(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi daisybuttons, thks for the info... It's more towards diarrhoea... Bought the clothes from Thyme Maternity & Moms R'Us.

E-ling, when are you planning to sign up for the pre-natal classes?

helo! mae, elmo, jasmine, no prob.
this is the place for sharing what we know and trying to allay one another's discomfort/fear. jasmine, hehehe me been tossing and turning during sleep. read that sleeping on the right is fine too, so maybe we shldn't stress ourselves? hehehe...

emma, me due for oscar test next visit. its usually done between 12-15 weeks. i think the other tests e-ling talking about cld be CVS and Amniocentesis. both are quite invasive, so they are not usually rec for routine testing. dun worry, oscar is a standard test, it includes the NT scan and a blood test.

amylim, me also wana go see thyme one day.
when are we supposed to sign up for pre-natal classes huh? i had the impression its only in 20-30 weeks? can anyone advise? and how much do they usually cost?

hi amylim:
i also bought two pants n a dress from Thyme suntec before CNY, now i am wearing the pants liao my usual work pants tooo tight.
which thyme u went? i think there is one at raffles place too...

where is mom r us?

daisybuttons, thyme is offering 20% discount storewide now... think sale ends today.. I went to the one at United Square.

Dabee, mom r us is at United Square, B1.

helo amylim, 20%!!! oh hhhhmmm.....you tempting me.
united sq is near my office....should i.......? hehehee....okie see how things go later. but thanks for the info!

Hi all, I am a sept MTB too and would like to join this thread.

Hi E-ling, pls help to add my details. Thks.

EDD: 11 Sep
Gynea: Dr Ho KK
Hospital: Mt A
Lovenest: Buangkok

helo kelyen, congrats and welcome.
378311.gif

amy, i went down to thyme yesterday.
bought a skirt that i like very much.
Thanks for the info.

helo Emma. thyme clothes are pretty expensive, i wldn't have bought it if not for the 20% and that I like it so much. $89 before disc, after is $71. u wanna go too? yesterday last day 20% offer leh.....

oh btw, in an earlier posting i said oscar test can be done btw 12 - 15 wks hor? think slightly wrong, shld be 11-14 weeks... some clinics have this oscar pamphlet, can take one and check it out.

Hi to all,
I am new here and very much will like to join this thread. Oh, here's the info:
EDD: 12th Sept
Gynae: Dr Fong CW
Hospital: Gleneagles
Lovenest: Kim Tian

Hi to those who done the OSCAR test,

Can the hubby go in with you during the test?
My hubby will be outstation during my 12 and 13th wk. If hubby cannot go in, then i go and do it myself. I will be doing it in Thomson.

helo little pony, welcome.
378538.gif

the thread is rather quiet today.... :p

Eve, sorry can't answer u yet. but i wld think hubby can go in coz its just ultrasound and blood test. usual ultrasound hubby can see. the oscar test either done by ur own gynae or by another specialist.

helo ladies, good morning. hhmmmm.....wondering why this thread so quiet these 2 days. is it you girls on msn, dun care us oredi? *boo hoo....*
378811.gif

I am new here too and pls add me to the thread.
EDD: 5th Sept
Gynae: Dr KC Yeo
Hospital: TMC
Lovenest: Punggol

Eve,
I have just done my Oscar last sat also. Yes yr hubby can go together with you. My hubby was with me throughout the whole test. Mine was done at TMC also.

aiyah.. on MSN or not.. still must post here!

I went for my week 14 gynae check up liaoz yesterday. Had a massive migraine from tuesday until now, still having!

The results of my blood test is out (the normal blood test) and i have high blood glucose.. so now have to cut down sugar stuff to prevent developing gestational diabetes..

I wasn't able to do the neck fold test as baby isn't in the right position.. so doctor gave up.. baby now measures 7.61cm and we can see the spinal cord liaoz..

We discussed about the triple test.. My gynae is of the opinion that as I am young, chances of down's syndrome is low, moreover, triple test can return false positives, which might means we proceed on to more invasive prenatal tests..

anyway, i can still opt to do triple test 2 weeks later (week 16) when i am supposed to go to the clinic for my glucose test.. so, i suppose we can still do this test leh..

what is NT scan? i will be scheduled for the detailed scan ~week 18-20.. Is that the same?

20% sale!! but over liaoz, by the time i see this posting... haiz.. i haven't walk into any maternity shops yet... so far only gain 0.5kg..

I not intending to go pre-natal classes until start of 3rd tri.. otherwise, i might forget!

hi licheristin,

how does the oscar test being done?
How long does it take?

My gyne (also from TMC) says is optional. but i will go ahead to do lah..
Does TMC do oscar test on sat?

Hi Elle,

hmm...basically they will draw blood (for me i draw 4 tube of blood) then after that you will go for yr detail scan. The doc will measure the size of the baby..for me it took quite a long time coz my baby was always turning around and I have to go in & out to wait for a while then go back and scan again. The whole process took me abt 1 1/2 hr....
Hee..I did mine at TMC on a Saturday too..but it was quite packed lor..
Result was quite fast. I was told of my result on Monday afternoon.
Hope the above help

hi christin,

Thanks for your info!..

This oscar test sounds like detail scan.
Last time i ever did this kinda test b4..but not known as oscar leh.. Again.. drawing blood.. 4tubes somemore!
But gyne told me this oscar more accurate lah.
How much it cost ha?.. $200 isit?

Good to hear tat they hv it on Sat too.
is by appointment right?.. If got appointment i guess wont hv to wait so long bah..

Hi Gals, I'm required to go for the NT test nx week. What will we be doing during the NT test? Pls advise?

Hi Elle,

Hee, yes the oscar test has a 90% accuracy as told by my gynae...Detail scan and the blood test together..but it is very exp..mine cost $388 and with GST total is $407.40 pay to TMC and not to my clinic leh...
Actually i tink only 3 tubes of blood but i have an additional test for HIV so total 4 tubes of blood...For oscar test you have to make an appointment in advance. My clinic make the appt for me lor as I requested for Saturday..

Hi Eve,

wow ... so cheap meh...my oscar is so exp....
he told me if do NT scan is $200 but Oscar is $388 leh...sob sob....

my gynae told me... oscar $298 then NT $98 leh... therefore i opt for NT...also done at TMC
y different gynae different price..??

hello!!! seems like we are having quite a number of new MTB ya...welcome welcome ;)

sighz...mi on mc for 3 days already tomolo will be my 4th day.

i'll be going for DS on 13 Mar...i've ask my gynae for recommendation on which one to go for...he reco me to go for scanning...which cost $90 only.

Btw, i did ask my gynae about skin care product he said any products sold in sg is approved and can be used by pregnant woman...unless it is prescribed by doc. So at least I feel better now...that i can still use my own skin care product. ;)

rainnie, how come u are going for detail scan so soon? I seen Dr Adrain today, and he oni arranged me to go for NT nx week leh... Thou detail scan is done when we are ard 4mth preggie?

Hi Eve & Elaine,

wow seem like i am paying the most leh...I am also curious how come mine is so exp when we are all doing at TMC...sob sob...
so eve, when u gg for yr oscar?

do u all know that if u all sign up for TMC's first born incentive, all these scans and antenatal classes are at 10% off??? do u all think its worth it? the membership is abt 100 bucks... but u get a goodie bag or some sort...not v sure myself.. anyone has more info???

How could listeriosis affect me and my baby?
Listeriosis isn't likely to seriously affect your health, but it can. People with weakened immune systems are particularly vulnerable to life-threatening complications from the illness, such as blood infection or meningitis, as are newborns and the elderly.

Even if the infection doesn't make you seriously ill, it can have very serious consequences for your developing baby, especially if it's not treated promptly. Listeria can infect the placenta, the amniotic fluid, and the baby, and cause miscarriage and stillbirth.

Infected babies who survive are likely to be born prematurely. Many will be born severely ill or get sick soon after birth, with problems that may include blood infection, difficulty breathing, fever, skin sores, lesions on multiple organs, and meningitis. Unfortunately, some newborns will die from the disease or have long-term complications.

How would I know if I had listeriosis?
You might not know if you had it. Some people have no symptoms. Others have a fever and other flu-like symptoms, such as chills, aches, and headache; back pain; or possibly gastrointestinal symptoms. If the infection attacks your central nervous system, you may have a severe headache, stiff neck, confusion, dizziness, or even convulsions.

Call your healthcare practitioner immediately if you have any of these symptoms. Stomach symptoms, if you get them, generally appear within 48 hours, but other symptoms usually show up two to six weeks or more after you're infected. You'll need a blood test to find out whether your symptoms are caused by listeriosis.

How is listeriosis managed?
You'll be given antibiotics, which will treat your infection and may help protect your baby. Ultrasounds will be done to check for problems and to see how your baby is growing.

What can I do to avoid getting infected?
Here are some guidelines for avoiding this food-borne illness:
Cook all meat, poultry, and fish thoroughly. Use a food thermometer to test the internal temperature of meat. Most meat should be cooked to a temperature of 160 degrees Fahrenheit, or 180 degrees F in the thigh for whole poultry. If you're not actually measuring the temperature of the meat, cook it until it's no longer pink in the middle. Fish should be cooked until the flesh in the middle is opaque. And be sure not to sample your food before it's done.

Don't eat cold cuts or deli meat, refrigerated pts or meat spreads, or refrigerated smoked or pickled fish unless they're cooked until they're steaming hot (say, on a pizza or in a casserole). And even though hot dogs are precooked, be sure to cook them until they're steaming hot. Canned or "shelf-stable" products that don't need to be refrigerated are fine to eat.

Reheat all leftovers until steaming hot.

Avoid unpasteurized (raw) milk and food made with it. Don't eat soft cheese such as feta, Brie, or Camembert; blue-veined cheese; or Mexican-style cheese such as queso blanco, queso fresco, or Panela, unless their labels clearly state that they're made from pasteurized milk. Cottage cheese, ricotta, cream cheese, processed cheese (such as American), and hard cheese (such as cheddar and Parmesan), as well as cultured dairy products like yogurt and buttermilk, are generally considered safe. But to be on the safe side, read the labels on all dairy products to make sure they're made with pasteurized milk.

Thoroughly wash or peel all fruits and vegetables before eating them.

Keep uncooked meat separate from vegetables and from cooked and ready-to-eat food.

Wash counters, cutting boards, dishes, utensils, and your hands with hot soapy water after handling unwashed produce; uncooked meat, poultry, or seafood; hot dogs; and deli meat and before you use them for clean produce or cooked meat so you don't contaminate your food. Be careful not to let juice from the hot dog or poultry package contaminate prep surfaces (such as cutting boards) or other food.

Consume perishable and ready-to-eat food as soon as possible after you buy it, especially once you've opened it, even if it hasn't yet passed the "use-by" date. The use-by date refers to unopened products.

Finally, as a general precaution to help protect your food from contamination from a variety of disease-causing organisms, make sure your refrigerator is set between 35 and 40 degrees F and your freezer at or below zero. Use a refrigerator thermometer to confirm the temperature.

Be aware, though, that listeria is a hardy organism that can survive and even continue to grow in cold temperatures. That's why you should always heat leftovers and ready-to-eat (precooked) food until they're steaming hot.

lichristin, Little Pony and kelyen... welcome to the thread.

amylim, i'm not sure when can start to sign up leh.Maybe in later stage ba.

FYI. I also paid $400+ for the OSCAR scan, which they check the measurement of neck thickness, head etc. Blood test is paid separately at the clinic which cost me $80+. These are all done on the same day during my 12th week. As for another datail scan to check the feature and function of organs etc will me done on 20th week, and i dont need to pay anything for these. All is done at TMC.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amylim</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Bartley Rd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras </TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>St. George's</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Chng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Tan Lay Kok </TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elle</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Early Sept</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>E-ling</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boon Tiong Rd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charis</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>joon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>04-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Blastier</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lichristin</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>05-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elaine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>10-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Ubi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>DaBee</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Marine Parade</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elmo88</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KK Chow </TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelyen</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Ho KK</TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Pony</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong CW </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Kim Tian</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>14-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chngs wife</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mae</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Jurong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daisybuttons</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>77(peachie)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chris Chong </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Resha (rani) </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen </TD><TD>Raffles Hospital </TD><TD>Telok Blangah </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainnie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yew Tee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pig2</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>edksd</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Merah View</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Domesticgoddess</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pjen</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

chng's wife, ya .. me going for NT loh....not detailed scanning but it is still scanning ah...to measure bb neck loh

Hi edlksd,
the gynae can choose to take 1 extra tube of blood for testing of thalessimia, HIV, blood group, blood sugar etc.. the cost will be ~extra 100 sgd, if not inside ur package.

halo ladies !

I am new to this thread though I have been following you gals for the past few weeks.

my Edd is 2nd Sept and my gynae is Dr Fong Yang.

Hi ;),

Welcome! Feel free to come in often and we will share with you tips, gossip and alleviate one another's anxiety... Perhaps you can fill up the details for the table for E-ling to add to to...

Hi babes,
I went to Taka baby fair to walk walk.. lots of stuff there, but i think you can get it at similar pricing elsewhere e.g. robinsons..

Pigeon 6 bottle sterilizer is sold for 87 sgd. While Avent 6-bottle sterilizer is being sold for 129 sgd..
I never buy anything yet.. juz kaypoh.. :p

I also dunno what brands to get etc.. so, leave it for the time being lah.

Went also to Topshop at Wisma to glance at the maternity jeans.. (cost is from 99 sgd to ~106 sgd).. Expensive.. but really nice cutting. The smallest size is still too loose for me around the waist, so i thought i will wait a while before getting any jeans... the cost is also making me re-consider..

helo helo!!

Jasmine, yah loh, prenatal classes if go too early wil forget hor? they also say during labour forget everything u learn! hahahaa..do you know the usual price of a class?

oh u did the triple test? may i know whats the diff between triple test and oscar? think read before about triple test, but.....as expected....forgotten about it liaoz! hehehe..

seems like almost everyone going to do the oscar test, or have just done it.
hehehe and all different price? mine the nurse got say its $300, and i think it includes the blood test. not sure how many tubes and types of test though, she did mention hep a, b, hiv, etc.

chng's wife, think detailed scan and NT scan is different. detailed scan i think usually 4th - 5th mth. scan baby's organs, spines, development, and of course gender if u wanna know.
NT scan usually done 11th to 14th week and it stands for Nuchal Translucency scan. it scans the nuchal fold i.e. the amount of liquid behind baby's neck to determine risk of ds. think in Singapore, that's usually part of the oscar test, whole package if i not wrong.

Emma, thanks for the detailed info on listerosis.

ilovebabies - WELCOME to the sept thread!
379466.gif

hi everyone, tks for the generous welcome ..

i have not done the detailed scan or oscar test as well ... and I have no idea what is an Oscar test ? my gynae did not mentioned to me ...

btw, i believe most of us are coming to 4th mth v soon, have you ever tot of how to do the "tai jiao" ?

oh btw my details as follows:

Nick: ilovebabies
EDD: 2nd Sept
Gynae: Dr Fong Yang
Hospital: MAH
Lovenest: SK