea n etc in town!

Miracle,
U mean "forming our own class" = JG or Trio? So you all confirming on JG or Trio? I want PlayNest if Zann and u all are joining... at leats worth the distance travelled.

ankh,
Ooh... hehehe... I must sleep enough ah boh I will get heaty and fall sick leh. I don't have eyebags but will get puffy sometimes. kekeke...

ankh,

u r so funny! no panda eyes!!!!

missylan,
we are forming our class at trio . most probably we will start the trial class l at trio next friday!

as for JG, we only talk abt it , have not cfm anything yet! the next term is starting in Jan, our boys are 1yo by then , should be a good age to join bah! I am more or less cfm, not too sure abt cookiemz! ya maybe we can form our own class in JG too! Fren said we better cfm early if we want teacher lin!

hmm... you all make me tempt JG again. I was thinking nearby school leh. Fuel expensive you know... hahahha... decrease a bit liao... think fuel will further decrease.

miracle,

zann and urself finally decided to try the trio trial class ah? i think i'll skip on this as i still got another term of right brain training for mikaela..

then ah.. if anyone interested in kindermusik.. i went for trial yesterday.. and to my surprise.. mikaela was laughing and enjoying herself so much in class!! will definitely sign up for this one and will stop the right brain learning on after end of the term..

at least i found a class that she really enjoys.. dun find my hubby's hard earn $$ dissappearing down the drain.. hehehehe

alien,

that time some of us mentioned a few places right?

i checked out the frisk and romp at big splash but then the room that they have is quite small.. about 2/3 of hard rock's room leh..

and i presum that this time round the gathering might be quite big as we're celebrating our dec baby bash..

anyone knows of a bigger place that can hold our gathering?

Petrina,
Hooray... kindermusik got to buy their CD or books huh? Can you remember the programme charges? My #2 loves music so I am thinking programmes with lotsa of music...

missylan,

kindermusik charges are per term (8 lessons) and inclusive of 1 music instrument, 1 CD and something else which i can't remember now! cham! or is it only instrument and CD?

for our bbies.. trial is $25.50.. total for 1 term is $280 plus if i dun remember wrongly.. about $33 - $35 a session..

i'll most probably be going for the friday 10.30 or 11.30am class.. but will confirm again when i go for second trial next friday at 10.30am..

Petrina,
Friday #1 goes to school leh. I got to plan cos next year #1 going to school daily liao so my free time will be after his school. I prefer weekdays than weekends.

petrina,
i actually went for 2 trials at kindermusik....but mine is friday 9.30 class
....10.30, 11.30 is my girl nap time
....i kind of like it, as i think it's more casual & relaxed as compared to other classes....and she gets to play with different instruments.....but one thing is that the class is for 8-18 mths...so there may be a big age gap and difficult for babies to "interact"

tub,
they try introduce music thru play...so there r songs, musical instruments being introduced (though some r only played by the teacher not the babies)....

squint and myopia

brought my girl to kkh yesterday for eye checkup. i suspect she has squint. told my pd during her 6 and 9 mth checkup. both times he said don have. still worry, brought her to polyclinic for checkup. doc also said don have but refer me to eye centre in kkh at my request.

result for the checkup - she has squint on both eyes and her left eye has a degree of 150. i feel so depressed. when i look at my bb innocent eyes and smile, i really cant help but keep crying. feel so heartache.

everyone tell me is good to detect early. yet there's nothing i can do to improve her eyesight and squint. doc said hopefully the degree don go beyond 400 before she turns 3 yrs old. if not it might affect her brain development. i really feel very very heartache. she is only 9 mths old! i wan so much to help her yet there's nothing i can do....

don know is yesterday checkup too tedious for her. she has been sleeping practically the whole day. she ususally only nap an hour or so in afternoonm but today she has slept for 5hr and she is still sleeping now... but she is still active when she wakes up in between her nap.

feel very heartache very very heartache

ok ok.. this is what i have gathered about kindermusik during my trial class..

1. baby massage: done with a soothing song played in the background.. the one i attended was a french cum english song.. so its nice.. lyrics are on a wall so mummies can sing along if u know..

2. instrumental play: played with drums and mallot.. egg shakers.. etc.. to beat to a consistent rythem.. instructions are given to go faster or slower or suddenly stop (like freeze!) this one is interesting coz i remember studying that this actually encourages the bb to listen for instructions and in a way.. train him or her for future instructions from parents.. hehehe

3. motor skills: bbs (or rather those who are still crawlers has their parents carrying them) walk around the room holding onto their parents hands singing a song.. i had 'here we go round the mulberry bush'.. and in the centre of the room the teacher was holding a stick with lots of different coloured scarfs.. each baby takes 1 scarf and walk around the pole..
(my girl loved this the most and was laughing all the way as she tried to grab EVERY scarf.. hahaha..)

4. tonality of ur voice: done with having baby sit on ur lap as though bb is riding a pony.. when we say 'giddy up!' the up is high pitch and we lift up our knees.. when we say 'giddy downnnn' the downn is low pitch and we open our legs and let bb sit on the floor...

ok lah.. thats about 2/3 or 4/5 of the lesson liao.. better dun say too much otherwise later spoil the suspense for others who wanna go.. haha.. of course every class is different but these were what we did for my trial..

serena..

i know what u mean about the age gap.. the 11.30 trial that i went to had 6 babies.. of which only my girl can't walk.. so i was carrying her when it came to movement activities.. still quite ok coz i enjoyed myself a lot too leh.. hahaha.. good excercise for the mummy..

for our bb's age group.. 10.30am class is better.. bbs are between 8-12mths.. this is what the recep lady told me but coz i have a friend attending the 11.30.. so i joined her instead.. the new term for 10.30 actually starts next week so i will be going for my 2nd trial next week at 10.30am..

keki,

i'm very sorry to hear this about your baby girl..

will keep her in my prayers and hope that she'll be ok..

not too sure if it will help but maybe letting her see more nature.. greenery to minimise the degree?

do take care and be strong.. ur girl needs u now.. sing more songs to her so that she knows that she is in a safe and caring environment..

pet, u gg for trial at kinder nxt fri huh?..
hmmm... wonder if i shld bring shirui too .. dat day she enjoyed herself @ gymboree ..
she luvs the singing and music ..
she was the oni one who cant walk yet in the class .. so she crawled all ard the room ..

keki,
My friend's kiddo(2yrs+ old) found out he got one side squirt and myopia(both eyes added up to 1000degrees+). She visited 2 PDs and told them about her concern about his eyes and sometimes unable to figure out certain items. Areoplane in the air cannot see, point to him whatever thing, he cannot see. Walked close to someone's face to figure out who is that... Now he is on specs... Mummy consulted an eye specialist too and told her slightly squirt is NOT ALRIGHT. See PDs word also not reliable. But really it is a blessing to discover now, you might save her from alot of accidents.

keki, we all want our children to be perfect and healthy but sometimes, things like that happen because life is unpredictable. i can empathise with u. my daughter was born with neonatal lupus and she certainly had less than perfect skin when she was born. (there was a big red butterfly patch on her face and some depressed holes on her forehead. till today, she still has ramnants of it. we are not sure if it will ever completely clear off. i went through a very rough patch. during my confinement, i was depressed and would cry. but i coped through focusing on other things like breastfeeding and telling myself that all will be well and over.)

it's tough, i know. but i guess since we cannot control what our children go through in life, we'll just have to guide them. sometimes i think of it this way, it's better to have some visible physical flaws than to have a child with severe character flaws... something, which we cannot see visually but is equally if not much more potent and hurting in the long run. (i know, because i'm a teacher and i've seen SO MANY children with behavioral and character problems. some are "inflicted" by their parents and others are some what innate.)

your baby is beautiful, with or without the condition. love her for who she is. all will be ok in due time. don't just look at her condition, look at her as a person and you'll feel and manage better.

slimz.. yah.. i should be going for trial next friday at 10.30am.. but will sign up for the next term which starts next year jan coz now i just signed up for the right brain learning another term.. so want that to stop first before i start something else...

BABIES BIRTHDAY BASH

I emailed a few places to get their quotes but so far no response..

1. Zoo (woodlands)
2. Explorerkids (downtown east)
3. Alantis City (delta sports complex tiong bahru)

Anymore ideas anyone??

keki,
Sorry to heard about your gal's condition. my colg's twins (BOTH OF them) got squint eyes and went for opt before they were 1yr old to correct it. She's someone whom i am quite close to... They have to wear patch everyday post opt. One of them still has squint eye while the other was ok.. It's tough for her as it's both of twins at the same time. Anyway, are u going to eye specialist for kids at kkh? not sure which one did she went to but do let me know if you need any contact. you take care n be strong ya.

hi gals... thanks for all your concern and encouragement...

tub, it must been tough for u. i agree w u. i also keep telling myself that we are still blessed considering the numerous worse scenairos that we could have encountered. but u know, the heartache just wont go away...

jeelomeelo, pls help me to find out more from your colleague. her condition was diagnosed in kkh. i didnt know bb can for correction at one yr old. base on my reading, can only do so when they turn 3. so pls help me to find out more. any detail will be appreciated.

claire.. hort part? hmm... can consider.. my friend was telling me over the weekend about fidgets at turf city too.. got play area for our babies..

where's the gathering commitee ah?? need some help here!

need to source for caterer, cakes, deco (claire?
), goodie bags.. etc..

and also we need to decide on a budget so that we will work within that..

commitee members.. lai lai lai..

keki,
sorry it's at tts. I pm you.
Apparently it's better that it's done the earlier the better coz it may get worse. for mild cases doc would suggest just eye patch to correct. but some cases doc would suggest operation.

ohoh... then its ok thanks... cos i thought of bringing my gal to cruise.. but my mum told me tat bb's price is the same as adult... its ok.. maybe i call up agency and ask.. paiseh and thanks hor... heehee

pet,

ooooooh, if mikaela liked kindermusik so much, then emma will surely love it too! aiya, decisions decisions. dunno go trio or kindermusik? if go both we both peng sang

miracle

no la, at JG to check out environment, then deen expect some of the mummies to look so pretty pretty hee hee.