(2007/11) November MTBs

Yoko - You got your new maid already? Thanks for the heads up on BRMCK...

Counting down, 3 more months to go before your BB arrives!

weishy, what is so good abt St James huh? jus curious cos my fren also on waiting list...when i asked her what was the pull factor, she looked blank le..

weishy,
you mean for pre-nursey or nursery for the waitling list? both also got waiting list..haha. btw, maris stella fees for nursery is $480 per term.

S@L,
It's basically the school environment, teachers, facilities (air-con for all the classrooms!), teaching methods, etc that are good lor..the whole school now has 800 over students, the biggest in Singapore!

smilemum - BRMCK stands for Barker Rd Methodist Church Kindergarten

Weishy - There are 115 toddlers on the waiting list for next year pre nursery classes at St James....

S@L - I guess its the environment as well as the curriculum - could be overhyped...heehee

Poissons, but St James' location no good for families who had no car.

ASHM, Ash nanny dun wanna extend her stay har? Aiya, so how s the preparations for ur new pl? Dun overtired urself!

Yoko, u so funny! Can fly liao!
Good to hear that... how s the horrible neighbour?

K@ye - She wants to change job which I can understand cos she is young (31 years old) and kindda of waste to become a nanny. Its a tiring job, 24/7 looking after a toddler. She did a very good job and i am happy that she is honest with me and give me ample time to look for the next nanny. Nothing is done for the new place yet, in fact nothing much need to be done. Just have to install wardrobes for all the rooms

When are you leaving for London? Soon correct? Excited?

ASHM, i see.. but Ash's nanny looks older than 31 yrs old. Good lah, just install wardrobes, no need to do so much...

I m leaving London on 15 May, another 2 more weeks to go! Now, Swine flu is like making me nervous whether shd or shd not go...

Hi mummies, been so stressed no time to communicate in the thread. The Swine flu here is really scaring me, plus my son is in childcare now always come back sick. I've been giving him nordic cod liver oil with DHA, multi vitamin drops also no use. Guess it's part and parcel of going to 'school'. Everyone's already putting their precious on pre-nursery already think I'll have to start my research soon or else my boy won't have a school when he goes back.

Tinkerbel, are you planning to register M in s'pore or you'll still be in Shanghai when he goes to nursery or pre-nursery?

Does anybody know if Maris Stella Kindergarten is affliated to the primary school? As in, will it give us a better chance of getting into Maris Stella Primary school?

Cactusnah, I don't have tyriods but I suffer from an auto immune disease called Systemic Lupus Erythematosus(SLE or Lupus). I had it for 13 years and I was 16yr old when I was first diagnosed. I totally understand the feeling of having to take medication every single day because I have been doing that since. Complications also arise for patients lke me when they get pregnant but Thank God nothing happened for my case. Things like this happen and you don't know why it happens to you but I guess you have to just take it one step at a time, stay positive and be thankful that at least there's a drug that can 'control' the disease so that you can carry on living a normal life. Take Care ya?

K@ye - Indeed the Swine flu is making many people nervous especially for overseas travels.. Wear mask and bring ample dettol wipes for your trip... Just enjoy your holiday and happy shopping!

Suzanne, wow Lupus.. One of my colleague also has it and it took her very long to be pregnant with her first child. And i think my colleague wont try for another child. Will u try another child?

Poissons, i see... School bus also not cheap!

ASHM, yalor... I will go lah.. To me, what will be will be... certain things can't be avoided!

S@L:hummm personally havent go see st james but form their web site.... would say a really detailed one looooo.at least the effort is there and convincing...reviews from SMH tat send their kids there also not bad ......too bad 70+ wait list me not going to waste my $50++ to register even......hv to go see PCF nearby liao......

ASHM:huh issit i called this morning le

poissons:then MAris stella 50% cheaper liao loooo.... for pre nursery

weishy,
maris stella dun have pre-N lah..st james have.

ASHM,
better to get new nanny and helper soon..hard to get good ones nowadays, good luck!

Today I went to collect my vits and calcium. I am complaining to the nurse that my tummy feel so tight at times. The nurse told me might be contractions. So I told her I duno how contractions feel like lei.. I went to see the gynae. Gynae said that might be false alarm. I was curious. Cos I am only into my 23rd weeks. TMC already put up all the thermometer and mask. Even we go have to take temperature. Aiyo...

k@ye, so nice lei. How i wish i can travel. Miss my travelling and my holidays. Perhaps I am in good mood cos not as grouchy as before so couldn't be bothered with my neighbor. As i tried to keep myself busy.

ASHM, I don't know whether to have a new maid or not. Still deciding. My current maid is renewong her contract. But she has bit of attitude at times. But she take very good care of my boy. Cleanliness Grade C. Terrible. But can ensure that she won't beat up or ill treat my boy. Actually I have a new maid coming in, but my dad needs it urgently so i pass to him. SO now I am still wondering whether to change the current maid or to have 2 maids at home. I am preparing to send Jordan to enrichment class so most of the time he will not be ard so she gt ample time to finish her household chores. Hmm .. Lost. Duno what to do.

I went to BRMCK tis afternoon. Both my hb and I love the place. Looks really clean and neat. Aircon and people there are friendly. Moreover the afternoon session only takes in 20 kids, they increase their teachers from 2 to 3. The feeling is good when we went. I decide to sign up immediately. Cos still got waiting list.

Yoko, keep up the good mood! No choice lah, the Swine Flu making everything difficult for everyone. Everyone dun want a repeat of SARS thus the measure lor!

K@ye, ya lo. Now is i feel like going out everytime. The last 3 mths is don't talk to me or i bite. Hehehe.

My gf just told me that ST Hilda kindergarten is good. Any comments?

ASHM, 3 more mths.. how i wish i can get it over and done. I feel so heavy. My weight keep increasing. Don't even dare to weigh myself. :D

mambobb: N1 & N2 classes generally run less than half day, usually for 3 hours only. Come kindergartens offer enrichment classes so you can choose to add on these classes to make it a half day session.

poissons - ya lor, very difficult to get good help nowadays! That's y i am considering to quit my job by the end of next year and be a SAHM since Ash will be 3 years old and #2 will be 1 year old..And we cannot always depend on the nanny or maid to take care... Just have to deal with one thing at a time for now.

Yoko - Your current maid's cleanliness is C, buay sai lah... must tell her to improve cos you have a young toddler at home and moreover #2 is arriving soon... Who is taking care of your #2? It's a good sign that you put on weight means you are eating well and baby is growing... I already put on 5kg from my 1st trimester!! I keep eating also!! Trying to healthy now but sometimes just cannot control...hahahah

Need your opinion - Should we send our kiddos to pre-nursery / playgroups beginning of next year when they are not exactly 3 years old yet as they are Nov'07 babies? They are only 26months if we enrol them in Jan 2010 class.. Or in your opinion, its good to send them when they are 2.5years old as their immune system is stronger and hence will not fall sick that easily? Thanks!

michviv: oh, so N1 & N2 is only half a day type arh.. like that then I cant send C to there liao lor.. only can stuck at My First Skool (NTUC cc) since I'm putting her next mth till she going to Kindergarten.

Like tat then mummies mentioning abt nursery, how u mummies handle if we are not SAHM?

ASHM: Once they turn 2, there are so much more treatment options available to them should they fall sick so me and hubby are ok in sending E to class.

mambobb: I agree with you. That's why I said that the kindergarten arrangement may not be suitable for everyone but only for those who have caregivers at home for the rest of the day. Since most kindergartens have school bus services, transport is not a problem. Just need someone to take care for the rest of the afternoon, which in any case involves their long nap. =P

ASFM, That is why I thought of changing her. Cos when i have her it was one mth before i gave birth to Jordan. So I just let her do her way cos I am lazy to train and tired to train as well. Now I want to change her very difficult liao. Cos she had already adapt her own way. Unless new employer take over. I just renew her passport. Hiaz, still duno what to do yet. I guess it will be another maid to look after. I thought of getting a myammar maid. Any comments?

Yoko - Ash's nanny used to work in Myanmar hospital. She is hardworking and responsible. I will still look for a myanmar nanny to look after #2 ....unless i cant get anyone suitable from the hospital, i may consider one from philippines...

ASHM,

Me also thinking of enroilling kiros for say mid 2010.. reasons being by then he would be at least 30 month old.. and i expect the cryings of the other new toddlers in the class to frighten him and in the end he will also cry and not want me to leave.. so probably to join in june 2010 may not be a bad idea as by then the rest of the classmates would have settled down and teachers may have a little more time to keep a lookout for the new joiners. but that would also mean he will be 6 months behind his peers.

Pig07 - this is the exact sentiments i am having..so now still considering to enrol him for term one or term e next year.... Will check out the schools first and see how it goes..

K@ye - Ya so quiet today...

Buey tahan SQ! I cant imagine all the TAXPAYERS' $$ paying the wages of the staff there!!!

I emailed them asking for more baggage allowance, came back with a straight No and gave me 2 urls on the excess baggage charges + the baggage allowance allowed for each travel class! Super buey song their attitude..

Pig07/ASHM,
Think dun have to worry too much bah, shld be alright to start them pre-N in 2010. If you have ever brought them to classes or socialising with other kids, shld be ok, they adapt very quickly..that's what my MIL said (she's assistant teacher in a child care). the earlier you put them in school, the earlier they learn to be independent..the more they stay at home, the more they will get separation anxiety cos' they are too used to home environment and with us around...this is what I feel lah..no offence.

I just called Nanyang kindy. I asked them abt pre nursery for kids 2007. They said they have 400 applicants and they will only accept 100. St hildas too. Wow...

K@ye, excess baggage sometimes u can request at the counter. It depends on their individual customer service. Some they allowed u to pass. Some are very neow lo.

I just went to metro sales at expo. Lots of crocs at 60%. from $20 to $30. From adults to kids. Baby fair seems smaller. Nothing much to buy except diapers like huggies ultra L size for $14 buy 2 packs at $25. Other than that i don't find anything cheap or fantastic.

cactus,
sorry to hear abt what you r going through. hang in there. will keep u in my prayers.

yoko,
L is also attending BRMCK pm session next year, our boys might be classmates.

Hi Poissons,

Thanks for the advice. Ya, me also in 2 minds.. sigh.. don't know how.. also don't know register which school also..

ueno, ya I think they might be classmates.
Cos only one class. 3 teachers to 20 kids. I thought u register L to morning session. The school will start few days after Jan. Btw what is good abt the school? I just register and don't even know anything. Haha. Are u fetching him to and fro or by school bus?

happy labour day!
haven't been updated with the forum for quite a while...gosh i don't know what i was busy with. anyway reading about the pre-school i'm getting a little worried, it seems so far yet so near. have to book so early?
do our kids start pre-school at what age? when they're 2+ or 3?

Cactusnah, sorry to hear about what happened. we'll press on to try for baby no.2! jiayous and get well soon!

yoko noriko, thanks for the info on the expo stuff, i was still considering whether to go or not.

Hi Yuko,

How do u know that BRMCK is opening only one class for PM? Thought they will open at least 2 classes as they are very hot. Do you have any idea on the AM session as my boy is in AM

Lin, They told me that they open another class for the pm session. And mentioned abt the increase of students and teachers in a class. So I suppose is one class only. AM session is very full. 15 students to 2 teachers in AM session. Afternoon 20 students to 3 teachers. When did u enrol ur boy to AM session?

happy holidays! enjoy the long weekend!

yoko,
we are attending the church. I am Leroy's personal chauffeur. hehe..

Weishy, aiya... Nowadays airlines very strict on excess baggage allowance coz that's the only way they can earn extra cash!!

Ueno, me hv to work tmr... So no long weekend for me!

Michviv: have been busy to log on. If you happen to be around the read my post, the cough medicine name is Butylw (can't see the alphabet behind), the phlegm is vaslcan and the flu one is Hizin. Pls advise. Thanks a million!

Weishy, the more cargo loaded on the plane, the more fuel they need mah... So excess baggage charges is one way they earn $$ to recover their cost even though, they had allocated the fuel for the cargo liao.

Thanks for the enlightenment! Heee... I also enrol my boy in halfday CC for convenience since both mummy and daddy needs to work and grandma's is a bit far away from the school. So, noon time, grandma will go n pick my boy..

Been very busy to chat but reading along the way.. Have a good weekend mummies!