(2005/07) Any July 2005 new mums to be?

Hi lkf & Tuffy

I am in my 8th week and today the ms is coming back again. I really feel nauseous on my chest area and the funny taste in my mouth just won't go away.

I also dun understand why my ms is getting so bad..... if everyday is like what I have experienced last weekend, I really cannot go to work.

tomatoes

I have the same feeling as you, like something is stucked in my chest despite 1, 2 hrs after food. I just hope that we will quickly pass this period. Luckily it's yr end now so work slow down a little otherwise I will faint. i cannot imagine having to work through my piles of files with my dreadful ms...me counting down to 6 pm... just want to go home to sleep...

how are you all?

Bubbeling

How's your visit to gynae? I am looking fwd to mine next Mon...hope everything will be fine...

Hi lkf

My ms is still on and off. Yesterday when to see my gynae and he was not able to give me anti-vomit drugs as I got drug allergy to them. Very Poor me hor? My bb was 16mm. You must be wondering why I am been seeing my gynae so frequently.....no choice, I was conceived via IVF and have to be monitored very closely for the 1st trimester.

How are you doing too?

hi lkf...
my appt was okie...at least managed to see the heartbeat .....3 weeks later goin for my blood test liao ...*scared* now im in my 9th week
still feeling gd ...

Just went for my appt on mon. bb is abt 14mm. Bb is 8 wks 2day.. & my EDD is 26/7. : )

going back to do the down syndrome test on 7/1 & then come 7/3, doing a detail scan to find out sex of bb... wah.. kinda of excited. : )

Hi Bubbleling,

Me in my week 9 also ...seems that ms getting worse.

I have now become more clumsy and hubby say i got no more "hyperthreading" :<

Appointment this friday and wonder will there be any test held?

Hi Bubbleling - u are so lucky - no ms! My ms seems to be getting worse but still bearable most of the time. Going to see gynae tomorrow - hope everything is ok.

Hi tomatoes - u poor thing.. take care! I will probably ask my gynae for anti-bloat pills to see if it helps...

yoo shirley,
so u goin for the down syn test so soon......i so scared of blood test....still hv abt 3 weeks + to prepare myself hahaha
ann,
sama sama...we are both at week 9 when is ur EDD?

Tuffy,
compared to u gals i really read until i so scared...the ms sound so terrible....
nvm endure a while more ..after 12 weeks will b better okie?

tomatoes

oic but i thot the appt will usually be more frequent in the beginning and near the end. I have already seen my gynae for 2 times liao. u really poor thing but think the other way, less drug is always better for body and baby. me still very much the same. Today is my 1st day of week 10, still feel bloated with on and off nausea, but still can bear with it lor, so i probably will not ask for anti-vomit drug next Mon. my hubby commented that my hips have become bigger :p

bubbeling

glad to know tat u and bb are doing fine. really envy you ...no ms...so lucky...kekeke...

hi shirley

me also gng for the down syndrome test in Jan and detail scan in Feb. i opt for the NT scan with blood test. how abt u?

can i join? I went to see GP yesterday to confirm pregnancy(5weeks), EDD August, no thread for that so can I join here? Cos got some questions to ask, don't know who to go to.
GP said no need to see gynae until about 30weels, can see him, is that true? He said gynae do routine checks like take blood pressure, urine test, weight etc for every visit. No need physical examination unril 20weeks because no tummy. For scan he can send me to the hospitals, and the 1st scan only at 20weeks, to see the baby's sex. then another one at 30weeks.
really don't know how much he say is true, don't you need a scan to hear if there is heartbeat around 8-9weeks?
Please advise, because still don't know if I should listen to him or start seeing a gynae... thanks in advance.

hi decimal point,
I happened to chance upon your posting. Congrats to you!! Just to let you know that usually once confirm pregnant, one should see her gynae starting from 6 weeks because the gynae will have to make sure that the pregnancy is progressing normally and that the position of conception is correct and safe.
I believe you should start sourcing for a gynae, give him or her a call and ask for advice or even to fix up an appointment. In the meantime, take good care!

miao2

Hi bubbleling,

I just came back from the gynae - everything seems ok. am v relieved.
BB is now 2.3cm. and I saw it nodding away during the scan. V amusing. So you are having your blood test at the beginning of your 2nd tri? I am asked to do mine in my 14th week. Is that v late? I know of some friends who do blood test on their first visit...

Hi Decimal point,
I know in the states, pregnant woman hardly get scanned (unlike here). So what your GP said is not unheard of. But most of us will go pay the gynae a visit shortly after confirming pregnancy to see if we can detect a heartbeat. Your selected gynae should be able to tell you when's the best time for the first visit. Congratulations!

lkf..
no need to envy me lah ...ur MS will goes off soon as well....hving MS means ur bb is growing well....

Congrats Decimal
normally will go visit gynae on the 6th week to see whether the sac is in correct position etc.....some gals by 6th week shld b able to see heartbeat but i cant ....onie mange to see heartbeat during my 2nd appt..so my advice is to see the gynae soon....

tuffy..
my next appt i muz see whether my bb will nod his head or not hehee..yap im hving blood during my week 12-13....not sure wat kind of blood test also ...anyway the blood test is enough to scare me liao hahahaa... :p 14 weeks shld b okie...if u dun feel secure then change ur appt slightly earlier....

miao2,tuffy,bubbleling...
thanks for the advice, i think i should go see a gynae, no harm anyway.

tuffy,
i was thinking about the ultra scan part, maybe i also should not be over excited about scanning too many times because the scan somehow still send some waves into the womb so that we can see the image, so maybe also not good to scan so much? but of course very excited to see the baby! after reading what u write, now i very excited to see if my baby will nod head too!! maybe what my GP said about no need to scan so much so makes some sense.

bubbleling,
i think the blood test whole pregnancy only do once-check for HIV(today's papers say optional though),Hep B, blood group, haemoglobin(see if you are aneamic), Thalasamia(blood disorder) and if there is any abnormaly. should be ok lah...

Hi ikf,

i also opted for both the scan &amp; the blood test lor. At least is it 90% accurate.

Bubbleling,

For the down syndrome test i opt for, the test must be done between wk 11 to wk 14.. tt's Y my gynae ask me to go in early jan.. tt should be abt 11 to 12 wks.

so any of u start to wear maternity clothes alreadie?? hehehee.. sometimes i go shopping, saw those bb stuff so cute, so tempted to buy.
so you ppl have any preference whether want a bb boy or gal???

Hello gals... TGIF!!!... my long needed weekend is coming...kekeke

welcome and congrats decimal point

shirley

same here, feel safer to get a more accurate result. maternity clothes, not so soon lah :p. me also will look at bb stuff nowadays, they are so cuteeeee and niceeeee...but i will always tell myself not to buy them until twds the end of my 2nd trimester. my mom even said things like stroller etc can buy after bb is born afterall we will only need it when bb is older n can go out more frequently.

i wld prefer a gal but my hubby has no preference. Not matter what, having a healthy and normal bb is the most impt thing. wat's urs then?

tuffy

you must be excited to see your bb nodding. I am also looking wwd to see my bb next week. dun think 14 wks is late. I will do mine in beginning of week 13

ikf,

hmm.. i was told by my friend that certain stuff can buy 1st lor.. things like milk bottles, bb blanklet etc, if got sale, can get 1st lor. tt's wat she says lor. but i oso havent buy any lah.

is it stroller of pram u r toking abt?? for pram, think can use once u bring bb out after confinement lor. coz pram can adjust to very very low position, as in the sleeping position liao.

Me ah? i too was hoping for a gal lor. But this is our 1st bb, so actually boy or gal doesnt matter tt much lah.. hahaha....

Anyone of you experience brown discharge during ur 1st tri?? How long will the brown discharge be totally gone?? Any adv??

Thanks in Adv.

Hi worried baby

You might wish to ask advice from your gynae regarding your brown discharge just to play safe.

worried baby..
like wat tomatoes has advised ..go &amp; see ur gynae regarding ur brown discharge....

hmm how are all the mummies doin lately?

hello everyone,
over the week i have been getting rather paranoid, reading up on pregnancy gets me very worried about almost everything! The more I read, the more scared I get. There are so many things that can go wrong, from the 1st trimester's instability to umbilical cord accident near delivery and even during the delivery itself there may be complications.Really endless worries.I keep telling myself there is nothing we can do if we already took care, it is also whether the baby is fated to be with you or not...self-comfort...

Hi Tomatoes and Bubbleling...

Thanks...I have seen my gynae already and was given a jab...was told to rest....my gynae told me not to worry as brown discharge is old blood from my previous menses....

I'm just into my week 6. Baby conceived on our first IUI attempt after 6 months with my RE. Very happy now.

Visited my RE 1 week ago but he did not do any check-up on me except to prescribe duphaston. Was supposed to go back in 2 weeks' time for first scan but thinking if I should change my gynae cos the current one is very ex (abt $120 - 150 per visit including scan; normal vaginal delivery $1k-$1.4K). Is that market rate?

Hi decimal point

Dun think too much. My gynae always tell me that we must be cheerful and positive in thinking. Our emtions will affect our bb.

Hi worried baby

Yah, you must rest more. The brown discharge will go away.

Hi ixwong

Congrats! I know how it feel to be able to conceive after trying hard. Must take good care
Who is your RE?

Hi bubbleling

How are you doing too? Me been feeling gassy. And burping more than b4.

worried baby,
don't worry now that you got gynae's confirmation that it is only old blood. rest well, like what tomatoes say, must be positive!!i also trying very hard, cos i think by nature i am more pessimistic. but it is all training of the mind.

may i know if all gynae is so expensive? cos i just made an appointment with dr Eunice Chua @ TMC without finding out the rates! I just read on CPF website can use Medisave for pre-delivery expenses and saw TMC is one of the participating hospitals and I just called to make appointment. ixwong...the hospitals has rates for the rooms and delivery, you can check for delivery market rate. but don't think they have the pre-delivery rates though. i hope dr Eunice Chua is not too expensive!!

i am also feeling very gassy, not just burping but also from elsewhere... :p can try to eat ginger to lessen the gas. Sometimes very hard to control the burp, very embarrasing when people turn to look at me...

Thanks, tomatoes and decimal point.

My RE is Dr LC Foong at Gleneages. I suppose his charges is high due to him being a specialist, but if my pregnancy is normal, would probably opt for another more mainstream gynae to save some cost.

Thinking of seeing Dr Lawrence Ang (Sunplaza) since I'm living quite near there and he got a lot of good references from this forum. Anyone of you using him currently?

Congrats ixwong and worried baby

decimal point

like wat the others hv advised, think postively. Tell yourself everything will be fine. Stay relax and happy

bubbeling

my bb is 10.4 wks now at 3.6 cm. when I saw the scan yesterday, I told myself all the ms I hv been having is really nothing
my gynae just asked me to hang in there. hopefully like wat she said, my ms will go off ard wk 12...

Hi Ladies...
got some silly questions...

Actually do u gals tell ur colleagues n friends abt ur prenancy already??? Have u gals started to wear maternity clothes?? Cos its very funny if they dun know n yet u start to wear all rhose clothing........

so triublesome...

worried baby

i only told one trustworthy colleague abt my pregnancy. the rest i will wait until they notice the difference then announce...kekeke...by then i will be in my 2nd trimester liao, more stable.

Maternity clothes? still abit too early. I can still fit into my normal clothes although my skirts and pants are getting a bit tight at the waist.

hi ikf.....

i was told that its best not to wear too tight bottom so that the baby can grow more comfortably...no more jeans though......

worried baby

jeans is definitely out for me liao. thanks for the advice. yah i read abt that too, but too lazy to go and buy new bottoms. right now I can only rotate a few comfortable bottoms to wear. i will start shopping when my ms gets better...:p

lkf...
i got terrible ms too.....vomit almost after every meal......the worse one is the mornin g and the night one....

i have started to wear the bottom but the top.....still waiting but as my clothes are usually short n tight so it look funny if i wear maternity bottom but normal top.....i guess i will start to wear the top soon....no choice

i havn't told any colleagues, so far, only told family.i also wondering how to tell them, tell during department meeting? a bit funny... maybe when they ask me to do some more strenuos work then i say cannot? or.... i don't know, actually feeling a bit shy about announcing.

don't feel like wearing maternity clothes at all, cos look so big and clumsy. but i think the clothes Ivy Lee wore in Double Happiness is nice, can wear maybe during 2nd trimester when stomach not so big yet. but i think maybe those are her own clothes cos after the show it didn't run on the credits. but guess ultimately will still have to look big especially at the end!

hi ladies...
im bk in action...in my 10 weeks now...still feeling gd...but at nite sometimes might feel a bit bloated thats all...
hmm as for maternity clothes might hv to start wearing soon...all my bottoms &amp; tops getting tight

I have started to wear maternity pants liao. The normal pants dun fit me at all unless I zipped halfway. As the skirts, they are still ok.

Weekends are also a headache for me. Recently bought 1 casual 3 quarter pants for my weekend usual and it cost me $69. So exp... any idea where to get cheap maternity bottoms?

Hi decimal pt...

I am in my week 9...coming to week 10....

I guess many gals here have started to wear their maternity bottom too....

For me becos I am slightly on the big side and most of my skirts and tops are tight fitting.......so I guess that is the reason y I have to ear so soon lor....

I asked my frend who is a mum liao....she told me usually can start to wear abt 10 weeks onwards but of course depends on individual build too......

Gd morning everyone

wow worried baby you were still up at 11.05 pm last night ah...me already soundly asleep liao...where u buy your maternity bottoms huh?

tomatoes

me too want to look for cheap n nice maternity wear. dunno whether got post xmas sale on maternity wear or not...kekeke...

bubbleling

glad to know tat u r still feeling well. i lost some weights becoz of my ms but my gynae said i dun hv to worry abt it as it's normal.

tomatoes,
i walked past a maternity wear shop (name i forgot)at marina last weekend, pants $29.90, but i didn't go in to see how are the designs they have. if u stay near kovan, heartland mall has a shop call "perfect mum", the clothes look quite nice from the outside. i didn't go in n browse though cos no tummy go in quite funny. i was wondering if can buy normal clothes but bigger size? or maybe wear the A-line cutting, more flattering.

worried baby,

u mention the brown discharge, now i also like have... but mine pinkish, like got some blood mixed in the discharge. is that call spotting?

Hi decimal pt...

Ya i have brown discharge n was told to go to the gynae for a jab.after the jab i was asked to increase the dosage of an tai yao n bedrest for a few days.........it was done after a few days....

Urs is pink discharge?? I think u better go n see ur gynae as brown discharge is old blood from the previous menses....whereas pink n red discahrge are fresh blood....and u are not suppose to go to work ok....rest at home...

Tomatoes....

Ya that maternity shop at Heartland Mall is called Perfect Mum...all their clothings are very nice and modern....and exp also....I was introduced to the shop cos my cousin just gave birth and on one visit I bought 4 tops and 6 dress........cost abt $500 plus..xmas present for myself n baby....hehehehe........dun worry abt no tummy n buying the clothes.the sale girls are very friendly n helpful.they are more than willing to help u....happy shopping

decimal point

i think it wld be better for you to see your gynae to find out more about the pink discharge.

worried baby

i will be into my week 11 tmrw. my edd is ard 15 July. wat's ur EDD then?

worried baby, i saw gyane liao. bad news-bleeding from womb. 50-50 chance. today it is no longer discharge, it became bleeding. dr gave an tai yao, say 2 weeks later see how cos so small(0.92cm), baby look like not growing.i think the baby not with me already.

decimal point

Oh dear! You need to bedrest and dun move around too much. Try talking to the bb like I always do. Moat importantly, stay positive *hugs*

thanks lkf. dr said cld be bad pregnancy, meaning the sperm or egg is not gd quality in the first place so it is nature's way of elimination. or cld be early pregnancy so it is so small. i really dun feel good bcos the bleeding is quite profuse.mil keep asking what was it that i did, carry heavy things or what. but i feel it is heaven's will.even if it does grow, i m also afraid that it will not be a normal baby cos if the quality of the sperm or egg no good, may not be good.

Hi Decimal pt...

do not feel sad.....its still not too late....just bedrest and dun move ard anymore....did the gynae gave u a jab???

I have friends who got spotting....fresh blood and their baby still survive..so dun give up yet....u must think positive then the baby will be ok.....talk to ur baby n tell ur baby how much u love him/her...

so take care n rest well...

Hi decimal pt...
0.92 cm is actually quite big mah....mine now only 19 mm ler which is 0.19cm only ler...