(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hi May,

i'm planning to go Taka fair tomo with DH. will go there look look see see.
Abt the weight tingy, issit 250 g or 500g per week ? for me , i read thru books as 1 pound increase per week that is abt 450 g for 2nd tri ley...hmm cos me gain ard 2 kg in 1 mth on average..

missmoon,
Haha! Thanks for the tip! Soft = no urine
Hey you sound very experienced in changing nappies... so should be no problem with your bb
I dun even know how to carry a bb :p Had been reading some books and tried carrying... err... my soft toy bear for practice. Haha! Cannot make it ah :p

nurbates,
Haha! You win lor! Wear goggles and swimsuit? Haha! My cousin said it's inevitable to be shot at and my hubby said it's good coz it's tong(2) zi(3) niao(4)! I used to work in a research laboratory, the biohazard mask (transparent, wear on the head and cover the whole face kind) looks very relevant. Plus a lab coat. Haha! Perfect! Joking only lah ;p

jurong gal,
Hey! Seldom see you around. Apparently your bb is fine and healthy after the amniocentesis check right? Congrats!

Hong,
I used to have whitish thick discharge b4 pregnancy and it was sooo itchy. I went to doc and was told that it's yeast infection. She gave me something to insert in and a cream for my hubby to apply too. But I on and off still kena. When it was bad I washed with those feminine wash thing and will get better. Then again, now we r all preg, better check with gynae.

fruitee, i am planning to go for the weekend parentalcraft oso.

missmoon, how come ur detailed scan not done in the clinic by ur gynae? I thot the gynae wd be the 1 doing this?

may, i wd be going to the Taka fair this weekend. Have not gone & see see look look yet.

ashleywcy, heee, i love babies and i always want to carry them, my colleagues' or my sister's...anybody one also can. i helped my sis during her confinement (ya, i actually took leave to help out a little) and so learnt a bit. but i draw the line at cleaning poo (no choice wif my own though..hhee)...haha, u so cute, practice on ur bear.

jazzyjas, my gynae may not so high tech leh...nurses there say ultra sound m/c cannot see clearly, so send me to the x-ray dept to do. it was the technician who did the u/s and then the radiologist doc will come in and do a check before making the report. me too going to the fair tom to stock up diapers and nappy liners

missmoon, haha, practice makes perfect eh?
I'm youngest in my generation lor, no "life specimen" to practice and experiment with. Used to have phobia of kids and never knew how to play with them... Now old liao, started to find them cute and interesting. Well, people change
hopefully for the better

Jazzyjas,
I have the feeling u describe. The feeling just like "fart" but i was wondering how come the gas come out from down there but not from the back???

I didn't face such problem on my 1st pregnancy but dont know why 2nd pregnancy facing this problem. Feel embarrassing to ask gynae leh! :p

May,
I just came back from Taka fair. Nothings much for me. I bought 3 boxes pigeon breast pads only.

Jazzyjas,
I have the feeling u describe. The feeling just like "fart" but i was wondering how come the gas come out from down there but not from the back???

I didn't face such problem on my 1st pregnancy but dont know why 2nd pregnancy facing this problem. Feel embarrassing to ask gynae leh! :p

May,
I just came back from Taka fair. Nothings much for me. I bought 3 boxes pigeon breast pads only.

I just came back from my Bangkok trip today. Baby stuff are SO SO cheap over there!! Stock most of my baby necessities from Bangkok.

Their baby clothes starts from S$0.60 a piece!! Even at upmarket departmental store, baby clothes also cheap. Diapers are also very cheap.

I also bought a few maternity pants. Costs about S$12 each. But really have to try out before buying cos seems that their sizes quite small. Mayb Thais are normally very slim...

Hmm..only bad thing is I come back, immediately gain 1kg.

Hi ashleywcy,
haa..haa..ya. But I didn't buy a lot of diapers to stock up cos dunno if baby skin is sensitive. Just bought some to test & try out.

I also bought baby bath, baby powder (cheaper by $2), cotton pads ($0.60 a pk) etc. Had a hard time refraining from buying too much baby clothings cos it's all so nice & cheap.

Best thing is maternity wear still can bargain...

Hi all, just went for my detailed scan on Wed. waited 1.5 hrs for the scan, and it only lasted for less than 10 min. haha. And ya, i'm having a baby gal. Am only 22 weeks into my pregnancy but i already feel like buying lots of newborn diapers, etc.

Do you know what types of material to get for receiving blanket? I saw there's Fannel, Cotton & those Towel material. Which one is more suitable for newborn? Our baby will be due in July, so dunno if we should get light-weight or thicker material??

Hi MTBs,

I just came back from my gynae's visit. Baby is a bit smaller, but doc says no need to worry. Seems that all the weight that I've gained all goes to me..
Saw a little bit of baby's face during the u/s scan.
Doc says he dun charge extra for the so-called detailed scan cos he's already doing a lot of detail scaning during every consultation.

YB, get two types of blankets if you are thinking of swaddling your baby thru the day.

Less thick ones like "Caro" hooded towel (very thin material) that come with face cloth for the day and thicker ones (flannel material) for the nite or when baby is in an air-con room.

Ashley, I had the same problem; don't know how to carry newborn when I was pregnant with my first child. Swaddling helps a lot cos it's like carrying a pillow and their hands/legs don't get caught or go flying all over our body. But of course, it would take you a couple of carrying "sessions" before you get the hang of it.

My biggest problem with my first born was breasfeeding, then burping her. WAH..REALLY difficult to burp her leh, sometimes I give up... let her rest for a while, after half an hour or so I pick her up again to let the air out. My hubby is the resident's expert in burping, maybe b'cos his hands are heavier???

For first-time breastfeeding mommies, I recommend you gettin nipple cream. My nipples cracked badly during the first weeks; baby's mouth still small lah so kena bitten by her but mind you newborn's gums quite hard know... some more nipple not so seasoned..tell you the pain.....like wanna tear my hair off man!!!

Wah...so many posts!!!

Wish I could be online more often.....so busy these days. Hopefully things will settle down a little.

Take care everyone!!!

<table border=1><tr><td>NAME</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> OBGYN</TD><TD> HOSPITAL</TD><TD> GENDER</TD><TD> NAMES </TD></TR><TR><TD>japepearl</TD><TD> 03 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.C.Cheng</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>zita27</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.T.Tan</TD><TD> KK/SGH</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li May</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.K.Lee</TD><TD> Mt.A</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MTDT</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Yvonne Soong</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepygarfield</TD><TD> 09 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.E.S.Teoh</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>millie</TD><TD> 10 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Adrian B Woodworth</TD><TD> TMC / Mt.A</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joan</TD><TD> 10 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD> Mt.A</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> Julian </TD></TR><TR><TD>liverpool11</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.C.Cheng</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD>Gerrard</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pepper</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.H.Chan</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mel</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Chandra</TD><TD> Mt.A</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jurong gal</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.C.H.Koh</TD><TD> Mt.A</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kin</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.S.C.Chew</TD><TD> Mt.E</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>NOIF</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. John Tee</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Tham</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poppy</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Lisa Chin</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lego_mom</TD><TD> 15 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lawrence Ang </TD><TD> TMC </TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasline</TD><TD> 15 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. K.T.Tan</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fruitee</TD><TD> 15 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Adrian B Woodworth</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sandy Kerk</TD><TD> 17 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Chen </TD><TD> Mt.A </TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lala</TD><TD> 17 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hong</TD><TD> 18 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>May</TD><TD> 18 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lisa Chin</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jessie Seah</TD><TD> 18 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Y.W.Lim</TD><TD> Mt.A</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>littlebaby~Val</TD><TD> 19 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Tham</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>YB</TD><TD> 19 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Kowa </TD><TD> Mt.E</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>missmoon</TD><TD> 19 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Christopher Chen</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dear</TD><TD> 20 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.N.Sim</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lok</TD><TD> 20 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Yvonne Chan</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jazzyjas</TD><TD> 20 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.K. Chow</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Z-Lia</TD><TD> 23 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Selina Chua</TD><TD> Mt.E</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Upie</TD><TD> 24 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Ho</TD><TD> Mt.A</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline Neo</TD><TD> 25 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Clifton Chan</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eeyore</TD><TD> 25 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.K Ho</TD><TD> Mt.E</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Laura</TD><TD> 25 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Adrin Tan </TD><TD> TMC </TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunshine</TD><TD> 25 Jul 06</TD><TD> Prof. Mary Rauf</TD><TD> NUH</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD> 26 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Adrian Tan</TD><TD> TMC </TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ashleywcy</TD><TD> 29 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.W.K.Tan</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chrys</TD><TD> 30 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Joyceline Wong</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>RT's Wife</TD><TD> 30 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joline</TD><TD> 31 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Y.Y.Tan</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

YB,
$12 for maternity pants still can bargain ah? So shiok! Sigh, my cousin gave me some obiang maternity wear. At first I was sure that I won't wear them. But after going to maternity shops in Singapore, I've "resigned to my fate". No choice, no matter how obiang also must wear, save $ mah
But of course lah, I'll invest on a few nice ones for special occasions

Lucky u, didn't have to pay extra for the scan. My detailed scan was $135! BB small for now, nevermind... still have time and room to grow
Like what my gynae always say, "Drink more low fat milk"

Nurbates,
Thanks for the swaddling tip
Haha! Apparently, we cannot assume that fathers r blur blur and dunno how to look after BB. My friend's hubby is also better at burping and even bathing their BB!
Amazing!

There's no way to "teach" BB how to suck without biting right? So must "resign to fate" also ah? Nipple also can "season" one meh? Wahaha! :p I wonder if the habit of biting nipple is hereditary, coz my MIL told me that my hubby bit her badly last time! Oh no! :p

Japepearl,
Hope everything's going fine for u. Take care

Hi nurbates,
I'm thinking of using the receiving blanket only on day of discharge &amp; when sleeping at night.
Is flannel too thick? Since baby will also be wearing long sleeve at night.

Hi ashleywcy,
$12 is after bargaining. Apparently it's no longer so easy to bargain in BKK already. I know wat u mean. I also inherited a number of ill-fitting maternity clothings. But due to cost savings, have to bear with it lor. Luckily I managed to get some during my BKK trip.

Find that when I sit near the front of the plane, my tummy will cramp like hell. But if I seat at the middle of plane, the ride will be smoother.

Wah!! Your detailed scan so ex!! Luckily my gynae did not charge us. He said some patients also asked him abt the detailed scan. And he said he don't mind charging extra if they insist. Haa..haa..

My baby is smaller by a week, so doc didn't advise me to eat more or take more milk. He said it's still acceptable.

YB your baby scan soooo cute!!!! She's like a little squirrel peeking out from a hole in a bark..

As for blanket, think flannel shd be thick enuf to keep your baby warm so long sleeves aren't necessary.

I remember the nurses swaddled my dd in flannel blanket and she was only clad in short sleeve kimono top and diaper underneath. The nursery was air-conditioned so was the ward. Then again it depends on your child.

My first born cannot stand heat one...very the THICK skin I think....she wore grobag with merely a diaper underneath while sleeping at nite.

Who was there on at TMC parent craft conducted by Mrs Wong from 4.30pm - 6.30pm? I was the one there with the liverpool shirt. It was pretty fun, but I thought all the exercise was too fast and too much. Cannot absorb everything at one go.

Hi nurbates,
Thx. I'll get the flannel material then. The prices is about $3 diff from those towel material. So we should only get 1 receiving blanket only?

missmoon, i not sure how mine wd be done. Guess when i c him this week wd know.
Went Taka fair on last Fri oso. Only bot 1 box of pigeon breast pads. Hee..

Planning to buy everythg at one time in May @Expo.

noif, ya.. tat's an appt word tat u used to describe.. its like a "pop" oso. Planning to ask gynae abt tis on my next visit.

John Little is having 20% sales on 22/23. Anyone plan to get anything from JL? Any idea which JL has the most BB stuff har?

Just now bought mammypoko 48S at $16.80 from NTUC. Was given 2-pc samples on newborn and S size. Heard from the promoter say that bb boy outgrow newborn size very fast. So i straight away buy S-size cos already hav 48newborn stocked up at home. Think should be enought bah.. Heardsaid that TMC will give the unused pampers for our bb when discharge from the hospital.. by the way, is mammypoko good for nite use?

Joline,
u get diaper so early? Think u shld get at least a pack of NB for ur baby.

YB,
U can get 2 - 3 recieving blanket. May be using when u go aircon shopping mall with ur baby later. Can use it as normal blanket too. I prefer normal cotton blanket.

BTW, look like u got alot from BKK. Is it safe to go there now?

Err, i doesnt know how to read ur scan. I cant make up where is the baby's face. Pai seh.

ashley,
Yah that is wat gynae told me and he said ok. Furthermore ask me not to use any wash to clean, just water will do. Infact, it is working find with just washing with water.

hong,

me already bought 2 pkts of 24-pc Sealer NB during BabyCare Festival.. hee..

By the way, just realised that mamy poko diapers doesn't have wetness indicator.. any idea which brand c/w wetness indicator other than Sealer brand?

Hi Hong,
Most of the tourist attraction &amp; shopping centres are not affected by the demonstration. Just have to avoid S'pore Embassy &amp; Lumpini Park on Fridays...a lot of ppl tend to congregate there. I didn't get a lot of things in Bkk lah, just the basic cos dun wan to pay for extra luggage.
To make our my gal's feature, look closely at the center top portion. The eyes are hidden by placenta. Only the nose &amp; lips are obvious. Below that is the ribs..

Hi Joan,
Yah..the hands are clenched like a fist. Can also make out the ribcage of the chest area..luckily baby is turn straight up front when doing the u/s scan.

Hi YT,

Yeah.. I recived the flier from JL with 20% discount coupons.. can be used at Specialists' Centre, Jurong Point, Causeway Point etc..

Sales on 22nd &amp; 23rd this week.

Morning MTBs,
Juz wanna know, anyone of u having dry, pinkish skin on the forehead, cheeks &amp; nose? How to deal with this? Wd more moisturiser &amp; sunblock helps?

morning!!

jazzyjas, i got dry, flaky skin on my forehead and sometimes on the nose. it goes away after i moisturise but when i put loose powder on, it come back on.

u prob wanna raise this prob wif ur gynae at ur next appt (this week right?) cos my sis had the same thing as u and gynae told her it cld be eczema, will go away after birth

morning missmoon,
ya, a bit flaky oso. It seems 2 be better on some days at times.. is urs itchy? My forehead's patch a bit. Wd its color change??

Ya, i wd tell my gynae when i see him this week. Like many thgs to ask him then plus the detailed scan, this apptm mite take more time.

jazzyjas, no, not itchy leh and no change in colour. hehe, if bb cooperates wif u, detailed scan sure quite fast
better list down questions to ask...cos i see my gynae, relieved to see bb's heartbeat every visit, i always forget wat i wanna ask.

Joline,

Diaper with indicator. U can try EQ but the quality is not as gd as Sealer.

Personally i find the indicator is really nothing much. Just feel the diaper to judge. Some baby have very delicated bottom. They get rashes even if there is not much urine.

There is some taiwanese brand in the market. Tempting to try out cos pretty cheap.

YB,
OIC. thanks..
Sorry i still dun know how to read ur scan. haha.. pai seh.

missmoon, the itch not all the time.. guess when its too dry then itch. Now pinkish.
Hee.. me too.. everytime got Qns, i lie down on the bed do the scan, all i know is looking at bb, see how she is.. hehe..
I noted the Qns in my handphone bt sometimes juz forgot.

jazzyjas, try not to scratch or touch it? or maybe it's sensitive to the moisturiser or something? just wondering if it could be cos i hear that our skin becomes more sensitive due to hormones change?

Jazzyjas &amp; missmoon,
Can try changing your facial wash to a less harsh one? I used to use my hubby's Shokubutsu facial wash for oily skin during 1st trimester... at first it was fine coz skin was oily and pimply then. Then during 2nd trimester, my whole nose and forehead started to flake badly! Now using L'oreal white perfect facial foam + moisturizer then no problem liao. Day moisturizer also must put otherwise the flakiness will be exaggerated by makeup. So troublesome

missmoon,
I agree about the hormone thing... just goto keep changing our lifestyle or products that we use to suit our body as we continue to change.

jurong gal,
I've craving for sweet stuff... especially coke! So unhealthy! Love chocolate too, but no strong craving... err... yet
I read an article before stating that chocolates r good for BB due to the "feel good" hormones I think
But cannot eat too much until u put on too much weight or become too heaty I guess.

mommies,
i also have craving. i can have craving for laksa, prata.. all unhealthy food but i think moderation is the limitation.

sometime i treat myself a small pack of potatoes chips.

missmoon, i din scratch, dun dare to.
Ya, skin can turn to good or not good.

ashleywcy, i am using my day moisturiser day &amp; nite lately. Morning wd apply a coat of sunblock. Change it? Then goto trial &amp; error loh.. my skin is sensitive kind, dun thk all kinda pdts wd suit me. Now using beautician's cleanser, toner &amp; sunblock.

missmoon, sensitve to the moisturiser? Then i sd "do less n not more" rite? Coz have once i chg my makeup, then have a bit of rash &amp; itch. Doc gv me a cream. Now dunno can use a not. Plan to ask gynae gv me sth to apply.

Hi Jazzyjas and missmoon,

My GP says I have eczema too, it's common among pregnant woman. She prescribed to me a cream call Urecare which is safe for MTBs. I used it on my fingers which itch like crazy and it works wonder!! But I'm not sure if you can apply on face or not.

All MTBS,

any final purchase at Taka fair? I saw the Graco strollers and they look rather sturdy. Anyone has any idea what maternity pads to buy? My sister in law says loop type of pads are better.

ashleywcy, ya lor. i've been using this organic products, so far so good, lesser breakout and not so dry liao...except for the occasional flaking of skin on forehead.

jazzyjas, i hv sensitive skin so got to be careful not to over apply moisturiser

may, ya, my sis was told by gynae that pg women more prone to it and i think she was given a cream to apply...shld be safe, i think. saw the graco playpen but they only hv grey in col which i thot was dull, so didn't get it. there wasn't much stuff left on sat when i went...managed to get nappy liners and drypers for newborn.

missmoon, ok wd take note of tat. Thanks.

Actually normal pads &amp; maternity pads any difference? Wat brand does maternity pads come in?

may,
I prefer the stick pad, infact i dun know how to use the loop pad.

Jazz,
maternity pad longer and better absorption rate.
Normally i switch to nite pad one week later.